reviews for: listing #41705 - Hermosa Beach, California Condo rental

Walkstreet Ocean Views and JACUZZI, Oceanfront Adjacent
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $350 /nt
    $1,750 - $2,450 /wk
    $5,200 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

We fell in love with Hermosa Beach!

Review submitted: January 1, 2014   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

Your Review
is Pending
Please read and confirm your review for Property #196586 below.






Review #7182524 Fell in Love with Hermosa Beach!

We were lucky to enjoy a fabulous vacation at Casa Hermosa on Hermosa Beach. The house was so clean and comfortable with plenty of space. Each day we would enjoy our morning coffee while looking out over the ocean from the living room window, listening to the waves crash and then we would watch the sun set into the horizon in the evening. Sandra was so helpful with everything and we felt so “at home” here. The weather was beautiful and we spent a lot of time at the beach, also walking and biking on the Strand and spending time on the Hermosa Pier and Pier Avenue. Pier Avenue is beautiful lit up at night. Such great meals at ‘Martha’s 22nd Street’ and ‘Palmilla’. Loved the store, ‘Curious’ (and its owner Bryce), and also the spa services at SugarRays Studio were fabulous. We were near enough to where our children live in West Hollywood and Long Beach where we also spent time, and close to LAX. We fell in love with Hermosa Beach and cannot wait to visit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad to hear about your wonderful stay! You are welcome back anytime and thank you for all the helpful info. regarding the local businesses!!

All the best & Happy Near Year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Ultimate Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

We stayed here as a family with our 2.5 year old son, and it was as close to a perfect vacation as one could imagine. The vacation was a combination of healthy activities (walking, biking, swimming) and tranquil relaxation as everyone is kind and the weather is ideal!

The best attribute about this place is the location. Unbeatable with the strand at the back door and a view of the ocean from the living room! Also, its very quiet and family oriented although plenty of activities and restaurants are nearby. The Bottle Inn restaurant and Marthas restaurant were absolutely delicious and within a block of the condo! We ate at both several times, and we rarely eat at the same place when traveling!

Next the courtyard is extremely valuable, especially with a 2.5 year old and ample room to play safely. The courtyard also offers bbq'ing with a weber grill provided complimentary; eating outside with a very nice table with an umbrella and 8 chairs was convenient as the goal is to be outside as much as possible with the perfect weather. The airflow is extremely nice too while laying down in the hammock!

Lastly, the garage is a big help having a dedicated spot no matter what time of the day or night.

This is review is coming from a couple who has travelled all over the country and to very nice destinations and accommodations, and we can honestly say this is one of best trips ever because of this place and its location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Dennis & Family, thanks so much for all the great feedback about our place. We are so happy to hear about your vacation & what a great time you had. It's nice to hear the little one had fun as well. Please come back
anytime, you & your family are always welcome.

All the best!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hermosa Beach House

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Dear Hermosa beach house,
It was quite a pleasurable trip for myself and my 14 year old twins. Your place was perfect! It was like being in a cozy home away from home. We were so lucky to have been on our trip when they had a personal parade for the Kings and the Stanley cup, it was so great because they went down the strand passing the lovely 2 bedroom we rented from you , and all we had to do to get a great picture of the Stanley cup was walk outside and there it was. So thanks for the place which made it a great trip. Oh p.s lock your bikes!
Cheers and good living!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Mimi, so glad to read your review and it was a pleasure meeting you! So glad you enjoyed your stay and it looks like you have another stay coming up soon. Glad to have you back!

Glad you felt at home here and as well as your twins!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unit 1

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

Our family loved staying here. Great location for the beach. Dining and shopping just a short walk. Enjoyed riding bikes on the strand and the jacuzzi,. Everything was very clean and comfortable. We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We had a great time!

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

We had a great time and like staying in unit #1. The location was great.
The place was clean and everything was in working order. I loved the
benefit of the jacuzzi, and outside courtyard area. I would definitely
stay again and recommend this location to friends. Thanks again for adding
to our family vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We'll be back. : ))

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

We had a great time! The condo was perfect, love the location. We spent a lot of time on the beach and biking/walking the strand. We would definitely rent with you in the future, paying was very easy and the condo was just like the pictures!
Thanks again,
Barb
Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Stay at the beach

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

Thank you for your assistance with this entire rental process.
My friends and I had a wonderful time relaxing and exploring the Hermosa Beach area.
The place is beautiful, and I personally LOVED the photograph canvas displayed in the living
area and rooms.

Other than the complications with the oven (and abnormal stormy weather), everyone had a wonderful time. Many of them have told me that they would love to come back again when the weather is sunny and warm.

The location of the beach house was amazing! Hermosa is such a cute area with delicious eateries, bars, and local cafes. We even saw Jimmy Kimmel during brunch! On St. Patrick's Day, it is a plus to be within walking distance to the pubs post all the celebration.

Most importantly, your emails and prompt replies have also really made this a pleasant experience.
You did an amazing job preparing us for the trip, and even took the time to email and check up on us during the stay. Your attentiveness is much appreciated.

Overall, it was great and highly recommended!

Cheers!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Excellent rental!

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

I stayed here w/ a few friends in November, and we were all super impressed. The rental process was very well organized and responses were always timely. The property itself was in very immaculate condition and the location speaks for itself. Definitely will rent this again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great place

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

This place has everything for a beach vacation. Excellent views just two houses off the beach on a walk street. Excellent location right between Hermosa Pier and Manhattan Pier. The furniture is nice and comfortable and the place is well maintained. Giant proch for relaxing and BBQ and the hot tub really is the topper as the ocean temperature can be cold. Great for adults or families.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Post-Conference Retreat at the Beach!

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

We are a group of biology teachers and we were attending a conference in the LA area...after the conference we wanted to spend some time at the beach before heading home. This rental was the perfect place for us! It was comfortable and had plenty of space for the four of us! We loved the view of the ocean from the living room, and the close proximity to the beach. We were able to walk to the beach in seconds and sit and watch the sunset! Had we stayed longer, I am sure we would have taken advantage of the kitchen...since we were only there a short time, we instead took advantage of the great restaurants nearby...we settled on "The Bottle Inn," a cute little Italian place right around the corner from the rental unit. Our landlord / host recommended it and it was lovely! You should probably get a reservation though, especially if you are there on a weekend evening. Great food and wine list.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Lynda & Halim (France)

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

Superbes vacances dans la résidence Hermosa Beach, avec tout le confort nécessaire avec un bébé.
Nous recommandons fortement cette location saisonnière.
Merci pour tout.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Translation from French: "Superb vacation at this Hermosa Beach residence, with all the necessary comforts, even with a baby. We strongly recommend this seasonal rental. Thank you for everything."

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Perfect Weekend

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

Property was EXACTLY as advertised, and the entire process was seamless. My biggest worry, finding street parking, ended up being a non-issue (before noon, at least!).

Place was perfect for my small group, steps to the beach, a nice large patio, and two decent sized bedrooms. Plus, with the bedrooms being downstairs and the kitchen and family room being upstairs, sound was not an issue. I highly recommend this to anyone and will plan on returning here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

AUGUST IN HERMOSA

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

MY HUSBAND AND I STAYED HERE WITH OUR SON, HIS WIFE AND 2 SMALL CHILDREN. THE HOUSE ACCOMODATED US VERY WELL. WE ENJOYED THE SAFETY OF BEING A BIT OFF THE STRAND AS WE HAD A SMALL CHILD WHO WAS VERY QUICK. THE HOUSE WAS EVERYTHING WE HAD EXPECTED IT TO BE. IT WAS WELL MAINTAINED AND HAD EVERYTHING WE NEEDED. THE OWNER AND THE PEOPLE WE DEALT WERE WERE EXCELLENT. WE WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

A perfect beach getaway...

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

The property and location had everything we needed and more. We will definitely be back. Thank you John and Aurora for all the help!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Not well maintained

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Please do not make your decision to stay here based on the photos. Photos are old and place is not very well maintained. When we arrived the deck was full of leaves (from the fall) and dirty, plants were dead or dying, grill was dirty and courtyard had leaves and trash. Inside the condo, the carpets are dirty, no extra linens (we were given 4 bath towel for one week for 4 people), one shower had very low pressure and kitchen is not well stocked. We were provided one kitchen towel and oven takes several tries to get it to heat. Overall the place is dingy. The location is very good and the property has great potential if it was just maintained. It took several tries to get a hold of the owners or property management when we arrived to discuss our disappointment in the property. After three days the owners did send someone out to clean the patio and courtyard and planted new flowers. This was nice, however, this should have been done before we arrived. We asked to be moved to another rental, but nothing was available. The owner gave us $100 off for each night but that really didn't improve our overall experience. Our plan was to come to the beach to relax not fight with the owner over repairs and stay a week in an undesirable place. The owners live close by so the property is just neglected .Our sense was the owners did not really care.

Owners response: We are the owners at Casa Hermosa. We are sorry to hear about the experience described above. We want all our guests to have a positive experience when they stay at our vacation rental (our second home), and we always do what we can to make our guests happy. We count on that for repeat visitors who come back year after year. As we write this, one of our guests has has just booked their third stay in a row with us! In this case, we took the guest's advice and made a few improvements to the property. We now have a new groundskeeper who does a great job at keeping the grounds at their full potential. We upgraded from carpet to tile flooring, re-stocked the kitchen and bathrooms, and painted the interior. Also, it is probably worth noting that we have changed rental managers, and improved customer service procedures, since this guest’s review. We love our property, and most of our guests leave our vacation rental with positive memories. For any future guests who are uneasy after reading the above comment, please see our website for an online photo slideshow of entries happy guests have left in our Guest Book. Our goal is for you to write our next five star review. Sincerely, John and Aurora D. of Hermosa Beach, CA : )

Helpful votes: 7 / 10

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

I stayed here with my teenage step-son and had a great time. The house was adjacent to the beach with beach views from livingroom and outside patio. House is modern with plenty of living space..2 bedrooms..2 bathrooms..comfortable beds and furniture plus cable and wireless high speed internet. The beach is right there with a nice walk to either Manhattan Beach Pier or a longer, but manageable, walk to the Redondo Beach Pier. Plenty of restaurants, clubs and shops within walking distance. Close to LAX airport and all tourist destinations in Southern California. Would definitely recommend the rental and would stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Enjoyed our Stay

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 23, 2009

We really enjoyed staying here. The location is excellent and the unit is comfortable. There are tons of places to eat within walking distance and the beach is one house away. The view of the ocean from the living room is excellent. A few things to note that are not accurate in the listing:
- the Jacuzzi is not oceanview. It is on the patio that faces the street in a courtyard that is used by multiple units in the building.
- there is no dishwasher in the unit (though the listing says it is one of the amenities)
- the big patio is shared with another vacation rental unit so be prepared to have to share the patio, barbeque, and patio furniture with the renters from that one other unit. There was one night where we both planned to have BBQ dinner on the patio and there was only one patio table and therefore one family needed to balance their plates on their lap.
- when were were there the bikes are rusted and broken (broken chain, flat tires). I recommend bringing your own bikes if you want to bike ride.
Besides those minor discrepencies, the place is pretty much as you see it/read about it in the listing. We stayed there for a week and had a great time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Casa Hermosa. Thank you for pointing out the inaccuracies in our listing. We have changed the photos of the jacuzzi on this listing, and our listing is now totally accurate. When we first installed the jacuzzi, it was on the ocean view patio, but a neighbor complained that it was blocking their view, so we had to move it (and forgot to change the photos)! :( We have replaced the beach cruiser bicycles. We want you to be able to enjoy cruising on The Strand, which is a must do if you stay with us. You do not need to bring your own bicycles unless if you want to. If a bicycle has any maintenance issue, just let us know, and we will credit you at Hermosa Cycles, the local bike rental shop. The large ocean view patio is shared with our 1-Bedroom unit. That unit only accommodates 2-4 people, and usually the large patio is empty. The ocean view patio normally feels like a private patio of this unit, since this is the only unit with direct access. Best, John and Aurora D. of Hermosa Beach, CA-- Owners

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review