reviews for: listing #41980 - Waikiki, Hawaii Studio rental

Waikiki Diamond Extremely Delightful Spectacular Ocean View
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $665 - $850 /wk

sort by:

Great condo in the midst of Waikik

Review submitted: April 6, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

We really enjoyed Hilary's lovely condo. Such great value, with a wonderful view from our spacious balcony on 39th floor. The condo is lovely and clean with great detail given to provide everything that one needs for a great stay. We loved the location, especially having Ross's Dress for Less on the next block. We think that Hilary's condo is great value, and hope to stay again on our next trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Day In Paradise

Review submitted: December 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 28, 2013

This is the Best little Condo ever. Me and my Partner BABS stayed here in August and WE DID NOT WANT TO LEAVE! Everything WAS AWESOME! Hilary is Great! The Amenities are Awesome all you need is your clothes and bathing suit everything else is furnished. We will be back in 2014 and will be staying at Hilary's little slice of Paradise. I Highly Recomend this little condo. IT HAS EVERYTHING! AWESOME VIEWS!! Comfortable Beds just everything is AWESOME!! CHECK IT OUT I promise you won't be dissapointed.. SEE YA IN 2014 HILARY!! MAHALO PLENTY!!
PAM & BABS!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Safe, Serene, Beautiful & Clean!!

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

My stay in Waikiki was such a pleasure! Immediately upon arrival to the condo, I noticed the cleanliness of the unit and the breathtaking view from the balcony. I plopped down in one of the chairs on the balcony and did not want to move for the first 3 hours. It was much more than I expected. I could see Waikiki beach, city skyline, Ala Wai canal, Diamond Head and the golf course! Whenever I return to Hawaii, I will stay here. It is such a jewel. The owner Hilary provided everything that I needed for any activity on the island. I'm very happy that I chose this property. If you select this location, you won't regret it. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clean and great location

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

Very clean and well maintained. we were concerned about the location but it is a very central location. In fact an excellent location. A short one block walk to the International Market and about 10 minutes to the beach. Scenic views from the Lanai. The pool area was spacious and nicer than the pictures provided. The fitness centre was also decent...better than most hotels. Only negatives are the elevators are very slow and at times it seems like only one elevator is working. And parking is expensive ($25.00 over night). Overall a great rental unit. We would stay there again and we would recommend it to anyone staying in Waikiki. The service was excellent. Hilary easily answered all our questions.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Aloha, Thank you for the review! A note about elevators: The parking elevators are slow, and during times of the day that all elevators are not used much, some elevators are put out of use to save energy by having more people share same elevator which makes it slower because of more floor stops. The elevators other than parking elevators are actually very fast and because unit is on 39th floor, there are usually some stops on your way which does slow elevator travel somewhat. Parking costs are high all over Waikiki, and I have read in the guest book that some guests take the time to find alternative street parking to save parking fees. There is a rental car agency right in the building; Enterprise on the ground floor. Many guests take a hotel shuttle to and from airport and rent a car from Enterprise right in the building only when a car is needed to avoid parking fees when a car is not needed. The city bus system is very easy to use and goes to all attractions, so many guests save on parking fees by using the bus. There is much to see and do around Waikiki within walking distance. Mahalo, Hilary

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

stay

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2013

We found this condo to be great value for money. The view was amazing being on the 39th floor. The studio had everything we needed and more. It was extremely clean, we had plenty of extra linen, beds were comfortable, the outside area was very big and it was lovely sitting out there anytime of day or night. We were right in the centre of Waikiki, close to everything. We slept with the door open and never had to use the air conditioning. We had no complaints and communication with Hilary was always prompt. I have no hesitation to recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect condo in Waikiki with breathtaking views

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

We stayed in this beautiful condo for 5 nights in October. The location is really perfect, close to lots of stores, restauraunts, beach and bus lines. You don't need a car on Oahu, as the busses go everywhere on the island and are very reliable. The interior of the condo was very well maintained and had everything we needed including beach gear, such as chairs, boogie boards etc. But the best part of all is the spectaclurar view from the 39th floor. You can watch the sunrise and also the sunset over Waikiki. And at night you see the thousands of lights below you! We really enjoyed our stay there and would definetly go back anytime. Hilary was very easy and reliable to deal with and responded to all our questions very fast!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing views during day and night

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

We stayed in this beautiful condo for 5 nights in October. The location is really perfect, close to lots of stores, restauraunts, beach and bus lines. You don't need a car on Oahu, as the busses go everywhere on the island and are very reliable.

The interior of the condo was very well maintained and had everything we needed including beach gear, such as chairs, boogie boards etc.

But the best part of all is the spectaclurar view from the 39th floor. You can watch the sunrise and also the sunset over Waikiki. And at night you see the thousands of lights below you! We really enjoyed our stay there and would definetly go back anytime.

Hilary was very easy and reliable to deal with and responded to all our questions very fast!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!! Couldn't Ask For Any Better!!

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

This condo made it perfect for my first vacation to Hawaii. It is perfectly located. It's located near bus lines, major hot spots, and near fabulous restaurants. The condo its self has everything you could need. All the beach gear needed, along with all needed kitchen gear, and long with amazing pillows. It's Hawaiian charm is the best part. My first morning is something I will never forget, you wake up to the sunrise over Diamond Head and the sunset of the ocean. I will defiantly be returning on my next vacation in Hawaii. Thanks Hilary!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!....Again!

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at Hilary's rental and yet again, everything was perfect! On our last visit we stayed almost 3 weeks and this time we only stayed for 1 week. I cannot say enough about the apartment. The location is so close to everything. It is within walkable distance to any spot on Waikiki and is centrally located to any point on the island! It is extremely clean and the beds and pillows are so comfy. The kitchen is equipped with anything you may need to cook with! The view is to die for! Waking up to Diamond Head every morning is so breathtaking and peaceful. There wasn't one night this year or last, that we slept with the air conditioner on. The smell of Hawaiian air was so refreshing! She has anything you may need for a day at the beach including beach towels, beach rolling cart, bamboo mats and coolers. The apartment is safe too requiring all guests/owners to have a lobby key just to enter the property. There are so many restaurants within walking distance just minutes away! Including a FABULOUS Korean restaurant about 60 seconds from the building! So if you're looking for something centrally located, affordable, safe and clean with breathtaking views...look no further! This is your place. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did! Aloha!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Breakfast with the ocean, dinner with the stars

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

Yes, this apartment is well provided with everything you need, but the real charm is not only the Hawaiian touch in the decoration but also the outside living space on the lanai with a great view, day or night; it adds a whole dimension to the experience. It is also extremely well situated and there is a convenience store, a pool and a hot tub we can use. You will not find any better setting for a great holiday.
Suzanne

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Excellent Value/Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 6, 2011

My wife and I found this to be a very comfortable and convenient place to stay in Waikiki.
We traveled all around the island and found that the city bus stop, the Waikiki trolly, or pick-up locations for various tours were within a five minute walk of the unit.
Also convenient to the International Marketplace and the Food Pantry (least expensive grocery store within walking distance,)
The owner has also supplied all the "necessaries" you need for the beach.
We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Alternative to Hotel Room

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2011

We have stayed in Honolulu before in Hotel rooms, this is much nicer...Hilary has provided everything you need. The apartment has spectacular views, eat on balcony and kitchenette - what more do you need? We would happily stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

We love to stay in your condo.
We really felt the hawaian (ohana) spirit and hospitality what made us came back a second time to stay another month in your condo.
* The luxury view from Lanai made all our meals: breakfast, lunch and dinner-VERY special- like in the restaurant.
* Fully equipped kitchen was a huge help.
* Of course, the location is the winner- right in the middle of everything- beaches,food and entertainments.
Thank you very much. The stay was excellent-very busy with lots of festivals, parades and etc, more hula and rock bands in September compare to last year in October.
Mahalo!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything was PERFECT!

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

My family and I stayed in Hilary's rental for 16 days and everything was PERFECT! The condo had everything and anything you could think of. It was like a home away from home. The kitchen had everything you needed to prepare meals and there was a closet on the lanai that had anything you would need for a day at the beach. i.e. snorkeling gear, boogie board, beach chairs, a beach rolling cart, coolers, etc.

The rental has the most AMAZING view EVER! Waking up every morning to Diamond Head was breathtaking and having meals on the lanai was so enjoyable! The apartment was VERY clean and completely safe! We slept with the windows open every night. There is also a store that is located on the 6th floor that sells anything you may need. Washer and dryers are also located on that floor as well.

The location of the apartment is one of the things I liked best (other than how clean and safe it was). Waikiki beach is less than a 5 minute walk and is only 2 blocks away. The International Marketplace is maybe a 2 minute walk and Kalaukaua (which is THE strip in Waikiki) is only a 2 minute walk as well! There are also plenty of restaurants and shops right outside. Staying in the heart of Waikiki allows you to travel to all of the different parts of island and stay centrally located.

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 sons which are 10 & 8 years old and it was perfect. We were rarely in the room, but when we were it was plenty spacious for us all.

Thank you Hilary for allowing us to stay at your apartment! I would HIGHLY recommend anyone to stay here! We are planning to return in 3 years and I wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

MaryJane of New York

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

I highly enjoyed my stay at your condo. The view was fantastic. The room was spotless. It had all the toys you could want for the beach.

You can't go wrong with renting this property. The balcony was quite spacious for entertaining.

You'll be the envy of your guest.

Thanks alot Hilary.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: December 13, 2008

Dec 13 2008
Thanks for letting us stay in this great accommodation. Its so close to everything and the views enabled us to pick our daily schedule from the window!
Its great to stay in a clean, safe & wonderfully equipt apartment. We'll certainly reccomend it to our friends.
Thanks Again
Ali, Dane & James (6 months!)
Canada

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Aloha & Mahalo

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 24, 2009

Feb 24 2009
Hilary
We have really enjoyed being here on Oahu and in your beautiful home away from home. The condo is so cute and had everything we possibly needed. The large lanai provided us us with great views and comfort (loved your furniture out there). Wish we could take home your beautiful quilts. Again thanks so much for everything, we had a great time!
Aloha & Mahalo
Maureen & Horrace Whitmore
US

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Stay has been great!

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2009

March 20 2009
Our stay in Honolulu has been great.
We've taken in museums:The Honolulu Academy of Arts and the Contemporary Museum. Both have fabulous collectionsand nice cafes. Been to Chinatown, heard some jazz (Dan was able to sit in!) at Chuck's Cellar and lots of people watching in Waikiki.
We went everywhere on the bus - it was easy and convenient.
Weather was windy! Up on the 39th floor the wind howled and the walls shook - very dramatic,
Loved watching the sunrises over Diamond Head. We'll be back!! Thanks so much!
Jane Robinson & Dan Chinn
Portland Oregon

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 9, 2009

March 9 - 16, 2009
We really enjoyed our stay here-our 1st time in Hawaii. The city lights at night was 'wow' and being so close to a rainbow!!
It had all the comforts of home and in a grfeat location. Thank you for letting share it with us
Daniel & Rosemary Munoz

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

March 2009
Thank you for the stay in this great condo!! This is our 2nd time here in Hawaii + we loved it 10x more because we had such a great place to stay. We'll be back soon everything was wonderful!
Thanks again
Jen + Erv Cutright
Seattle Washington

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 11, 2009

April 11, 2009
Thank you we had a wonderful stay in your condo. It was very well equipt with all required.
Didn't spend much time in it though. Oahu is too beautiful & much to see. Spent the 3 days here exploring all of the coast line and a little of the interior.
Thank you
The Maslinski Family
New York, USA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2009

March 23 - 29, 2009
Thank you for affording us the opportunity of occupying your lovely accommodation. We found them to be quite comfy. The location was perfect and close to shopping etc.;and finally the view was exquisite. We will cherish the time here forever.
Mr & Mrs Katz
Fort Myers, FL

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Magnificent!

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2009

April 16-19, 2009
Hilary,
You are truly the best!!
This place is as beautiful as I had envisioned. All your special touches make it the perfect get away. Love the furniture, the back splash, and modern amenities. The view speaks for itself MAGNIFICENT. There was nothing more we could have wished for. Thank you for making it possible for my mother, Christian, and I to attend my nephews wedding. This was the perfect weekend. My final words in the tradition of HGTV it's location, location, location this place has got it all!!
Love and Blessings
The Edwards Ohana

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 12, 2009

April 12 - 16 2009
We had a wonderful vacation and it was easy with 2 small kids thanks to this 'home away from home'!
We loved the location and the view- it was perfcect for a short stay - in my 7 yr old's words - The best vacation ever!
Thanks
Bhatter family
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Many Thanks

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

May 1 - 28 2009
Hilary,
Many Thanks for a most enjoyable month. The views are spectacular. It has been a restful & productive (writing) experience.
Any time you would like to trade with me in Palm Springs please communicate.
Mahalo,
Bill Liversidge
Palm Springs/Australia

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Aloha!

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2008

09/04/2008
Aloha! MAHALO for giving us the possibility to stay in your nice accommodation. Your apartment has all the convenience we needed for having a wonderful time in Waikiki.
The beach is very close as well as the shopping facilities & maybe you have the best view of the sunrise in entire Honolulu.
We're very sad to leave today. We've had a wonderful time. It was our best vacation ever. We will never forget.
Michael & Anja
(Germany)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mahalo Hilary!

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2008

Mahalo Hillary! We can't thank you enough. This is our home away from home. It has been great to sit and watch the paddlers, since I am not suppose to do anything due to surgery. And as the first guests I celebrated my birthday here too. We walked a couple of blocks down into Waikiki to Cheesecake Factory uhmmm uhmmm good! Close to great shopping. Can't say enough about our stay other than we know who to call for our next trip to Oahu. Thanks again.
The Dhegoes Alex, Sandy and Brittney

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great week high up

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 18, 2010

This studio was a great choice for one week in Waikiki. It has everything one needs - convenience and comfort.The studio is in immaculate condition, contains all kinds of extras (like beach equipment)and is exactly as the owner describes it. The owner and the manager are both extremely pleasant and accommodating people to deal with - I couldn't ask for better treatment. The location is as described within a few blocks of restaurants, food outlets, shopping, public transportation etc. The entire building is also to be recommended - pleasant people in elevators and even the security people at the entrance are friendly and polite. As for the insect problem mentioned in other reviews, the one thing I marveled at was that I never saw even one bug, not even a housefly, the entire week I was the there. A few beautiful little birds came to sing for me during brunch on the lanai, but that was about it for the natural world - except for the amazing view, exactly as in the photo.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

First time visit to Oahu

Review submitted: January 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 13, 2010

My husband and I travelled to Oahu for a family members wedding, and we couldn't have picked a more perfect location to stay.
We crossed referenced several sites getting info on the Aqua Island Colony building, and we would stronly DISAGREE with some of the rewiews stating that the building was dirty, unkept, and infested with bugs. Our suite was just as the owner had indicated, spotless, truely our home away from home.
This suite had everything that you would need for a beach getaway, beach chairs, snorkel gear, umbrella, boogie boards, beach coolers, and SO MUCH more!
The pictures of this suites lanai really don't do it justice, as we feel, that this condo had the best seized lanai and view, in ALL of Waikiki.
Although you are not right on the beach, be aware that if you choose a place right on the beach, you may have convenient access, but you are also right close Kalakaua Ave., which is the main strip in Waikiki, which at night can be very busy and noisy! The street blocks in Waikiki are NOT that terribly long, from this condo near the canal, it really only is a 3-5 min walk to the beach!

If we were to return to Waikiki, we would without hesitation choose the very same accommodations!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I also read some reviews of the Island Colony that were written some years ago about the building being dirty and having bugs. I have only been an owner since 2006 so I do not know what it was like previously. I have never seen a bug and the whole building is kept quite clean and has been consistently maintained and upgraded since I have been an owner. I also know that there is mandatory pest control and the entire building including all condo/apartments are treated every 3 months.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review