reviews for: listing #41563 - San Diego, California Condo rental

Center of Gaslamp-Modern Condo, Amazing Views
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $10,000 - $15,000 /mth

sort by:

A beautiful penthouse downtown San Diego

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

I stayed at the apartment this February. The apartment is very nice, kept in a very clean condition and equipped with everything one might need. It has two comfortable bedrooms & two nice full baths. It is
perfectly located downtown San Diego. I especially recommend it if you come for a gateway and want to check out SD's nightlife. Otherwise, keep in mind that Sun-Wed are much more quiet, while Thu-Sat might be more vibrant (louder). The owner, Bryan, is extremely helpful and available whenever
needed. Overall, I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing apartment in the heart of San Diego

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

My husband, daughter, and I stayed here and had the BEST time! The condo is beautiful and so well equipped. We would wish we had something, look in a cabinet, and there it was! Bryan is a wonderful host - communicative and accessible through the whole process. The location was amazing and we really felt like we were staying in style. We were walking distance to everything we had to get to and there were plenty of great restaurants/grocery stores nearby. The CVS in the building was also extremely convenient. We felt very safe and the building had great amenities (including underground parking). The only negative was the predictable noise from the rooftop bar across the street. Quiet with the windows and doors closed and really - if you want quiet, stay in the country. Only loud on Fri and Sat night anyway. In general - love this condo! Stay here if you can :)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic condo, spectacular view, convenient location

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

This is the second time we stayed at this condo and I must say it is the best I've ever seen. Being at so many vacation rental condos gives me the opportunity to stay in places so comfortable, so tastefully decorated and furnished that sometimes we forget to get out of the building to go sightseeing or do other tourist things. Bryan's apartment is one of these places. Just to mention a few things, the view from the balcony is spectacular day or night; the amenities make you feel at home; and the apartment is very spacious, modern, bright and clean. If you could get out of the condo, you would be right in the middle of the Gaslamp district with all its restaurants and bars, and close to Petco Park and the Convention Center. I would highly recommend it!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Condo!

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

Four of us "girls" decided to visit San Diego for our annual outing this year, and I found this condo on VRBO. It looked so amazing on the website, that I thought surely it can't be as fantastic as this. Well, it was even better! The views are nonstop, by day and by night. We felt so safe in the secure building. The beds are so comfortable, as well as the rest of the furniture. We never used the dining room set, as we ate all our meals out on the balcony (when we didn't visit one of the great restaurants in the Gas Lamp District). We did rent a car, so the parking garage was a bonus. However, one could certainly get around without one from this central location. This place has everything you could ever want in a vacation home. Thank you Bryan and Audrey for sharing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best of the Gas Lamp District

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Can't wait to return to this fantastic penthouse. The week went by so fast , best location in the Gas Lamp District all the best resturants a block away. Bryan makes you feel right at home and can solve any request or problems that arise. The views are better than the web site I could live there and be very happy. Thanks again Bryan for making our stay so wonderful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Once again, your unit is gorgeous, the views are spectacular, the location is perfect. We had a great adult vacation. Thanks for sharing. We would definitely do this again. Steve and Janice

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Living the high life

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2010

This is as good as it gets. We were in San Diego for a convention and decided on a condo as opposed to 2 hotel rooms. What a great choice that was. This place was even better than the description made it sound; very elegant yet comfortable...and safe. The view is unbelievable. Everything one could want is within a few blocks. Bryan's tips on where to eat and shop were spot on. I can't imagine how anyone could be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing!

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

We had the greatest time in this rental. It was close to everything, clean, and the views were AMAZING! We rented bikes and rode a total of 50 miles over 2 days and came home to a clean, quiet place. We had a swim in the condo's pool and then went to the hot tub. Saw the baseball games from the windows, the night time views were just as stunning. We really had fun- and believe me having a weekend away from the kids made us enjoy it even more. Made breakfast in the kitchen every morning and had coffee on the balcony and people watched.The city is very clean and friendly and after a game it especially comes to life. There is also a washer and dryer in the unit and that was a nice plus. What a relaxing time, I am already considering another trip!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous!

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2010

What a fabulous condo! Clean, comfortable, well thought out, all the amentities; Close to everything and self-park was so convinient. We were in town for a meeting and while my group was "confined" in the Bay Front Hilton, we enjoyed the deck and pool and privacy afforded by this great spot. Owner is a pleasure to deal with. Don't miss Lotus Thai or Donovan's. Everything you could ask for. We can't wait to return for a vacation. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent Location, Even Better View

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

We stayed at the Gaslamp Condo over Memorial Day weekend and had an absolutely amazing time. The condo was the perfect size for our party of three and the floor to ceiling windows and open layout provided tons of space for lounging, eating, and dressing. The beds were incredibly comfortable and bathroom space was perfect for accommodating three girls, which is definitely saying something. There were so many delicious restaurants / bars / and grocery stores within walking distance and we were able to watch the Padres win a game with a walk-off home run from the living room windows. Views are absolutely as breathtaking as described and the kitchen comes fully equipped with silverware, dishes, and coffee maker. Owner was easy to contact leading up to the rental and check in / check out was a breeze. Throughout the weekend all of us commented that our condo was such a better choice than a hotel and we would absolutely rent this property again if we returned to San Diego. The only minor issue that we ran into was that there is a club with a large outdoor patio / bar area across the street. Since it was a holiday weekend they had several outdoor events that were rather loud at night but it wasn't unbearable. Overall it was a great experience and I'd encourage anyone looking to visit San Diego to seriously consider this unit.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect location; great views

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

My colleague and I stayed at this condo for a conference recently. The location was awesome -- a block off of 5th Avenue, which is the heart of the Gaslamp & only a stone's throw from the Convention Center. My colleague rented a bike from the shop across the street, and they were super helpful. And I visited Heavenly Cupcake, which is also across the street and is a definite must-have treat. The condo itself is beautiful. It was immaculately clean. The views are great -- you can see in Petco Park (well, at least half of it), and I even watched some naval ships go by on the water. The gym in the building was decent -- newer equipment and pretty much anything you'd want or need for a workout. The owner of the unit was extremely easy to deal with. Overall, I would definitely recommend this unit to anyone looking for a fantastic alternative to a hotel in downtown San Diego.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent location, awesome views.

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2009

What a great apartment! The location is ideal - you can walk to the baseball stadium, the farmers markets on the weekends and all the restaurants/festivities in the Gaslamp district. The property also has underground parking that is very convenient. The apartment is ultra modern and high above the city. So sit back on the balcony and watch the crowds, look over Coronado Island and soak in the downtown atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome luxury condo, perfect location

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

My wife & I joined her honeymooning sister & brother-in-law with a surprise stay at this ultra swank 2-bedroom condo in the heart of the Gaslamp District. We absolutely felt like we were in the lap of luxury from the contemporary (but comfortable) furnishings to the high tech kitchen appliances. The in-unit laundry machines were a big plus. There is a CVS in front of the building & a Ralph’s grocery store 3-blocks away. We stocked up on snacks, fruits, & drinks for cheap & saved our pennies for some nice restaurants! I ate so much seafood in the 4 days, I think I grew gills! The gym was very clean with high-end fitness equipment & dumbbells, a great outdoor lap pool with hot tub & the Amenity Room had a large LCD TV, couches, wet bar, & a regulation pool table. The view was spectacular, can see most of the outfield of Petco, naval ships in port & the convention center (which we jogged to & did some stair climbing). The Stingray night club is just across the street directly in front of the patio. You can hear the club music pumping on the weekend until 2am, but with the windows & door closed it was silent & had no problem falling asleep. Took in a few Padre games, went right up to the ticket office after the game started & purchased two $8 discounted tickets, since we just walked around & enjoyed the spacious park. The parking garage is safe & secure, it was awesome driving through the garage and seeing all the Mercedes, Porsches, & Ferrari's. I can't wait to use the condo again for a long weekend. Bryan is extremely nice & had a well organized check-in/check-out process.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place to stay in San Diego!!

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

This apartment rental is perfect for visiting downtown San Diego. It was clean and meticulously kept. The views are possibly the best in the city. We visited for a conference at the convention center and had no issues walking there and to many good restaurants. We will be back to stay as soon as possible!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Thanksgiving Weekend!

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

The pictures on the web site do not prepare you for the views that greet you when you walk through the front door, incredible! This is a great downtown location that allows you to park your car for the length of your stay or take the train and walk as we did. Located just 1 block away from the Gaslamp and 5 blocks to Petco. We were two couples away on our annual Thanksgiving getaway that completely enjoyed our stay. Thanks again to Bryan for making such a great place available.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect location for vacation

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

I stayed at the condo during a meeting at the San Diego Convention Center and I couldn't have been more pleased. The view is spectacular with 270 degrees of visibility and natural light fills practically every room. The furnishings were comfortable and the bed was at least as good as my own. The entire property was clean and well kept with an excellent contemporary decor. The gym and pool were as described and more than adequate. As far as location, you can see from the pictures that it's just outside of Petco Park, but it's also blocks from the convention center, a couple miles from the San Diego Zoo, and it's surrounded by excellent restaurants and nightlife. We were able to walk pretty much everywhere so we never had to rent a car. I would recommend this place to anyone that's visiting San Diego and wants to stay in deluxe comfort. Bryan and Audrey were helpful and available and that just helped to make this a wonderful trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location for vacation

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

I stayed at the condo during a meeting at the San Diego Convention Center and I couldn't have been more pleased. The view is spectacular with 270 degrees of visibility and natural light fills practically every room. The furnishings were comfortable and the bed was at least as good as my own. The entire property was clean and well kept with an excellent contemporary decor. The gym and pool were as described and more than adequate.

As far as location, you can see from the pictures that it's just outside of Petco Park, but it's also blocks from the convention center, a couple miles from the San Diego Zoo, and it's surrounded by excellent restaurants and nightlife. We were able to walk pretty much everywhere so we never had to rent a car. I would recommend this place to anyone that's visiting San Diego and wants to stay in deluxe comfort. Bryan and Audrey were helpful and available and that just helped to make this a wonderful trip.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Thanksgiving Weekend!

Review submitted: December 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

The pictures on the web site do not prepare you for the views that greet you when you walk through the front door, incredible! This is a great downtown location that allows you to park your car for the length of your stay or take the train and walk as we did. Located just 1 block away from the Gaslamp and 5 blocks to Petco. We were two couples away on our annual Thanksgiving getaway that completely enjoyed our stay. Thanks again to Bryan for making such a great place available.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay in San Diego!!

Review submitted: November 19, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

This apartment rental is perfect for visiting downtown San Diego. It was clean and meticulously kept. The views are possibly the best in the city. We visited for a conference at the convention center and had no issues walking there and to many good restaurants. We will be back to stay as soon as possible!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome luxury condo, perfect location for a fun filled extended weekend.

Review submitted: October 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

My wife & I joined her honeymooning sister & brother-in-law with a surprise stay at this ultra swank 2-bedroom condo in the heart of the Gaslamp District.
We absolutely felt like we were in the lap of luxury from the contemporary (but comfortable) furnishings to the high tech kitchen appliances. The in-unit laundry machines were a big plus. There is a CVS in front of the building & a Ralph’s grocery store 3-blocks away. We stocked up on snacks, fruits, & drinks for cheap & saved our pennies for some nice restaurants! I ate so much seafood in the 4 days, I think I grew gills!
The gym was very clean with high-end fitness equipment & dumbbells, a great outdoor lap pool with hot tub & the Amenity Room had a large LCD TV, couches, wet bar, & a regulation pool table.
The view was spectacular, can see most of the outfield of Petco, naval ships in port & the convention center (which we jogged to & did some stair climbing). The Stingray night club is just across the street directly in front of the patio. You can hear the club music pumping on the weekend until 2am, but with the windows & door closed it was silent & had no problem falling asleep.
Took in a few Padre games, went right up to the ticket office after the game started & purchased two $8 discounted tickets, since we just walked around & enjoyed the spacious park.
The parking garage is safe & secure, it was awesome driving through the garage and seeing all the Mercedes, Porsches, & Ferrari's.
I can't wait to use the condo again for a long weekend.

Bryan is extremely nice & had a well organized check-in/check-out process.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent location, awesome views.

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2009

What a great apartment! The location is ideal - you can walk to the baseball stadium, the farmers markets on the weekends and all the restaurants/festivities in the Gaslamp district. The property also has underground parking that is very convenient.
The apartment is ultra modern and high above the city. So sit back on the balcony and watch the crowds, look over Coronado Island and soak in the downtown atmosphere.
Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location; great views

Review submitted: July 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

My colleague and I stayed at this condo for a conference recently. The location was awesome -- a block off of 5th Avenue, which is the heart of the Gaslamp & only a stone's throw from the Convention Center. My colleague rented a bike from the shop across the street, and they were super helpful. And I visited Heavenly Cupcake, which is also across the street and is a definite must-have treat.

The condo itself is beautiful. It was immaculately clean. The views are great -- you can see in Petco Park (well, at least half of it), and I even watched some naval ships go by on the water. The gym in the building was decent -- newer equipment and pretty much anything you'd want or need for a workout.

The owner of the unit was extremely easy to deal with. Overall, I would definitely recommend this unit to anyone looking for a fantastic alternative to a hotel in downtown San Diego.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Location, Even Better View

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

We stayed at the Gaslamp Condo over Memorial Day weekend and had an absolutely amazing time. The condo was the perfect size for our party of three and the floor to ceiling windows and open layout provided tons of space for lounging, eating, and dressing. The beds were incredibly comfortable and bathroom space was perfect for accommodating three girls, which is definitely saying something. There were so many delicious restaurants / bars / and grocery stores within walking distance and we were able to watch the Padres win a game with a walk-off home run from the living room windows. Views are absolutely as breathtaking as described and the kitchen comes fully equipped with silverware, dishes, and coffee maker. Owner was easy to contact leading up to the rental and check in / check out was a breeze. Throughout the weekend all of us commented that our condo was such a better choice than a hotel and we would absolutely rent this property again if we returned to San Diego. The only minor issue that we ran into was that there is a club with a large outdoor patio / bar area across the street. Since it was a holiday weekend they had several outdoor events that were rather loud at night but it wasn't unbearable. Overall it was a great experience and I'd encourage anyone looking to visit San Diego to seriously consider this unit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 19, 2010

What a fabulous condo! Clean, comfortable, well thought out, all the amentities; Close to everything and self-park was so convinient. We were in town for a meeting and while my group was "confined" in the Bay Front Hilton, we enjoyed the deck and pool and privacy afforded by this great spot. Owner is a pleasure to deal with. Don't miss Lotus Thai or Donovan's. Everything you could ask for. We can't wait to return for a vacation. Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing!

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

We had the greatest time in this rental. It was close to everything, clean, and the views were AMAZING! We rented bikes and rode a total of 50 miles over 2 days and came home to a clean, quiet place. We had a swim in the condo's pool and then went to the hot tub. Saw the baseball games from the windows, the night time views were just as stunning. We really had fun- and believe me having a weekend away from the kids made us enjoy it even more. Made breakfast in the kitchen every morning and had coffee on the balcony and people watched.The city is very clean and friendly and after a game it especially comes to life. There is also a washer and dryer in the unit and that was a nice plus. What a relaxing time, I am already considering another trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Living the high life

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 5, 2010

This is as good as it gets.

We were in San Diego for a convention and decided on a condo as opposed to 2 hotel rooms. What a great choice that was. This place was even better than the description made it sound; very elegant yet comfortable...and safe. The view is unbelieveable. Everything one could want is within a few blocks. Bryan's tips on where to eat and shop were spot on. I can't imagine how anyone could be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding Views

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2010

You can't find a better view of the city and harbor. Great location in the
Gaslight District.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Felt like royalty!

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

Awesome view, clean and modern decor... with all the necessities of home! Highly recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 20, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

We stayed at this condo for a week in March 2010. Fabulous condo with amazing view of the harbour and city. The proximity to the Gas Lamp district made for easy access to terrific restaurants, pubs and shopping. The owners were great to deal with. We definitely hope to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 19, 2010   Date of arrival: February 19, 2010

Awesome apartment. We stayed here in late Jan 2010.
Unbelievable views, great location. Great owner. Were
going to stay in a hotel and this was SO much better.
100's of restuarants within metres. thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 25, 2009   Date of arrival: October 25, 2009

The condo was beautiful and comfortable! The views and location were amazing...everything as advertised! Brian was terrific. We highly recommend this property!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 22, 2009   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

We all enjoyed the stay at your place, and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. You are right that it is in a great location close to restaurants, bars and night life, including the Padre's home park. We loved the view and the deck.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 22, 2009   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

We all enjoyed the stay at your place, and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. You are right that it is in a great location close to restaurants, bars and night life, including the Padre's home park. We loved the view and the deck.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 13, 2009   Date of arrival: August 13, 2009

The description of this condo is exactly what it says. Beautiful view, contemporary design, AWESOME location, and great amenities (the most comfortable beds too)! The owners are very helpful and always available for questions. We wish we were still there :( Highly recommend!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 29, 2009   Date of arrival: March 29, 2009

My husband and I just finished our 2-week stay at your condo. It was better than we could have ever imagined. The views were spectacular, and the location was ideal. We were so sad to leave- I know we will be back!! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review