reviews for: listing #41561 - Suttons Bay, Michigan House rental

Baylake Cottage
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $160 - $290 /nt
    $995 - $2,395 /wk

sort by:

suttons bay getaway

Review submitted: July 27, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed totally enjoyed our week in this comfortably clean bay side home. Had everything we needed, great beds,fresh linens, all the kitchen necessities. Great location to visit all the small quaint towns on the Leelanau peninsula. Close to great restaurants and wineries. Thanks Chris for taking pride in your cottage.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer Vacation 2013

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

This was our first visit to Baylake Cottage. It turns out that it was one of our best vacations ever! The place was just perfect. I slept like a baby every night, because the beds are so comfortable. The whole house is pristine. Clean, updated, and totally private. The beach is right outside the big front room windows. We had a ball using the canoe, kayak, and raft. Even caught fish off the canoe! Chris is the best. There were fresh flowers and candy when we arrived. It is quite obvious that he takes great pride in this beautiful home, and takes good care of it. Great restaurants and shops in Suttons Bay, and of course it's very close to Leland. We Meant to get to Traverse City, and never made it! We had enough to keep us busy right there. And we ate at home more than we usually do when on vacation, simply because it is so comfortable. I wasn't home 2 days and Chris informed me that he was putting the security deposit in the mail. (Last year we had to keep calling the owner for 3 weeks until we finally got it). We are planning on going back next year and I can't wait. Thank you, Chris! Laurie M.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful Getaway

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We stayed at Bay Lake for a wonderful week along with our daughter, son-in-law and grandson. We all had a great vacation. The bedroom arrangements were perfect for us, as were the wonderful mattresses. The atmosphere is completely restful and peaceful, seemed as though we were the only people for miles. Spent a great deal of time in the water, both swimming and boating, as the weather was very warm. We ate in each night, grill worked awesome and the kitchen was well supplied. Appreciated the call from Chris on our arrival to see if we had any questions or concerns. Would return in a heart beat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful views

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

I was here with 6 other girls, for a relaxing weekend. We were wanting some time to just catch up with each other and visit some of the wineries. We are all in our early 30's and pretty laid back. The moment we walking into the house, we knew we had chosen the right place. The kitchen is pretty big and open. The whole house has a very inviting feel to it. The whole wall of the living room is a window that looks onto the lake, which is just so serene. The beach is clean, too. And there are numerous wineries close by, as is the town. We all found exactly what we were looking for, and I plan on renting again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Property as described

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

Decided to take a last minute weekend trip(4 night getaway). Property was described as secluded with private beach and no other people around, and it was exactly that. While the shore itself is rocky, they have a sandy area to relax in and have night-time fires. We bought firewood without realizing that there was plenty of firewood on the back side of the house. The breezes from the water into the huge picture windows were fantastic. The home is in great shape. iPod stereo dock to play your music, HD antenna on the TV for 6-8 channels of HD TV (Fox, NBC, etc). Plenty of towels. Beds were very comfy. Huge kitchen with all of the plates, glasses, cook-wear that you could want. Location to Leland was 15 minutes, to Sleep Bear Dunes was 20-25 minutes. Chris, was extremely friendly and very prompt with his phone calls, e-mails and deposit refund. We were very happy and hope to take another trip to this property soon. Thank you Chris.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great review...I would only add that as of April 2013 we now have satellite TV service with 150 channels.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Baylake Cottage

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

This was our second amazing stay at Baylake Cottage. Chris is very hospitable and wants to be sure everyone has an enjoyable stay in his well appointed cottage. We always arrive to a very clean place and appreciated the flowers and treats upon arrival. This is a great location giving you the wanted seclusion while being close to all the shopping, dining and wineries offered in Suttons Bay, Leland, Glen Arbor and all along M22! We also enjoyed seeing the Port Oneida historic farms and sunsets from atop the Sleeping Bear Dunes. We loved sipping wine or coffee on the deck and watching the light hit the pristine bay waters and beach while taking in the wildlife. We have seen Gray Fox’s, Cedar Wax Wings, American Redstarts and Indigo Buntings right there on the cottage property, and near the dock watched a Common Merganser swim by followed by 19 juveniles. Many evening dinners and late snacks were enjoyed on the deck with the lake breezes and summer skies. A great place to make family memories ... we can’t wait to go back next summer!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome View

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

What a beautiful cottage and unbelievable view. The cottage was clean and perfect. Beach was secluded and we loved the wineries near by were awesome. Only a short drive to Traverse City and we enjoyed the great restaurants. Will go back as soon as we can.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Suttons Bay Splendor with a breathtaking view!

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

My family and I stayed at Bay Lake for the recent Memorial Holiday weekend, and we were very, very happy with this place. The most amazing view right from the living room and as you stepped out onto the deck it was even better. We absolutely loved how secluded it is, the amenities of the Wi-fi and having 2 full baths, plus a washer and dryer were wonderful. We planned on taking a drive to the wineries but enjoyed the location so much we ended up not going anywhere.

We loved rock picking here and found HUGE petoskey stones on the beach. We loved watching the geese and ducks, saw the tall ship sailing the bay and just enjoyed the peace and solitude. The waves lapped gently and was a pleasant sound to fall asleep to.

I would highly recommend this place - the other places in the area were much more expensive and did not have as many amenities. It is very roomy with everything you need and Chris was very pleasant to work with. I would absolutely rent this place again and plan on coming back next year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What a view!

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

I could tell the owner made a number of improvements since my last visit. (The current photos are an accurate representation of the quality of the rooms and the incredible views.) The place was spotless and fresh, with new bedding and a wonderful sandy beach. I will definitely go back again. The view of Suttons Bay is gorgeous and private, and you can enjoy it from the bay window in the living room, or the wood deck off the back of the house - while grilling your steaks. The kids have a swim platform to jump off and a firepit with split wood ready to burn. If you want a quiet getaway, this is a great value for the family.
My only advice to future renters is that it's hard to find the entrance, but then, maybe that's part of the charm. You have to find the private drive. If you reach the Raftshol Winery, you went just a tiny bit too far north.
Don't forget to pack your bathing suit, a good book, and leave all your cares behind. I can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Suttons Bay Gem

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

I don't usually write reviews, but I had to make an exception this time. I recently took my first trip to Leelanau County, and after staying in Baylake, I must say I can't wait to go back again. What a truly wonderful experience. First, I have to mention the million dollar view, simply breathtaking and not to be missed. The property is very quiet and secluded, perfect for a romantic getaway! The "cottage" is beautiful. The owner obviously wants to make his guests feel comfortable and welcomed. The bedrooms are beautifully appointed. The bedding looked to be brand new, extremely clean and the beds were very comfortable. The kitchen has all the amenities of home and then some. Whether sitting on the deck to watch the duck and goose families take their little ones for a swim, admiring the graceful swans glide by, or padding around Suttons Bay in the canoe, this property is the perfect vacation getaway.

After a day of fun in the sun it was nice to be able to relax and watch what looks to be a new flat panel TV. This place even has a Blu-Ray player with WiFi so I was able to access my Netflix and HuluPlus accounts or just listen to music on Pandora. What a great set-up.

The combination of the beautiful scenery, excellent accommodations, and the quaint village just minutes away made for a great escape vacation and I will be coming back again next year.

Many thanks to Chris for sharing this gem for others to enjoy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

lori.hcurry@comcast.net

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

The location and setting are the best part of the property. It is very secluded with trees on both sides. We did see the bald eagle on our beach and along the shoreline throughout the week. It was nice to have the canoe and kayak, The beach is very nice and it was nice to have the fire pit at night. The view from the deck and the beach are so beautiful, we spent every morning on the deck drinking coffee and enjoying the view. The house is fine, decor and furniture outdated and some stains on the carpet, but not bad, Negatives are no air conditioning, so the first night we were extremely hot, even with all of the fans. The other negative which did not ruin the week but definitely made it less enjoyable, were the constant bug bites i received each night when i was sleeping. Each morning when I woke up I had more and more bites, by the end of the week i had over thirty very itch bites on my arms and legs, the pharmacist confirmed bug bites of some kind but could not verify what type. The first night after being home i finally woke up with no new bites, The owner was great to work with but i would not stay again because of the bug bites.

Owners response: I have never had any complaints of bug bites from any other guests, either before or after Lori's stay. Curiously, Lori's husband did not get any "bug bites," even though he was sleeping right next to her. It is also strange that she only had bites on her arms and legs. I am guessing that she was either bitten while she was outside in the evening before going to bed for the night, or that she was extremely sensitive to something, possibly the laundry detergent or the fabric softener. As a precaution, all bedding and blankets were thoroughly cleaned after their stay. (Although Lori did not mention bed bugs, if they had been present, they would have been clearly visible (adults are 4-5 mm long), and there would have been bites everywhere, not just on her arms and legs.) BTW, as of May 2012, the "decor" has been updated - we have all new bedding sets now and new pictures have been posted. Also, the carpets are steam cleaned at the end of each season, so most of the carpet stains that Lori mentioned are not permanent.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2010

Chris,
I just wanted to say how much we all enjoyed the 'cabin'. It exceeded my expectations! I was very pleased at the contents provided. I have a week at a time share and your house certainly was as nice.

I know that you are in contact with Doug, but I just wanted to let you know my thoughts as well.

Andrea

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2010

Hi Chris:

Despite 4 days of rain of varying intensity, we had a great time! Swam, snorkeled, used the canoe and kayak, walked the beach, saw loons, swans, and played lots and lots of games!! We also saw 4-5 rainbows (including some doubles!) when the sun broke through! The heat and humidity we had been experiencing in Michigan broke Thursday night and we enjoyed the heat in the house as the temps dropped into the 40's.

We especially liked: The easy access to SB, the view, the quiet, the privacy ("Look - other people!" the kids said when a (rare) other group of kayaks appeared), the canoe, kayak, fire pit (only one dry night for a fire on Sunday night - but a great, starry night!) and exploring the waterfront. The water was warm and clear, the beds were comfy, the bathrooms were clean and worked well and the kitchen was nicely appointed with dishes, cooking equipment, and the basic spices, oil, etc.

Anyway, thank you again for letting us use your cottage!

Jean F.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review