reviews for: listing #41121 - Gaylord, Michigan Chalet rental

Bear's Den w/Outside HOT TUB! Golf/Ski/Boat/ATV/Snowmobile
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Chalet
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Lake Arrowhead
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $200 /nt
    $875 - $1,450 /wk

sort by:

Amazing hideaway 10/10

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: December 12, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at bears den for a long weekend in mid december 2013. What can i say, it was perfect. the location was wonderful, there was a lot of snow so we enjoyed walking around the lake and surrounding areas.

Everything is provided at bears den, the hot tub was wonderful in the snow and the log stove.

We used bears den as a base to go skiing and visit some brewerys in surrounding areas. great base to enjoy Michigan. I would 100% reccomend this place and the ownders we wonderful and accomadating.

I will be returning in the summer to enjoy the lake and the sunshine.

Thanks again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm glad these guests had a wonderful stay as everyone absolutely loves this home. I get repeat guests there all the time, some repeat guests have already stayed at least 5 separate occasions.
All my homes are situated in Gaylord, Vacationland with cottages also in
Topinabee, MI, another prime vacationland.
Homes are all in areas which spell OUT V-A-C-A-T-I-O-N!
Come and stay and play at the Bear's Den, spring, summer, fall and winter.
Something to do during all seasons! Come experience true tranquility!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bear's Den is awesome

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

Bear's Den is clean, cozy and has everything you need. Firewood was all stacked and ready for us. Hottub clean and hot. Dorene great to work with.
Lots of fun restaurants close by in Gaylord. We loved this cabin and we will be back.

Owners response: I'm glad these guests enjoyed their stay at the Bear's Den. Everyone absolutely loves that home and we are constantly updating and adding little touches to make everyone's stay more comfortable and enjoyable.
Thanks for choosing the Bear's Den and hope to see you again in the future!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lots to do here and plenty of room to do it!!

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Bears Den, there were 2 adults and 5 teenagers! We practically had to drag the kids away from cabin to go into town!! Before our trip was over we were already planning our next trip for October! Movies to watch, lake, hot tub beautiful decor and very very clean! You wont regret your time here. Thanks for such a nice place to relax on a long weekend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Too funny but heard this over and over again about dragging kids/teenagers/dogs, etc. from the cottage to go anywhere. We try and
set up a vacation home strictly for the vacationer and cover
all angles for all ages...come and check out The Bear's Den.....bring the
grandkids to catch their very first fish and then, they'll be standing up sleeping from the excitement....heard that before too!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

End of season vacation

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

Then Bear Den is the best cabin my wife and I have stayed in yet. The place was so well decorated and the views were outstanding! The landlord is such and easy and enjoyable person to work with. She truly wants everyone to have an excellent time at any and all oft her cabins. The cabin is set in a great location to all the snowmobile trail and far enough out to have the peace and quiet we all love the northern michigan area for. Can't wait to stay at the den again real soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: These "repeat" guests are right about the home and the area itself. (Thank you, Ann Arbor, MI!!) Bear's Den is set up where you don't even have to leave the cabin if you don't want to but if you want to go anywhere, Gaylord is right in the middle of pretty much anything and everything to do from golfing to skiing to Snowmobiling to Boating to Shopping to just taking in the scenery...the list is endless!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Experience

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

As a group we have been taking trips for years now. We enjoy the opportunity to all share a home and this is unlike any we have found so car. The home offers a lot of entertainment, even in the dead of winter. The pool table and basement area was ideal for our entertainment as we played cards and pool when we weren't out skiing. You can tell that outside of the great maintenance of the home that the owners truly care about creating a memorable weekend for their guests.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: I'm glad this group enjoyed the home. We try and make vacationers, young and old, to remember their experience at the Bear's Den in hopes to bring their extended family/friends to this true Northern Michigan destination. We make sure that all our homes have enough entertainment that when they come back from their day trip excursion that they can look forward to enjoying the home. We are constantly updating our homes and making sure all is maintained; and you get the feeling of being "at home". Come and experience The Bear's Den!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Weekend!

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful place to stay. Your place is super clean and has everything. This was my first time renting a cabin/house and I was a bit unsure, but from the first email from Dorene I am happy to say it was perfect. There isn't a thing I would change. Thank you again for all your help and a perfect place to spend a weekend with my husband and our best friends. We will be back and we are even thinking we might like to try your other locations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ob family vacation

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Loved the tall trees and privacy. The view to the lake is beautiful and peaceful. All 3 generations enjoyed the hot tub and kayaks.Always something to do even if it was just sitting by the lake and watching kids play.Everything was better than expected,very clean and well taken care of.Dorene always got back quickly when e-mailing and answering questions.We went to Mackinac Island Sleeping Bar Dunes,Traverse City, Big Buck Brewery and mostly just enjoyed the house and lake. Played cards at nite and made a campfire. Never a dull moment,loved seeing my 5 grandchildren being sooo happy.They literally fell asleep standing up so tired! They slept in too!!! Adults got their quiet time coffee on the deck watching hummingbirds and woodpeckers and the steam coming off the lake, I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone wanting to get away from it all with family and friends.Wish we were back there already!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: If this review does not say it all. We love the fact that all generations can have a wonderful time and there is so much to do in the area whether just staying at the cabin or going on a day trip. We make sure that when guests do go on a day trip, that they look forward to coming back to the cabin at night time.
Thanks for the excellent review! Much appreciated and hope that any future inquirer takes note of this fine review.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WInter vacationer

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

We rented the house for over a week in winter break and loved the location and proximity to the lake. The house is extremely clean and well kept up, has a sensible layout, and is spacious and well-lit with large windows overlooking woods and a small lake, and is nicely furnished. The up-north decor was enjoyable. Everything was provided (for kitchen, bathroom and bed-linen) and in excellent working order, and it truly felt like a home away from home. There is plenty of entertainment with games, books, TVs and a pool table provided, and the owners encourage you to use every amenity provided. The house is perfectly winterized and comfortable. There was a sled for the kids and a shovel for dealing with snow. I got the impression the owners had put much thought it making the renters experience complete and trouble-free. The children had a great time and we all look forward to renting it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: I'm glad these guests had a wonderful time. I would not expect anything other than complete happiness. We set this home up as a vacation home that no one will forget. We are constantly updating and adding entertainment to this already brand new home. We want to build happy memories for families so that when the youngsters grow up, they want to share the same experience with their little ones. Our homes which we offer are "Shared by many and Loved by all!"
By the way, we do offer another rental called Sunset Beach which is another favorite of repeat guests. Here is the link:
www.vrbo.com/203992

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great family fun

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

oh my gosh this was exactly what we were looking for. Dorene thought of everything in this cabin. it was beautiful. My daughter came home from afghanistan and it was nice she could enjoy some peaceful time with family. we enjoyed everything about the house. we walked down by the park and it was beautiful. went fourwheeling, and mom did some fishing. she loved it. caught a few blue gills. but she wants to go back next year to try for a big mouth bass. so we are going back. see you next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place for a family get-a-way

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Bear's Den. The little lake that the house is on was perfect for my young kids to splash around at the little beach area and try paddle boating and kayaking without the hazzard of boat traffic. It was such a quiet and peaceful lake. The playground and pool within walking distance was nice too. My kids actually met some other kids vacationing at another chalet and have become pen pals! When we wanted to to something a little more "exciting" this house was located only about 1 - 11/2 hours from places like Petosky and Mackinaw City. But, it was always nice to return to the quiet neighborhood here. I personally enjoyed the hot tub almost everynight!
Also, Dorene was great and responded to our needs very quickly, but was never intrusive. Just a joy to work with. Well done!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

CLEAN, QUIET PLACE FOR GOLFERS AND EVERYONE ELSE!

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

I was looking for a place to stay for myself and 5 other golfers and am sure glad I decided on Dorene's Bear's Den. The place was clean from top to bottom and was furnished with anything you may need. From the kayaks, horseshoes, and pool table, we had a lot to do after our rounds of golf. Dorene and her husband had the great pizza they offer waiting in our fridge when we arrived so we didn't have to leave to find something to eat, it was perfect! Dorene made renting the 'Den' easy and answered all the questions I had for her, even knew someone for a deal on golf! I wanted to book the place for my family's vacation but it's already taken, I'm not surprised. I'm already getting our schedules together for next years golf trip and hope to be staying at the 'Den' again!
Thanks Dorene!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great! I'm glad this group had a wonderful time at The Bear's Den. It seems that once a guest stays here, no other home compares with the way this home has been set up. We know that
a brand new home is always accommodating and we decorated home as an up north
cabin. Also, we offer to our guests an unbaked pizza which they can bake when they arrive
or anytime while they stay. My husband had been in the pizza biz over 16 years when we lived downstate and thought it was a good idea to offer his pizza to the guests which has become a
great hit! I remember when we used to come up north and we never wanted to drive anywhere
else to get something to eat after driving for hours! I can almost guarantee that once anyone stays at this Ultimate Vacation Rental, they are going to be pleased, I am quite confident. Thank you for the wonderful review and would be most happy to accommodate your group in the future! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

looking froward to going back to the Bear's den!

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

We searched & searched for a Labor Day get-away! The Bear's den was amazing! Dorene was there still cleaning when we pulled up! She was very friendly & helpful with all the details of the house.The kids loved it, there was so much to do. We were so impressed w/our stay, before we even got on the highway to go home, I was calling Doreen reserving a week in July. Now we are counting down these yucky winter months (allegedly Spring)until we return to the Bear's Den!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

Dorene has thought of everything for the renters in this place!! We enjoyed our stay so much and couldn't have asked for anything more. What a great way to get away and relax and still be able to do it all. Typically you can sacrifice privacy when you stay on a lake but not at The Bear's Den!! You get the privacy of a wooded area w/ all the amenities of being on a lake and in assoc w/ a pool. We had the best vacation ever and hope that we can do it again and continue to make more great memories!! Dorene is the greatest!! If you are looking for a place that has it all then this is your place!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

On a raving review from friends we thought it could be fun to get our family together and spend time with our grandchildren. Dorene and John's properties came highly recommended. WOW what a great week it was. The Bears Den was decorated like a cabin in the woods with plenty of room for the 9 of us. The Lake view was fabulous. Two Kayaks and a Pedal Boat included...Oh, and the Hot Tub was pretty popular with our group. A deck of playing cards and a few board games for the evening was all we needed to bring. Oh, and high powered squirt guns for "kids"...young and old to play in the Lake with.
Each day after dinner we had our S'Mores at the firepit on the beach (made with peanut butter cups or dark chocolate candy bar.)Wood is provided !!

The adults had as much fun as the kids and being able to bring our toy poodle was just another bonus. All the comforts of home included. BBQing on the deck or going into nearby Gaylord (a nice short and easy drive). We referred to Meijers as our corner store!Being a NO WAKE Lake we felt very safe with the kids wearing life jackets and out in the Boats.

With a dishwasher and washer and dryer we sure weren't roughing it. We bought a few bottles of local wine to take home. One evening a nice steak dinner...but mostly Dogs and Burgers with corn on the cob. We all left with wonderful memories and a zillion pictures to enjoy for years to come!!

A big THANK YOU to our friends for suggesting this place and to Dorene and John.
Also don't miss shopping at the Spud Warehouse and Gift Shop at the Wilderness Museum Exhibit(also great!)in town. Bumper cars and Putt Putt is just some more activities near by.What fun to have had such a wonderful Family outing! Treat your family: you won't regret it !!I could just go on and on.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Real Gem on the Lake

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

On a raving review from friends we thought it could be fun to get our family together and spend time with our grandchildren. Dorene and John's properties came highly recommended. WOW what a great week it was. The Bears Den was decorated like a cabin in the woods with plenty of room for the 9 of us. The Lake view was fabulous. Two Kayaks and a Pedal Boat included...Oh, and the Hot Tub was pretty popular with our group. A deck of playing cards and a few board games for the evening was all we needed to bring. Oh, and high powered squirt guns for "kids"...young and old to play in the Lake with.
Each day after dinner we had our S'Mores at the firepit on the beach (made with peanut butter cups or dark chocolate candy bar.)Wood is provided !!

The adults had as much fun as the kids and being able to bring our toy poodle was just another bonus. All the comforts of home included. BBQing on the deck or going into nearby Gaylord (a nice short and easy drive). We referred to Meijers as our corner store!Being a NO WAKE Lake we felt very safe with the kids wearing life jackets and out in the Boats.

With a dishwasher and washer and dryer we sure weren't roughing it. We bought a few bottles of local wine to take home. One evening a nice steak dinner...but mostly Dogs and Burgers with corn on the cob. We all left with wonderful memories and a zillion pictures to enjoy for years to come!!

A big THANK YOU to our friends for suggesting this place and to Dorene and John.
Also don't miss shopping at the Spud Warehouse and Gift Shop at the Wilderness Museum Exhibit(also great!)in town. Bumper cars and Putt Putt is just some more activities near by.What fun to have had such a wonderful Family outing! Treat your family: you won't regret it !!I could just go on and on.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Absolutely amazing!!

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

Dorene has thought of everything for the renters in this place!! We enjoyed our stay so much and couldn't have asked for anything more. What a great way to get away and relax and still be able to do it all. Typically you can sacrifice privacy when you stay on a lake but not at The Bear's Den!! You get the privacy of a wooded area w/ all the amenities of being on a lake and in assoc w/ a pool. We had the best vacation ever and hope that we can do it again and continue to make more great memories!! Dorene is the greatest!! If you are looking for a place that has it all then this is your place!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This home does have it all and if you are specifically looking for something,
it's either at the home or will be there. Everyone does love this area, so
much in fact that at least one out of ten guests want to buy real estate or
property in this area.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review