reviews for: listing #421812vb - Lake Arenal, Costa Rica rental

65 Acre Retreat with Majestic Lake/volcano and Mountain Views
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 100 - $ 150 / night
    $ 525 - $ 735 / week
    $ 1,500 - $ 1,800 / month
  • sleeps  10
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Beautiful property and home

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

A group of 10 of us enjoyed staying on this property. Though two nights was not enough to truly experience all the area has to offer. This was our fist time to Costa Rica. We wanted a couple days inland near Arenal to see that side of the country.
The house: somewhat rustic style, very clean and well-maintained. Very spacious for such a large group, which suited us nicely. Great outdoor patio overlooking the property. We liked to cook for ourselves, the kitchen had everything we needed. The property manager and gardener were so friendly and nice to work with and talk to.
The property: so many acres to explore! We enjoyed walking the grounds and looking for various fruits, plants, etc. We were able to pick our own oranges and lemons for fresh squeezed juice! I wish the pineapple and other fruits were ripe when we were there. My favorite place is the platform being built at the highest point of the property. It was a beautifully constructed wood structure (outdoor yoga studio?) with an amazing view of the sunset over the lake. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the area, removed from any touristy spots.
Location: As others have mentioned, the road to get to the driveway is very bumpy, 4x4 is definitely a must. About a 15 minute drive to Nuevo Arenal and an hour (or less?) to Arenal activities and La Fortuna. It was a wonderful area to visit and see the culture there. Driving around the area includes amazing views of the lake, farms, pastures and rural communities. It was a nice break from the busier tourist areas on the Coast.
Activities: We liked to plan our own adventures and not be on time constraints. So we enjoyed the Arenal Hanging Bridges and enjoyed Tico food in La Fortuna. We ended up not making it to the Hot Springs, but hope to try another time.
I'd definitely return and stay here again. The price is right, as is the location. I'd just add a little more time to be able to try more restaurants and other activities.
Thank you, Bret!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words.... we do try hard to keep our property well maintained, it is clients like you that enable us to do this... we thank you for your business.

Roads around our area in Costa Rica are slowly going through a process of repair... we finally received great news last month.... the road to our property is slated for complete repair in April 2014... this is welcomed news.. we are excited about this.

Although our roads are very much passable, it can sometimes be slow going as our guests will tell you... the great news is that we are finally getting the awaited repairs !!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent and very nice place!!!

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

Very nice place!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Like an eco-lodge but way more affordable

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 14, 2013

I have visited Costa Rica four times. I have always liked the greater Arenal area for its mountain/jungle activities. Nuevo Arenal is ideal, being a small town about twenty miles away from the tourist central (La Fortuna).

I wish I had found this place before! We are happy cooking our own meals and are self-starting in selecting activities. I had chiefly been staying at Eco-Lodges in previous Costa Rica visits. They are a little more full-service than we need and they are a ton more expensive than this rental.

With beautiful views from the lake, a full kitchen, lots of garden and forest, one could set up camp for a long time. Some days we picked tour activities, through a referral from the owners. Sometimes we hung around to play chess, walk or read books.

The place was immaculate and completely fulfilled its promise. All six of us (four adults; two teens) were happy, comfortable and relaxed.

Visitors will want a 4x4. The road to the house is rough and not paved, but would be passable during all weather. The driveway is smooth. The trip to town of Nuevo Arenal is about fifteen minutes (although I did not time it). One can shop for all essentials there.

Costa Rica is not know for fine cuisine but Nuevo Arenal does boast a fair choice of restaurants, given its small size.

The family would be pleased to return to this place again soon. I might just arrange it . . .

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Brian... we welcome you back any time and glad to hear you and your group had a great time.

On the road front... we recently had some great news. Our road to the property is slated for a complete repair in April 2014.

Although, as you said, the road is passable now, this will make it even better...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent Accommodations

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

Hi Bret

We had a wonderful time at your place. We arranged our own plans. Favorite parts include the sky trek sky tram zip line day, our evening in town and the hiking exploration of your property. Your place was very comfortable. We especially enjoyed the open outdoor patio/living area and making limeade with fresh limes from your trees!

Your property mgr and gardener were very friendly and helpful. The house/property were clean and well manicured.

My only suggestion would be to take new property photos. The house and property photos caused me to expect a more rustic experience; we were pleasantly surprised at the excellent accommodations and beautiful surroundings.

It was delightful to wake in the morning to the sounds of howler monkeys!

Thanks for sharing your place with us.

Rachelle

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent Accommodations

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

Hi Bret

We had a wonderful time at your place. We arranged our own plans. Favorite parts include the sky trek sky tram zip line day, our evening in town and the hiking exploration of your property. Your place was very comfortable. We especially enjoyed the open outdoor patio/living area and making limeade with fresh limes from your trees!

Your property mgr and gardener were very friendly and helpful. The house/property were clean and well manicured.

My only suggestion would be to take new property photos. The house and property photos caused me to expect a more rustic experience; we were pleasantly surprised at the excellent accommodations and beautiful surroundings.

It was delightful to wake in the morning to the sounds of howler monkeys!

Thanks for sharing your place with us.

Rachelle

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Roomy and Comfortable

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

In terms of the stay, we had a great time. The house was clean and had plenty of room for our whole crew comfortably....

The property was great, we walked it a few times. We saw a ton of birds and frogs, and in general really enjoyed our stay....

We had bananas, mandarins, and pineapples. The pineapples weren't ripe yet but were still good. The mandarins and bananas were both delicious.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

3 Night Stay at Nuevo Arenal

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

My crew of 7 had a great stay at the property. The property is beautiful with some amazing views. The house was also really nice an housed us without an issue. If your looking for an off the beaten path place to stay, this is it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Email from Client

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

Dear Bret and Maryanne,
Hi! Yes, we have settled in quite well, thank you. We met and had a good visit with Marvin and his son this morning. They're very nice, as is Alberto. We are very fond of Ticos. They always seem like friends. What a lovely quality in a countries' people.
We have been all over Costa Rica and we sure love the climate here in your area. We enjoy most of all being in green, lush country with as much intact forest as possible. To have a temperate climate, in addition to a rich variety of plants and animals, is very special. We also love the volcano and hot springs, and of course the lake and rivers too. Oh, I could go on and on. But you know all of this because you chose to live here.
What an amazing place you have! We hiked all over your property today and it is wonderful. We appreciate all the infrastructure and water you have in place too. The plantings of trees and flowering things is fabulous. You've definitely got a little piece of heaven! How long have you owned it?
We are enjoying being here so much, we wonder; Is the following week available as well? There are so many things we'd like to do in the area, in addition to just staying here to enjoy your place, one week isn't long enough! Please let us know if we may book a second week. Thank you.
Best regards,
Susie and Eddie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this lovely property. We hiked all the trails and enjoyed the birds, animals, and especially the fruit!! Very clean and well furnished. Very easy to relax and stretch out. Bret was very responsive to all our questions and even helped when my husband left his wallet behind!! The people in town and property manager were wonderful. If you go during rainy season, I'd recommend a four wheel drive. The road to the property is rough and although the locals may be able to manage without, we needed it. This property is a great deal. One note: We were there with two teens which meant we were on the go all week (zip-lining, rafting, rappelling, biking, etc). Most of these adventure tours are based out of La Fortuna, which was a good hour+ drive for us. There may be closer options, but we had already arranged ours before we got there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

What a great adventure! It was so fun to be off the beaten path.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful and Pretty

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We stayed there for 8 nights recently and it was a lovely, secluded property. The house looked even better than in the pictures. The house was sparkling clean and had plenty of room to roam. This would be a great place for a family or several couples. One bedroom is downstairs and three upstairs, each with their own balcony. As we were busy most of the time, we really didn't have much time to wander the grounds, but they were well maintained. I have to say that the shower was the hottest I've ever experienced in all of my years going to Costa Rica...it was such a pleasure to take a hot shower for a change!

The dirt road up to the driveway is quite rough (4x4 recommended). While it's very close to Nuevo Arenal, the main part of that drive is on the dirt road. The driveway is nice and smooth, but the dirt road was a bit of a challenge, especially in the rain. Maybe, one day, it will be paved by the town?

A washer and dryer would have been helpful as we were working on our land there. Also, I didn't see a microwave. We were too tired to watch tv in the evenings so it was no big deal not to have satellite. I understand, this will be changing in the future. It was actually very nice not to be able to watch television.

It was so peaceful and quiet up there and it felt so nice just to sit on the back covered patio in the morning. Each night when we came back, we had the biggest frog waiting for us at the door...way too cute! And we were SO fortunate that, on our last morning, we were able to see a pair of Great Green Macaws fly right by us and perch in a nearby tree.

Alberto and Cindy were very nice and helpful. Try out Cindy's family's restaurant...it is in such a beautiful spot in Nuevo Arenal overlooking the water.

All in all, it was a great time and the house was even better than expected. I would easily give this place 8 stars if the road ever gets paved!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the compliments... we do try hard to keep our property clean and well maintained. We are always glad to hear feedback from our guests.

FYI -- we are planning to add more entertainment features like a new DVD/VHS player with a wide selection of movies (guests can even bring their own DVD and VHS tapes).

We are adding more family oriented games and puzzles for enjoyment as a family or group.

We are also making arrangements for more housekeeping features on an al la carte basis like a laundry service, cooking and such.

We recently built a beautiful 25' X 20' platform up above the main house on the property for a multitude of uses.... things such as group meetings, exercise, entertaining, and more... beautiful lake and mountain views and great sunsets...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice stay!

Review submitted: May 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 13, 2013

Hi, this home is a little isolated (not too much) and very quiet setting. Very relaxing place to be. Highly recommended to have a rental car because of location of house. I would go back there for sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Costa Rica Paradise

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 22, 2013

From the moment I pulled into the property I was captivated by its beauty. From the manicured grounds, to the amazing flowers and fresh fruit the property has a "resort feel". The view of the lake and rolling hills is breath taking. I would sit drinking my coffee each morning and look at that view while seeing humming birds, toucans’, and other beautiful birds. House had all the comforts of home and is a very short drive to downtown. In town there are fresh food markets, grocery stores, restaurants, and more. The locals are some of the friendliest people I've ever met. Can't wait to return again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

Wow! I had a great stay in Costa Rica and spent 5 days here....I found the views of the Volcano and Lake just amazing! There is nothing like this property in the USA. The home is wonderfully updated and the rooms are perfect size for the whole family. I also discovered that this property is just a 2 hr ride to some of the best beaches in Costa Rica. I will make this my "destination" when staying in Costa Rica. It was an authentic costarican vacation and it was hard to leave. I'll be back soon! My thanks to the Owners!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a great way to spend some quiet time.... no traffic, no noise except nature and a truly green environment. Leave the hustle and bustle at home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lush, beautiful property. Comfortable home

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

Our family enjoyed our stay in this home. The lush jungle surrounding the home is what really makes the property special. Our young children (ages 5 and 1 1/2) enjoyed going for walks on the jungle trails on the property, and they enjoyed seeing the cows, horses and chickens on neighboring properties. The home is sparkling clean. It is simply furnished with comfortable beds and living room furniture, and the kitchen is very well equipped for home cooking. The home is up a steep dirt road from the town of Nuevo Arenal, and there are restaurants, bakeries and grocery shopping just a few minutes away by car. The owner and property manager were extremely helpful in answering questions and arranging transportation.
We would absolutely recommend this property to friends visiting the Nuevo Arenal area!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: There is so much to do and see in the local Arenal region..from hiking to biking, fishing to swimming, low adventure to high adventure, we are in the thick of it... all within a short distance of our property.

Whatever your passion, Lake Arenal can help fulfill it...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Property

Review submitted: November 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

We had a party of four adults - and every one of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. There is plenty of privacy and room for all. The house was very clean and comfortable (the pictures of the property are absolutely spot on). We loved sleeping with the windows open to hear the birds and enjoy the breeze. The balconies off most of the bedrooms are great for birdwatching or reading in the morning. The property itself is a wonder to explore (the plants are absolutely amazing), while the house has everything you need to relax.
If you are ambitious, the grocery stores in town can supply most needs and the kitchen has everything you need to cook meals; otherwise you are only 3 km from multiple restaurants in town.
We found it to be a great place to use as a base for hiking in the parks. The Hanging Bridge walk and Tabicon Hot Springs are a must visit.
The drive up to the property is a bit bumpy (suggest a 4 wheel drive), but it was well worth it.
We are fairly independent travellers, so we did not need to call on Alberto for help. But we are sure he would be able to assist with any requests.
We would definately recommend this retreat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is always good to hear from others about how much they appreciate the abundant natural beauty of our property. Spending quiet personal, family or small group time with family and friends is priceless.

With so much to do and see in the local Arenal area, sometimes it is nice to just enjoy what is immediately around you on this almost 66 acres of tropical paradise.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review