reviews for: listing #42154 - Crescent Beach, Florida House rental

Mermaid's Oceanfont Home with Pool, Tiki Hut and Jacuzzi
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $275 - $500 /nt
    $1,800 - $3,500 /wk

sort by:

Mermaid's Castle

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

My husband and I live in St. Augustine,Fl. We had been looking forward to finding a beach house to celebrate our 40th anniversary with family. We looked up and down our Florida coasts to find the right house. We found a treasure right here in St. Augustine on Crescent Beach.
Mermaid's Castle is on a less traveled section of the beach. The grand kids enjoyed boogie boarding, kite flying and exploring. The house is beautifully decorated in tropical style and comfortable in every way. The floor to ceiling windows brought the outdoors in.The view was beautiful with trees, palms, dunes and ocean. There was a nice breeze on the deck. We enjoyed sitting out for coffee, dinner and games.
Our son's family liked the privacy of being downstairs. It has a king bedroom with bath across the hall and a lovely two queen bathroom suite. They also enjoyed quick access to the pool! We all gathered upstairs for meals and family time together. Table actually seats ten with four more at the counter!
The gardens in the front and back of the house were very relaxing to experience. Thank you James and Marla for being quickly available and presenting such a welcoming beach house. We hope to vacation at Mermaid's Castle again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

7th Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We had our 7th family reunion with over 40 people this year. Six other houses were rented in the same neighborhood. I shared Mermaids Castle with my sister and her family and we all had more than enough room and space. Our home was the go to place for our evening gatherings around the pool and throughout the upstairs. What an awesome week we spent with our families from all over the US. Mermaids Castle held us all very comfortably and we even played corn hole poolside and on the beach. The weather was perfect for our outdoor evening get togethers while grilling. Lots of places for all to spread out to eat, drink and be merry.

The entire house is beautifully decorated and you truly feel so comfortable no matter where you are. The upper outside deck was a perfect spot for picture taking of all the different families; with the ocean and palm tress in the back round. The walk through the dunes was so nice everyday; we saw many turtles along the path. The beach is gorgeous and very family friendly. We brought our paddle boards and bikes and used them quite a bit. Daily boogie boarding was on the agenda as well. I brought two 10x10 tents for shade of which we put at the top of the dune nightly and they were completely safe.

Our trips into downtown St. Augustine were less then 30 minutes away. This is the 3rd time I have rented this home (the first two were for our group of 12 women for our annual chick weekend) Our pictures and memories this summer were priceless. Thank you to James and Marla for sharing their beautiful home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

8th Annual Chick Weekend

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

WOW! Once again the Mermaids Castle was just perfect for our group of women. So much space for all of us very comfortably. The view is awesome, the walk to the beach through the sand is just so pretty. The house was spotless and everything in perfect working condition. The pool and upper deck area are awesome gathering places and we were blessed to have gorgeous weather this weekend. The open kitchen to the dining and living area allowed for all of us to be together. I personally have rented the home for a week this coming June for my family and very excited to be back at Mermaids Castle. Great home, great vibe, great location......the owners James and Marla and wonderful and very accommodating! Thank you again for an awesome weekend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

birthday getaway

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2012

Highly recommend Mermaids Castle! Booked it for my 50th birthday celebration and it was wonderful. The home was quite charming and very comfortable. Started each morning with a nice walk on the beach and then made great use of the pool and deck areas (including the tiki bar of course:))Hope to bring the family back again for another family celebration!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

7th Annual BBB Girls Weekend

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 12, 2012

WOW! Mermaids Castle was so much fun. This was our 7th annual girls weekend where 12 of us gather each January for a long weekend. The home more than met our expectations regarding the layout and room for everyone. This home fit our needs beautifully. The home was very clean, organized and very spacious. The kitchen area was very roomy to cook in and with the open living room right there we were all included while cooking was going on. All the beds were very comfortable and having 4 bathrooms was really nice. The outdoor living areas upstairs offered gorgeous views and being able to hang out by the pool and tiki bar was so much fun. The nature walk to the beach through the dunes was wonderful. I would recommend Mermaids Castle for large gatherings.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Picha's and Whitelaw's Family beach vacation

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We had 3 families join us at the Mermaid. It was beauitful decorated with a large kitchen and dining table would sit at least 10 and 3 bar stools. We had a party on Sunday with 19 people who came in from Jacksonville. The pool was great- they had everything - balls, boogie boards 6, pool noodles, baby floats, rafts, music outside. Ages 6 months, 27 to 70 years old. We had 12 adults all week. We drove the car to the beach for $7 with a 12 ft tent, 12 chairs, cooler.This was great for me because of my bad knees. The days we didn't take the tent out , we walked to the beach. No one complained about the beds .They were very comfortable. This was a great experience. Our family will come back. Thank you for sharing your home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Just got home and WOW!!

Review submitted: July 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

This was the best place. We had 2 families,4 adults and 4 kids. The kids had the best time walking up and down from the beach, searching for the cats in the grove trees. The house was beaeutifully decorated and comfortable for lounging around and cooking. Pool was awesome place for our 3 year old to swim, she just learned without her swimmies a few weeks ago so a great place to "jump and swim" to the steps. By the way, the black out curtains and king size bed in the master was "cozy" and we could have slept later without a 3 yr old but that is fine, down on the beach by 8:30 one morning. Thank you for your hospitality and what a lovely place. We will be back! The Dees and Holt Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful house, wonderful stay, wonderful hosts!

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

This was the first time my immediate family has ever taken a beach trip together. We had a wonderful time! The Mermaid's Castle is cleverly decorated, a real slice of "Old Florida" with lush mangroves separating the house from the beach. We were charmed the moment the owner's wife took us on the shaded path through the dense trees, across and over the dunes to look at at a perfectly blue Atlantic Ocean. This place has everything you could possibly want: beach access for sunny days on the sand, a pool (AND hot tub!) for those days when you just can't make it down. The furniture is comfortable (especially the beds) and sitting on the deck the first couple of days, with a wonderful breeze blowing off the the ocean was simply breathtaking. I've never been so relaxed.

We were a pretty big group (8 adults and 2 infant children); the place comfortably held all of us. The house was well maintained, clean and the owners were there to help us with whatever we needed. In fact, while we were out to dinner, a huge storm rolled through the area and I believe they even came by to check on us and make sure everything was alright.

We could not have been more satisfied with our stay at the Castle and I can't wait to come back next year! Thank you so, so much!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Rick
We want to thank you and your family for staying with us last month and we're delighted to hear everyone had a good time. We hope you include us in your future vacation plans. Until then, the cool breeze,warm waters and soft sands will be waiting!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

benjie jacksonville

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

This was truly the most delightful and relaxing vacation ever. the hosts are really very thoughtful in anticipating every need. the house is a true beach retreat with all the amenities you'd expect and then some. the private pool and jacuzzi made for refreshing times after a long walk on the beach with my dog, Buster. Magnificent views of the ocean from three sides of the home. huge wraparound deck with comfy furniture perfect for entertaining. there is nothing quite like have your morning coffee on the deck watching a sunrise...or a chilled chardonnay after dinner listening to the rolling waves and watchi ng a full moon over the ocean.the house is big enough for a great LARGE family vacation, the next ladies only getaway or perhaps a honeymoon retreat. the house is beautifully furnished, should be in Southern Living. amazing state of the art kitchen with everything you need. near many good local restaurants, sightseeing in America's oldest city and easy to find. I will be back for more luxurious leisure time in Mermaid's Castle. Thank you, James and Marla

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: LB
We're delighted that you and Buster had a great time and hope you guys came return in the Fall for another stay.
Have a Blessed Day
James and Marla

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Exotic, , a peek of what REAL Floridas like WOW!

Review submitted: January 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 21, 2010

Wow , i absolutley loved this rental. It is a peek into the world of real florida. unspioled and un fussed with. The owners are SO nice, perfect hosts. The house was tropically and tastefully decorated by the wife who is also a jewelry designer and interior decorator ( the house was goregous! granite countertops. all stainess stell brand new appliances. )

30 FOOTSTEPS AND YOU ARE ON BEACH !!!Great price for all the ammeneties.
Not the ritz. Old driftwood stairs could use some updates but hell it gave the place tons of character !
This is a sweet southern florida good ol' beach house with all of the quirks and funkyness we were looking for. If you want to stay somewhere diffrent, thats really a fun experience come check this place out.

Hammocks in a private tropical garden. Hot tub. Tiki Bar hand made by husband. What more could you ask for ? Not for the un-adventuresome or someone who just wants to stay in another condo. The owners love pets too ! they have afew cute wild cats that live in the jungle behind the house. We LOVE mermaids castle & are coming back in JULY! THANKS JAMES & MARLA you guys are the best !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Stephanie
Just a quck note to say thanks for staying with us your kind words for future guests. You're right about the stairs they were getting a little too adventerous and I'm happy to report that before the season started we rebulit them. You also have to come visit the two new down-stairs bedrooms we remodeled. Now we can accomodate up to 12 people. So come on down and bring the family.
James and Marla

Helpful votes: 23 / 24

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review