reviews for: listing #41609 - Turks and Caicos, Caribbean Condo rental

The Regent Grand - save 50% on a Superior Beachfront Suite
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Providenciales
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $770 - $1,340 /nt
    $4,900 - $8,500 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Stunning !

Review submitted: June 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

This was our second trip to Turks and Caicos. Walking into the resort is just as beautiful as the pictures. As you walk through reception and see the pool you know you have made the right choice. We rented the Grand Calabash suite which is a 2 bedroom suite with a balcony overlooking the ocean and balconies overlooking the pool. The room was immaculate and very large. The deck overlooking the ocean was large enough to have a couch and a table for 4 with room left over. The landscaping at the resort was gorgeous and immaculately maintained. If you are looking for crowds or allot of activity this resort is not for you. The resort never seems crowded and several times we had the huge pool all to ourselves. The resort staff was wonderful and always kept the grounds spotless. The location is perfect. Being right next to the regent village puts everything you need within a short walk. I cannot say enough about the Regent Grand and their staff. Make sure to visit the pool bar. (reviewed on Trip Adviser)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 4, 2014

From beginning to end I was impressed at how professional and thorough Andrew is. His apartment is beautiful and the resort is breathtaking. You can not go wrong here. Also, the location is great, within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. I can not say enough and would highly recommend the Grand Calabash suite!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Had enough of the long winter in Ohio

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

We recently returned from a week long vacation in the Grand Calabash and giving it 5 stars doesn't do it justice.
Lets start with the blue skies, mild breezes, crystal clear ocean and add to it a beautiful, well appointed condo with an amazing view. The owner was responsive and helpful during the rental process, our pre trip questions answered quickly and after return he checked back to make sure all was well. Sets the bar in terms of VRBO experiences.
This was our first trip to TCI and we can't wait to go back. The people were genuinely friendly and welcomed tourists. Our favorite experience was rented a boat for the day from Catch the Wave. Christian was our captain and for 4 hours we experiences TCI from the water, it was breath taking. Well worth the money.
I would recommend the Grand Calabash for really any age group as well as the Regent Grand. For teenagers maybe alittle slow, you would need to seek out other teens or activities. Other than that the location is perfect for all. The unit was exactly as described and photographed.
We will be definately be back to TCI and Grand Calabash. We really were fortunate to find an owner who makes sure his renters experience a high quality vacation.
One note - take your bug spray - the mosquitos ( no see ums) can get you at night.
Thanks Grand Calabash for a great vacation -

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Absolutely Incredible

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We rented the Grand Calabash for the week, with our two young kids, and it was above & beyond our expectations. Immaculately clean. Incredibly decorated. Total comforts of being home. Convenient to everything. Amazing views. Fantastic resort & resort staff. I could go on for a while... We will definitely be re-booking for next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Absolutely Glorious!

Review submitted: May 10, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

While this is my first review, this was our second year at the Grand Calabash and it was absoutely wonderful. There were three adults in our party. The unit is large and beautifully furnished and decorated. The beds are comfortable and the towels and linens are top quality, because who needs scratchy towels and sheets after a day in the sun!? When we arrived we dropped our bags and went right out to the balcony which overlooks beautiful Grace Bay Beach, with its hypnotic turquoise water. The balcony is large with plenty of seating and is our favorite place for early morning coffee and muffins and late afternoon cocktails and snacks. The Regent Grand, where the Calabash is located, is a lovely resort, also beautifully maintained, and the pool area with two jacuzzis is very relaxing. There are always fresh towels and plenty of comfortable chaise lounges. The service at the resort is top notch from Dave at the bar, to Randall and Jo Jo at the pool, beach, and anywhere else you need them to be. We had a car for this trip but the Regent Grand is located in the Regent Village and you are within walking distance of shopping and restaurants. Finally, and most importantly, the owner, Andrew is a great guy, easy to deal with and always available for questions, etc. He is very hands-on and not an "absentee" owner by any stretch of the imagination. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation in beautiful surroundings, The Grand Calabash is for you. We will be going back again, most likely with a party of four, and can't wait.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review ..... We understand our guests rent through VRBO for a very specific reason - to rent an exceptional private residence at a great rate direct from the owner ….. a suite that has all the little extras, attention to detail, and pride of ownership not found in typical resort managed suites.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Grand Calabash

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

This is a beautiful condo in the Regent Grand. Everything was just as the owner described in the VRBO listing. The owner (Andrew) was extremely responsive and made everything easy. The size of the unit is fantastic and the decorating is very nicely done. The beds were comfortable and the sheets and towels were excellent quality. All three of us just melted into the large sectional sofa in the living room. The paintings were nice and came from a local artist with a shop in the Regent Village. The kitchen had everything that we needed. The second floor location is great with easy access by stairs or elevator. You will never tire of the gorgeous view from the large oceanfront balcony. The unit also has a small balcony off of the bedrooms that overlooks the signature heated pool with two hot tubs. The Regent Grand staff is top notch with a special mention to JoJo as he is simply great. The beach is just steps away and the pictures rarely do it justice as the sand is silky soft and the shades of water color almost surreal. We would happily rent again from Andrew and return for another visit to this wonderful property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Absolutely Awesome!

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

Still glowing just thinking about the great time we had in Providenciales, Turks & Caicos. This was our first trip and first time renting privately. The Grand Calabash Suite was amazing. The pictures do not do it justice. The suite is beautifully decorated and is huge. There was four in our party and we had room to roam. We had a great view of the beach and could hear and see the gentle waves rolling in. It was heavenly. The kitchen was well appointed with everything that you need. I am not one to cook, but love to stay in for breakfast, and it was perfect for that. There was plenty of complimentary coffee and tea left by the owner. The property was spotless and the towels and linens are super luxurious. The owner was a breeze to deal with. We especially liked the welcome card and the bottles of wine. A very nice touch. I could go on..because this place was just fantastic. It far exceeded our expectation and was excellent value for the money. I would defintely recommend the Grand Calabash to friends and family. Love it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

PARADISE!!!

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

Walk in the door, turn to the left and OMG!!! You will be speechless. We have rented through VRBO many times and this condo beats them ALL, The VIEW is usually what you pay for and believe me this condo delivers. Because waterfront is what it truly is. We opened those patio doors, (which are huge and fold open until there is no wall in front of you, turned on the fans and enjoyed the breeze all day. Mixed with the sound of the ocean and some good wine it was truly paradise. It is 1st class in every aspect. Stunning decorating, superior beds and bedding, soft cushy towels, 1st class furnishings, beautiful travertine floors, shampoos and soaps and every thing else you might need in the kitchen. Everything here is first rate. There are lots of things in the pantry ( we left popcorn, tea, coffee, sugar, club soda and ginger ale) which was a nice holdover till we went to the grocery store. The grounds here are incredible. The pool was absolutely the best I saw on the island. It is huge and the pictures on the site and internet just do not give you the real perspective of how BIG it is. Two really big hot tubs that were nicely hot (not lukewarm) and immaculately clean. We never had a problem with chairs or towels. We walked to the other resorts to check them out. Nothing compared. The service was terrific. A big SHOUT OUT to Ira the bartender because he makes you glad you are staying at the Regent Grande. So do his drinks of the day. Food service from the Vix was excellent and fast. The gym is excellent and has really good variety. All the staff was friendly and the night security team is present, friendly, and non intrusive. ( Not that we could see a need for security EVER). Now pop over the walkway to the beach and you may refuse to leave the island. The water is stunning, warm, every color of blue imaginable and ZERO crowds, lots of visitors but it just wasnt crowded. Make sure your pedicure is done because you will see your toes, and fish, and maybe a starfish, and conches.....The owner of the Grand Calabash is terrific. He emailed us with tips and suggestons, attended promptly to anything that came up (which was miminal) and was just downright wonderful. The condo is easy to get to from the airport. It is perfectly located to everything. A small shopping mall, several restaurants, bars, and tour companies are a safe 5 minute walk. Major restaurants are 5-15 minute drive and a really nice grocery store is a 5 minute drive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Exceeded all Expectations

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

We stayed at the Grand Calabash from May 20-29, 2010. This was my first experience renting a condo from a private owner and we found it to be quite a pleasure to work with the owner. The Grand Calabash exceeds all descriptions provided on his web site. The owner accepted a modest down payment and we paid the balance via PayPal about a month before our trip. When we arrived the site was perfectly clean and ready for use. He provided detailed instructions on how everything works. The wireless high-speed internet was great and he also provides a VOIP telephone for free calls to the US. The large living room was just delightful with a 50" Sony TV and a complete wall size window that opens up to the large balcony overlooking the beach.

Grace Bay is one of the nicest beaches in the entire Caribbean, and The Regent Grand sets right in the middle of it. You couldn't pick a better location, within a 5 minute walk to good restaurants, shops, car rental, diner, and a wine and cigar bar. It is also about a 10 minute walk to the new gourmet shop/deli which is quite impressive.

I would highly recommend the Grand Calabash at the Regent Grand to anyone looking for a quite, romantic get away. Just email me if you have any questions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Heaven!

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 8, 2012

I cannot say enough about the Grand Calabash!  I am sitting on the beautiful porch overlooking the fabulous Grace Bay. The descriptions of the property do not come close to describing how beautiful it is. The owner has provided everything you could think of to make your stay comfortable and relaxing. The staff at Regent Grand are so friendly and professional. I cannot wait to book our next visit. Thank you for making this one of the easiest and most enjoyable vacations we have ever had!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect!!!

Review submitted: December 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

I can just say that I echo every great view of Andrew's place and the business he conducts. We visited the Grand Calabash this past July and already confirmed for next July. Anything less for a vacation is no longer acceptable. Thanks to Andrew for allowing his many return renters to enjoy his little patch of paradise.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wondeful vacation

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

This was our 8th trip to Provo. We have rented directly through Andrew, the owner several times and each time we could not have been happier with our accommodations or the rental transaction. The Grand Calabash it beautiful. Like others have said the pictures don't show it true beauty. The beautiful suite has more than you would expect. The furnishings are beautiful and very comfortable. The suite is much larger than expected and has views of the ocean from the dining,living room and kitchen and views of the gorgeous pool from the bedrooms. The location of the suite is one of the best in the Grand Regent. We could stroll to the pool at any time of the day and find empty lounge chairs and we were the only people on the beach several times. There are several good restaurants in close proximity. Without the transaction being a easy one all the amenities in the world would not be worth it. Dealing with the owner, Andrew is what makes the Grand Calabash just perfect. He is not just an owner but a very nice and honest man. You don't have to worry at all about your transaction with him. He is a great guy. We can't wait to return.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AMAZING!

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

Extremely professional owner, very thorough. Seamless transaction and check in. Suite is like being at home. The pictures do not do the suite justice! Will be back for sure!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Grand Calabash is grand indeed!

Review submitted: July 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

This was our first time to Turks & Caicos and our first time to use VRBO. The description and pictures of the Grand Calabash were nice but the real thing was even better. There's nothing you'll want for in the suite - beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean, fabulous location on the beach plus being conveniently located to the Graceway grocery, several eating spots, shopping and of course the unmatched beauty of the beach right at your back door.

Reserving the suite, obtaining the keys, instructions, and other dialogue with the owner was easy and cordial. It does feel like staying at the home of friends. The owner has thought of everything.

We have been here a week and my only regret as I type this on the last full day of our stay is that we aren't staying longer!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: March 20, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

Spent 3/14-19 over my daughters spring break from high school. In a word, Stunning. The GC is a 5 star condo and the RG is beyond doubt the premier property on T&C. The GC pictures posted perfectly match the property when you arrive. No surprises. The GC is furnished with every detail. This is by far the most perfect accomodations you could ask for.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2010

We've stayed at The Grand Calabash twice ~ we had such a perfect vacation there last year that we simply had to return! The condo is beautiful with every amenity and is extremely well-maintained. We enjoyed our coffee every morning on the deck, and cocktails in the evening ~ always taking in the spectacular view. And then there is the pristine beach -- our favorite place to spend the day! The Regent Grand is a lovely resort in a great location -- we can walk everywhere we want to go - from restaurants to shops to the new grocery store just a couple blocks away (very convenient). Our favorite restaurants are the Vix (most tender lobster ever) and Coco Bistro. If you are fortunate enough to spend New Year's Eve on the island, enjoy dinner on the beach at Bay Bistro and then watch the fireworks right out in front of the condo -- memorable! And we definitely recommend a snorkeling cruise on Caicos Dream Tours and horseback riding at Provo Ponies. Andrew was great to work with while coordinating the condo rental and provided a lot of information about the island, answering many questions along the way! Thank you, Andrew! You helped make our stay on Providenciales a wonderfully relaxing and memorable family vacation two years in a row. We look forward to our next return visit. Cheers!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 8, 2009   Date of arrival: May 8, 2009

We just returned from a fantastic vacation at the Grand Calabash. They have thought of everything! The resort and condo are stunning. The pool is gorgeous as is the beach. The water on Grace Bay is so clear and because of the reef, there aren't many waves, so it is perfect for snorkeling or just taking a dip. The service at the resort (Regent Grand) is impeccable. There are dozens of awesome restaurants and a great grocery within a 5-10 minute walk. All in all, we can't wait to return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 4, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

The Grand Calabash is a wonderfull suite, with amazing views of Grace Bay. The suite itself is furnished in elegant fashion in keeping with the upscale nature of the Regent Grand. We felt at home the moment we arrived and were very impressed with the staff and other residents at this property. The owner of this suite was very prompt, polite and accessible making this a very positive transaction. Being frequent traveler to Provo, we will definately look forward to our next visit to the Grand Calabash.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 21, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

The Grand Calabash Suite is fantastic. The Regent Grand is well-located, well-staffed, and beautifully maintained. The suite is spacious and beautifully appointed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would certainly reccomend it to friends.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review