reviews for: listing #4085 - Mission Beach, California Apartment rental

Kennebeck Ct. Dollhouse Apartment, 42 Reviews!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $285 /nt
    $1,000 - $2,000 /wk
    $2,500 - $18,000 /mth

sort by:

Hangin at the Beach

Review submitted: May 10, 2014   Date of arrival: April 27, 2014

We had an amazing family vacation at the Dollhouse!
The photos don't lie....the Dollhouse is a great little place to hang out in one of the coolest places on earth. We did it all with our 9 and 12 year olds while in San Diego and hanging out at the Dollhouse was a great way to end each of our very busy days!!
Our kids especially loved the loft!
Many thanks for making the Dollhouse available for families like us to enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A soft place to land....

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

This is a terrific place to spend your vacation. Bring your bags, some groceries and enjoy yourself. The owners have gone the extra mile to make sure everything you might need is already there. We greatly enjoyed our stay and we will return again and again

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cute cottage, great getaway

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the dollhouse. The place was clean, cute, comfortable and had EVERYTHING you need for a getaway. We traveled with 2 kids and an infant, and it was just great to have all the beach items there for the the kids and us parents to have a relaxing time. Plus, the fact that it was steps from the beach was a huge advantage. Had a great time and would def. come back again.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fun With Friends

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Our stay at the Dollhouse was really special. Our 25th wedding anniversaries! Joined by friends, we beached it most days and found the dollhouse to be very accommodating. Everything we needed was there. No need to bring beach towels, chairs, or boogie boards..which makes packing much easier.
We did have a slight heat wave and had some 90 degree + days, which made sleeping a bit uncomfortable, since there is no airconditioning. Plenty of fans though and a small portable cooler. But I'm a person who needs a pretty cold sleeping environment, so it wasn't ideal. Keeping the window open for air helped, but our next door neighbors, noisily perched each morning on the rooftop to watch the sun come up, kept us from sleeping past 6 am. Hence the four stars.
Other than that, our stay was lovely and the dollhouse a joy!

Owners response: I'm glad you found the dollhouse a "joy" and enjoyed all the accommodations that make it so extra special. We do everything within our power to ensure that our guests have a five star stay but alas...we can't control the weather. Sad to lose a star over that but happy to know that you found everything within our control to be exceptional. Hope to see you in the future.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great location for beach property in San Diego

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

We loved the Doll House! The location was perfect for our family trip to San Diego. Everything was close by and easy to get to. The house was a great size for us as well. My teenage daughter loved the bed in the loft. The recommendations of places to eat and things to do which Nancy provided were excellent. We enjoyed eating at local places and enjoyed the bonfire on the bay with s'mores! We hope to return soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your vacation and all Mission Beach has to offer. Especially glad you loved the dollhouse. Yes, the loft is super fun for older children and the young at heart! I love it up there, too. S'mores and a bonfire - you guys know how to vacation! Come back soon.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

Wonderful
This place is awesome. We stayed here for one week with our 3 yr old daughter and we all loved the place. The apartment is great. The interior and the nice colors make a good, positive and relaxed atmosphere – just right to put you into the right mood for a relaxed beach vacation in San Diego.
He apartment is well equipped (see the pictures), and there are some beach chairs, sunshades and lots of sand toys (so our daughter picked every day a new collection of cool toys :-)
Mission beach is really just a minute (or less) walk – and if your kids find mission beach to windy (and waves to high) there is the great Bonita Cove Park in walking (or very short driving) distance with gentle (or nearly no) waves, less wind an a playground right at the beach.
Belmont Park, Sea World, etc. all is close by.
We can highly recommend this place!

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful review Sebastian. We are glad that you enjoyed the dollhouse and all that Mission Beach has to offer. We hope you will come back again and again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

Wonderful
This place is awesome. We stayed here for one week with our 3 yr old daughter and we all loved the place. The apartment is great. The interior and the nice colors make a good, positive and relaxed atmosphere – just right to put you into the right mood for a relaxed beach vacation in San Diego.
He apartment is well equipped (see the pictures), and there are some beach chairs, sunshades and lots of sand toys (so our daughter picked every day a new collection of cool toys :-)
Mission beach is really just a minute (or less) walk – and if your kids find mission beach to windy (and waves to high) there is the great Bonita Cove Park in walking (or very short driving) distance with gentle (or nearly no) waves, less wind an a playground right at the beach.
Belmont Park, Sea World, etc. all is close by.
We can highly recommend this place!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

bb1451

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

House was exactly as described, if not better. It was equipped with everything we needed for the week. Location could not be beat, I was a little worried being so close to the action during spring break since I was traveling with small children but overall it was quiet. There is so much within walking distance that it seemed like you never had to go far. We enjoyed walks on the beach every night as well as a couple of trips to Belmont Park. Driving to all of the attractions like Sea World, the Zoo, La Jolla, Old Town, etc was a breeze.
I was glad i did not let the car rental company talk me into a bigger car. When you are not used to a car, navigating the small allies and garages in San Diego can be a bit of a nightmare. I would definately recommend a small car if you want to be able to use the garage parking.
The owner was very helpful when I couldn't figure out the TV and responded immediately to my email with a resolution.
My kids loved the attic playroom, we will definately stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the great review Kelly. So glad your family loved the dollhouse. Isn't the loft so cute... Come back soon!
Yes, parking garages are tight at the beach where every inch counts. Our garage does fit even SUV size cars, but it takes some maneuvering to get larger vehicles in there. Good thing there are so many fun things to do without driving anywhere!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A must stay!

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

We have rented vacation homes a few times and, hands down, this has been the best! The amenities are fabulous, with almost all the comforts of home, it's clean and the location to the beach is amazing (far enough way from the loud parties on the boardwalk, but close enough that a necessary quick trip home is only a minute away). We would love to stay here again!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Kennebeck Court Dollhouse

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the Dollhouse. Very convenient to shops, amusement park, restaurants and mere steps from the beach and boardwalk. Quaint decor and quarters, fully furnished with all the necessities to make for a fun stay. The Dollhouse was just as described in the listing and the owner provided great communications including excellent recommendations on restaurants and activities. We would gladly recommend this property to others.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Wonderful experience!

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Our week at the dollhouse was great! The space met our needs very well...right off the beach, a fully stocked spacious kitchen, very homey decor/furnishings and wireless Internet! It was very clean and well maintained. The owner was very helpful in answering questions and providing numerous suggestions for restaurants, things to do, etc. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend. We did not want to leave at the end of our week and will definitely vacation there again in the future!

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Perfect for a family of four

Review submitted: May 12, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

The Dollhouse was absolutely perfect for our family of four. We went on vacation for one week, and this location allowed us to have all the comforts of home, be a short drive from all that greater San Diego has to offer, and walk to the boardwalk and beach to take in the sunset, sand, and beauty of the ocean.

We were impressed with the level of service that Sandy and her property manager offered as well. All questions were answered promptly and we felt safe and secure in their place. We have two young children and this location really was ideal! We would absolutely rent The Dollhouse for our next trip to San Diego. ENJOY IT as we did!!!!!

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

I can't believe it has taken me this long to write a review!

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

My wife and I as well as our 18 month old son stayed at the dollhouse over the holidays last year. Yes I know it is now almost April. I can't believe I waited this long to write a review because our stay was fantastic. Nancy the owner was nothing but accommodating from the start. The beach house itself couldn't be better situated. It is a 15 second walk to the beach and you can definitely hear the waves from the house. The house itself has everything you will need. It was very clean and very comfortable. My son loved the decor of the house as it is definitely very kid friendly. The house makes you feel like you are simply staying at a friends place, and not just renting a unit. More importantly Nancy makes you feel the same way. We would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Cindi Nannetti

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

We spent our honeymoon at the dollhouse and it was wonderful!!! The location is fabulous. We were able to walk on the beach and go to excellent restaurants without dealing with traffic. The place is beautifully decorated, the beds are so comfortable and it has a nice cozy feeling. We had arranged to have our wedding pictures taken on the beach and our photographer loved the location right in front of the dollhouse!!!! Our pictures are gorgeous!!! I would highly recommend this property for anyone wanting a romantic getaway of for a small family for a great, relaxing vacation!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Fun Family Trip

Review submitted: October 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with our two little kids ages 5 and 3. The apartment is extremely well kept and has all the amenities you could need, and then some. The decor is very charming. There is no view but you can smell the ocean and feel the breezes. The location is great, steps to the beach and just a few minute walk to shops and restaurants. Our kids had a blast and started calling it their "beach house." The owner Nancy was very attentive and easy to work with. Great price, and so much better than staying in a hotel!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Dollhouse is adorable, clean and perfect for a couple or girls get a way. Steps from the beach, yet tucked behind the main house so there's also a private/quiet element to it.

Stocked with towels, toys, beach bags, pillows, pots, pans, utensils...everything we needed was there. Such a comfortable bed in the master bedroom! Keyless entry and bbq on the patio were great! We will be back for sure! Thanks Whalens! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 25 / 25

 

Joyful Cottage in a Difficult Time

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

I just wanted to take a minute to say thank you for the experience of your amazing little beach cottage. You see, we were evacuated from our home in Alpine the day before we were set to arrive. What was supposed to be our family vacation, turned into a safe place for my son and I to be, while my husband stayed behind to fight the fire. I was able to keep my 10 year old son's stress level to a minimum by keeping a "vacation" atmosphere for a week of our 16 day ordeal. You little house was so joyful to be in that it helped me deal with the terrible tragedy unfolding at home.

Perhaps we will try again for a vacation at the beach and call on your little cottage as our place to hang out when we are able to do so....this time as a whole family and without the stress of a wildfire. Thank you again for such special accomodations during our unplanned crisis.

Heidi, Jean and Jace Beaubriand

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 25 / 25

 

Cute, clean beach-house

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in San Diego, with such a wonderful property as our home base. It was just as pictured, and very clean. We really appreciated the owners' recommendations for restaurants, nearby grocery stores, and things to do. The owners are very friendly.

The size was perfect for our family of 4, with extra space to explore and play in the loft for our two little ones. We appreciated the games and movies, and made use of them in our down time too. Wireless internet was set up too, so we couldn't decide if it was a good or bad thing that we left the laptop at home.

We loved the Safari Park, the USS Midway, and Sea World (but the latter is too pricey!). Our son's favorite thing about SanDiego was the beach though! It was so nice to be so close (but not so close that you lose privacy--there are a ton of people walking the boardwalk, looking into the houses right there, just five feet away). And we loved all of the choices in beach and water toys.

We looked at several places before choosing this one, since it was in the perfect location (Mission Beach, close to the beach) and a good value. We will recommend it to friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 25 / 25

 

A Fabulous Stay

Review submitted: March 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

Wow. What a visit. My three children and I visited for Spring Break. The Dollhouse was a superior alternative to area hotels. We so enjoyed living like a local and having lots of space to relax after long days exploring San Diego. The location cannot be beat, and Nancy goes above and beyond with recommendations for neighborhood haunts and nearby activities. The apartment was superbly equipped..from the kitchen to the laundry room to board games, movies and beach toys. Garage parking is also key in this neighborhood - a definite plus. This place is gem.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

What a "Dollhouse"!

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: February 23, 2011

The dollhouse was an excellent place for us to stay when we were visiting our son. It was very clean and had everything we needed. Having a garage to park the rental car was great. Less than a minute walk to the beach. Within walking distance of wonderful restaurants. Nancy provided us with a list of restaurants and places to sightsee. Visited Old Town San Diego and the Point Loma Lighthouse. Went to Point Loma Seafood and the food was fantastic, but beware they only take cash and checks - no credit or debit cards. Try the Olive Cafe for breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Great Vacation Getaway at Mission Beach

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

Had the best getaway in San Diego/Mission Beach. We were fortunate to have a month to stay here. The photos were exactly as the property looks. A nice, clean, bright and quiet location. The owners responded promptly to all our questions or needs. Everything needed for cooking or baking was available and it was nice to be the first people to use the newly installed dishwasher. All the beach paraphernalia needed was there for us to use. The other great item to have was a high-end washer/dryer that you share with the 'big house rental' There are intructions on how to get to the touristy and not so touristy locations. The location allowed us to walk to most restaurants and get a cab cost, if needed, was very reasonable. We will be sure to recommend this accommodation to our friends and family. We are looking at coming back in the fall. Thank you Nancy & Rick and all the best from the Nowak's in Vancouver Canada

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the great review ! We hope to see you in the fall.

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 

fantastic!!

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: December 11, 2010

Our stay there was simply magnificent, the house is better than what you see at the photographs, confortable and welcoming.
Nancy and her husband were a great people, friendly and helpful
, making us feel at home. The place is fantastic and very quiet,we enjoyed it
Thank you for all and see you again very soon
Massimiliano, Alejandra, Fabrizio and Viviana from Italy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Max. It was great to meet you. We would love to come and visit you in Capri and eat at your restaurant. We hope you will come and see us again soon.

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Great Value!

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 26, 2008

The wife,daughter and myself had a great 10 days in the Doll House. Well equipped, private and fairly quite for that area. There is even a cool little sleeping loft they dont mention in the ad. We come to mission beach 2-3 times a year and this has been the best value in the past 5 years! Great owners, we are looking forward to coming back in the spring. Highly recommended!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Very Nice

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

The Dollhouse is excellent for small families. My wife and I stayed here with our two young daughters (8,9) and had a wonderful time. We loved the location and found the "Dollhouse" to be very well kept and in a great location. We were also very appreciative of all the "small touches" like beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, full kitchen supplies, DVD's, and guides to local restaurants/tourist attractions. Nancy does a wonderful job of communicating and ensuring that your stay goes smoothly.

Thank you for an outstanding vacation rental experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Family Vacation at the Dollhouse on Mission Beach

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 25, 2010

Staying at the Dollhouse was such a fabulous experience. The location was amazing; close to the beach and still quiet for sleeping. The house was so clean that I had no worries of my 11 mos old crawling around the house (unlike a hotel experience), the kitchen cabinets were stocked with everything you could possibly need (dish soap, paper towels, ziplock bags, trash bags, spices, coffee & coffee filters, pots and pans, every possible utensil, cute dishes and platters, menus for takeout, etc). You name it, they had it! Plenty of clean, thick bath towels, washcloths, dish towels, nice beach towels. Soap for the bath rooms and plenty of toilet paper. A spotless highchair, pack and play (plus sheet), blankets, a cooler for the beach, beach chairs. Books, games, and puzzles. We have stayed in many house rentals and never have we been spoiled in this way. So many things that I could have left at home!!! All of the beds were so comfortable and linens so clean. The washer and dryer were nicer than mine at home and I was able to come home with a suitcase full of clean clothes to put away. My 3 year old and 1 year old had so much fun with the sand toys and boogie boards. This was such a fabulous family vacation. We can't wait to go back!!! Nancy and Rick thank you so much for letting us stay in your wonderful house! We were so spoiled and just had such a great family vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 

Absolutely wonderful

Review submitted: June 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

This was a great alternative to staying in a hotel. We were close to everything we needed and we had little need to use our vehicle so the parking issue was a small inconvenience (we had 2 cars). Having use of the kitchen in the mornings was wonderful and the overall comfort of the apartment was great. Our entire stay was fun and enjoyable. The little extras made a big difference...like the beach towels, games, comfy mattresses, beautiful bed linens, AND having a washer and dryer. We will definately think of using booking the dollhouse again in the future. Thank you Mr and Mrs Whalen for making us feel so welcome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 27 / 27

 

Perfect for families!

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

My husband and I rented the Dollhouse with our 5-year-old twins in March 2010. It was perfect...we had everything we needed and we felt right at home. The apartment is really as charming, clean and welcoming as it looks in the photos. We were not disappointed! Plus, we loved having beach towels, chairs, coolers, kites, sand toys, etc. at our disposal. Not to mention the washer & dryer...so convenient!! Mission Beach definitely had a "spring break" atmosphere at that time of the year, but the location was perfect for all of our day trips. And we loved returning each night to our cozy little apartment. We will definitely recommend to others and hope to stay again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 27 / 27

 

Family Fun by the Sand

Review submitted: March 15, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

First of all, the rental propert was as advertised. It was clean and there was ample room for my family of 5. We quickly found that we could walk in every direction and find fun and amusemet for our kids. There are stores close by to stock the kitchen or plenty of restaurants if you choose that route. The rental car was not needed but did come in handy. We had an enjoyable trip with some great memories and wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Dollhouse again.

Helpful votes: 27 / 27

 

Kennebeck Dollhouse

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

My family of four ( two boys 8 & 10) have stayed in the Dollhouse now two consecutive years and my wife is asking me if I have booked it for next year. We love the location - The property is well maintained and we have recommend this to all our friends. My boys have even met other kids that show up on the same week each year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Perfect Family getaway

Review submitted: May 13, 2009   Date of arrival: March 29, 2009

We had an amazing vacation. The weather was perfect, and we had so many wonderful experiences from biking around Mission Beach to Eating Pie in Julian. The Dollhouse apartment was perfect in so many ways. We loved the fact that they had a portable crib & highchair, as it made caring for our 10 month old daughter so much easier. The apartment was very well equipped with everything that we could need, and made us feel like we were at our second home. We would love to come again in the future, hopefully the not too distant future. Nancy made the renting process very easy, and provided us with excellent recommendations for food

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 

Much Needed Escape

Review submitted: March 9, 2009   Date of arrival: February 2, 2009

Very charming apartment in a great location. I have stayed several times in this area but with property management companies. This house was better equipped TP, Paper towels, dish soap etc. That helps not having to stock everything. We got to meet Rick and Nancy and they are great hosts. I had planned this month long trip last fall. On Christmas eve I had a nasty break to 3 fingers that would have me miss at least a week of our trip. They were great about adjusting our stay a week later so we could have a full month. My 76 year old mother-in-law and I had a wonderful stay, We collected over 20 perfect Sand dollars. Enjoyed the fresh produce from the farmers markets. On Sat, mornings from 8am until noon in Pacific beach is an easy market to get too. Go North on the Boardwalk to Pacific Blvd. Turn right it's 2 blocks in. On Wednesday nights is a farmers market with a funky atmosphere in Ocean Beach starting at 4pm. Torrey Pines State park in Del Mar is a gorgeous place to hike. Mission Beach is a great place to stay!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Nice Place

Review submitted: January 22, 2009   Date of arrival: December 27, 2008

My husband and I and our two children (age 2 and 5) stayed in the Dollhouse during the week of New Years Day 2009. We loved to location and decor. It is a very short walk to the beach.
We appreciated having the washing machine and dryer, plenty of beach towels, beach toys, beach chairs and the list of recommended restaurants and things to do emailed to us from owners.
We went to the beach, Wild Animal Park, San Diego Zoo, Old Town, Coronado, climbed down to a cave in La Jolla, rented bikes, swam at the Wave House indoor pool, and loved that we could come back to the Dollhouse and eat dinner and wash our clothes.
We left an item in the Dollhouse and it was mailed to us. I appreciated that!
I would definitely recommend this property to a friend.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Perfect Place Any Time of Year

Review submitted: January 20, 2009   Date of arrival: January 16, 2009

I have been here several times with different members of my family and I love it in the winter as well as any other season. The beach and boardwalk are not so crowded in January, but the weather is still perfect. We had everything we needed from the thoughtfully provided beach chairs - for the 30 second walk to the beach - to a platter and wine glasses for our wine and cheese as we watched the football playoffs on the digital TV. Wireless internet and a fully stocked kitchen (just in case we would rather cook than go eat at one of the nearby fabulous restaurants) rounded out our idea of perfection. Everything was clean and cheerful. This is the perfect size when my whole family can't make the trip. Definitely one of the best rentals on Mission Beach!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 27 / 27

 

Always a Great Time!

Review submitted: January 16, 2009   Date of arrival: February 15, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at the Dollhouse twice, once in Feb 2008 and Dec. 2008. A rock throw from either the oceanside or bayside. Very cute and comfortable.
Will continue to make this our vacation spot!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 25 / 25

 

Family Fun

Review submitted: November 24, 2008   Date of arrival: June 28, 2008

This was a great vacation for my family. It is away from the public beach parking so there are less people. It was close to all the main attractions and there were plenty of attracions within walking distance. The places to eat were well mapped out by our host and they included all price ranges and food types. We will stay again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 24, 2008   Date of arrival: November 24, 2008

This was a great vacation for my family. It is away from the public beach parking so there are less people. It was close to all the main attractions and there were plenty of attracions within walking distance. The places to eat were well mapped out by our host and they included all price ranges and food types. We will stay again!

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 

Extremely Perfect Getaway Spot

Review submitted: November 11, 2008   Date of arrival: August 2, 2008

I'm so glad I get a chance to review this property as my family and I love this "not so little" Dollhouse and have stayed in it many times over the last several years since first discovering it.
From the moment we walked in the front door and discovered the charming, colorful, clean interior, to our first very short walk down to the beach, we not only felt right at home but that we had found the perfect getaway spot. The owners have thought of everything we might need and have supplied it with top quality products such as the well equipted kitchen, unbelievably comfortable beds, Cable channels with On Demand TV, a good strong wireless signal and lots of baby equipment, not to mention the keyless entry which is great for not worrying about keys. We love being able to walk to great restaurants and fun shops or drive to the many attractions San Diego offers that are all within minutes. I realize I sound like an adverstisement for this place but I sincerely feel like we have found the most perfect little hideaway for either just my husband and I and our children or a romantic week alone. Thank you, thank you to the owners for caring enough to make this a home away from home to whomever may find themselves lucky enough to stay there. It is truly unique for a rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Best Family Vacation

Review submitted: November 4, 2008   Date of arrival: July 19, 2008

The owners of this adorable dollhouse have taken every detail into account - it's beautifully decorated, very clean, full of charm and the comforts of home. You have a private brick patio surrounded by gorgeous lush greenery to rinse off after the 30-second walk to the beach. Close location is so helpful if you forget anything or just need to use the restroom during your beach day - I'll never go back to staying somewhere further away from a beach - it's well worth it!

Includes convenient things like swimsuit hooks and a sprayer hose that are brilliant for getting all the sand off little bodies. It's just close enough for a walk to restaurants, the amusement park and Balboa park which is so beautiful, but not too close to be noisy. Seriously comfortable beds. Owners are such sweet people. I'd make this an annual tradition.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 

Charming!

Review submitted: November 3, 2008   Date of arrival: July 25, 2008

My kids and I have been staying at this charming dollhouse each summer for several years. We love the decor and the location and proximity to the beach is great! I highly recommend this cute beach getaway!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 

the perfect getaway

Review submitted: November 3, 2008   Date of arrival: July 19, 2008

We love the dollhouse! It is a short, barefoot walk down to the beach--so close that even with little ones, you needn't pack a bag. The dollhouse is cute, clean, bright & airy and fully equipped. Kennebeck court is charming, and the beach just down the court is not crowded. Whalens have given great info on what is nearby, and I have recommended this property to all my friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 

Phoenix heat escapee

Review submitted: September 23, 2008   Date of arrival: July 5, 2008

Clean, beautiful and well organized little cottage! So close to the beach, airport and downtown. Great for small families...they even have a high chair.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 23, 2008   Date of arrival: September 23, 2008

Review Submitted: September 23, 2008 Date of Stay: July 2008
Clean, beautiful and well organized little cottage! So close to the beach, airport and downtown. Great for small families...they even have a high chair.

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Home away from Home!

Review submitted: September 9, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

My family enjoyed the dollhouse. It was perfect for our vacation. Close to the beach for many afternoon swims and is located close to Sea World, the Zoo, Old Town, and Coronado (the places we visted). The house was clean and well supplied. The whole experience was great. The owner provided all the details and more. We will more than likely return for more fun in the sun!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review