reviews for: listing #410630vb - Dominical, Costa Rica rental

Spectacular Ocean Views, Private, Jungle Observation Platform!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 265 - $ 500 / night
    $ 1,575 - $ 3,290 / week
    $ 4,950 - $ 6,000 / month
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Truly a "Dream House"

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 8, 2014

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. We have used VRBO many times and have always been satisfied, but your home was the most beautiful and well equipt home we have ever stayed in. It was sparkling clean and the welcome basket was an added treat. We have two older kids, 20 and 17, and there was more than enough room. We all enjoyed the pool and the spectacular sunsets from the patio. We enjoyed seeing countless birds daily-toucans, parrots, Cusingas,etc. And hearing the Howler monkeys every morning was a wonderful experience. Definately need a 4x4-but road is fine. Follow Massi's directions-no problemo!
Communication was answered promptly by Massi and Silvia via email. Gerrado, who is very kind and unobtrusive, even showed us to the Ceiba tree on the property.
In the area, we went to Dominical and shopped along the beach with the local venders. Ate at Tortilla Flats and La Parcela-both great. Also bought fresh Mahi and Tuna to cook from La Mancha-yummy! Rented kayaks and surf boards from Tito and Diego at Uvita 360 a couple of times-great guys. Did the Osa Canapy Tour, which Silvia set up for us. Great adventure and professional operation. On our way back we stopped by the Terraba River and saw 11 Scarlet Macaws! Hiked Hacienda Baru-saw a sloth! Very cool place and is close by. On the last day went down to Poza Azul waterfall and our son loved the rope swing.
Can't say enough positive things about the house, the owners, staff and the area...We hated to leave this paradise and want to come back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind review! It seems you were able to take in the many sights and tours that are available in the area. Also, the wildlife is amazing in Costa Rica, it is quite stunning to see the Scarlet Macaws in the wild too, free to fly wherever they choose. We are happy that you were very satisfied with the house, I've said this many times, we are blessed to have such wonderful staff to help us care for our home and make it the best that it can be. Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!!

Review submitted: July 18, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2014

What a wonderful way to start off our vacation in Costa Rica! It's hard to know where to start. The view was incredible, the pool delightful, the house just beautiful! It had everything we needed. The washer and dryer were a major plus. We spent our days investigating the area - ATV ride, surf lessons, boat tour in Sierpe, and hanging on the beach. Coming back to the house to make home cooked meals and watch the sunset was one of the highlights of each day. The road up is an adventure, but after one or two times, we had it down! It was hard to leave, but we will be back. Tracy - thank you for sharing your beautiful house with us and the lovely welcome basket - our stay was definitely the highlight of our Costa Rican adventure!

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Casa de los Sueños. We also enjoy watching the sunsets and making dinner at the house. The sunsets can be very beautiful, some of the best that we've ever seen! The road up to the house is an adventure, but that's one of the reasons we bought there, the view of the Pacific is amazing. We hope that you will return to Casa de los Sueños in the future. Thank you again for the kind review! All the best to you and your family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay- amazing experiences!

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: June 24, 2014

Amazing adventures! We selected this property because of the location, the setting in the rainforest, and the climbing tree. We were not disappointed! The house is beautiful and well furnished. Plenty of towels, cookware, snorkel gear, beach chairs, and more. We would go back to this house in a heart beat! The owners connected us with their rental management company (Massi) which included a concierge service (Sylvia). Massi and Sylvia were always immediately responsive to all of our questions. We did not have any difficulty with ants, other insects, or snakes in the house! Plenty of wildlife outside though. We heard howler monkeys daily, but they never kept us up. We saw toucans, a sloth, and a family of Jungle frogs (loud!) on the property. The pool was beautiful and well-maintained. WiFi spotty, but that was not unexpected for us, given where we were and that we were there in the Green season. Massi kept us up to date when the Wifi went out (local outage - not house related) and it was restored. Sylvia booked our tours and we were not disappointed by any of them. Upon recommendation of the owners, we had a tree climbing expert (Owen) come to the house and help us climb the huge tree - a wonderful experience and unique to this house! We also had a local chef come cook a meal for us- the best meal we had! We went white water rafting on the Coto Brus, arranged by the concierge. Our group was the only group on the river! Terrific Class III and IV rapids with great guides. Breakfast and lunch were served at a local open air restaurant near the river. We also took a book ride tour to Corcovado National Park. This tour was amazing! We also explored the town of Dominical, nearby beaches, ziplines, canopy tours, waterfalls, and more! Although we came during rainy season, the weather did not deter any of our plans. Rain tended to come later afternoons so mornings were great for touring and seeing wildlife. Bottom line- you can't do better than here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Rainy season is a great time to visit Costa Rica, it's our favorite time. The colorful birds, butterflies and flowers are out in abundance due to the rain allowing for the blooming of many fruit and flower trees. The landscape is very green and beautiful. We are glad that you could take advantage of the many tours that are offered in the area and that Silvia was very helpful. The waterfalls flows are very strong in rainy season and are fun to visit as well as the rivers for white water rafting. Not many of our renters choose to climb the Ceiba tree and we're happy that you enjoyed the experience! Owen is a very skilled climber and very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the forest. We're sorry that there was an internet issue during your stay. Services can be spotty at times in Costa Rica, especially during rainy season. It sounds like you had a wonderful adventure though and we hope you will some day return to Casa de los Sueños for another one. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

First Class - Stunning Views!

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

We rented this home for a week with our two teenage boys. I wish I could have stayed another week. Everything about the house was perfect. Lovely decorations, immaculate, well stocked kitchen with everything you need for a very enjoyable stay. Free wake-up calls in the morning via howler monkeys, parrots and toucans! The basket of goodies provided was a nice surprise as well. We appreciated the beach chairs, boogie boards, beach towels and cooler. We would spend our early afternoons at the beach or other excursion, only to return to the house to spend some pool time and watch the incredible sunsets each evening. No need to go anywhere else for a sunset view. Everything you need is located within 5-10 driving minutes of the house. There is fresh fruit and vegetables at the bottom of the hill (which after a few drives up and down became no big deal) - La Macha for fresh fish. Dominical is the coolest little beach town around. If you are into resorts and casinos, this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a laid back, peaceful "local" experience, this is the place. We enjoyed the fact that you couldn't see a neighboring house - it was very private, yet we felt very safe. I would highly recommend staying at this house. Massi and Gerardo were very helpful and responsive via email. We didn't have cell phone service (we didn't purchase a Costa Rican plan for our phones), but felt that using the WiFi with email was sufficient.
Overall, exceeded my expectations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed Casa de los Sueños. We are also glad that you enjoyed many of the activities and beaches that the area offers. Thank you for noticing the great work that Costa Ballena Management does for us, we pride ourselves on always being able to deliver a high level of service to our renters. Thank you again and we hope that you will be able to return to Casa de los Sueños some day.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great view but secluded and removed - snake in house!!!

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 11, 2014

Unfortunately our experience was quite different than that described in other reviews.
The correspondence was excellent before we arrived, however once we arrived other than for booking tours our emails and phone calls were not answered. The property was 15 minutes off the main road up a steep dirt road. We were traveling with young children so had questions about where to buy groceries, milk etc which were not answered for more than 2 days. Unfortunately, we were not greeted with the fruit baskets, coffees etc that seem to be mentioned in other reviews. There is no information book in the house with this kind of information. Finally after sending numerous emails about this we received a response the evening before we left.
Early in the morning, one of my kids woke up to a snake crawling below his bed. The snake had crawled under the front door as there is a space between the door and the floor.
I recognize that we are in the jungle and really appreciate Costa Rica for this, but prefer for the jungle to be outside of the house. Traveling with young children we were uncomfortable and worried for the duration of outstay. The person we were supposed to call with enquiries did not answer nor did he call back(apparently he only speaks Spanish and did not understand the message we left).
The owner did not address any of these issues when they were brought up.
This may be suitable for people who do not have such young children and who do not mind being isolated knowing the support may be mediocre.
The one thing I do appreciate is tegu bought a pack'n play to help accommodate our sleeping arrangements.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: I’m sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Casa de los Sueños. We take all our renters feedback seriously, so I want to respond in detail.
To begin, the title of your review implies that you were surprised that the house was “secluded and removed”. The very first sentence on this web site describing the house clearly states that “Casa de los Sueños is a 3 bedroom/2 bath home on 13 very private, quiet and secluded acres nestled beside a rainforest reserve in the Escaleras Mountains.” All our marketing highlights the house’s private secluded setting. CDLS is exactly 2.5 km from the main coast road, about a 5 minute drive on a well maintained gravel mountain road.
As you mentioned, communications before your trip were excellent and our track record over the years has been that the same level of excellent communications has been maintained throughout a renter’s stay. I am confused about your comments because I did not receive any emails from you until after your stay and our property managers, who are both very fluent in English, answered your emails when they were received. We do acknowledge, however, that the internet service in our area of CR can be problematic at times.
Because of its added cost, a complimentary food basket is only provided to rentals of 7 nights or more. It was cost prohibitive to offer you the basket, especially since you were afforded a very generous discount for your 3 night stay.
Regarding the small snake found in a bedroom, it is impossible to perfectly seal all the doors and windows in CR from intrusion from insects and small reptiles, especially in jungle locations. The gap under the front door is extremely small and this was the first time in 11 years that such an intrusion has been reported.
Finally, I am glad you appreciated the pack’n play we purchased for you because one of our property managers made the 2 hour plus round trip to San Isidro to buy it prior to your arrival. It was yet another example of the lengths we are willing to go to make our renter’s experience at CDLS the very best possible.
Again I’m sorry your short stay at CDLS was not an enjoyable one.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Beautiful home with great ocean view.

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 15, 2014

This is our first trip to CR and we have had quite the adventure! The house has been a wonderful place to relax and recharge with the beautiful pool. The staff has been so great and responded to all of our needs. It was a life saver having the fruit basket and coffee upon arrival because we came in after dark and did not stop at the store.

The house is very clean with lots of beach towels and other necessary things that make it easy to make trips to the beach.

We will rent this house again when we come back to CR.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your nice review. We feel very fortunate to have a great staff for Casa de los Sueños, they have been very helpful in maintaining and keeping our home in it's best shape possible. Since many of our guests do arrive after dark and many are unfamiliar with the area, we like to provide a gift basket of food and beverages. We hope that you will one day return to Casa de los Sueños and enjoy another adventure, thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pure Vida

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 25, 2013

Loved everything about our vacation home. The entire staff was terrific to work with. The views were spectacular! Loved lounging in and around the infinity pool before and after exploring the beauty of CR. Ideal set up for 3 couples. We saw toucans, sloth and howler monkeys from the yard, what a treat! The property is in a great location to visit key areas of Southern Costa Rica. We all loved our stay and highly recommend Casa de la Sueno

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, we are so happy that you and your group had a great time staying at Casa de los Sueños. It is also special that you were able to see toucans, Howler monkeys and a sloth. The sloths visit the Guarumo tree near the pool patio, they like to eat the lowers when they are blooming. Jim and I hope that some day you will come back to visit Costa Rica and stay in our home. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just the right balance of elegance, comfort, wildlife and nature…perfecto.

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

Our December visit was the fourth stay at this super comfortable house in Escaleras, looking out over the pacific above Costa Ballena National Park. We had howler and capuchin monkeys on the doorstep, tree frogs, geckos, whiptail lizards, morpho butterflies, a green parrot snake (non venomous), parrots, toucans and a choir of other birds to keep us amused in between dips in the crystal clear pool and outings to the beach, ocean, Baru nature reserve etc. This is a perfect location to enjoy the South Pacific region which is the most unspoilt and verdant area of CR. Maintenance and cleaning is top notch, comfortable furnishings and beds, good bedroom AC, beautiful old growth jungle at the back of the property. Great supermarket down the road in Uvita, gourmet restaurants in Ojochal, swimming beach at Pinuela, snorkelling at Uvita ("the whale's tale"), beer and wings at the Jolly Rodger pub 10 minutes (4x4) drive away (in season). Cant recommend this place enough.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for being a return renter, we appreciate your business and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our home. Jim & I, the management company, the concierge, the caretaker and the cleaning crew work hard in hopes that our guests have an enjoyable stay. Thank you again and I hope that you will one day return to our home should you decide on another Costa Rican visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

All That was Promised ... and more

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 20, 2013

We (6 people total - Myself, wife, our two children - 6 and 7 yrs old, my brother and my neice) traveled to Costa Rica for 9 days. We stay at Casa De Los Suenos for 4 days at the end of our trip, and it was the most incredible place we stayed on our trip (not to take anything away from the other places we stayed - as they we also both fantastic!). Prior to our arrival Tracy, Massi, and Silvia did everything to make us feel welcome and to schedule our time in Dominical. When we arrived at the house we were just amazed at how beautiful the house, grounds and view were (even the kids commented on how beautiful the pool was and they started swimming at 6:00am evey morning!). The pictures posted on VRBO are accurate and the house is really that beautiful - so beautiful in fact that it would be entirely possible to just stay at the house and relax for weeks! The house (pool and grounds) are very clean and comfortable. There were no bugs worth mentioning (incredible for being in the middle of the jungle !). Monkeys are visible from the pool and are fun to just listen to as they yell to/at each other.

Tracy was fantastic to communicate with before we arrived in Costa Rica, and even when we were at the house (through email she responded immediately to assist us with special requests we had). Also, Massi was helpful with directions prior to arrival, and Silvia was fantastic with helping us schedule activities before our arrival and also after our arrival for last minute activities. Nothing fell through the cracks and they were always easy and enjoyable to deal with.

A car is a must (I feel that way when traveling anywhere in Costa Rica - as it is a great experience to drive there - GPS is very helpful). The market in Uvita - a bit to the south, is very good. The house is stocked with all of the cooking supplies you need. The restuarant Como No has a great view, tide pools, great staff, and expensive pizza (but very good!).


Thanks again Tracy for sharing your house with us! We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The wildlife in Costa Rica is amazing and it's nice to hear that you and your family were able to see and hear the monkeys from the pool. We are fortunate that they do come near our house often with the jungle situated nearby. I am glad that you felt that Massi was helpful with his directions and also happy that you contacted Silvia for help with scheduling your activities. She is local and knows the area very well. Thank you for staying at Casa de los Sueños and we do hope that you and your family will return someday!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Missing the perfect sunsets!!

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

My wife and I arrived in the mid afternoon. It was a wonderful warm sunny day. As soon as we arrived on the property we were amazed. The grounds are kept perfectly, and the house was very clean. There were even towels neatly laid out by the poolside for us. The layout of the house itself is amazing. Everything needed to make cooking easy as far as utensils, pots, pans, and bowls (More importantly a corkscrew and wine glasses.) were there and easy to find.

During our stay we were fortunate enough to be visited by monkeys and toucans. There are lots of small lizards to keep you entertained while lounging by the pool even the odd tarantula and scorpion if you dare to head out at night armed with a flashlight. There is no need to go anywhere to watch the sunset. the evening views are very intense.

As far as activities go we were occupied. There are so many local attractions it was almost hard to decide what to do for the day. Go surfing, visit a park or reserve, go fishing, stay around the house and watch wildlife or sit by the pool and enjoy the sun. We did not make it to the Poza Azul swimming hole until our last day, but it is a great spot to cool off in the afternoons.

The only downside is that we had to leave.

Thank you very very much for maintaining such a beautiful and relaxing place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are happy to hear that you and your wife had a wonderful time on your stay in Costa Rica. The sun alway sets over the Pacific in front of our house and dry season is the best time of year for viewing beautiful, brilliant orange sunsets. It's nice that you were able to visit the waterfall on your last day, it is 'an oasis' for cooling off after hiking or other activities. We hope you will someday return to Costa Rica to enjoy more of the activities offered in the area. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Miss it Already!

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at your home during our 2 week stay there. We could not have asked for a better home, a better pool, a better view or better weather! The directions to the house were very good, though we did have the help of a GPS to Dominical, however one thing I would point out is that the restaurant road sign marking the turn off to the village of Poza has fallen down and is not visible when coming in from the north! We passed the sign the first time, and realizing we had gone too far turned around! The sign is visible when coming from the south direction so we did see it and made the correct turn to venture up the highway to the house! We were so impressed with the home and its grounds, so well kept and so beautiful with flowers, trees, shrubs. And so well maintained by the gardener, who is more than happy to help with whatever he can for you. I only wish I spoke fluent spanish so that I could have communicated with him better - however we did manage! Also the house was extremely clean and it was kept so by the weekly visit from the housekeeper! Our young children, ages 3 and 6 loved their vacation and would have been happy to sit by the pool all day long! They had a great time, and my daughter was reluctant to come out of the pool, only to eat, or to view a bird or a gecko that may have been spotted in the yard! We were lucky to spot many toucans, some white faced capuchin monkeys, a plethora of butterflies, including the blue morpho, and even a very large tarrantula lounging on the gate post one morning! We did venture on a few excursions, including a visit to some of the beaches and also to Manuel Antonio to the nature park. Costa Rica can become quite warm during mid day and so we found that when venturing out to tour it was best to do it early in the morning and then come home for the afternoon to lounge by the pool. We did enjoy quite a few restaurants in the area including San Clemente, Tortilla Flats, Marina Ballena, el Coco as well as a few in Manuel Antonio. We generally had no problems getting around Costa Rica by car, and everyone is friendly and willing to help if they can. At no time did we ever feel unsafe. It was a wonderful family vacation and we were very fortunate to have chosen such a beautiful location and a beautiful home. Thank you as well for the Welcome Basket we found on our arrival to the home, it was a welcome sight as we had arrived later than expected! Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time in Costa Rica. We will also tell the Care Taker and Housekeeper how much you appreciated the beautiful gardens and the cleanliness of the house. They are very much an asset for Casa de los Sueños. I'm sorry you had problems finding the turn off to the house, I talked with our property manager and he said the sign had recently been taken down and put back in a different direction. Unfortunately this occurred on your visit. He said that problem has been resolved. We hope you and your family will return to Costa Rica for future vacations, the locals are friendly and the views are spectacular. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Costa Rica ocean area

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

Beautiful property inside and out. A little tricky to find but worth the effort. Everyone connected to the property were helpful and friendly. I would love to return and stay longer next time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's so wonderful that you enjoyed Costa Rica and our home. Thank you and we hope that you will some day return to enjoy more of the beauty and activities that Costa Rica offers.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dream vacation in Costa Rica

Review submitted: January 27, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

We were totally blown away by our stay at Casa de los Suenos! The property is beyond fabulous! The pictures we saw on the website truly do not do it justice, even though they are beautiful. The pool with view out to the ocean was something to wonderful to describe. The gorgeous flowers, birds and other wildlife seen around the property were outstanding.
Inside the home, you felt like the beauty of the outside was reflected within. The use of floor to ceiling glass throughout the back of the house gave one a constant view of the Pacific and the well maintained grounds. The kitchen was extremely well equipped, as were the bathrooms and other areas of the house and the entire facility was spotless. It is laid out perfectly, so that with two couples, each had privacy and a wonderful view of the pool & ocean.
We have stayed at many, supposedly 5 star properties with RCI, and this is far superior to any of those. We would love to return to this paradise again sometime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ann, it sounds like you, Jerry and your guests had a wonderful time. We are happy that you were able to spot lots of wildlife on the property, sightings can usually be similar to ones at National Parks in Costa Rica. We are very lucky to have a wonderful 'team' to help keep Casa de los Sueños clean and running smoothly. We are happy that you noticed. Thanks again Ann!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stay near Domenical in Costa Rica

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

The house is perfect, up on the mountain overlooking the Pacific so you get terrific sunsets. The house has everything you need. The area is suited for those wanting to explore and enjoy nature with many waterfalls, hikes, surfing, white-water rafting, snorkeling, etc. The weather during out stay in Jan was perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are so happy that you were able to take advantage of the many activities in the area. There is so much to do that it is difficult to fit it all into the schedule. The Poza Azul waterfall is so close to the house that it can be a stop to cool off on the way to the house. We hope that you and your family will one day return to Costa Rica for more adventures. Thank you, Tracy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Family Get-away Vacation!

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

Our recent trip to Costa Rica was a chance for our family of four to spend quality time together before both of our near-adult children graduate from college/law school. We chose Costa Rica as a destination that was fairly easy to travel to from our home in the States and as a locale with varied activities that all of us could enjoy. Although Casa de los Suenos looked like it would be a great place to stay and central to many of the locations we wanted to explore, the home, views and location exceeded our expectations!
We woke each morning to the sounds of the jungle around us and enjoyed our Costa Rican coffee while admiring the view of the Pacific. Like others who have stayed at Casa de los Suenos before us, we were lucky enough to see toucans and morpho butterflies, my husband saw two of the howler monkeys we heard every day, and many other birds and butterflies . The landscaping around the house and pool is gorgeous and we spent many hours just enjoying the pool, view, and sunsets from our very private patio. The road leading up to and beyond the house was great for long walks, bird watching and exploring.

We so appreciated that the house was stocked with coffee, milk, eggs and bread, crackers and cheese, and a couple bottles of wine as we arrived our first night after dark...unsure of where to get supplies until the next morning. On the recommendation of the owner and the concierge that works with the home management company, we found several very good restaurants near the home and in Domincal: La Parcela and Villas Rio Mar were both excellent and we also enjoyed the local flavor at Tortilla Flats and San Clemente in Dominical. There was a small seafood market just near the entrance to the road up the the house and we prepared fresh shrimp one night....the house was well stocked with all the cooking implements needed.

The concierge also helped us arrange a zipline canopy tour in nearby Quepos as well as a boat trip to Cano Island for snorkeling. The home owner helped put us in touch with Owen, who build the Ceiba tree platform...and three of the four of us climbed to the platform 100 feet above the jungle floor! An exhilarating once in a lifetime experience. We also found time to explore the beaches at Playa Hermosa and Play Dominicalito nearby. Something for everyone!

We highly recommend Casa de los Suenos for a Costa Rican getaway...the home is beautiful and wonderfully maintained ....and in such a beautiful location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jim and I are very happy that you and your family had a wonderful time in Costa Rica and enjoyed staying at our house. I remember that you said you wanted to have some quality family time before they graduate from college and it sounds like you did! Climbing with Owen is definitely challenging, memorable and gives you a sense of accomplishment. It is something we enjoy as a family as well. I am also glad that you were able to fit in the snorkeling tour to Caño island, we have done that before as a family and that is one of the most memorable tours we've done in Costa Rica. It offers a beautiful perspective to see the jungles and mountains from the sea. Once again, thank you for your kind words and I hope if you decide to visit Costa Rica again you will consider staying at Casa de los Sueños.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tropical paradise secluded on top of a mountain surrounded by jungle with an amazing view!!!

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

What a pleasure it was to stay at Casa de los Suenos!!! The trip to Dominicalito from San Jose was no problem at all and the directions were right on. The house of dreams was secluded on top of a mountain surrounded by jungle and had an amazing view of the coastline! The flowers and trees were all so vibrant and beautiful, they did an awesome job with the landscaping around the house! We heard howler monkeys every day and we were lucky enough to spot a couple one day! We saw tucans, baby turkeys, butterflies, frogs, monkeys, and all kinds of wildlife right from the house! The house itself was so cozy and welcoming.. the layout was very open and spacious.. and the decor was beautiful! We spent a lot of time in the crystal clear pool which was nice in the morning, after a day at the beach and even at night! Sunsets here are breathtaking!!! Casa de los Suenos is such a romantic place and having that kind of seclusion was so peaceful and allowed us to really relax which was a really nice treat! We visited during the beginning of the wet season so we LOVED the rainstorms at night and if it rained during the day it only lasted for a short time. Herrardo the groundskeeper was very helpful and showed us around the property naming all the plants and flowers. We ventured out to Playa Dominicalito and Hermosa which were both gorgeous beaches!!! We shopped at the local US style market in Uvita and they accepted USD. Prices are fair and there were plenty of souvenier shops around! We tried a little italian place in Uvita for my birthday called Piccola Italia which has AMAZING pizza! The locals were extremely nice and no one ever threatened us or made us feel uncomfortable. During our stay we got ENGAGED!!! What a wonderful place to remember where he proposed and I said YES!!! This has definitely been a vacation of a lifetime for us and we look forward to coming back to Casa de los Suenos in the near future!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Congratulations on your engagement Samuel and Jacqueline!!! I am happy that you were able to enjoy the beautiful sunsets at the house. They are especially beautiful at the beginning of rainy season with some clouds in the sky and reflecting off of the pool. The new highway from San Jose to the Pacific coast has made it so easy to get to Dominical. It shortens driving time and it still has beautiful mountain views along the way. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our home, property and the area so much and hope you do return one day. It is a special place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Gorgeous Villa in the Rainforest with Breathtaking Views of the Ocean

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

Our vacation to Costa Rica would be at the top of the list as one of the best vacations ever! Casa de los Sueños instantly felt like home & was a beautiful villa located in the rainforest with views of the ocean & gorgeous sunsets. We stayed in the home for about a week & a half & would've liked to have stayed longer. When we arrived we couldn't believe how cozy the house was inside & how beautiful the landscaping was outside. You could see Tucans in the trees out back, Blue Morpho butterflies fluttering around & hear the Howler monkies talking to each other in the distance. The vegetation surrounding the property was very well taken care of, as well as the pool area. The wonderful groundskeeper took us for a hike around the property while telling us about the various local trees & plants, including the Tree of Life, the Ceiba...he was very knowledgable & made us feel right at home. We tried several local fruits from the vendors, shopped at the local markets & then brought our food back to cook & eat out on the relaxing patio. So thankful we had our camera with us the whole time, as we captured some breathtaking photos. We ate at several of the local restaurants, all of which had very fresh food & good cocktails...La Parcela, Tortilla Flats, Roca Verde & Spicy Coconut. Playa Hermosa & Playa Ballena (Whale's Tail), as well as other smaller beaches in the area, were nice spots to enjoy the water and watch the surfers. There was so much to see and do in the area & we enjoyed Casa de los Suenos so much that we spent all of our time relaxing, exploring & hanging out with the locals & never went on a guided tour. The day we left we started missing our time in Dominical...peaceful mornings drinking our Costa Rican coffee & fixing breakfast with food we had gotten from the local markets. Our leisurely afternoons hanging out at the beach, in the pool & exploring the local hangouts. And the wonderful evenings on the patio enjoying the sunset...couldn't have asked for a better vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house! It is nice that you had a tour of the property and learned about the fruits, trees and medicinal value of some of the trees on the property. There are many good restaurants in the vicinity and it's fun to take a break from cooking after your adventures. The food is so fresh and always good at all of the restaurants that we have visited. We are also happy that you were able to get to Playa Ballena. It is a gorgeous beach and at certain times of the year whales will be there with their young. Playa Hermosa is also a beautiful beach and very close to our house. Thanks again, Jennifer and Jeff. We are pleased that you had a great and memorable vacation. -Jim & Tracy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Outstanding Vistas and Wildlife

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

The name, Casa de los Sueños, appropriately describes this wonderful home nestled next to the rainforest with its scenic vista of the shoreline & Pacific Ocean. I stayed here the first full week of March. Upon arrival we spotted a White-faced Capuchin monkey peeking through the trees as if to inspect us. The flowers and verdant landscape surrounding the secluded property are spectacular and home to numerous hummingbirds, rainforest birds, butterflies, and mammals. During our stay we saw several Blue Morpho Butterflies flitting along the rainforest edge, a Howler searching for fruit, Aracari, Toucan, Chachalacas, Agouti, & rare sighting of a female Great Curassow outside the kitchen window. The groundskeeper gave us a guided tour around the property while pointing out the various hardwoods and fruit trees. We sampled several varieties of tasty fresh fruit. What a surprise when we found a coconut, and he opened it for us! We sampled the wonderful fresh coconut and drank coconut milk for breakfast while sitting on the patio.
The property also has the highest observation platform on this side of Costa Rica. We hired a professional guide in single rope tree climbing technique to take us up to the platform in the Ceiba. Since I am in my mid 50’s I had some reservations, but Owen did a great job training me and keeping me focused on the climb. The view from the platform is spectacular and worth it. Be sure to bring a camera for some breathtaking photos.
We dined at several of the local restaurants which featured fresh foods. La Parcela has a great view, friendly staff, and the fresh fish is muy rico! We had lunch at Cocos in Dominical while savoring the local flavor. Playa Hermosa is a great place to enjoy the water and watch the surfers. There is so much to see and do in the area. I will truly miss the colorful sunsets from the patio, full moon over the ocean lighting up the entire area, and early mornings observing Nature while sipping Costa Rican coffee.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Diana, we are very happy that you enjoyed our home. We are also very happy that you were able to arrange a climb to the platform in the Ceiba tree. We love to climb when we are there. How great that you and your family were able to see the Great Curassow female. We have seen the pair a few times and our property manager informed us that they recently had a nest nearby with eggs. How fortunate too that you were there during a full moon. It is an amazing sight. We hope that you and your family will return soon! Thanks again, Tracy.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review