reviews for: listing #42156 - Bethany Beach, Delaware House rental

Hideaway Retreat
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $110 - $586 /nt
    $650 - $4,100 /wk
    $2,400 - $16,000 /mth

sort by:

Bethany Beach Rental

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

Great rental home! My husband and I were looking for a rental where we could take out two well behaved German Shepherd dogs. The home was perfect! Lots of space. A fully stocked kitchen. Very clean! Pictures on the site were right on. The porch and decks were great. We went in Oct so we didn't use the pool but it would be perfect in warmer weather. Dave, the owner, was great and easy to deal with. Bethany Beach not far, you could walk. A short drive to the other beaches in the area as well! Nice quiet retreat! I would rent again for sure should we stay in Bethany again. Thanks Dave!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation Place

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We were very happy with our decision to rent this property. The beach house has a friendly, warm and comfortable atmosphere that made us feel right at home. Everything was fresh and clean and a delight to walk into.
We were there the week of the 4th of July, which turned out to be a pretty rainy week. With thunderstorms threatening each day we still had plenty of relaxation and fun. The enclosed front porch includes a ping pong table that we made good use of. There are plenty of books to borrow, DVD’s to watch, games to play and when it stopped raining a good game of horse shoes was in order. The little ones enjoyed the swing/slide set and having a special place for them to play away from the grill and horse shoes. The property is very spacious. The bicycles provided were ready to go and there was a bike helmet for each. You can easily ride the bikes to the beach, restaurants, stores and Bethany Beach’s boardwalk.
The house sleeps 14 comfortably with plenty of room for everyone to store their clothes in closets and drawers. Bring your own beach towels and pool towels although the linen closets are full of towels for bathing.
Our stay here was wonderful, in fact, other family members who were here the same week at other locations, joined us every day here because they also thought it was a great place to vacation! We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind comments. We are of course glad you had a wonderful time.
Every year we try to update and improve our home and amenities for you use and look forward to your return.
Dave

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great time in Bethany!

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

We had a weekend family celebration for my sister's 50th birthday and this house turned out to be perfect for us. There were 11 of us and we maxed out the space. We could have done 12,but don't think 14 is really possible. Dave, the owner, was great to work with and was very accommodating. We loved the screened-in porch and the deck upstairs. We had stinky weather so weren't able to use the pool, but it was clean and looked inviting. You can walk to the beach, but it's 3 long blocks across a couple of busy roads. Most of us had no problem, but my 75 year old mother couldn't do it. The location was private and quiet, parking our 4 SUV's was easy. We loved it and my 16 year old niece asked when we could come back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

family vaca

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

My family and i enjoyed our stay. The owner was very attentive: greating us& providing info re:the house & nearby restaurants & attractions. Was available to us as needed during our stay.(Always a good sign when the owner wants to personally greet u @ the house & assist during the week). The house was clean. Private pool area/clean. Adequate space. Walking distance to beach, a cute crab shack, nearby coffee shop, walgreens, etc. A few prob areas: bed sheets were not clean- had to wash after arrival.about 6 Bikes on premises- kids & adults- but only 2 adult bikes worked. The bikes were handy to bike to beach & boardwalk. Would suggest getting the rest up & running(flat ties&no brakes). Could use a new coffee pot ie pour 8 cups of water in & 6 cups come out. All& all no biggy & would def stay again. Thanks dave & GO STEELERS!! ;-)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Holly,
Thank you for your kind comments and of course we are sorry you had a problem with the one bunk bed linen, bikes with flat tires and the coffee pot. Please next time just call me and we will instantly respond and get things fixed for you right away. Unless we are notified we have no way of knowing there is a problem. We have of course now that we know taken care of all the items mentioned. We look froward to your return.
Dave

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our family review......

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

My family & I were looking for a cozy, warm place to spend with our family over the holidays, we found that & then some!!! From the moment we walked in we knew we had found the perfect house with it’s warm & welcoming charm. It was very clean, well maintained & plenty of space with room to spare. Every amenity you would ever need, a fully equipped kitchen with all appliances including a dishwasher!!!!! A washer & dryer, 4 bedrooms, (we counted it could sleep up to 16 people I think.) 2 full bathrooms, a piano, tons of games, movies, books, puzzles, a ping pong table, a TV with cable & DVD player in every room, Wi-Fi, a shed full of bicycles to ride to the beach, an in ground pool with a large yard & plenty of privacy!!!! A deck off of every level with tables & chairs to accommodate everyone. A screened-in porch & a huge paved drive-way with plenty of space for multiple vehicles & pets are allowed too!!!! All of this nestled on a quaint, private road tucked away among the tree’s, 5 blocks off the beach front & board walk!!!! Walking distance to stores & great restaurants, if you are looking for convenient, comfortable, cozy place to spend your vacation or just a weekend away from it all, look no further…..This is the one!!!!! We were all so sad to end our week & head home, we had such a great holiday & a great week!!! So much so that we have decided to make this a “family holiday tradition”. We are already in the process of reserving the same week for next year & can‘t wait to get back. To all who take my advice and reserve this property……. ENJOY!!!!!!! You will not be disappointed!!!!!!

Looking forward to next year,
Kelly & Joe

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our family review......

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

My family & I were looking for a cozy, warm place to spend with our family over the holidays, we found that & then some!!! From the moment we walked in we knew we had found the perfect house with it’s warm & welcoming charm. It was very clean, well maintained & plenty of space with room to spare. Every amenity you would ever need, a fully equipped kitchen with all appliances including a dishwasher!!!!! A washer & dryer, 4 bedrooms, (we counted it could sleep up to 16 people I think.) 2 full bathrooms, a piano, tons of games, movies, books, puzzles, a ping pong table, a TV with cable & DVD player in every room, Wi-Fi, a shed full of bicycles to ride to the beach, an in ground pool with a large yard & plenty of privacy!!!! A deck off of every level with tables & chairs to accommodate everyone. A screened-in porch & a huge paved drive-way with plenty of space for multiple vehicles & pets are allowed too!!!! All of this nestled on a quaint, private road tucked away among the tree’s, 5 blocks off the beach front & board walk!!!! Walking distance to stores & great restaurants, if you are looking for convenient, comfortable, cozy place to spend your vacation or just a weekend away from it all, look no further…..This is the one!!!!! We were all so sad to end our week & head home, we had such a great holiday & a great week!!! So much so that we have decided to make this a “family holiday tradition”. We are already in the process of reserving the same week for next year & can‘t wait to get back. To all who take my advice and reserve this property……. ENJOY!!!!!!! You will not be disappointed!!!!!!

Looking forward to next year,
Kelly & Joe

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Retreat ~ Highly Recommended

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

We had 6 adults & one child & were quite comfortable. We especially loved the sitting room upstairs with a TV & all the bedrooms have a TV. We enjoyed the upper deck for sunshine & lower deck for breakfast. We really enjoyed played ping pong and walking the few blocks to Bethany Beach. One morning we saw Dolphins!! the beach even had a swing set for my niece. October is perfect,weather was beautiful & no parking fees. The neighborhood is very quiet & we enjoyed serenity, tranquil days. The owner was extremely accommodating,providing prompt replies with any questions we may have had. We will surely return, Thank you Dave for your hospitality.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved It

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

I needed a place to stay for a weekend beach wedding. Brought my two dogs with me, everything was great. There are two living rooms, one on each level. The owner met us there and he was wonderful, no problems. The neighbors were very friendly and quiet. There are loads of books, games, multiple T.V's, an outside grill, sound system, phone, ping pong table, bikes, etc.I loved it and cant wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

cozy and cute

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

We had a great week at the beach, even though we ran into a few chilly nights. The pool is wonderful, however the water was ice cold. We managed to get into it only one afternoon.
The house is a little small for a lot of people, and the spiral staircase is hard to navigate for small children and senior citizens, we had both in our party, so they had to be very careful going up and down.
Loved having the linens right there to use, excellent perk. Bunk beds were very comfortable and the tv's in each bedroom are GREAT.
Neighbors were very friendly and owner was more than accomodating with instructions on tv and pool.
Front door lock needs to be looked at. We found it easier just to keep it open instead of playing with the keys to lock and unlock it every time we left.
The house was very clean and neat and the books and DVD's were great choices if you had bad weather.
Overall, I liked the house and would think about renting it again, however, it would be too crowded for all en of us.Couch upstairs was not a good pick for a nights sleep and it was too squashed fo open the couch downstairs. Best fit for 6 to 8 people.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Relaxing Vacation

Review submitted: July 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Just got home from spending a wonderful week in this lovely beach home. The location is easy walking distance to the beach but with the pool on your back deck, you will be tempted to spend all of your time there. Owner is very responsive and pleasant to work with. Neighbors are lovely people. Overall a wonderful time was had by all.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review