reviews for: listing #40882 - Waikiki, Hawaii Condo rental

Best of all Worlds: Ocean and Park for Summertime Fun
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Waikiki Grand
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $94 - $145 /nt
    $595 - $995 /wk
    $1,895 - $2,495 /mth

sort by:

Perfect place for two!

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

Mahalo Mike! From the first email communication, getting questions answered, registration and our stay it was a complete delight to work with you, your staff and stay at the condo. My girlfriend & I were in Waikiki for a week and loved this location! A block from the beach, close to bus stop, Starbucks, ABC store, restaurants but yet at the quiet end of "the strip" so sleeping and down time in the condo was just as enjoyable as being out and about. It was a very safe, secure neighborhood to be traveling alone, with a friend, or small children. We had everything needed in the Condo, it's like you/your staff has thought of it all.
We both stated we would stay again or bring our husbands back and book this condo in the future. Your email to follow-up on our stay and confirm we made it home safe was very thoughtful.
Amy & Nancy

Owners response: Mahalo for your thoughtful review. I, too, have found the condo a good base for exploring--and also a nice place to just relax :-).

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Charming Condo Near the Beach

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

We had a great time at this condo. You can walk to Waikiki's beaches, restaurants and shops - it's right near a great restaurant. It's comfortable and clean and it has everything you need to stay in and make a nice meal. Walking distance to ABC and also the grocery store. Recommend this condo for couples or perhaps a friends' getaway. We'd definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. I'm really glad that you had a great time, and enjoyed the condo. My wish is that all of my guests take advantage to the location, and quick access to the beach and shops and restaurants. I hope that you are able to come visit again on island.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great/Clean Condo and Excellent Location

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

Condo was in a very convenient location in Waikiki. The condo itself had everything we needed, even a waterproof bag and cooler that was very handy! Not to mention it was very clean and the air conditioning worked so well! Would totally recommend this for a couple.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. I'm really glad that you enjoyed the condo, and the convenient location to what Waikiki has to offer.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Quaint, Clean and great LOCATION!!

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

I considered myself lucky when I came across this condo. Great location, very reasonably priced, comfortable and clean. The condo is well stocked for the beach too. Snorkeling equipment,beach towels, umbrella, chairs and wave board. Condo is located across the street from Honolulu zoo and a half a block from the main bus line. It was so easy to get around. The beach is a stones throw away from the condo. An added bonus is the efficiency of the owner Mike. I did my transaction directly through him. He promptly responded to my questions. He had all the information I needed from arrival to departure outlined in a clear and concise manner. His property manager Steve is readily available when you arrive which was helpful as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks very much for the review. I'm really glad that you liked the condo, and took advantage of its' great location. I consider myself lucky to have had you as a guest, and would welcome a return stay. Mahalo, Mike.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfortable place!!

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

I truly enjoyed the stay and the condo! The location was just perfect for my purpose of the stay and the condo had everything I needed.
It was clean and comfortable with a view of Diamond Head.
The only downside is that there was not a supermarket around and I needed to walk 15min to get things. But there was a farmers market held at the primary school next to the condo on Saturdays where you can buy fresh veggies an d fruits. That was helpful:)

Also Mike was always very helpful and his kind and prompt assistance made my stay comfortable as well. Thank you very much!

Would love to stay at my next trip again.

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for your stay all the way from Tokyo :-). I'm really glad that you enjoyed the condo. Yes, Waikiki is ill served by supermarkets (there is only one). But I'm happy that you found a farmer's market. There is also a farmer's market, on Tuesdays and Fridays, at the Waikiki Community Center--located about the same distance at the primary school. Mahalo, Mike

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Was the most disappointing place

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

We arrived to Hawaii very excited and landed in the condo with GREAT DISAPOINTMENT!
The condo was like a rating of a 0 out of 5, dirty floors with black hair everywhere, the futon cover looked like it hasn't been washed in years, the clock on the wall didn't work, there was no bathroom sink! The cups were cracked, the fridge was gross, the tub was dirty and the place was so old, with flat pillows and a bed worth throwing out, the mats on the floor almost walked on their own.
Funny thing that mike said he would wave the cleaning deposit! Ha
We phoned for a vacuum to Steve but no response. The 1990 tv portrayed a nice fuzz.
The pool, had a beautiful greasy burger smell while you dodge the leaves and cockroaches swimming their laps in the pool.
If you are on a budget of 20.00 a night this is the place, as that is all it is worth.
WE ENDED UP FINDING A BEAUTIFUL CLEAN FANCY PLACE WITH A NICE POOL A FEW BLOCKS AWAY,,! Lucky for us, who knows what we could have caught in such a dirty place.
Thanks mike and Steve for no response and for nothing but a disappointment and extra expense for us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: My goodness, I did a double-take when I saw this review. I had to check to see if these were my guests in this unit, or if it was a mistake. The last that I spoke with the guests was when they called and emailed shortly before their stay to confirm the arrival instructions--they didn’t contact me after that, so I didn’t know of their unhappiness. Steve did tell me that he'd taken a vacuum over, and I confirmed that it was still there.

Not used to receiving bad reviews, the issues raised here were disturbing to me. With all of the previous 14 reviews--including one from guests shortly before this stay--in praise of the condo, I inspected the unit and consulted with others associated with it. There was need to address some things--new pillows (with extras in the closet), battery replacement in the wall clock, fresh linens, and a new 32" LED tv. We found that, generally, the other complaints were without merit. I'm sorry that I let the things addressed go beyond their useful life.

It would be needless and unprofessional for me to go on about how astonished I am when I read the review. It seems just plain mean-spirited. I’m left speechless. Perhaps not the best way to respond, but I think that it is the only decent path.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A wonderful Experience

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

The location is excellent. The studio was clean and comfortable. It was such a great place to come back to after a busy day full of activities. I highly recommend this property to future renters :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. The condo is located on the beach block, right across from Kapiolani Park...walking distance to all the Waikiki has to offer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay for two!

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

Mike we had a wonderful time in Oahu. Thank you for allowing us to rent your condo for our anniversary, we had the most perfect stay. The location is accessible to everything, I'm so glad we didn't need a car. We wished we didn't have to leave!

Meredith & Phillip

Owners response: Much mahalo for taking the time to write. I wish that you didn't have to leave, too. The island has that affect on people :-).

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy, convenient & close to everything

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Warmest Mahalo Mike! Everything was wonderful! We couldn't ask for a better location! It was so nice to have Starbucks, Teddy's Bigger Burger, Waikiki Beach, Zoo, Aquarium, Kapiolani Park just a few feet away! The free WIFI, clean laundromat, lots of towels, the view, etc the list can go on & on were added bonuses!!! Your condo is fabulous! Would do it again, thanks so much!!!

Owners response: Much mahalo for your review, and for letting future guests know of everything that would be at their doorstep. Take care.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Waikiki Condo

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

Thanks Mike, for allowing us to rent your condo. We had a great time in Oahu, and your place was the perfect "base" for our island adventures. Everything we needed was there, and when we had a problem with the door lock, your mgr. promptly helped us out. Parking is best at the Banyan a short 3 min. walk; if you are there for a week, pay for parking by the week: $60 for 7 nights instead of $10 a day. Condo is close to all amenities, and it was great being able to cook breakfast in room before heading out for the day. Again, Mahalo Mike!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Much mahalo for the review, and the great parking tip for guests. I'm really glad that you had a great time :-).

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great stay!!!

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

We really anjoyed our stay in Mike's place. Location is very good, crossing the street you're on Waikiki beach!!!
The condo is small, but very nice and complete of everything (even an iron that saved my life in 2 occasions :P).
I would suggest this place to anyone planning a trip to O'ahu!

P.S. Mike, the owner, is a very nice person to deal with!

Owners response: Aloha, and thank you for taking the time--all the way from Italy--to write a review. I hope to see you back on the island. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous location

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

I really enjoyed staying in this condo which was right around the corner from the action of Kalakaua St, with all the shops and restaurants as well as a block away from Waikiki Beach. Almost everything you could want is within walking distance and there is a bus stop a block away if you want to go to Ala Moana Mall. The condo was clean and bright and had all the supplies one could want. Cable TV, air conditioning, beach stuff, DVD player and the ceiling fan is a very nice compliment to the air conditioner which I found I didn't need all the time. I would recommend this condo to anyone who appreciates good value for their money. I should add that the property manager is very helpful and renting it was a hassle free process! I enjoyed my trip to Hawaii immensely! Mahalo to the owner Mike & his staff.

Owners response: Mahalo for your comments. It makes me happy that you had a great time, and enjoyed the condo. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

APA Convention

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

I was happy to find this great deal in Waikiki. Excellent and comfortable for the money. Smaller than it looks on quick online view of pics. Has wall mirrors helping to give a larger feel. Kitchen has two burners and no conventional oven. We planned to cook but were too busy having fun and eating out. I recommend the place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Much mahalo for taking the time to write a review. There is a countertop convection oven, and microwave, but no range it is true. I'm really glad that you had a fun time, and enjoyed the condo. Thank you again for your stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun stay at Mike's place at The Grand

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

My girlfriend and I enjoyed this wonderful condo in Waikiki. It is in the perfect location, just a block from the beach and all the action. Everything you need for a good time is there for your use (i.e., snorkel gear, boogie boards, beach towels, etc.). We were able to make it out on the town at night but used the kitchen for breakfast in the morning. Overall, it was a great trip and the condo was awesome for us. Mahalo, Mike.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Condo

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2011

This was the perfect place for our 8 night stay. The condo was clean and in a great location. We walked from the hotel to Diamond Head as it was close and the zoo was fantastic to. There is a restaurant with a beach view and Starbucks is also very close. Is a quiet, comfortable place and everyone is very friendly. I would most definetly stay here again. Thanks for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Much mahalo to you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Waikiki Grand Hotel Condo

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 13, 2010

I enjoyed my stay 5 nights at this condo. It's a convenient, quiet location and a short walk to the waikiki beach, the zoo, the diamond head volcano. This condo has all amenities that u need if u want to buy some foods to eat at your hotel. The internet connectivity is great and running fast. The top deck floor has a great view of the diamond head and waikiki beach. If u get a rental car, park at the waikiki banyan hotel instead ( a short back to the hotel) which cost $10 a day.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: Much mahalo for your review. You give some great information for guests to really enjoy their stay :-)

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect space for us!

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

The hotel was older but the condo was really clean and perfect for my husband and I. We loved being so close to the park and the beach. We had no noise problems at all and everyone was very nice!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your stay and the review; I'm really glad that you had a terrific stay :-). It is true that the Grand is an oldy but goody; most of the best located buildings in Waikiki were built in the 60s.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

a perfect place to stay

Review submitted: December 6, 2009   Date of arrival: November 6, 2009

We had a terrific time and this place is just perfect to stay. Zoo, park, beach, Starbucks and an awsome restaurant with beach view + excellent live music are just around the corner. We have enjoyed to be away from the crowd but to be so close to downtown at the same time. Highly recommended ....
Thx again for your friendly hospitality

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Place and Location

Review submitted: November 11, 2009   Date of arrival: October 28, 2009

This place is perfect for two people. We even did tons of shopping and still enough room for all of our stuff. We were only concerned how we would get all of our stuff home. The location is awesome. One block from Waikiki beach as well as all the major shops and restuarants. Also, close to Diamond Head. Already planning our next trip and this is the place we will be staying at for sure! Can't wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review