reviews for: listing #40876 - Ocean Beach, California Townhome rental

Ocean Palms Bungalow
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $129 - $160 /nt
    $900 - $1,300 /wk
    $2,200 - $3,700 /mth

sort by:

Better than expected!

Review submitted: July 3, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

This was a great place to stay for us! Julie and Jerome were very accommodating and helpful. We loved being able to walk to the beach anytime we wanted. The place was very clean, fully equipped and comfortable. I was very nervous about staying here, expecting that if this was even a real place that it may be a terrible experience, but I was very wrong! Everything about it was great! We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy and Convenient

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 13, 2014

This townhome offers tons of convenience - from location (ideally situated between La Jolla and Coronado) to all the thoughtful touches the owners put into it. There were tons of amenities and it is very clean. It's a five minute walk to the beach and is located in probably once of the friendliest neighborhoods in SD. My only concern was the noise from the air traffic. Normally this wouldn't bother me, but I had to be on a few conference calls while there and the air traffic was easily picked up by my microphone. If I didn't have to work while there, it wouldn't have bothered me at all. All around a great place and I would definitely stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We look forward to seeing you again on a non working vacay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Parents

Review submitted: June 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

Loved the deco and homey feeling ! Thanks for a wonderful stay !

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: John and Sonia, it was such a pleasure to meet you both and be your host, we are always so happy that our guests enjoyed our little place and their stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location... so close to beaches!

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

Overall our stay in this cute Ocean Beach duplex was pleasant and relaxing. The drawbacks: dirty carpet, uncomfortable sofa, unusable sofa bed and a lack of privacy. While the owners do a terrific job of providing a clean property overall, the carpet really turned us off. I'd get rid of it and put down hard flooring :) The sofa simply needs to be replaced. About the privacy... to stay cool you need to keep the windows open since there is no A/C or ceiling fan. (The owners provide a portable fan which we moved from room to room). With the other side of the duplex occupied, and other neighbors in close proximity, we felt somewhat exposed. We also worried that we would bother others! A window A/C unit or window fan would solve the problem... just so you don't have to leave the windows open. It's also a little insecure feeling at night, but we did not have any problems.

There are many good things!! Great little kitchen, with a dishwasher, and pretty well-equipped. The skillets were really bad... I'd take my own next time. If you don't intend to cook it's not a problem. I cooked once or twice every single day. The fridge is old and crusty but it works like a charm. So does the cute little gas stove which is an oldie but goodie. Also good... I mean great!... is the bedroom. It's the coolest room and has a very comfortable bed. There is no TV in the bedroom which was no problem for us. I had my laptop and the owners provide WiFi, so on a couple of evenings we watched a Netflix show. The bathroom is very nice, too, and well stocked. I had to wash towels a few times, but the washer and dryer are just outside the unit. (They are pretty crusty, too, but that's what happens outside near the ocean. I was just glad to have them.)

The location of this property is wonderful... so close to the beaches (including the dog beach) and all the shops and restaurants. We walked just about everywhere. It was important to plan the grocery runs so that we did not have to move the car over the weekend. With no dedicated parking you are on your own to find a spot on the street. Mostly it's not a problem, but on the weekends the throngs of people flocking to the area to enjoy the beaches will take all the available parking. Just park and stay put on Saturday and Sunday!

Walk to the TeMana Cafe on Voltaire St. in the morning for breakfast and coffee. Really good food, very friendly people, and they love dogs... my kind of people. Another favorite: the fish tacos at South Beach

Owners response: We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. I had the carpet cleaned the day you left, as we often do. New pans have been installed and you were in the place that had the oldest fold out (since been replaced) because there were only two of you. Great input, and it was unseasonably hot the week you stayed there, for about two weeks of the year an air conditioner would be nice; that's the beach!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Place

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

The place was exactly like the pictures. Very clean and stocked with everything you need for a beach vaca except for your food and swimsuit!! Very quiet and comfy inside. The owners were very nice and helpful! We would stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

What a wonderfully restful place to catch some sun! We spent one month in the unit; it was exceptionally clean, everything was there to use for activities - books, movies and games for rainy days, bikes, all the beach things, coffee and cream (thank you Julie!), and food supplies in pantry and fridge.

Julie and Jerome are so generous, picking us up from the airport, taking us back for our return flight, offering rides, answering questions, and making sure we had everything we needed.

The little courtyard is quiet and great for morning coffee or a little restful reading time, the neighbours are very friendly, and the washer/dryer were always available.

We enjoyed our month in Ocean Beach, all the walking and exploring we did, discovering the beautiful craft beers available, and of course Pizza Port and Little Kitchen! It is hard to be back in our harsh climate, but for now our pictures will have to do.

Julie and Jerome, we really enjoyed meeting you and having our spontaneous conversations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great experience

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

We stayed at this place for a month, and had a lovely experience. Townhouse has everything you need for comfortable and relaxing stay near the beach - beach towels, surfboard, you name it. The area in general is quiet and safe.

Thank you, Julie, for picking us up at the airport, and thank you, Jerome, for recommending the OB Noodle House (too bad we ate there for the first time on the last day, but it WAS excellent). There are a few other very good place, like O'Bistro, that had excellent meals.

I would recommend this place to anyone who appreciates clean and homey place near the beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

First vacation to San Diego

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

This was our first time visiting San Diego and our kids first time seeing the beach. The location is walking distance to the beach, we took the kids to the beach during the day and walked the beach at night to the local restaurants for dinner. Property was clean, maintained, and pretty much everything is provided. The only downfall is there is no assigned parking, but that is given in that area. But there are bikes w/ baskets provided that we used to go to the local markets. Overall our experience was memorable and we look forward to doing it again. Thank you for everything

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us Pamela; it is so very nice to hear that our guests had a nice time together. Family vacations are so very important for everyone and we strive to make your stay relaxing and fun.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Terry and Janice melville sask. Canada

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 28, 2012

We spent a month in Jerome and julies ocean beach condo.we found everything to be exceptional,it is very clean and comes with everything you might need for a beach stay.the location(1/2 block to the beach) is within walking distance to all local shops, restaurants, bars and the pier.as we flew down we purchased a month pass for the bus,which also included the trolley and coaster train.with the pass we where able to see all the local sights in san Diego and use the trolley and coaster to travel up the coast to Carlsbad and down to the Mexican border.we found everyone in the ocean beach area to be very friendly and spent much of our time biking and walking in the area.Jerome and Julie are exceptional hosts and made sure are stay was comfortable and fulfilling.we had the best time and met many interesting people. We would highly recommend this ocean beach condo to anyone.thanks again Julie and Jerome, your the best. Terry and Janice

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Oh Thank you Terry and Janice; it was a pleasure being your host for the month. We hope to see you again next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great San Diego vacation rental

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

This is a perfect beach rental in Ocean Beach. The house is very clean and well stocked with all of the little things that you need to enjoy your vacation...from beach towels and sunscreen to a fridge full of condiments if you want to eat at home. We didn't bring our dogs on this trip, but their dog hair came with us on our clothes and we were happy to find a lint roller in the closet :) The location is perfect, only a 1/2 block walk to the beach, but still a quiet and safe beach community. We loved the new OB Pizza Port that is only a few blocks away and looked forward to our beach walks every morning to Newsbreak for breakfast. On the days that we did drive to other neighborhoods, I was happy that we had no problem finding street parking on our block when we returned. This is a great way to enjoy San Diego!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Owners response: Oh it is so fun to hear that our guests had a great time in our place. Ah yes the lint roller; you can tell we have had furry pets of our own.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Julie & Jerome's Place Made OB Extra Special

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

We just spent a week in this cozy little townhouse and are already talking about doing it again next year. The first thing we noticed was how clean it was. Then we noticed all of the little extras that helped make it feel like we were home. From coffe and condiments in the refrigerator and cupboards, to beach towels, chairs, etc in the closet, this place had it all. Julie and Jerome have done a wonderful job making this a very special place to stay. This was our first time in Ocean Beach and we immediately fell in love with the friendly atmosphere of the neighborhood. We read other reviews that said everything was in walking distance, but we were surprised to find so many restaurants and a wonderful organic food market. We did not drive our car once in the week we were there (except to move it across the street on street sweeping day). Rezzi (our dog) reminded me to tell everyone how much fun she had at the dog beach. I think we had as much fun watching her play in the surf and play with the other dogs as she had. We all had lots of exercise and relaxation. What a great way to spend a week at the beach. Thanks to Julie and Jerome...until next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. Nothing makes us happier than to hear that our guests had a wonderful stay at our place. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Thanks so much,
Julie & Jerome

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great getaway

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: January 5, 2011

I spent a total of 55 days in this rental and loved every moment of it. The pictures are an accurate depiction of the unit which was very clean and well stocked with linens, kitchen utensils, etc.
The area was great as well. I had my two dogs with me and having dog beach just a two minute walk away was a huge bonus. I loved being in Ocean Beach and found everything in the area accessible by foot which really beat having to drive everywhere. I would definitely recommend this rental if you're considering spending time in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you ZK and we hope to see you again sometime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A way to unplug from the rush of life

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2010

The property really fit the bill. No need to drive..walk or take the bikes for spin downtown for food drink and fun. The owners are awesome very caring about the property and making sure your visit fits your expectations. The courtyard is a way to keep the business of the beach from your early morning coffee or late night wine. I would recommend this place for two people more than that may feel tight. Everything you need is provided.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

For us it was better than staying in a hotel !

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

Since we know our way around San Diego this was a great location to spend our vacation with our Yorkie. We loved the fact that we could walk to the Doggy beach with our pet everyday..Loved the OB community and it's great friendly atmosphere, the many restaurants, cafes, bakeries shopping places close by and the sunsets were beautiful.The rental was very clean and well - equipped. The owners were available, friendly, and made our stay more enjoyable.. The overall experience was fantastic!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Oh Magaly we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and our accomodations. We hope to see you next summer!
Thank you,
Julie & Jerome

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

harbor of healing

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 8, 2010

I cannot say enough about the gracious hosts, Julie and Jerome. I came to the area for cancer treatments, and they made our 3 week stay incredibaly enjoyable. The property is so nice and clean, the beach is beautiful, the dog beach was fun to go and watch and forget about illness for a while! Julie and Jerome are people you instantly feel as though you've known for a long time. They give you lots of wonderful suggestions of places to eat and see, never steering you wrong. I think my husband ate at Hodad's 4 times! I would love to be able to return for a vacation here some time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great place to go and escape AZ heat!!!

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

Julie and Jerome were very kind and accomodating. We arrived late in the evening and they met us and parked a car prior in the day, so we would have a close parking spot to park/unload our belongings. The description is accurate, the location of the condo is 1 block from the beach. Dog beach is also within walking distance. We brought our lab with us and needless to say........he had a great vacation, too. The bungalow is very CLEAN, quiet, and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the patio, walking to the beach/pier, and going to the bars/restaurants; everything is so close we never drove our car for three days. Julie and Jerome have everything there: bikes, beach chairs, cooler, games, bbq grill, and even beach toys for kids. We had such a nice time we will definately be back!!! I would recommend this property to friends and relatives. Thanks Julie & Jerome for being so kind and thoughtful with all of the amenities available to your guests :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Erin and Nick; It is so nice of you to write a review. You were so very tired when you arrived that it is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. That is why we do this vacation rental; we really feel that we enrich peoples lives by providing a nice place to stay. I hope that Buddy had a nice time too!
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again.
Julie and Jerome

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Location!

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2008

Jerome and Julie are great hosts. The property had everything listed put lots of little extras. We loved being within walking distance to restaurants and truly just steps from the beach. It was central to everything we wanted to do. Hope we get to visit San Diego again soon and come back to this great place!

Linda and Dennis

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Linda and Dennis,
Nothing makes us happier than to hear our guests had a good time while in San Diego and that they enjoyed our place. We hope that we see you again soon.
Julie & Jerome

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Ocean Oasis

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 21, 2010

We had a wonderful time staying at the Ocean Palms Bungalow. Julie and Jerome thought of every possible necessity and supplied it with love and care. The location is amazing for anyone bringing their dog to the beach. Our boxador LOVED the dog beach and was welcomed with open arms by Julie and Jerome. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the kitchen met all of our needs, the bathroom was nicely renovated with soft, luxurious towels, and the living room was so comfortable and a perfect place to watch HBO movies on the very nice television set. We will definitely return to the Ocean Palms Bungelow, and I will happily recommend it to my family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Oh thank you for the nice review. We fell in love with your boxador and we loved having you as guests; it is nice to hear you loved the place.
We hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ocean Palms

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

Living here for the past 6 months has been a real dream come true in so many ways. Thanks for making this possible Julie & Jerome-
See you again-Tej Kerhonkson, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ocean Palms

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

Wow! What a perfect beach house. The dogs had a great time at dog beach.
Thanks for everything. We must now return to the 112 degree temp in Phoenix :( We shall return
Scott & Angela (Phoenix Az.)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ocean Palms

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

What a wonderful time we had at this special place! Your cottage was a perfect place to stay. We love the smalltown beach community and being able to walk to everything. You have thought of everything one might need and then some.
Ann & Tony
Colorado Springs Co.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ocean Palms

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

Thanks Julie & Jerome!
We love your beach cottage! "Lucky" loved the runs on the beach. We shall return!
Howdy & Christa
Bakersfield, Ca.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

July 2008

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2009

Thanks Jerome and Julie for the great beach house. You thought of everything. We had a great stay. Nice warm weather
Marie, ron, Andrew and Jave (Tucson, Az.)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 12, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Jerome and Julie provided us with the perfect spot at Ocean Beach. Everything was so clean and inviting. We felt at home immediately. The condo is just feet from the beach and minutes from the wonders of San Diego. It was hard to leave, but we will be back!

Kim & Larry

Atlanta, GA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 28, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

This is our second time staying at this cute CLEAN cottage close to the beach. Our dog Lucky loves it as much as we do.
We shall be back!!

Thanks Julie and Jerome

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 10, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We had a great time in this bungalow. The place was very clean and was the perfect place to relax after a day at the beach. It's close to everything and the dogs loved Dog Beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 18, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We certainly enjoyed our week stay at Jerome and Julies wonderful cottage! Our dog, Lucky, was very enhthusiatic when we told him we would return! Thanks for the clean, affordable and "beach close" accomadations...hope to see you soon...Howdy, Christa and Lucky Miller

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 16, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We loved staying at this very clean and comfortable guest cottage. It is so convenient to the beach and restaurants. We walked everywhere. Julie and Jerome have thought of every detail down to the boogie board and suntan lotion that I forgot. The bed linens and towels are first class.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 29, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We just returned from a terrific 3 day visit to Ocean
Beach where we stayed at Jerome and Julie's great
little rental. It was very clean and comfortable with
every possible detail seen to. We spent a lot of
time at the beach which was just steps away and
the unit was stocked with anything you could
possibly want or need. Bikes and helmets, beach ch
airs, beach towels, sand toys, a cooler...you name
it, it was there! Jerome and Julie were also very
helpful and were available to help with directions,
recommendations, etc. We would highly
recommend staying here and will definately be
back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 7, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

My wife and I stayed in the apartment for 10 days over Christmas 07 and New Year. We really enjoyed our stay and found the property in great order and well equipped. The location is fantastic and Jerome made us feel very much at home. In fact the next day he made us scones, I wish we had more they were delicious. We will be back again during 2008 and will definitely stay there again.

Thank you for your hospitality

Alpha & Estelle

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 25, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Julie & Jerome,
We just returned from our wonderful stay in Ocean Beach at your rental. We so enjoyed the whole area and especially appreciated all the wonderful details in the apartment. That really made us feel "at home". The location is excellent and we are already missing our morning walk on the beach with the dogs. We will definitely be back!
Thank you again for everything!
Becky & Chuck

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 27, 2007   Date of arrival: August 27, 2007

Dear Jerome and Julie,
Your place became special to Ram & I as it is just a block away from where our daughter and son in law live.
Thank you for being so helpful.
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Neena & Ram Ramanathan- Singapore & India

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 4, 2007   Date of arrival: July 4, 2007

Julie and Jerome,
You all are great hosts. My family and I had a great time in Ocean Beach. See you next year,
The De Nicolas of Phoenix, Az.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review