reviews for: listing #41248 - Kure Beach, North Carolina House rental

Seas The Day- Ocean view, short walk to beach *Summer deals*
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kure Estates
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $189 - $289 /nt
    $1,195 - $1,895 /wk

sort by:

Great Location

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Kure Beach. The house was nice, very clean and had everything we needed. The beach was just a short walk away. There are some good resturants close by so you don't have to travel into Wilmington just to eat. We took the ferry to Southport one night to eat at "The Frying Pan",pretty good choice.

My only complaint would have to be the Dish Network channel package. I don't plan on watching TV that much on vacation but it was College World Series time and I sure missed having at least ESPN to keep up with the game highlights.

The beach was not very crowded with a pier just a short walk to the south. We had a great week and will plan to come back. The owners were very nice and easy to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: I am happy to hear you enjoyed your week at the beach! Thank you for recommending some good restaurants for our future guests. I highly recommend taking the Southport ferry and glad you did.
I will have to look into the ESPN channel for future sports fan guests as I didn't realize we did not get that channel. Thank you again for staying with us and please come back and visit us soon!

The Donohoe's
Seas the Day

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for Family Meet-Up

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

We were lucky to get a nightly rental on this great unit after someone else canceled. Four large bedrooms with adjoining bathrooms AND a warm shower outside after beach visits! We read on the sleeping porch, grilled and chilled on the deck, walked the short trek to the beach, dusted ourselves off in the HOA beach kiosk on the return trip. Plenty of seats for all and the dining area is huge. Owners have stocked the kitchen with enough to throw a small Martha Stewart-style party. Kids enjoyed the body boards the most! Did not locate the beach canopy, but the clouds took care of that. Plenty of beach towels provided.
We have stayed in Kure three times now, usually on the beach. We were glad to give up the beach view for the amenities this site offered. The Donohous are thoughtful hosts. We had plenty of together time and enough space for those necessary down times. We'd do it again, and probably will!

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind review. I am glad that the cancellation worked out well for you and you were able to stay at our place. We really try to keep everything that a family would need stocked in the kitchen and happy that you noticed! We look forward to accommodating your family again soon. Thank you again and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Regards,
Jana Donohoe

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house was perfect.

Review submitted: February 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

The house was absolutely perfect for our family and group. We truly felt at home and loved the experience.

Fishing off the pier was a whole new experience and the aquarium was an awesome deal with terrific exhibits.

Morning runs on the beach and boogie boarding on the waves can't be beat! We already can't wait to come back!!

$13 boat ride-Sunset cruise
Havanas-Good food at the higher end $15-$20 a plate.

The Ohio Troupe

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our time here

Review submitted: February 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We had a great time on vacation! Great access to the beach, lots of tanning and relaxing.
The aquarium in Ft. Fisher is a great time for adults and children and a good price.

We only ate at Big Daddy's but got a lot for lunch foods.

Enjoyed our time here and hope to come again.
Ohio Family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks Again

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

Thank you for the use of your home. It was very dog and child friendly.

Your neighbors are terrific and friendly. We got to spend time with our Wilmington family and grandson.

The Beds are comfortable and the space was good for what we needed.

Thanks again,
The Overs
Vermont

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for a lovely break

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Thank you for a lovely break from urbanity (Chicago) and a peaceful seaside retreat!
Our little dog Buddy loved staying on the cool wood floors and we enjoyed the proximity to the beach.

The Tiki bar restaurant (get the mahi tacos) and Freddies for great Italian with fantastic service.

The comfortable beds and charming decor capped it all off.

Thank you!
The Conanglas
(Chapel Hill and Chicago)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love Kure Beach

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at this house and Kure Beach.
It was the perfect break on our road trip through North and South Carolina.

We will definitely visit this coast again.

The Morf Family
Switzerland

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved it here

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We loved it here, everyone enjoyed staying here. I love the dog gate, it was a very nice touch.
We enjoyed the beach and had fun waking up early and watching the sunrise sitting on the large deck swing.

Hope we can come back next year and for longer!

The Frederick Gang

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation!

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay! The house is in great shape, very clean. The location was great, my in laws are right down the road so we were able to meet up with them and still had a place to crash every night. My brother and girlfriend and their two dogs joined us on our vacation and we all went to Ft Fischer to hang out on the beach, we rented a jeep and had the best time!!! We also rented a tandem bike and took the best bike rides at night. The carnival at Carolina beach is great our 2 1/2 year old had a great time. We also went to Wilmington for the day I love the shopping there!
Looking forward to next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful stay

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. House was very clean,decor was awesome. We were a family of 5 w/3 dogs. 3 were "20 somethings". Beach was fantastic & just a block away! Dog beach was 3 miles away at FT Fisher. Ft Fisher was pretty neat to visit. We also visited the USS North Carolina -approx 20 minutes away. Carolina Beach right up the road had a lot of restaurants, carnival atmosphere in center of town. The pier at Kure Beach was nice! we got close & Personal w/the pelicans! Can go fishing there too. Disappointed I couldn't find a conch shell but that's the way it goes. Wilmington is 15 minutes north - kids went to BWW to watch the basketball finals.The back deck was a nice place to relax!. The only thing we didn't like was that - it advertised a fenced in back yard - well it WAS fenced in but the size was VERY tiny - no place for the dogs to stretch & run. But for a small dog it would be ok. Kitchen was fantastic. We chose to eat in most nights - we grilled out - grills were provided. only thing -- lot of steps to the main living area - not for someone that has problems walking or climbing steps.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

This house was very clean decorated very nicely - felt very relaxing. We were a family of 5 (3 of which were 20 somethings!) plus 3 dogs. We had NO problem with space!! The beaches were awesome- 1 block walking distance! The dog beach is at Ft Fisher- 3 miles away. Loved going through the history there. We visited the USS North Carolina - approx 20 min drive. The pier was awesome! We got close & personal with the pelicans! It was basketball finals week -so the guys went to BWW in Wilmington (15 min away) I was disappointed I wasn't able to find any BIG conch shells! The weather was absolutely beautiful!! Couldn't have asked for anything more perfect!The ONLY thing we didn't like - they said there was a fenced in backyard - yes there is but the yard was VERY tiny!!Just a wrap around the back patio - no place for the dogs to run. But we took them for walks so it worked out.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great House and Stay

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Your house is fantastic. Kure is a great beach town. Everything was great and many thanks. The kitchen is well stocked so cooking was a pleasure. The fresh painting looks great. Susan really liked the individual house colours. Very quite neighborhood a plus too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed our stay.

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. This was the first trip to the beach for our 20 month old twins, and they couldn't get enough of the sand and water! The house was lovely and child friendly! We had great weather and no crowds -Would love to visit again!

The Huffstetlers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Location

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Only a small walk to the beach, and you can see the ocean through the window. We love Kure Beach! It's a wonderful beach without any crowds. When the waves are great, surfing here is also an awesome experience. The pier is a great place to go with great restaurants.
We had fun exploring the State Park and the Airlie Gardens. Thank you for this cozy house which made our stay here more pleasant.

*New Jersey Crew

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous House

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

We were all so comfortable. We had hot and cold weather. Go to Southport by ferry and have dinner at the Live Oak Cafe-make reservations.

We had a great 40th Birthday weekend.

NC Crew

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely home

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Lovely home, very accommodating for our group. Kitchen well equipped. Easy access to beach. Enjoyed visiting the aquarium and Airlee Gardens and taking the ferry to Southport.

April 2-9, 2011

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2011

We had a wonderful time here! Your house is beautiful and we couldn't have asked for a more wonderful experience. We felt right at home and everything we needed was right here!

Thank you again and see you soon.

The Crew from D.C

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

Wow!! This was a most needed vacation since the birth of our son 3 months ago. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place. We will make this a recurring vacation spot for sure. The beach was perfect and our dogs loved it as well! Thanks for sharing "Seas the Day" with us.

See you again soon,
Brent, Kim and Brayden (3mo.)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Once again we had a great time!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

2nd time here. Love your house all the updates are great.

Thanks for sharing with us. Hope to be back next year.

Doug and Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great time!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

Had a great time-loved the house nicely decorated, nice art work, was well equipped with all things needed. Nice area, nice beach. Plenty of room for all of us and dogs.

Loved the beach! Can't wait to come back!

Morrisville, NC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First time in Kure beach

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Our first time in Kure Beach and we had a nice relaxing time, thanks!

Bussier City, LA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

2nd Year Here

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2001

2nd year here for our family-Great time, Great house, Great beach! The new touches this year are beautiful!

Thank you,

Charlotte, NC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful and relaxing

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Beautiful and relaxing town and home. I couldn't have had a better first vacation. We plan on coming back every year!

The Chaotic Penguins of Ohio

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great time

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We had a great time at Seas the Day. This is a very comfortable home, thank you for opening it up to us! Hope to visit again next year.

Springfield, MA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a Great Vacation Here at Kure Beach

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Had a great vacation here at Kure Beach! We enjoyed the uncrowded beach. Weather was hot! Wednesday broke a record of 102 degrees. Awesome time here with family relaxing and exploring.

VA. and KY Crew

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Home

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

You have a lovely home and thank you for opening it up for us. We had a good time, can't wait to come back!

The NC Crew, The Ohio Crew and The Las Vegas gal

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

We had a great time here. Lovely house and decor. We loved hanging out on the large back deck. Our dog loved it too. Would love to come back next year!

The crew from Ohio

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Granny and the Girls Retreat

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 19, 2011

Seas the Day was ta great location for our Granny and the girls getaway. We enjoyed the spacious home and spent many days just enjoying the front porch. The beds were super comfortable and the home had a well equipped kitchen. We felt right at home. Spacious, comfortable and close proximity to the beach;Seas the Day was the perfect combination of home away.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you Darlene for the wonderful review. We always love to hear from our guests about their experiences and if there is anything we can improve to make our guests more comfortable. We always offer our return guests 10% off so please come back and see us soon. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great vacation rental

Review submitted: April 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Quiet neighborhood near the beach. Very comfortable house, well-equipped kitchen, spacious living areas, nice-sized bedrooms. Everything was clean and in good working order. We especially enoyed visiting the Aquarium and Airlie Gardens and, of course, walking on the beach. We would recommend this home to friends and would stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review. We are also making updates to the house and try to give our renters a home away from home feel. Please come back and visit us soon.

Thank you,
Jana

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

vacation

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

the house was more than we expected, better than the pictures... very comfortable. A very short walk to the beach. Wish we had rented for 2 weeks!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Karine,
It was our pleasure accommodating your family. We would love to have you back next year for 2 weeks.

Take Care,
Jana Donohoe

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Love the house

Review submitted: December 21, 2009   Date of arrival: October 5, 2009

This is a great place to get away. I recommend it to my friends and family.

Helpful votes: 10 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review