reviews for: listing #42180 - Tampa, Florida House rental

Hemingway's Waterfront Home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Apollo Beach
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,900 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Excellant Tampa Bay Vacation Rental Home

Review submitted: March 11, 2009   Date of arrival: February 28, 2009

This tampa area rental house is located in apollo beach, florida just south of tampa and located on the bay and close to sightseeing, entertainment parks, a large protected manatee sightseeing area and numerous spring traing baseball stadiums.
The nicely lit,heated pool with a waterfall, pin ball machine ,board games and videos, fishing and crabing gear, canoe ,outside screened area for gas grill cooking and patio and two floors of screened lounging areas and balconies overlooking the water and the perigone sea eagles elevated platform were all just great.
The beautifuly landscaped house easily accomadated my family of 12.the house is well protected for younger children and the entire family enjoyed the eight bikes providered by the owner and the pool floats and other sunbathing gear. The 4 bedroom/sleeping areas with 4 bathrooms and a washer and dryer along with your large very well equipped kitchen incliuding one electric and one gas fullly equipped chef stoves made visiting and cooking for a large family very easy.
I believe the whole family enjoyed the offer of the owner to allow his macaw bird stay at the house and everyone enjoyed speaking to him both while he was in his interior cage and outside in his large enclosure beside the front entrance.
Everyone appreciated the owners close followup and availability to help us with any questions about the house.
the numerous flat screen tvs,dvd players ,intercom with music both in the family room, several bedrooms and the game room and bar area was great.
The local shopping center areas including the large publix food store only 5 minutes away made it easy to purchase food ,beer and spirits if needed and other needs quite easy.
Having a costco and super walmart a short 15 minute drive handled our need to purchase a replacement for a damaged suitcase as well as gas purchases or any other needed items very convenient and least expensive. My whole family felt the rental of this beautiful home was a great decision while visiting the tampa area and since it was minutes from us route 75 it allows quick traveling around florida and only 15 to 20 minutes from the tampa airport.we very much recommend this home and the helpful owner who also captains deep sea fishing for his tenants at most reasonable rates from the several fishing boats tied up by this home.if you and your family are considering the tampa bay area this lovely, reasonably priced home is a perfect homebase for your next vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 27 / 27

 

Fun. Relaxing. Comfortable.

Review submitted: February 7, 2014   Date of arrival: January 28, 2014

The property was just like it was described. We couldn't have asked for anything better. Oliver was the best. Very easy to work with. I would highly recommend this property. We hope to be able to stay here again some day. The house was nice, clean, comfortable and very homey. We loved be able to have Josh stay there with us. Josh is not a load bird, and just added to our stay. While we were there, the guys and Oliver worked out a deal for him to take them fishing. They really enjoyed themselves and would recommend it to anyone.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Holiday,10 people all ages.

Review submitted: May 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

Property was as described in terms of location etc. and was clean and tidy.
Overall though it needed refreshing in terms of basic utensils, crockery, cutlery, glassware and other day to day items. In addition some other maintenance items need addressing. None of this however detacted from the location and the friendly service of the owner who was readily on hand for assistance. Everybody enjoyed being able to utilise the pool, barbecue, fishing and canoeing at the property and there were a number of restaurants, shops and other facilities close by.
We particularly enjoyed a fishing trip with Olly and Sean and would recommend this to anyone who enjoys fishing or a boat trip.
I will recommend this property to friends and relatives.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Excellent Stay

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Our stay was excellent. We had a party of 12 both children and adults and there was plenty of room. Oliver the owner was always available and very helpful. The Pool was great for the kids and the property was very peaceful. Josh the resident bird was a big attraction for the kids. They had a blast feeding him. Overall it was an excellent stay and Oliver the Owner is also a charter captain and took us out for a great half day of fishing at a reasonable price.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hemingway's retreat. Though we never did figure out what it had to do with Hemingway. There were all the necessaries, access to the canals, plenty of things to keep a family that ranged from from 2 years old to senior.

I recommend this property and would come here again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

LOVE THIS PLACE

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

I went to Tampa for a convention with 10 other people, 11 total. We all slept comfortably and the location is a private paradise. Not to mention CLEAN! Oliver was a great host and we appreciated his welcome. I HIGHLY suggest anyone staying here, friends or families would love this place. Thanks Oliver!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Home for Holiday Gathering

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

We had the most wonderful Thanksgiving at Hemingway's! It was the perfect place for my large family to get together for the holiday. We had 12 kids that enjoyed every feature of this "awesome" house and grounds. From fishing off the dock to paddling around in the canoe, swimming in the large heated pool, the pinball machine, and easy connections for their game systems, it was continuous fun for them. There were plenty of beds, with extra linens. Lots of outdoor furniture for lounging around the pool and fire pit. And a lovely furnished private porch off the master bedroom.

I was concerned about preparing a holiday meal for such a large group of people (25+) but this house had everything I needed, including cookware, bake ware, and a nicely stocked spice cabinet. There were plenty of place settings and utensils for serving a beautiful meal. Very nice kitchen appliances that made it as convenient as being at home. This was much more cost-effective than 3+ families staying in area hotels and dining out 3 meals a day. And Oliver, the owner, could not have been more accommodating. He was available anytime we called, and made arrangements for everything we needed, including a boat rental mid-week, delivered to the dock and ready for use.

This house is a very good deal for the amount of space, the size of yard and pool, compared to other vacation rentals locally. The photos do not do justice to the amount of room available for extra sleeping arrangements and entertaining. We could not have found anything better for the price, with all of the amenities and "extras" it had to offer. I can't say enough about how delightful this home was. We will definitely return as often as possible.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Our holiday at hemingway tampa

Review submitted: April 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

the villa was exactly as shown in the photographs,clean and tidy and oliver the owner was only a phone call away to provide any help or information if needed.How ever we felt the villa was slightly expensive for the length of time we spent there, but we had a fantastic time and once again would like to say thanks to Oliver for making our stay so comfortable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Hemingway's Apollo Beach Resort

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

This house was huge, and very comfortable. I do not know about anyone else, but I need a good mattress, and some good pillows. The master berdroom had these and more. There was a screened -in porch on the main level, plus one on the master bedroom level also, both of which provided gentle breezes wafting through the house. The pool was heated, and located right outside, and below the main level screened-in porch; very convenient. There was a dock and full bulkhead accross the back of the property. We fished every day that we were there, and had a ball catching all sorts of things. I could go on and on, but you can read it all in the description of the property and its' amenities. It's all true! ps. The house and property was clean and manicured; the owner was very friendly and available. there are many attractions nearby, including Manatee- watching, an aquarium, the beach, Busch Gardens and great restaurants. Make sure that you eat at the Apollo Beach Bistro on (off) Apollo Beach Blvd. The food is exceptional, creative and reasonably priced. Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Great Find

Review submitted: September 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 13, 2010

This is a very "cool" home. From the welcoming entrance with Josh, (the macaw) to the beautiful pool area looking out over the water. There is lots to do on site. We took the canoe out every morning, and hung out at the pool most the day. There is an excellent meat shop nearby where we bought fresh caught seafood and steaks to put on the grill. If you are looking for a place near the beach this would not be it, but if you want a place on the water with a great pool and patio area to relax in, you can't get much better than this. And I would add, that the house was just as it was portrayed on the VRBO website-always a plus. I would highly recommend this home to others.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beautiful Home and Vacation spot!

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Hemingway Home and would absolutely love to go back there. Everything that you needed was right there at the home and then some. The beds were quite comfortable and the home was nicely furnished and decorated. Oliver made our stay very welcoming and if you needed anything at all, he was a phone call away. The home was extremely clean inside and out and the pool was wonderful! Nice full length porches on the backside of the home on top and bottom floors made watching the occasional thunderstorm quite enjoyable. We had a lot of fun with Josh, the resident macaw, whom we discovered is very fond of Cheez-Its. We went to St. Petersburg beaches (about an hour away) and Clearwater beaches (about an hour away). Busch Gardens and Adventure Island were about a half hour away. Groceries, etc. were not even ten minutes away and you could find everything you wanted in the many plazas in the area (including restaurants). I would absolutely recommend this property to all and our only regret was that we were unable to go out on a cruise in Oliver's boat (due to weather). Maybe next time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Poppa's vacation in paradise!

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

We had driven 1300 miles in two days and toured Kennedy Space Center; five of us and way too much luggage. Nerves testy and road weary we pulled into the driveway of our home away from home.
Oliver (the owner) met and took us on a tour of the property which was exactly as described including the watch parrot; Josh. The pool was pristine and inviting, the kitchen fully functional and stocked with condiments. Living and dining rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable. Bathrooms, there are four, were strategically located and fully stocked with towels and needed goods. Screened in porches upstairs and down with the downstairs protecting a large gas grill.
We chose to try a rental for this vacation in order to curb anxiety. Our teenage daughter is physically and cognitively disabled so travel usually means constant anxiety attacks by all of us. The house eased these problems; our daughter took the downstairs bedroom and had her own bathroom and shower. Her anxiety was nonexistent and physically she didn't have to climb stairs or need assistance getting around. Her calm led us to be calm also and enjoy this vacation as much or more as any we have ever been on.
My son and nephew shared another bedroom out of choice and my wife and I took the master, one bedroom remained unused. Our master bedroom was spacious and opulent with a wonderful shower room and twin sinks; more room than we are used to. Off the master is the other screened porch which was perfect to enjoy a glass of wine and cigar from nearby Ybor City.
Pool toys, games, cards, fishing gear, folding chairs, golf clubs, tennis rackets, bikes; everything advertised is there. Apollo Beach is a short bike ride away; it is a great fishing beach and nature preserve, great for early morning of dusk time ride. Speaking of fishing, I rose at 6 every morning and fished off the dock behind the house. Those mangrove snapper like shrimp and I like mangrove snapper.
The house is near I-75, so travel is easy. My only regret was not renting for two weeks; we went on to Disney after leaving and longed for our freedom at the house. To conclude, I Will Return, the house is all that it is cracked up to be. Great house, quiet neighborhood, my daughter relaxed and smiling, comfortable beds, all the amenities, an owner that is five minutes away and made you feel like family, what more could anyone ask for? Other than Oliver adopting me, nothing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Nice house

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

This house was all that we hoped for. Clean, tidy and spacious. The pool-area is lovely as well.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Stayed April 2010

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

We drove from Indiana for 18 hours on Spring Break to get to the house, and it was worth it! We normally rent a condo on the beach and this does not even compare to the experience we had. It was like living in paradise. The home can be opened up all in the back to the screened in porches on both levels and the breeze is just heavenly. We had 80 degree weather and you did not need the air conditioning turned on. The pool was just tremendous. We would turn the heater on in the morning and by the time you were sunning it was just perfect. I will never forget my husband floating on a raft in the pool and he said. "I love palm trees" because you are surrounded by gorgeous landscaping on the entire property. It is so fun to watch the neighbors take their boats out with their families, but don't get me wrong, it is so private! We were a family of five, parents, kids, 27, 18, and 11 and never once did they say, "I am bored". We only went out to eat once, just for lunch, because the outside grill was perfect, and you did not want to leave. And so terrific to be in a non-tourist type neighborhood, unlike our past condo rentals. It was just fabulous and the owner, Oliver, was just the nicest person and never bothered you, but you knew he was on call, in case you needed something. We really hated to leave, like I said, "it was paradise".

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Highly recommend the Hemingway House

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

The Hemingway House was perfect for our vacation. We had two families with young children and we all had a blast. The kids loved the pool, Josh (the parrot), the pinball machine, fishing off of the dock, having a bonfire, and trying to get coconuts out of the trees! There are lots of things to do nearby and spending a day at the house was just as fun.

Oliver is great. He checked in with us and was available at all times. Would have loved to try his fishing tour had the weather been better.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous Experience

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

We loved staying at Hemingway's Waterfront resort. Oliver did an outstanding job making sure we had everything we could possibly need and then some. The views are just beautiful and the heated pool was perfect for a February visit. Even Josh the parrot was an unexpected twist. Super house for family or large parties.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hockey Trip 2010

Review submitted: January 25, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

Everything in pictures is exactly as shown. Oliver the owner is very good to deal with. 8 guys on a hockey trip approximately 40 minute drive to Tampa St.Petes Forum.
I would suggest you use the Apollo Beach Butcher shop the cuts of meat were excellent. Bacon Steak and Chicken.
Beef OBradys very good for lunch, nice bar restuarant and food is good and prices are fair. Also Circles Restuarant ,try their appetizers and sit down by the Marina.
The Apollo Beach Golf Course is only a two minute drive away. Course would be rated about a 6 out of ten. Very reasonable,Golf,Cart,and Rental clubs were $51.00 for 18 holes and clubs were very good,tee off time expected.
This Hemmingways Retreat is very spacious and will easy accomodate one large family.Easy workable kitchen with Island and fully equipped with all amenities needed. Master Bedroom is large with an enclosed deck stretching across the back of the house.I would recommend this unit to anyone at anytime.Publix and WinnDixie are 5 minutes away.
Also a trip over to the power plant to see the Manatee is well worth it(admission is free)sharks,fish,mamarays are in abundance.
Oliver also took us out for a boat ride and the highlight was the Dolphins swimming in with us on the side and behind the boat. If you have any questions do not hesitate to email me at . bpep1@sympatico.ca
Also do not forget to feed Joshua at the front door anytime you go in and out.
Property was clean and well maintained, Oliver the owner was easy to deal with. Pool Service and Lawn Service did not interfere with our plans.
I would recommened this property to any of my friends or family

Bryon Pepper
Woodstock Ontario Canada
January 1`7th to January 24th,2010

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Reunion Getaway

Review submitted: January 7, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

My family of 12 stayed at this property from December 26 - January 3, and we had the most wonderful time! The house was spacious and immaculately clean, and full of every amenity you can imagine. The owner, Oliver, checked in on us almost everyday and gave us great advice on local activities. We used the roasting spit in the backyard on New Year's Eve and roasted a whole pig. This was our first pig roast, but Oliver was there to provide suggestions and assistance. It turned out perfect!

We enjoyed the bar area, which was complete with wine fridge and all bar accessories (glasses, openers, etc.) The 4 bathrooms were well-stocked with towels and the kitchen contained every appliance, utensil, and dish you could want.

I couldn't have asked for more, and I would definitely go back to this house. I hope I have the opportunity again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic place and host

Review submitted: December 6, 2009   Date of arrival: December 5, 2009

A group of ten of us came down from wisconsin for the packer,bucs game and stayed here, wow what a great experience. The house is beautiful and has all the amenities that you could need from the kitchen utensils, outdoor grill, or swimming pool. The location is awsome...beautiful qiuet nieborhood. And last but not at all least I cannot say enough about Oliver our wonderful host. He checked with us daily to see if we needed anything, made sure we were aware of all the interesting things in the area, and was always a phone call away.

I would highly recommend this property without a doubt, I know i will be going back.

P.S. If you do stay here dont forget to say Hi to Josh the talking parrot who greets you at the front door


I

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ultimate team building experience!

Review submitted: November 24, 2009   Date of arrival: November 11, 2009

Great house! Oliver is a great guy to deal with. First class all the way. The trip to "beer can island" was an excellent team building event.
Our week included team cook off's, fishing trips and an unique home to stay as a 10 man team and leave the office behind, but build as a team. Great golf 15 minutes away.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house, good service, good value

Review submitted: November 14, 2009   Date of arrival: October 30, 2009

We rented Hemingway’s for a group weekend in Tampa. The house was great--clean, nice pool, good size--and Oliver was responsive and professional. I'd certainly recommend it to anyone who's looking for a weekend rental. Also, a good value.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Weekend

Review submitted: October 18, 2009   Date of arrival: October 2, 2009

Spacious, comfortable, clean, well-maintained property had plenty to offer a group looking for a relaxing weekend getaway to Tampa. This home has a great layout and the screened in porch & balcony are a plus! The pool makes a great place to enjoy a laid-back get-together. Hemingway Home was an excellent choice!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeds expectations

Review submitted: October 13, 2009   Date of arrival: October 5, 2009

I come home on vacation every 4 months from working overseas. I was lucky enough to be able to rent the Hemingway house for one week this October of 2009. The house is beautiful and the location was perfect for Apollo Bch. My family enjoyed the bar inside the house, we spent alot of time reading all the memorabilia on the walls while having a cool drink. The house is on the water and it's a quiet neighborhood. Pictures are true to form and I would recommend this rental to anyone who wants to have a good time and enjoy the good life.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Five Star Florida Vacation

Review submitted: October 9, 2009   Date of arrival: January 15, 2009

The grounds were very well kept. The house was very large and open and was well equipped to make the time we spent there comfortable.

We chartered a fishing trip from the owner of the home. The boat was right behind the house and we had a great day on the water from knowledgeable captain.

The swimming pool was too small for exercise in but it was nice and had an overflow spa attached.

We had a great time and were close to the interstate for our trip to Disney and Sarasota.

I highly recommend this location for anyone who want a little taste of small town Florida.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Great Getaway

Review submitted: September 15, 2009   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

Property is ideal, all the family loved the "at home feeling," my parents now want to move to Florida. Oliver was only a phone call away with when simple questions arose, highly recommend to all.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sportsman's Luxury Retreat

Review submitted: September 3, 2009   Date of arrival: August 28, 2009

Having stayed at numerous rental properties over the years, I can say that Hemingway's Resort was one of the best. The house was considerably more spacious and comfortable than the photos reveal, and the pool and waterfront landscape were both breathtaking and functional.

I also liked that we didn't deal with a management group, but the owner who was very accommodating and easy to work with. Even before we departed, there were people in our group that were already talking about staying there next year. I agree!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great place to stay

Review submitted: June 17, 2009   Date of arrival: May 26, 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed staying there at this property. I would recommend it to anyone. The owner is a thoughtful person who keeps his house/home in great condition. All amenities work & the house is in great shape. The owner is a thoughtful polite gentleman.
The area is great definitely rent a car as it is a lot easier with one. All in all thoroughly enjoyed being there!
I would recommend it to others.
We will definitely be staying there again & again!
Best regards to all & keep the place tidy!!
Keep up the great work Oliver
Jonathan

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

House with all the amenities

Review submitted: May 26, 2009   Date of arrival: May 22, 2009

The Hemingway residence has everything you need for an extended stay, and plenty of room for 9 – 12 adults. All stores, golf course, and fishing are within a mile or two. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed our stay thoroughly!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a House, Super clean, tons of sleeping space

Review submitted: April 18, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

I met a bunch a friends for a week long getaway and what a place. It had all the extras, was super clean and truly was a secret gem. I will definitely be back next year. Had it all, pool, waterfall, dock and I even went out on a fishing charter (the owner is a captain too). Went and caught a bunch of fish and came back and he cleaned and cooked the fish for us, What a meal! I especially liked the bar and game room area and the porches overlooking a nice canal (upstairs and down).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

FREAKIN AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: April 14, 2009   Date of arrival: April 3, 2009

Oliver you are the man everything was just as advertised and then some!! Josh became an instant part of our family your home was gorgeous the view was great,very well taken care of any problems or questions Oliver was right there.I would recommend this house and only this house if you are going to be in the tampa area as most every destination was half an hour to an hour away.Anyone staying here will be very happy with were their money is going the only negative we had was having to leave to come back to Illinois. Thanks so much for making our trip one to be treasured for years!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break

Review submitted: March 23, 2009   Date of arrival: March 16, 2009

We had a group of 13 to stay for a Spring Break trip and we had a great time! Oliver guided us to the perfect resturants and nice beaches are about 30 minutes away! Great place, totally stay here again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place!!!

Review submitted: November 5, 2008   Date of arrival: October 24, 2008

Nine of us stayed at Olivers place for one of Howl-O-Screams weekends and we had a blast. The home is gorgeous and very spacious. We loved the bar and pool and took advantage of the grill which is a great idea. At the end of the weekend none of us wanted to go home. We will definitely be back! Thanks, Oliver!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WE HAD A GREAT TIME---THANKS

Review submitted: October 20, 2008   Date of arrival: July 18, 2008

First we want to thank Oliver for the great experience by staying in his house.Everything was just perfect This house is a must stay home.You won`t regret it.We were a group of 6 ,4 adults and children.
We had a great fishing experience with Oliver.We had everything in the area from golfing to shopping,from Casino to Adventure Island,just everything.
Don`t think twice...just book it.We`ll be back
See you soon Oli

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Boogie, you and your lovley family were a pleasure! Thanks for the kind words. Oliver

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: September 2, 2008   Date of arrival: August 28, 2008

This house is awesome! Great pool, party-bar room. We had a group-10 of us for a birhtday party/ reunion and we had a blast here!! The pictures do not do it justice, as everyone says. It is a great house to stay in. I would stay again. Great host, great atmosphere, great time! Its a must to stay here!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A awesome place for friends

Review submitted: August 25, 2008   Date of arrival: August 21, 2008

This place was awesome for an easy get away for old friends and new. 10 of us stayed in Oliver's house and it provided a great atmosphere for 30 somethings to get away from the daily grind and enjoy some quality time with out of town friends. We had more than enough space for us all to enjoy our time together. The house is beautiful, the back yard with the pool were great and the game room and bar provided hours of entertainment - the throwback pinball machine was great! I would recommend this house for those of all ages. Thanks Oliver - great place! Well done!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

In a word...Perfection!

Review submitted: August 25, 2008   Date of arrival: August 21, 2008

We did a small 4 day reunion/birthday party....10 of us, the awesome pool, great accomodations, and a fantastic host! If you miss out on staying with Oliver you are completely missing out. As mentioned in a previous review the pictures don't even remotely do the place justice. Don't think twice about it.....just book it! Thanks Oliver!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A unique experience

Review submitted: May 12, 2008   Date of arrival: April 24, 2008

This place has it all the room, pool water and quiet comfort. It has lots of fun things to keep yourself busy. we really enjoyed the fishing off the dock and the game room. I recommend this to anyone staying in the Tampa area good location and so much to offer we didn't want to leave.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Character Abounds

Review submitted: May 8, 2008   Date of arrival: May 2, 2008

We had a group of 7 that stayed with Oliver for a few nights and let me tell you this place is AWESOME!!!!! The pictures on the website do not do this place justice. From the grand entry to the pool a distintive sense of character both charms and allures any visitor. The home is fully stocked with kitchen needs, towels, grills, anything you could think of Oliver has it (even flat screen TV)! If you decide to stay here (and you should!!!) make sure to book a fishing trip with Oliver and experience the different types of fishing that can be done from Tampa Bay. We did and we SLAYED 'EM!!!!! Once again, I highly recommend Hemmingway House to anyone that could use a little relaxation with plenty of space to share with your closest friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Prior Expierience

Review submitted: April 21, 2008   Date of arrival: March 12, 2007

My wife & I stayed here with some friends prior to being listed with HomeAway, but I'm sure Olivers standards are still a class act.
What a great place! We arrived in our boat to a nice dock with water, electric and a fish cleaning station... which came in handy the next day after a quick run into tampa bay for a few nice groupers. Thanks for the pointers Oliver!
We had planned on cruising down the canals to the local marina for dinner and live music, but with all that grouper and Oliver's bar, we didn't make it back out that night.
The next night is whole other story!
Good friends and a good time... We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review