reviews for: listing #4129 - Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri House rental

Lions Gate~ 6 B/R & 6 BA ~ Always One of the Lake Favorites!
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Sunrise Beach
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $435 - $785 /nt
    $3,045 - $5,495 /wk

sort by:

OUTSTANDING FAMILY VACATION VENUE

Review submitted: June 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

We had the pleasure of planning our family reunion week-end at Lion's Gate to celebrate several significant family milestones: 90th and 80th birthdays, 60th wedding anniversary, 21st birthdays. We had 4 generations present with ages ranging from 2 to 90. This house was the perfect venue for our celebration. Gary and Debbie were outstanding hosts from our 1st conversation to our departure and beyond. The house is as pictured with every convenience and comfort as stated. We will always be grateful to Debbie and Gary for the opportunity to create such special memories for our family. Debbie even went to the trouble of purchasing extra tables so our entire family could sit at one table. AMAZING THOUGHTFULNESS AND SERVICE! The swimming dock, great fishing, gazebo and game room are an added bonus. Don't forget to rent your watercraft from Gary and Debbie. Great prices and service...delivered to the dock! THANK YOU GARY AND DEBBIE FOR A WEEK-END WE WILL NEVER FORGET! CANT' WAIT TO RETURN!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Family Home

Review submitted: June 8, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

We just arrived back from an absolutely wonderful week at Lions Gate. We had 13 total in the house with kids ages ranging from 8 to 15. Everyone had a place they could go to. Everyone had something to do. The house is perfect for large families. The house sits on a quiet cove with lots of fish. We also rented a boat and waverunner from Debbie and Gary. Do not rent your watercraft from anyone else! They deliver the boats and PWC directly to you!

When we all left there were a lot tears because we all had so much fun. Debbie and Gary are the best! We will definitely be booking again for next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Easter weekend

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

Lion's Gate is a great home and gathering space for large families and groups. The front of the property allows for several vehicles and the driveway and garage also provide for easy ll unpacking. The house is well stocked and we loved cooking and grilling together. Lots of family amenities. The ll game room was a hit with the adults and the kids. The water views are incredible and the docks for fishing were such fun, as we whiled away the days with beautiful warm weather. The crappie were biting and we enjoyed a large catch of 17 crappie and six blue gill with Easter ham! Bathrooms and masters for all the adults, the bunk room for the grand kids was perfect...
From reservations with Debbie and Gary to check out -everything was well stated, answered and taken care of. It is easy to see why there are so many repeat family and friend visits! We hope to plan a summer stay to enjoy lake swimming, boating and summer fun! Love the spa at lodge of four seasons- shopping at the outlet- dining at Baxters, breakfast at On the Rise (weds -sun) and breakfast or lunch at Cozy cafe. Woodrow's was handy for last minute drinks and snacks, and worms for fishing!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Meg, I'm so happy that Gary & I could accommodate your family for the Easter holiday. Special times with special memories...what could be better? Sounds like you all ate pretty good too! That dock has been known to be a place to catch a great number of fish! I've used cheddar cheese at the end of the pole, and it works great. Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay at Lion's Gate. We do appreciate all of our guests very much! We'd love to have you all back at Lion's Gate sometime. D & G

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Gentlemans Golf Trip

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

What a wonderful experience! Eleven of us set out from the North to come down and conquer the golf courses in the Ozarks. Some played well, some ok, and some poor. When we finished it didn't matter, we came home to "Lions Gate" and all was forgotten. We played horshoes, bags, pool, and shuffleboard. We swam, tried to catch a fish, had a bonfire, and cooked. We never ran out of things to do. Nightlife is just around the corner, golf nearby, and grocery stores all around us. Deb and Gary couldn't have been more accomodating! They make getting into the house a breeze, and closing it up just as easy! We could not have asked for anything more! Thank you both for a wonderful trip that will be laughed and talked about for years to come! We will be staying with you in the future and only you! Thank you again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much for writing such great things about Lion's Gate. Wish the golf game had gone better for some, but if everyone still enjoyed their lake trip, all is good! Come visit us again...I bet there's some fish out there just waiting to be caught! Deb

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

GREAT FOR LARGE GROUPS

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We had 20 people in this house and never felt cramped. The location is excellent. The cove is great for swimming with a large swim dock. Easy boat ride to our favorite places such as Coconuts, Frankie & Louie's, and Shady Gators. There's also a gas station in the cove. We rented wave runners and a pontoon from the owner's business, Lake Toons, and the the delivery and pickup of the equipment was so convenient. The owners are pleasant and accommodating. We would stay again and would recommend to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We thank you Andrea, and your entire family for being such great guests at Lion's Gate. It's nice to hear, that even with such a large group, you had all the elbow needed for your funfilled vacation. So glad you had a terrific week, and we will surely welcome you all back anytime! Debbie & Gary

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Property/Great Owners!

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Our stay at Lionsgate was very welcoming and relaxing! We had 13 people that were very comfortable and had their own space and downtime if wanted. We rented a pontoon boat for two days and the delivery and ease was great and the boat was well worth it! The owners were very accommodating and there if we needed anything. It is definitely a property that we are looking forward to visiting again!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Sally, thank you for the great comments about our property, Lion's Gate, as well as the nice compliments regarding our "Lake Toons" boat rental service . We always want our guests to feel special, and that their vacation, is simply that, a vacation! So glad you all had a great time. Your family is a delight, and we'd love to have you all back. Debbie & Gary

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Special Thanksgiving Memory!

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Hi Debbie,

Just want to let you know we had a great time at Lion's Gate. Everything was what we thought and more. The best feature had to be the ample bathrooms. No one had to wait inline for any natural calls or taking showers in the morning, especially with 9 kids. :)

The kids loved the game room and the fire pit!!! Only a few brave souls tried out the hot tub as the outside temp dropped below 30 degrees after the 1st night. The ladieis did enjoy the close distance to the Outlet Mall through the toll bridge.

The kitchen was large and well stocked with pot, pans, plates, glasses and forks. Our families had a great time taking turns fixing our favorite meals each night. The location was convenient to several supermarket in the area so we never had to worry about running out of food or other things.

All the bedrooms and bathrooms are neatly organized and clean. The beds were comfortable. The futon and the sleeper sofa in the game room were the favorites for the kids. The large TVs were perfect for the Movie nights. The arcade games were actual adult favorite as it brought back many old time memories. The kids all gather around their iphone, iPad nowadays.

Thanks for the popcorns you left in the welcome package. We went through it on the first night. :)

There were many things to do in the Ozarks even without dipping into the lake. We went to the state parks and hiked several trails.

We all enjoyed the stay and would love to come back again in the summer to really enjoy what the lake has to offer. Thanks so much again!!

John from Memphis

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great place for family!

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Lion's Gate is just as advertised. We had four generations of our family represented. Everyone from my 84 year-old great grandmother to our 9 month-old son had a great time. Gary was great to deal with for the boat and jet ski rental, both "must haves" for a week on the lake. This was our first trip to the area and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Spring Break at Lions Gate

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

We had 3 families staying in the house for spring break. The home was beautiful. The kids had fun in the game room and fishing off the dock. At night we roasted marshmallows in the fire pit and relaxed in the hot tub. The weather was perfect so we sunned in the gazebo and even rented a boat.

The owners were extremely helpful and friendly. We didn't want to leave!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Awesome home, amazing amenities!

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

We rented this home last minute for a weekend getaway. We caught some sun out on the dock, played pool, ping pong, video games, grilled steak, watched movies on the big screen tv's, took a relaxing hot tub at night under the stars with the fire going in the fire pit!

The house was clean and included everything you needed. We will be back and next time, we will rent a boat and get out on the lake, it was a lttile too cold and early on in the season for that.

Thanks Deb and Gary for accommodating us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Never Need to Leave!

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

There is no reason to leave this house once you have your groceries! There was 11 of us -- 5 couples, and one single fellow. Every room was comfortable and each of us had our own bathroom (each bathroom has its own water heater!). The house was extremely quiet -- you couldn't hear conversations in the living room when you were in your bedroom. When you woke in the morning, you couldn't tell if someone else was up! The kitchen was very well stocked from a griddle to a HUGE pan -- there were plenty of utensils, very sharp knives -- plenty of glasses, plates, forks, knives and spoons! WOW. Dish soap, laundry soap, dishwasher soap -- all supplied. Our favorite part was being right on the water with our own dock. Horseshoes were played, hot tub was sat in, we sunned on the gazebo. The game room was frequented. It was more than we had bargained for! When you first arrive -- don't let it fool you! The steep driveway overlooks the roof of the house -- which made us all disappointed -- until we entered -- and again! -- WOW!!! The decor is very professional. Very comfortable furnishings. It was soooooo very clean. Everything was in good working order. At first we were shorted on bath towels (which was a freak accident) -- but the housekeeper was there within 30 minutes with soft, plush towels -- plenty of them. We loved the fact that we were off the main part of the lake, on a finger cove, so it felt very private and quiet. It rained hard one day, and we were happy to have the covered patio and the game room, right off the covered patio. The boat was at our dock and ready to go. My brother towed his jet skis from Colorado, and was able to launch them right at the property. The owners were always just a phone call away. They were like old friends: Always glad to hear from us. In fact, the only thing better than the house was the friendliness and desire-to-make-you-happy attitude of the owners. This was probably our best and favorite family vacation. It was extremely economical when you factor that we really didn't need additional entertainment. We will probably return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

League Family Thanksgiving at Lion's Gate

Review submitted: December 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 22, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Lion's Gate for Thanksgiving with 3 generations (actually 4 as we brought my husband's mother, age 96, with us for the week.

The accommodations were terrific. Each adult bedroom had its own bathroom and the kids bedroom could accommodate 6 children. We didn't need it but was very nice.

The home is equipped with everything one would need for cooking and serving. More than enough dishes, silverware, pots, pans and an electric roaster for our turkey.

The weather was chilly while we were there, however, there are many games to play, Pool, ping pong, shuffle board, etc. There are also many board games and family fun games which we took advantage of.

Our family turly had a wonderful time.

Thanks,

Dave and Marie League

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Memorial Day Weekend 2010

Review submitted: June 7, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

We had a great weekend at Lions Gate over the Memorial Day weekend. The house is perfect for a large group. We had a group of 16 and there was plenty of room for all. The kitchen is well stocked and everyone had a place to sleep. We rented the pontoon boat and the jetskis. The boat was large enough to seat everyone comfortably. The main channel was quite crowded but the back of the cove where the house is situated proved to be the perfect location to anchor the boat and swim. Gary and Debbie were great and we would all love to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Family Vacation Spot

Review submitted: July 16, 2009   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

Our family vacation consisted of 6 adults and 5 boys ranging in age from 5 years to 15 years. The Lion's Gate was a perfect house for our family to stay at with 5 bedroons, one which had 2 sets of bunk beds. There were 5 bathrooms and also a laundry room which made it nice for us not to have to take our dirty laundry home. The boys hung out in the basement with the pool table and arcade game when they weren't down at the boat dock swimming or fishing. They also enjoyed the hot tub. The boat dock was tucked back in a nice quiet cove which was private and relaxing. The kitchen was very well stocked with everything you need for cooking and entertaining. A nice deck with entrances from the living room and 2 bedrooms contained 3 grills and plenty of deck furniture. There are places to rent boats and jet skis for enjoying the day out on the lake. My son caught a 20 lb. flathead off the dock. We also got the chance to meet Gary and Debbie, what nice people they are. We all gave Lion's Gate a TWO THUMBS UP!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: July 2, 2009   Date of arrival: July 2, 2009

Our group consisted of 10 adults and 3 children and we couldn't have asked for a better home to stay in. The well thought out floor plan caters to all. The kitchen is stocked with every gadget, pot or pan you need and the dining area was perfect size for our large group. The bedrooms were also a perfect size and the kids loved having their own bunk room with a tv.
As you walk outside to the boat dock you again see the bonus of renting this home as the yard is level and accomodating for all. (A rare find at Lake of the Ozarks) The kids as well as the adults spent many evenings fishing off the dock, relaxing in the hot tub, or sitting in the gazebo after a long day of boating.
Deb was truly one of the best people to work with in our 4 summers at the lake and we can't wait to go back again next year."

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Everything you need

Review submitted: June 25, 2009   Date of arrival: June 11, 2009

Our group consisted of 10 adults and 3 children and we couldn't have asked for a better home to stay in. The well thought out floor plan caters to all. The kitchen is stocked with every gadget, pot or pan you need and the dining area was perfect size for our large group. The bedrooms were a perfect size and the kids loved having their own bunk room with a tv.
As you walk outside to the boat dock you again see the bonus of renting this home as the yard is level and accomodating for all. (A rare find at Lake of the Ozarks) The kids as well as the adults spent many evenings fishing off the dock, relaxing in the hot tub, or sitting in the gazebo after a long day of boating.
Debbie was truly one of the best people to work with in our 4 summers at the lake and we can't wait to go back again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great for a Family Reunion

Review submitted: November 6, 2008   Date of arrival: October 22, 2008

Our extended family, consisting of 4 married couples and 7 kids thoroughly enjoyed this vacation. The kids loved the arcade game, but we set a limit to 10 minutes each kid in the morning, then also in the evening. Grandparents loved the jacuzzi and all the grandkids jumped in with them several of our 5 nights there. It was a bit cold, but we braved the 64 degree water and took a tri-toon out on the lake to do some tubing and cruising. The house was set up perfect for 4 families to each have their own bedroom and bathroom. The full kitchen was just like our own. Nice coffee maker, but no coffee grinder (until now - we left one there as our contribution to the kitchen). Very quiet, secluded vacation home - we thoroughly enjoyed it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 6, 2008   Date of arrival: November 6, 2008

5/5 Great for a Family Reunion
Osechin Chicago, IL.
Date Submitted: November 06, 2008
Date of Stay: October 2008

Our extended family, consisting of 4 married couples and 7 kids thoroughly enjoyed this vacation. The kids loved the arcade game, but we set a limit to 10 minutes each kid in the morning, then also in the evening. Grandparents loved the jacuzzi and all the grandkids jumped in with them several of our 5 nights there. It was a bit cold, but we braved the 64 degree water and took a tri-toon out on the lake to do some tubing and cruising. The house was set up perfect for 4 families to each have their own bedroom and bathroom. The full kitchen was just like our own. Nice coffee maker, but no coffee grinder (until now - we left one there as our contribution to the kitchen). Very quiet, secluded vacation home - we thoroughly enjoyed it!

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House for Big Group!

Review submitted: October 6, 2008   Date of arrival: August 9, 2008

I highly recommend this rental house. We are a family that regularly visited Lake of the Ozarks for many years, but hadn't been for the past 2 years. From the beginning, Debbie was super about answering all our questions and making the rental process very smooth. We had a large group...8 adults and 4 children (10yr, 7yr, 4 yr & 2yr). We loved that we all had plenty of space to spread out when we wanted to, but had also had plenty of space in the family room or dining room to gather together. It was awesome that the kids could go downstairs and have the run of the lower level when the adults were upstairs hanging out! The house was very clean! I'm pretty picky and this met my standards. The kitchen was furnished well for any meal we wanted to cook, the 2 refrigerators were great for all the beverages we needed to keep cold, the bathrooms were clean and roomy. The house sits on a very quiet cove. That was perfect for the kids to jump off the dock and swim w/out lots of waves from boat traffic. Yet, from the upper deck Grandma could sit and see our boat go past with the kids tubing or learning to ski! The location was also very close to some of the funnest lake restraunts and bars of you want to boat there. From land, the house is conveniently located close to a grocery store, convenience store, and not far from shopping. We also rented the tri-toon from the owners. It was the perfect boat for a group our size. We all sat comfortably when we wanted to venture out for a cruise. The engine was powerful enough to pull kids and adults tubing. If you are an avid waterskier, like a couple of our guys, you may be a little disappointed with the power of the engine...couldn't quite keep the speed on turns. But, it was fine for the average adult skiers and the kids.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 6, 2008   Date of arrival: October 6, 2008

5/5 Great House for Big Group!
wdmmom Des Moines, Iowa.
Date Submitted: October 06, 2008
Date of Stay: August 2008

I highly recommend this rental house. We are a family that regularly visited Lake of the Ozarks for many years, but hadn't been for the past 2 years. From the beginning, Debbie was super about answering all our questions and making the rental process very smooth. We had a large group...8 adults and 4 children (10yr, 7yr, 4 yr & 2yr). We loved that we all had plenty of space to spread out when we wanted to, but had also had plenty of space in the family room or dining room to gather together. It was awesome that the kids could go downstairs and have the run of the lower level when the adults were upstairs hanging out! The house was very clean! I'm pretty picky and this met my standards. The kitchen was furnished well for any meal we wanted to cook, the 2 refrigerators were great for all the beverages we needed to keep cold, the bathrooms were clean and roomy. The house sits on a very quiet cove. That was perfect for the kids to jump off the dock and swim w/out lots of waves from boat traffic. Yet, from the upper deck Grandma could sit and see our boat go past with the kids tubing or learning to ski! The location was also very close to some of the funnest lake restraunts and bars of you want to boat there. From land, the house is conveniently located close to a grocery store, convenience store, and not far from shopping. We also rented the tri-toon from the owners. It was the perfect boat for a group our size. We all sat comfortably when we wanted to venture out for a cruise. The engine was powerful enough to pull kids and adults tubing. If you are an avid waterskier, like a couple of our guys, you may be a little disappointed with the power of the engine...couldn't quite keep the speed on turns. But, it was fine for the average adult skiers and the kids.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Girls Getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review