reviews for: listing #41706 - Mendocino, California House rental

Seahorse Cottage Whitewater Views/ Pet O.A., WIFI,Spa,Sauna
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $250 /nt
    $1,845 - $1,960 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Visitors from New Mexico!

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

Dear Nancy, Frank & Marley,

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We cooked up some great meals in your well equipped kitchen and took advantage of a few of the local restaurants - my favorite was probably "Wild Fish" (the duck was incredible) but the Albion River Inn was fabulous and so close!

Duke and Rex (our dogs) felt right at home and loved our long walks. They'll definitely want to come with us when we come back - next time for much longer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fish, Food & Cookies (Minnesota Guests)

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: November 18, 2013

Love this place, this house, etc. Many thanks!! Courtesy of Simon, especially, we ate every shellfish imaginable (100 oysters from the Hog Island Company in Marshall, MI, a few crabs, mussels, clams, salmon, etc., etc.) Had dinner at the Albion River Inn - lovely and good food too. Our most successful whale watching spots were MacKerricher State park, north of Fort Bragg and Point Arena. Saw lots of Whales!! We highly recommend the River's End in Jenner for the gorgeous deck views of sea lions and unusual (though expensive) good food. Don't miss the Highlight Gallery in Mendocino, and the chocolate chip cookies at the bakery in Mendo, just down from Harvest market. Best to all. So glad to discover this spot!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

50th Anniversary

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: November 11, 2013

We have had wonderful weather for our 50th anniversary. Done lots of shopping, found some very good places to eat, and enjoyed Seahorse to the fullest! Although our Anniversary was in October, the anticipation of Seahorse Cottage was worth the wait! We can thank our daughter and son-in-law for the great time we've had and for finding Seahorse Cottage!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Childhood to Honeymoon!

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home! This was the perfect place to have our honeymoon! Tyler has been coming here since he was 15 with his parents for their Anniversary and told me how much he loved visiting Mendocino and Seahorse Cottage. He is now 24 (almost 25 next week), married, and now we have precious memories here together! The views are breath-taking, the house is warm and welcoming and we couldn't have asked for anything more! We would love to come back next year and enjoy this wonderful place! Again, thank you so much for letting us visit!

PS- Thank you for the thoughtful gift card for dinner and the embroidered robes. You are so sweet! I literally wore mine every day!



(The 'kids' of one of our first guests at Seahorse. They are such an amazing family and it's been our pleasure to host many, many anniversary celebrations for them at Seahorse! It warms our heart to have such amazing guests!)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Greetings from Louisanna!

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home and it's gorgeous views with us! We sure learned how to relax during our visit here - how could you not???? The beautiful weather added to our relaxing moments.

The house is beautiful and you have thought of and provided every detail needed. Your suggestions of places to eat and things to do were a great help.

Once again, thanks so much for sharing your home & views with us. We'll treasure our memories from here always!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

3rd Visit!

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

Thank you so much for allowing us to escape to your wonderful home. It was a much needed break. We love the view and will just sit for hours gazing out toward the ocean and cove. You are remarkable people to allow us to enjoy something so rare! Thanks again!


(Lovely returning guests - one of our very favorites!)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Visitors from England

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

Absolutely wonderful Cottage! Everything has been provided over and above our expectations. Very peaceful and refreshing - we have felt well cared for and will tell all our friends and family back home all about it!

Everyone we have met have been really friendly and helpful. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A weekend of adventure!

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

This has been a great time! Took a day trip up to the Lost Coast and spend time on Usal beach, elk and hawks were just beautiful, explored both north and south entrances. We kayaked up the Albion River and now were going to get our own kayak!

"Silver's at the Wharf" in Fort Bragg has great fish tacos! We also enjoyed viewing the half moon tonight from the hot tub on this clear, beautiful night.

The dogs loved the beaches. Roscoe loves the water but Scoot can do without! Oh! We had a 'tag along' for a short bit while kayaking - an otter! Also Harbor seals were feeding outside the restaurant. Next visit we're going fishing, maybe on the Vista II. I really enjoyed your sauna too!

Thank you again. We were so comfortable here and felt right at home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy 30th Birthday!

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

We had such an amazing time at Seahorse Cottage! It was just the weekend we needed to relax, refresh and rejuvenate! The weather has been great with a small hint of chill in the air. We went for a scenic drive up to Fort Bragg the first day and stopped into "Jenny's" for cheeseburgers and milkshakes. the sign told us "Happiness is a Jenny's Giant Cheeseburger"! We spent the majority of our time reading and relaxing at the house. Last night we have a fabulous dinner at the Albion River Inn to celebrate Jennifer's 30th birthday. The Seahorse we the perfect getaway and we've made many special memories for this weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Chicago guests

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

We had a lovely, relaxing time at Seahorse! Dinner at Wild Fish was wonderful. The Botanical Gardens in Fort Bragg were unbelievable, then off to a state park north to see tide pools and seals. Back home to relax in the hot tub - lovely! Second day we did the 7 mile hike to the pygmy forest and the Point Cabrillo lighthouse (only 1 mile), and the Kelly House museum. Back in the hot tub for sure! We plan a game of backgammon (if we can stay awake) and off to home in the AM. Thanks for the very thoughtful and organized space!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family time

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

We had a lovely, lovely week at the Cottage! The views, the hot tub, and everything were spectacular! Our baby had a great time crawling around all the plush carpet and we feel refreshed from getting away from the din of city life.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our new "Go To" place

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

As I write this I am sitting on your balcony looking out on the great Pacific Ocean and the green rolling hills. A Red tail hawk just dive-bombed, not 5 feet from where I sit! The sun is warm, the skies clear, the breeze cool. Peace.

This image clearly sums up what makes your home so special. This is a place to come and relax, a place that feels like home without all the complications of home.

Thank you for opening up your home to us. It's obvious the love and joy you have poured into this place. We have appreciated and enjoyed it - thoroughly!

I also want to thank you for allowing children and dogs. How can one truly enjoy a vacation without the entire family. We have definitely found our "go to" place in Mendocino!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

35th Anniversary

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

What a lovely home! Thank you for all of the extra amenities that added to our comfort and enjoyment of our stay. It was the perfect place to celebrate our 35 years of marriage.

" So beautifully perched
on the cliff, proud structure
houses more than personal things,

It's how the light reflects
off ocean waves and breezes
speak softness to skin,

Catching glimpses of past
and future, but relaxing
in the present. " (Poem composed by our dear guest)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful memories!

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

We would like to thank you so much for sharing your magical home with us for such a special family occasion. The inviting atmosphere of your beautiful space made our stay as comfortable as if we were at our own home, thanks to your thoughtfulness. We enjoyed every moment, especially the magnificent view, which made it very hard to leave to explore the charming town of Mendocino. We are leaving with wonderful memories which we will always cherish and are already looking forward to our next visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Even our 13 year old was impressed!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

Dear Nancy,

We LOVED staying at Seahorse Cottage! It is very warm, inviting and comfortable. You have thought of every detail to make our stay a joy. I've tried to take in every detail, as it is so amazing & thoughtful!

The beds were comfortable, living area is inviting and warm (sorry, I keep repeating myself.) LOL!

Even our 13 year old is impressed. This is some feat!

Thank you again - we can't wait to come again!

Cheryl, Mike & Jake

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Their 7th visit!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

Dear Nancy, Frank & Marley,

Once again, our visit to your beautiful home has truly been magical. It was the perfect place to enjoy our 38th Anniversary! Your hospitality is incredible and Seahorse is always so shiney clean and wonderfully decorated.

The daffodils provided some extra enjoyment for us during our hours of relaxation, which we really needed!

We have decided that 3 nights simply is not long enough, so next time we will stay longer.

Thanks again!
Roger & Linda

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

March 1-3 (Not enough time!)

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Dear Nancy, Frank & Marley,

What can we say, other than Thank You, once again, for a home away from home "experience"!!! From the welcoming card, champagne and beauty of your home to the beautiful views, to every comfort we could want - a truly much needed trip of R&R!!!

Until next time - Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!

Cheril, Michael & Sadie dog

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing, how much at home we felt!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 19, 2013

Dear Frank, Nancy & Marley,

It was a long time getting back to Seahorse - but amazing how much at home we felt as we opened the front door! That view! I didn't even mind doing the dishes!

Since we thoroughly scoured Mendocino on our last visit, we spent more time here, just 'being' & enjoying, snacking, soaking & have many 'toasts'!

Our Harley man enjoyed Marley's dog run and dog door and would have spent every waking minute in the patio garden if we'd have let him. So thankful for all that you do to make this so special for so many.

Many thanks again for thinking of & providing everything for a wonderful getaway!

Fondly,
Paul, Chris & Harley

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We are blessed by our time here!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

Dear Frank & Nancy,

Your attention to detail makes one feel entranced by your gentle, loving kindness. We thank you for your willingness to share your paradise. Our days were graced by visitors of the most gentle kind - it was a treat and we are so grateful for the fullness that surrounds one here. We are blessed by our time here. May angels surround you with love. We "feel" like we can "see" and "hear" again!

M&G

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The perfect Solstice!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

Dearest Nancy,

Words can not describe the way we felt being here, over this weekend. To spend Solstice in this house, was just purely magical! Thank you a million times. This house is filled with love, beauty, joy and peace and we hope to be back real soon!

M & N

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Swedish visitors

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

Nancy & Frank,

A wonderful welcome
A wonderful house
A wonderful view

Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The home needs no improvement!

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful home! The house is decorated wonderfully and all the small, but very thoughtful features made our stay very pleasant. The view is absolutely amazing. We love the hot tub, the fireplace, the fully stocked kitchen and very nice bedroom suites. This house needs no improvement whatsoever!

We really appreciated the clear and friendly communication before our stay. Again, from the bottom of our hearts, THANK YOU!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Celebrating 2 anniversaries-with returning guests

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Dear Frank & Nancy,

Jack & Patty brought us to your beautiful Seahorse house. We were all celebrating our anniversaries and could not have asked for a better experience. Everything is your home is so welcoming and relaxing. We are sure to come back to this Paradise.

Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved your "Babybook"!

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your special getaway home with us! This was the perfect place to unwind from our busy summer.

We would also like to thank you for all the special touches, which made us feel at home. We loved looking at the 'baby book' of the Seahorse. We built our home also & can appreciate the vision and hard work that goes into creating that vision from the ground up.

This time next year we would love to return, with our new little bundle of joy, who should be about 7 months old by then. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We were impressed!

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

Nancy & Frank,

Thank you for welcoming our family into your beautiful home! What an amazing place! We were so impressed with the level of detail and amenities you had to offer, which made our stay even better! Not sure what we liked better . . . relaxing here or discovering Mendocino! It was all so GREAT and added up to a perfect family weekend.

We hope to come back sometime and enjoy it all over again! Best wishes!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Returning visitors

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Dear Nancy, Frank & Marley,

We want to thank you again for opening your fabulous home to our family for a second time. We were here last July for only a few days and we enjoyed it so much, we decided to try it for a longer stay this time - and we are so happy that we did!

We felt relaxed and at hone in your immaculate, organized, peaceful home. We can't wait to come back again - hopefully next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

40th Anniversary

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

Nancy, Frank & Marley -

What a gorgeous, clean and breathtaking place!

My sister celebrated her 40th with her husband,her favorite sister-in-law (ha ha) and brother in law.

The place was the most organized, welcoming, warm place we have ever seen. Thank you for the gift basket and goodies, the teas and popcorn were perfect during our rummycube games.

The walks, the hot tub, the fog! We will talk about this for years to come! You all should be commended for the lovely job you do here - our favorite place was the front courtyard with it's flowers and waterfall!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow!

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

Dear Frank & Nancy

From the moment we stepped into the front door we were amazed! The beautiful craftsmanship of your home, the gorgeous views, the wonderful bed with it's fleece sheets. . . . we are impressed!!

Sipping our morning coffee, enjoying the beautiful views, the sights & sounds ministering to our souls. Refreshing & invigorating, filling our depleted buckets. We've only been here two days and we're already planning our next trip!

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful home with us. It has been a 'slice of heaven' for us! Can't wait till next time - want to stay LONGER!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wedding/Honeymoon - We could stay here forever!

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Thank you for sharing your beautiful place. It is quiet & serene and shows the love and care you have put into this place. The views are fantastic and the fog stayed out every day we were here.

We got married on July 4th, on a beautiful bluff, private ceremony, us, the minister, his wife as a witness and seagulls.

Could stay here forever to remember who we really are in all the stillness. Of course, that is not meant to be, but we will return one day to see the majestic ocean. Thank you for allowing us to stay here for our wedding/honeymoon. We loved it all and it will be in our memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for sharing Paradise!

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

Thank you for sharing your enchanted cottage with us! We have a wonderful time here! The mother and baby fox were so cute. We enjoyed relaxing in the spa with the lovely ocean views. Your gardens are so beautiful. The chipmunks gave us an entertaining show.

Your beds are like sleeping on clouds! All your special touches made us feel at home! Thank you for sharing your paradise with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

33rd Anniversary

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Nancy & Frank - your home is beautiful! The Seahorse Cottage has so much personality! We had a fabulous time . . . what a way to celebrate our 33rd anniversary! We enjoyed a beautiful sunset while relaxing in the hot tub, absolutely breathtaking.

Thank you so much for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your home is unsurpassed!

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

This was a wonderful home! We loved returning each day from our adventures. Coco, who is a 'homebody', explored the tidal pools and toy shops of Mendocino. She loved having meals by the kitchen table, while watching the hummingbirds in the garden and we all relaxed. The warmth and serenity of your home is unsurpassed. Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything was perfect!

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

Thank you! Everything was perfect! What a beautiful place you have. We are so grateful you allowed us to share it. It was a pleasure dealing with you. We hope to come back as we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The perfect honeymoon

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

Seahorse has been the most amazing experience, and the most beautiful, relaxing honeymoon we could have imagined! Everything about our week here was amazing, from days spent relaxing at the Seahorse to hikes in the woods, to explorations on the beach. Never before have I stayed somewhere where we were actually parallel or above the hawks & sea birds flying by - truly an amazing sight!

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us and for trusting us to take care of it. We hope you will allow us to return for our 1 year anniversary and many times after that! We hope to share this magical place with many of our friends and family. Thank you again for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Simply the best!

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

What a wonderful home! In the 20 years since we moved to California, we have spent many vacations in rental homes from Tahoe to Bodega Bay, Santa Barbara to Mendocino. Your home is, by far, the best!!! We had a wonderful time celebrating our 31st anniversary and guarantee you, we will be coming back. Thank you for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Baby grandson's 1st vacation (returning guests)

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 5, 2012

What can we say - breathtaking, relaxing, beautiful!!! Thank you, once again, for opening your home to us. Three days is not enough - but we got to spend it with our new grandson. What a special time for us all. His first 'vacation'.

Thank you for everything - your attention to every detail, the welcome basket, the treats for Sadie, the beautiful card - WE LOVE IT ALL!

Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

2 Nights just isn't enough!

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful home with us It is truly such a special place. We appreciate your care and attention to detail and look forward to visiting again! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect setting for our anniversary

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2012

We had a wonderful week's stay in your lovely home. This was the nicest vacation rental experience we’ve had, by far! You’re such warm, friendly hosts and it’s really reflected in your home. It was impeccably clean and so thoughtfully stocked. We love the privacy of the home and the small town setting, yet it's such a short drive to Mendocino. We look forward to many more visits to Seahorse Cottage!

Owners response: Thank you, thank you! So happy to hear that your anniversary getaway was such a success! That makes my heart smile!

It's said, that in life, you create your own experience. You both were so wonderful to work with and were fully expecting to have a great vacation, so it's no wonder that you did. If Seahorse played a role in all that, I couldn't be happier. You were such considerate guests. We love the energy folks like you bring to our little bit of paradise and we hope to have you join us again in the future.

Happy Anniversary to you both!
Nancy, Frank & Marley

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I don't want to leave . . .

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

I really want to hide in the closet and not go home at all! We stay on this part of the coast two times every year and this is by far the most relaxing and beautiful house we've stayed in yet! We will be back, rest assured. Your house is alive and filled with love. Thank you for sharing. The Ledford house, my favorite restaurant, was so close and is now paired with my favorite house. It made for an unforgettable anniversary!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We're back!

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2011

We're back! Hooray! We had such a nice, long, wonderful anniversary weekend. It was great to come back; it felt like coming home. Even though we had fog, it was all good. Thanks again, Nancy, Frank & Marley for the wonderful memories. Holly sends her 'woofs' for the delicious cookies Marley left for her. We hate to leave . . .

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What fun!

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

Thanks for creating such a beautiful space and sharing it with us. The views of the coast are extraordinary, as is the energy put into the fun and whimsical interior touches. Everywhere I look my eyes find something new and wonderful! We enjoyed this home and the area very much. Deep relaxation has sunk into our bones. We look forward to returning in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Long overdue getaway

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Your home is so warm, wonderful and inviting that even my 'city loving wife' enjoyed it very much. We have stayed in a number of vacation homes and this one is simply the best! We cooked every meal at 'home', which we've never done in a vacation home before. Thank you for creating such a lovely environment and sharing it with others.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

July visit with friends

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2011

It was so wonderful and restful spending time at your home. Your flowers and garden are beautiful and inspiring! Thank you for providing so many things for your guests. There seemed to be a surprise in every drawer! Again, thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sad to leave

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

We are leaving with a crying eye as we loved it and had a wonderful time, enjoying every minute! This is truly a magical place! Thank you for all the goodies!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Heaven

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

What can we say???After countless hours on the computer scouring for places to stay, we landed upon this unbelievable gem. One cannot explain unless you witness it for yourself. From the moment we drove up to the private gate and entered the courtyard, we knew we had arrived in heaven. The front door opens and ooh my god...the panoramic view out the bay window of Albion Bay was delightful. Step out on the balcony and there are views forever of the beautiful Mendocino Coastline. Not a neighbor for at least a half mile in either direction. Nancy really broke the mold when designing this home. Hence the word "HOME". Our welcome gift basket of Champagne and goodies for the pugs was so tasteful. Every inch of this home is decorated w/ so much to look at. Every ammenity is taken care of for you. Actually there is not a reason in the world to leave because it is all right there for you to enjoy. From spa's at night gazing at the milky way to invigorating saunas, to relaxing w/ a good Stephen King Novel...you can't go wrong w/ Seahorse @ Albion Bay. It was so sad to leave!! We cannot wait for our planned return....So stop looking and agonizing and Book it now!!!You will not be disapointed.....Thank you Nancy....The Mallers Family (ARFARFARF) Abby & Cassie too!!!!

Owners response: Wow! Could you guys have been any sweeter? We can't tell you how much we appreciate the time you took to post a review. That was beyond kind. We try very hard to make Seahorse a total retreat for the body and mind, and when we fill it with the amazing energy of guests like the two of you and the 'girls', how could it be anything but welcoming.

Your visit still has our housekeeper, Tia, shaking her head. Never, in all her 30+ years of housekeeping, has she enjoyed such immaculate and considerate guests. When she phoned me, her first questions was: "Have you guys been home?" She said it looked like I had teleported there as every little details was attended to. We were both amazed and grateful. It also makes me pleased to see 'pet parents' that have truly taught their 'kids' wonderful traveling manners. You are perfect advocates for allowing pets into the more upscale properties.

We can't wait to have you join us again and hopefully, the next time, we'll actually get a chance to meet you face to face. We clearly have a great deal in common.

All our best wishes,
Nancy, Frank & Marley

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Annual Anniversary Getaway (their sixth visit).

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

Dear Nancy, Frank & Marley,

Once again we want to thank you for your hospitality and for sharing your fantastic seaside castle! I never cease to be amazed at the pristine beauty of your house, with all of the wonderful and artistically placed decorations.

It was Brittany's first time here and she fell in love with this special place too!

Thank you again for everything and we look forward to our next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Former California natives from Michigan

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

What a place!! We're here celebrating our 35th anniversary. Your pictures on-line don't do it justice! My wife is a native southern Californian (we've lived in Michigan for the past 33 years) but the northern California coastline is so different. It's very easy to worship God here by just taking in the wonder of his creation. Thanks for making your home so cozy. It made it easy to revel in each other's company.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Birthday getaway

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

This house made our experience here amazing. You have a beautiful and inviting home and we have thoroughly enjoyed all of the personal touches added. The place has a magical ambiance and we hated having to leave. Thank you for opening your home and sharing this experience with us. We are counting the days until we can visit again to find peace and solice from the every day hustle & bustle. Thank again & we look forward to coming back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Santa Cruz favorites

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: February 22, 2011

Well, Nancy, Frank & Marley -

If this isn't one comfy, classy home, I don't know what is! We had a wonderful time and instantly felt right at home. You've done such an amazing job capturing the view from every possible corner -especially the shower!

We noticed and enjoyed all the little amenities, the way you welcome your guests, the lighting - all so enjoyable and soothing. To be able to go from the deck, overlooking the Pacific & beautiful bridge, to the magical garden - you have thought of it all!

We hope to make this an annual trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A true home away from home!!!

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

From the moment we walked in we were in awe. The breathtaking view, the beautiful decor, the welcome basket, the champagne, the fleece sheets....I could go on and on. We truly had a wonderful 3 days (should have extended our stay). We had a wonderful, relaxing vacation and plan to visit Seahorse Cottage in the future. Sadie felt right a home - although the abalone shells freaked her out a bit - but she was very comfortable and a very good girl. To Nancy, Frank and Marley - thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ah, thanks Cheril! You guys were the absolute best and Ms. Sadie couldn't have been a better pup. She is more than welcome any time! We love traveling with our crazy guy, Marley. In fact, if Marley isn't welcome somewhere, we usually don't go. Fortunately, like Sadie, he has excellent traveling manners so our friends and family love to have him visit. He's nearly two and he's never been without his "folks".

He loved the abalone shells as a baby, and we had to convince him that they were not his to drag around. (He suffers from "only child" syndrome.)Not spoiled - just well loved.

Thanks again for your very kind words. They made our hearts "smile"!

Nancy, Frank & Marley

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Birthday surprise

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

This weekend getaway to the Seahorse Cottage was a birthday surprise trip. We were both in awe of every single thing! The beauty of the area, this lovely home, the view, the hospitality of our wonderful hosts. Thank you Nancy, Frank & Marley for a blissful weekend that will never be forgotten! From the moment we stepped through the front gate into your enchanting garden, your beautiful home drew us in and enveloped us in warmth & comfort. You have certainly carved out a little bid of heaven high on a bluff overlooking the sea. (We loved looking at your photo album of it's birth!)

Even our dog Holly had a wonderful time and loved the welcoming cookies from Marley! Thank you for believing that "dogs are people too". We have never stayed in a more beautiful, cozy, comfortable, well-organized home with every amenity we could possibly hope for. Four Star ****, first class, all the way.

Thank you for the wonderful memories & more to come! You know how some people say "we'll be back"? Well, we WILL be back! With much appreciation,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeymoon visitors

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

There are few place that can ever truly capture the heart and hold it's essence in perfect repose . . . but here at Seahorse Cottage, you have done so!

Light, air, water and your beautiful garden, all entice those of us who visit. So much so, leaving is going to be very difficult. There is a specialness about your home. . . gentle magic rests here in every room, in each corner. Thank You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We're back!

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

Our second stay at Seahorse! I still love to wander through the rooms looking at all the wonderful touches.

Today is our first anniversary. We work up to rain! Looking out the windows, being in the clouds, makes us feel like we are in Heaven! How magical! I love to listen to the pitter patter.

Thank you again for everything and always making us feel so special! I'm hoping we will be able to visit once more before the baby is here. With love & appreciation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Return visitors

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 23, 2010

Thank you for opening your serene and beautiful 2nd home to us and the many others who have been fortunate enough to stay here. This was our second stay at the "Seahorse Cottage" and we hope there will be several trips back here to stay in the coming years. The peacefulness, the views, the ammenities and all the attention to details from "needs" to "wants", to decor are all perfect. Perhaps a longer stay next time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beauty Beckons

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

This house is so comfortable, so beautiful, so welcoming - it was
hard to leave! We made it to the beach, had every intention of exploring Mendocino but the beauty of the home beckoned!

Lovingly and thoughtfully decorated, with attention to comfort and detail - visitors are not just "renting a place" they are truly honored guests in the owner's home.

Whether you sip coffee on the deck, soak in the hot tub (then wrap up in the thick robes that are provided . . .), curl up in a cozy chair in front of the fire, or in the garden, or on the deck to read a book from the vast library, or to play a game from those provided, you are pampered and spoiled.

Any renter/vacationer will be spoiled by all that these owners supply. We have rented homes from owners before and have NEVER stayed in a home so well and thoughtfully appointed. The luxury and detail of everything is amazing. I brought everything I thought I would need "just in case" and found the bathrooms and kitchen well supplied - even Q-Tips! Wow!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! What sweet things to say! We are honored! Our goal is to have every guest who shares Seahorse with us leave, feeling the exact same way. It's so very nice to know that all of our efforts are enjoyed and appreciated!! Nancy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect cottage

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Seahorse Cottage is as lovely and well appointed as the owner portrays in her description. It was exceptionally clean and there wasn't anything that my friends and I needed that we couldn't find. It was very relaxing and the views are beautiful. We really enjoyed the hot tub. I would definitely go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fellow cooking fanatics

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2009

We so enjoyed your lovely and comfortable home. The deck and garden areas were great places to sit and visit or just relax and read the paper.

Thank you for the welcoming dog treats. That was a very nice touch. Our dog, Ele, loved them..

Your kitchen is great! We love to cook and you have such a great assemblage of dishes, glasses and kitchen utensils.

The views from the deck - including the brilliant stars at night - were spectacular. This was a lovely place to spend a long weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring 2008

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: April 20, 2008

Nancy, Frank & Max -

We so enjoyed the history of Seahorse, truly a dream of yours that you have shared with all the guests. We are so grateful for your generosity to share this bit of heaven. I have been coming to Mendocino for over thirty years, usually it has been Irish Beach. Your home supercedes all the places we've ever been. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our favorite "returning" guests

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2008

Nancy, Frank & Max -

Another year - another fabulous time at your beautiful home. Truly the finest possible way to sepnd our (33rd) anniversary. It has become such a tradition that we feel like it is almost like coming home. Our son, Tyler (now 19) says that if he were to only to take one trip with us every year, this would be it. I am hoping that he will still feel that way when he gets married.

We really enjoyed the birds catching the wind currents off the deck, there were lots! I assume that they were not here simply to entertain us, but you never know.

Thanks again for your generous hospitality, and we'll see you around the same time next year.

Owner note: This was their fourth visit and they are scheduled in 2010 to celebrate their 35th anniversary at their "second" home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oregon Restaurant Owners for Mushroom festival

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2008

Dear Nancy, Frank & Max -

From the first contact made via e-mail & telephone, you have truly created an amazing experience here in Albion and the surrounding area. To open up your beautiful home for all of us to share is something quite special. You are fortunate to live amongst the wonderful forests, incredible coastline and we enjoyed our short 6 days to the fullest with dinner each night in your lovely kitchen, eating the "harvests" of the day, including wild mushrooms.

Your kindness and special touches are so appreciated. We strive to be so welcoming to all of our guests at the restaurant and so rarely run across such incredibly hospitable people! Thank you, thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maryland guests /Summer 2009

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2009

Hello and Good-bye!

Having no place to go certainly makes it easier to be where you are - at Seahorse Cottage. It's a place where the fog drifts in and out; the fog horn sounds every 26 seconds, the local radio station plays music for the "tragically hip and twisted"; the wind, a simple thing really, just air in motion, alternately whispers and screams; pelicans move in a silent symphony; and the past and present co-mingle . . . eternity in a single blink of an eye. Thank you for the reservations at the Botanical Gardens. What a marvelous place. We also met Mario - live and in person -truly a gracious "flower" host. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

East coast visitors August 2009

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

Frank & Nancy -

Thanks so much for sharing your home. It is truly amazing! As we enjoyed our last evening here, we are having a "toast" to Max on your deck. Our pups would love it here. The energy of your home is awesome - it even managed to "relax" Curt. We plan to come back!! Thanks again!!

Owner note: We had just lost our beloved K-9 child of 12 years, Max.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lancashire, UK guests

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

Dear Nancy, Frank & Max

We have loved every minute of our stay here at Seahorse Cottage. As a base, it is so comfortable and new equipped . . . you have thought of everything and more besides!! We have really enjoyed exploring local places of interest and it's difficult to pick out a favorite moment . . . they were all fab!! Our children had a fantastic time and would love to come back.

When I'm back in the deepest, darkest Lancashire, stressed out at work with a 3 and 4 year old crying at my knee, I'll close my eyes and think of here. Instant stress relief!! Many, many thanks!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 21, 2009

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

Dear Nancy & Frank,

We are so glad we found your cottage in our seach for a very relaxing and restorative vacation. My husband, myself and our children work so hard and we needed a beautiful, comfortable place to be with each other and nature and just unwind. It really was perfect! The list of our favorite things is long, but here are some highlights:

The hot tub
The Sauna
The comfortable living room
The game we found and played together, especially "Pictionary & Monopoly"
The canyon fern trail hike (breathtaking!)
The botanical gardens (magical!)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 29 2009

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

Dear Nancy and Frank,

When my husband awoke this morning, the first thing he said to me was "I don't want to leave this house", which is truly a compliment to you. Your home has been ours for seven entire days and we could not have been more pleased with ALL you and it has offered us. My husband's son will be married tonight in Mendocino and it will be the perfect ending to a perfect vacation. Tomorrow we travel back to Rhode Island with many warm and beautiful memories and many of them are thanks to you! One day we hope to return to your beautiful home for another glorious vacation. Many, many thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 2009

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

Dear Frank and Nancy,

WOW!!!!!!!

We had a wonderful time! Your views, secret garden and home are just lovely! Thanks for everything and our "K-9 kid" thanks you too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

September 2009

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

Nancy, Frank & Marley -

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful home with us! We truly had a wonderful vacation here and the house was absolutely perfect!! It was just what we needed to get away for it all and relax.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

October 8, 2009

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

Dear Nancy, Frank & Marley,

How can we ever thank you enough for providing such a warm and inviting place to stay? Your home is truly amazing! You have put so much love into Seahorse Cottage - it has been a trip we will never forget! It was the perfect "home base" for us while we explored the area. Our kids loved the deck and spent hours out there watching the hawks, bunnies, and just enjoying the view. Our 4-legged child, Molly, was enchanted with everything - the cows, the ocean, the seals, the great walks, the hummingbirds out on the patio . . . All firsts for her! And, us "grown-ups" had a wonderful time at the beach, shopping, and enjoying the areas great restaurants. Thank you, thank you for helping us "get away from it all" in such style and comfort!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fall, 2009

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

Dear Nancy and Frank

Michael and I can only say ditto to all the wonderful things said in your journal book about the beauty and serenity that is Seahorse Cottage. Our stay was perfect with sunny days and cool evenings. We do wonder what your "real" home is like if the cottage is the one you rent out. We don't think that we would be so willing to share it with strangers, but are so thrilled that you do. I was concerned when Michael kept referring to it as "our home", that he forgot his stay was temporary. He took lots of photos!

Thank you for allowing us to call Seahorse home, if only for a little while.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring 2010

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 18, 2010

Nancy & Frank -

First, "Blue" thanks you the most. "Baby's" door was a godsend, the front porch was his favorite spot. Sunny all day - in between beautiful fog banks rolling through your great view.

Your home was one of the most wonderful homes we have ever had the pleasure to enjoy. We have enjoyed homes up and down the coast, and I have to tell you, this is one of the most dramatic views yet.

Nancy, you have done a wonderful job making this B-day feel like a weekend at the spa. Thanks for the B-day banner. (It took a few hours to see it - we arrived late.)

Thank you very much for one of my most memorable weekends yet!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review