reviews for: listing #4107 - Beaufort, South Carolina Cottage rental

Adorable Lowcountry Cottage
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mossy Oaks
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $75 - $75 /nt
    $525 - $525 /wk

sort by:

Mini vacation

Review submitted: August 13, 2014   Date of arrival: July 16, 2014

Cozy little cottage just the right size for 2. The owners live in the house in front and the only time we talked with either was briefly when we arrived. The home was clean and well stocked with linens and kitchen tools needed for our stay. They have chickens in the back yard and left a dozen eggs in the refrigerator when a cute note from the hens. We enjoyed our stay and appreciate being able to bring our small dog. I have recommended this cottage to family and friends and plan to stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the great review. Please come again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LOVED IT!!

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 18, 2014

Drove from Tampa with my daughter and her NEWBORN to see her husband graduate from USMC, Parris Island. Just needed a little place to sleep and found this adorable little cottage! It was more than sufficient and SO much better than staying in a more expensive and scary motel....plenty of room for the 3 of us!! We had a wonderful stay and fresh eggs in the fridge from all the sweet hens in the back yard! Thank you, again!!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A gem

Review submitted: June 1, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week and we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice of a place to stay. The cottage is just as shown on the website and the owners, Sonnie and Greg, are the epitomy of southern hospitality. I can't say enough good things about this place -- the cottage itself; its close proximity to downtown Beaufort (a short bike ride); the pass to Hunting Island State Park (we visited 4 times); and the "pet" hens are great (they greeted us every morning as we had breakfast on the porch). Sonnie even gave us a dozen fresh eggs. I would highly recommend this cottage to any couple looking for a clean, cozy, inexpensive place to stay when visiting the lowlands. I hope to make to make it back, as one week was just not enough time to see everything there is to see. We loved the fresh seafood at the Dockside in Beaufort (best seafood we've ever had). Beaufort is a great home base when visiting Savannah and Charleston as well and be sure to stop at the old Sheldon Church ruins - amazing!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: May 20, 2014   Date of arrival: May 10, 2014

We had such a great stay in this little cottage! It was so cozy and secluded unlike most hotels; It was like my husband and I ran away and lived in Beaufort for a few days! The location was perfect and surrounded by so many activities and things to do. The Hunting State Park was also very nice. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay and would definitely return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Megan,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such wonderful remarks about your stay. Please come back anytime!!
Greg and Sonnie Torrey

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cute and Cozy!

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

Just wanted to say thank you for sharing your Cottage with us. Great location! Everything you need right here. The only thing that did not go well this weekend, was the weather!!! We will be back again, and hopefully the next time we will have better weather. This is a great little place and centrally located to be able to enjoy the area. Sonny and Greg are great to work with. The gardens have a lot of love and work put into them. It was great to be able to bring our dog with us too!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Charming,whimsical & very affordable cottage!

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

Perfect for a couple & small dog! Very private,perfect location & everything you need is provided, even a pass for hunting island!We were visiting for a music festival that my husband played in downtown Beaufort & location was very convenient.Sonny was great to work with & cottage is really adorable.Looking to rebook for 2014!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review! I look forward to your next visit.
Greg and Sonnie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

20th Anniversary Celebration Trip

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

The cottage was delightful as presented on the VRBO website. It was cozy-just big enough for one or two people. It is set in a whimsical garden on the owners' property, convenient to downtown Beaufort. The cottage is decorated nicely and very user-friendly. The owners are non-intrusive, but available if needed. Very nice people. We recommend Hunting Island State Park, strolling through The Point, and eating at the Foolish Frog in St. Helena. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and are looking forward to returning next year for another week,

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review. Please come back and see us again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our weekend in Beauford, SC

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

Our first visit to Beauford, was perfect. The cottage was more than we expected.
It was clean, very well furnished, with kitchen-ware, DVD's, reading material,
extra towels and very well located to all points of interest. The owner made us feel very welcome and aided us in finding places to eat and visit. We would recommend the cottage to anyone visiting the area. We had a great meal at the Dockside restaurant and enjoyed the many shops, especially the Chocolate Tree factory.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We enjoyed you as well. Please come back anytime!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay for Graduation at Parris Island

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

I loved my stay at this cozy cottage. We arrived early and all I had to do was make a phone call and she called me right back and told me that it was ready. It is everything needed for a couple and perfect for its location to Parris Island.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your response. We enjoyed having you!
Greg & Sonnie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hidden Gem

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

Sonny's cottage is in a very quiet location with everything there for a comfortable relaxed holiday. double bed was comfy, kitchen well equipped and clean. Sonny is a great host and provided a warm welcome, an amounts of useful information and yummy homemade cupcakes. We'd happily stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Clean and Comfortable

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

This is a nice small place with a clean and well equipped kitchen. My only issue was that the bed was very small for two people (and we are not big people). It is not walking distance to the waterfront. But it is a good value. The Plums restaurant had fantastic pizza and lobster bisque. The sheldon ruins are pretty impressive. They are on the way to Charleston. Ask for directions from the visitors center. We also used our garmin.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

PERFECT

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 12, 2012

I was VERY pleased with the cottage!! It had many small personal touches and was very cozy for two! The owners HAVE DEFINITELY thought of Everything!! I love the colors!! It was perfect for me and my husband! And LOTS of PRIVACY!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the review Amanda! We do hope you will come back and stay with us again!!
Greg & Sonnie

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Anniversary Get-away

Review submitted: October 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

This is the perfect spot for a cup of tea in secluded splendour with a book.. a place to cook a great meal or talk over new plans with a very old friend. This home was well-appointed with thoughtful touches, great towels, soft sheets and fun details. The location allows for quick access to shopping and a quick return to draped moss and sweet breezes.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely perfect and charming!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

This a small cottage, but adorable and wonderful for anyone on a budget. Owners could not have been more accomodating-late arrival was no problem, cottage was spotless and backyard was available for our dog. Patio wonderful for morning relaxation and coffee. Location was great-5 minutes to historic downtown, and then another 15 minutes to Huntington State Park with cute stops along the way ( bait shop, general store, etc. ). Thank you so much-we can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We would love to have you back anytime!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome little house ;)

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

What a treat to stay at this quaint little house... It was like staying at a friend's house. It is very nicely decorated and comfortable. We really enjoyed touring the area, visiting places and going to the beach. While in Beaufort, don't miss Barbara Jean's crabcakes!
I recommended this cottage to my friends...

Owners response: Thank you Isabelle!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cozy Cottage in the quite neighborhood

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

A wonderful, cozy cottage... clean, all the comforts of home and very accomodating landlords.. Hope to stay again soon... Price is great!!!!
We enjoyed the peaceful neighborhood and the convenience to town.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Maria, we enjoyed having you. Please come again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Overjoyed in Ohio

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 23, 2011

This cottage was ideal for our stay in Beaufort for my son's graduation from Parris Island! I was hooked the moment I stepped in the door. Impeccably clean with an incredible amount of charm! It has everything one could need whether staying for a night or a month which in itself is rare. I cannot wait to get back there for some relaxing "me" time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You are welcome back anytime! We loved having you.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

A perfect rental in the heart of Beaufort. Just right for one or two people, very comfortable and everything you need is right at hand. Could not ask for a better experience!

Owners response: Thank you Margaret! I hope you come back and visit again soon.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Highly recommend

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

What a great place to stay in beautiful Beaufort! The cottage is cozy, clean, beautifully decorated and well stocked. It is located in quiet, safe neighborhood close to downtown and attractions. The rate is very reasonable and the owners are friendly and available to help but also respected my privacy. I highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Barbara we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The weather was so perfect for the Blue Angels air show and the beach. Please come back and stay with us again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Winter getaway & birthday trip

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

This is my second trip in the past 2 months. I would come every month if I could. The cottage is beautifuuly decorated, clean and very comfortable. My husband and I did not want to come back home. Sonnie & Greg are both very gracious hosts and make you feel welcome. Notjing nees to be changed as we feel everything is perfect there and makes a great get a away. We plan to return late spring if we can.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for coming back to see us! You are the perfect guest and we appreciate how you always leave it so tidy! Let us know when you can come back this spring...we will always welcome you.
Sincerely,
Greg and Sonnie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cute Cottage

Review submitted: December 10, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the cottage for the week of Thanksgiving, it was very comfortable and we enjoyed it immensely. Thanks so much for having us. Hope to visit again

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Carol. Please come back to see us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 14, 2010   Date of arrival: November 7, 2010

Sonnie,

Just wanted to tell you again, that we had a great time in your peaceful beautiful cottage. It is so beautifully decorated and such a great place to stay! My husband and I will be coming soon. As soon as we can both get off wotk the same time and get someone to care for my Mother. Thanks again for your hospitality. Kathy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Time in Beaufort Cottage

Review submitted: October 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

My wife and I spent October 1st-3rd 2010 at this beautiful little cottage and we will definatley be coming back if they will have us! It was not only beautifully decorated and extremely clean but the owners were extemely friendly and courteous. We rate this amoung one of the best places we have ever stayed and being we have travled alot in the last 20 years and stayed many places that says alot. We would say at a hotel level it is definatley 5 stars for us. Thank you Sonnie and your husband for allowing us to stay at your place and we will be back to Beaufort again so you may have us wanting to book again next year:) Tom and Diane VB

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review and also for the "Lest We Forget" t-shirt. That was so thoughtful of you both. Greg and I enjoyed meeting and talking with you. I hope one day you will be living the lowcountry life here in Beaufort with us. You seem like the kind of people who would fit right into our lifestyle! Come back anytime!!
Sonnie and Greg

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

total zen

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2010

we are wrapping up our stay at this cottage. my 11 year old grandaughter and i have had a wonderful time. we are not new to the beaufort area-which by itself is a marvelous and magical destination-but i was fortunate enough to find this quaint little gem tucked safely away outside of downtown. sonnie and greg have been wonderful hosts. the property is exactly as described and far more. the gardens are a work of art, the property well kept and our privacy well guarded.we will stop back and see our new friends as time allows and we hope to be back -once again- as residents of this wonderful place as soon as practical. also---kudos to "GROUPER" our newest restaurant find in OLLIE'S old home---HOLY MOSES WAS THAT EVER A SURPRISE!!!!!!!!!!------WHAT AN AWESOME MEAL--THANK YOU SO MUCH !!!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We really enjoyed having you and your Grandaughter is so beautiful and sweet to go along with it! Thank you for such a nice review and I look forward to having you as our guest again real soon. Beaufort is made for people just like you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

July 4th Vacation

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful time that week in Beaufort,sc. We stayed at this beautiful cottage for a week. The owners were very nice and helpful the entire time. This cottage was perfect for me and my husband. It was very comfortable and close to everything we wanted to do. Thank you for allowing us to come and stay at your cottage. Looking forward to coming back in October if you will allow us to stay. Thanks.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: We really enjoyed having you both. Please come again soon. The Shrimp festival is next month..maybe you can make it back then.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Not a great experience

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2010

The first day I arrived at the cottage I was very happy. I was in town for graduation at Parris Island so I wanted something close but not a hotel and this cottage was everything I wanted. The next morning I woke up to find roaches, four to five roaches exactly, in less than 30 minutes so I left. After I rented a room at the local Days Inn I called the owners to let them know I wouldn’t be staying another night, the phone call wasn’t pleasant. She told me that she would call an exterminator out for me but I told her I wouldn’t be staying there because I’m terrified of roaches. She told me to get out and hung up on me. I was shocked. I didn’t ask for my money back or a free night in the future, I just wanted to let her know that she had a problem that needed to be fixed. My father owns several rental properties so I know things like roaches can be problem sometimes but I just expected her to be nice about the situation. I won’t be back again.

Owners response: I am very sorry that she felt she had to exaggerate this experience. She may have seen a palmetto bug because we do have them here in the south expecially when people leave food laying around. I did immediately offer to have a professional exterinator come out right away. However, she continued to stress how terrified she was of a palmetto bug and stated she would leaving. I never, never told her to get out. I just hope the Days Inn didn't have any bugs.

Helpful votes: 7 / 10

 

Little "jewel" of Beaufort!

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

After endless hours of scouring the internet. I found this little charming cottage for rent. It's surely hard to find nice, clean and comfortable place to stay for under $100.00 a night. We hit the jackpot with this discovery! This little cottage is situated in a nice quiet neighborhood. It was close to the bay and all that downtown Beaufort has to offer. Just a short drive to Hunting Island state park and beach. We enjoyed our stay so much! Sonnie the hostess was very gracious and hospitable. She offered great advice on places to go and eat in the area. We also loved that we could cook up something of our own in the quaint little kitchen. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect place to stay for our anniversary. We'll be back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much. We enjoyed having you and hope you come back to celebrate anniversary #12!

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Think again.....

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 24, 2010

I just recently got home from this "cottage" and was extremely unhappy with the entire vacation. When it says that it is a cottage, what they really mean is that it is a two room home that is located in a developement. It has a kitchen/livingroon, bedroom, and a small bathroom. In the bathroom, there is a stand up shower, so ladies if you're hoping to have a nice bath, think again. The bed was small which made it a little uncomfortable to sleep in. The second day that we were there, we had come home from our runnings and there was a random car in the driveway that stayed there until the day that we left, leaving off and on. We had arrived on a sunday and had to leave early because of a family emergency. When the husband came to collect the rest of our money, he cut me off and said there was absolutely no way of paying for the house by the night even though we were only going to be there for 4 days. AND if anyone does decide to rent this house, make sure you know exactly how much you owe them yet because of the fact that they told us we owed them double what we really did. It's a good thing I had duplicate checks and had proof of what was sent to her in the first place. Throughout this entire stay, we had not met her once. This vacation was a waste of my time and so were these people. I will never go here again, and I want to warn people so that this doesn't happen to them. The pictures for this house does not do it justice. She left no list of anything that was around to do or anything to see, so I guess it's a good thing that we had a GPS to show us what was around. Good luck to anyone that attempts to stay here.

Owners response: As the owner of this cottage I request that reviewers realize that we have had hundreds of guest and this is the only "unpleasent" review we have ever had. The pictures of the cottage are exactly what you get. I also have always had brocures of the local area, maps, and brochures of Savannah and Charleston in the cottage. We do indeed live in a beautiful area called "Mossy Oaks" which is located close to downtown, shopping, and Parris Island. There is room for three cars to park in front of the cottage and sometimes my youngest son parks in one of the spots so we don't have to have him back out of our driveway every time one of us want to leave. We do not intrude on our guest during their visit but we do sometimes bake cookies and take them over. We are more than happy to give directions to some of our favorite seafood places and go for walks with some of our pet owners. We do not "refund" money for people who decide to leave early..hint hint but have on more than one occassion offered to give the unused time on another visit. Bad weather does sometimes ruin a vacation. I hope you will understand that we stay booked because it is exactly what we describe and these days at least half of our bookings are repeat guest. Please come give us a try. You will not be dissappointed.

Helpful votes: 22 / 27

 

Review submitted: July 1, 2009   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

We had a great time in this cute little cottage! Beaufort has been on my list to visit for a long time and we finally made it. We were there at the peak of the spring gardens. So beautiful! Sonnie and her husband were very welcoming and gave us lots of tips and info on the Beaufort area. Cottage was stocked with everything we needed and the porch was great for morning coffee and viewing their gardens. The cottage is in a great location for day trips to Hunting Island and to Savannah. Next visit we plan on visiting Charleston. We will be back!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Review submitted: January 31, 2009   Date of arrival: January 31, 2009

We stayed here for our son's Marine Corps graduation 1/21 - 1/23, 2009. It is very tastefully decorated, cozy, comfortable & has a great selection of movies & books to help you wind down in the evenings. It is very close to Parris Island, downtown Bay Street, restaurants, everything! We look forward to returning again & again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: December 29, 2008   Date of arrival: December 29, 2008

Very nice place to stay. It was nice to be close to the base. Very quiet not like a stay in a hotel.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: November 30, 2008   Date of arrival: November 30, 2008

I rented this cottage for my in-laws while they were visiting our children in Port Royal. They were VERY happy with the cottage. Great place for two people, very clean and convenient to everything. So much better than a hotel.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 18, 2008   Date of arrival: September 18, 2008

We stayed in this cottage for our sons Parris Island graduation on Sept 10-12th, 2008. It is perfect for 2 people. It is close to everything and only 2 miles from the PI gate.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: July 13, 2008   Date of arrival: July 13, 2008

We loved this cute cottage and found it to be perfect for two people. Well equipped, clean, and close in to town. We will definitely stay in it again. It is very private and nicely decorated.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review