reviews for: listing #42053 - Santa Monica, California Studio rental

Reduced Rates! Charming Cottage 5 Min to Beach
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $165 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,100 /wk

sort by:

Lovely Cottage!

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

Great Place! Everything was just as described. Loved being able to use the bike. Owner was very nice and quick to respond. Nice location and quiet neighborhood. I used public transportation during my stay and the bus stops were within walking distance of the cottage. Loved being able to use the washer and dryer during my stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming!

Review submitted: June 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Not getting around to this review has been bothering me for six months! Me and my two teenage daughters stayed here last summer. It was just awesome.

I was so impressed with the bottle of wine to greet us, the sweet and private little backyard, the quietness of the neighborhood, and the accessibility to everything, including the beach.

The cottage was the best part of our Santa Monica stay. I wouldn't recommend for more than 3 people, but it was perfect for us.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Charming Cottage!

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 28, 2013

We loved our stay in LA. Beethoven's Cottage was perfect - great location, well equipped and very comfortable & clean. We were given great maps & we could bike almost everywhere (bikes come with the rental. We highly recommend this cozy cottage!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Highly Recommended

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 16, 2013

Great rental! Very clean, quiet, and comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great vacation place.

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

The cottage description was accurate. The yard was wonderfull! It smelled great with the flowers blooming and the lemon and orange tree. The cottage was clean. It was a quiet area. Would recommend to family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place to Stay. The yard smelled so GOOD!

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

The cottage description was accurate. It was clean. Would recommend to friend and family. The yard smelled so good, the flowers, lemon and orange tree was wonderful! Would stay again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Location!

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

We stayed at this lovely bachelor apartment for five days and found it an ideal proximity to Venice Beach and Santa Monica. We were able to easily catch public transportation to and from LAX as well as to Hollywood and Universal Studios. Our favorite part of the vacation was the availability of bikes that came with the apt. We loved biking to both Venice and Santa Monica along the fantastic boardwalk taking in all the sights, shopping and the beach. The apt is quiet, clean and close to Albetrson's and Costco as well as restaurants. With the bikes everything was easily accessible. James is very personable and will answer all inquiries promptly.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great little find!

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

If you're looking for a large space, then this cottage isn't for you. If you're looking for a cozy, charming place that has everything you need, then this has your name on it. We were very comfortable, and only wish the weather was a bit warmer so we could have spent more time in the garden - truly lovely and relaxing. The only downside is that the driveway is quite narrow, so driving in and out (especially out) can be quite challening. Luckily, there is on-street parking.

I hope we have the opportunity to stay again someday. Thank you, James!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beethoven's Bungalow in Santa Monica

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2012

We loved the little cottage! It is a sweet, charming retreat in a lovely neighborhood. It is close to Venice Beach and convenient to Santa Monica. Parking was no problem, we were always able to find street parking. The small backyard retreat was delightful and we opened our doors every evening to enjoy the fountains and cool breezes.

Things to consider: The entire place is small, about the size of the average hotel room. You can see this if you look at the pictures so we were not surprised. It does not have air conditioning but this made us open it up and enjoy the backyard. We did not really need AC during our stay. We were not aware that many places in LA do not have air conditioning because it is usually not needed.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful!!!!!

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

The cottage was a wonderful place for a first time visit to the area. The location was perfect, many restaurants and plenty of places to see. James was great to work with, and has put together an awesome directory of places to see, restaurant recommendations, and general info. The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped. Sometimes the little things like having all the necessary supplies are overlooked by other places I've rented, but James has this place well stocked. Nice benefit. The cottage was also very clean and inviting in all ways.

Will defintely book this cottage for future trips to the area.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming!

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

What a great little place - great location for all of Los Angeles and surrounding areas. We really enjoyed the little courtyard - shady and serene, great for relaxing and reading. The full kitchen is really an added bonus. There is a Costco and an Albertsons right down the street and a Starbucks close by. We really enjoyed our stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This cottage is HEAVENLY!

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

I have been staying at Beethoven's cottage for the last month and words can't begin to describe how wonderful my stay has been! The property is warm, welcoming, & cozy. The yard is beautiful with lush flowers, fruit trees, & fountains- a perfect oasis in the heart of LA! As a single woman I feel very safe in the neighborhood- I often bike or walk to the beach and local restaurants and shops. The cottage is steps away from the bus line as well as a Marathon Car Rental which has worked out wonderfully when I've had visitors. James is WONDERFUL! He is very helpful & goes above and beyond to make sure you feel right at home!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Small but comfortable

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

The cottage was perfect for our needs. The location was not as convenient as I was led to believe. The owner did not provide us with the correct entry code and therefore we were locked out upon arrival at 2:00am. This was scary and very inconvenient. He was very apologetic. Refund for damage deposit was late in coming as canadian dollar refund is not available through the regular proceedure.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Wonderful place, great location

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

Thanks for all your generosity and help to make our stay a wonderful experience, James. The info notebook was a nice touch to make us feel extra special. And the use of the bikes was just what we wanted– a leisurely trip around town. Hats off to a terrific place and host!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic Home Base for Southern California Adventure

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

We stayed here for four nights, and couldn't have asked for better accommodations. The cottage had everything we needed, and more. It was easy to hop on the highway and explore Southern California. We covered ground from San Diego to Santa Barbara, and loved coming "home" to such a great place at the end of the day. We enjoyed the quiet and privacy that the cottage offered, and would recommend it to anyone.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A Humble Abode

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

This cottage is a fantastic place to setup amongst an LA trip. The location is close to everything, allows for effortless strolls to the beach and ready access to bus systems. For anyone who has ever visited LA, they know that this is a major plus! The owner was incredibly helpful and the cottage is just a comfortable and easy living arrangement.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The perfect destination

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

My daughter and I arrived in the Santa Monica area for the first time and stayed in this lovely cottage. We were greeted by the owner and given lots of helpful information to find our way around. The cottage was very clean with plenty of space for us. The bed was very comfortable all of the amenities that we needed were here! There is also a peaceful back yard with an incredible lemon tree to flavor our tea! We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Just as promised; quiet and charming.

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 3, 2012

Spent a week there with my daughter on spring break. Cottage was clean, quiet, private, safe. All in good working order. Comfy bed and linens. Excellent internet, cable etc. A good home base. I'd reccomend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Everything you need in a lovely location

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 19, 2012

I stayed 19/02 - 26/02/12. The studio was perfect for me; it felt safe, clean and had everything I needed in one lovely package. Nice to have a full kitchen with all pots and utensils as a cheaper option from eating out too. I particularly enjoyed grinding the coffee beans and using the coffee machine each morning! I was here on business so the internet connection was very important and it was very reliable, didn't cut off once and was fast. There is also a phoneline which gave me an option for free incoming calls. Overall, a lovely stay and I hope to return for a holiday in the near future and enjoy it properly.

Have to say, James was a great too, very helpful and nothing too much trouble. Would highly recommend the cottage!

Natalie (Manchester, England)

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Beethoven Cottage Review

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

Arrived at the cottage on Friday afternoon at 4:00pm to check in. The cottage was not ready as they had been doing quite a bit of remodeling in the days leading up to our arrival. James, the owner was apologetic and explained that he would need 30-45 minutes longer in order to ready the cottage. He suggested we go get something to drink and a bite to eat and to bring the receipt back so he could pay for it, which is what we did. The cottage was great - exactly as described. Very cozy and quaint. The bed was super comfortable and there is more than enough room for two, with a full kitchen, full size closet, and also a small sitting area. The outdoor space was very relaxing and beautiful. Only two small complaints really. First, there was a fine dust on most everything there because of the renovations and I believe that would not normally be the case. Second, the shower hot water did not stay hot for very long. My wife had to keep turning the water off while showering in order to have enough. All in all though, I would highly recommend this place. For the price, it can't be beat. We definitely plan to stay here in the future when we return to Southern California. Just one other thing, James, the owner was most gracious while we were there. Giving directions, telling the history of the house, and answering all questions. He was a real pleasure, as was the cottage.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Cozy place to rest your head!

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

My wife and I just rented this adorable cottage during our stay in LA and could not have been happier with our choice. It is cozy, efficient and has everything you could need for a comfortable stay away from home. The Tempurpedic bed is heavenly and the back patio is blossoming with oranges and lemons. James is very attentive and even provides bicycles for a ride to the beach - where we spent alot of our time! We wish we were still there! Thanks James!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Tranquil studio

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 27, 2010

Peaceful, secluded well-equipped studio. Nice garden. Shops nearby, beach a few blocks (approx 1.5 mls), good access to coast road for beaches and airport.

Owner v helpful

Recommended

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Sweet little well-appointed cottage.

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

My husband and I, plus our four yr-old and 7 month old, spent two nights over Thanksgiving at the cottage. It was perfect for our needs, although definitely a tight fit with the air mattress inflated. For us, it was great because we really just needed a quiet place to sleep and get ready in the mornings. Stocked with all the basics, plus coffee and a bottle of wine (a sweet gesture from the owner), it was a perfect retreat from the otherwise hectic Thanksgiving celebration we were attending. The garden is lovely. We were a bit sad to not be able to park in the driveway (well-explained prior to rental, so it wasn't a surprise) because parking was a little tight the night of Thanksgiving. Otherwise it was perfect for our needs and we would definitely stay there again if the need and opportunity arose.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

UK traveler

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 4, 2011

The cottage was comfortable with everything one could want these days: WiFi,
cable TV, kitchen etc. Slightly more cluttered than my taste and the narrow
street outside for parking was a hassle especially on garbage nights.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Thanks for your comments Rob! While certain people might prefer more blank space in the home, the vast majority of our guests LOVE the details and art objects that make it feel like a European cottage (which is what we love, too!) If one ever finds it difficult to park on Sunday evenings (the night before the city trash collection) we are more than happy for them to park in our driveway instead!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Cosy Cottage!

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

We arrived late to ‘Beethoven cottage’, but were welcomed by a very ‘cosy’ bed sit and a bottle of wine waiting for us on the table! Up to this point James had been very accommodating and extremely helpful in answering any questions we had. The booking process was quick and easy, which was a welcome break from some of the laborious systems that we have had to endure with other VRBO rentals. The cottage itself was very self-contained and had everything you need for a short stay. The garden area was nice and relaxing in the evening and the area was actually very quiet given its nearby location to the beach. We drove here and the only difficulty was finding parking on an evening (as the street side gets very busy). However, we did manage and there are always a few spots a couple of blocks away. We actually walked to Venice beach and then onto Santa Monica, but it is a long walk! I would recommend a short drive down and to check out some of the nice cafés on ‘Abbot Kinney’ road before walking along the promenade. James provides an extensive wealth of information in the cottage and we found his maps extremely useful. All in all, given the very reasonable cost we were very pleased with our two night stay here and would recommend to others…..Jonathan and Melissa

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming Weekend Cottage

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

My girlfriend and I had a great romantic weekend at James's cottage. The place was cozy and had everything you could ask for, with Abbot Kinney just a short walk away.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cozy and Convenient

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

This cottage is clean, well maintained, and in a very nice quiet area close to the ocean, walking distance to restaurants and convenient to LAX, Santa Monica Pier and downtown LA.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic Experience!

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

We spent two weeks last July and we had a great time! Wonderful location, great price, great facilities, high speed internet, cable tv, lovely garden, and very clean and cozy. I had to do some work while I was in L.A and the internet connection was perfect for my needs. We went to the beach in the mornings, did some cycling around santa monica, and had a great time. James recommended us great places to have breakfast and dinner, including what I think is the best pizza I ever had! James, many thanks for everything, we'll definitely be back some time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Everything you need

Review submitted: September 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 2, 2010

I stayed at this cottage with a friend for a couple of days and it was perfect for our needs. The cottage was clean, comfortable and in a central location that allows you to easily get to where you need to go in LA. The owner, James, is delightful and very helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved coming "home" to your cozy house

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

Dear James, we just arrived at home a few days ago and really enjoyed our holiday trip.
We had a truly pleasant stay at the Beethoven Bungalow and loved coming "home"
into your cozy house after spending exciting days in Los Angeles. Thanks a
lot - also for always having good answers to our questions.

Whenever you are in Germany - you are welcome to Hannover!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

We stayed 4 nights in the Beethoven Cottage beginning 3/12/2010, and had a wonderful time. The studio and kitchen were perfect for what we wanted. Parking on the street was plentiful and we were centrally located to our destinations and had easy access to highways. James was very attentive to our minor needs, and spent quite a bit of his personal time providing guidance for the various activities we had planned. We particuliarly liked the fast WiFi connection and the HD TV. We would highly recommend this cottage and definitely plan to return as soon as we can.
Wes and Frances from East TN.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

Hello James, thank you for your kind email and more importantly, thank you for being such a great host!! We thoroughly enjoyed the visit and the accommodations. The Bungalow worked perfectly for us. We have already spread the word among our friends and relatives, so who knows, you may get some referrals!!! Thanks again and hope to see you on the next visit. Have a great summer!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

I recently had the opportunity to stay at both the Dacha in th Sky apartment as well as the Beethoven Bungalow cottage. They were both unique and very nice homes away from home. Thank you James for the wonderful retreat.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: December 23, 2009   Date of arrival: December 23, 2009

The cottage was immaculate and well decorated. The
owner was great to deal with. 15 minutes from LAX
and so convenient to Venice and Santa Monica. There
is a great bakery right around the corner.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 20, 2009   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

The Bungalow on Beethoven is just the right size for 2. It's homey, quaint and has a "feel" of old CA. We totally enjoyed our stay. Just minutes from Venice Beach, shopping, neighnborhood eateries and the Boardwalk. Don't miss this delightful escape for 2 in CA. Thanks, James, for a wonderful stay!
Anni & Ralph
Anne & Ralph Purpura,
North Richland Hills, Texas

817-891-3676

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: April 4, 2009   Date of arrival: April 4, 2009

Beethoven's bungalow was perfect, exactly what we wanted. Unlike some places that I have rented online, the bungalow truly is captured in the photos - it is light and bright, full of cheer! Whether we stayed in an enjoyed the garden or went sight-seeing, it was a fabulous home base for our week in LA. James was a wonderful person to rent from, full of information on where to shop, eat and best of all, how to avoid the freeway traffic. I can't wait to stay there again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 22, 2008   Date of arrival: August 22, 2008

“We are a couple from Budapest who stayed at the Bungalow for one month and absolutely loved it. It is warm and cozy and secure and all the conveniences are there. Especially we liked the full kitchen and the patio that looks out onto the backyard and the fruit trees. We felt like we were staying in a French country cottage! Thank you, James. We are recommending this to our friends!” - Geza and Silvia Bartucz, Budapest, Hungary +36 (1) 237-1525

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 3, 2008   Date of arrival: August 3, 2008

“It was delightful staying in the Bungalow -- I sure miss your comfy retreat. I absolutely feel refreshed -- if only I could have stayed longer!” -- Constance Pace Pacific Palisades, CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 5, 2008   Date of arrival: July 5, 2008

“James has such a cute cottage. It’s large enough for two people to live comfortably, and cozy enough to feel warm and homey. I have rented other apartments from James in the past and this is one of my favorites. It was clean and neat and welcoming and also conveniently located to shops and restaurants and the beach. I especially enjoyed the the backyard garden and fruit trees and of course the patio, where I spent lots of time catching up on my reading in peace and quiet. What a lovely vacation hideaway.” - Patricia Hamilton, New York, NY

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review