reviews for: listing #41919 - Emerald Isle, North Carolina House rental

Sandpiper- 7BR Oceanfront w/ Pool in Spinnaker's Reach
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Spinnaker's Reach
  • sleeps  19
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $1,025 /nt
    $1,650 - $7,650 /wk
    $5,500 - $5,500 /mth

sort by:

Great Vacation

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Went with three other couples and children and we had more space than we knew what to do with. Everything was neat, clean and fresh. Very large kitchen with dining space to accomodate everyone. Heated pool, hot tub, great views and overall a wonderful experience. I would definitely reccommend this property and these owners. Very easy to deal with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful house, great service

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

“Excellent location with a beautiful ocean view! Great for family with kids in a safe gated community. Pool feels bigger than it looks. Great time. I strongly recommend it.”

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our Dream Beach House!

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

This house allowed us to realize our vacation goal: escape our cozy suburban home but not our lifestyle! Meandering through the lovely neighborhood of Spinnaker's Reach on our way to the Sandpiper's oceanfront location, we enjoyed seeing the brightly painted houses alongside traditionally appointed homes. With 2 boys under the age of 10, we were impressed with the safe environment....one in which we could stroll outside after dark without fear....one in which "neighbors" we had never met (and probably would never see again) would wave hello and ask our sons about their daily adventures.

We were also thrilled that the house had marvelous oceanfront views and a convenient boardwalk from the house to the beach. The heated house pool and the hot tub were perfect for one overcast day, and the boys didn't even miss the ocean.

We found the house spotless and all appliances in working order. One pleasant surprise was the SOUNDPROOFING between the floors/walls. With boys who like their noisy video games, this was a bonus for me! We now know that on our next visit, we can bring the boys' friends with us, especially since there are plenty of flexible sleeping arrangement options in this house!

The decor was tasteful and beach-themed, which added a fun ambience to our stay. Thankfully, the sofas were comfortable and the kitchen furnishings were attractive yet sturdy. We have stayed in other homes where we just didn't feel comfortable curling up on the couch or even eating at the kitchen table. This house felt like we had our own vacation home; and, that feeling allows you to truly feel relaxed enough to just let go and enjoy.....and, that's why we are so lucky to have found this place!

For those who need a break from the sand and sea, there are 2 go-kart racetracks, a mini-golf course, a waterpark, a strip mall (with a grocery store), and a movie theater within a 5 minute drive. Of course, there are numerous gift and beachwear shops throughout Emerald Isle. There are also 2 delightful finds: a deli/gift/tackle and a gas/food staples store which included a boutique wine shop. The newly rebuilt pier further into town has lost none of its charm or appeal, judging by the line of folks willing to wait for a fishing spot.

We look forward to returning to this fabulous spot next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent for families with kids!

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

We are repeated guests for the last 3 years and this beautiful house improves every year. The owners are very easy to deal with and provide an excellent service. Good location and well fitted for family with kids. Beautiful decorated, bright colors and spectacular view will make you to relax and enjoy the beach!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

vacation

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 22, 2011

I loved the property and the relationship with the owners was excellent. Thank you very much for your great house. It was very clean, well kept, and big enough for our family...we will definetely keep in touch for our family reunion next year. Without a doubt i will recommend this house to my co-workers next summer :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Unhappy stay

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

We rented the property during the month of August, 2011 and did not find the accommodations satisfactory. The dish washer did not clean the dishes and we needed to resort to hand washing. The kitchen refridgerator failed during our stay and the food had to be thrown out. The air conditioning broke down during our stay. The couch had a huge rip in cushions and the house was generallu unclean. I do not recommend this property at all.

Owners response: This is a duplicate from the same unhappy renter who did not get the $3,475 cash refund they'd requested. I recommend to all owners not to rent to Christy Hogan from Maryland as they are dishonest.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Negative Experience

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

The house was dirty. Furniture was torn. The handle to one of the doors fell off in my hand. A window screen was shredded as if someone had walked through it. We had issues with many of the appliances. AC went out for almost 24 hours, the refrigerator did not keep the food cold and we had spoilage, the dishwasher did not clean the dishes and had to be washed by hand. Location is great but for the amount we paid we expected a house in a clean and functional condition. We were offered a 10% - 50% discount on our next visit depending on season. There is no % off that would lure us back.
A very disappointing vacation for my Father’s 80th birthday.

Owners response: We have a professional staff maintaining this property and the property is turned over to guests clean and with their acceptance. Any complaints are addressed at the moment they are raised. We paid a professional technician to service one of the referigerators which blew a component the day after being reported. We have 2 refrigerators, so there would be no reason for a guest to leave food in a fridge that was not operating. The air conditioner also blew a cirduit and was repaired the next day. Technician suspected a lighting strike. Dishwasher was also serviced but reported to work fine. We maintain a high standard of service and these complaints are disingneuous. This guest was just upset because they wanted to receive a cash refund and our offer of 50% discount on a future week was unacceptable.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent service by owners-Beautiful home

Review submitted: May 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

Great trip - everything in home was as described - plenty of room for our party of 12. Would highly recommend this home.
Owners were always available, helpful and very personable. Exactly what you hope for when vacationing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful house, great service

Review submitted: July 30, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

A+ on all counts. The house itself is beautiful, right on the ocean, great accomodations and everything was exactly as described. The owners were the most accomodating and easy to contact/deal with that I have ever experienced. Overall our stay and satisfaction with the house itself as well as the level of service provided by the owners could not possibly be better.

I would highly recommend this house without any hesitation to any of my friends as well as anyone looking to rent on homeaway.com. Thank you so much for everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Home,Great Views, Great Time

Review submitted: July 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Just wanted to share with you our appreciation for a fantastic time in your great beach home. The place was beautiful, very well kept. Views were amazing, the house was well appointed and very well stocked with everything we needed. Thank you for taking such great care of us. We will certainly be returning for another stay.

Thanks again,
Jonathan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review