reviews for: listing #41440 - Mystic, Connecticut Cottage rental

Lakefront cottage in rural area between Mystic and Foxwoods
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $400 /nt
    $1,100 - $2,200 /wk
    $3,000 - $8,800 /mth

sort by:

Relaxing week from home

Review submitted: August 15, 2014   Date of arrival: July 7, 2014

Stayed there for 5 days. Very relaxing on water,plenty of fishing by my nephew,his son and wife. Dogs enjoyed laying outside all day. Calming presence and 5 minutes in either dircetion there was Foxwoods or Mystic with Rhode Island only 15 minutes away or so. Old house kept up pretty good with a few minor setbacks(dated. Excellent for family looking to get away fom hustle and bustle for weekend or week,pets very welcome,close to activities. Had fun with the fish,ducks and little swimming. Hot tub was nice at night. Definitely would like to go again. Thanks Bob we enjoyed ourselves.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

This cottage is well equipped, comfortable and rustic like a cottage should be. I am so happy we found it. It feels much larger than advertised due to the large wrap around enclosed porch and outside kitchen. We spent two weeks here with our dogs and enjoyed every minute. It is private and safe for dogs and small children with a spacious yard and an amazing amount of water front. The cottage is right on the water with an attached deck and dock. The lake is lovely, clean and hosts lots of wildlife. We have already reserved for next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fathers Day adventure

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

The place was nice and on Longpond on a nice part of the lake. There was only one canoe and no paddleboard. There were two kayaks. The location is really Ledyard and very close to the casino. Felt that some cleaning had to be done, before feeling comfortable both inside and outside. From there, we were able to enjoy the weekend. The grandkids and family for Fathers Day enjoyed the place and asked about the cost, as they were interested in renting themselves. Bring board games to play, as there was a complete set of deck of cards for game playing, but that's about it. Old Mystic is two miles down the road, along with the Aquarium and Mystic Village.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Sweet place

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

We had a great time--two couples, three small children. Comfortable and clean, with great outdoor spaces. Very close to Mystic for aquarium trips.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Amazing

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

I have stayed at a few properties before and I have to say the most enjoyable time I have ever had was at the Lakefront Cottage. It is as if you take a step back in time to this charming, rustic cottage filled with all the amenities you can image and then some! You have access to Kayaks, a hot tub and idyllic cottage in which you can make memories that last a lifetime. I know I did. Do not hesitate to book this cottage now if you are choosing a vacation in Eastern Connecticut. You won't go wrong!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Amazing

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

This cottage is filled with rustic charm yet the modern amenities that make you feel right at home. It was easy to find and well lit even though due to a flight delay I ended up pulling up at 2 am! The photos do NOT do the home justice. Once there you feel as if you are taken back in time where nothing matters yet, the real world is only a few moments away. The owner, Bob, and his assistant Karen were above and beyond helpful. I cannot wait to escape the Arizona heat and return to the cottage. I have a feeling it will become a home away from home for us. Thank you again for everything! You will not go wrong vacationing here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

warm and cozy

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

The place was everything we expected. They had a nice fire going for us when we arrived, which was great considering it was around 35-40 degrees! They offered to help us with any activity ideas/restaurants which was also kind. Everything was clean and orderly. Would recommend....maybe one day we will go back in the summer to utilize the fire pit, picnic table and waterfront! thanks for being so accommodating !
heidi and tim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay - even in the winter!

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

Location: Ideal. 10-20 minutes to Foxwoods/Mohegan, 15 minutes or so to downtown Mystic and a beautiful lake in your backyard. What more could you ask for?

The Cottage: Simple and a bit worn, but charming at the same time. Found all the utensils we needed to make breakfast. We were worried that the cottage would be cold during the winter, but the heating system was more than adequate for the bedrooms, bathroom and dining room (the living room is fireplace-heated). We opted for the hot-tub, and it was the best part of our stay, sitting cozily in the dark and gazing at the stars.

We'd love to come back someday during the summer and make use of those kayaks and the porch!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girl's weekend on the lake

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

We had a great time at "The Cottage"! We spent lots of time out on the deck and in the hot tub but especially loved having the kayaks, canoe, and paddle board available whenever we felt like going out on the lake. We had a fantastic weekend even though we had to spend a good bit of Saturday afternoon inside due to a strong rainstorm passing through - it was lovely to watch it come in off the lake! (and forced us to pay some attention to the Olympics on TV) The house is perfect for a weekend getaway with friends. We stayed in and cooked dinner together on Friday, enjoying the outside space. Although the rain took over Saturday evening, we spent most of the early part of the day on the lake in the kayaks, etc. exploring the lake. We ventured out Saturday night to Mohegan Sun (20 minute drive) and had a great time. We aren't much for gambling but had a lovely dinner/drinks and thoroughly enjoyed people watching at the casino :) On our way out of town Sunday morning, we stopped in Mystic to explore (less than 10 minutes away) and grabbed lunch at Mystic Pizza (yum!)

If you are looking for a place to stay with beautiful scenery, lake access, and close to fun - this is the place! The cottage is just as it looks in the pictures and video the owner provides. It is not a luxury condo but it is clean and well-maintained which is all that I need when I can hop in a kayak and paddle around the lake all day and then head out for dinner on the town :) The weekend went smoothly, no issues with the house whatsoever. Thanks, we'll be back again i'm sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great cottage on the water

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

Spent a July weekend at the cottage with a few of my girlfriends (all in our 20's). We had a blast! The cottage was even more spacious than it looked in pictures, and very clean and well-equipped. The owner provided lots of bedding, and the kitchen was stocked with equipment and condiments. We spent our days kayaking, swimming, paddle-boarding, and fishing (the boats & rods were at the cottage when we got there), and the lake was wonderful. Late afternoon we went into town to see Mystic Pizza, which wasn't far at all, then came back to the cottage to grill and eat on the screened-in porch as the sun set over the water. We also found time to hang out in the hot tub:) A great stay! We hope to go back next summer!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful view

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

What a view this gem has, beautiful pond thats great for small boats, canoes and kayacks. Fishing is good if you know where to go. Swimming is definately big here and plenty of room for outdoor bbq's and dining. Wifi, a plus. Just a great stay...thanks ...Rob

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Most relaxing vacation ever

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

My husband and I and two dogs spent the week there. We've done several cottage rental vacations in the past, but this was the best. We spent the days biking and kayaking or just reading on the porch. We had visits from geese (to warn our dogs to stay away from their nests), swans, an eagle and a crane. With Foxwoods and Mystic so close by, we could also go out to eat and shop, should the urge arise. Usually by the end of a vacation we're both a little done with vacation and eager to go home - this is the first time that was not the case. We're already trying to figure out a time to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Wonderful Vacation time

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

My family and I had the most wonderful time at your cottage. I don't know if you remember but we came after Hurricane Irene and there was no electricity for the first 2 days we were there. I was worried at first because we're city people from Boston and I had a 1yr old and a 4yr old. But even without running water and electricity, we had the most wonderful family vacation. Robert couldn't have been more helpful, making sure we had enough bottled water and coolers with ice, and even getting the place as clean as possible despite the circumstances. My 4yr old still asks if we can go back. We enjoyed taking the canoe out. There were plenty of life preservers of different sizes to choose from. Fishing off the dock was great fun too. We used the campfire pit at night to roast marshmallows, and cooked everything on the grill. Thanks for everything. We hope to come back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great getaway

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

Great house to get away, but close enough to everything you could want to do. Owner was awesome and was there whenever we had questions or concerns about anything. Highly recommend renting this property

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Welcome to the Cottage!

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

Dear Bobby,
Just a short note to thank you very much for your help and assistance in booking what turned out to be a fabulous get away! We just wanted to thank you for a wonderful vacation experience.What a charming vacation cottage! This was our first cottage rental experience. In searching websites for just the right place, I always came back to yours. It lived up to everything the photos offered and so much more. We saw some geese, canoed onto the peaceful lake and relaxed on the deck gazing at the panoramic views! The house has everything one needs to feel at home- from the big comfy couch, to the screened in porch and relaxing camp fire. We will be back! Please let us know when you are accepting reservations for next summer.
Thank you for your sharing your home!
Sincerely,
Heather and Jordan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Welcome to the Cottage!

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

Just a short note to thank you very much for your help and assistance in booking what turned out to be a fabulous get away! We just wanted to thank you for a wonderful vacation experience.What a charming vacation cottage! This was our first cottage rental experience. In searching websites for just the right place, I always came back to yours. It lived up to everything the photos offered and so much more. We saw some geese, canoed onto the peaceful lake and relaxed on the deck gazing at the panoramic views! The house has everything one needs to feel at home- from the big comfy couch, to the screened in porch and relaxing camp fire. We will be back! Please let us know when you are accepting reservations for next summer.
Thank you for your sharing your home!
Sincerely,
Heather and Jordan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

our Connecticut vacation

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

We had a very relaxing time at the cottage, we were lucky because the weather made the site look wonderful. My husband and I had a great time. We love been just a short ride to the town of Mystic and to the Foxwoods Casino too. We wish we could have a place like this all the time. Just a perfect selection for me and my husband. Can't wait for our next visit!!!. Thanks...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A special place in Connecticut

Review submitted: June 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

I can't believe a week has already gone by since my vacation at your wonderful lake cottage ended. I just wanted to drop you a note to let you know what a wonderful time I had and what a lovely little get away Long Pond and the cottage are. I couldn't have asked for a better way to spend my week away from the office (hospital). I loved the cottage, the view, the kayak and canoe, the baby geese and the tame little wild dove that came to visit every nite. My last night I was entertained by a spectacular lightening/thunder storm not only once but twice.

I look forward to being a guest again next summer! Please let me know when you begin to accept reservations. Thank-you so much for the opportunity to experience this very special place in Connecticut.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Perfect getaway from NYC

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2011

This cottage is just the place to leave all your stresses behind and get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. My husband and I drove in from NYC for two nights, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We have 8 children and 2 elderly parents living with us at home, so we really needed a break - and this place was just what the doctor ordered. The inside of the cottage is simple and rustic, but clean and well-stocked. There's a wraparound porch with an additional fridge, table and chairs for outdoor dining. The fireplace and high-beamed ceiling in the living room are cute, but It's the outside of the house that takes your breath away. This is the nearest thing to renting a house-boat. It's not NEAR the water, it's ON the water. The front deck is directly on the lake, as is the delicious hot tub. We spent our two days suntanning, kayaking, feeding the ducks (and a swan), grilling, swinging, swimming and exploring - all on the property! Then we checked out the nearby submaring base - USS Nautilus, which offers a fabulous free audio tour of the first nuclear sub in existence. We shopped around in Olde Mystic Village, a quaint and adorable shopping experience with gifts and trinkets for everyone. But while all the attractions were great, we couldn't wait to return to the cottage and just soak up some more nature. All in all, we'll really miss our new hideaway in Connecticut!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Fabulous Vacation Rental

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the cottage. The weather was great and the site is beautiful. My brother who is mentally handicapped had a great time. He loved being so close to the water, the swans, the ducks, the boaters and swimmers that all talked to him. He even got to ride a bicycle which he hasn't done since he was a kid! We look forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A wonderful choice for my family

Review submitted: December 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

This cottage on a lake was the perfect choice to vacation with my husband. We enjoyed a long afternoon kayak ride on the lake, through a tunnel connecting to a second lake. The second fridge on the porch makes it easy to serve up lunch. The kids were busy non-stop swimming and playing in the water and exploring. The hot tub under the stars was romantic even with the kids piled in. Had a great day in Mystic and planned to go back but ended up staying at the cottage playing on the lake the rest of the trip. Well maintained rustic cottage, and being right on the water it's more charming in person than in the pictures.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Wonderful property with incredibly great owner!

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

Myself and 2 friends stayed at this house for a few days at the beginning of october. The house sits just a few feet from a beautiful lake, and the water was still warm enough to swim in, which we did everyday. There were canoes and a kayak, both of which were also very fun (tip: there is a 'secret' entrance to a whole other section of the lake if you enter the 'sewar-looking' like opening about half way down the lake on the right side going under the overpass-obviously it is not a sewar :)

While the house is certainly not fancy, it is charming, with a beatiful old wood stove in the living room that was also fun. We also used the outdoor fireplace to make s'mores, and went in the hot tub each evening, which is literally 2 feet away from the lake.
The owner Bobby could not have been more gracious and helpful, which made the experience extra special.
HIGHLY recommended

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Sweet Cottage

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Very accurate description, just as in the pictures. Very well maintained property, nicest one on that end of the lake, very clean. I would very much recommend this rental to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation. Plenty of things to do in the area, or do nothing at all & just spend your time in the lake, the hot tub, or sitting and reading on the deck or screened porch. Kitchen facilities are great, especially having the extra fridge on the porch. Looking forward to going back next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review