reviews for: listing #40964vb - Playa del Coco, Costa Rica rental

Very Private All Inclusive Luxury Rental Villa in Ocotal
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  7
  • hot tub  yes
  • sleeps  13
  • pets considered  ask owner

sort by:

came here for my 50th with my family with super high expectations...

Review submitted: July 25, 2014   Date of arrival: July 14, 2014

Ten months ago, I started talking to Liz after finding this home. She was always responsive. I wanted the perfect place to celebrate my 50th with my husband and two children, 10 and 12. I finally booked 5 nights and will say I had very high expectations for this house.
When we arrived at the villa, I was literally speechless. The 180 degree ocean views can not be captured in a photo. Nor can the openness of the living area, the attention to detail nor the spectacular pool. But we soon realized that there was even more to impress us. Brenda, the maid, took all of our dirty clothes from 3 days in the rainforest and washed them for us. Benedicto, the amazing chef, who cooks every meal with such pride and passion, had delicious nachos waiting for us.
When I would awake in the morning, I would don my Villa Vista de Oro robe and walk down the steps feeling like I was starring on lifestyles of the rich and famous. Benedicto would have freshly prepared juice for the children and great Costa Rican coffee for us. Then we would have a tray of fresh fruit and then a delicious cooked to order breakfast. My son ate pancakes and bacon every day and could not have been happier. All the meals were cooked with such passion. Benedicto taught my daughter how to make strawberry juice and gave my husband and me a lesson on ceviche preparation. On our day of departure, Benedicto sent us off with sandwiches for the kids and ceviche for us. All the folks at the airport were hoping the ceviche would not make it past security so they could eat it!
We did the adventure day at Hacienda Guachelpin, sailed and snorkeled on the Seabird, and had open air massages at the house. Lovely….
Benedicto became a friend to us and this made the trip even better than we could have expected. He realized that we missed our dog and brought the family dog, Muneco, to the house. He took us on a 3 1/2 hour golf cart ride which included a ride to the Pez Vela beach where we all (Muneco included!) swam in the clear water and then on a ride to see the spectacular views and villas of Ocotal. He watched a movie with us (we had on the Spanish subtitles) and we looked at the stars one crystal clear night. He helped me improve my Spanish and taught the kids basic words.
One our our tour guides brought a couple staying at the Four Seasons and they could not believe the house!
Although this was the rainy season, the weather was perfect. Thanks so much for exceeding all expectations!

Owners response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! The view for that first moment after arrival truly is unbelievably breathtaking, isn't it? Thank you for your wonderful words.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Stunning view- best group family vaction, you won't be disapointed

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Villa, Hubert and Benny took care of us like we were family. We could not have asked for a better time. The accommodations far
seceded our expectations, there is no way to describe the view it is almost surreal. No picture can truly capture it. We ate like Royals; Benny accommodated our diet requirements with ease. The menu varied over the 9 days and we could hardly wait to see what he was going to serve up each day. Hubert was a wonderful host and a wealth of knowledge about his country with its rich wildlife and beautiful landscape. We did a variety of tours with the help of Andy, his recommendations were spot on. Between the 9 of us not one person was disappointed in anything, our tours of zip lining, white water rafting, horse back, mud baths and surfing, a rodeo and fun fill night of dancing.

We do want to point out that Chef Benny is second to none he is an incredible chef, he was so personable and took the time to make each meal taste so flavourful and
with beautiful presentations, you went the extra mile to keep us healthy happy and serve up some delicious food. With his love for cooking and making sure that each and every one of us was satisfied, we want to say thanks so much Benny. Cooking for three gluten intolerant/Celiac people and satisfying a large group too was as skill all on its own, thank you to Hubert too who did a huge amount of research on Celiac,

Hubert and his family were great; we were never steered in the wrong direction, with help learning some Spanish, dance lessons, a guide to night life and the bull riding he and his family really made our trip successful and helped us to acquire some life long memories.

We laughed till we cried on a few occasions between playing games, swimming in that beautiful pool, sharing videos and pictures. There is no way that we could ever duplicate the experience we had at Villas Vista de Oro.

The accommodations were laid out so well, it would be a great spot for a couple to a large group (we were a group of 9). The rooms were big and very comfortable with large bathrooms very clean.

We enjoyed drinks at Father Roosters totally worth the visit, the black sand beach was so cool, it is soft sand with a sparkle in it. They served up some great mojitos.

Villa vista de Oro is beautiful spot and home we are so grateful we were able to go.

Thank you
Carr/Corbeil Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family of 9 had an amazing time

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

The Villa is everything and more than decribed. Beautiful views, wildlife, food, hospitality, and more. There were nine of us staying at the Villa and everyone had a wonderful time, even the four teenagers. Hubert was always there when you need him; Steven is an awesome cook and went out of his way to help. Andy was a great tour guide. He recommended two tours, both of which were amazing. If you go to Costa Rica you must do the river tour and the volcano tour which has ziplining, horseback riding, and mud bath / thermal pools. We highly recommend staying at the Villa Vista De Oro. Helpful hints: take plenty of cash as the tours must be paid in cash. Also, you can use an ATM to withdraw cash in US dollars, the fee is only $3.00. We will always cherish the memories made at this beautiful home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind comments. We would be glad to have you back again anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PURA VIDA!

Review submitted: March 3, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

This is truly one of the most beautiful spots on earth. The views were breathtaking from beginning to the end of our stay. Our early morning walks which sometimes included the beach in this gated community were like walking through a park preserve full of many species of beautiful birds and animals (parrots, monkeys, coati's, squirrels and iquanas). Something we'll never forget. I can't say enough about our gracious staff: Huberth, Steven (the chef) and Nella. They literally catered to our every request. The first rate tours through Andy were private and our guide Freddie was very pleasant, informative, and entertaining. In the property photo "house with the view of gold", my wife named the land formation: Crocodile Point. This property is ideal for 4 couples. The villa was nothing short of perfect. Absolutely 5 star +. We will be back to see our friends again and live the life of luxury.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation of a lifetime!

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

We had an absolutely amazing vacation at Villa Vista De Oro! It was more beautiful than the pictures and Hubert, Steven, Nella, Marta were fabulous hosts. Our meals were delicious and Steven was very accommodating to everyone's tastes. The 14 of us (ages 19-55) could not believe the luxury and comfort combined. The view was spectacular and my new camera got a great workout. We did the Palo Verde safari river tour and zip lining. The lunch stop was delicious and we had an wonderful, exciting day. Another day some of the group did a surfing trip to Tamarindo, which was spectacular. These tours were set up for us through the tour company that the villa recommends. Andy and his staff were extremely accommodating and knowlegable.
Our vacation was everything we expected and more, thanks to the detail and assistance available to us prior to arriving (Liz) and the wonderful staff at the villa.
We cannot say enough about our "trip of a lifetime". This is an amazing spot to vacation!
PURA VIDA & thank you again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad we could be a part of this "trip of a lifetime"! The best part of my day is hearing comments like this from guests who have enjoyed our Villa so much. Thank you! Liz.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

5 STAR PLUS

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

Our family of 11, three generations including 4 teenagers, ranging in age from 92 to 13, stayed over the Thanksgiving holidays and had a most wonderful time. Villa Vista de Oro is absolutely unbelievable and the pictures do not do it justice, but I doubt there is any way to capture the beauty on film. Hubert and his family treated us like royalty. Stephen is a fabulous chef and his meals and their presentation were beyond description. Andy, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and helped us with the tours. We just cannot say enough about this wonderful villa and staff. We have traveled for years all over the world and this was beyond exceptional!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are so glad we could help make your vacation a magnificent and memorable one!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Better than 5 Star

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

Hubert and his family were top notch, we wanted for nothing. I have stayed in many houses around the world and this by far was the best. The food was outstanding, every meal was a surprise and we all couldn't help but clean our plate. Andy our tour guide took us on some very cool tours and went above and beyond to stop and show us many other sites along the way.
We cannot say enough about this house and the amazing service. For the first 3 days we didn't even want to leave. Rent this beautiful house, it will be your best adventure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful! Friendly Staff! Excellent Food!

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

Our family, including 5 teenagers and young adults, stayed at Vista de Oro in July, 2011. We were treated like royalty ! Meals were served to us poolside! 180 degree ocean view! Hubert and Nella were so friendly. Hubert knew so many fun facts about Costa Rica and took us into town to go shopping. We would love to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Fantastic Retirement Celebration

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

We celebrated my recent retirement by taking our family to Costa Rica and staying at this amazing vacation property in April, 2011. Pictures just don't do Casa Vista de Oro justice. This home has the best location possible in the area and the ocean views and sunsets are spectacular! We really enjoyed the beautiful pool and the open outside living area. Bedrooms were furnished beautifully and the other amentities that this home offers were fantastic. Hubert, Nella and the twins provided excellent services and they were a delight to talk to. Hubert provided great insights to Costa Rica culture. We will miss them. Marcos, the cook, provided wonderful meals that really gave us an experience of Costa Rica cooking. Also, I would highly recommend Andy as a tour guide. You may pay just a little more, but the personalized service that he provides is well worth it. We had a wonderful boat cruise down the river and saw many forms of wildlife. We also had an exciting day of zip lining, horseback riding, enjoying the water slide and relaxing in the hot springs and mud bath. This was the perfect place for an amazing and memorable vacation. I am so happy that we found this rental through Home Away and would recommend Casa Vist de Oro as the place to stay in Costa Rica. It is perfect for any size group and offers the amentities of any five star resort.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Words can not express, amazing!!!

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 6, 2010

We visited this property in December 2010 for two weeks with our family. We had three adults and three children. The picutres do not do this home and views justice. The accomidations were 5 star. Some of the best food we have had anywhere with great service. Very friendly staff that seem to magically appear when you need them:) We enjoyed the area and culture. The tour guide, Andy was the best. Seeing Costa Rica thru a Costa Rician's eyes is the way to go. It was very safe and inviting. We would not hesitate to go back in the furture.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Sheer Heaven!

Review submitted: December 26, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

Unfortunately we became aware of this home after we booked elsewhere but the managers of this house treated us like family when we came to see the home. We will definitely stay here next time in Costa Rica. If the service is ANY indication you will be completely overwhelmed. The views are unsurpassed anywhere in Costa Rica and Diego, Huberth and his family treat you like you are royalty.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review