reviews for: listing #41106 - Gaylord, Michigan Chalet rental

Sunset Beach Chalet w/Outside HOT TUB!Boat/Ski/Snowmobile!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Chalet
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Lake Arrowhead
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $185 /nt
    $875 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

Sunset Beach

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We had a great time @ Sunset Beach this week. From the layout of the chalet to having anything on hand necessary to live here for a week... Wow, Dorene & John thought of everything! We had our 16 & 20 yr old daughters with us most of the week & they never complained of being bored! The 4th fireworks were fantastic & we never had to leave the property for the show! Only negative is the Internet & phone service were both sketchy. We had a family crises back home & our phone calls were repeatedly dropped. Everything else here was top notch! We will definitely be back!

Thanks again John & Dorene,

Ken, Susan, Michelle & Catherine

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Everyone absolutely loves Sunset Beach. We try and make our guests vacation
memorable and have enough stuff at the cottage to keep everyone at any age
busy. AT&T phone service is flawless, some other phone services not so good but if you get a connection, just stand still, no more dropped calls, maybe
too many tall trees & cell towers need to be taller, lol!
Come see and feel the tranquility!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Girls Trip!

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

We all had a fabulous time at Sunset Beach! Long weekend for 9 girls & 1 dog :) Plenty of room for everyone and perfect location for visiting Traverse City and Mackinac Island. The hot tub was used often and so was the outside firepit and the fireplace. Even the kayaks were used snce we were lucky enough to have warmer than expected weather the day we arrived. There is a great park right at the end of the road, althought it was too late in the year to use the basketball court, pool etc., it was a nice place to be able to walk the dog. Dorene was awesome to deal with - answered every question we had and their pizza was fabulous! We will definitely to making a return trip - thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What can I say, everyone loves Sunset Beach. I would not have offered this cottage if I knew it would not be big enough or suitable for a group of this size. Sunset Beach has so much to do for every age and not to mention, location, location, location! This cottage is centrally located to accommodate any type of day trip and once back at the cottage, OUTDOOR HOT TUB is waiting for you to soak in so you can do it all over again the next day! Sunset Beach is by far everyone's favorite and I get tons of repeat guests all the time. Come on up north everyone and experience Sunset Beach. Your ultimate vacation is awaiting you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Time!

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

The description of the Chalet was accurate! Was very clean & fully stocked with kitchen amenities, had a great lay out with the beach/dock and beach toys (boats). Had books/videos, games, pie irons, etc. We had 8 people & 2 dogs with us and had plenty of room & stuff to do. The surrounding neighborhood with association pool was very nice. The hot tub was a great treat! And you are only 7 miles to the city of Gaylord (Meijer, TJMaxx, downtown shops). We have recommended this great place to family & friends!
We had a great time!
Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: What can I say, everyone loves Sunset Beach. It's on the best side of the lake, on a dead end road, walking distance to pool. We prepare our rentals so no one has to go anywhere as there is so much to do at the chalet.
Hot tub is always a great hit with guests. We are constantly adding new
amenities to our rentals and constantly updating. Fun stuff!
Our cottages are "shared by many and loved by all!"
Thank you Bay City!!!!! Hope to accommodate you and your family/friends again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for the family

Review submitted: July 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

My family ( 11 / 11 / 10 / 8 ) and I just returned from this home. John and Dorene were wonderful hosts and made sure our stay was top notch. The home has everything we needed including two kayaks, paddle boat, grill, firepit and a kitchen with all we needed. It is a great location in the Association with just a quick walk to the community pool. The location in gaylord is great as well with an hour and a half trip to Mackinac, two hours to Sleeping Bear Dunes and 40 minutes to Petoskey.

We mixed a few day trips into our week and spent the remainder relaxing at the house at the beach or in the hot tub. My kids loved it and were worn out by the end of the day.

We purchased the WIFI for the week @ $8 because Sprint does not get service here.

When asked if the kids would like to come back to this home the answer was a resounding YES !

Enjoy and thanks for a great week.

The White Family- South Lyon, MI

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sunset Beach is everyone's favorite. We get sooo many repeat guests. We try to make sure the home is set up for total relaxation after a day at the lake.
Gaylord is in a great area, close to so many different type of day trips. I have the home set up with a book with just about everything you can do in the area and surrounding area. Hope to see these guests again in the future. It's amazing how many nice people you meet in this business.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Sunset Beach was so wonderful. We enjoyed our honeymoon weekend at the chalet and couldn't have been more pleased. The owners have thought of everything. The view was stunning and the cottage had everything you could possibly need. All forms of entertainment were provided... from the TV/DVD, board games, cards, books, magazines, darts, ping pong, paddle boat, hot tub... really there was something for everyone. We were very impressed and felt the cottage was even better than we expected it to be after reading everything on this site. It was truly a great experience. Since we were visiting in the spring... we weren't able to use the lake or pool...but there was still plenty of stuff to do. Our favorite was watching the sunset from the hot tub! We highly recommend it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am happy to hear that the Newlyweds had a wonderful visit to Northern Michigan. We are constantly updating this chalet to make sure it's suitable for every level of entertainment guests are seeking and would not settle for anything other than "complete bliss!" We wouldn't have named it Sunset Beach if it didn't live up to it's name! Hope these honeymooners bring heir kids for many future memories and share with other family members. When we first found this "gem of Gaylord", we had to move up here permanently when we started our family.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

sunset beach

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

All of the ameneties at the house were great-condiments in refrigerator; adequate towels, soap,paper towels, dish soap etc.Really didn't need anything as you do with renting some facilities.

Only two criticisms:
1. Lake was very mucky on bottom and did not discover pool till last day.
2. Coffee pot was extremely slow to brew, but I guess you're on vacation why hurry?

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: I'm glad they were pleased with the amenities of the home. We have this home set up as "home away from home" so no need to bring essentials.
Lake is a spring fed lake and these guests may have stepped in a spring as this lake is a good swimming lake and a good fishing lake. I always let the guests know there is an association swimming pool to use while they stay
which is actually walking distance from this home down the road. (I also have the pool advertised on website, also advertised at the home on the bulletin board). All these guests had to do was walk out the back door, turn left, walk about 500 feet and presto, a swimming pool. Don't understand why this would have been an issue. Also coffee maker has a 24 hour program so they should have set the coffee to be done when they woke up, no need to wait for slow brew but at least there was a coffee maker!!! :-)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

We loved this chalet - couldn't ask for a better place to vacation. So much to do between the heated pool,hot tub, paddle boat, canoe, row boat, 2 kayaks, and even the floating raft just off the beach. Very clean chalet with all the amenities included and if you forgot something, they had it. Added bonus was the washer and dryer if you needed it. We had 13 people stay from the ages of 4-63 and everyone of them loved it. The owners of the chalet were the kindest and went beyond when one of our family members left some pillows behind and shipped them in the mail for her. The chalet was very neat and clean and didn't have run down or broken furniture like other places we have rented. We all definately would go back again next year, hopefully for a full week instead of 4 days. Anyone looking for a great get away, this place is it.....enjoy it like we did.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2009

The owners were great This was a great house for a relaxing vacation. The view of the lake from the deck was fantastic. We rented a pontoon boat for the week which was a great way to see the lake or have lunch on the water. We kayaked and used the paddleboat. Even though there was just the two of us, the owners provide enough stuff to keep a family with kids busy. Didn't get a chance to go swimming because the water was a bit too cold for us. The best part was being able to take a soak in the hot tub(overlooking the lake) after a day of biking, walking, etc; The next time we are going up north we will be sure to stay here again. I would recommend this place for families and couples alike.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 23, 2010

If you are looking for a quiet lake with a beautiful view; this is it. Relax in the bubbling hot tub, or the heated pool. Catch some rays on the floating swim plat, or enjoy kayaking around the lake. If you forgot something; don't worry about it, Dorene and John have got you covered.

The chalet was perfect for our 3 families, complete with kids and dogs. The owners were respectful and available to help, say, if your car's brakes were going out and you needed the name of a reliable mechanic.

Thanks Dorene and John! We will see you next year :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

"We found our new family vacation spot!"

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

If you are looking for a quiet lake with a beautiful view; this is it. Relax in the bubbling hot tub, or the heated pool. Catch some rays on the floating swim plat, or enjoy kayaking around the lake. If you forgot something; don't worry about it, Dorene and John have got you covered.

The chalet was perfect for our 3 families, complete with kids and dogs. The owners were respectful and available to help, say, if your car's brakes were going out and you needed the name of a reliable mechanic.

Thanks Dorene and John! We will see you next year :)
Leslie and Family

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sunset Beach Chalet

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2009

The owners were great This was a great house for a relaxing vacation. The view of the lake from the deck was fantastic. We rented a pontoon boat for the week which was a great way to see the lake or have lunch on the water. We kayaked and used the paddleboat. Even though there was just the two of us, the owners provide enough stuff to keep a family with kids busy. Didn't get a chance to go swimming because the water was a bit too cold for us. The best part was being able to take a soak in the hot tub(overlooking the lake) after a day of biking, walking, etc; The next time we are going up north we will be sure to stay here again. I would recommend this place for families and couples alike.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

We loved this chalet - couldn't ask for a better place to vacation. So much to do between the heated pool,hot tub, paddle boat, canoe, row boat, 2 kayaks, and even the floating raft just off the beach. Very clean chalet with all the amenities included and if you forgot something, they had it. Added bonus was the washer and dryer if you needed it. We had 13 people stay from the ages of 4-63 and everyone of them loved it. The owners of the chalet were the kindest and went beyond when one of our family members left some pillows behind and shipped them in the mail for her. The chalet was very neat and clean and didn't have run down or broken furniture like other places we have rented. We all definately would go back again next year, hopefully for a full week instead of 4 days. Anyone looking for a great get away, this place is it.....enjoy it like we did.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sunset Beach Calet

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

We loved this chalet - couldn't ask for a better place to vacation. So much to do between the heated pool,hot tub, paddle boat, canoe, row boat, 2 kayaks, and even the floating raft just off the beach. Very clean chalet with all the amenities included and if you forgot something, they had it. Added bonus was the washer and dryer if you needed it. We had 13 people stay from the ages of 4-63 and everyone of them loved it. The owners of the chalet were the kindest and went beyond when one of our family members left some pillows behind and shipped them in the mail for her. The chalet was very neat and clean and didn't have run down or broken furniture like other places we have rented. We all definately would go back again next year, hopefully for a full week instead of 4 days. Anyone looking for a great get away, this place is it.....enjoy it like we did.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Appreciate this review and time spent at our chalet. I am so glad these guests had a wonderful time. We wanted this chalet to be extraordinary
compared to other vacation rentals. We try to make sure this chalet has just
about everything for everyone at any age and if a guest was looking for something, all they would have to do is call us and I am sure it would be supplied to them. Also, we recommend to anyone to
try our brand new chalet in this same neighborhood. It is called the Bear's Den which is listing 41121, which also has a hot tub, 2 kayaks and a paddleboat and not to mention, this chalet is also pet-friendly.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: September 3, 2009   Date of arrival: September 3, 2009

The owners were great. They live two houses away if you need anything but are not intrusive. This was a great house for a relaxing vacation. The view of the lake from the deck was fantastic. We rented a pontoon boat for the week which was a great way to see the lake or have lunch on the water. We kayaked and used the paddleboat. Even though there was just the two of us, the owners provide enough stuff to keep a family with kids busy. Didn't get a chance to go swimming because the water was a bit to cold for us. The best part was being able to take a soak in the hot tub(overlooking the lake) after a day of biking, walking, etc; The next time we are going up north we will be sure to stay here again. I would recommend this place for families and couples alike.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review