reviews for: listing #41031 - Lake Lure, North Carolina Cabin rental

Dancing Falls Lodge
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Rumbling Bald Resort
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $360 - $500 /nt
    $2,345 - $3,500 /wk

sort by:

Perfection (or how we had the best family vacation week ever!)

Review submitted: August 18, 2014   Date of arrival: August 10, 2014

What can you say about a perfect experience...a warm & inviting cabin in the mountains, a resort full of stuff to do & every single person we encountered was lovely and/or having a great time. Laurie M popped in the first day to say "Hey" and be sure we had everything & to bring us a hard copy of the golf cart rental agreement. Note: you simply MUST rent to golf cart if it is offered - it saves wear & tear on cars & is a "more green" way to go. Loved the keyless door lock for the entry - we customized to something our entire party could easily remember & worked like a charm. We were a somewhat small party - 6 adults & a 2 1/2 year old - so plenty of room for all & lots of options for things to see/do & places to go or just chillax. My husband and brother hit the links both at the resort and also at Apple Valley - they loved it!. The pool, the beach, the playground - my little niece was in her glory (gotta love the 1 foot fenced in kiddie pool). The cabin itself was immaculate & so totally user friendly - we were spoiled to have not one or 2 but 4 fridges available...we only used 2 and it was so convenient that they were both in the kitchen itself. The gas grill worked like a charm. In honor of the location - one night we all watch the DVD of Dirty Dancing & then there was the playing of pool several nights in a row. We are some big time kitchen/cooking/grilling folks (it is how we relax & enjoy our time together) - was so pleasantly surprised at how well stocked things were - pots n pans galore; same w/ serving dishes & even included toliet tissue & paper towels (we schelpped everything imaginable as we had no idea what we would find). Even the bath towels were top notch - I travel a lot and I have had paper thin in bathrooms - these were yummy, as were the beds & bed linens.
Think the only things we'd change is 1) stay twice as long to take advantage of everything & 2) have just a few more of the family (thinking of our nephews) come join us...lots of room & stuff to do. We can highly recommend this fabulous property & these wonderful owners to you!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I am so glad you enjoyed the golf cart. It is a great way to get around the Resort. You can drive around for miles and miles or just take it to the beach, pools, spa, putt putt, golf and more. Please come back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect family trip

Review submitted: July 24, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

We spent a week at Lake Lure for a family vacation. We had 11 people staying in the house ranging from 3-93. We also had 20 other family members on the trip with us who were staying at other properties. The house was large enough to use as a central meeting place for evening activities. There are also plenty of places in the house to escape if you are looking for some peace and quiet. The owners live close by and quickly came over to remedy the couple of minor issues we had (a broken chair and malfunctioning router.) The owners are very friendly and you can tell they genuinely want to be sure their guests have a good visit. The house had a good selection of DVDs and some puzzles that were a hit on the one rainy day we had during our trip. The hot tub is fantastic. Keyless entry was great feature and eliminated the hassle of making sure everyone had a key when the needed it.

Really no negatives, but a couple of things that fall into the category of good to know:
There are 3 bedrooms upstairs which share one bathroom, one bedroom on the main floor with a private bath plus another half bath on the main floor, and one bedroom downstairs along with he pull outs and 1 bathroom. Due to our sleeping arrangements we ended up with 7 people sharing the upstairs bathroom. It wasn't a big deal for our group but I could see it being an issue if you were there for a wedding where everyone needed to be ready at the same time.

Cell service is VERY limited in the area and the GPS was pretty spotty. Be sure to print out directions to the house and the places you plan to go while at Lake Lure.

Parking at the house can be tricky- we had 5 vehicles all SUVs or trucks- Backing in to the spots is ideal, but you really need someone spotting due to blind spots.


Beyond the house, the resort is very nice, and you could easily fill a week without ever leaving Rumbling Bald- the pool (especially the lazy river), boat cruises, SUP boards, and the kids camp were all popular with our group. Our group also made day trips to Biltmore and Chimney Rock. We also enjoyed horseback riding and zip-lining which were nearby.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the great review! Please come back again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for our family getaway

Review submitted: May 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 18, 2014

We had not such great weather and it was still a great getaway for my wife and four adult children. We have stayed at many upscale vacation homes and this is among our favorites. Laurie does a great job, easy to follow instructions, well stocked home. Hot tub was great! And we spent a bunch of time on the decks and in the game room. Also, you've gotta get out on the lake ... it is magnificent!

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful review. Please come back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pop's 80th Birthday

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 24, 2014

Outstanding, picked the best place for a celebration. Pictures of the home don't do it justice. Our Mom Dad had a blast. My "particular" sister and brothers were amazed. Our families had a wonderful time and created great memories. The owners are great and helpful with all questions. All the amenities are there, just pack up and go. I'm now the favorite son (not really, I've always been) Ha!
Don't bother searching, pick this house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Tim, thank you for the wonderful review! We hope to have you back again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wow!!!!!!!

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2014

What a beautiful home! Amazing view and gorgeous location. Laurie provided our family with so much more than we expected.the house was perfect for adults and young adults. Amenities too numerous to mention. The Lakeview restaurant was perfect for our family. Ronnie , the manager was very entertaining and the food superb. We hated leaving but hope to visit Dancing Falls again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family Easter!

Review submitted: April 25, 2014   Date of arrival: April 17, 2014

This is my first experience with Home Away and I will definitely use them again. This Asheville home was wonderful and our 10 family members loved every moment of the weekend. Laurie's cabin was very clean and well equipped with everything we needed. Everyone left very happy and well rested.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Coming Back Next Year!

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 9, 2014

We have been on our Annual Golf Trip to the Smokey Mountains going on 15 years. We have stayed in many of cabins, but none have stacked up to this place! What a view! Plan on reserving it for next year already!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean and well stocked

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

Just as pictured.. And we all had our own space. There is plenty of room, and although it rained most of the time we were there we still had a good time. Everything you could possibly need in the house (blow dryers as well as all kitchen supplies).
THANK YOU!

Owners response: We are so happy you had a wonderful time at Dancing Falls Lodge. We do hope that you come back again!


Warm Regards,

Laurie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

60th Wedding Anniversary Weekend

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

We enjoyed a beautiful weekend at Dancing Falls for my in-laws' 60th Anniversary. Twelve family members stayed the weekend together. On Friday night, we had dinner at the Lakeview Restaurant within the resort, food was good and the staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. On Saturday afternoon, we sent the guests of honor out for sightseeing while we readied the table for a catered dinner from Larkin's on the Lake...food was really good and they delivered!!!Several of the honorees' friends drove up from Forest City (30 mins away) for dinner which was a real treat and with the sun room and porch - seating was fine. Excellent weekend for all the generations...Dancing Falls Lodge was perfect!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: I am so happy to hear you had a wonderful time and that the Resort staff was accommodating . Please come back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Short Family Stay

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

The listing was accurate regarding the location, layout, and amenities. We had 8 adults, that the cabin easily held. The property was clean, and well maintained. The owner provided excellent customer service. They even provided an extra heater for warmth in game room area and extra firewood for fireplace. I would recommend this property to friends, family, and business associates. We were able to take advantage of club house, spa, workout area, pools, tennis courts, golf, hiking, dock slips, fishing, even a church for worship. Our family is already trying to set up available dates to return to cabin in the near future. The scenery was fantastic from windows or side porch.

Owners response: Thank you for the excellent review! We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Georgia Girls Birthday Trip

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 23, 2014

Nine of us had "the time of our life" at Dancing Falls for a relaxing long weekend and birthday celebration! The fireplace and hot tub are wonderful and the view is amazing! Three sleeping levels is just perfect for coexistence of early risers and late sleepers. The kitchen is well equipped and we had some amazing meals. There is plenty of "seating space" for watching movies and playing games by the fire. The cabin is sparkling clean, cozy and warm and beds are very comfortable. We hope to return in the summer to enjoy the resort amenities. A special thanks to the owners. Laurel is very helpful and friendly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the great review. Please come back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Extended Family Vacation

Review submitted: January 18, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

We rented this beautiful house to celebrate my parents' 50th wedding anniversary. We had 6 adults and 5 children and the house fit our group perfectly. There are enough areas for everyone to gather together for meals, social activities, etc. but also enough private areas to get away and just relax. We put 4 little boys (ages 5 - 10) downstairs & with a large bedroom, TV, foosball, pool table, full bathroom & a fridge, we thought we might never see them again! It was a perfect celebration in an exquisite location.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the great review! Please come back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful and accommodating!

Review submitted: January 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

This property is amazing. Very cozy, cozy. Everything from the beautiful views, to the well kept house was perfect. We had a group of 10, and the house gave us the perfect mix of privacy and social areas big enough for everyone. We would love to experience the cabin again this summer, and get a completely different feel. We really enjoyed our stay. The only qualm we had would have to be the trash situation. There are bears in the mountains, and you are supposed to dispose of your trash in the resort trash cans, meaning you have to put it in your car to do so. If you don't have a truck it can get messy, especially with a big group and lots of trash!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the great review! We have trash pick up on Monday mornings, however this was a 2 day rental where they were checking out on Sunday. For week long stays we have an additional trash pick up on Thursdays. We built a large enclosure for trash, however the bears are so strong and clever they rip it apart. Our only options are the Resort dumpsters and our two weekly trash pickups. Unfortunately these guests stayed between these tow pickups.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay for Large Families - Great View and Soothing Waterfall right off the deck

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

We had our first Christmas away from home and chose this beautiful house and location as our destination. We had 8 adults with 3 small children. It was the perfect destination for our family. Spacious living area with an open floor plan for dinners and family time. The private patio room and 2 decks were a great opportunity to feel secluded at times when you just wanted to read. The waterfall was very soothing to listen to day or night. You get lots of sun during the day with the panoramic glass windows facing the golf course and waterfall. Lots to do in the area even during winter. Zip-lined at Canopy Falls and Hiked at Tatanka a mile up the road from the resort area. I recommend this house to anyone wanting a great getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the great review! Please come back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family holiday getaway

Review submitted: December 22, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2013

This is the second straight Christmas my family has spent at this Lake Lure Cabin and it's perfect for us. Huge great room -- kitchen, living room, dining room -- is the perfect place to gather. The five roomy bedrooms also provide plenty of space for everyone. We hope/plan to be back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so glad you had a wonderful early Christmas. We would be happy to have you back again next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Corporate retreat

Review submitted: November 25, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

We recently held a corporate retreat with six people and we had a great time staying at Dancing Falls cabin.
Great resort location, rivers and lake for fishing and golf minutes away from our front door.
The house is spacious with more amenities than you could imagine. Large deck(s) with plenty of outdoor furniture. Wood burning fireplace in main living area.
Brand new hot tub was a great way to wind down after poker tournament and pool tournament.
We will be back.

Owners response: Thank you for the positive review! I am glad you enjoyed the new hot tub and happy to hear you plan on coming back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome cabin!

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

I recently stayed at Dancing Falls. Spotless, well appointed, nicely decorated cabin. The views were wonderful. The layout is great. I can't imaging what more one would need. We had a small group (four), but it would comfortably hold many more. It seems you could have a big group, but there would still be plenty of space for all, lots of separate areas for groups to congregate. Loved the sun room, screened in porch and hot tub!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Dancing Falls Lodge. We hope you come back again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding Family Trip in a Cabin

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 30, 2013

Our family recently stayed at the Dancing Falls Cabin and had an outstanding time. It was our first family road trip for my wife and I, along with our 3 children and a new baby. The location is great, as you're away from it all in the woods, yet a part of the Rumbling Bald Resort amenities (e.g., pontoon boat rentals, restaurants, golf cart rentals, etc.). This area of NC is very peaceful and offers a lot for visitors. While our favorite memories are hanging out at the spacious cabin, we enjoyed heading around Lake Lure and visiting Chimney Rock. The state park and downtown were lots of fun!

We'd recommend staying at this cabin to others, and we look forward to coming back there sometime again soon. The owners keep it very clean, new, and you feel right at home there. We loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful review. Please come back again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Fun

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

Our family of six adults and two little boys (2 and 4) spent four nights at the lodge. It was exactly as pictured....clean, neat with the expected mountain home decor. The bedding, both mattresses and linens, were very comfortable. The homeowner kept us informed and provided clear instuctions for arrival and departure. The only aspect that was a little less than excellent was the noise that is heard from one level to the other. If you have little ones or for that matter anyone moving around on the top two levels it can be heard quite clearly on the two levels below. If you have early risers and late risers it might not be the best choice. We were able to walk to the spa area (it is about 1.5 miles) so we found the location to be very convenient to areas of the resort. We also rented the golf cart and found that to be a lot of fun to tour the resort and entertain the little ones. We took the resort boat tour of the lake area and throughly enjoyed that. We also enjoyed renting the pontoon boat as well as kayaks and paddle boats. Additionally we enjoyed the indoor pool, but felt a little uncomfortable taking the boys since the only other swimmers were adults.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your positive feedback. You are correct it is located close to the Resort amenities as it is less than a mile from the cabin and is one of the closest homes to the Resort in walking distance since on the golf course. I can imagine how noisy a 2 and 4 year old can be running on hard wood floors. I am sorry you did not feel comfortable using the pool as there were no children there that day. Please come back again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Annual Labor Day Family Get Together

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

My family (14 adults and 2 children) have visited Dancing Falls Lodge a total of four times. My family has been enjoying Labor Day weekends together since 1989. Our first visit to Dancing Falls Lodge was in 2008. In fact we were the first to use the lodge since it was completed the week before we occupied the building. Although it was a new building everything worked perfectly, the kitchen was well equipped and there were plenty of supplies. We ate together most of the meals and had no difficulty in seating everyone even when my sister and 2 adult grandchildren visited one night for dinner.
We found the view quite beautiful and everything in the lodge to be exactly as advertised. We were so impressed with our stay that we reserved the lodge for year 2009. This was also a lovely weekend with the guys golfing, the ladies shopping and swimming along with the children. I just enjoyed the view and caught up on my favorite hobby of reading.
We returned to the lodge again in 2012 and 2013 and have never been disappointed in any way. We would have reserved the building for 2014 but to our disappointment it had been rented for an extended time which included Labor Day weekend. We will return again when the lodge is available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your review. You will always be remembered for our very first guests. We are pleased you have now stayed with us 4 times. We hope you come back soon. Fall colors will peak at the beginning of November.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

50th Year anniversary vacation.

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Our immediate family ,mom,dad,children,and grandchildren celebrated our 50th year wedding anniversary at Dancing Falls, ages 75 down to 3 years, (11 people total). Plenty of room,very clean, house is all that is advertised,maybe even more. The location was ideal, we rented a golf cart to see the sights and it was well worth the cost. The view from the house is fabulous,with plenty of seating to enjoy it. All the amenities were better than advertised, house had everything we needed to cook,clean, and set up housekeeping. We used the hot tub, pool table, tv's, games, lots of room for everyone to do their own thing. The resort amenities were the drawing card for our family, golf, ( played both courses), swimming pools and lazy river,( kids loved it.), ate at Lakeside and Legends,( food was good at both places.) Everyone that we dealt with was very polite and made us feel at home. Very enjoyable experience.
The owner called the first evening we were there to ask if we needed anything, but gratefully, we had everything we needed for the whole week.
Our family was so impressed with this vacation, we went online and booked it again next year. Thanks for making our 50th anniversary a memorable experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Wedding Gift

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

My husband and I gave a week at the house in NC to both of our families as a gift from our wedding a year earlier. My husband and I and his family traveled up from Florida and my family traveled down from Pa. Ages of our families ranged from 13 to 65 years old. The house was beautiful, spacious and luxurious with high ceilings. The bedrooms were very comfortable. The kitchen was stocked with pots,pans and so many appliances. This was perfect for us because we cooked almost every night.We ordered pizza from the restaurant in the resort one night and it was delicious. The dining room had a very big table which was great because we liked to eat together. We did add a small card table that was at the house to the end of it so we could all fit together. There were 3 refrigerators which at first I thought was excessive but with 14 people in the house we used all of them. The living room had a big couch and two recliners. This was great for us so we could comfortably watch movies together. One of my favorite spots in the house was the main porch that faced the beautiful golf course. It was so peaceful there and there were comfortable chairs that lined the entire porch and could fit my family. We would sit out there to read, drink morning coffee, BBQ and just enjoy time together. There was also a huge game room with another TV, foosball table and pool table. It was also stocked with lots of current movies and puzzles which some of the family enjoyed. Everyone really enjoyed this room. There was a hot tub we used once and was very clean and well kept. Even though there were 14 of us in the house I never felt crowded because the house was so spacious. We used the gym and outdoor pool ,which is in the main section of the resort, almost every day. The nearest grocery store was about 25 minutes away so we went twice and tried to get everything we needed when we were there. We took day trips to horseback riding, white water rafting and zip lining. Horseback riding and zip lining were very close, maybe 15 minutes away max. Zip lining was about 1.5 hrs away. One evening we took a walk through the golf course to the spot where Dirty Dancing was filmed. The scenery there was beautiful! I would highly recommend going especially if you like to take pictures. Everyone in our group really enjoyed the house, resort and Lake Lure and would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Property is as described in previous reviews which is amazing. We weren't sure it would live up to our expectations but it didn't disappoint. Owner quickly responded when we had a question or concern. The knives were a little dull. We found a can opener that had a sharpener on it and that got us thru. We had 10 adults and 5 children. We planned on cooking and eating at the property. The kitchen had everything we needed for a large group. Definitely a property to return to.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are so happy to hear you had an excellent stay and you thought the log home was amazing. You will be happy to hear we have bought a new set of knives. Apparently the knives were getting used at a faster rate than what we had anticipated. Thank you for letting us know. As mentioned, the kitchen is well stocked with many appliances, including multiple coffee pots, crock pot, pancake griddle, waffle maker, blender, food processor, can opener, mixer, pots and pans, dishes for 20 and many others.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lots of Nature with Country Club Comforts

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Our family of four boys and my wife enjoyed the cabin complete with game room for the boys. There was plenty to do when not relaxing out on the deck rocking. The owners really go out of their way to make sure your vacation goes without a glitch. Thanks for a great time. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Family Gathering Place!

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We brought our family together (kids and grand-kids) together from Atlanta, Dallas, Wash DC, and Memphis for the July 4 week. Everyone had a wonderful time enjoying each other, this wonderful place, and the many things to see and do. This is a great resort cabin in a wonderful location. The resort has something for everyone and several trips to Asheville were the icing on the cake.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Cabin for family reunion

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

This cabin was great for our family reunion. We had 11 adults, 2 children and an infant and there was room for all. When we arrived, the upstairs air conditioner wasn't working and the water pressure was not good. The owner, Laurie, and her husband were great and fixed the problems by the next day. This made the cabin perfect for us. There was lots of room for us all to spread out and relax. I agree with the previous review, the beds are very comfortable. We cooked dinner every night instead of going out and found the kitchen to be fully stocked and then some. We found everything we needed to cook and bake. The resort is also very nice, and the beach at the lake is fun and the pool was nice. We zip lined, kayaked, and hiked. The whole vacation was great and the cabin was excellent!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are so glad you had an excellent time. We were happy we were able to get the air conditioner working so quickly and even happier we resolved the water pressure issue for you. Please come back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay in the mountains that would fit all of our extended family, 10 of in all. I found the Dancing Falls Lodge and it fit the bill. A weeks worth of eating and drinking and playing pool and putting together 500 piece puzzles, and we know we will return. In the afternoon, sitting on the deck with a cold beverage, listening to the waterfall from the pond below, it was great.

Rent this place if you need room, activities and a very clean place to stay.

One more thing; the bed, at least the one in the master bedroom, was extremely comfortable.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: So happy you enjoyed your stay and glad that you found the Master bed was very comfortable. For others reading this review, please note all of our beds are of the same quality and brand. We have purchased higher end linens and mattresses for all the beds as we believe strongly that how well you sleep is directly related to your overall customer experience. :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding!

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

What an experience. As frequent VRBO users we have stayed in incredible homes in great locations throughout the southern USA. Dancing Falls now ranks at the top of the list! Terriffic home, lots of room for our group of 12, great ammenities, good golf, beautiful scenery and most of all an owner who really cares. Thanks Laurie for ensuring our stay exceeded our expectations. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Retreat Location

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

Just held a retreat at Dancing Falls and had a wonderful time. The views are amazing, and we found the cabin perfect for our needs. The owner was helpful to work with when making preparations, and the house was just as described. A hearty recommendation for the boat ride from the resort dock, and the spa was also great. There were several days of rain, but that just led to quiet days at the cabin and enjoying the hot tub with an umbrella! It was grand.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

I found the cabin on their website. The pictures and description accurately reflected the rental's appearance and amenities. The property was clean and well maintained. The kitchen was well equipped and spacious for us all to sit at the table and the counter. Our stay at the cabin was wonderful. As with any family, we all had various interests. Some golfed, some took the scenic luncheon tour of Lake Lure, all went sightseeing. The owner was very helpful in answering my questions in a prompt manner. We took day trips to Black Mountain, Mount Mitchell, Pisgah National Forest, Asheville and Hendersonville. We especially like the Early Girl Eatery in Asheville. We wanted to do the Zip Line but was not open yet. There are lots of things to do and see in the Lake Lure area. I would recommend this property to friends and relatives. We created wonderful memories for our families.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Golf trip stay

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

Awesome lodge. Very well done inside and out. Comfortable for a large group. The kitchen is well stocked and very functional. Granite counters compliment the wood. Very visually appealing inside. The views grab you immediately. Our group spent as much time as possible on the upper porch. Plenty of room for all and truly spectacular views of the golf course, large pond, and mountains. The living areas were very comfortable. The lower level was a lot of fun with the pool table, foosball, and outdoor space with hot tub. Our group played the Rumbling Bald and Apple Valley courses: challenging with awesome views. Highly recommend this property and the Rumbling Bald Resort.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Retreat

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

Nine women attending a two day directors' retreat stayed at this home and found it clean, comfortable and lovely... winter views of the falls and golf course were gorgeous and the hot tub was a big hit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Andera Morris

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

Me and several friends stayed at this cabin, and had the best time ever. It was really nice and had great views to look at. There is everything you need there. We do this annually. Going to Lake Lure and staying in awesome places just doesn't get old. You will not be disappointed. The theme song to dirty dancing really fits the place. "time of your life".

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!! Perfect!! Perfect!!

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

My group of friends and I get together every year for a girls retreat and have been for the last 8 years. This was by far the nicest trip so far. The cabin was amazing, clean and has everything you need and then some! We cannot wait to book again and hope your available next year for our trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We had the "Time of our Life"

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

We came for a 30th birthday party and had an absolute blast. There was plenty of room for our large group to all hang out together. The ladies enjoyed time at the spa while the boys played games and golfed.

We will be back for our, now anuual, trip :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lori

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

Perfect location for a retreat. Very well furnished, nicely decorated house. Stocked with everything we needed. Hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Michelle and friends!

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 13, 2012

We rented this cabin for my 30th birthday getaway and had a wonderful time. The cabin was beautiful and since it is December it was decorated with Christmas lights and trees. The location was great since we weren't too far from Asheville but we had great views of the mountains. We had a terrific time spending time in the cabin. It was exactly what we expected and had everything we needed which was great since we had to fly to get there. We already are talking about going back sometime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Donna

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

WOW! What can I say. My family spent the Thanksgiving holiday at this great home. There were 4 generations and such great memories were made. The pictures do not do this house justice. The family all enjoyed a great time together. The house was well stocked and everything in place.

We will definitley be back again. We hated to leave but know that we will return again in the next couple of years.

Thanks to the owners for opening their home to us. Everything was wonderful. Thanks for the memories!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular Views

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 23, 2012

The Cabin is exactly as you see it in advertisement. Comfortable, cozy, and clean. Very spacious plenty of room for all. Owners were very responsive to any questions or concerns we had. We all went horseback riding with the Cedar Creek Stables - wonderful experience a 2 hour ride through the mountain trails.Enjoyed a wonderful massage/facial treatments at the resort as well as putt putt golf. Everything is very convienient to the lodge. Best of all I left a sapphire ring behind the caretaker of the home was extremely helpful in responding to e-mails and looked repeatedly for the ring for several weeks, as it turned out some new renters of the cabin discovered it on the Ironing board turned it in and Holly mailed it immediately. Wonderful honest and caring folks - we will visit again and again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dancing Falls is fabulous

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

This property provided us with the perfect getaway! The views are gorgeous. The setting is very quiet and private, while still being close to all of the amenities at the resort. We arrived to a house that was very clean, organized and well put together. The owner of the property was prompt and very helpful in answering my emails in regard to some questions that I had. The owner also called me the night before our arrival to give us some tips on directions and getting into the house. She was very gracious and offered information that helped to make our stay really wonderful. We will go back again, as Dancing Falls is a superb place to spend time with our family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

The cabin was exactly as advertised. It nicely accommodated our group of 13 people (5 kids under 9) and 8 adults. It was very well equipped and comfortable. However, the best part of everything was the Rumbling Bald Resort and it's facilities which were available to us. We could barely get the kids out of the water or off the beach. Two of the adults played golf and really enjoyed the course.
It's a great place to go for a family reunion, especially if you like to cook (grill) meals rather than going to restaurants all the time.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Multi-Generational Reunion

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We had a fun and busy week at the Dirty Dancing Lodge. Once we got the "shortcut" down to the grocery store vs. the winding road along the lake to Chimney Rock. The group did a smores' cookout and a pony ride at Cedar Creek Stables. We had great pizza we picked up at the Legends at the resort. Unfortunately, we didn't find the coupon at the back of the resort book in time to use it, but we did use the one to rent a pontoon boat for a couple of hours on the Lake. We ate at the Larkins on the lake restaurant. The food and server were good but we had small children with us, & it took a long time to get our food. We wouldn't recommend it unless you are prepared for a long, leisurely meal. The house was very clean and the beds were great. The few glitches we had were immediately taken care of by the owners.
Though we had rain everyday at some point, we managed to keep busy within the house or on the lovely covered front porch and enjoyed the porch swing. The porch off the kitchen and the lower level screen porch were a nice spot to gather. The heat and humidity kept some of us from enjoying the hot tub as much as we might have otherwise. The house had t.v.s in every bedroom plus the family room and basement. Though I can't tell you if they all worked b/c we didn't have time to check them out! The dvd players in the family room and basement with a selection of movies helped to entertain some of the family that chose to watch. One night was a "Dirty Dancing" movie night with popcorn and lots of singing! We also shopped at the quaint Chimney Rock stores a couple of times, a group did some golf at the resort and a group went to Asheville to visit the Biltmore mansion. The lazy river pool was a hit that we enjoyed several times. All in all we had a great time. Except for the three or four steps going into this house, it would be manageable for a handicapped person if they were to stay on the main floor & have the master bedroom. Thank you for having supplied us with liguid handsoaps in all the bathrooms, dish & dishwasher soap & some of the basic spices for cooking. There were two coffee makers with filters and some coffee as well as tea, crock pot, blender, toaster& grill. All the things we needed. Thanks for making your home, our home for the week!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Candace, thank you so much for the positive review. Good news is although you did not have time to see if all the TVs work I can rest assured they do. We have a private care taker and one of her responsibilities is to make sure she turns on all 7 TVs each week to make sure there are batteries in the remote controls. Nothing more annoying than settling down for the night and the remote doesn't work. We look forward to having you come back again.
Laurie

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful comfortable vacation home

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay tremendously at Dancing Falls Lodge. There was plenty of room for everyone with everything you could possibly need. There were plenty of kitchen supplies, blankets, games and movies for guests to enjoy. There were also plenty of chairs on the deck to sit outside and enjoy the views. The Rumbling Bald resort is a very nice area with pools, putt putt golf and boat rentals. The restaurants very also very nice.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved It!

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Dancing Falls. It's absolutely beautiful! The pictures do not do it justice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sullivan

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

This house is more beautiful in person. The pictures do not do it justice. It was the perfect place for our family vacation. So much to do, i.e., zip lining, horseback riding, kayaking, etc. I would highly recommend this beautiful home/resort to anyone looking to escape to the NC mountains!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Get-away

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Great mountain house, very comfortable and relaxing. Perfect spot for a party with lots of space for people to sleep. Hot tub was great, as was the gameroom and living space. Bedrooms were cozy and we all slept well. Bring sharp knives if you plan to cook... everything else was well stocked. A little far from Lake Lure beaches and restaurants, but nice and private if you're looking for a quiet getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you had a great time. Apologize the knives were not as sharp as you would have preferred. We do provide a knife sharpener should the knives become dull.

Rumbling Bald has our own private beach which is within walking distance (1 mile) or a 5 min car ride.

Warm Regards,

Laurie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect "Christmas House"

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

We spent a week at this house for our Christmas vacation and could not have been happier. There were 7 adults and 2 year old twins. The ample space made it great for us all to congregate when we wanted to be together but also to get a break from each other when we needed it or to keep the kids in a place that was quiet to sleep. The Christmas decorations added so much to our week. The accommodations are very nice and the resort staff is very helpful should you need them. Some of our group pampered themselves at the spa and the giant chess and checker boards were a huge hit with the twins. We could not have asked for a better vacation of fun, quality time together and relaxation (unless of course it came with a babysitter!!!) Thanks so much Tom and Laurie!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cheery!

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

We really enjoyed it, I think we had the best vacation we have had yet! We loved the view and the hot tub, but I think our favorite place was the dining room & living room. We loved how open and bright the dining room, it made for a very cheery breakfast spot. Thanks!
*Also the cabin has all the cookware/blankets/pillows/etc that you could need.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Very nice vacation home

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2011

The home was very nice. It had everything our family needed. We cooked several meals in the well equipped kitchen. The only problem we had was that there wasn't much water pressure for showers. Other than that, everything was perfect. The resort was very nice and so many activities were close by. We went zip lining at Boulderline Adventures at had a great time. We had a wonderful and relaxing family vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Retreat

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2011

Perfect setting for our 3 day retreat. House was in excellent condition with wonderful choices for nearby restaurants. I highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Work Retreat

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 11, 2011

This house was perfect for our work retreat. There was plenty of space for everyone. The house had all the amenities we needed. What a beautiful spot as well. We were able to take advantage of an afternoon pontoon boat ride and we also were able to go zip lining all within 20 minutes of this house. Looking forward to our next visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful weekend retreat!

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

This house is very accommodating, comfortable and has beautiful views! We felt right at home! It is nice that they provide some baby equipment which meant less for us to pack! I would definitely recommend this house to anyone who is looking to stay in the Lake Lure area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Work Retreat

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2011

Our team just got return from a working retreat. The accommodations made this such a great experience. It was such a relaxing atmosphere, which enabled us to accomplish a lot. It is hard to believe with such beautiful views that we actually worked. Another thing we did, as a team building exercise, was to cook all our meals. The facilities were excellent, there was nothing that we didn’t have to perform these functions. I would highly recommend these accommodations to everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation!

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 17, 2011

My family spent a week at the Dancing Falls Lodge and had a wonderful time! There was plenty of space for everyone and the open floor plan worked well for kids. We enjoyed the pool table, hot tub, and large kitchen table to play games. The kitchen had everything we needed and the view of the golf course was fun when part of our family was out playing. Maintenance came immediately when they had to pump the septic tank, and the odor only lasted 1 day. I thought it was very beneficial to rent a house on a resort because of the speedy response to potential issues. We would definitely stay here again and I highly recommend this house!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous and Accommodating

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

The Dancing Falls property was absolutely gorgeous with all the ammenities one would hope for. Beautiful and comfortable beds, a full kitchen, gorgeous decks with fans to cool off on and look over the golf course and famous bridge. My parents, brothers and our spouses and children thoroughly enjoyed celebrating my parents 80th birthday here and will be something we will always remember. Thank you! A. Adams, Asheville, NC

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Summer Family Vacation!

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We have taken many summer vacations with our extended family, have been to many beautiful places, but our stay at Dancing Falls Lodge ranks at the top. Nestled in the peaceful mountains, Dancing Falls was a perfect place to relax and have fun! Spacious, clean, and well taken care of, we would highly recommend this lodge. The owners were always accommodating and helpful. With our large group ranging from 10 months to 87 years old, there was always something fun to do. We enjoyed the swimming pools and lazy river, minature golfing and Corn Hole, swimming in the lake and trips down to the town of Chimney Rock. We are a family who loves to play games together, so we enjoyed the beautiful lodge which offered a pool table, foosball table, and great spaces to spread out to play our card games. We took a trip to "Sliding Rock" where the kids loved slip sliding down a huge rock into a refreshingly cool pool of river water! Well worth the trip! We also enjoyed a delicious gourmet dinner at Larkin's on the Lake Restaurant on Lake Lure to celebrate our mom's 87th birthday. Dancing Falls Lodge was not only beautiful, but we found it fully equipped with everything you could ever want in a vacation home with the surrounding resort offering great things to enjoy. The ladies enjoyed the Zumba classes at the fitness center! We would love to return in the future to make more special family memories.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very fun week

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Our group had a great time together - we were family/in-laws celebrating a 25th wedding anniversary. We had 9-13 there across the week and there was plenty of space to spread out. The house was perfect for what we planned, and it was clean, well stocked and maintained. Everything was in working order. The view was beautiful and many enjoyed the hot tub. There was so many different things to do either right at resort or in the area. It worked great as we could do things together or all go off in separate directions to enjoy what we wanted to do. One highlight was the pontoon boat cruise the resort offered which we all went on together. We got to the Biltmore and Asheville, as well as various hiking trips and visits to small towns to eat/shop including Chimney Rock village and Hendersonville. So there is plenty to do to keep you busy or just a great house to spend time together, watch movies and play games! Would definitely recommend this house Owner's were very available and so helpful with any questions we had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Spacious Cabin in Beautiful Lake Lure

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

This is a great place for getting together a large group (10 to 20) for a friend/family get away. Has lots of rooms with plenty of beds and fold out couch for accommodating sleeping arrangements. The cabin has a huge great room, as well as several porches and a basement for folks to splinter off from the main group. Has lots of nice amenities, such as a hot tub, Foosball table, pool table, and big screen TV.

The house is tucked away in a quiet corner of the resort, with all the great resort amenities just a few minutes away. We had a great stay!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Denton Family Summer Vacation

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

This is house was great for three families. Our children loved all the porches and, of course, the hot tub and game tables. The house was clean with beautiful views. The beach at the lake was nice along with all the other amenities. The owners were very helpful and easy to communicate with.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Omi's 70th Birthday

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

We had a wonderful time gathering with my parents, siblings children and grandchildren to celebrate a landmark birthday. There was plenty of room for our large group, who range in ages from 1 year to 70! We found plenty to do for all ages and especially enjoyed our hike at Chimney Rock. Some of us played golf while others walked the gounds. The spacious and stocked kitchen was a plus at mealtime! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to others. We are hoping to return with friends in the Fall!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer Family Fun

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Our multi-generation family enjoyed our stay. The house was great, had plenty of room and was as photos represented. The resort had something for everyone and we especially enjoyed the lake and pool, as well as a boat rental ride. The owners were nice to work with and answered all of our questions. My only negative was that there was not much outside space for the kids to play and ride their bikes but we had a great time with all of the other activities available in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

MEMORIAL WEEKEND MEMORIES

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

Our family stay (all 12 of us) at Dancing Falls Lodge was incredible and everyone had a memorable time. The accommodations were superb and were lacking nothing. Our granddaughters loved the hot tub and were in it every night. The gas bar-b-que got used a lot and everyone loved Papa's cooking. The view off the deck of the 16th green and the "Dirty Dancing" bridge are spectacular. We rented a pontoon boat for 1/2 day and enjoyed touring Lake Lure and docking for lunch at Larkins (great food). All in all this place is a "10" and everyone is already asking me when we are going back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Yearly four couple golf trip.

Review submitted: June 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

What a wonderful week we had at this lovely cabin in the woods! The owners were very helpful from the moment we decided to rent until we left. Comfy beds,great hottub,stocked bathrooms. Basically everything one needs to start a great vacation in the mountains! No-one can go wrong renting this beautiful and well loved home! We loved Rumbling Bald resort so much that our daughter will be getting married here next year. Thanks Tom and Laurie!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Family Get Away

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

Our stay at Dancing Falls cabin was great! The cabin is so beautiful and located in a majestic area. You can see and hear a waterfall from the deck-we enjoyed this very much. It was so relaxing! We bought food to cook out on the grill because we loved the place so much we didn't want to leave!! The cabin is very spacious and kitchen well stocked with everything you would need. The hot tub was great and located perfectly on the deck so you can hear the beautiful sounding waterfall as you relax.

This is just a fantastic place for families to get together! Lake Lure is a beautiful, peaceful area. The boat tour of Lake Lure is a fun family activity that we enjoyed. The tour guide was interesting and we learned a lot about the area. We loved it very much and hope to visit again very soon. Thanks so much Tom & Laurie for sharing your warm inviting home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful weekend

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

The house was fantastic! Would definitely recommend staying here. There was plenty of room for all of our family (20+). Beautiful area, nicely appointed, and well taken care of. Thank you for a wonderful location!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

Otur family of 12 visited the cabin in March. The weather was beautiful and the trees were just beginning to bud. We went there on a trip that was to be centered around a trip to the Biltmore Estate, but everyone enjoyed the cabin so much that we ended up spending more time socializing, playing games and just enjoying being together at such a beautiful and quiet place. The description of the cabin on the website was very accurate and very clean. We would definitely like to go back to the cabin in the future as it was plenty of space of our large family to spread out. Thank you so much Tom and Laura for letting us stay in your awesome home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Retreat Weekend 1/21/11

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

We took our small group to Dancing Falls for a retreat weekend, and had a wonderful time. The house was well equipped for all of our needs, with a well supplied kitchen, and adequate furnishings to seat our group of 12 together for meals and social time. The house was clean and comfortable, with plenty of entertainment. It was also easy to get to, all of the roads were paved and accessible in January.

We took a trip to Hendersonville, which had wonderful shopping and restaurants, although it was an hour drive, 30 minutes of which were windy roads. I'd allow adequate time for anyone with motion sickness. Overall, this was the perfect house for our group with plenty of beds, and room to grow, and we expect to return in following years.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

New Years Review!

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

Visited the Cabin over the 2010/2011 New Year with family. Had 6 couples with kids (16 people) and had plenty of room and things to do in the cabin. Kids loved the Foozeball table while the adults liked the pool table. The view from the deck was awesome and the hot tub was needed after driving 6 hours to get there. The proximity to Chimney Rock was great. Did hike a trail. Need to come back in the summer when all the trails are open. Would recommend this cabin to any that wanted a place in NC.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Family Christmas

Review submitted: December 17, 2010   Date of arrival: December 10, 2010

This home is very spacious, provides plenty of entertainment with games, movies, pool, foosball, hot tub, etc. and is surrounded by soothing natural beauty. We even enjoyed watching golfers tee off safely from the deck. The home was very clean and the owners extremely patient and helpful throughout the rental process making this home one we would definitely recommend to others and probably revisit in the future.

We stayed at the cabin and simply hiked around the area. We didn't visit any local restaurants or attractions such as the Biltmore Estate or Chimney Rock as our desire was to visit with one another. We converged with ease based upon Google or Map Quest directions from Augusta, Valdosta, and LaGrange, Ga. and from Taylors, SC. Everyone said the trip was well worth the drive!

Our extended family gathers once a year for Christmas and found everything about this home accommodating. This was our third annual gathering and by far the nicest cabin we have rented! The beds were comfortable and honestly with fourteen people in the family room area it was not at all crowded. Our Christmas was made even more special when we awoke to about two inches of snow Sunday morning. We unfortunately were scheduled to leave and driving was a bit slippery for a while but we all made it home safely and with a bounty of memories to add to our growing collection of fondly recalled Christmas getaways.

Thanks to the Manderbach family for sharing their home! By the way the decor is awesome! The Dirty Dancing theme in the game room is appropriate with a nice tribute to the late Patrick Swayze. The Dirty Dancing poster of the Manderbach's is a nice touch as well. Love the sunroom and screened porch just off the pool room.

If you are looking for a home away from home look no further - you will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Thanksgiving in the beautiful mountains of NC

Review submitted: December 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

The whole family gathered at Dancing Falls for a wonderful, relaxing Thanksgiving. The home is beautifully decorated and we enjoyed the nice holiday touches. There is plenty of space for everyone--kids downstairs playing the gamecube or watching TV, and grown-ups upstairs reading or watching football. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen is well-stocked, and we enjoyed all the amenities this home has to offer.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great cabin, just as described

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 29, 2010

Wonderful cabin!!! Perfect description, well maintained, and an amazing place during the fall season. Owner very fast with inquires and answers. Definetly recommended.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacay

Review submitted: November 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

What a terrific time we had at Lake Lure and we couldn't have asked for a more beautiful cabin..We received great customer service from the homeowner to all of the workers at the resort and the cabin is absolutely pristine!!! Looking forward to another trip there very soon!! Also, we were very lucky, the weather couldn't have been better!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Golf Couples

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

Dancing Falls was wonderful for our group of 4 couples! In 2009 two of us couples stayed at Rumbling Bald for the first time and we noticed the house when we played golf. When looking for a place to go back there, we just happened upon the house on VRBO and were SO excited. We brought along two other couples who had never been to the resort and we all LOVED it! You have to understand that we went up for 3 days of golfing and it POURED for 2!! BUT - we still had a great time at the house because there were two huge tv's so we could watch movies on one and football on the other - we could play pool, foosball, sit in the hot tub - we even had some local friends over for a cocktail party and there was SO MUCH ROOM! Only 2 couples shared a bath - so everyone could get up and showered easily in the morning without waiting! The house was everything it was reported to be!! It was very clean and the owner could not have been more helpful and responsive, both before and after the transaction! Since it rained we ended up in Black Mountain one day - a great place to shop and hang and eat! Kind of a tricky, windy road to get there - but worth the trip! We also had some spa treatments at the resort and we all were very pleased! I would highly recommend this home to anyone! One caution - watch your low riding cars in the front driveway - if not angled just right - you may "bottom out" - but the higher SUV cars in our group had no problem. It was very comfortable for our group of eight - any more people and it probably would help if you are related cuz it gets a little cozy! Looking forward to going back in the future! Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Didn't get to stay, but great customer service

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

Just before our planned visit, the homeowner experienced some septic issues which were not going to be resolved before our planned arrival date. However, the homeowner stepped right in to help us find another comparable property within the resort, which worked out just fine. Without her help, our trip may have been cancelled. Thanks to the owner's personal touch we were able to have a wonderful visit to Lake Lure. Perhaps we'll have another chance in the future to visit Dancing Falls!

Owners response: We had a maintenance issue related to our septic system that has since been addressed. We did not want to take the chance and have any renters at the house so I made arrangements for her to stay in an equally nice cabin. I wanted to make sure she was a happy customer and it appears that she was happy and appreciated my customer service.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: November 15, 2008

Thank you for sharing your gorgeous home to all of us. We came here to rest, relax and take time to get to know eachother better and it was a success. We pray blessings over your home, your family and all the families that come into this home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: November 10, 2008

Wow! What a wonderful mountain "cabin" - feels more like an estate!! Thank you for sharing . . . Great views, great weather (beautiful colors). We will come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: November 2, 2008

We enjoyed your beautiful cabin and the beautiful fall colors. We thought the cabin was very roomy and easy to entertain. The internet pictures did not serve the cabin justice. It was more than we ever expected. We hope to revisit again. Back to the cold in Wisconsin. Thank you for sharing your cabin with our family and friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 26, 2008

We had a wonderful time. The children loved the property and the spectacular views. The place was beautiful and it was great for a large group.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 12, 2008

Thank you so much for letting us stay in your amazing cabin. We had a blast and made a lot of memories. We would definitely come back.
I had the "time of my life" and I owe it all to youuuuu!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 5, 2008

Our group had a FANTASTIC time in your FANTASTIC house. The view was spectacular and we had so much room to wander around playing, resting, eating, laughing and having such a wonderful weekend.
Thanks for being such nice people to rent from.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2008

Tom and Laurie,

You have a beautifule home and a great place to go and hide. The Biltmore was fantastic! I could still be there at all the cute shops and I loved the gardens.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 31, 2008

Wow! What a wonderful weekend in such a beautiful lodge. Our family has spent the last two years together on Labor Day weekend. We have found this lodge to be well equipped and comfortable. In all of the 20 years of being together, we have found this to be the prettiest and most adequate place we have stayed.
We have always lived in Spartanburg, SC and enjoyed visiting Lake Lure on many occasions. This weekend has heightened our love of this area.
Thank you for providing a place that allowed us to enjoy being with family in such a lovely lodge. We feel honored to have been the first guest of Dancing Falls and to enjoy the beauty of God's creation on this mountain.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

3 couples plus grown children plus a wonderful house equals a fabulous celebration of a 50th birthday. The house is immaculate and the woodwork beautiful. Best compliment I could give the house is that it is so comfortable, room for everyone in a very relaxing environment. The layout offers quiet spots and great gathering spots. The kitchen is great to cook in and had everything we needed. Would definitely recommend this home and vacation spot.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

08 20 10 08 21 10

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

What a great place to experience a wedding. Our choice to stay at Dancing Falls during our son's wedding was just amazing. The house was great, all of our guest were so impressed and the view of the Dirty Dancing scene is definetly a moment in time to actually see, especially if you are a Patrick Swayze fan. The ladies wanted to dance down the stairs and of course the golf kept the men entertained. In our opinion if you want the experience of your life, Dancing Falls Lodge and Rumbling Bald is the place to stay. The detail of the house is all anyone could ask for, Laurie and Tom you have done a wonderful job. Lake Lure just has so much to offer tucked away in the great mountains of our beautiful North Carolina. We recommend to everyone. Thank You!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dancing Falls Lodge

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

What a great time our whole family had! The 3 floors worked great for us since some we're going to bed early and other stayed up playing games all hours of the night.
The wrap around deck is priceless, so relaxing!

This place has it all! A lake, rental boats, including ski boat, pool, tennis, great golf courses and your location is perfect. We anxiously await our next trip to a great house and great place.

Thanks so much Laurie and Tom!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

50th Anniversary celebration - 2010

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

We just returned home after an incredible week celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary with our family. The family gathered from Europe and parts of the US. We loved the house - it was most comfortable in every way. The children - big and small - enjoy the pool table, foosball and games. We loved the porches and sun room and the kitchen held enough people (I counted five 'chefs' one morning)

The resort offered so many things - golf, spa, lake, pool. None of us wanted to leave.

Thank you so much. We could not have asked for anything for wonderful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great renters. Please come back again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"I had the time of my life"

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

It was all that I imagined and more. Morning coffee on the deck "in the treetops", a full day of activities, grilling on the deck in the evening, and a "flashlight" walk discovering the magnificent, multitude of stars in the night sky. We did it all - swimming, kayaking, supboarding, water-skiing, tubing, croquet, miniature golf, tennis, yoga and fitness routines - everyone participated. The house was terrific - comfortable, easy to maintain, bright and spacious - there was privacy for all. Ingles grocery store is nearby and had everything we needed as well as Dalton's General Store for big, beautiful, delicious tomatoes. We had a wonderful week, we watched "Dirty Dancing", and "I had the time of my life"! Thank you to Laurie and Tom for having a great house for us to enjoy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Great renters, come back again

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dancing Falls Log House

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

Very nice property with a great view of Rumbling Bald Mountain and the 16th green. Easy access to all the Resort's many activities. We had 12 grandkids (2 to 14) and all had a great time and never lacked for something to do. Flats screens galore so different things for different ages and interests were easy to accomodate. Plenty of room for the 11 adults as well with a few crumb snatchers in bed rolls on the floor.
I would recommend it for big groups such as ours. The owners were easy to deal with as well which just added to the overall pleasueable experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Great renters. We hope they come back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent get away close to Charlotte

Review submitted: April 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

We just celebrated my sister's 60th birthday party with six of our siblings and had a great time. Everything about the cabin is as described on the website here. Excellent and relaxing view, proximity to Chimney Rock, lot of things to do. Very very charming cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

Wow!!!!!! what a remarkable cabin, especially for a
large group. We had eight couples total and we had
plenty of room to hang out, get away from each
other and get away from the men!!!!!!!!!. They loved
the playroom downstairs. It is the perfect place for
hanging out, playing golf, going for walks,(the deer
are everywhere) sitting out and enjoying the
magnificent views. It even has a large screened in
porch if you do not do bugs, but even with it cold, it
was nice to wrap up and sit on the porch, rock and
listen to the water fall. We had such a great time.
My only complaint is I wish we could have stayed
longer. Trust me you will not find a more cozy,
warm nicer cabin around.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 29, 2009   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

We had our annual Girl's Weekend on Dec 3,4 and 5th 2009 and this is the first year we have stayed here. The cabin is absolutely the best cabin we have stayed in and will make this our annual cabin getaway. There was plenty of room for the 10 of us and it was fully equiped with towels, linens, bedding, etc. There was enough seating for us to lounge around and eat dinner together. The cabin is gorgeous and the views are spectacular. Everyone enjoyed getting out and exploring the area and we also saw a couple of deer in the road right in front of the driveway. We can't wait to come back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 16, 2009   Date of arrival: November 16, 2009

The best decision I have ever made was to stay at the Dancing Falls, instead of Pinnacle Peaks. The view, the floor plan, the amenities, the water fall, everythings was perfect for our R&R weekended away from the city. There were plenty of everything for a large group to gather and big enough for seperation to relax. The big hit with my party was the large flat screen tv's, the pool table and I can't forget about that hot tub.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 26, 2009   Date of arrival: October 26, 2009

Super house to rent for a group. We had enough linens, tableware, cookware, and room to spread out. RBR is a beautiful resort. Men in our group enjoyed the RB course. The guided lake tour from the municipal marina is recommended. Thank you for allowing others to enjoy your cabin!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 7, 2009   Date of arrival: October 7, 2009

We had a wonderful Wedding week...despite the torential rains. Dancing Falls Lodge was a fantastic home to entertain family, friends and guest who travled from 11 states. Most definitely if ever back in area we would stay at Dancing Falls Lodge and recommend to others. The lower level tribute to Patrick Swayze,Dirty Dancing
was very special being that he had passed away the week we were there. The girls sat and watched the movie with many tears. What awsome views from the cabin...and the owners have certainly done a wonderful job making their guest feel at home with all the attention to the details in Dancing Falls Lodge.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 4, 2009   Date of arrival: October 4, 2009

14 of us stayed at the lodge in August we had such a great time. The place was so beatiful with a lot of space. The kids had much fun. We all enjoyed it so much I'm hoping to visit next year for a little longer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 3, 2009   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

For our 50th Wedding Aniversary, we took the immediate family - 15, and spent five nights at Dancing Falls. It was a fantastic get together! Six of those 15 were kids, and ranged in age from 7 to 15. We had spent a lot of time trying to find a place that would keep everybody busy. This is the place! There was fishing, golfing, swimming, boating, an close by was horseback riding, hiking and climbing Chimney Rock. Tennis and miniture golf courses were available in the evening plus all of the table games available at the house. We also enjoyed playing games such as Trival Pursuit and Dirty Dancing in the evening. The house was perfect - we could all be together and still have space so that we did not get on each others nerves. If you needed an item to prepare a meal, it was all available and in perfect condition. On our last night, we ate at Lakeview Restaurant and were given special treatment because we were celebrating. I highly recommend this wonderful home and location.
The Colemans

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 3, 2009   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

When a put my 85 year old mother in the car, to go home, she was crying. When asked what was wrong, she said "nothing, but this was the best time I ever had in my whole life". That pretty well sums up the time we spend at this beautiful home. It felt as if we were visiting the home of a family member. Lots of space, beautifully decorated and just comfortable.
We rented Dancing Falls for a house from our family to stay during my son's wedding at Rumbling Bald. What a great place to have a family get together. The HUGH room on the main level gave space for visiting yet the decks, bedrooms and rec room downstairs, let everyone spread out and have a little quite time.
I had such a good time... I will be going back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 14, 2009   Date of arrival: September 14, 2009

We recently held a family reunion at this lovely home located Rumbling Bald Resort in Lake Lure, NC. Dancing Falls has everything you will need to feel right at home. Overlooking a small falls and the 16th Green of the Bald Mountain course (the Dirty Dancing Hole).We would recommend this home to anyone coming to the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 12, 2009   Date of arrival: August 12, 2009

Our 3 sons, their wives, and our 9 grandchildren joined us at Dancing Falls the last week of July for a family vacation. Not only is it a beautiful spacious house in a beautiful location, it had everything we needed and then some - a well equipped kitchen for family meals (even a high chair for our 15 month old), spaces for reading, relaxing, playing games, watching movies, enjoying the scenery. It was very comfortable for our large gang.

We enjoyed swimming, tubing on the lake, kayaking, golf, panning for gems, fishing, Chimney Rock, horseback riding, and just being together for a very memorable vacation. Everyone agreed it was a perfect spot.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 10, 2009   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

Wonderful place!! The home is perfect for families. Lots of room, beautiful decor, and everything you need. The location and view are awesome. Great kitchen and grill make it easy to cook for large family. Beds are really comfortable. Pool table and hot tub were big hits. Everything was great. We will return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review