reviews for: listing #41357 - Barbados, Caribbean Villa rental

Luxury Villa- Large Pool- Walking Distance to Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Fitts Village
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (GBP) £70 - £100 /nt
    £700 - £1,000 /wk
    £2,800 - £4,000 /mth

sort by:

Sophara Villa

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

We have now stayed at Sophara twice - April, 2011 and March, 2012. We can't say enough about the villa and about vacationing in Barbados. The villa offers the perfect hideaway. It has everything you need to spend a week enjoying the peace of the days by the pool and the evenings with a beautiful view of the ocean and the cruise ships departing from Bridgetown.

On both trips we were met promptly (even though we weren't prompt!) at the airport and delivered to the villa within about half an hour. We picked up groceries locally and were "right at home" within a short time. The beach, local store and restaurants are easily within walking distance. The car is an excellent feature for sight seeing and we used the very convenient and inexpensive bus route on occasion.

We find the villa to be a perfect "mix" of solitude with the option of visiting beaches and restaurants. Everything is as great as it looks!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lisa

Thank you for taking time to enter your comments, its is very much appreciated.
Your Review is informative and hopefully gives new or potential renters a insight to the Villa and location.

Hope you enjoyed your Bus Ride! Local Transport at $1 US its a great price! We do hope to see back again in March 2013! The Monkeys are missing you already!

Regards
Susan

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

Home away from home!

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 26, 2011

This rental property provides great accommodations that are clean and modern with a homelike atmosphere. The volt utilities are in good working condition. There are plenty of cutlery and china. Having a free rental vehicle was a great plus. The owner was very friendly and provided good customer service. All e-mail queries were responded to in a timely fashion. I would recommend this property to friends and family. There are many area restaurants with varying price ranges. There is a nearby beach and other more popular beaches are easily accessible with the free rental vehicle. My family and I had a great vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, and also for your comments.

It is good to hear that you made the most of the Free Rental Vehicle. and even better to hear that you and your family enjoyed you stay!

We aim to give good Customer Service in dealing with your initial Inquiry via email correspondence , thru to your arrival, during your stay, and thru to you departure, so nice to Know we are getting it right!

Last but not least thank you for the information you have given Re: Restaurants and beaches nearby.

Helpful votes: 27 / 27

 

Okies in Barbados

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

The villa was in exquisite shape and exactly as pictured! We thoroughly enjoyed the villa and use of the car. The location was terrific and easy to get to grocery store and beaches. Being in between Holetown and Bridgetown made for easy access to many of the beaches and excursions (adventure zip line and Harrisons Cave). We enjoyed having our private pool and the use of the gas grill was nice for meals. We really enjoyed the monkeys as they were not afraid of humans - they came right up to us to take bananas out of our hands. Lawson was very nice and easy to reach if we had questions. He also stopped by on our first day to see if we needed anything or had any questions as how to get places. Overall, we felt we were living in luxury in the villa and were very spoiled by the accomodations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Lisa
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Villa Sophara, and that you enjoyed your stay.

Having the Car is a bonus. It's great when 1st time guest in the Villa get out and about and explore the Island, you and your family in the week you were here, did just that. Good to hear that you did the Zip Lining with that and your diving etc, you are so adventurous. When I become brave enough might try it myself : )

We were certainly impressed with the way that you made the most of your weeks stay in the in the Villa!

Happy to know you made use of the BBQ Grill, and enjoyed the Pool and views of the Ocean.
Thanks once again for your comments.

Take Care
Sue & Lawson

Helpful votes: 27 / 27

 

Sophara

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

We thoughrouly enjoyed our stay at Sophara. It is in a great location,and only a very short walk to the beach. The interior was very clean and well looked after. All of the rooms are extremely spacious. The children enjoyed playing in the pool which was a great size. There was also alot of room around the pool to sunbathe either under a shaded gazebo or in the beautiful sun. We really also enjoyed having BBQ's with the brilliant gas BBQ on the patio. It was fantastic looking over the blue ocean which was a clear veiw from the whole plot. Another exiting expierience was when the monkeys came over from the trees from across the street and sat on the wall where you could leave bananas and every evining from 5 o'clock we could watch them eat them. I would definately reccomend this villa and we are looking forward to coming again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so mmuch Sarah for posting your Review for Villa Sophara.
since writing your review you have been back to Barbados twice!
Which goes to show you love Barbados and the Villa.

Best Regards
Susan

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

Fantastic Holiday

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2010

We had a very enjoyavle time at Sophara.
it was a beuatiful island getaway. it was a luxury staying in Sophara, we enjoyed the cleanliness and great interior. this is a great place for families to stay as the pool is a great size with masses of space to sunbathe and relax. We enjoyed mostly the beautiful sunset views of the beach, it was lovely eating and watching the colours of the sky and sea. the beach is a short walking distance which is very handy. The children enjoyed watching the monkeys come for bananas while we enjoyed our drinks. the car was great for touring the island.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Villa Sophora

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 15, 2011

The property was excellant well maintained with all the amenities you required.The swimming pool was serviced twice a week. Any problems we had were quickly looked after by the property manager, the only thing missing in the kitchen was a blender. Monkeys are mentioned in the information and yes they arrive every day around 4pm looking for bananas or apples and they will take food from your hand. A free car was provided during our stay which proved very useful for trips to the grocery stores, resturants, sight seeing and trips to different beaches. The beaches there vary and you will decide where to go. It is an ideal place for adults who want to relax but have the option to visit other places with the car.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to submit your review;

We strive to make your stay in Barbados at Villa Sophara a stay to remember, so any comments you have are appreciated, and acted on. In view of your comments a blender has now been purchased ,and has taken its place in the Kitchen. Thank you for pointing that out to us.

The Monkeys still do their daily visit at around 4pm, they still playing it by ear to test if they are welcome & keeping their distance at first & checking if they are welcome! When they see (their favourite being Bananas or Apples) being left out, thye gingerly approach take, then and run off! Not for long thou, as you well know, continue to leave Bananas & Apples and they will happily let get closer letting you hand feed them ! Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back again in the future.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Fabulous vacation

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2010

Villa Sophara is a luxury oasis on the west coast of Barbados. The property is perfect, well maintained, absolutely spotless, fantastic private pool,everything you need and much more.We felt very secure just as we do in our own home.Susan and Lawson were very good hosts,very friendly, suportive but not intrusive. We felt at home and very relaxed.If like us you want to cook some meals,the grocery shopping is best at the Holetown Super Center. You can find anything from good cheese and meat to lobster and champagne. This is about a 10 minute drive from the villa. It is advisable to have a car; the driving is pretty safe. There is a lot of beautiful beaches to choose from. Also a lot of very nice beachside restaurants. We tried Il Tempio and Daphne's both quite expensive but worth the money if you are as epicurian as we are.
Don't be surprised if you have some cute visitors in the early morning or evening; there is a family of native monkeys that live right across the street and you can watch them play, it is very amusing.
So would we return to Villa Sophara? Absolutely!!! We miss it already...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Phil & Line ? - or (hope it is)

Thank you so much for taking the time to Review (Villa Sophra)
Also for your positive & kind comments. We aim to please, in hope that
you have a great vacation, and going by your comments hopefully you did?
It was a pleasure to have you stay in the Villa and hopefuly we will see you again in the future! As its always nice to have prefect guests like yourselves!
*************************************************************

Phil & Line
We did see you again, you have just left after your last stay in Jan/Feb 2012. Hope you once again enjoyed! which you must have, as just received you email to book for Fabe 2013! I offically can say you are now True Bajans!

Thanks again for 2013 Booking
Sue & Lawson

Helpful votes: 54 / 56

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review