reviews for: listing #41957 - Marco Island, Florida Condo rental

Beautifully Decorated Condo on the Beach at Apollo
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Apollo
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $85 - $175 /nt
    $600 - $1,100 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Vacation!!!

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

This was a Perfect Week! The condo was so very nice. The linen was yummy, and the entire condo was very clean and friendly. Everything we needed was provided. Our favorite part was the balcony that overlooked the beach and the ocean. It was an amazing place to enjoy our morning coffee and end our day there as well. The entire Apollo Complex was GREAT! The foyer was really pretty and tastefully decorated. The pool was heated to perfection and the hot tub was so nice. Everything was clean. The front desk staff were very professional and helpful. I would recommend this property to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

We had an amazing week staying at this condo. The condo was fresh and perfect. We so enjoyed sitting on the balcony and the view of the beach and ocean. The beach is beautiful. Pool is heated to perfection. Very friendly guests. Greatly appreciated the front desk staff. Very safe location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation !!!

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

This was such a delightful condo. The view was amazing from the balcony. We enjoyed our morning coffee sitting on the balcony and ended our day that way as well. The condo was clean and sweet. We had everything we needed. The beach was amazing and the pool was perfectly heated! Other guests at the Apollo were friendly and the front staff were so helpful and approachable. We really could have stayed longer!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review from the Netherlands

Review submitted: January 11, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this condo; swimming in the sea (in december!), enjoying beautiful sunsets, spotting dolphins while sitting on the balcony eating crab and drinking white wine.... living the good life!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

2 weeks on marco island

Review submitted: August 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

Beautifully decorated condo.. love all the extras that barbara put in the condo. I enjoyed 2 weeks of the most beautiful sunsets in the world here. Dolphins swimming right beside you in the water. I would recommend this stay for anyone wanting a nice nice relaxing spot to vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: It was a pleasure to rent to you. Thanks for taking the time to share such a nice review.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great time at Marco

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Great location, building management, unit,owner and fantastic views from balcony. Looking to come back next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fantastic View

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

We loved the view and the location. Quiet and very secure condo. Complex is very well maintained as is the condo.

We definitely will be going back. Best condo we've rented on Marco Island since we've been coming here.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

We spent two beautiful weeks in Barbar's condo. This is our fourth year at Apollo but our first year renting from Barbara so we have some experience with the Apollo. We feel this is the best unit we have rented. Everything was clean and in working order. The sunsets are fabulous and NeNees and Capri Fish House are our favorite restaurants. We have already booked for 3 weeks next year.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great condo right on the beach!

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

This was a perfect condo for my husband and I with a beautiful view of the Gulf and sunsets. We really appreciated that all household necessities were included (garbage bags, paper towels, dishwashing liquid etc.) The condo is in a great location with direct access to the beach and is very clean and comfortable. I would recommend making some meals at home as eating out everyday can quickly become expensive. There are lots of shopping and food options in the area. Really, I couldn't have asked for a better vacation and I will definitely return!
Edith & Mark

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Relaxation on Marco Island for Two

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

If you want a quiet, relaxing, and worry-free climate, this is the place. It is a small unit but perfect for a couple. It is tastefully decorated and located in a pristine location on the beach. Barbara is the owner and is very attentive to your needs; although everything being so perfect, we only contacted her on check-in and check out. It was exactly what I visioned, but more than I expected.
It was a daily event to see dolphins play in front of our unit at coffee time. The weather was beautiful the entire week. The swimming pool and Whirlpool got my attention every day; they are very clean and relaxing, as is the entire Apollo Complex. I will definetely recommend this place to my family and friends, and I definetely intend to return.
Davinci's Italian restaurant was a great place to eat.
I have stayed at many places the past 26 years while vacationing in Florida; from Clearwater Beach, Treasure Island, to Fort Myers Beach, and found Marco Island to be the most quiet and relaxing place I have visited.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Condo was great. Was like being at home, had all the conveniences . Hated to leave. The sunset grill which is in the condo building was a very nice place to eat. You can have dinner and watch the beautiful sunsets. There are a lot of restaurants that are walking distance. Barbara is a great person. She is very helpful and calls to make sure everything is okay with your stay. She even gives you suggestions on where to go. She suggested Snooks restaurant had good seafood and you can see the dolphins swim bye. Susies. Diner and Ne Ne's are good places for breakfast. Hope I get the chance to go again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

Everything about the vacation was perfect! The room was beautifully decorated, immaculately clean, and all amenities one could want were provided, including beach gear. Barbara was very helpful in providing everything needed and also great for recommending places to go to during the day/night - it was like we had our own personal tour guide! The balcony view is beautiful and the Sunset Grille connected to the condo offers great food and is a great beach bar. It is also in walking distance to quite a few great restaurants and shops all centrally located (Da Vinci for Italian, Nacho Mama's for Mexican, Captain Briens Raw Bar for seafood, which also is home to a great comedy club called Off The Hook, to name a few). All in all, a great vacation and we will definitely be back!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hazardeous to yourhealth!

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We had booked this condo months ago and we were excited to be going to Marco. We arrived Sat. afternoon, Desiree who works in the office of the Apollo showed us to the unit. Oh my God!! From the first step in it was the strongest most disgusting odor I have ever smelled.It was so strong it felt like your throat was closing up and you couldn't get a deep breath. I told Desiree that I have asthma and my husband has a lung condition that he has been treated for the last 4 years at Loyola Hospital in Chicago. We can't stay in a condo that is a hazard to your health. We talked to Desiree and Mark in the office, who were both very concerned and tried to find us a different condo to rent, But everything was booked.We went back into the condo and found 7 air freshners,some plug in. Took all of them out, opened all windows, turned on fans and tried to air it out, so we could sleep for the night. Meanwhile we had talked to Barbara a few times about the over powering smell. She didn't care, all she knew was we weren't going to get any of our money back. That is all that she was worried about. I called the Hilton down the street they said they could have a room ready for us By 11:00am Sunday. Not only were we to jeopardize our health but the condo is very uncomfortable, out of date, and tiny!!! It's like going back to 1960 or 70's! Apparently Barbara is trying to cover up so many odors.I don't think the condo is over 500 feet and she has enough air freshners for the entire building. Barbara didn't refund any of the money except my deposit, she must'nt care about anyone's health just the money!
It was an expensive one night stay for a condo that is like a low end motel! We are looking into further action because there was way to many air freshners for the square footageof this condo. The warning labels on the air freshners state how they are not to be used in large quantities in closed in spaces. I took pictures of all the fresners and the room sizes so any one cansee how dangerous this could be. It is one thing to take advantage of renting out something that it isn't it's totally something else when you jeopardize someone's health.

Owners response: I have owned this condo for over 15 years and most recently the past four years managing my own condo without the involvement of an outside agency. Since that time I have been consistently rented and my renters recommend me to others and most return again to rent the condo. My reviews from the past renters speak for themselves. The comments posted in this review are totally in contrast to the statements of my other guests.I respond immediately to all concerns of my guests. I offered to have a cleaner come in and remove the air fresheners, These fresheners create a very clean smell in the condo. There is no coverup; I use these scents at home. I obviously cared. I offered at my expense to have a service neutralize the scent. There are no carpets and there is a leather couch which does not absorb smells. These renters decided thy wanted to leave upon arrival and would not accept any of my interventions They checked out in less than 24 hrs. It was clear that the Hilton was their choice for accommodations and not my condo. I pride myself in my decor as a beach vacation resort. It is not a formal or corporate setting. My renters make this choice when they choose to rent. There is no misrepresentation of the condo. I have pictures posted on the site which clearly depict the decor in every area of the condo. My renters respond how much they love the decor. The condo is immaculate, maintained by a private service and is updated three times a year during each of my visits. I appreciate all the honest reviews and constructive comments which have been posted by my previous renters.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

A True Paradise

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

The condo was perfect for my husband and I,very clean and everything that you need is there, also nice decor.
The view is spectacular from the balcony, my favorites were the early mornings eating breakfast out on the balcony.
Barbara was so efficient in the arrangements and a pleasure to work with.
Condo within walking distance to some of the shops and restaurants.
Sunset Grill restaurant on the bottom of the condo had very good cocktails and the waitress Jill was very pleasant.
We did a lot of relaxing on the beach and swimming in the gulf.
The condo was very quiet and peacefull.
Our favorite place was CJ,s in the evenings at The Eplanade they have dancing every Thursday night and met alot of nice people there.
We did not want to come home, we hope to be back real soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Marco Island Experience

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Everything lived up to our expectations, we had the most awesome vacation. The condo was clean, cute, and provided everything we could have possibly needed and more. The Apollo itself is just a beautiful building and having the Sunset Grille downstairs was super convenient. Being right on Collier Blvd was great because you are close to everything, and the Apollo is only 4 buildings down from the tip on the beach which was great because there were lots of great little spots were you could have th point pretty much all to yourself. My morning walks/dolphin watching was probably one of my favorite passtimes...so surreal!! It really is just like paradise. I can't say enough good things about this place and our vacation. Absolutely NO complaints about anything. We are looking forward to making this our vacation destination every year from now on until I convince my husband to move me there permantley.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful spring break paradise!

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

This simply was a small piece of paradise. Location, facilities, decor, and people. The condo and all that is advertised is exactly what you get. Amazing sunsets, great shelling ( at far south end in rock pools), wonderful pool, bar and grill down stairs, and beach, beach, beach. It was so nice not to iron, do hair, or anything for that matter but, relax, tan, swim, and walk. My 7 year old and I had a very relaxing, fun, bonding time. We cannot wait to get back. We didn't drive, but several local places in waking distance. There is a bus, or A Class transportation for $6 anywhere on Island. They also had the cheapest car service to and from Ft Myeres Airport that I could find.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Marco Island condo

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

This condo had everything we could want for a perfect vacation on Marco Island. It is bright and clean, and the view out the balcony doors is spectacular. We got the best photos of the fantastic sunsets. Enjoyed walking the beach and collecting shells, and just relaxing on the balcony and listening to the ocean.
The owner, Barbara is a joy to work with and did a great job of providing a wonderful vacation spot. We would love to stay in this condo again.
Thanks Barbara.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: December 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 4, 2011

The owner was great to work with right from the start. She answered all my questions since this was a new experience for my wife and I. The weather was great the 1st week of December. Everyone we met at the condo complex was very pleasant and made you feel like you where the owner. The nice thing about this condo was that it was located on the south end of the beach so you had the whole way north to walk the beach. Not only that this complex was located close to the water where as farther down you had to walk a mile to get to the water from your condo. We where close enough to walk all over for restaurants.

The island was a great experience. Very clean.

I would not hesitate to go back and work with this owner. She supplied everything you needed for a comfortable stay. Very peaceful.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A piece of paradise

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

We came all the way from Denmark, Europe and found a little piece of
heaven. We enjoyed one week of relaxing, swimming, eating good food etc. and we felt like home from the first moment. The apartment was very nice and clean and the reception did a good job making us feel welcome. We say dolphins every day and the beachlife was very good. We also ejoyed playing tennis. We found everything we needed in the condo.
It´s a very nice place to go if you want to relax and enjoy the beachlife with children. We can - with all our hearts - recommend this condo. I only wished we could have stayed longer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Two weeks in Paradise

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

This cozy condo was spotlessly clean when we arrived and thoughtfully equipped with everything necessary for a relaxing beach vacation. It's perfect for two people. Since we both like to cook and don't get to very often because of our work schedules, we prepared quite a few meals in the condo and spent many enjoyable hours eating and drinking and enjoying the view. We also enjoyed several restaurants - Snook Inn, Nacho Mama's, Susie's Diner (for breakfast) and pizza from Vic's and Joey's. The view is incredible - when you walk into the living room, all you can see is sand and water. And the sunsets are breathtaking. The best part of our visit was dealing with the owner, Barbara. She was always available to respond quickly to any concerns we had - both before and during our vacation. Clearly she has given a great deal of thought to doing and providing everything her guests need for a most enjoyable beach vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

This was our best vacation ever! We stayed from May 6-15, 2011. The beach and sunsets are beautiful. We watched dolphins and manatees play every moring. Lots of activities available in the immediate areas. Excellent food..you must go to Snook's Inn! HAving the Sunset Grille right downstairs was nice. Excellent food with reasonable prices. We took a sunset cruise that was amazing also. Everything was provided at the condo..we only needed our clothes and personal items. The condo is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Best location on Marco Island! Everyone we met at the condo was very helpful and informative about Marco Island. The shelling was greatand right outside the condo...a few steps to the beach. We found lots of shells and 10 sand dollars! We are already planning a second vacation to this Marco Island condo to share the beauty with our 5 year old granddaughter. Thanks to Barbara for sharing this piece of heaven with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

This was our best vacation ever! The beach and sunsets are beautiful. We watched dolphins and manatees play every moring. Lots of activities available in the immediate areas. Excellent food..you must go to Snook's Inn! HAving the Sunset Grille right downstairs was nice. Excellent food with reasonable prices. We took a sunset cruise that was amazing also. Everything was provided at the condo..we only needed our clothes and personal items. The condo is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Best location on Marco Island! Everyone we met at the condo was very helpful and informative about Marco Island. The shelling was greatand right outside the condo...a few steps to the beach. We found lots of shells and 10 sand dollars! We are already planning a second vacation to this Marco Island condo to share the beauty with our 5 year old granddaughter. Thanks to Barbara for sharing this piece of heaven with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Outstanding!

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

We stayed at the condo from April 1-16, 2011. The owner was very accommodating and allowed us to come in a day earlier at no extra charge and e-mailed us that the people who were to come in on the 16th had a change of plans so we could stay longer. Every effort was made to provide us comfort and enjoyment. It is extremely evident that the condo has been decorated with loving care. Everything is immaculate and everything you could possibly need is provided. All appliances are new and so is the bedroom furniture. The dishes, glassware and cookery are absolutely immaculate.
However, the most important and amazing things of all are:
The sunset from the balcony ….. people come from everywhere and watch. When the sun disappears beyond the horizon everyone claps. It is so moving!
When the tide is high ….. (for us it was early morning) you can sit in the condo or better yet on the balcony and watch the dolphins diving for fish and playing.
The ocean, beach and shells are right out your door. Chairs, noodles and umbrellas are provided by the owner. You do not have to pack the car, drive and then drag everything to the nearest public beach.
The pool is perfect when you’ve have enough sun and still want to be outdoors, in shade, and have access to water.
The restaurant, located within Apollo has excellent lunches and dinners with reasonable prices. They also willingly and pleasantly provide you with quarters for the washer and drier when the exchange machine is down.
Most of all, not only is this location one of the best on the island, EVERYONE we came in contact with was exceeding friendly and informative.

Oh, by the way, we have already taken March 17-31, 2012. Sorry!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place! Great location! Great value!

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

My wife and I spent a glorious weekend at this fantastic condo celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversay - year. We had a blast. the location is fabulous, the view is unbeleivable and the sunsets are memorable. We defintely plan to come back. Great for beach walks and lots of shops within walking distance. A great place and owners were very accomodating. Look ofrward to a return trip -- soon!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Location on the Island

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: January 19, 2011

This is absolutley the best location on Marco! The beach right outside the door, this condo has EVERYTHING you need. Beach chairs, towels etc. Beautifully decorated, CLEAN, and very comfortable. Gym and restaurant right downstairs. The sunsets are incredible! I would recommend this condo to everyone. There is nothing more relaxing than laying on the balconey listening to the waves below you! I CAN'T WAIT TO RETURN!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best Location on the Island

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: January 19, 2011

This is absolutley the best location on Marco! The beach right outside the door, this condo has EVERYTHING you need. Beach chairs, towels etc. Beautifully decorated, CLEAN, and very comfortable. Gym and restaurant right downstairs. The sunsets are incredible! I would recommend this condo to everyone. There is nothing more relaxing than laying on the balconey listening to the waves below you! I CAN'T WAIT TO RETURN!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful week, Great Condo

Review submitted: January 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

As we walked into the condo the view took our breathe away. The ocean view from the balcony was wonderful. You can hear the waves while eating breakfast. The week was a great relaxing get away for my husband and I. The condo was very clean and had extras like, WiFi, printer, beach chairs, microwave, extra blankets, extra beach towels and a great view. The resturants are within walking distance. We walked the beach every morning and night. The sunset grill located on the condo property had great food and drink. Perfect vacation for couples and families. I will definetly go again!! I recommend this condo to all my family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Stunning View

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 12, 2010

Stunning view, breathtaking sunsets, dolphins. Very nice, clean condo equipped with all you need for vacation. You do not need to leave the condo (balcony) to feel like sitting at the beach :-) We truly enjoyed Marco Island - even off-season. Very nice place to stay. Will definately come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: thank you so much for the positive comments. I take all comments seriously and continuously strive to maintain a clean and totally equipped condo.I must agree that evenings on the balcony connecting with the beach, water and sun are breathtaking.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing Getaway!!!

Review submitted: October 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

This unit had everything you needed for a perfect vacation. The view is breathtaking and you don't need to go far to enjoy the sunset!! Each and every day we also got to enjoy the dolphins swimming by. Loved having the pool and beach right outside the door, also enjoyed the restaurant located on the first floor. The owner of this unit was a pleasure to work with. Looking forward to going back in 2011!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beautiful View

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

Amazing View from your balcony, sit back relax and watch the beautiful sunset. Direct access to the beach, just walk right out the back door. The chairs are provided, so their is no need to rent any beach supplies! Condo is in walking distance to the movies, shops, restaurants, and bars. This unit has many upgrades such as WIFI, printer (for your boarding pass convience), and flat screen TV's. This unit is beautifully decorated, and spotlessly clean! A great relaxing vacation is guranteed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

apollo 602

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

This unit had everything you would want on a vacation. It was clean, well maintianed and the owner was extremely accomodating. It was a pleasure to work with this owner. The view from the balcony and the sunsets nightly are breathtaking. I would highly recommend this unit. All units are individually owned.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review