reviews for: listing #41107 - San Miguel de Allende, Central Mexico House rental

Exquisite, Lovely Colonial Home with Private Casita - Centro
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Center of Town
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $200 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,250 /wk
    $3,000 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

Beyond Fabulous!

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

This was our second time visiting Casa Lucia, and it was as enchanting as we remembered. The decor of this home is an exceptional example of the iconic San Miguel de Allende style. It is tastefully decorated and honors the history of the city's architecture. The courtyard and roof garden are beautifully landscaped and furnished, and we spent the bulk of our time outside. The amenities if this house: purified and pressurized water, WiFi, Vonage and local phone lines, en suite bathrooms, washer and dryer, and ice maker with purified ice we're really utilized and appreciated. The house is located in a great neighborhood, and the location is an easy walk to the Jardin, and cabs are plentiful on the Ancho San Antonio, a block away.

The house is impeccably maintained, and Marianela, the manager, makes sure that your every need is met. Whatever our question or concern, she immediately responded and always followed-up to make sure that everything was satisfactory. She met us when arrived and introduced the staff. She arranged ground transportation from the airport and arranged for a marvelous cook (Maru, what a gem! We were in gourmet heaven). We couldn't have been more satisfied.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 10

 

Excelente y comoda

Review submitted: July 1, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

ubicada en el centro mas no en el centro historico el cual esta a una distancia aceptable caminando , conectivamente situada Taxis, camiones urbanos a pasos de la casa , restaurantes , panaderias , puestos de comida rapida etc practicamente a la vuelta de esa propiedad , A 100 pasos de el mercado organico de los sabados . La Administradora Flor un encanto de persona al igual que Cristina la persona que ayuda a mantener la casa en orden y limpia . volveria las veces que pudiera .

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous house

Review submitted: April 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 31, 2014

This home was even better than the photos. We loved the gorgeous garden with fragrant jasmine and bougainvillea everywhere, the trickling fountain, the cemento pullido kitchen and bathrooms and the handcrafted, beautifully appointed details everywhere. Indre and her property manager Flor were very accessible and helpful. The bedrooms were very comfortable and the casita is a beautiful space too. Note that the roof deck is accessed up very steep stairs, tough for some to climb, but there are plenty of other beautiful outdoor spaces for lounging,. The location is great; about a 15-minute walk to the Jardin or you can take an inexpensive cab or a bus, which stops nearby on the Ancho de San Antonio, the main street. Loved picking up tamales from the vendor just south on the Ancho to save for breakfast! And the pool at the nearby Rosewood hotel was a lovely splurge; it's open Mon-Thurs to those who spend a minimum of 480 MXN on food and drinks.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful Neighborhood

Review submitted: February 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

We spent an unseasonably cold Jan. 2014 in San Miguel and were saved by the fireplaces in each room, although they needed the tinkering/fixing by the handyman and my husband. Flor, the house manager, was indispensible and very responsive, particularly since we had hot water issues in the casita. We could never really master that issue and the little kitchen needs TLC and outfitting. Flor got drapes up in the casita just a few hours before our guests arrived!

The house and property are drop dead lovely and lovingly restored with a high level of accessories which provide a visual feast. The pillows, rugs, ceramics, pottery, collectibles, glass lanterns, garden fountain, flowers, patio all provide a charming atmosphere.

We are tennis players and loved Michael(pro)at Weber's across the street; drop in courts as well as reservations. High end cheese shop at end of street, also fancy fish and meat around the corner and local cafes/shops made life convenient and easy. We felt safe on the well-lit, clean streets, walked everywhere, loved coming home.

We had lots of company and folks enjoyed the atmosphere and the house - often drinks on the roof or in front of the fireplace. The kitchen is great!

The pictures of the house show its beauty and are accurate, the housekeeping was excellent, the beds and bed linen lovely, the various patio areas enchanting. We would love to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Great stay! Wonderful house!

Review submitted: October 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2013

We spent 2 great weeks at the Casa Lucia. We were 6 people and everything was perfect. The house is very well maintained and decorated with a great kitchen, 2 very nice bedrooms with private bathrooms and a nice casita. There is a lot of space with 2 tables in the kitchen and living room and on the nice patio. Plus there is a great terrace on the top. The location is also perfect close to the center but far enough to not be disturbed by the noise coming from there. There are a lot of restaurants, cafes nearby as well as a nice organic store...The person taking care of the place is very nice and helpful and the maid and the gardener are very friendly too. We really recommend this place and hopefully we will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Casa Lucia - a Beautiful Home Close to Everything in SMA

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

We stayed 9 days at Casa Lucia over the New Year's Holiday week and I am finally posting this review after several months of letting the experience there percolate. The conclusion: On balance, Casa Lucia is one of the best VRBO options in SMA. For starters, owner has made a huge and ongoing effort to 1) initially restore the home to a true grandeur; and 2) give the home all the amenities you need, including a chef and housekeeper 3) make sure you are happy once you are there. (We had a problem with one of the gas fireplaces; the owner and her manager were very responsive.) When the owner writes that her home is lovingly restored and maintained, she's not kidding! We had a wonderful time there - the house, for starters, is right across the street from the SM clay tennis courts, which we used almost every day - and loved. The walk to El Jardin is 10-15 minutes depending on the pace. We had Meru cook for us on several mornings and nights -- all very good -- although we wanted to try restaurants on occasions, so don't overbook her (I was worried I offended her when we said we'd prefer eating out.) The barks of neighbors' dogs at night were an occasional problem, as some reviews have mentioned. But I would say that the cost of the one-week rental was very, very reasonable - a bargain really -- for the overall experience, the beauty of the setting and the number of us accommodated. It's a wonderful, tastefully appointed house owned by a caring and very responsible owner. I highly recommend Casa Lucia in San Miguel de Allende.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Charming renovated Colonial in a great location

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

This house is a charming, beautifully renovated colonial in a great location in San Miguel. We enjoyed the well equipped kitchen, the large living room with large glass doors and the light filled Casita. The cook and gardener were wonderful and the house manager was extremely helpful. We loved the location and the easy access to the organic market, the Parque de Juarez, the Jardin and lots of great restaurants. We also held a large party to celebrate my birthday at the house and it was a great space to entertain in. Our only complaint was that we were led to believe that the house had an art studio (my wife and I are both artists) and although there was a nice easal to work on, there really was no indoor space that could easily be set up as a working art space. In the end we made art in the court yard which worked out fine. If you want something centrally located with lots of mexican charm and character, this is a great house to rent!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

Beautiful... and Very Authentic!

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

CASA LUCIA is a beautifully restored, very authentic, Colonial home. The location is fabulous - just a few blocks walk to the Jardin, or catch a taxi or bus at the corner. The courtyard gardens are lovely... many inviting areas in which to relax after a day of touring San Miguel. We also enjoyed several of the great restaurants and rooftop bars nearby. The owner and house manager were very helpful. Our stay in this beautiful home could not have been more fun and we look forward to our next visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Lovely Casa

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

I was very pleased with Casa Lucia and gave it a 4/5 rating. It was a wonderful rustic colonial home exactly how I imagined it and better than the photos. The beds were comfortable, fresh sheets twice weekly if you want, a fully equipped kitchen with a fridge with constant supply of ice cubes, a six burner gas stove, plenty of dishes and pots and pans. The plants were beautiful and well attended by the gardener twice weekly.The location was fabulous, a 15 min walk to the jardin and many shops close by.
A short taxi drive $3 to a large grocery store, and along the way, many restaurants and even a deli and the Maple Leaf bakery. The casita was a a great place to relax as it was well lit , the sofa was comfortable and the TV great. All in all, a great place to stay. .

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 8

 

A Dream house for a dream vacation!

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

This was an AMAZING house!! The house is better than the pictures (and that is hard to believe!!) Great location, close to everything. Clean, beautiful, I felt like I have lived there forever. The manager Marianela is amazing and so is Carmen the maid. The owner was very accommodating! I will comeback in a heartbeat, too bad I do not have much vacation time!

We got the best workout walking everywhere and did not even feel it. There is a great bakery two blocks away and tons of shopping all around.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Charming, Cozy and Convenient

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

This home exceeded our highest expectations. It's spacious, very well decorated, includes a fabulous garden and is just a short walk from Centro. If you have a car, there is lots of on-street parking.
The owner and her local manager are wonderful. It's a perfect choice for a great San Miguel vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Bill! We really try to make our home, Casa Lucia, as perfect as possible for our discerning guests and friends who are looking for privacy, great location, and all the modern conveniences in a restored, sunny, elegant Colonial with courtyard, fountain and lush gardens... It is just beautiful here!

Helpful votes: 3 / 8

 

A Dream house for a dream vacation!

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 21, 2010

This was an AMAZING house!! The house is better than the pictures (and that is hard to belive!!) Great location, close to everything. Clean, beautiful, I felt like I have lived there forever. The manager Claudia is amazing and so Maria the maid. I will comeback in a heartbeat, too bad I do not have much vacation time!

We got the best workout walking everywhere and did not even feel it. There is a great bakery two blocks away and tons of shopping all around.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 

Heaven in San Miguel

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

GUEST: M and P(San Francisco)

We enjoyed four weeks at Casa Lucia during July - August, and it was truly heavenly. A perfect location (a flat quick walk to El Jardin), and even more beautiful than the photographs (the decorations, linens, kitchen appointments and style are outstanding), we could not have been more pleased. The manager is great, and helped us to engage a talented cook for our stay. We highly recommend Casa Lucia.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2009

Review submitted: January 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

* GUEST: Herb Hurley(Canton, Ohio) Date of Stay: 12/21/09 We enjoyed our stay in the lovely Casa Lucia. The home is charming, warm and very comfortable. In particular, we found the kitchen and the bathrooms to be practical and well designed, just like the pictures showed. The outdoor spaces provide wonderful places for relaxation and socializing. Loved the colorful pillows! We have wonderful memories and would return in a heartbeat.
* GUEST: Janan(chicago, il) Date of Stay: 10/13/09 Casa Lucia was a wonderful getaway for our family. It is exquisitely furnished and very comfortable. Not a detail was missed - from the lush towels, great sheets, to the well-stocked kitchen. Our kids loved hanging out in the casita and we all enjoyed the beautiful outdoor spaces.
* GUESTt: Fabienne Hanks(San Diego, CA) Date of Stay: 10/01/09 We recently returned from a one week visit to San Miguel that included the rental of two homes - one being Casa Lucia. I was immediately charmed by the character and essence of this home - walking through the gate brings you to a secret courtyard that sets the stage for the beuatifully restored property. The great news is that "what you see is what you get". The pictures are accurate in their portrayal of furnishings, finishes and amenities. The location is very convenient to the heart of town and to nearby businesses. I would return to Casa Lucia in a heartbeat!
* GUEST: Claire Dubois(Pointe-Claire, QC) Date of Stay: 08/17/09
My husband and I spent a wonderful month (March) at Casa Lucia. The casa is a real beauty, even lovelier than the pictures on the web. It has all the old world charm we so enjoy and all of the modern conveniences North Americans are used to.It is very conveniently located to Centro (about a 15 minute walk - relatively flat) and close to the lovely Juarez park. This was our first time in San Miguel de Allende and my husband and I fell in love with the town, the local people, the great choice of restaurants, the weather, the flowers...Todo. The property manager was wonderful to deal with and the owner (although we did not meet) seemed very amenable to meeting our every need. We recommend Casa Lucia highly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Dream house for a dream vacation!

Review submitted: December 31, 2010   Date of arrival: December 21, 2010

This was an AMAZING house!! The house is better than the pictures (and that is hard to belive!!) Great location, close to everything. Clean, beautiful, I felt like I have lived there forever. The manager Claudia is amazing and so Maria the maid. I will comeback in a heartbeat, too bad I do not have much vacation time!

We got the best workout walking everywhere and did not even feel it. There is a great bakery two blocks away and tons of shopping all around.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Heaven in San Miguel

Review submitted: August 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

We enjoyed four weeks at Casa Lucia during July - August, and it was truly heavenly. A perfect location (a flat, 10 minute walk to El Jardin), and even more beautiful than the photographs (the decorations, linens, kitchen appointments and style are outstanding), we could not have been more pleased. The manager is great, and helped us to engage a talented cook for our stay. We highly recommend Casa Lucia.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Review submitted: December 21, 2009   Date of arrival: December 21, 2009

We enjoyed our stay in the lovely Casa Lucia. The home is charming, warm and very comfortable. In particular, we found the kitchen and the bathrooms to be practical and well designed, just like the pictures showed. The outdoor spaces provide wonderful places for relaxation and socializing. Loved the colorful pillows! We have wonderful memories and would return in a heartbeat.

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Review submitted: October 13, 2009   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

Casa Lucia was a wonderful getaway for our family. It is exquisitely furnished and very comfortable. Not a detail was missed - from the lush towels, great sheets, to the well-stocked kitchen. Our kids loved hanging out in the casita and we all enjoyed the beautiful outdoor spaces.

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Review submitted: October 1, 2009   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

We recently returned from a one week visit to San Miguel that included the rental of two homes - one being Casa Lucia. I was immediately charmed by the character and essence of this home - walking through the gate brings you to a secret courtyard that sets the stage for the beuatifully restored property. The great news is that "what you see is what you get". The pictures are accurate in their portrayal of furnishings, finishes and amenities. The location is very convenient to the heart of town and to nearby businesses. I would return to Casa Lucia in a heartbeat!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Review submitted: August 17, 2009   Date of arrival: August 17, 2009

I am happy to have the opportunity to provide some feedback on our stay at Casa Lucia. My husband and I spent a wonderful month (March) at Casa Lucia. The casa is a real beauty, even lovelier than the pictures on the web. It has all the old world charm we so enjoy and all of the modern conveniences North Americans are used to.It is very conveniently located to Centro (about a 15 minute walk - relatively flat) and close to the lovely Juarez park. This was our first time in San Miguel de Allende and my husband and I fell in love with the town, the local people, the great choice of restaurants, the weather, the flowers...Todo. The property manager was wonderful to deal with and the owner (although we did not meet) seemed very amenable to meeting our every need. We recommend Casa Lucia highly.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review