reviews for: listing #41271 - Paris, France Studio rental

Modern, comfortable studio: Montparnasse - Saint Germain
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (EUR) €600 - €750 /wk
    €1,200 - €2,400 /mth

sort by:

Fabulous location and no hesitations in recommending the unit or renting the unit for future visits

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked the studio last minute and Jean-Pierre (owner) was very accommodating. We had planned to stay for four nights and although the post requested a minimum of 5 nights, we gave it a try since the calendar indicated that the unit was available. He accommodated our request openly. While we were there, we extended our visit for a fifth night without trouble. The studio looks exactly as shown in the pictures. The location cannot be beat. We greatly appreciated the fact that the unit is on the ground floor so no need to climb stairs, particularly since we walked everywhere. Here are some approximate distances in time (leisurely stroll) from the studio: Eiffel Tower (within 15 min), Hotel des Invalides (10 min), Jardin du Luxembourg (12 min), Le Bon Marché (3 min). Restaurants, bakeries, coffee shops, and many boutiques within a minute's walk from the studio. Very safe to walk around at night.

The studio is also a couple of minutes from the Marché Raspail, which is a street market open on Tuesday and Friday, and an organic market on Sunday. We purchased fabulous crepes on Sunday made right in front of our eyes; cheese; cured meats; bread; soup...my mouth is watering just recalling the great spread! A few vendors accepted credit cards but cash would be best. (By the way, there were many ATMs nearby, as well as small supermarkets to purchase toiletries, food, and drinks.)

The studio itself was very clean, which was extremely important for me since I am very picky about cleanliness. The owner provided dish detergent for the dishwasher and laundry detergent for the washer, which is also a dryer. The washer/dryer was very helpful since we only packed one carry-on luggage each. The bathroom is new and modern, with a heated towel rack. One bath towel and one hand towel provided per guest. The hairdryer was very powerful, which I was thankful for since I have really long and thick hair. The bed was firm and very comfortable.

Upon confirmation, Jean-Pierre sent detailed directions (with map) to the studio. We took the RER and then the metro from CDG. No difficulties finding the apartment. The custodian of the building is a very nice woman who lives in the building. Several Lonely Planet travel books. Free wifi. Jean-Pierre even provided us with a laptop for use. Provided a cheque for security deposit, which was at checkout.

We cannot wait to return to Paris and would definitely rent the studio again. Merci beaucoup Jean-Pierre.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Heaven in Paris...

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

This is a delayed review, but I felt absolutely compelled to review Jean-Pierre's studio!
I never had any desire to travel to Paris, so when my niece picked Paris as her graduation destination gift, I was not so excited...little did I know, I was going to fall inlove so hard!!! Jean-Pierre is ABOVE and BEYOND amazing. The location is a short distance out of city center, but extremely close to two great subway stations that will get you to and from airports and surrounding destinations. The local neighborhood offers a great variety of patiserries, cafes and clothing stores. I LOVED the neighboorhood. We (18 and 35 year old women) walked along the streets, cafes well past mid-night and never once worried about our safety. Thanks Jean-Pierre. I have stayed at many VRBO locations, and never have I received the level of detail and assistance that you offered-from providing detailed and EXCELLENT maps to and from airport, to calling a taxi for us, to tracking our flight to ensure arrival time, you are amazing and well appreciated. Loved the little studio. We cooked, sat on the patio for early dinner listening to the sound of far off chruch bells...I WILL be back, and I will BE staying at your beautiful studio again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

HIgh standard and great value for a short stay in Paris

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

Third visit to Paris, first time staying in Montparnasse. To be honest, this studio surpassed expectations. It was spotless, comfortable, well located, safe, tastefully decorated, a powerful shower and very good value for money. It is well located in terms of proximity to the metro, supermarket, coffee shops and brassieres. Jean-Pierre really couldn't have been nicer, seriously, he had a fall from his mopehead just before he met us and he was still the perfect gentleman.
You can't go wrong......perhaps I should be keeping this place a secret!!..Hmmmm

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Unbeatable location.

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2012

This apt is centrally located to all that Paris has to offer. It is located in a much sought after neighborhood, on a street lined with local boutiques, markets, and restaurants. IWe felt very safe. The apartment is located behind a gated entrance. Jean Pierre will provide a detailed map of everything within several blocks--review this, it is quite handy for grocery shopping, or a quick meal. If you are looking for what it must be like to 'live' in Paris--this is the place. You will find the apartment exactly as described and pictured---well maintained, bright and cheery. And for my small family it was an ideal respite for a three year old that finds a tiny hotel room unbearable. The selection of movies is amazing--with something to offer for everyone's taste.
I cannot say enough positive things about this experience--we had a lovely time in Paris at Christmas, in large part to the safety and comfort we experienced in renting the apartment.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great location

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

We stayed at this apartment for four days in February 2012. The apartment was recommended to us by a friend. It was our first time in Paris and we were very happy with our stay. JP was very nice and accommodating. He arranged a taxi for us to the airport on our way out of town, which was much appreciated. The apartment is simple but quite nice. The best part is the great location. We were able to walk a lot of places but were also close to the metro and found that quite convenient. We appreciated the wireless internet access in the apartment. We would definetely recommend this place! The only suggestion would be to bring your own towels as the ones provided are not the greatest.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: The towels have been renewed. Thank you for posting this response.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

recommended, from Holland

Review submitted: November 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 25, 2010

JP,
it was very pleasant to book the apartment through the mail. I enjoyed all your directions and instructions; the apartment has everything you need and is very tasteful. It was an ideal place to stay with my grandson, much nicer than a hotel room. I will recommend it to friends and family and hope to come back myself.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

jewel of a flat - wonderful movies

Review submitted: November 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2010

Jean-Pierre
Thank you so much for sharing this jewel of a flat with us! Its location - close to restaurants, cafés, markets, train was extremely helpful for this first time trip to Paris!

The apartment amenities were wonderful!!! We used the kitchen almost every night and found everything we neede to make this a home away from home. Kelly, my fiancé, an actor himself, found your movie collection to be SUPERB! Thanks again for everything! we look forward to returning to this beautiful city and your flat. All the best...

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

location could not have been better

Review submitted: November 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

Jean-Pierre,
What a wonderful time we've had in Paris - staying here made all the difference! It was so nice coming home to your cozy apartment after a long day of exploring. The location could not have been better, and the apartment itself was everything you promised. Hopefully we will be back one day ...

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

good deal in Paris

Review submitted: November 10, 2011   Date of arrival: January 11, 2011

Jean-Piere,
The apartment was a huge blessing to our trip to Paris. It kept us safe and warm, and helped us to leave rested. Thank you for giving us a good deal. We fell in love with Paris, and I think it was in large part due to feeling at home in this wonderful apartment. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

close to fine restaurants and shopping... patio

Review submitted: November 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 8, 2011

... the apartment was also close to fine restaurants and shopping. We loved the boulangeries and butcher shops. We saved by having a baguette and cheese and meat which we nibble at with wine on the patio before going out for dinner... we only wish we had such foods - fresh - in the states. One of our favorite places to dine was "le trait d'union"... thanks for the stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First VRBO experience

Review submitted: November 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

The apartment has been a fabulous place to return to at the end of the day! It is very quiet and centrally located to many things eigher within walking distance or by Metro. We feel fortunate to have found our first VRBO experience so positive. Thanks for all your advice, Jean-Pierre.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Australia

Review submitted: November 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2011

We were impressed at the location of the apartment and proximity to shops, restaurants, etc... Had a wonderful trip to Giverny while we were here and have to drag ourselves back to Australia. Will come again sooner rather than later...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Three of us stayed in this apartment for 7 nights in May/June 2011. We found it surprisingly spacious and never felt like we were in each other’s faces. The neighbourhood is absolute perfection: quiet, safe, lots of shopping and cafes, and easy walking distance to some of the best spots in Paris. (A stroll down to the Seine was about 20-min max, and a walk to St. Germain Blvd takes mere minutes). The patio was a lovely perk. The apartment was well-appointed with what we needed (though we did have to buy toilet paper, as we were only left with half a roll) and the appliances worked reliably. It can get stiflingly hot though, even with the windows open and the fan on full blast, so I would keep this in mind if travelling in the summer. The building caretaker seems a bit nosy; we often found her peering into our window. But really, not a big deal. The owner was very good with email communication prior to our visit, and a mix-up with our arrival time (which saw us waiting outside the apartment for 2.5 hours) was met with gracious apologies and a bottle of wine. And the owner's son arranged our taxi for the ride back home (he was a sweetheart). Overall, I would recommend this apartment.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

une perle pour courts ou longs sejours

Review submitted: November 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 24, 2010

Devant passer deux semaines a Paris pour raisons professionnelles, je ne voulais pas me retrouver en hôtel. Par chance j'ai trouve cette petite perle au centre de Paris, pour moins que le prix d'une chambre d'hôtel dans le même quartier, et offrant des commodités en rien comparable (lave vaisselle, machine a laver avec sèche linge intégré en parfait état de marche, et téléphone gratuit en direction des US). L'appartement correspond a la description faite, voir mieux (je m'attendais au pire, ceci dit). Situe dans une cours intérieure, il est également très TRES calme (peut-etre trop calme pour certains, mais une station velib est juste a cote (25m) - le métro a 5mn - ce qui permet de rejoindre les points chauds rapidement). Le propriétaire a toujours répondu a mes questions rapidement et toujours avec une grande amabilité, également ponctuel a la remise des clefs, ainsi que lors de mon départ. Bref, très pro. Si je devais renouveler un séjour de longue durée ou même un week-end, je n'hésiterai pas: Je retournerai a cette adresse.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

St Germain apartment

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Jean Pierre's apartment. The location is excellent, a number of great cafes, a local market, a short walk to the jardin de luxembourg. The apartment itself is small but ideal for a couple or 2 adults and one or two children. It was well maintained, laid out, had all the amenities you could want and a very obliging landlord and building supervisor in Jean Pierre and Mme Petrovic respectively. No hesitation in recommending this property. K

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our month in Paris

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: April 27, 2010

My husband and I spend a whole month in this apartment and loved every minute of it. We wondered if it would be too small for that long a stay, but we found the layout to be so thoughtfully layed out that we had no problem at all. Jean-Pierre's planning even included n outlet for a small clamp-on light up in the loft bed area. The bed was high enough for us to walk under it and we're tall people. And when we were in the bed, there was plenty of room for us to sit up and read without being close to the ceiling. The bed, by the way, was extremely comfortable and a queen size, making it roomy enough for us. The downstairs fold-out beds, which we used twice, also had extremely comfortable mattresses and provided ample space. We also took advantage of JPs large collection of movies and found ourselves having dinner and a movie, just like we do at home.
The apartment was located in the 6th arrondissement on a small, quiet street with loads of shops and food markets. We were in the perfect location and close to two metro stops. Jean-Pierre provided us with a wheeled shopping cart which was ideal for those bigger shopping loads that we needed to do for our stay. The kitchen was big enough and well -equipped enough for us to cook real meals, not just breakfast and snacks. And the bathroom was roomy and had an excellent shower.
Jean-Pierre was a wonderful host and landlord. We'd stay in this apartment again in a heartbeat and, in fact, plan to do so asap. Thanks, JP for providing us with the perfect apartment for our month in Paris.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Terrific place to stay!

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 15, 2010

This was the PERFECT place to spend my 9-day Paris vacation. The apartment is cute, has lots of light, and is easily accessible since it's on the ground floor and has its own entrance. As the ad notes, it's best for 1-3 people; any more than that and I think you'd start to get in each other's way. But there is sleeping for 4 and, in addition to the table/chairs in the photos, there is an extra folding table and 2 chairs, so a person could throw a dinner party for 6 in the apartment (and the kitchen would be enough for a resourceful cook who didn't need an oven).

Jean-Pierre is a very conscientious landlord--he's thought of everything before you even get there. Great communication (he speaks excellent English), very understanding of special needs, walks you through all the little things like how to use the clothes washer, how to lock/unlock the security gate, etc. There are movies and books in English in case you have a rainy day or run out of things to read, even a few recent Paris guidebooks.

And you couldn't ask for a better location. Rue du Cherche-Midi or other nearby streets have pretty much what you need day to day: grocery shops, chocolate/tea/coffee shops, restaurants of all kinds, TWO famous bakeries, post office...you could live happily without leaving the area. You're also near two major shopping areas with department stores and specialty grocery stores: Montparnasse and the area around the Bon Marche. Bargain hunters: there are five "Chercheminippes" stores (high quality resale stores) on the Rue du Cherche-Midi, carrying kids/mens/womens clothing, books, housewares, gifts... Plus there are three or four nearby Metro stops providing easy access to all of Paris. And it's a fairly walkable city anyway--I got back and forth from the Quartier Latin several times without using the Metro at all.

I may never stay in a hotel in Paris again. This apartment was cheaper than a decent hotel, and had dozens of amenities that would be impossible (or expensive) to get in a hotel room--and it helped me to feel less like a tourist and more like a Parisienne. Thanks Jean-Pierre, and thanks Home Away!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Jennifer, for this review. Please come again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paris Getaway

Review submitted: May 6, 2009   Date of arrival: April 24, 2009

My wife and I scheduled a long weekend getaway to Paris and wanted to stay in an apartment instead of a hotel and to be in a nice residential area that would allow us to walk to a number of the key attractions. We were not the least bit disappointed in our choice of this apartment in Saint Germain. We were indeed in a walking situation for many things and the areas for our main travels were all attractive and great for shopping and dining. We particularly liked the close proximity to the Luxembourg Gardens. The apartment itself had all the desired conveniences: nice kitchen, comfortable sleeping, easy Internet access and a great film library (for rainy days, of which we had several). The owner was very gracious to us and made the rental process very straightforward and easy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review