reviews for: listing #42125 - Seal Beach, California Apartment rental

Enjoy Ocean & Island Views from Your Private 25x12ft Deck! C
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Old Town Seal Beach
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $95 - $333 /nt
    $1,218 - $1,715 /wk
    $3,150 - $5,460 /mth

sort by:

Amazing Honeymoon

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

My husband and I came for honeymoon and was blown away. When we arrived our hosts had a fruit basket and a bottle of wine for us. They were full of info on things to do and great deals. Kelly had sent us lists of info before we arrived including Groupon deals. The place is amazing with a huge deck that is great to BBQ on and listen to the ocean. A few blocks away from Main Street that has cute shops and great restaurants. A very short walk to the beach. It was fun to use the beach cruisers down to the pier. When we left we had friends and will definatly be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Hot Rod Grammy

Review submitted: June 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

The Seal Beach Guest House is conveniently located one block from the beach, and three short blocks to the Pier and Main Street where cafes, bars, boutiques, variety stores are located. The house deck is perfect for morning coffee, sunbathing and a view of the ocean. It is clean and all appliances and utensils are included freely. Bicycles, paddle boards, a bar-b-q, toys are provided. The Hosts
always make you feel welcome and are available 24-7 for any needs you might have.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great weekend getaway!

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

Great little place. We walked to everything. Very relaxing and great restaurants up and down main street.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation in a quiet oceanfront home

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We stayed in Seal Beach for 3 nights enjoying every minute of our stay. Randy and Kelly were great hosts taking very good care of us. A minute walk to the beach. Seal Beach is a quiet beach community with cozy surroundings. We came with an almost teenage boy and had an excellent stay. The kitchen is fully equipped and if you don't want to eat out in one of Seal Beach's many restaurants, it will be easy to cook your own meal. Some of the outdoor equipment is not in excellent shape anymore but it will work for the needs.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful place!!

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

We were so totally happy with our stay at the Seal Beach Guesthouse. Words cannot come close to the wonderful hospitality from Kelly and Randy. The guest house was exactly what is on the website. We loved walking the beach in the mornings after we cooked our breakfast. The quaint town is perfect, it is quiet, and offers so many options if you decide to eat out. We cant wait to go back!! I cant wait to take my dog so she can play at the dog friendly beach located not far away. We HIGHLY recommend this place if you are looking for the perfect, quiet, amazing hospitality place to enjoy your vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Wonderful Place to Stay

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Seal Beach Guest House. From our arrival (very late at night) when our hostess actually waited outside in the dark to make sure we didn't miss the house to the welcoming basket full of fruit and oatmeal, we were made comfortable from the beginning to the end of our stay. The walk to the beach is short, and we could have stayed right in Seal Beach for our entire stay, but we were a short drive to several other beaches.

The deck is terrific, with a view to the ocean, and the facilities are spotless and very comfortable for two people. It's a little tight for three, but we had a wonderful time, and we'd go back again in a second.

My adult daughter loved having the surfboard available, and even took a couple of lessons from a local young man who was a terrific teacher.

Kelly also was very gracious in welcoming my daughter's Miniature Schnauzer, Riley. She had a bag of treats, a gate to keep him from falling down the stairs, and his own little bed!

We took a whale-watching cruise (purchased our tickets on a local discount site recommended by our hosts and got them for half-price!) and had an unforgettable time.

Best of all was our first full day: My daughter and I were sitting on the beach, and a half-dozen or so girls are skittering around, close to the surf. We saw what looked, to us, like a big log washing toward the shore. The girls squealed, and we realized it was an actual seal! The few folks on the beach, ourselves included, walked along the shoreline as the seal played and flopped around in the water. We were mesmerized, and ended up walking all the way down to the pier, where our new buddy flipped his tail and swam back out to sea!

The Seal Beach Guest House is a lovely place to stay, and we can't wait to go back. You'll appreciate a great value and terrific hosts. Don't miss it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Seal Beach Honeymooners

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Seal Beach is wonderful! The Seal Beach Guest House is so close to everything in Seal Beach and the Ocean!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect week!

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the house! The deck is fantastic for hanging out and entertaining. Kelly and Randy are wonderful hosts giving the perfect amount of attention and privacy. We appreciated the communication we received before and during our stay. We love the area, the beach and Main Street. Thank you for giving us a wonderful home base!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

April Stay

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and had a wonderful vacation. Kelly and Randy are gracious hosts and were helpful from our very first point on contact. They had great recommendations for local attractions, restaurants, and even directions. The unit is very comfortable and the large deck is as advertised - we spent many nights sitting on the the large deck admiring the sunset and views. We highly recommend this rental and are looking forward to staying here again the next time we are in town.

Thanks again, Kelly and Randy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Seal Beach Beach House

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 12, 2013

Our stay at the Seal Beach House was excellent. Randy and Kelly are so nice, easy to work with and we consider them friends just only meeting them for 4 days. The house is what the information states. Very close to town and easy access to everything. The beach cruisers are the best and a must for everyone that stays there, gives you another perspective of a town when you are on a bike. The house was neat and clean and felt like home. There was a bottle of wine, a basket of goodies and even beer glasses in the freezer and that is more than I would ever expect. Our experience was great and we will definately go back there again soon and highly recommend to others that may be considering renting this home. Thank you Randy and Kelly for a great place to call "home" while on vacation, you are the nicest people and have a great home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great month, as always

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

Hi. This is our second year staying at the beach house and we had a wonderful time. The accommodations are great, the hosts wonderful and the location....listening to the waves on the deck, 5 minute walk to the pier or downtown, friendly people....it's simply great. We're planning another month next year. Looking forward to retirement and being able to stay longer. The beach house is becoming a second home.

I can recommend staying here without reservation. You will not go wrong.

Dave
Winnipeg, Canada

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lisa and John Hood

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

One of our best vacations ever! Randy and Kelly are wonderful hosts. The property was clean and well appointed and centrally located close enough to walk to eat and shop. We hope ti go back soon. Seal Beach itself is a quaint, quiet place to enjoy and relax...... Wonderful!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Escape from reality!!

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 22, 2013

If you would like a fun getaway, the Seal Beach Guest House is the place to be.
A nice cozy place to stay with a real "beachy" feel. You are just steps from the sand of Seal Beach and within walking distance of the quaint Main St, with many shops and restaurants. So cool to walk the pier.

Kelly and Randy are delightful owners, and will become your new-founded friends.
There is plenty of privacy. The evenings are so quiet, that at times you can hear the waves crashing on the shore!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

My winter escape to the sun.

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

I am from Northern California and come south for the winter to enjoy the SoCal sun and visit family and friends..I had a great time at the Seal Beach Guest house. It is bright and cheery. I love the big windows that let in the light and sun all day. My hosts Kelly and Randy were perfect. Always available if I have a question and offered me lots of privacy the rest of the time. They accommodated my cat Paco who also settled in comfortably. I made it a point to walk the beach and the Seal Beach Pier every day and eat at any one of the many restaurants in town for lunch.I rode their beach cruisers around town checking out all the old beach cottages and had a party on the deck. It does have a ocean view but a modest one. It was a relaxing and comfortable stay. I had a few friends stay and the hide away bed worked fine. I asked and was told my that my guests slept well. There is most everything you need to have a relaxing visit. I plan to visit again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cali Trip

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

What a wonderful vacation spot. Randy and Kelly personnaly greeted us and toured the lovely private apartment. Everything was immaculate with outstanding furnishings. We were welcomed with so many personal touches, from a drawing with all of our grandchildren, to cookies for all and fruit and wine for the adults. Kelly thought of the little things one needs but does not always take-ample toiletries, extra towels for the beach, to stamped postcards. The ammenities were plentiful and the hosts the best of all the VRBO's we've stayed at. Thanks for a wonderful stay and we will return. Bob and Sherry

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

get away

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

best place to stay, Randy and Kelly are the best,very clean and comfortable place,be back every year;)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

We will be back!

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

Our honeymoon in Seal Beach was absolutely perfect! We felt at home as soon as we arrived with all the personal touches that Kelly and Randy had left for us. They are amazing hosts and they made our stay that much better. The location of Seal Beach was perfect for us. We could drive to the surrounding areas or just stay in town and look at the shops and eat some amazing food. My husband and I visited the beach everyday because it was too close not to! Everything about this guest house was amazing and we will be back! We have so many great memories thanks to Seal Beach and this guest house! Thanks Kelly and Randy!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

First visit will NOT be our last!

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

We had an amazing vacation in Seal Beach! The trip was planned as a surprise for my husband's birthday with plans to go to the US Open of Surfing in Huntington Beach. Kelly did a wonderful job of keeping me informed and answering any questions during the planning process of the special trip. Seal Beach's proximity proved to be perfect, as it gave us a quiet retreat after a long day at the noisy and crowded beaches of the US Open. We stayed at the Beach House with our 8yo daughter and also had my sister-in-law with us for a couple nights.
Kelly and Randy were so welcoming and the attention to detail was amazing. Fruit Basket, Wine, Cookies, area maps, discount cards for local eateries and stores and even a bus schedule printed out and waiting for us when we arrived.
We have no complaints about our stay! Everything from the weather, the restaurants, the beaches, to the locals exceeded expectations. The Beach House was very clean, bed was comfortable, nice sheets, fluffy soft towels. A BIG selling point for us was was all the extras, IE: Surf Board, Boogie Boards, Beach Chairs, Umbrella, Beach blanket and towels, Bikes...the list goes on...we had everything we needed and more!
We had a great time with our daughter being with us, but we know we can equally enjoy it if we were to make another trip without her. Seal Beach and the surrounding area has plenty to do for all ages. The restaurants were great! Walt's Wharf was our favorite, we ate there twice and everything we tried was superb.
I cannot say enough good things about Kelly and Randy. We came there as strangers, and left feeling like we have two new friends that we cannot wait to come back and visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Loved Seal Beach!!!

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

The location of this property was excellent. We could walk to the beach in 3 minutes! It was well maintained and clean. The owner was very considerate and helpful. There were many attractions within a 5 minute walk. Great selection of restaurants and shops. Just 10 minutes to nearby beaches. We plan to return and would recommend the property to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Our Vacation at Seal Beach

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

A most memorable trip. The weather was pleasant, warm during the day and pleasant for walks at night. There is so much to see and do, our girls explored every inch of beach, we saw the Queen Mary and the aquarium. I want to thank our hosts, Kelly and Randy, for making us welcome and the wonderful hospitality!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Just a Block or Two

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

The Beach House is conveniently located just around the corner to the beach. It is three short blocks to the Pier and Main Street, where numerous restaurants, boutiques, pubs, galleries, a Bank and Post Office are located. O'Malley's and Walt's are best for seafood, Old Town Cafe for breakfast, plus a full menu, sit outside at the Marina at Schooner-or-Later, Thai Basil, La Crema for crepes, and burgers at Ruby's on the Pier, or Woody's Diner. So many other choices to choose from in town.
I loved having coffee every morning on the deck and listening to the ocean waves. It was perfect for me, or for a couple's romantic abode.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Seal Beach Guest House....perfect getaway

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

The minute we arrived it felt like a vacation...Randy and Kelly are the perfect host. Fruit basket and wine waiting upon arrival..Kelly has printed instructions and information on just about everything we needed to know about the guest house and the Seal Beach area..it was a truely relaxing vacation. Quiet, clean and perfect spot if you love the beach!! If I ever was to plan time in Seal Beach again I know where I would stay!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Seal Beach Guest House-Awesome!

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed with our two kids at the Seal Beach Guest House and we had a perfect vacation there. It's a comfortable and cozy spot from which to enjoy a classic beach vacation. Barefoot walks directly to the beach, short walks to town and the pier, and a great outdoor deck to relax on. We are planning a return trip to this spot!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Found a NEW HOME ...

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

Lois and I had all of March at the Seal Beach Guest House and from the moment we arrived it felt like we'd found a new home. It's a cozy, comfortable hideaway where you can see the ocean from the deck, hear it too when the waves are up, sit on the deck with a book or email friends with the WiFi. We loved being able to walk everywhere - the down town and the pier are only 5 minutes walk. People are friendly, places to eat are good, there's even a barber who'll give a guy a shave with a blade and give you a beer at the same time...life is good in Seal Beach. Lois is retired and I've got a couple years to go but when the time comes we'd like to winter in Seal Beach. Our stay at the Seal Beach Guest House I can honestly say is probably the nicest vacation we've ever had.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Seal Beach getaway

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

A perfect location for a getaway. The guest house is close to the beach and has all the amenities needed for a restful vacation. Nearly everything is within walking distance (beach, surfing,shops,bars and restaurants) so hardly used the car after arrival. You would not think this was LA as the Town is so laid back and friendly.

Seal Beach has many excellent restaurants covering all tastes. I liked Ruby's 50 style diner on the pier, Thai on Main, Pho and El Burrito. Particularly liked O'Malley's Irish bar. In fact there are 4 Irish bars to choose from.

Our hosts gave us a comprehensive list of attractions (and some discount offers). The two things I enjoyed the most were a trip over to Catalina and a visit to San Diego Zoo. Also took a sailing lesson in Newport which was something I have always wanted to try.

Once a month local astronomers set up telescopes on the lawn by the pier (weather permitting). Got to see Saturn's rings and some awesome close ups of the approaching full moon. Also enjoyed the Saturday market and stocked up on supplies and gifts.

Many thanks for a restful vacation, good company and some fabulous memories. I'll be back.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

lovely!

Review submitted: December 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

We had never been to Seal Beach and we were a bit skeptical as we drove through the night and could not see the town in daylight.
But as soon as we arrived we rang the doorbell and we were greeted by Kelly the lovely owner who asked from far away,"is that a racoon"?
and we got a positive feeling right away;-)
Waking up in the morning and smelling the ocean breeze just a few feet away brought us magic right away as well,not to mention the cozyness of the town! everything is walking distance,down main street you find great restaurants,banks,laundry service,coffeshops and offcourse O'Malley's irish pub which turned us into regulars!
not to mention the lovely surroundings from the peer,parks and offcourse the beach.
The place has been fresh renovated and we had everything we needed,a fire grill would have been nice but their great gas grill made up for it.
If you are into "pro cooking" like we are you though you might want to take some of your own cooking utensils,since the place is equipped with just standard ones.
You might also want to take your own beach towels if you like really big ones,the one provided are regular size.
Other than that we highly recommend it,the location is fantastic and very secure,we had a marvelous time and i hope we can come back someday!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Unforgettable in every way - What a memorable Memorial Day Weekend.

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

I had planned a romantic getaway for my girlfriend and I. I was looking for something cozy, comfortable, and clean. The apartment, and our hosts exceeded our expectations!

Since, it was to be my first romantic rendez-vous with my girlfriend, I wanted to plan something very special and memorable for the two of us. I wanted to have a bottle of chilled champagne for us waiting for us when we arrived. I spoke w/ Kelly numerous times over the phone prior to our trip. She was very helpful and hospitable each time we spoke. She even found the specific bottle of champagne I was looking for (Veuve Clicquot Ponsardin Brut) at a more affordable cost (a big plus in my book). Kelly was in fact my co-conspirator in planning a memorable weekend (suggesting multiple places to visit and things to do, as wells as vegetarian restaurants).

The apartment is situated in a quiet and safe neighborhood, a row of houses back away from the beach. We were above our hosts home, that is actually over their garage which provided us w/ lots of privacy. Inside apartment was very clean, and did not lack for anything we needed. Kelly added many personal touches - fresh baked cookies, large basket of fresh fruit, and breakfast items upon our arrival.

It is a smaller apartment. Which was a concern for me, as I was planning a BBQ with old friends from high school. Well my concerns were unfounded. We had enough space in the living room and the spacious deck to host a BBQ for my friends and their families (4 couples, 3 teens, not including my girlfriend and I). Our hosts were very gracious about hosting our additionals friends for the day and into the evening. We definitely did not lack for anything at all!

The historic downtown area was a nice short stroll away, where we found many incredible locally owned family shops and restaurants to explore. One of which we fell in love with - local italian deli/ market (Their fresh made cannoli's are to die for!!). We didn't need to drive anywhere to have a remarkable and romantic time with each other.

One suggestion - the Sofa Sleeper is comfortable to sit on, but sleeping on it is a bit uncomfortable for adults and older children.

The only thing that could have made our rendez-vous any better was if we could have stayed a lot longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Wonderful Family Vacation!!!!

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We had the most AMAZING family vacation at the Seal Beach Guest House! The Beach House was the perfect location and size for the 4 of us! Everything was perfect - very clean and comfrotable. We loved the deck with the Patio furniture, grill, and all of the beach accessories! We can't wait to go back again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Wonderful Stay & Dog Friendly

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 13, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Seal Beach Guest house very much! As I searched VRBO for the right place to stay in Seal Beach, this house was the best deal in town. A big plus is it is dog-friendly. Taking our JRT on walks every day and being so close to the pier and Main Street was great! We liked the privacy of the beach house and the deck. The best part of our stay was RELAXATION! We had guests visit us and they were pleased with the comfort of the house and deck, and how close it was to the pier and Main Street. Kelly and Randy made us feel very welcomed. They provided us with a basket of fruit, cookies, and a bottle of wine. They also provided a complimentary can of dog food and a toy for our dog. We highly recommend the Seal Beach Guest House.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

For long as I remember I loved visiting the historic town of Seal Beach, whether it was after work or on the weekend to stroll around Main Street and Pier to watch the amazing sunsets. So I wanted to share and surprise my cousin from Texas and found this lovely Guest House. And indeed it was a surprise to both of us. This charming place was more than what we expected! Just like the comforts of home it had everything we needed. From pots/pans to homemade bath oils! The owners were the most welcoming folks you could ever meet. We had an amazing time, and would definitely recommend this to everyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Highly Unrecommended

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

Our 10th anniversary vacation here was mostly good (Seal Beach is a VERY quaint and hospitable little community), but the Seal Beach Guest House is NOT the place to stay. While Kelly (the owner) is very personable, polite, helpful, and rather welcoming, the property and our three-day visit (Thursday thru Sunday) had the following gotcha's;

1) No WiFi. Sure, the owner has it listed, even spoke about it when we arrived, but later in the evening we tried BOTH our iPad s and even our two phones and just could not find their WiFi. It wasn't ever listed on "Available Networks" on any devices. We also tried to connect to it using the "How to connect to WiFi" instructions left in the room. Nothing! Resorted to using the free WiFi down at the local coffee shop each morning.
2) Owner "left the State" during our entire stay there. They departed EARLY Friday morning, and returned EARLY Sunday morning. Sure, we had a cell-phone number, but given the heartburn with #1, there was NOTHING that could have been done remotely.
3) Shower/tub does not drain well. A typical shower will find you standing in calf-high water.
4) The shower fixtures leak. When turned on, they leaked/sprayed around the fixtures.
5) The sliding shower door is not affixed to the bottom rail. Both panel (a slider, hung at the top) can swing INTO the tub area all the way to the wall.
6) The toilet does NOT have a formal tank-lid. A plank is used, with a Doyle covering to spruce it up.
7) The toilet tank sometimes does not refill (occurred twice during our stay). The tank empties fine, but would not refill itself. Had to remove the tank 'lid' (see #6), and jiggle the float lever (not the flapper).
8) NONE of the furniture matches! It has the appearance of a garage-sale decorating.
8) The TV is up on top of a dresser (in the living room), but over in the corner.
9) The couch is nice leather, but a sleeper sofa, which sags too much when sitting in it. Viewing the TV requires turning your head some 45 degrees and upward to watch it (see #8).
10) The "view from the deck" is actually misleading. Sure, you CAN see the ocean, but only between the houses AND the power-lines are NOT appealing for a romantic view. The photo (views of Catalina..) MUST have been taken from atop the roof itself (and I am 6'3").
11) "Off-street-parking" only works IF your car is only 5' long (short driveway).
12) Our 'security refund' was "lost in the mail". It was sent immediately once the owner knew

Helpful votes: 0 / 18

 

Unexpected personal touches

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

Our stay was perfect! We didn't need to bring anything from home; you had every supply we could want. The location is great for Main Street and Pier access; and, of course, the beach. The deck accommodated our whole clan for a BBQ with a view. Thank you for a great weekend.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Thank You SOOOO MUCH!!!

Review submitted: November 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

We stayed in August, it was our first time in Seal Beach and it won't be our last....our stay was everything we wanted it to be, relax,relax relax. Kelly made everything super nice for us and comfortable. The house was alittle small be worth it!!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Had a great time!

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

We stayed at property over Labor Day weekend when we were down to run the Disneyland Half Marathon. The place is a bit cramped for 4 adults - but we knew that before we got there. Loved the deck, the proximity to the beach and old town is just a minute walk away. It is very convenient to LA and surrounding areas. We would come again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Fabulous relaxing break

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

We are just back from a very relaxing break in the Seal Beach Cottage. The owners are very friendly and made the booking process very easy. We arrived to find fresh fruit, cookies and a bottle of wine had been left for us - a welcome change after eating out almost every night! The accommodation is cosy and 1 minute to the beach and a very short walk to the main street with all the restaurants and bars. They supplied beach chairs and other itmes which where great.

I would not hesitate in recommending to stay here

Thanks for a great relaxing break

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

a wonderful place to relax

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

Our stay was terrific. We stayed for 2 weeks and thoroughly enjoyed the guest house, the beautiful weather, and the warm hospitality of our hosts and merchants in town. It was convenient to be within walking distance to the beach and restaurants. The beach playground 3 blocks away was a favorite destination for our 5 year old. The house was a great "home away from home" for us. We would love to plan another trip to Seal Beach!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Thank you!

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2010

Thank you so much for making us feel so welcome here once again; the goodies, the wine; it was the perfect spot for my birthday!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 27 / 27

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 30, 2009   Date of arrival: October 30, 2009

Great Stay! We felt so comfortable. It felt like we had our own private nest ...
we can't wait to come back. Looking forward to seeing you soon! John and Liz

Helpful votes: 25 / 26

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 22, 2009   Date of arrival: October 22, 2009

Written inside a thank you card left inside the Beach Guest House:
Your Irish hospitality was so very comforting. You're personal attention to detail was unbelievable. Thanks for the bubble bath supplies! My husband an I had a romantic bubble bath together after enjoying your uncrowded beach. Thanks again. We look forward to seeing you next year ... Best regards, Miranda and Mickey.

Helpful votes: 24 / 25

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 21, 2009   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

Did you enjoy your stay at the Beach Guest House? YES
Did you enjoy Old Town Seal Beach? Very much!
What was the best part of your stay? Walking along the beach
Any suggestions? The tips and information were very helpful!
Would you recommend the accommodations? Yes

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 30, 2009   Date of arrival: August 30, 2009

Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 20, 2009   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

In a brief questionnaire left in the Beach Guest House, Teri wrote:
Did you enjoy Seal Beach? Absolutely
Was everything in the Beach Guest House as you expected? And more, great extras!
Did you enjoy Old Town Seal Beach? adorable town, nice private beach
What was the best part of your stay? plenty to see and do
Was there anything you were disappointed with at the Beach Guest House, Old Town or while at the beach? No way. Very comfortable!
Any suggestions? Screen door is getting a bit sticky - but salt water is tough on things.
Would you recommend the accommodations? Of course!

Helpful votes: 25 / 26

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 12, 2009   Date of arrival: August 12, 2009

In a questionnaire left inside the Beach Guest House found after departure:
Did you enjoy your stay at the Beach Guest House? -YES-
Did you find everything in the Beach Guest House as you expected? -YES-
Did you enjoy Seal Beach? -VERY MUCH-
What was the best part of your stay in our quaint beach town? QUIET, QUIET, QUIET. OPEN DOOR 24/7
Was there anything that you were disappointed with at the Beach Guest House ... Old Town ... or while at the beach? -NOTHING-
Would you recommend the accommodations of the Beach Guest House to a friend? -YES-

Helpful votes: 25 / 25

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2009   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

In a questionnaire left inside the Beach Guest House:

Did you enjoy your stay at the Beach Guest House? Yes! Kelly & Randy did a great job of getting familiar with Seal Beach's shopping & other areas that were of interest to us.

Did you find everything in the Beach Guest House as you expected? Yes

Did you enjoy Seal Beach? Yes. The people thoughout the community were so friendly. We also felt it is a very safe community with all the police around.

What was the best part of your stay in our quaint community? Finding a number of dog friendly restaurants that had excellent food. Our rental house was within short walking distance to M&M Surfing School, the beach, Main Street and all the great places to eat. The rental house had a great PRIVATE deck to relax and enjoy throughout the day.

Was there anything that you were disappointed with at the Beach Guest House, Old Town ... or while at the beach? A little disappointed with the no dogs on the beach rule. However, we used the dog beach down in Huntington Beach which was excellent.

Could you please give us some suggestions on how we could have made your stay with us more enjoyable? Continue to provide the little extras for people with dogs (i.e. dog toy, water bowl, dish) plus the chocolate, mixed nuts & wine were greatly appreciated. Providing more clothes hangers would be nice. Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 25 / 25

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 8, 2009   Date of arrival: July 8, 2009

This lovely couple stayed with us for the 4th of July holiday weekend. It was their first visit to Seal Beach. They brought their dog, Barkley, and we provided gifts of a dog bowl, a self-filling water bowl, a can of food, treats, and a toy. Peter and Barbara were welcomed with a bottle of wine, fresh flowers, chocolates, nuts, coffee, chips and salsa, and a caramel apple pie.

When they were departing, we asked them if they wouldn't mind filling out a brief questionnaire and here is what they said ...
when asked:
Did you enjoy your stay at the Beach Guest House? - Very much so

Did you find everything in the Beach Guest House as you expected?- Everything & more

Did you enjoy Seal Beach?- We absolutely loved the town, the atmosphere & the people

What was the best part of your stay in our quaint beach community?- the uniqueness of the area which leads us to consider Seal Beach as a possible retirement site.

Could you please give us some suggestions on how we could have made your stay with us more enjoyable?- You could have spent more time with us - Seriously, you guys were great. Thanks for everything!

Peter & Barbara

Helpful votes: 25 / 25

 

Review submitted: June 30, 2009   Date of arrival: June 30, 2009

We loved everything! Being so close to the beach, town and attractions! The only thing we regret was that it wasn't a longer visit! We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 25 / 25

 

Review submitted: February 23, 2009   Date of arrival: February 23, 2009

Thank you for your wonderful hospitality. The vacation rental business needs more caring owners like yourselves. Your thoughtfulness and attention to detail is very much appreciated.

Highly recommended!

Aloha, Deborah
haleahakai. com

Helpful votes: 26 / 27

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review