reviews for: listing #42146 - Lake Lure, North Carolina Cabin rental

Home away from Home - Relax at Sadie's Retreat
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $103 - $175 /nt
    $800 - $800 /wk

sort by:

Cozy cabin

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: July 31, 2009

The long weekend getaway at this location was perfect. From the economical price, to the amenities within the cabin (satellite, internet, etc), to the deer in the front yard across the street each morning and evening, it fully met our expectations.
The kitchen was stocked with all needed utensils and accessories (even the corkscrew) and the bathroom was stocked with all the towels and toiletries needed.
I even got a chance to play some Tiger Woods golf on the Xbox. :-)
All communications were handled expediently and directions were accurate. The location of the cabin was convenient to Chimney Rock village and park, Lake Lure beach and lake access, as well as restaurants and the nearby Ingles.
I highly recommend a stay at this site.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Great get-away

Review submitted: November 27, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

I really enjoyed my brief yet relaxing stay at Sadie Retreat. We spent the days at Chimney Rock and enjoyed warm evening at the cabin. The seating is not ideal for four people but it was enjoyable nonetheless. We also really enjoyed the view from the front porch while having hot coffee in the morning. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in lake lure. The location is convenient to many restaurants and the grocery store is less than 10 minutes away. I hope to stay here again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not sure someone could not enjoy this place.

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a pet friendly get-a-way. We love Asheville but we wanted to have more access to outdoor activities. This was it! We were 20-minutes away from all the excitement of Asheville but close to the great outdoors. We enjoyed hiking Chimney Rock and nightly walks with our dog around Snug Harbor. Most evenings we enjoyed a drink on the front porch watching the sun set and enjoying the silence. Our dog Buddy loved the freedom to roam and explore.The best part was the perfectly stocked cabin. We did not want for a thing. When we arrived, there was a power outage in the area but Kimberly was easily accessible and kept us informed until we had power again. Having wifi meant we could check on work emails if we really needed to. We will be back again maybe in the fall to enjoy some of the colors. There are some cute restaurants nearby or the grocery store only 2-miles up the road. It would be hard to not enjoy yourself here. Our only suggestion would be to install some screens on the doors so you can enjoy the breezes at night without a moth invasion. A charming cabin indeed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review. Oddly enough, we have never thought about the screen doors. Great idea! We will consider that soon. I am glad you had a great time at Sadie's Retreat!

Kim, John and Sadie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sadie's Retreat Review

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

The cabin was very nice, situated in a good area with a great view of chimney rock. The gravel driveway did prove to be a challenge on rainy days, the car almost couldn't make it up the driveway. I also recommend password protecting the wireless internet router in the cabin for future guests who need to access sensitive info (bank accounts, credit card accounts) over the internet. I also recommend bleaching the shower curtain in the bathroom as there was a bit of mildew on it. Finally, a large skillet would be a nice addition to the kitchen. Aside from those things, I enjoyed my stay very much and would recommend this property to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here at Sadie’s Retreat. Thank you for allowing us to bring our dogs as this made for a ‘homey’ atmosphere for us. The kitchen was stocked well and the bedrooms were comfortable. The best part had to be the frton porch with its beautiful view of the mountains. The temperatures were pefect to allow us to sit outside and enjoy God’s wonders. The only things we didn’t see were the deer everyone talks about!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

enjoy a relaxing girl’s week vacation

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

We wanted to enjoy a relaxing girl’s week vacation and knew Sadie’s Retreat would be perfect when we found we could bring the dogs too. There are not a lot of places that allow 2 large boxers to join in on the vacation fun! It was perfect time of the year to enjoy coffee on the porch in the mornings, and hot chocolate in the evenings. The view is beautiful and being the off-season for vacation, we really enjoyed a week of quiet peace in the mountains.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

great mother/daughter long weekend

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2010

Had a great mother/daughter long weekend at Sadie’s Retreat. You have more than enough furnishings at your cabin. The view is great. Highly recommend the Lake Lure Boat Tours. The only problem we encountered was the Toyota Camry climbing the driveway. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow – What a great weekend!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

Wow – What a great weekend! The fall weather was absolutely perfect. Our girls weekend was just what we had planned, relaxing and fun. Walked around the lake and took lots of pictures. Went to the Spa and dinner at Larkins on the Lake. The cabin is fabulous and so well stocked! We are already planning our next trip! Thank you for sharing beautiful Sadie’s Retreat!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful weekend relaxing with friends

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

We had a wonderful weekend relaxing with friends at Sadie’s Retreat. With a view like this, I didn’t want to leave the cabin. We did manage to get to Chimney Rock Village but it was right back here to frill and have a glass of wine. What a terrific place to relax and recharge your batteries. Sadie’s Retreat is a perfect weekend getaway. Can’t wait to come back

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

wonderful place to spend Thanksgiving

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Sadie’s Retreat was a wonderful place to spend Thanksgiving together as a family. The Biltmore was on my parent’s “Bucket List” and it was beautiful, but our memorable times were in the cabin together – enjoying the fall view, making a complete Thanksgiving meal, and driving around Lake Lure & Chimney Rock looking for local apples and trinkets. The cabin had everything ( &more) that we needed to cook with, relax and give thanks ( Even down to the first aid kit)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas 2010 at Sadie’s Retreat was a beautiful.

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2010

Christmas 2010 at Sadie’s Retreat was a beautiful ‘white Christmas”. We woke Christmas morning to a snowfall and before we knew it we were in a winter wonderland. Never made it to the family gatherings due to conditions, but loved the Christmas together at the cabin w/lots of fun. Our Springer Spaniel had her 1st Christmas and never wanted to come back into the cabin. She absolutely loved playing in the snow. (Sorry, we live in FL) Guess she’ll have to have the fond memories in Sadie’s Retreat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful time

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

We had a wonderful time – this cabin was perfect for us. It was beautiful, the beds were comfortable, and we love the porch and view. We walked around Snug Harbor Circle several times – beautiful. During our stay we went to Chimney Rock, the Village, Riverwalk, Chimney Rock Gem Mine & Don Ross Trails. We ate at LaStrada’s, Bayfront, & Riverfront. We had a great time everywhere we went!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cabin was great!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Cabin was great! Just perfect for our mini getaway! View is spectacular and so peaceful! Much better than staying in a hotel! If you go to Chimney Rock, visit Tia B’s, food was great and service even better! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

We had a great time! We live in Charlotte, which is close enough for a mini vacation but not so far that you have to recover from the drive. This cabin is great and the view is to die for. The whole town is great, everyone is nice, and going into Historic Hendersonville is a best bet because of all the shops. Our young children loved every moment of being here. The Esmeralda restaurant was excellent, worth every penny and then some! Hope to be back soon one day!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice pad. Cozy and clean.

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

Nice pad. Cozy and clean. Sunny beautiful day. Too bad they let motor boats on the lake. By the way, your bench is falling apart. Luckily we are fit and trim.
Should have brought our big dog. Next time.
Had a whole day at Chimney Rock. Fantastic weather. Nice and close by. The water in the tub takes a while to drain. So keep the place available, neat and clean. May be back in the spring….

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great week with our 1 year old boy

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

We had a great week with our 1 year old boy and dog. We enjoyed having the family together. The cabin was clean & well stocked. The view was great and both our son and dog enjoyed running on the front porch while we sat in the chairs. My husband enjoyed the x box a lot, while our son was sleeping. An added perk for him.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spent two lovely days and nights here.

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

Spent two lovely days and nights here. Weather was great, view beautiful, cabin very cozy. Hiked to the waterfall and climbed the steps to the top of Chimney Rock. This was a nice place to relax and spend time with family. My daughters drove up from Atlanta, GA and I drove down from Raleigh, NC and we all had fun. Thanks for letting us stay at Sadie’s Retreat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for allowing us to have our pets with us

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

Thank you for allowing us to have our pets with us on vacation. It was our first ‘family’ vacation and it was enjoyed by all. We hiked Chimney Rock and the falls – long trek but well worth the view! Spent Sunday at the Biltmore Estate in Asheville. Wow! It was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Your cabin is very comfortable with lots of thought put into it. Love the featherbed comforter. Fireplace was nice too, once we were able to get it going.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful time

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

We had a wonderful time on our visit to Chimney Rock & our stay in Sadie’s Retreat made it extra special. We come to the mountains each year for our wedding anniversary and this year was by far the best. The cabin was so warm and cozy after a day of hiking and sight seeing. Our little rescue dog, Jesse, had a great time also. Especially when she spotted a few squirrels!
When we plan to return to the area we will make our way back to Sadie’s Retreat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We were here to attend our daughter’s wedding.

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

We were here to attend our daughter’s wedding. The cabin was so nice and so very well equipped. We were so comfortable. We brought our 16 year old cat was is blind and see curled up on the red carpet in the lving room and was so happy when we cam ein foer the night. We saw 2 deer in the front yard. We love the cabin and the view.
I would recommend this to anyone for a great getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time.

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

We had a great time. The house is very neat and well laid out. WE went on a boat tour, climbed Chimney Rock, & drove the Blue Ridge Parkway, and walked to the top of Mt Mitchell. We went to Pearson’s Falls – kind of a disappointment – would not recommend.
Our three dogs loved running in the woods and being walked to the top of Laurel Lane.
Dinner at Larkin’s was delicious. Definitely worth the expense.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The cabin was perfect for us and our 2 kids. This is our 1st visit to the area and we will be back! Just the walk around Snug Harbor Circle was worth the trip. We enjoyed Chimney Rock and a boat tour of the lake. Sadie’s Retreat was warm and welcoming – a home away from home. Thank you for sharing your home with us – we hope to return soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a great place to get away and relax!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

What a great place to get away and relax! We enjoyed every minute. The well-stocked kitchen – condiments, baking utensils and frosty beers mugs – were much appreciated. As was the basket of goodies in the bathroom. The basket of pamphlets gave us several ideas. We spent a day travelling the Blue Ridge Parkway. Walked around Lake Lure and the nature trails by Ingles on Route 9, shopped for souveniers in Chimney Rock & Brevard, visited the Southern Highlands Folk Art Center.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

The cabin was ideally located to do activities in the area, especially Chimney Rock State Park. It was well equipped and we all enjoyed the great porch. We were not able to find a good access point to Lake Lure to let our dogs enjoy the water. As the house was located on the curve of the road it seemed isolated, even though there were houses next to it. The house on one side is for sale and not occupied.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: For future renters - your pets can swim along the river that feeds into Lake Lure. You can access it along 64/74 in Chimney Rock. We like to bring Sadie to the Tiki bar, have a burger, and watch her swim. :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved Sadie’s Retreat! Sunrises, sunsets

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

We loved Sadie’s Retreat! Sunrises, sunsets, butterflies all over the butterfly bushes, late afternoons on the porch…it was perfect! We came for the weekendso I could run the Lake Lure 10K on Friday night. What a great place to come back to relax! Callie, our dog, and I loved the challenging run around Snug Harbor Circle. We loved being able to bring her with us! Callie loved the front porch in the afternoon! We loved the ambiance of the cabin, wood everywhere. All the amenities were wonderful and made us feel truly at home! Can’t wait to get back up here!
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I don’t even know how to put into words

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

I don’t even know how to put into words how much we loved Sadie’s Retreat! When you advertized all the amenities of home you are not kidding! It could not have been any more welcoming if you tried.
This was our first trip to the lake and we are working on figuring out what weekend we will be coming back in the fall. We went gem mining at the Chinmeny Rock Gem Mine and were surprised at how may gems you get! We strolled through Chimney Rock Village, Loved Bubba O’Leary’s General Store. ( with their .10 cup of coffee) We climbed up to Devil’s Head at Chimney Rock Park and took our dog, Tabasco, for a stroll along the boardwalk by the lake. If you like Jelly, Jam and Relish, pull over at the stand on the side of 64 headed towards Chimney Rock for an amazing selection of treats.
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful cabin with us, for your upfront pricing, and for letting us bring our beloved dog!


Hello I’m Vince, I’m seven years old and I enjoyed my stay at Sadie’s Retreat. I found some really cool rocks at the gem mine – even a Geode. I climbed to the top of Chimney Rock Mountain with my Dad to see Devil’s Head. I’m looking forward to eating breakfast on the proch tomorrow before I leave. I really liked the ice creamshop in Chimney Rock Village right outside the park gates. They have 61 flavors. I’m looking forward to coming back soon. Thank you for sharing your cabin. P.S. My dog Tabasco enjoyed his stay too.

**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a great place to relax and enjoy the views.

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

What a great place to relax and enjoy the views. Even walking snug circle was a beautiful walk. We tried to fit so much into a weekend. Definitely need to come back and finish what we didn’t get to and then more. Really enjoyed all the amenities this place has to offer. Hiked Chimney Rock, did the boat tour, attempted horse back riding (rained out) at Cedar Creek Stables. Will try for thet before we leave or next visit. Would definitely recommend others to stay here.
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is a wonderful, comfortable get away

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2010

This is a wonderful, comfortable get away and we ( 2 age 60 couples!) enjoyed our week away. We have been in the area before so nothing was new, but we saw (again) a play at Flat Rock Playhouse (a must do if you love theater), toured Hendersonville and area, shopped at Chimney Rock for children and grandchildren, drove the Blue Ridge Parkway to Blowing Rock and area and took a different route back. We cooked all but one meal here at the house, and you have done a good job preparing it for guests. The gas grill is great and the front porch wonderful (after dark) It is hot in August! If we had a suggestion to improve your home, we would suggest a mirror in the second bedroom, a night light in the kitchen and a reading lamp somewhere as all 4 of us are avid vacation readers and had trouble finding good light.
We enjoyed our week. Thanks so much!
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow! What a fabulous place.

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 29, 2010

Wow! What a fabulous place. We really enjoyed our week at Sadie’s Retreat. We enjoyed eating breakfast on the porch with the mountain view and having dinner and a movie night. WE enjoyed regular visit of the deer and butterfly over the bushes, the cabin was so comfortable with the AC and the modern appliances, and the beds wre very comfortable. What a beautiful area and location. We took the boat tour of Lake Lure and went up on top of Chimney Rock and walked the trail to stand below the waterfall. The people at the park were so friendly. We enjoyed using the gas grill to prepare our evening meals. What a great place to relaxand unwind after our son’s busy wedding weekend. The good Lord gave us a beautiful evening and held off the rain for the ceremony and most of the reception. Thanks again for this stay in this home away from home.
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved our week at Sadie’s Retreat.

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

We loved our week at Sadie’s Retreat. Our dogs, Tucker and Beyonce, loved being porch dogs and settled right in. Don’t know how the week sped by so fast but here it is leaving day. ?
We climbed Chimney Rock on the Hickory Nut Trail. Kalle and Jake went to the VERY top, I watched LOL! We shopped Chimney Park, went tubing on The Broad River with the River Creek Campground Outfitters. It was a great family adventure, we “mined” for gems at The Broad River Gem Mine – Jake – 12- picked the :heaviest bucket and we were surprised by many treasures! We took the Blue Ridge Parkway to Cherokee and stopped at every overlook. Amazed to be in the clouds. Kalle and I read 2 complete books each! We recorded every sunset faithfully. We enjoyed the deer in the yard. We cooked fabulous meals on the grill from filets to Kabobs. Now we must, sadly, gather our things and go – We will miss Sadie’s but have great memories!
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We planned a last minute trip to the mountains.

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

We planned a last minute trip to the mountains. The reservation and check in process made it seem as if we had spent a lot of time planning, very easy! This was the 1st time we brought our kids, Zach (7) and Abbey (5). They had a blast! Loved seeing the deer right across the street. Simi, our dog, made herself right at home, and also had a great time. I can’t believe that in the reviews I read no one said that Chimney Rock is the main view from the front porch! What a bonus!
The cabin was very welcoming and well kept. We’ll definitely be back!
Thank you so much!
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed Lake Lure very much!

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

We enjoyed Lake Lure very much! This cabin is extremely cozy and we hope to return soon. This is our 2nd trip to Lake Lure. The first time we stayed at a bed and breakfast which pales in comparision to Sadie’s Retreat. Our main focus for coming was to relax and we were able to do just that. We enjoyed days and nights on the beautiful porch w/ an exceptional view of the breathtaking mountains. We also got some fishing done in Morse Park a couple of miles down the road. What I personally appreciate was the upfront pricing. It was one price from the beginning – no extra clean up fees, etc.
Thank you for sharing this beautiful cabin with us. Even our Pomeranian (Babycakes) enjoyed herself and wore herself out in the park!
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay in your comfortable well-outfitted cabin. Our favorite outdoor adventures while here include kayaking in Lake Lure and the Broad River, swimming and playing in the Broad River rapids, hiking to the spectacular waterfalls in the Pisgah National Forest, and hiking in Chimney Rock State Park ( Chimney Rock and Hickory Nut Falls). We also enjoyed eating at LaStrada and Pizza and Beer ( In Hendersonville)
The cabin was an exceptionally nice place to come home to. Being able to view Chimney Rock and other ridges at all times of the day and in different weather conditions was a real treat. The sunsets and thunderstorms were great viewing. We appreciate the well-equipped cabin and the dog friendly features ( especially the dog nook in the bedrooms.
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is a comfortable place.

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

This is a comfortable place. The weather was hot and humid but we had a nice time. We climbed Chimney Rock (the dog too) and the views were stunning. Our dog (Inky) was fascinated by the butterflies around the front deck.
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sadie’s Retreat is very comfortable.

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

Sadie’s Retreat is very comfortable. The furnishings are lovely and comfortable. Great trip to Lake Lure.
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sadie’s Retreat was the perfect getaway

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

Sadie’s Retreat was the perfect getaway for the weekend! We really appreciated all the amenities that were provided that went above and beyond what we expected. The kitchen was so stocked with supplies that it reminded me of a lived in home. The only note I would make is that the light above the stove is not working and it is a little dark in the kitchen. Also there are white lines that scroll across the TV.
We spent all day on Saturday hiking Chimney Rock and browsing through the shops in the village. Our little 5lb Jasper had tons of fun!
We hope to come back again soon!
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sadie’s Retreat was the perfect getaway for the we

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

Sadie’s Retreat was the perfect getaway for the weekend! We really appreciated all the amenities that were provided that went above and beyond what we expected. The kitchen was so stocked with supplies that it reminded me of a lived in home. The only note I would make is that the light above the stove is not working and it is a little dark in the kitchen. Also there are white lines that scroll across the TV.
We spent all day on Saturday hiking Chimney Rock and browsing through the shops in the village. Our little 5lb Jasper had tons of fun!
We hope to come back again soon!
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sadie’s Retreat is very comfortable.

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

Sadie’s Retreat is very comfortable. The furnishings are lovely and comfortable. Great trip to Lake Lure.
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is a comfortable place.

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

This is a comfortable place. The weather was hot and humid but we had a nice time. We climbed Chimney Rock (the dog too) and the views were stunning. Our dog (Inky) was fascinated by the butterflies around the front deck.
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really enjoyed our stay in your comfortable wel

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay in your comfortable well-outfitted cabin. Our favorite outdoor adventures while here include kayaking in Lake Lure and the Broad River, swimming and playing in the Broad River rapids, hiking to the spectacular waterfalls in the Pisgah National Forest, and hiking in Chimney Rock State Park ( Chimney Rock and Hickory Nut Falls). We also enjoyed eating at LaStrada and Pizza and Beer ( In Hendersonville)
The cabin was an exceptionally nice place to come home to. Being able to view Chimney Rock and other ridges at all times of the day and in different weather conditions was a real treat. The sunsets and thunderstorms were great viewing. We appreciate the well-equipped cabin and the dog friendly features ( especially the dog nook in the bedrooms.
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed Lake Lure very much!

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

We enjoyed Lake Lure very much! This cabin is extremely cozy and we hope to return soon. This is our 2nd trip to Lake Lure. The first time we stayed at a bed and breakfast which pales in comparision to Sadie’s Retreat. Our main focus for coming was to relax and we were able to do just that. We enjoyed days and nights on the beautiful porch w/ an exceptional view of the breathtaking mountains. We also got some fishing done in Morse Park a couple of miles down the road. What I personally appreciate was the upfront pricing. It was one price from the beginning – no extra clean up fees, etc.
Thank you for sharing this beautiful cabin with us. Even our Pomeranian (Babycakes) enjoyed herself and wore herself out in the park!
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We planned a last minute trip to the mountains.

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

We planned a last minute trip to the mountains. The reservation and check in process made it seem as if we had spent a lot of time planning, very easy! This was the 1st time we brought our kids, Zach (7) and Abbey (5). They had a blast! Loved seeing the deer right across the street. Simi, our dog, made herself right at home, and also had a great time. I can’t believe that in the reviews I read no one said that Chimney Rock is the main view from the front porch! What a bonus!
The cabin was very welcoming and well kept. We’ll definitely be back!
Thank you so much!
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved our week at Sadie’s Retreat.

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

We loved our week at Sadie’s Retreat. Our dogs, Tucker and Beyonce, loved being porch dogs and settled right in. Don’t know how the week sped by so fast but here it is leaving day. ?
We climbed Chimney Rock on the Hickory Nut Trail. Kalle and Jake went to the VERY top, I watched LOL! We shopped Chimney Park, went tubing on The Broad River with the River Creek Campground Outfitters. It was a great family adventure, we “mined” for gems at The Broad River Gem Mine – Jake – 12- picked the :heaviest bucket and we were surprised by many treasures! We took the Blue Ridge Parkway to Cherokee and stopped at every overlook. Amazed to be in the clouds. Kalle and I read 2 complete books each! We recorded every sunset faithfully. We enjoyed the deer in the yard. We cooked fabulous meals on the grill from filets to Kabobs. Now we must, sadly, gather our things and go – We will miss Sadie’s but have great memories!
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow! What a fabulous place.

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 29, 2010

Wow! What a fabulous place. We really enjoyed our week at Sadie’s Retreat. We enjoyed eating breakfast on the porch with the mountain view and having dinner and a movie night. WE enjoyed regular visit of the deer and butterfly over the bushes, the cabin was so comfortable with the AC and the modern appliances, and the beds wre very comfortable. What a beautiful area and location. We took the boat tour of Lake Lure and went up on top of Chimney Rock and walked the trail to stand below the waterfall. The people at the park were so friendly. We enjoyed using the gas grill to prepare our evening meals. What a great place to relaxand unwind after our son’s busy wedding weekend. The good Lord gave us a beautiful evening and held off the rain for the ceremony and most of the reception. Thanks again for this stay in this home away from home.
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is a wonderful, comfortable get away

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2010

This is a wonderful, comfortable get away and we ( 2 age 60 couples!) enjoyed our week away. We have been in the area before so nothing was new, but we saw (again) a play at Flat Rock Playhouse (a must do if you love theater), toured Hendersonville and area, shopped at Chimney Rock for children and grandchildren, drove the Blue Ridge Parkway to Blowing Rock and area and took a different route back. We cooked all but one meal here at the house, and you have done a good job preparing it for guests. The gas grill is great and the front porch wonderful (after dark) It is hot in August! If we had a suggestion to improve your home, we would suggest a mirror in the second bedroom, a night light in the kitchen and a reading lamp somewhere as all 4 of us are avid vacation readers and had trouble finding good light.
We enjoyed our week. Thanks so much!
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a great place to relax and enjoy the views.

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

What a great place to relax and enjoy the views. Even walking snug circle was a beautiful walk. We tried to fit so much into a weekend. Definitely need to come back and finish what we didn’t get to and then more. Really enjoyed all the amenities this place has to offer. Hiked Chimney Rock, did the boat tour, attempted horse back riding (rained out) at Cedar Creek Stables. Will try for thet before we leave or next visit. Would definitely recommend others to stay here.
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I don’t even know how to put into words

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

I don’t even know how to put into words how much we loved Sadie’s Retreat! When you advertized all the amenities of home you are not kidding! It could not have been any more welcoming if you tried.
This was our first trip to the lake and we are working on figuring out what weekend we will be coming back in the fall. We went gem mining at the Chinmeny Rock Gem Mine and were surprised at how may gems you get! We strolled through Chimney Rock Village, Loved Bubba O’Leary’s General Store. ( with their .10 cup of coffee) We climbed up to Devil’s Head at Chimney Rock Park and took our dog, Tabasco, for a stroll along the boardwalk by the lake. If you like Jelly, Jam and Relish, pull over at the stand on the side of 64 headed towards Chimney Rock for an amazing selection of treats.
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful cabin with us, for your upfront pricing, and for letting us bring our beloved dog!
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved Sadie’s Retreat!

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

We loved Sadie’s Retreat! Sunrises, sunsets, butterflies all over the butterfly bushes, late afternoons on the porch…it was perfect! We came for the weekendso I could run the Lake Lure 10K on Friday night. What a great place to come back to relax! Callie, our dog, and I loved the challenging run around Snug Harbor Circle. We loved being able to bring her with us! Callie loved the front porch in the afternoon! We loved the ambiance of the cabin, wood everywhere. All the amenities were wonderful and made us feel truly at home! Can’t wait to get back up here!
**Submitted from our on site guest book.**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We only stayed for a night but....

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 8, 2009

We only stayed for a night but we were celebrated our dog’s 4th birthday. He loves to go. We walked trails at Chimney Rock and did sunset walk on the boardwalk at Lake Lure. Had a wonderful time. The next morning I did some shops in town and we took Scruffy to the water, loved all the rocks. You’re place is very nice, waking up to the mountain view. Also enjoyed your special touches of sunflower pictures and Thomas Kincaid print. Saw all the photos of your family. Thanks for allowing our pet, Scruffy.

**Submitted from on site guest book comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really did enjoy our stay this week

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

We really did enjoy our stay this week – it seemed a lot longer! Even the neighbors were friendly. Went Chimney Rock, Bat Cave and all the way to Black Mountain. Went to Saluda, Hendersonville, Asheville, and Biltmore Estates too! Walked the “walking path” around the lake and park with gazebo at Lake Lure. Went up into Riverbend Highlands (Bills Creek, Cedar Creek and Ridgecrest) and through Rumbling Bald ( Buffalo Creek Road). Enjoyed it all – the winding roads through the mountains and green pastures, past the lakes, and the Rocky Broad River, and the smaller creeks/streams! We had a great time, each day heading out to somewhere different! Lots to do and see if you just want to explore – walking trails, horse back riding (Cedar Creek Stables) and “climbing” Chimney Rock!! And aren’t those waterfalls from “Last of the Mohicans” great??!!
Thank you so much for all the little extras – from coffee, sugar,& creamer to the spices for cooking – to the basket of goodies in the bathroom, in case you forgot something! We’d definitely rent this cabin again!


**Submitted from on site guest book comments.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really enjoyed our stay at Sadie’s Retreat!

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Sadie’s Retreat! We drove around the lake and didn’t mind getting a little lost. The winding roads were fun. We ventured out to South Mountain State Park for what we thought would be a nice scenic bike ride, but what we got was a very challenging mountain bike experience. We were excited to come back to Sadie’s Retreat for a relaxing evening. We also enjoyed a short hike at Chimney Rock State Park to see Hickory Nut Falls. Our dog Casey loved the weekend getaway, especially the hike and doggy bed. Wish we could stay longer! Thanks for everything.

**Submitted from on site guest book comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is our first visit to the mountains

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 4, 2009

This is our first visit to the mountains and it will definitely not be the last. We loved staying here and we absolutely love people around here. They are so nice, warm and willing to lend a hand. We drove to Asheville and it was a wonderful and really pretty ride. We made several trips to the lake and although we did not get to swimming we did take our boat out and go fishing. We will definitely be back. Thanks for all the little things that make this cabin feel like a house.

*Submitted from on site guest book comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will definitely be back.

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 11, 2009

We came up on the 11th & went to a couple shops. We came back here & got settled in. We rode out to Ingles for groceries. We came back & cooked out on the grill. It was raining so we just relaxed for the rest of the night. On the 12th, we rode through the mountains up past the shops & ended up ½ mile from Knoxville then turned around & came back. Then we rode up toward Rutherfordton. We also walked the trails across from Ingles. Then we ate at Larkin’s on the Lake. For the rest of the night we relaxed in the cabin. Today on the 13th, we did all of our shopping all the shop us bring in ur dog, Molly, as long as we carried her. We are leaving in the morning at 10Am. We have had a great experience here at Sadie’s Retreat & we also got loads of pictures of the mountains & cabin. We have seen a bunch of beautiful sites. We thank you so much for allowing us to bring Molly along. We will definitely be back. Thanks again.

*Submitted from on site guest book comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A good relaxing week was had by all

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 23, 2009

A good relaxing week was had by all in spite of the wet weather. The cabin is in a lovely location. Living al fresco is a rarity in May in the UK!

**Submitted from on site guest book comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a really nice weekend

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

We had a really nice weekend capped off with a beautiful wedding on Lake Lure Last night. The cabin was great and very convenient. The dogs were able to join us which always makes the trip even better.

*Submitted from on site guest book comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really enjoyed our stay at Sadie’s Retreat

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Sadie’s Retreat – it is such a sweet cabin and had everything we needed to make the stay perfect. We enjoyed hiking Chimney Rock and visiting the local Restaurants. Sadie’s Retreat was very relaxing and we hope to visit again in the future.

**Submitted from on site guest book comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our three days in Lake Lure

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2009

Hey, My wife, son (5), and I enjoyed our three days in Lake Lure. The cabin was nice and met all our needs. The highlight for us was Chimney Rock – an energetic 5 year old can indeed make the climb from the bottom. Spent a day in Asheville. ( If you go to Asheville, take 64/74 to Bat Cave, but then make athe left to take 64 over to I-26 and up to Asheville. 74 is just too windy for us at least.) We were amazed at all the amenities in the kitchen we’re used to beach houses that have nothing. If I had to nitpick, a spaghetti strainer would have come in handy.
Dinner at Larkin’s on the Lake was really good – highly recommended.
My son’s favorite parts of the cabin were: spongebob on TV and the lockbox. Loved spinning those wheels. Hope he didn’t wear it out.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great relaxing vacation!

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

Garland, Melony, Carrie Jo, Erin in for the week. Ate at LaStrada for the first meal in town, good but pricey. Sunday, went to Asheville to Georgetown Baptist Church. Then a great meal of Asian Chinese buffet on Patton Road. Monday we hiked Chimney Rock& the falls – beautiful. Tuesday, fun in the sun, spent all day at the beach & dinner & games with our friends at another house. Wednesday we went Gem mining & shopping. Thursday, Asheville again, destination The Biltmore. Awesome. Well worth the money & trip. (Discount tickets from Ingles, kids under 16 free for summer.) Friday, started with blueberry pancakes, last chance shopping, a boat tour of the Lake, playing in the river, homemade pizza, and a concert near the beach. We saw deer, squirrels, rabbits, and two dead copperheads in the road. Would not recommend barefoot outside in the dark. We loved the cabin & location. Great relaxing vacation!

**Submitted from on site guest book comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed the three day weekend w/friends

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2009

We enjoyed the three day weekend w/friends getting reacquainted after many lost years after college. Thanks for providing the perfect intimate environment to make this happen.
Best Wishes and future success w/Sadie’s!

*Submitted from on site guest book comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We have really enjoyed our stay in Sadie’s Retreat

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2009

We have really enjoyed our stay in Sadie’s Retreat and at Lake Lure. The cabin was wonderful! (Thanks for listening to the previous guest’s suggestions about the spaghetti strainer – we needed it!) Our puppy, Brandy, had the time of his life and thanks Sadie for the use of her bed. Lake Lure was nice – we strongly recommend to future guests to take the walk around the Lake at Morse Park Trail – Beautiful! Chimney Rock Park was amazing. The puppy couldn’t make it to the top of Chimney Rock, but the Hickory Nut Falls trail at Chimney Rock Park was great for a dog! Chimney Rock Village was nice – the River Walk was wonderful! A short walk but well worth it. (Also great for dogs).
Sadie’s Retreat and the Lake Lure/Chimney Rock area far exceeded our expectations and we look forward to returning soon!

*Submitted from on site guest book comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Grand time during our stay at Sadie’s Retreat

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2009

We had a grand time during our stay at Sadie’s Retreat! A roomy comfortable serene place is just what we needed to get away from it all. To cap off all the wonderful things NC has to offer, the deer, sun rises, sunsets and hummingbirds (not to mention the Monarchs too!) were glorious! While staying at Sadie’s Retreat, we ventured out many areas. First there was Asheville & the LaZoom tour. Then dinner at Limonies – spectacular food! The tour is a must do! Then there was Chimney Rock & hiking. Again, spectacular and awe inspiring. Lake Lure Beach – beautiful. Tubing down the French Broad River – Amazingly fun. A little treacherous yet fun. The town of Chimney Rock – a must do & don’t forget River Walk & a ice cream at Hershey’s Yummy! We took the Cherokee Excursion to Cherokee, NC. A bit of a distance but well worth it. There is a lot to be seen, especially if you’re a history lover. The Pisgah Forest is beautiful and if you are here in the summer you must go to the Sliding Rock. It is a natural water slide that is 60 feet high and goes into a 50 foot swimming hole! Kids love it! It was great having Ingles right up the road!
We ran out of time and had to leave but we will return to continue crossing off our “Bucket List” of things we’d like to do in North Carolina!
Thank you for sharing your home with us!

**Submitted from on site guest book comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time! The cabin is wonderful

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: September 9, 2009

We had a great time! The cabin is wonderful, very cozy, comfortable & inviting. Diamond had fun hiking & swimming, chasing bunnies & squirrels. She did get a little over excited & jumped out of the car window. Luckily I was almost stopped!

The cabin was very welcoming. What a wonderful place to spend our vacation. Stella had a great time hiking and just sitting on the porch enjoying the views. Thank you for providing a peaceful vacation home.

**Submitted from on site guest book comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The deer were beautiful!

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2009

Despite all the rain, Phil, Lucas (see picture), Zack (85lbs black lab) and I had a wonderful stay. We hiked a lot, took Zach swimming, let Lucas run back and forth along the rocking chair front porch. This was a great getaway. The beds were super comfortable and all the extras were helpful. Only recommendation is to have “Dirty Dancing”. The DVD to watch ?
The deer were beautiful!

**Submitted from on site guest book comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful time, loved the area

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

We had a wonderful time, loved the area went to Chimney Rock, Green Creek Winery in Columbus, took a boat tour of Lake Lure and had brunch at the Inn. It was a wonderful relaxing 5 day weekend and we hope to come back when the leaves have turned a little brighter!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“our mini-moon”

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

We came to Lake Lure to relax after our wedding – “our mini-moon”. Even with all the rain we still made it out to Rutherfordton and forest city – Great little towns. We stopped @ the pet/music store @ first and the soda fountain for great scones & lattes. Chimney Rock was fantastic & our canoe ride out on the lake. LaStrada was yummy w/great views as well as El Suerno – a little shack but tasty Mexican food. Thanks for the relaxing time!

**Submitted from on site guest book comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very relaxing. In a great location.

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2009

Very relaxing. In a great location. We were able to get many areas in about ½ hour. Wish the leaves were brighter as the cabin has a beautiful view of the mountain. Enjoyed the privacy and comfort of the cabin. First vacation in a while where we didn’t need to bring our Pom Dusty to an emergency vet – he likes privacy.

*Submitted from on site guest book comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Surprise gift from my daughter

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

Our trip to Lake Lure was a surprise gift from my daughter to celebrate my birthday. What a wonderful surprise, and has been one of the best birthdays ever! Such a relaxing & enjoyable trip. Great place to stay – Love the views. Our boat tour of the lake was great. Hate to go and we are planning on coming back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: November 28, 2009

We came to the cabin to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary (11/30/09). We had a wonderful stay! The cabin has everything we needed and is in a great location – convenient to everything. Our dog, Frenchie, loved walking the neighborhood and enjoyed the fresh air as did we. Kimberly had already makde us feel right at home via emails before our arrival. We definitely recommend the Lake Lure Boat Tour – Beautiful. Biltmore today – (Yah!) and dinner tonight. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our stay at Sadie’s Retreat was wonderful

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

Our stay at Sadie’s Retreat was wonderful and relaxing. It had snowed here almost 2 feet and it was beautiful. We built a snow man and had plenty of snow ball fights. We took a day trip to Wolf Laurel Ski Resort and snow skiing was great. The town of Lake Lure and Chimney Rock were very nice and we enjoyed going around to the little shops. Watching movies in front of the fireplace at night was very relaxing. This is a wonderful cabin and look forward to our next visit.

**Submitted from on site guest book.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time.

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: December 30, 2009

We had a great time. Sadie’s Retreat was wonderful. We visited Biltmore Estates both candlelight and toured the next day. The trip down to Asheville was both winding but beautiful. We had chance to eat at Larkin’s on New Years Eve. The food was great, service great, and they seated us the reservations. We had a wonderful stay.

**Submitted from on site guest book.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We have certainly enjoyed our visit here.

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 24, 2010

We have certainly enjoyed our visit here. The cabin is so cozy and we found everything that we needed! Uulea, our black lab, loved finding a bed, a toy, and food bowls. Everyone in the area is very nice and we enjoyed browsing through the stores and having breakfast at Ginny’s. Lake Lure is a beautiful place and we have had a wonderful stay at Sadie’s Retreat. Thank you for being so attentive to details. We hope to come again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cabin was great. Location ideal.

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2008

Cabin was great. Location ideal. Cabin was filled with amenities and it was great. Sat on porch and watched deer across the street. Chimney Rock and little town is awesome and only 2 miles down the hill. Well worth visit. Will find a week next year to stay. Queen beds would be nice for us over 30 group. That’s my only observation.

**Submitted from our on site guest book**
**We upgraded both beds to be Queen size beds since this reviewer's trip.**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We only stayed for a night but we were celebratin

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 8, 2009

We only stayed for a night but we were celebrating our dog’s 4th birthday. He loves to go. We walked trails at Chimney Rock and did sunset walk on the boardwalk at Lake Lure. Had a wonderful time. The next morning I did some shops in town and we took Scruffy to the water, loved all the rocks. You’re place is very nice, waking up to the mountain view. Also enjoyed your special touches of sunflower pictures and Thomas Kincaid print. Saw all the photos of your family. Thanks for allowing our pet, Scruffy.

**Submitted from our on site guest book**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really did enjoy our stay this week

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

We really did enjoy our stay this week – it seemed a lot longer! Even the neighbors were friendly. Went Chimney Rock, Bat Cave and all the way to Black Mountain. Went to Saluda, Hendersonville, Asheville, and Biltmore Estates too! Walked the “walking path” around the lake and park with gazebo at Lake Lure. Went up into Riverbend Highlands (Bills Creek, Cedar Creek and Ridgecrest) and through Rumbling Bald ( Buffalo Creek Road). Enjoyed it all – the winding roads through the mountains and green pastures, past the lakes, and the Rocky Broad River, and the smaller creeks/streams! We had a great time, each day heading out to somewhere different! Lots to do and see if you just want to explore – walking trails, horse back riding (Cedar Creek Stables) and “climbing” Chimney Rock!! And aren’t those waterfalls from “Last of the Mohicans” great??!!
Thank you so much for all the little extras – from coffee, sugar,& creamer to the spices for cooking – to the basket of goodies in the bathroom, in case you forgot something! We’d definitely rent this cabin again!

**Submitted from our on site guest book**
**And yes, the Last of the Mohicans is right!**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a fantastic time.

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 12, 2009

We had a fantastic time. Sadie’s Retreat is a great place to spend a nice, relaxing weekend. Our dog, Louis, really liked his bed in the corner.
Two additions that would make this retreat even better are a hot tub and an outdoor fire pit.
We look forward to coming back sometime soon.
Thanks for very much for a super weekend.

**Submitted from our on site guest book**
**Due to safety concerns, we have not added the firepit or the hottub at this time.**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really enjoyed our stay at Sadie’s Retreat!

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Sadie’s Retreat! We drove around the lake and didn’t mind getting a little lost. The winding roads were fun. We ventured out to South Mountain State Park for what we thought would be a nice scenic bike ride, but what we got was a very challenging mountain bike experience. We were excited to come back to Sadie’s Retreat for a relaxing evening. We also enjoyed a short hike at Chimney Rock State Park to see Hickory Nut Falls. Our dog Casey loved the weekend getaway, especially the hike and doggy bed. Wish we could stay longer! Thanks for everything.

**Submitted from our on site guest book**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is our first visit to the mountains

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 4, 2009

This is our first visit to the mountains and it will definitely not be the last. We loved staying here and we absolutely love people around here. They are so nice, warm and willing to lend a hand. We drove to Asheville and it was a wonderful and really pretty ride. We made several trips to the lake and although we did not get to swimming we did take our boat out and go fishing. We will definitely be back. Thanks for all the little things that make this cabin feel like a house.

**Submitted from our on site guest book**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will definitely be back.

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 11, 2009

We came up on the 11th & went to a couple shops. We came back here & got settled in. We rode out to Ingles for groceries. We came back & cooked out on the grill. It was raining so we just relaxed for the rest of the night. On the 12th, we rode through the mountains up past the shops & ended up ½ mile from Knoxville then turned around & came back. Then we rode up toward Rutherfordton. We also walked the trails across from Ingles. Then we ate at Larkin’s on the Lake. For the rest of the night we relaxed in the cabin. Today on the 13th, we did all of our shopping all the shop us bring in ur dog, Molly, as long as we carried her. We are leaving in the morning at 10Am. We have had a great experience here at Sadie’s Retreat & we also got loads of pictures of the mountains & cabin. We have seen a bunch of beautiful sites. We thank you so much for allowing us to bring Molly along. We will definitely be back. Thanks again.

**Submitted from our on site guest book**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A good relaxing week was had by all

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

A good relaxing week was had by all in spite of the wet weather. The cabin is in a lovely location. Living al fresco is a rarity in May in the UK!

**Submitted from our on site guest book**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a really nice weekend

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

We had a really nice weekend capped off with a beautiful wedding on Lake Lure Last night. The cabin was great and very convenient. The dogs were able to join us which always makes the trip even better.

**Submitted from our on site guest book**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had the most relaxing wonderful experience here

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2009

We had the most relaxing wonderful experience here at Sadie’s Retreat. There is so much to do in the area. We spent most of our time just relaxing on the porch. Nice location wonderful view. We took the boat tour def a must do!

**Submitted from our on site guest book**
**Please note, this review is from my Aunt & Uncle**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really enjoyed our stay at Sadie’s Retreat

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 29, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Sadie’s Retreat – it is such a sweet cabin and had everything we needed to make the stay perfect. We enjoyed hiking Chimney Rock and visiting the local Restaurants. Sadie’s Retreat was very relaxing and we hope to visit again in the future.

**Submitted from our on site guest book**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our three day

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2009

Hey, My wife, son (5), and I enjoyed our three days in Lake Lure. The cabin was nice and met all our needs. The highlight for us was Chimney Rock – an energetic 5 year old can indeed make the climb from the bottom. Spent a day in Asheville. ( If you go to Asheville, take 64/74 to Bat Cave, but then make athe left to take 64 over to I-26 and up to Asheville. 74 is just too windy for us at least.) We were amazed at all the amenities in the kitchen we’re used to beach houses that have nothing. If I had to nitpick, a spaghetti strainer would have come in handy.
Dinner at Larkin’s on the Lake was really good – highly recommended.
My son’s favorite parts of the cabin were: spongebob on TV and the lockbox. Loved spinning those wheels. Hope he didn’t wear it out.

**Submitted from our on site guest book**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was our first visit to Lake Lure

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

This was our first visit to Lake Lure and being able to stay in this wonderful cabin was ideal. We enjoyed being close to everything & being able to walk a short distance to see the lake. Sitting on the front porch & seeing beautiful mountain views & deer playing was awesome! Enjoyed Chimney Rock & the public beach. By far our favorite part of the trip was playing in the river at the Tiki Bar. Jumping off the rocks into the river and riding the rapids kept the boys (and me) entertained for hours. Please thank Sadie for allowing our family to stay in her retreat.

**Submitted from on site guest book**
**Please note this is my brother's family :)**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great relaxing vacation!

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

Garland, Melony, Carrie Jo, Erin in for the week. Ate at LaStrada for the first meal in town, good but pricey. Sunday, went to Asheville to Georgetown Baptist Church. Then a great meal of Asian Chinese buffet on Patton Road. Monday we hiked Chimney Rock& the falls – beautiful. Tuesday, fun in the sun, spent all day at the beach & dinner & games with our friends at another house. Wednesday we went Gem mining & shopping. Thursday, Asheville again, destination The Biltmore. Awesome. Well worth the money & trip. (Discount tickets from Ingles, kids under 16 free for summer.) Friday, started with blueberry pancakes, last chance shopping, a boat tour of the Lake, playing in the river, homemade pizza, and a concert near the beach. We saw deer, squirrels, rabbits, and two dead copperheads in the road. Would not recommend barefoot outside in the dark. We loved the cabin & location. Great relaxing vacation!

**Submitted from our on site guest book**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed the three day weekend

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

We enjoyed the three day weekend w/friends getting reacquainted after many lost years after college. Thanks for providing the perfect intimate environment to make this happen.
Best Wishes and future success w/Sadie’s!

**Submitted from our on site guest book**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We have really enjoyed our stay in Sadie’s Retreat

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2009

We have really enjoyed our stay in Sadie’s Retreat and at Lake Lure. The cabin was wonderful! (Thanks for listening to the previous guest’s suggestions about the spaghetti strainer – we needed it!) Our puppy, Brandy, had the time of his life and thanks Sadie for the use of her bed. Lake Lure was nice – we strongly recommend to future guests to take the walk around the Lake at Morse Park Trail – Beautiful! Chimney Rock Park was amazing. The puppy couldn’t make it to the top of Chimney Rock, but the Hickory Nut Falls trail at Chimney Rock Park was great for a dog! Chimney Rock Village was nice – the River Walk was wonderful! A short walk but well worth it. (Also great for dogs).
Sadie’s Retreat and the Lake Lure/Chimney Rock area far exceeded our expectations and we look forward to returning soon!

**Submitted from our on site guest book**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a grand time during our stay at Sadie’s

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2009

We had a grand time during our stay at Sadie’s Retreat! A roomy comfortable serene place is just what we needed to get away from it all. To cap off all the wonderful things NC has to offer, the deer, sun rises, sunsets and hummingbirds (not to mention the Monarchs too!) were glorious! While staying at Sadie’s Retreat, we ventured out many areas. First there was Asheville & the LaZoom tour. Then dinner at Limonies – spectacular food! The tour is a must do! Then there was Chimney Rock & hiking. Again, spectacular and awe inspiring. Lake Lure Beach – beautiful. Tubing down the French Broad River – Amazingly fun. A little treacherous yet fun. The town of Chimney Rock – a must do & don’t forget River Walk & a ice cream at Hershey’s Yummy! We took the Cherokee Excursion to Cherokee, NC. A bit of a distance but well worth it. There is a lot to be seen, especially if you’re a history lover. The Pisgah Forest is beautiful and if you are here in the summer you must go to the Sliding Rock. It is a natural water slide that is 60 feet high and goes into a 50 foot swimming hole! Kids love it! It was great having Ingles right up the road!
We ran out of time and had to leave but we will return to continue crossing off our “Bucket List” of things we’d like to do in North Carolina!
Thank you for sharing your home with us!

**Submitted from our on site guest book**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

a wonderful stay

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2009

Despite all the rain, Phil, Lucas (see picture), Zack (85lbs black lab) and I had a wonderful stay. We hiked a lot, took Zach swimming, let Lucas run back and forth along the rocking chair front porch. This was a great getaway. The beds were super comfortable and all the extras were helpful. Only recommendation is to have “Dirty Dancing”. The DVD to watch.
The deer were beautiful!

**Submitted from our on site guest book**
**Since this review we have added the Dirty Dancing DVD! Enjoy!**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful time

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

We had a wonderful time, loved the area went to Chimney Rock, Green Creek Winery in Columbus, took a boat tour of Lake Lure and had brunch at the Inn. It was a wonderful relaxing 5 day weekend and we hope to come back when the leaves have turned a little brighter!

**Submitted from our on site guest book**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“our mini-moon”

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2009

We came to Lake Lure to relax after our wedding – “our mini-moon”. Even with all the rain we still made it out to Rutherfordton and forest city – Great little towns. We stopped @ the pet/music store @ first and the soda fountain for great scones & lattes. Chimney Rock was fantastic & our canoe ride out on the lake. LaStrada was yummy w/great views as well as El Suerno – a little shack but tasty Mexican food. Thanks for the relaxing time!

**Submitted from our on site guest book**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very relaxing. In a great location.

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2009

Very relaxing. In a great location. We were able to get many areas in about ½ hour. Wish the leaves were brighter as the cabin has a beautiful view of the mountain. Enjoyed the privacy and comfort of the cabin. First vacation in a while where we didn’t need to bring our Pom Dusty to an emergency vet – he likes privacy.

**Submitted from our on site guest book**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A surprise gift from my daughter

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

Our trip to Lake Lure was a surprise gift from my daughter to celebrate my birthday. What a wonderful surprise, and has been one of the best birthdays ever! Such a relaxing & enjoyable trip. Great place to stay – Love the views. Our boat tour of the lake was great. Hate to go and we are planning on coming back.

**Submitted from our on site guest book**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We came to celebrate our 1st anniversary.

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 28, 2009

We came to the cabin to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary (11/30/09). We had a wonderful stay! The cabin has everything we needed and is in a great location – convenient to everything. Our dog, Frenchie, loved walking the neighborhood and enjoyed the fresh air as did we. Kimberly had already makde us feel right at home via emails before our arrival. We definitely recommend the Lake Lure Boat Tour – Beautiful. Biltmore today – (Yah!) and dinner tonight. Thank you so much!

**Submitted from our in house guest book.**

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time.

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 30, 2009

We had a great time. Sadie’s Retreat was wonderful. We visited Biltmore Estates both candlelight and toured the next day. The trip down to Asheville was both winding but beautiful. We had chance to eat at Larkin’s on New Years Eve. The food was great, service great, and they seated us the reservations. We had a wonderful stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We have certainly enjoyed our visit here.

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 23, 2010

We have certainly enjoyed our visit here. The cabin is so cozy and we found everything that we needed! Uulea, our black lab, loved finding a bed, a toy, and food bowls. Everyone in the area is very nice and we enjoyed browsing through the stores and having breakfast at Ginny’s. Lake Lure is a beautiful place and we have had a wonderful stay at Sadie’s Retreat. Thank you for being so attentive to details. We hope to come again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Cabin

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

Had a great weekend, just what the doctor ordered. We found the cabin well appointed and clean.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Trip

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Sadie's Retreat. The reservation and billing process was extremely convenient. We found everything to be very nice.

While we have taken several day trips to area, this is our first overnight stay. We will certainly visit Sadie's again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sweet, sweet cabin.

Review submitted: September 14, 2009   Date of arrival: September 9, 2009

I stayed at Sadie's Retreat Sept 9 -13. The cabin was cozy, comfortable and very inviting. It was also well stocked in the kitchen and the bathroom. The bed was super comfy. It's located very close to the Lake Lure public beach as well as Chimney Rock. My dog loved exploring the yard and laying around on the big front porch. I would definitely stay here again and again.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

View From the Mountain

Review submitted: November 25, 2008   Date of arrival: August 12, 2008

Shriner ( my pit mix) and I spent August 12-14th at Sadie's retreat. What a great experience we had. There were all the comforts of home, with a view of paradise on every side. Walking up a couple of the trails at nearby Chimney Rock was exhilarating. I also enjoyed viewing it from the front porch of the cabin with my canine friend as well. I'm not into cooking, but everything needed for that job was readily available. Pizza at the nearby Lakeside Pizza was excellent and relatively inexpensive. For more formal dining I could have gone to La Strada but I enjoyed the home style accomodations at the rental. I'm looking forward to future visits to Sadie's Retreat when my schedule permits. I've encouraged friends to check it out also. Harold

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review