reviews for: listing #40885 - Waikiki, Hawaii Studio rental

Awesome Ocean and Shore View; Steps to the Beach; Kitchen
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  The Seashore
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $89 - $139 /nt
    $535 - $995 /wk
    $1,895 - $2,595 /mth

sort by:

Location, location, location! + air conditioning!

Review submitted: November 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

This condo is in such a great location, and has a wonderful view of the beach from the lanai. Only one block away from the beach, it was easy to walk to and from not only the beach, but to the many different restaurants and shops nearby. The unit is small, but who comes to Waikiki to sit in their room? Besides, you can’t beat the price for what you get, so overall I consider it to have been money well spent. It was great to have air conditioning, and the building has secure entry and coin-operated laundry. Parking is hard to find in this area, but a few blocks away there is a garage with great weekly rates. I would happily stay here again on my next trip to Waikiki.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Much mahalo for taking the time to write a review, and pointing out the view and location. There are only two other condominium buildings (that I know of, and aren't hotels or condotels :-) closer to Waikiki Beach. I hope that you're able to re-visit the island soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location and all you need

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 31, 2013

This place was great - everything we needed. Great location a block away from the beach, nice lanai with view of the beach and sunset. Definitely not huge but no need to spend much time at the condo with the beach and all the action around you. We stayed for a week and loved it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. I'm really glad that you had a great time, and took advantage of the terrific view and location (a mini block, just 120 feet, from the beach). I hope that you're able to come back and visit us on the island again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome location, awesome lanai!!

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 6, 2013

We were initially impressed by Mike's prompt correspondence and response to questions with friendliness and detail. Mike is great to work with and very considerate. The other reviews made us look further into this place and we are very glad we did! The location is great without a car (we rented a car for half our stay) and conveniently located within Waikiki. There was little outside noise due to being on the 9th floor and that also contributed to the spectacular view from the lanai. The condo is well stocked with kitchen, bathroom, and bedding supplies which made the arrival very smooth. We stayed for 3 weeks and felt very fortunate for such a good home base for our vacation. The price is very competitive and what we thought was the best value on Waikiki beach. Overall we can't say anything but great things and this helped make our stay so memorable.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure having you as guests, and making my place your home-away-from-home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Location, Location, Location

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

Wonderfully located condo in the Heart of Waikiki and just steps from the beach. Close to the Zoo, Aquarium, Jimmy Buffets. Public Transit nearby and although there is no available parking for the condo there is very reasonable parking nearby. The owner is wonderful and very quick to respond to all e-mails. We highly recommend this condo!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Much mahalo for your review. I'm really glad that you enjoyed many of the things that Waikiki has to offer. I'd tell you that I'd welcome you back as guests, but I know that you've already booked your next stay :-). Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Indiaan Trail

Review submitted: June 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

The unit is as advertised. Small and neat. Parking was a more than two blocks away. There was some confusion with the entry system at the beginning. The toilet run off and on all day and night. We did how ever enjoy our stay. I would recommend more information in the unit such as exact location of the laundry and the trash dumpster.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry about the toilet running. We noticed it while inspecting the unit after your stay, and it was fixed. I hope that it wasn't too much of a nuisance; if so, I wish that you'd let us know during your stay. The comment about providing the location of the laundry and garbage disposal (both located in the garage, as you must have discovered) is a good one, and I will figure out the best way to provide that information. Take care.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Super Place!

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

My husband and I had a fabulous stay at the Seashore. It is exactly as described, super close to the beach and it had everything we needed! The condo was very clean and very comfortable. The Owner provided excellent customer service too! I would so recommend this condo to my friends. I loved being so close to the beach and drinking coffee on the balcony in the morning while looking at the beautiful ocean and having dinner on the balcony at dinnertime while watching all the action downtown. I felt very comfortable here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm really glad that you had such a great time, and enjoyed the condo. Aloha, Mike.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Location & Amenities

Review submitted: February 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

My husband and I have just completed a one month stay at the Seashore. It was our first private condo rental so we weren't sure what to expect. Mike put us at ease, answered our questions right away and made us feel comfortable with the process. The condo had everything that we needed for our stay, including WiFi, cable TV and free local/long distance calls (US & Canada). His studio with kitchen facilities was comfortable and suited our relaxed style perfectly. The location was terrific, with only a few short blocks to the Honolulu Zoo, Aquarium and Kapiolani park. It was very convenient having the beach one short block away. The best part of our stay was being able to sit out on the lanai and watch the beautiful Hawaiian sunsets. We look forward to returning some time soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Much mahalo for taking the time to write a review, and highlighting some of the amenties :-). I am really happy to have had you as guests, and welcome your return to re-visit us on island.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Location!

Review submitted: January 27, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

This place was perfect! Awsome location, close to everything! We stayed in this unit the begining of December and had a fantastic time. The unit was small but honestly we were really only there to sleep and shower. It was very clean and fully stocked with everything you need. Mike was very easy to work with and made our check in and out effortless. Parking is about 5 blocks away, the International Market is only about a 10 min walk, there is a store on every corner and a beautiful beach with lots of activities just 1 block away. We did not have any trouble with noise, I mean you are right in the heart of the city so you are going to hear cars and people when out on the lanai but the room was quite sound proof at night when the patio door is closed so we had no trouble sleeping. Would definatelly stay in this unit again! Thanks Mike!

Owners response: Much mahalo for taking the time to write a review. You provide several great tips for guests :-). I wish that I'd worked with you on finding parking; we could have found something a bit closer. I hope that you are able to return, and I'd welcome you back to The Seashore.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great, central location

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

This studio apartment is a great price for the location. The unit has everything you need if you want to cook for yourself and is close to the beach and public transportation. We stayed for a week and had a great time. If you're not a fan of staying in a hotel for extended periods (like me), then this is a great find. Called the local contact when we landed and settled in very quickly. I would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for mentioning the awesome location and view (and the value in this :-). I'd be happy to see you return, and hope that you are able to soon. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

SeaShore Studio Unit 96

Review submitted: November 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2012

This was our first visit to Waikiki. The studio is in an ideal location. It is five minutes walk from the Beach and a five minute walk for pick up and drop off for any trips you book. Transport from the airport drops you off by the Hyatt Regency which is kitty corner to the Studio.
The studio was clean and well stocked so very easy to pick up groceries and make your own meals.
It has two elevators so no stairs to pack luggage up. It had a great view of the ocean.
Mike is great to deal with and returns e-mails very quickly. I would have no problems recommending this studio to my friends.
You are very close to many restaurants and if you are into surfing plenty of opportunities

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm really glad that you were able to take full advantage of all that Waikiki has to offer :-).

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Condo Right By The Ocean

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

Condo right by the ocean. Can't beat the view. Has everything one needs. Mike is one of the nicest people and always quick to respond to every need. Would definitely recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Much mahalo for taking the time to write a review, and for enjoying the awesome view :-).

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Grandma Nancy and Two Granddaughters

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

The location of Seashore 96 was perfect as my granddaughters and I had a central place from which to go forth..heading to the beach, shopping, sightseeing. The Bus, the island bus system was one block away and that stop connected us with all island bus transportation. The girls ( 14 and 16 ) and I enjoyed watching the sunsets over the ocean and the boat activity from the lanai each evening and taking short walks in any direction from the condo. Any of our questions or concerns were addressed very timely by Mike , Steve, or David. Most importantly, I felt my granddaughters were safe in the building and the area and well received. They made many friends in the building and neighborhood during our month long stay. I appreciated the Farmer's Market held twice a week just one block away and good options for fast food, groceries, or island specialty restaurants within a short distance ( 5 minutes) Thanks for a wonderful time in paradise!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: I am really glad that you were able to conveniently take advantage of all that Waikiki has to offer, and make friends in the building. It has a pleasure having you as guests. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

One of the best locations in Waikiki

Review submitted: May 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

Our stay at the seashore was wonderful. The place clean and will stocked with everything we needed for comfortable vacation. Best of all is the location, just few steps to the best part of Waikiki beach. This will be our first choice next time in Hawaii .

Owners response: I am really glad that you were able to comfortably enjoy all that Waikiki has to offer. Mahalo for making us your first choice on accommodation when you return :-).

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best location in Waikiki

Review submitted: May 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

Thank you Mike, our stay at the seashore was wonderful. The place clean and will stocked with everything we needed for comfortable vacation. Best of all is the location, just few steps to the best part of Waikiki beach. This will be our first choice next time in Hawaii .

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Condo Review

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

While a bit dated – this condo worked great for us! The owner was extremely helpful in getting everything in order (dates, payment, etc.) answering our questions before and during our stay, and the property manager was able to get us in and out of the condo with little fuss.

What I cannot emphasize enough is the great location! Even though I pulled it up on the map – actually getting there and seeing where we were located – awesome! So close to the beach, shops and restaurants – if and when we are lucky enough to go back I will be sure to book here!

Additionally the nearby parking garage that was suggested worked well and provided the lowest cost option for our rental car. While it would be nice to park right next to the building – the parking garage location was easy enough to get in and out of and with Hawaii’s beautiful weather the short walk was very easy to manage.

I have never rented a condo before so this was my first experience but it worked out so well I would not hesitate to rent with them again!

Owners response: Aloha, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. There is parking closer, even next door, but it is quite a bit more expensive. People who rent a car usually opt for this nearby garage.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The perfect place to stay in Honolulu.

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

This is a delightful apartment in a very good location. The apartment is impeccably furnished, equipped, and decorated. It's really as pretty as the photos in the ad. You have everything you need right outside the front door.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

The owner was a great to deal with. Payment procedures were flexible and easy Checking in and checkout was convenient; I got early access to the apartment on arrival and I got my security deposit back in...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. You were great to work with as well :-).

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Holidays is Waikiki

Review submitted: January 22, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

We arrived late in the evening on Christmas night. The directions were easy to follow to get into the building and condo. The unit was clean and exactly as described on line. Although it was small, it was perfect for two people and didn't feel small because of the lanai. We loved watching the sunset every night from our west facing lanai. Any issues we had were quickly taken care of. The location was great and was an easy 2 minute walk to the beach. Beach towels and chairs were provided. We are hoping to come back again and stay for longer than 2 weeks. Mike was great to deal with and made our vacation stress free. We would definitely stay here again.

Owners response: Mahalo for spending the holidays with us on the island :-)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Seashore at Waikiki

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

When Mike says the condo is only feet away from the beach, he really means it. The beach is barely a city block from the condo! Between the condo and the beach is the Hyatt Regency, I'm sure they charge at least $175/night and the hotel is literally 500 ft from the condo. So the deal offered on the condo is terrific!

It was a comfy studio apartment on the 9th floor so you see a fantastic view out the balcony. It has a full kitchen, bathroom and fridge! There is a very comfy queen size bed and pull out sofa bed for one. The sofa bed was anything but comfy but what do you expect from a sofa bed? The A/C totally works and kept us cool the whole time we were there! No idea how to get the internet to work....no password listed in the folder and the only internet offered; you have to pay. The building looks bad from the outside but is very clean and homie on the inside. The condo itself was clean, airy, and cozy.

We had some trouble finding the parking garage recommended by Mike but that wasn't his fault, evidently the building management just had their heads up their butts. One phone call to Mike and everything was resolved.

There are many, many restaurants, bars, shopping all within walking distance of the condo. If you want to do activities, there are a few at Waikiki Beach. I do recommend a car to get to the more fun activities though. This will be the case if you stay ANYWHERE in Waikiki.

I would definitely recommend this condo to couples or a family of 3. This was the perfect price, space and location for us in Waikiki! When I return to Waikiki, I will definitely try to stay here again regardless of the issues with the building because Mike is a fantastic person to rent from.

Owners response: Although I am grateful for the terrific review, I would like to clear up a couple of items.

1. Hi-speed internet is installed, with free unlimited usage, in the condo. There is a dual modem, so that you may connect the computer directly through a LAN cord (provided in the drawer beneath the modem). WIFI is also available, but the password is changed regularly to prevent fraudulent use of the signal--I ask future guests to call me after checkin in to get the current passcode if unable to connect through the LAN cord to their ethernet port (which is always a more secure connection to the internet).

2. I agree that the building looks drab from the outside. It was recently re-painted, but the powers in charge have no imagination. I does look clean, but not very pretty :-).

Mahalo for taking the time for writing the review. Your business is appreciated

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Location, Location

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

Convenient to everything. Lovely apartment with a great view of the ocean. It had more of a homey feeling instead of just a vacation rental. Spanking clean as well. I highly recommend the rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Owners response: Mahalo for your review. I'm glad that the condo felt like a home-away-from-home :-)

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Holiday in Honolulu

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

very well located clean a little small but defenitely does the trick

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Much mahalo for your review. And thank you for your suggestion on clarifying the arrival sheet :-)

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Mike's Seashore Condo

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

I absolutely enjoyed my stay at Mike's condo! It was clean, tidy, much cozier than a hotel, and had a kitchen stocked with most everything you need (just buy groceries). The air conditioning worked great and the tap water was delicious (this means something coming from a Seattleite). I couldn't have asked for a better location. It really was just steps from the beach!

My favorite part was sitting on the lanai watching the sun set over the water. I would stay out there sipping pineapple wine well after the sun went down enjoying the night's warmth while lights from hotels and other condos lit up.

There are also plenty of things to do during a visit including the zoo and aquarium within walking distance. The tours and excursions pick up at the Hyatt which is just kitty corner to the condo.

I will be recommending Mike's condo to any friends and family looking for a nice place to stay in Waikiki.

Suggestion: pack binoculars to watch the surfers from the lanai. Also, a tip from the locals, grocery shop outside of Waikiki - it's fairly comparable to home then.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Much mahalo for taking the time to write a review. I am really glad that you had a great time, and enjoyed the condo.

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Awesome

Review submitted: August 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

What a wonderful experience!! I can not say enough about the time we spent at Waikiki and thanks to your accomodations it was "AWESOME." The location was great had access to everything...the building manager was a super great guy can not say enough..definitely would recommend to anyone wanting to stay on Oahu.
Thank you ever so much!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: I am really happy that you had an awesome time. We thought that you were terrific too :-). Much mahalo for your stay.

Helpful votes: 12 / 15

 

Locatio, location, location

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2010

One block from one of the worlds greatest beaches. Need I say more. Condo offered all a traveler would need. No car necessary. Will surely go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Owners response: Much mahalo for the review. I would be happy to host you again when you return to the island. The sun, surf, and sand also await...and sunset dinners on the lanai :-).

Helpful votes: 20 / 23

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review