reviews for: listing #40810 - Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania House rental

Lakefront Chalet with Private Beach/Dock, 4 Boats, and Sauna
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Pocono Country Place
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $275 /nt
    $950 - $2,075 /wk

sort by:

A perfect getaway spot

Review submitted: May 3, 2009   Date of arrival: April 24, 2009

It was the perfect way to spend our 18th anniversary. Total peace and quiet. We should warn you that the lake can hypnotize you and make you not want to go back to work!

Everything we needed was there and we were completely comfortable. We had a blast paddling the kayak around and our dogs were fascinated by the ducks and geese and loved wading in the clear, clean water. We enjoyed beautiful sunrises over the lake and evenings by the fire.

The owners were warm, welcoming, and responded promptly to all email inquiries. They shared photos that gave a complete view of the property and all amenities. So it was an easy decision to choose this rental.

I'd highly recommend this wonderful property to family and friends. Don't forget to check out the nearby Tobyhanna State Park as it is one of the nicest state parks we have seen.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We agree about the hypnotic effect of the lake. Thanks for the pictures. We added them to our Guest Picture Page. Please send more when you go up for New Years.

Thanks,
Nick and Jill

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Ski Fun and more...

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

Class A customer service!!! (See Below)- First off...The house was exactly as we pictured-cozy, clean and a great house to get away to! we were very comfortable throughout; had plenty of room and all we needed for a wonderful stay!

We came for a ski vacation and timed our trip almost perfectly with the big snow storm we had last week. One problem though-we were due to arrive Thurs at 4pm during the height of the storm. We did not want to chance the drive from NY so I emailed Nick and told him we would just come on Friday when the roads were passable. This would have cost us a nights stay and an early trip to Camelback on Friday with all the fresh snow but what can you do??
Nick replied shortly thereafter and told us he wanted our family to be safe and enjoy the vacation. He invited us to just come on Wed night--no charge for the extra night. Wow! We never expected it and could not be more thankful. It just added to a great stay. Thank you again Nick and Jill!

PS- This would absolutely be a great summer get away--in the works...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect cozy house by the lake

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

We booked this house less than a week from our vacation dates. Nick was so patient and accommodating in all our questions. The house was very clean and there was no lingering smell. Location of the house is in the center of everything (ski resorts, groceries, restaurants). We liked hanging out in the living room with the fireplace lit on. I could imagine how nice it is also in summer since the lake is literally steps away from the porch. There was a time when we forgot the house keys and we have to call Nick at around 10 pm. Nick was so cool about it.
Overall, our family enjoyed the whole stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

We have truly never stayed at a homier, cozier house. I don't think there is anything you could do to improve it. It was 100% like home, stocked with all the little things you don't think of, and cleaner than any place we've ever rented. It really shows how much care you put into the house, and it was greatly appreciated!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spectacular Vacation !!!!

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

The house was so cozy & inviting, we did not want to leave. The owners provided everything you could possibly need or want. We especially liked the sauna, fishing off the dock, kayaking on the beautiful lake and relaxing and chilling in the hammock at the end of the day. The fire in the evening was another of our favorites it is just so beautiful and relaxing. My husband loved cooking on the new grille and it was hard to pull him away. Our animals especially were thrilled with the fact they could finally go on vacation. We could not keep our german shepherd Beau out of the water. Nick and Jill do a great job at maintaining their property and I would recommend this home to my friends. They are very friendly and made the rental process a breeze.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!!!!!!

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 22, 2012

Dear Nick & Jill , Thank You So Much for such a wonderful house and thank you for keeping this house in such a great condition. My family and I rent houses in Poconos about 2-3 times a year for about 10 years and so far this is the best house we have ever been to. The lakefront location, the sauna, the community and the house it self - everything is just perfect. Not to mention only 15 minutes drive to Camelback Ski slopes. The Walmart shopping center is only 10 minutes drive from the house. This house had everything you possibly need, The garage was stuffed with firewood for fireplace, fishing supplies and boats. The house had a brand new carpet , new washer and dryer, new plazma TV with cable and bluray player,dishwasher. And the most amaizing thing - every little thing was working and operating in order, every single light inside and outside, all furniture is clean and kept very well. You can tell the owners put their soul into this house the minute you walk in.
Thank You So Much!!!
We will definitely be back in the summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for the great review! We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves. You are welcome back anytime.
Thanks,
Nick and Jill

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

GREAT HOUSE

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

My family stayed at the house Feb. 18th to Feb 21st. It was wonderful. The house was very clean, the owners provided everything that could have possibly been needed. The sauna was outstounding. Thank you again for such a great trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: So glad you and your family had a good time.

Did you make any Sauna Snow Angels?

Thanks Again, Nick and Jill

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

My partner and I took a total of 6 kids for one week. We all had the best time. We didn't want to leave. The place was so well equiped. If you forgot something don't worry they had it there and you were more then gald to replace it. Despite the fact that we had six kids with us we still managed to find time to relax. We would definetely do it again the kids have alread asked.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect getaway from the city

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2010

This place was the one we chose because it was so close to the water plus it allowed our puppy to go on vacation with us. The home was just as we saw in the pictures, cozy and inviting. It reminded me of my husband's grandparent's home.

This was the perfect spot for us to get away from the busy life in NYC without having to go too far away from home. Shopping at the outlets was a plus. My little one learned that fishing was not as fun as he anticipated but he did enjoy the rides in the boat out on the lake, and the neighborhood bike rides.

Jill and Nick were friendly and so accomodating that we would return to this home again. Plus Macy (our dog) loved seeing deer up close (they made a trip down to the lake for a drink of water one afternoon while we were playing in the back)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: February 19, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

The house on the Lake is a perfect place to sit back and let all your stress melt away. Very peaceful and the owners really thought of all your needs for a home away from home. We will be going back when the season changes so we can enjoy the other amenities they have to offer. Thanks again Nick and Jill!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Rental

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2009

Thank you so much Nick & Jill for letting us rent your Pocono house. We had an outstanding "Girls Weekend" (2/6 thru 2/8/09). The house is so nice and cozy and clean! It was so peaceful sitting on the deck (yes - even in the snow) and taking long walks around the development. It's definitely the best house we've rented yet and it was unanimous that we will be back again. (I may even try to squeeze a fall weekend in - would love to see the fall foilage) You were such a pleasure to deal with - very responsive!! I would definitely recommend renting this house.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Vacation on the Lake

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2009

This was the first time my family used a rental property for our vacation. The description of the property was accurate and the property was well maintained. The owners provided great customer service. They also provided me with a list of nearby attractions with corresponding web links. I was able to plan our intenary and map out places we planned to visit prior to leaving for our vaction, We were able to enjoy some of the nearby attractions such as fishing in the lake at the house, horseback riding, paint ball shooting, a gun range and ATV trail park. All were located within 20 to 45 minutes from the house. The location of the property was also convenient to a SuperWalmart if you needed to do any shopping for supplies and restaurants. This is a great location for all age groups.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great affordable rental property

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

I rented the house the end of August for myself, my grown children, and 2 grandchildren. The owners were very nice to deal with and the house is amazing, the abundance of amentities made the whole week very nice. There was so much to do at the house and community that we only ventured out one day to go to Claws & Paws zoo. We loved the boating, fishing, making evening fires, going to the pool and playground and being visited daily by the deer, ducks, groundhogs etc. We were amazed at the piece and quite. I would definetly recommend this rental to others and am looking forward to returning again with my family.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fall 2009

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

Highly recommended. AAA+++ Owners very nice. Had a great time with our 3 golden retievers. Beautiful scenery. Enjoyed seeing deer, raccoons and squirrels. Quiet and secluded. Thanks for a great vacation Jill and Nick. Hope to see you next year.
All the best, D & D S.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A perfect getaway spot

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2009

It was the perfect way to spend our 18th anniversary. Total peace and quiet. We should warn you that the lake can hypnotize you and make you not want to go back to work!

Everything we needed was there and we were completely comfortable. We had a blast paddling the kayak around and our dogs were fascinated by the ducks and geese and loved wading in the clear, clean water. We enjoyed beautiful sunrises over the lake and evenings by the fire.

The owners were warm, welcoming, and responded promptly to all email inquiries. They shared photos that gave a complete view of the property and all amenities. So it was an easy decision to choose this rental.

I'd highly recommend this wonderful property to family and friends. Don't forget to check out the nearby Tobyhanna State Park as it is one of the nicest state parks we have seen.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A perfect getaway spot

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2009

It was the perfect way to spend our 18th anniversary. Total peace and quiet. We should warn you that the lake can hypnotize you and make you not want to go back to work!

Everything we needed was there and we were completely comfortable. We had a blast paddling the kayak around and our dogs were fascinated by the ducks and geese and loved wading in the clear, clean water. We enjoyed beautiful sunrises over the lake and evenings by the fire.

The owners were warm, welcoming, and responded promptly to all email inquiries. They shared photos that gave a complete view of the property and all amenities. So it was an easy decision to choose this rental.

I'd highly recommend this wonderful property to family and friends. Don't forget to check out the nearby Tobyhanna State Park as it is one of the nicest state parks we have seen.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fall 2009

Review submitted: October 26, 2009   Date of arrival: October 19, 2009

Highly recommended. AAA+++ Owners very nice. Had a great time with our 3 golden retievers. Beautiful scenery. Enjoyed seeing deer, raccoons and squirrels. Quiet and secluded. Thanks for a great vacation Jill and Nick. Hope to see you next year.
All the best, D & D S.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Glad to hear you had a good time. You and "the Boys" are welcome back anytime.

Nick and Jill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great affordable rental property

Review submitted: September 4, 2009   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

I rented the house the end of August for myself, my grown children, and 2 grandchildren. The owners were very nice to deal with and the house is amazing, the abundance of amentities made the whole week very nice. There was so much to do at the house and community that we only ventured out one day to go to Claws & Paws zoo. We loved the boating, fishing, making evening fires, going to the pool and playground and being visited daily by the deer, ducks, groundhogs etc. We were amazed at the piece and quite. I would definetly recommend this rental to others and am looking forward to returning again with my family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Glad you enjoyed the amenities at the community and were able to do some of the things from our "Things To Do" list.

Nick and Jill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation on the Lake

Review submitted: July 28, 2009   Date of arrival: July 17, 2009

This was the first time my family used a rental property for our vacation. The description of the property was accurate and the property was well maintained. The owners provided great customer service. They also provided me with a list of nearby attractions with corresponding web links. I was able to plan our intenary and map out places we planned to visit prior to leaving for our vaction, We were able to enjoy some of the nearby attractions such as fishing in the lake at the house, horseback riding, paint ball shooting, a gun range and ATV trail park. All were located within 20 to 45 minutes from the house. The location of the property was also convenient to a SuperWalmart if you needed to do any shopping for supplies and restaurants. This is a great location for all age groups.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Good to see that you enjoyed so many of the area attractions. Glad to know the "Things To Do" links made it easier to plan your trip.

Thanks, Nick and Jill

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Rental

Review submitted: February 10, 2009   Date of arrival: February 6, 2009

Thank you so much Nick & Jill for letting us rent your Pocono house. We had an outstanding "Girls Weekend" (2/6 thru 2/8/09). The house is so nice and cozy and clean! It was so peaceful sitting on the deck (yes - even in the snow) and taking long walks around the development. It's definitely the best house we've rented yet and it was unanimous that we will be back again. (I may even try to squeeze a fall weekend in - would love to see the fall foilage) You were such a pleasure to deal with - very responsive!! I would definitely recommend renting this house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's our first year renting and we're pleased to know we're headed in the right direction. We really want our guests to enjoy our house and to make you feel at home. Vacation time is so precious and we want our guests to enjoy every minute.

Thanks so much!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Snowboarding trip

Review submitted: January 8, 2009   Date of arrival: December 26, 2008

Went there with a group of 8 people for a weekend snowboarding trip at Camelback (which is about 25-30 minutes away from the house). The house itself is clean, comfortable, and very cozy... it was perfect for 8 adults. Although we couldn't go out to the lake because it was frozen due to the cold weather, the scene was still beautiful and serene. Extra points on the house because Nick and Jill are very friendly people to deal with! Thanks for the awesome time! =)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Glad to hear you had a good time. Perhaps try Ice Fishing next time;)

Nick and Jill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Weekend!!

Review submitted: September 30, 2008   Date of arrival: September 26, 2008

The house was perfect for our gathering :) The scenery is amazing and the fall foliage really made it that much more special. We look forward to renting again in the spring or summer so we can use the dock more! Thanks to Nick and Jill for making this such a great experience!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We agree... the Fall scenery always looks great. And Jill and I always debate which we enjoy more... morning coffee or evening cocktails on the dock;)

Thanks,
Nick and Jill

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relaxing and Cozy w/ plenty of things todo

Review submitted: September 8, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

I had a wonderful time with my family there. It was very nice and quiet, everything was beautiful. The scenery is awesome and the house was equipped with everything we needed. I recommend this house to anyone interested in having a great relaxing vacation. Also, I do plan on going back soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Glad to hear you had a good time. We think Fall is the prettiest time of the year.

Nick and Jill

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice Place

Review submitted: September 2, 2008   Date of arrival: July 25, 2008

Our visit was very nice - Kids had fun on the lake, great view while bbq'ing on the deck. Lots of water toys available.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks, we've tried to cover water toys for all ages and interests.

Nick and Jill

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review