reviews for: listing #40935 - Portland, Oregon House rental

Affordable West Linn
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $300 /nt
    $700 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

Excellent place to stay!

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

This was a perfect find for me and my two children! We stayed in the little studio house and it was the perfect size for us. The kids loved it and it was a very quiet neighbourhood even with the construction going on across the street. The owner was very accommodating with my budget. The only thing I didn't like was that there were no window coverings on the kitchen windows made for a bright space when sleeping downstairs but a minor complaint at best. The furnace is loud but we just turned the heat off at night and only turned it back on when we started to get cold. The furniture was comfortable and the place was nicely decorated. The wireless internet is not strong enough for phones & ipad's but does reach computers. I would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to a few of my friends. We never did meet the owner but we were gone all day everyday, however my dealings with her via email were always prompt and friendly. Thank you for giving my family an amazing place to stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Property

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

The description and photos accurately depict the property. It was very clean and well-equipped. Beds and linens were clean and comfortable. Everyone in our group commented that they sleep well. The weather was perfectly sunny during our entire stay. So, we were able to enjoy the beautifully landscaped and furnished outdoor areas. The location was near freeway entrance & exit. Convenient to shopping and a fabulous Thai restaurant, Linn Thai. Quiet neighborhood.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Location!

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

We loved the beautifully landscaped back yard. We were blessed with 4 sunny days out of our 6 and spent almost every evening enjoying the view from the deck. Our group was visiting Portland for a medical conference so we were not home during the days. We rented both the main house and the guest house for our group of thirteen. Only 25 minutes to PDX, beautiful walking trails that we enjoyed almost every evening were very close by as well. We visited Pioneer Mall, Voodoo Donuts (we recommend the Bacon Maple Bar) and Huber's Cafe (try the Spanish Coffee either cold or hot, they were fantastic). Walked to markets and Starbuck's. Quiet neighborhood so we were not able to play our music outside on the deck which was disappointing, other than that this vacation home met our needs.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Wedding Weekend

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

We spent four days and nights at this home for a family reunion and wedding in the area. We rented both the home and cottage and there was plenty of room for everyone including three teenagers who wanted their own space.

It is centrally located near grocery shopping, restaurants and outdoor recreation - and if you just want to relax, the backyard offers a quiet escape after a day out on the town. There is ample room for off street parking.

The pictures and description of the property are accurately reflected in the owner's description. The property is clean and well maintained. The owner was accommodating without being patronizing. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a large (or small) gathering place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great Location

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2011

This rental property was GREAT !!
The location was perfect for our family. The price was VERY reasonable. Nice and quiet neighborhood, but close enough to easily visit the Portland Zoo and OMSI. The home was very comfortable and well maintained. Thank you for sharing your home !!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Quiet & Charming

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2010

What a lovely home nestled in a quiet West Linn neighborhood. Beautiful garden backyard with lots of room for enjoying the weather, as well as spacious comfortable area indoors for relaxing. Just what our family of eight needed while in the Portland area on business. It is within walking distance to the Willamette River where we fished, hiked and just enjoyed the view. We'll plan to stay again on our next visit to Portland.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Ideal!

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

What a beautiful home, interior and yard! My wife and I are local and we had family coming in to town. We wanted a place that would fit us all and with amenities. After looking around we found this place. It is in a very nice neighborhood with a lot of restaurants, parks, trails, etc. close by. The yard and interior decorating are really nice. There’s also plenty of parking and a gate on the driveway if you're worried about anything.

I admit I was skeptical when I read the other post and was hesitant to rent. However, we chose to stay anyway and we had absolutely no problems with the property or the owner whatsoever. In fact, she went out of her way to make things work for us including on price. We left the place generally clean and had no issues there either.

We had a lot of fun and enjoyed the whole experience without incident. I would certainly stay there again and will recommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great location & amenities, worked well for us

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

We rented both houses for 8 people (including 2 seniors and 1 teenager) for 8 days. Both houses were well equiped and comfortable. We cooked most meals there and there was all the pots, pans, dishes, etc. that we needed. Having the use of two fridges and dishwashers was very nice.

The location is great. On Saturday we walked over to the park where an art show was on. The walk along the river was also very nice. Drives to downtown, OMSI, wineries, Mt. Hood, and various shopping were convenient. Nearby are grocery stores and restaurants (we recommend BJ Willy's pizza), even a good bagel shop! The shoppers amongst us enjoyed nearby Lake Oswego. The water lovers enjoyed the Tualatin River.

The neighborhood is quiet and peaceful. The property is beautifully landscaped and if the weather had been a bit better we would enjoyed spending more time sitting and eating outside.

The owners took care of a couple of minor concerns quickly and satisfactorily.

We left talking about doing this again with this particular property in a year or so.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

nice accomodations but.....

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

The property was gorgeous, we rented both houses and they were very nice. The weather was horrible, rained for a week. We went there for a graduation so we just dealt with the rain. We treated the homes as though they were our own, kept up to the towel laundry and cleaned the whole place spotless before we departed. We had 16 people and it was a family trip, all adults and 2 children. Obviously the owners did not trust us as they constantly drove by the house very slowly peering towards us each day. The female owner of the home entered the property on a few occassions while we were there and not there unanounced, once rumaging through drawers to find "something she misplaced" and left empty handed. I understand these are the owners but in my experience (and I have rented before) the property owners NEVER bothered us before and ABSOLUTELY should never enter the residence when you are not there and your belongings are inside. After our trip was over and we had all gone home we were told that we would be charged additional fees for cleaning because there were a few fingerprints on a window and 1 towel had a "misterious" stain that we never saw. It took a heated conversation to resolve that issue. I think anyone who does rent this property needs to know that you will be spyed on constantly.

Owners response: The only problem that I would state was factual is that the guest had 16 people and the max number of guests allowed is 14pp. She also decided to go outside the agreement and brought a dog to the premise. When I confronted her on this she was very defensive. Given this breach of contract, she was very angry about my approaching her on the issue and made issue with my involvement with the property. Pets are a great concern as a subsequent bride had an allergic reaction to the pet dander and caused great inconvience to her during a very special time.
I have been in business for 2+ years and have had hundreds of happy guests.
Thank goodness most people are very respectful of this place.

Helpful votes: 32 / 32

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review