reviews for: listing #41764 - Manhattan, New York Townhome rental

Luxury Roman Mansion w. Studio & 3Bdrm 15 min from Manhattan
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  13
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $199 - $675 /nt
    $1,400 - $4,000 /wk
    $5,000 - $10,000 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful experience!

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

This property was a perfect place for my family and friends as we visited NYC for the first time. Sergey kept in contact throughout the rental process and also provided us with great information for parking in NYC. The rental is exactly as advertised. It was spacious and very comfortable. My friends and I would definitely rent this property again and would recommend it to anyone. Thanks Sergey!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Before the stay

Review submitted: March 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

I have been working with the owner of the property to set up a stay for my sister who is traveling from IL with her husband and 2 employees on business. I have emailed back and forth with Sergey as well as had a telephone conversation. My sister can't appreciate as much as I the deal that this property is. After reading the reviews and after the encounters I have had with Sergey, I couldn't help but write a review before my sister even stays at the property. Being a business person and doing the travel I have, I am extremely impressed with the owners need to please. Not too many owners would take the time to respond to the customers feedback as Sergey has. I truly hope all that take the time to read the reviews can appreciate the owner and his property. It is very reassuring to read that he is fair with his cleaning fee as well. That alone is a risk for renters because typically you can kiss your money good-bye and never do most places agree to deal with it before you leave. I read a review about the property not having a coffee maker which made me think, "oh my, my sister will die, I have to see that she takes her coffee maker" then I immediately see where Sergey responds at the end of the review stating that the property now has a coffee maker. That is service my friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Christmas vacation

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 21, 2010

My family came into the area from around the country and we rented the 3 bedroom townhouse. The house was very clean and VERY SPACIOUS. We were able to make and have Christmas dinner there and it was very nice. There is a ton of room and counter space in the kitchen and the appliances are great. There's a very large flat screen HDTV and a nice whole house sound system that allows you to plug in an ipod if you so choose. The property is in a nice quiet neighborhood and within walking distance to a bunch of restaurants. By car, midtown Manhattan is about 20-30 away depending on traffic. We were there when "Snowpocalypse 2010" hit. The snow started falling on a Sunday and by Monday morning the neighborhood had at least 25"-30" of accumulation. Amazingly, by 10am the owner already had people clearing the driveway and steps to our front door. They were working hard! All in all a great place to stay if you have a large group!

Communication with the owner was OK. It was kind of spotty beforehand. I was getting nervous because I didn't get solid confirmation until just a few days before our trip. Once we were there he was easy to get a hold of and is very friendly.

Note, if taking the bus, the express NJ transit bus to the Port Authority bus station only runs until 10am or 11am. After that you have to take the regular 159 NJ transit bus which can take about an hour. That costs $4.25. Another option is to take the short white "Spanish" buses going north on Anderson Ave and over the GW bridge to the GW bridge bus terminal in Washington Heights. This costs $3 at most. From there you can take the express A train to midtown Manhattan.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Thanksgiving Family Feast

Review submitted: December 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 23, 2010

This vacation property met our needs and I would use it again. We had family in NYC and in Phila. The happy medium was North Jersey. Property located in a quaint, clean, suburban neighborhood with nearby stores, A&P, ShopRite, etc. Excellent Chinese restaurants on Broad Ave in Cliffside Park, NJ. Relatively easy to get to by car.

We had Thanksgiving Dinner there with 4 familiies that stayed over at least 2 nights. Parents and friends came up on Thanksgiving Day. We had about 3 children with us and they did very well playing in the spacious living room. The kitchen was phenomenal with all the space. We were able to lay out all the food on the counter and the island in the kitchen for people to serve themselves. A great time was had by all. Sergey, the owner is very nice and easy to work with. We went into NYC to Madame Tussaud's as an outing on Black Friday. Not bad at all traveling by car. Returned back to the property from the hustle and bustle of NYC gladly. It was one of the best Thanksgiving holiday's we've had in the north. Thank you for your hospitality.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Birthday Weekend

Review submitted: December 13, 2010   Date of arrival: December 9, 2010

This was the perfect choice for our surprise birthday weekend for my sister. There were 7 women in our group and everyone was very pleased. It is a beautiful house with all the comforts of home and the ambience of luxury accommodations. The open floor plan on the main level was perfect for group socializing and dining and the rest of the home provided great privacy, when needed. The property is located close to the excitement of NYC yet the home provided the serenity of a suburban community at the end of busy days of shopping and other activities. Local shopping and restaurants are plentiful. Definitely a thumbs up!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Birthday Weekend

Review submitted: December 13, 2010   Date of arrival: December 9, 2010

Beautiful property. The home is spacious, well maintained and was perfect for our birthday weekend. It is located very close to Manhattan and has plenty of local stores and restaurants. All the comforts of home with the added ambience of luxury accomodation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Alternative to staying in Manhattan

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

Six adults stayed here for 8 days in late August, during the record hot spell in New York.
The condo was immaculate and as described, however the third bedroom was in need of a proper bed, which necessitated our renting, at a reduced price, the downstairs suite.
The air conditioner went on the fritz during our stay and Sergey was proactive in buying fans until the A/C was fixed.
Sergey was responsive to our needs and did all he could to make our trip memorable. The condo is beautiful and well maintained and is located in a middle class NJ suburb and is a 20 minute drive to downtown New York.
The rental rate is excellent value, particularly when compared to Manhattan prices and is an excellent alternative to the Manhattan rat race.
Our days were full as we used the 3 day City Sights tour which was absolutely wonderful. We caught a Yankees ballgame and saw `The Million Dollar Quartet on Broadway which was fantastic.
On Wednesday evening we went to Amateur Night at the Apollo Theatre in Harlem. It was absolutely wonderful and entertaining.
Had pizza at Lombardi`s in Little Italy - 10 out of 10, supper at the Charthouse in NJ - 9 out of 10 and PJ Chang`s in NJ - 9.5 out of 10.
Overall our week was wonderful and our stay at Sergey's condo was great and we would recommend this accommodation to anyone who seeks safety, value and cleanliness in their accommodations.
Thanks Sergy!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

3 Night Stay

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

We recently visited New York and New Jersey for 3 nights with a large group of 8 and hesitantly decided to go with a house instead of a hotel. This house was definately worth the risk, the property was very nice and the house itself looks much better in person than in the pictures! Shopping was nearby and getting to New York was relativly easy with a bus ride and a trip through the subway. People in the area were very helpful and it was a great community. Everything was fairly straight forward and easy because we had our own vehicles. One complaint we had was an odd smell from the master bath, other then that there were no issues with the house. As far as the owner, he was very helpful and was prompt on everything but the return of the security deposit which took afew days. Honestly, if you are renting for the first time I strongly reccommend this property because the owner does what he says he will. We would readily reccommend our friends and extended family to visit this property and should we come back, stay here ourselves.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great place to stay

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

great place to stay we were 14 it work just perfect for all of us IT HAS ALL A HOME NEEDS And it is bigger then what you see on pitures. It was nice to stay all together in one place then be separate in a hotel. It was also great to cook and eat all together. Every thing is near, market and target store is 5 minutes away. Time squere, statue of liberty, cake boos, easy to get there and 15 minutes way, restaurant, (Royal pizza) realy good italian food I will go back to just to eat there small place but really good food.
I recomend this for big families, or big group.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

New York House Rental Feedback

Review submitted: July 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

I would like to thank the owner for the opportunity of renting you house during our last stay in New york.
The house is very nice, spacious, and perfect for people who want to visit new york and have some time to relax outside the town at night. This is much appreciated when having kids.
It takes 15 to 20 minutes to reach Manhattan downtown from the house, which is very short for such a big city.
The house provide all what you need : BBq with Deck, parking for two cars, large living room, dining room and kitchen, very nice bedrooms. All shops are available within a mile or so (Pharmacy, Fresh, Food mart, wine and spirits etc ...)
I strongly recommend this house to people who wants to visit NYC , especially when having kids.
As far as payment and deposits are concerned, I was very happy by the way Sergey handled that : Code for the door delivered on time, deposit return executed the same day of the departure. very professional.
Thanks a lot for the professionalism.
Best regards
Eric

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent vacation home for NYC

Review submitted: July 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

Our family of 8 has just arrived home from a 5 night stay at this very beautiful home in New Jersey. The house was everything and more that the listing describes. We had long days in NYC and it was so nice to come back and relax in front of the big screen TV or enjoy the sound system that could be played all over the house! We had constant Ipod action going on! We have rented several homes in various vacation locations and found the Kitchen in this home extremely well equipped. We had no problem, the few nights we wanted to, cooking for our large group. Big bonus was having a dishwasher. There is an excellent little deck off the kitchen with a BBQ which we all really enjoyed sitting out on in the evenings. The bedrooms are large and spacious with very comfortable beds and a bountiful supply of bathrooms! (Important with lots of girls!) As well, having access to the washer and dryer was so handy with a family and the house is well equipped with lots of towels, blankets etc.
The house is conveniently located very close to local grocery stores and bus stops. For the most part we took public transit as driving in NYC we found could be a little crazy. We found that by driving up to 60th street on the Bergan line and parking (we didn’t have to pay for parking in that area) and then catching the 159 bus to the bus terminal cut down on the transit time and the cost a little. We found traveling on the bus was fun and all part of the NYC adventure.
Overall, we have nothing but good things to say about renting this home. It’s clean, spacious, modern with excellent amenities. It made our trip to NYC affordable and very comfortable. The owner was excellent to communicate with via emails or text to answer all our questions.
As our kids said several times, ‘This place rocks!’. A big 5/5 for rating!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Vacation in June

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2010

We stayed at the property for a week with five 21-22 year olds. It provided great space for us all where we could all do what we wanted without disturbing anyone else. The owner was fabulous and extremely helpful in giving us directions for travelling into Manhattan and parking. We found a parking station on 48th Street where we paid $12 for a 12 hour stay, with no restrictions on arrival time. It is open 24-7. Parking and bridge toll ($8) cost us $20 to get the 7 of us into the city.... much cheaper and quicker than the bus. I would definitely recommend a car for transport though as the bus trip is very long and quite expensive if there are a few of you. ($4.25 pp each way)
The beds were comfortable and the facilities excellent. The 'kids' loved the surround sound system! Our only complaint was a lack of mugs-cups. Luckily not everyone in our group wanted hot drinks so we were able to manage but still needed to wash up after each use. This was unfortunate and meant that we were unable to take full advantage of the dishwasher.
The washing machine and dryer were a wonderful bonus and a great size which meant that we had to do fewer washes. The air-conditioning was easy to operate but a little noisy when adjusting the ambient temperature. (However no-one complained that it kept them awake at night!)
This is a great place to stay if you have a largish group. All amenities are top class and it made it a very pleasant experience. An added bonus was the opportunity to save the cleaning fee by leaving the property as we found it. Luckily we didn't have to catch our planes until late so had time to change and wash the bed linen and towels and mop and vacuum the floors. The owner was happy for us to remain in the house on our last day for as long as we liked. (This may be a problem if the house has been booked from your last day but it didn't affect us.)
All in all I would recommend this property as a very comfortable place to stay while visiting New York, as long as you keep in mind that you are actually over the river in NJ and need to travel each day if you want to experience New York City life. This certainly wasn't a problem for us and we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

You may feel that the renter is very laid back and you may get concerned that you have not actually booked the accommodation, but I can confirm that you will be very pleasantly surprised, the house is in a great area and once you know your way around is very convenient for Manhatten, we rented a car and on a good day could get to Time Square in 20-25 minutes, Parking for the day cost $30. The house is in great condition and has everything you want as long as you do not xpect to produce a dinner for 6/7 as it is a little short on crockery, but for us it was fine as we were out most of the time.
I would really rcommend the accommodation but get a map of where you are going before you get there!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We expanded the cockery with addition of tools and now guiests can cook comfortably on a grill and/or in the 5 spot gas oven, mictorwaive, etc. There are several frying pans, a number of plates, glasses to accomdate a big party. The parking in the city is $12-15 bus if you arrive before 11 am in the morning - i would be glad to show the spots and give exact addresses - one of the is W46th between Braodway and 8th avenue. Look forward to accomodate future guests. Thanks for the response.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Christmas in NYC/NJ

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: December 21, 2009

My family and I (7 adults and 2 children) stayed for a week in this beautiful townhome located in Cliffside NJ. We rented the 3 bedroom plus the studio. The house is located in a very nice area of NJ and is only about 9 miles from Manhattan however; it can take up to an hour to get there depending on traffic. The description of the house is exactly what the owner states and then some. The home has nice wood floors through out, an electric fire place, a huge kitchen with granite, spacious bedrooms, and a jacuzzi and sauna in the master bedroom. There is also a music system that can be heard from any room in the house. However, if you didn't want to hear the music you can just turn the sound off in whatever room you are in. The studio had a living area with a T.V. and a desk. It's perfect for anyone wanting a little more privacy. The owners were even kind enough to include a real Christmas tree decorated for the holidays. The owner is also very friendly and gave directions to all the best priced garages in Manhattan to park our car. He also offered his assistance for any questions we may had during our stay such as, cheap tickets to Broadway shows and the closest grocery stores. Also, he doesn't charge a cleaning fee if you leave the house in the same condition you received it. Which i thought was great because we've stayed in several vacation home rentals and so far, all of them charge a cleaning fee. I would definitely recommend this home to families wishing to vacation in this area. The only thing that bothered me was that there was no coffee maker, but I got by with instant coffee. Overall, our experience was great and will stay again if traveling in the NJ/NYC area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: There is a clear distinction between taking an express bus and taking a local bus 159 of NJ Port Authority.
Express - takes about 25-30 min
Local bus can take up to 45-50 min
With my introductory email i also send a schedule of busses which clearly states which are express and which are local. There is usually no traffic at all - very rarely.

If one would travel by car, however, then the the time to reach Time Square would be about 15-20 min. Usually for guests with cars i recommend traveling by car since parking in the city is 12-15 bucks per day and it gives a better mobility and comfort, although busses are also nice since you always have a seat but economically for a family of 8 it is more attractive to travel by car.

The coffeemaked is installed in the house already so future guests can enjoy a fresh brewed coffee.

I invite everybody to visit and i promise you will have great time at this wonderful place built as a replica of a grand Roman/Neo-Classical Mansion

Helpful votes: 31 / 32

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review