reviews for: listing #42222 - Kihei, Hawaii Condo rental

Maui Vista SPECIAL: $89/night thru Dec 14th!!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Maui Vista Resort
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $89 - $149 /nt
    $623 - $1,043 /wk
    $2,670 - $4,020 /mth

sort by:

Phenomenal Location, Excellent Stay!

Review submitted: June 1, 2014   Date of arrival: May 10, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here for a week and we loved every minute of it. From booking to check-out all of our questions/concerns were answered immediately by the owner, and every amenity you need is already on site. From ice in the freezer to spices in the cupboard, as well as beach chairs, floating devices, and sand mats. The location made it easy to visit all of our points of interest while having the security of knowing we had a very comfortable home to get back to each day. We would strongly recommend this rental to our friends and family without hesitation, and look forward to staying again in the future. For a great place in Kihei, look no further.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

This is a perfect place to stay for families on budget. It's comfortable, clean and close to a nice beach. We stayed here for five nights and the stay was very comfortable and enjoyable. The apartment is as described by the owners and not much really to add to what others have already said.

We strongly recommend this unit to anyone looking for an enjoyable place to stay on Maui that won't break the bank. It was a pleasure staying here. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect home away from home for our family.

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Location, location, location! Great beach across street. BBQ fantastic and steps away. Grounds of condo complex are immaculately maintained and lovely flowers fall from trees, palms, hibiscus, grassy areas. Pools are in perfect condition and clean. We were traveling with small kids and the sofa bed worked out nicely and tub was good to have for baths. We ate most meals at home, and were glad there were plenty of dishes to get us through the day, and a dishwasher. Rice-maker came in handy! In unit washer and dryer a huge convenience. We used the provided swim noodles, boards, sand toys, and swim vest daily. Our four year old learned to swim on this trip- the kids enjoyed the pool so much and we met many other families at the pool and the beach. We loved Kihei since we do not like to feel like we are in a touristy area. Many restaurants and shops were within a 10 minute walk. Kids also loved the playground just a few blocks away. Visiting in July, we only used a/c part the last half of our visit when humidity spiked. Otherwise, there was a nice breeze opening windows. Bedroom has no a/c unit, but ceiling fan sufficient. Everything was spotless and carpets a thick berber and new. Sofa comfy and lots of cable channels and a book of dvds to use. Beach towels were provided but we brought 4 sarongs to use since they air dry much more quickly than towels- a good investment on a beach trip, I think- and they are cheap in Maui. They also make great skirts, cover-ups, and sun protection! Washer and dryer came in handy, we brought way too many clothes and only brought small suitcases. All in all, a fantastic experience we will never forget!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One month in paradise

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 14, 2013

My husband and I spent one month in this condo. We loved it because it was well situated, close to the beach and nice walking distance from everything else such as shops and restaurants. The concierge service was very helpful in assisting us organize our tours, attractions and restaurants. This condo also included Internet and telephone to US and Canada. Wow that was super great!
Our son and his family joined us for 10 days so at one point we were 5 people in the condo. I must say it went very well. Lots of toys for the little 5 year old granddaughter and lived in ambiance. Pool could be warmer but other than that everything was great.
Thanks again for easy communication with owner.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This condo was the best!

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

Condo was great! We had friends in another condo unit here at Maui Vista. They were amazed at the difference! This one was the best!! Aloha-

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfectly located and equipped

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

Aloha! Thanks for an awesome stay at your perfectly located and equipped condo - lasting memories!!! Will be back soon and will recommend your condo to friends back home. Highlight of the stay was trip to Molokini Crater and Turtle Bay - so many beautiful fish and such clear waters!!! Loved the relaxed vibe and ships in Kihei!! "Ki Ora" from your Pacific Islander Neighbor (Auckland, New Zealand) Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything was perfect

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

Aloha! Thank you for allowing us to stay in your condo! Everything was perfect... We couldn't have asked for a better accommodation or location! Had a wonderful vacation! Mahalo!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely perfect

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

Thank you for opening up your condo for us! It was absolutely perfect! Great location- close to dive shops, awesome local food (Coconuts & Da Kitchen are faves in Kihei) and best dive spots. We love Kihei! Hope to be back again soon. Mahalo!! P.S. Maui Dreams Dive Shop is the best!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful condo

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

Aloha! Thank you for having us in this beautiful condo of yours! We will definitely recommend you to many of our friends! Thanks again-

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful time!

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

We had a wonderful time! We have visited Hawaii on multiple times, but this is the first time that we stayed at a condo. The amenities were perfect! We loved the proximity of the beach, and Charley Young became our favorite beach on Maui. We hope to be back and we would recommend your condo to our friends. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This place rocks!!!

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2012

Yahoo!! This place rocks!!! Our simple recipe for enjoyment...
coffee...lanai...beach...lunch...pool...dinner...sunset...

Highlights:
The ocean and the sun
Boogie boarding at Charley Young Beach
Ono Gelato
Sansei
cute stray kitty cats
Pool time
I'ao Needle
Makena Landing snorkeling
Paia Fish Market
Blowhole
Views from Haleakala
Aquarium
Fishing with Captain JonJon
Feeding the birds on lanai
Friendly locals

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was a great spot!

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

Marie and Steve- This was a great spot! We enjoyed being able to walk to beaches, parks, and great restaurants. Our 7 year olds loved this place and had a wonderful first trip to Maui. They were also so happy about the little kitty that wandered around and visited our lanai. Thanks also for having so many handy items to entertain kids at the beach - boogie boards, sand toys, towels. made it a comfortable place to enjoy vacation. Mahalo!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for a lovely stay

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

Thank you for a lovely stay! It was way too short! Everything here was very convenient! We appreciate your accommodating us last minute! We enjoyed a nice drive to Hana from THE SOUTH. Saw the waterfalls falling into the ocean - only from this direction.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful place to celebrate our 25th anniversary!

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

Marie and Steve, you own a little piece of paradise! Thank you for sharing it with us! We felt so at home and loved everything you have put in the condo to make it "homey". We were relaxed and spent many days exploring the beaches and the other areas in Maui, including driving to Hana, driving/exploring West Maui, Lahaina, etc. The convertible was an excellent suggestion. We also went kayaking, snuba diving, snorkeling, saw many whales, and took a sunset cruise. The highlight was the Old Lahaina Luau. Food was great, especially Cafe O'Lei, Thai cuisine, and Fred's. Watched hockey games (Canucks) twice at Moose's and met some new friends (also from BC) Next time we come, we want to see Haleakala at sunrise (we kept sleeping in!) and try stand up paddle boarding. Good to leave some things for next trip! Again, thank you for your hospitality and for giving my husband and I a wonderful place to celebrate my birthday as well as our 25th wedding anniversary. Mahalo!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect home away from home

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

We really enjoyed our second stay in Maui, first at your condo. It was a perfect home away from home for us and just the right location in Kihei. We did everything we had time to do and ate at some of the best restaurants. Our favorite excursion was whale watching. Thanks again, and we hope to return soon. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maui is one amazing place!

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

Aloha! Maui is one amazing place! Thank you so much for the use of your condo. Great location and love the ground floor area. We try to come every February to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Just celebrated our 33rd. There are so many things to see and do here- one month just isn't enough. If you are ever in the Yukon Territory, check out our campground on beautiful Teslin Lake. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Especially love the beach closet!

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

Great stay and great place, especially the beach closet!
- Day 1: Sunrise and bike the crater (we cycle a lot and loved it)
- Day 2: Road to Hana loop (swim in waterfalls. 13 hour day and worth it! Lunch at a roadside stop was really good)
- Day 3: Kayak, whale watching, and snorkel with the turtles. Really fun!
Food stops were awesome and over exceeded expectation from all that we were told. Mama's Fish House, Cafe O'Lei, Cuatro, and Maui Taco were all excellent. We love good food and were not disappointed. Fine trip for 1st timers!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had so much fun here!

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 23, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful place to stay. We had so much fun here! :) The beaches here are beautiful, the people friendly, and the drinks are delicious! Highlights included: The drive to Hana (we rented a car and created our own adventure), Mama's Fish House (pricey, but one of the best meals I've ever had), and all the days at the beach. Another worthwhile stop (embarrassing to admit)... McDonalds Apple Pies. So yummy! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect place for our honeymoon!

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

This was our first time here in Maui and we loved it! Perfect place for our honeymoon. Your home is very homey and comfortable. I love how you have all those beach supplies available. :) The bed is so big and comfy. Love it! Home is in the perfect location.
Things to do:
Drive to Hana (take a tour van)
Whale watching in Lahaina (perfect time of the year)
*** Down the street next to the 76 gas station. There's a stand called World Class Concierge. Ask for Phillip- He will give you the BEST deals on activites. Tell him Kelly sent you ;) ***
Zip lining was also fun! And scuba diving is a must do... Ooh, yeah... The luau!!! Have to do a luau!!! Mahalo!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will be back!

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

Paradise is here!! Your home is part of that. Your unit is filled with all we needed. Maui...wow!! Maui Magic boat tour, saw whales, dolphins, snorkeled, turtles!! Snuba, oh yeah!! Charlie Young beach is amazing. We ate at Stellas, Freds, 3's (twice) and Spices. All perfect. Kids loved the shaved ice. The luau at Grand Wailea was perfect on New Year' Eve. So much still we want to do. We will be back and cross fingers that this great home will be available. Mahalo!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a life!!

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

Aaaahhh... What a life! A very rewarding experience we had in Hawaii. We will leave a little piece of our hearts here. Hoping to return in our lifetime. Our little girl was in awe of every moment. My personal favorite was the back country of Hana. Go ahead, violate your rental car agreement!!! And as your other guests have written, Cafe O'Lei, Sushi, Mana Food, Old Lahaina Luau, the Aquarium, Fred's Mexican and the Grand Wailea Hotel are all good times.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winterpeggers in Paradise

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: November 29, 2012

Kim and I have been regular visitors to Maui and have stayed several times at the Maui Vista complex. What made this 21 day stay was the great weather, sun everyday. (Marie did promise this, but we won't hold the few clouds against her) The unit was wonderfully stocked with all those extra's (Chairs, coolers, beach towels, etc) so we had no extra costs to purchase. This unit has been updated and I hear in February the bedroom window is being replaced with a solid version which will keep down the pedestrian noise. (Large improvement, I would suggest a darker window shade as well) The upgraded kitchen and bathroom was everything we needed.

The biggest advantage of the unit is it's central location to the beaches, a 10 minute walk either way gets you to shopping, dining, sports bars. We generally grab a rental vehicle only for the first few days to hit the Costco and stock up for the stay, after that we use the wonderful transit system to explore Maui ($4.00 for a day pass)

Must see's for the first time visitors, Maui Ocean Center as we are amazed each visit with the snorkeling just of the beachs including 100 feet from this unit.

We hope to continue returning each year
Mahalo Marie and Steve and Family for allowing us to share your Home.

Kim and Garry
Winnipeg, Canada

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for your kind review! Garry correctly mentioned the pending window replacement in the bedroom. We are very excited that the new, much better constructed window is being installed mid-February. The standard window style in Maui (known as Jalousie) is great for ventilation, but lousy for sound insulation. The new window will correct that issue, and will be a definite improvement! Aloha and mahalo!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location!

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

This adorable condo is in a great location for a Maui vacation. It is south of the congested part of Kihei with the poorly reviewed beaches, but north of the outrageously expensive resorts. It is easy to walk to a good variety of beaches, restaurants, and day-to-day things like groceries. It is also easy to drive to really good snorkeling, and is a good base to see the entire island. We found that it was cheaper than a hotel with the added benefit of a kitchen and laundry which also kept our vacation costs down. The owners and the previous guests left lots of helpful advice in the info sheets and guest book. The condo complex had frequent security checks. I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone planning a low-key vacation to Maui.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful location!

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

This adorable condo is in a great location for a Maui vacation. It is south of the congested part of Kihei with the poorly reviewed beaches, but north of the outrageously expensive resorts. It is easy to walk to a good variety of beaches, restaurants, and day-to-day things like groceries. It is also easy to drive to really good snorkeling, and is a good base to see the entire island. We found that it was cheaper than a hotel with the added benefit of a kitchen and laundry which also kept our vacation costs down. The owners and the previous guests left lots of helpful advice in the info sheets and guest book. The condo complex had frequent security checks. I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone planning a low-key vacation to Maui.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent service and communication, well-stocked

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

Marie was a delight to book with, quickly responding to emails and addressing any concerns we had. She helped us through a couple of glitches too: we forgot book a place to stay one night, and Marie was easily reached and let us book another night at the last minute. We also forgot our camera battery charger in the condo, and it was mailed back to us.

The condo was ideal for our needs -- a great place to crash after a long day, and close to stores if you need anything. Not that we needed much; the place was really well-stocked with a little bit of everything, from bug spray to dish soap. Please keep it up! We stayed at another place that had nothing, and it was frustrating to buy laundry soap/shampoo/whatever when we only needed a small amount. If we're ever in Kihei again, we'll stay here! Don't be shy to book this condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relax relax Play hard in the pool

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 22, 2012

Lovely condo, neat and clean, close to all amenities. My daughter, granddaughter and I had a great time in the pool.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Maui Vista condo

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

Marie and Steve are great hosts! The condo is cozy and we especially liked all the extras. They provided all kinds of beach toys like chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, towels. The book of movie CD's is a nice touch as well. The two suggestions I have are a tv in the bedroom. It's relaxing to watch tv in bed at night to relax after running around all day and a heavier curtain in the bedroom. The light from the tennis court area shines right into the bedroom as does any noise.
We had a great time in Maui and can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great escape from Canada. Price excellent.

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

Extremely comfortable stay for my dtr, her partner & their 9 mo old dtr. Safe setting for childrenr to play outside. Loved being 5 min walk to Kihei Beach 1. Well equipped and clean. Really close to bar-b-que, tennis court & car to unload groceries, etc. Very well equipped - good king size bed & pack n play crib. No negative comments - have recommended to friends already. Walking distance to local bus and restaurants. Exceptional beach for young children, early morning swims and GORGEOUS sunsets. Owner responsive to all inquiries.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

The condo was clean, the A/C was cold, and it was packed with everything I needed. I was especially happy to find beach chairs, towels & mats, boogie boards & coolers in the closet. That made for really fun afternoons at the beach. The location was central to restaurants & shops and a great beach is right across the street. The owner was easy to communicate with via email and quickly responeded to my questions as I was preparing for the trip. I would definately stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Maui vacation at Maui Vista!

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

This condo was the PERFECT place for us! We loved the style, the size and simple design of the space. We felt like we were at home and not on vacation. The location was perfect and placed you right near all South Kihei had to offer. The place was nice and clean when we arrived, everything was easy to find and there was plenty of amenities to make you feel at home! We loved our stay and we plan to use the same condo for our next visit to Maui! Mahalo to Marie for making our stay affordable, relaxing and most of all.....giving us the aloha feel that made it the best experience we ever had!

Mahalo
Kathy and Craig- Baltimore, MD

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceeded expectations!

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Marie,

Thank you again. I sure you know the feelings I am going through tonight as you once had to leave Hawaii for the first time. My time here was incredible. I came here with high expectations, and they were blown away. The condo was fantastic, and Charley Young beach is now my most favorite spot on earth. I will be back in touch with you in the coming months to book another few weeks here, as I don't want to vacation anywhere else for a while!

Oh, Seattle weather and reality, I am not ready to face you!
:(

Grant C

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

We had a great time on our stay last Nov. The kids loved the sand toys and Boogie boards and that we were so close to the beach. I think surf lessons will be a must next trip. If they had the choice it was either beach or one of the complex pools. You had everything we needed for our 2 week stay. We plan to be back in Maui in a couple of years and will be sure to contact you first.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

Maui Vista is centrally located in Kihei. The condo is very clean, decorated in a tropical theme and has absolutely everything a person needs for fun in the sun. Lots of extras too like beach toys, coolers, sunscreen, nice cookware, you name it and it's probably already waiting for you. The condo is located just a very short walk from beautiful beaches, whale watching and good restaurants. A definite must stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2011

This an excellent choice for couples and families. The location is great! Its across from the beach and there are many restaurants nearby. Everything was provided (beach chairs and beach toys). I would definitely recommend staying here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

We stayed at the Maui Vista for three weeks. We were more than happy with all aspects of our stay. The night security guard was extremely helpful and friendly, we arrived late at night and were tired and eager to get settled. He helped us get to our room gave our son a ride with the baggage in his golf cart and gave us some tips on what to do. The unit was clean and as advertised. There were good movies for the whole family;beach toys,boogie boards,beach mats etc. were all thought of. Perfect location, right across from a nice family beach.All the essentials are provided.Go to Costco right away, it's a zoo but it's worth it. Walking distance to local eateries,grocery store,souvenirs,beer and wine. A good central location for trips to aquarium,blow hole,dragons teeth,Black Rock Beach,Big Beach(beautiful but the surf is a little scary for small kids). We felt safe leaving overnight for the trip to Hana(highly recommended,take your time!). Bbq'ing with neighbours is nice,pools weren't too busy(just go to the beach when they fill up). Evenings were nice and quiet, no problems with excessive noise or partying. Again, can't say enough about how much safer we felt knowing we had the night security guard looking out for us. The nicest people here, can't say enough about how nice the locals are. Really good food all around (go to Fred's for calamari taco's and margeurita's) Go to the Saturday flea market for souvenir's/knickknacks, much cheaper than the stuff in Kiheii. If you're young and looking to party hard this might not be a good choice but if you want a nice clean,safe,quiet place to take your family this is perfect. We can't think of a single thing to complain about, other than leaving. The proprietor is easy to deal with, and responded promptly to our emails. It's clear the owners care about their guests and do a great job. We're counting the days until we can plan our next trip and will likely try to book the same unit. Again, hooray for John the night guard!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a week in april. The location of this condo was fabulous! It is such a short walk to Charley Young beach and it's a wonderful beach. We were here on vacation with my family who had rented other units in this complex. Of all the units rented, this was one of the nicest. The only complaint would be lack of aC in the bedroom, but the fans did a nice job of keeping the air circulating and the condo cool. Travelling with a group that included 3 kids under 3, it was nice to be so close to the beach to be able to drag strollers and umbrellas and beach toys down. The condo had a great selection of beach toys, coolers and towels. Marie was fantastic to deal with and payment and check-in so quick and easy. Mahalo Marie!! We would definatley stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 22, 2011

We contacted the owner after having read numerous reviews here and on other websites. Right from the start, the communication with her was excellent, and all our questions were promptly answered. A down-payment and then the final payment, both via PayPal, secured our reservation. Directions to the unit and information regarding keys and other important items were provided via email before we flew to Maui. We arrived quite late and did not immediately know where to go. Fortunately, the night guard was able to help us out, and we settled in. The unit is in a convenient spot in Kihei, close to everything on the western side of Maui, and right on a beautiful beach. It is about 1/2 hour from the airport. The unit is a comfortable one-bedroom plus living/dining/kitchen area. Certainly large enough for a couple, but I would personally not feel OK with four people here for a week, unless you're outdoors most of the time, and come back mainly to sleep. There are ample towels, bedding, cutlery, plates, pots, pans, etc. Even soap, shampoo and laundry detergent were provided. Some outdoor equipment (boogie boards, beach mats, coolers, etc.) was also available. There are numerous supermarkets and shops nearby. We did not go to Costco, as others have suggested, but that was mainly due to the timing of our arrival. The ground floor unit meant we were able to hang our wetsuits and other items outside on the lanai. We never had the feeling something would go missing, and indeed, everything was perfectly safe for the week we spent there. This slightly older unit is not luxurious, but it has been well cared for and there are numerous things that have been fixed up or replaced recently. There are many nice personal touches in the place. I particularly liked the turtles in the bathroom. Free high-speed internet (wired) and local and long-distance phone calls are a nice added bonus. There are tons of shops and restaurants nearby, but it is obviously quite convenient to be able to cook your own meal and not have to go out. 808 Bistro is highly recommended! One item that bothered us was the lack of aC in the bedroom - it was only available in the main area. The dryer also vented inside the unit, which makes it very hot and humid. These are minor details and certainly tolerable. Overall I wouldn't hesitate going back to this unit, and would certainly recommend it to a like-minded couple looking for a nice place to stay for a week or two.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

This condo was perfect for our first stay on the islands! It was very comfortable and really felt like a home away from home! All of the amenities were nice and we made great use of them, especially the cooler and boogie boards. The location is perfect, right across from a beautiful beach and you can walk a block or two up or down the street and find places to shop and eat. The hospitality was amazing and the owners were very accomidating. We enjoyed ourselves so much and couldn't ask for a better place to stay. We will be back ever summer from here on out, and hope to stay in the same spot every time! I can honestly say that I have no complaints! Thank you so much! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We would stay there again

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed in this condo for 4 nights at the beginning of May 2010. It was very clean and the complex was well maintained. The decor of the condo was tastefully done with a vintage Hawaiian theme which made it more homelike rather than "cookie cutter". It was conveniently located across the street from a nice beach that we sat on to watch sunsets; it is also possible to walk from one beach to the next along the shoreline. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, some within walking distance. It was easy to drive to other parts of the island from this location. We thought it was a good value for the money.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pleasantly decorated and comfortable condo

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

My husband and I greatly enjoyed our recent 10-day stay in Marie’s pleasant condo. It is located in a nice, quiet location of the Maui Banyan resort and just a few steps to one of the two swimming pools on the well-kept grounds. The condo is pleasantly decorated in Hawaiian style and comfortable in all respects, with everything supplied that guests might need (including beach chairs, beach towels, picnic coolers and more). The resort is right across the road from the wonderful swimming beach at “Kamaole II Park”. Moreover, there’s a great snorkeling spot a block away at the next beach. There are also various restaurants to choose from within a few blocks of the resort, but of course the condo’s kitchen is fully equipped to cook at home if one should prefer to do that. As to us, we fixed our own breakfast and lunch, and for dinner we either dined out or we had take-out meals "at home." We really felt "at home" in the condo and we’ll be back in the same condo for sure next time we go to Maui.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place to stay in Maui!

Review submitted: April 18, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

Mahalo for a wonderful stay! Walking distance to a great beach area, and the central Kihei location kept us fairly close to all areas of the island. The big cooler was a god send - we were always out during the day and it was great to be able to bring lunches, and to bring water knowing it would not get too warm. And for what you get, you can't beat the price. Mahalo again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Maui

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

We recently stayed in Maui and used this as a base to see the sights of Maui. First of all it is in an area with lots to do and see with easy access to the beach and best of all It is easy to get to. We throughly enjoyed our time in Maui and it was made even more wonderful by having an apartment that is very clean and had all the mod cons, ac, fan, fully functioning kitchen, washer, dryer etc. The location of the aprtment is in a block near the main road although we could not hear any of the noise from the road itself. in true tourist style we were out and about and did not get the oppertunity to enjoy the apartment and its facilities. Of the time we did spend in the aprtment it is very peacefull and relaxing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mahalo, Mahalo!!

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2009

We will now stop saying Thank you, we'll say Mahalo! We couldn't have asked for a better place for our honeymoon! We have thoroughly enjoyed all the amenities! The beach toys and cooler for our ride to Hana, and visiting other beaches was wonderful to have. Of course, this vacation is priceless for many other reasons! Kihei is great for night life, too. (LuLus is the cheapest place for drinks-Saturday night has great deals) No matter what you are in the mood for...live music, dancing, etc. it is really within walking distance. We hope to come back for our anniversary! The drive to Lahaina is so close it's worth going for all the activities going on there. We could go on and on about all the great things!! Mahalo, Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing honeymoon

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 14, 2009

Aloha! What an amazing-beautiful place! Mahalo for letting us stay here for our honeymoon. Kihei is the spot to be in Maui! As active people, we wanted to do everything Maui has to offer! We recommend- South Pacific Kayaks Kayaking and Snorkeling at Turtle Reef! (awesome large turtles swimming right beside you!) Surfing lesson through Maui Beach Boys- best instructors and service. The luau at the Maui Prince hotel was wonderful, personable, great price, and close to the condo too (20 minutes away)! The best restaurants (we love them) Sansei (great seafood and yummy sushi) PuPu Lounge (great service and best fish and chips) and Cafe O'Lei (Yummy food and great specials)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Felt like we landed at home each night!

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: March 24, 2009

Steve, Marie, Tyler and Dalton, This is our first visit to the islands and it truly is a magical place. We have combed the island from one end to the other and each night have felt like we landed at home. Your place is terrific! It's comfy, cozy with a touch of class. Thank you for allowing us to make your home our home during this wonderful trip.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the surfboard decor

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2009

Aloha Marie and Steve! You all have a beautiful condo and the decor here is fitting to your place. Our children especially loved the surfboard! It was especially helpful having a full kitchen and the amenities to use when we wanted a night of dining in. My suggestions to visitors just arriving is to purchase the MAUI REVEALED book. Very informative and helpful on our trip to Hana. We loved the Old Lahaina Luau (mat seating rocks), Lei Lanis (in Lahaina- have the Hula pie). Kelli and I have already talked about planning a girls trip to Maui and we'll keep you in mindo for our place to stay. Thanks again for the use of your place and all things inside!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your condo is BEAUTIFUL!

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: February 11, 2009

We took a chance and tried a condo this time we visited beautiful Maui. We REALLY are glad we stayed in your condo. You've done a great job, especially providing all the beach "stuff" for my kids to play with. We didn't have to buy stuff just to leave here because we couldn't take it home. It worked out great! We truly enjoyed the location, tennis, pool, beach- everything!! We will recommend this to friends and family and also hope we can get back here to stay soon! Your condo is BEAUTIFUL!! Thank you for renting it out! Mahalo!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect in Every Way!

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2009

"Perfect in every way" - We were lucky enough to spend 8 gloroius weeks in this perfect condo, and could not have been more happy with everything. The location was ideal within easy walking/biking distance to everything. A short 2 minute stroll and you are on one of Maui's greatest beaches.The condo itself was very well equipped with everything we could want...from full kitchen ammenities to full beach toys to ensure a perfect holiday. The internet and long distance phone use was a huge bonus. We hope to return to Maui Vista again in the future and would not hestiate to recommend this condo to anyone. The owner, Marie, was very helpful and accomodating in every way. Enjoy paradise!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent condo!!

Review submitted: October 7, 2009   Date of arrival: September 24, 2009

My sister and I chose this condo for 10 wonderful days on Maui. We couldn't have been happier!! The condo was clean and well-stocked. All the beach goodies you could ask for (cooler, chairs, boogie boards...) and lots of nice kitchen stuff, too. They even provided coffee filters and spices!! There were books and DVDs for entertainment. The bed and futon were comfy, and we loved the tropical decor. We felt like we were at home! The pool was always quiet and the walk to the beach is so easy. The beach across the street is amazing!! The owner is so easy to communicate with, and really cares about her guests. Can't wait to go again. Thanks (Mahalo)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous time on Maui!!

Review submitted: October 6, 2009   Date of arrival: August 12, 2009

My family and I have stayed in the terrific condo three times over the last two years. It is always clean and well stocked. There are toys for the kids, beach equipment to save me money and make my life easier, and a comfortable condo that makes the whole family happy. The owners care about this condo, and it shows. They really have thought of everything that you could want to be comfortable and feel at home. Can't wait for my next visit to Maui! My family and I will definitely stay in this condo again and again!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect in every way

Review submitted: February 28, 2009   Date of arrival: November 26, 2008

We were lucky enough to spend 8 gloroius weeks in this perfect condo, and could not have been more happy with everything. The location was ideal within easy walking/biking distance to everything. A short 2 minute stroll and you are one of Maui's greatest beaches.The condo itself was very well equipped with everything we could want...from full kitchen ammenities to full beach toys to ensure a perfect holiday. The internet and long distance phone use was a huge bonus. We hope to return to Maui Vista again in the future and would not hestiate to recommend this condo to anyone. The owner, Marie, was very helpful and accomodating in every way. Enjoy paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 26, 2009   Date of arrival: January 26, 2009

"Perfect in every way"

"We were lucky enough to spend 8 gloroius weeks in this perfect condo, and could not have been more happy with everything. The location was ideal within easy walking/biking distance to everything. A short 2 minute stroll and you are one of Maui's greatest beaches.The condo itself was very well equipped with everything we could want...from full kitchen ammenities to full beach toys to ensure a perfect holiday. The internet and long distance phone use was a huge bonus. We hope to return to Maui Vista again in the future and would not hestiate to recommend this condo to anyone. The owner, Marie, was very helpful and accomodating in every way. Enjoy paradise!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 9, 2008   Date of arrival: October 9, 2008

Aloha! We can't begin to tell you how WONDERFUL it was for us to stay here! More than we could have ever hoped for. We experienced so much while staying here. Old Lahaina Luau, Big Beach, Hana Highway, Four Winds snorkeling. We could go on and on... Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 23, 2008   Date of arrival: August 23, 2008

Aloha! What an amazing-beautiful place! Mahalo for letting us stay here for our honeymoon. Kihei is the spot to be in Maui! As active people, we wanted to do everything Maui has to offer! We recommend- South Pacific Kayaks Kayaking and Snorkeling at Turtle Reef! (awesome large turtles swimming right beside you!) Surfing lesson through Maui Beach Boys- best instructors and service. The luau at the Maui Prince hotel was wonderful, personable, great price, and close to the condo too (20 minutes away)! The best restaurants (we love them) Sansei (great seafood and yummy sushi) PuPu Lounge (great service and best fish and chips) and Cafe O'Lei (Yummy food and great specials)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 10, 2008   Date of arrival: August 10, 2008

Aloha! What a wonderful place you have! We love the island decor and perfect location! You didn't leave anything out - so many helpful extras in the condo!! We came for a wedding, but we did so really great things. We recommend the submarine out of Lahaina and sunrise at the crater. (Yes, it's worth getting up for!! P.S. Take a blanket!!) We will definitely return to the islands!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 3, 2008   Date of arrival: August 3, 2008

Mahalo from the Grahams! We have had an awesome time here in Kihei. Our trip has brought us to the Hana pools and the trip itself was an experience of a lifetime. We enjoyed the beach right across from the Maui Vista as well as many other sensational beaches. We would like to thank you for the lovely accommodations. The location can't be beat and the concierge was full of suggestions on interesting opportunities for the children. Thanks again for sharing a little piece of paradise with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 23, 2008   Date of arrival: July 23, 2008

Aloha Marie and Steve! You all have a beautiful condo and the decor here is fitting to your place. Our children especially loved the surfboard! It was especially helpful having a full kitchen and the amenities to use when we wanted a night of dining in. My suggestions to visitors just arriving is to purchase the MAUI REVEALED book. Very informative and helpful on our trip to Hana. We loved the Old Lahaina Luau (mat seating rocks), Lei Lanis (in Lahaina- have the Hula pie). Kelli and I have already talked about planning a girls trip to Maui and we'll keep you in mindo for our place to stay. Thanks again for the use of your place and all things inside! H. family, Grain Valley, MO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 23, 2008   Date of arrival: July 23, 2008

Aloha Marie and Steve- Wonderful place, perfect location. Loved how close it was to the beach. Fun little Irish bar just down the road. Great kayaking through Big Kahuna Adventures and snorkeling to Molokini on the Kai Kanani Charters. Great crew. Enjoyed a luau in Kaanapali at the Hyatt. Haleakala was gorgeous, worth the drive for the view. Beautiful sunsets and beaches. A great place to get away to. K&D, Oregon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 23, 2008   Date of arrival: July 23, 2008

We took a chance and tried a condo this time we visited beautiful Maui. We REALLY are glad we stayed in your condo. You've done a great job, especially providing all the beach "stuff" for my kids to play with. We didn't have to buy stuff just to leave here because we couldn't take it home. It worked out great! We truly enjoyed the location, tennis, pool, beach- everything!! We will recommend this to friends and family and also hope we can get back here to stay soon! Your condo is BEAUTIFUL!! Thank you for renting it out! Mahalo!! M&M, Higley, AZ

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 23, 2008   Date of arrival: July 23, 2008

Steve, Marie, Tyler and Dalton, This is our first visit to the islands and it truly is a magical place. We have combed the island from one end to the other and each night have felt like we landed at home. Your place is terrific! It's comfy, cozy with a touch of class. Thank you for allowing us to make your home our home during this wonderful trip. C&S, Reno, NV

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 23, 2008   Date of arrival: July 23, 2008

Aloha! This condo was perfect! it was centrally located and so close to the beachh. This condo really had everything we needed. We are only sorry we did not have time to use the tennis facilities. We really had a great time! We will definitely recommend your condo to our friends. My suggestion to other guests is the sunrise view of the Hale something crater. We left the condo at 2:30am to be there early and we got one of the last parking spots. Truly a memorable moment. Thank you! J&C

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 23, 2008   Date of arrival: July 23, 2008

We enjoyed our relaxing stay very much. We swam in the ocean almost every day. The temps at home hovered around zero degrees most of the time we were here. That made being in the tropics that much nicer! Thanks for everything. G&S, Anchorage, Alaska

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 23, 2008   Date of arrival: July 23, 2008

We had a great time here. Thank you Marie, Steve, Tyler, Dalton. It is a perfect location, quiet building, good TV set, great pool. Special thanks for the beach chairs, kitchen equipment - we felt really at home. Your condo is beautiful. Sunsets and sunrise is beautiful too. Cafe O'Lei- great fish place. Spices-great steak. Maui Aquarium-interesting place to go. Golf is great here too. (NOTE- the rest of the review was in a different language. Owner chose not to copy it) L&E, Moscow and Denver, CO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 29, 2008   Date of arrival: April 29, 2008

We will now stop saying Thank you, we'll say Mahalo! We couldn't have asked for a better place for our honeymoon! We have thoroughly enjoyed all the amenities! The beach toys and cooler for our ride to Hana, and visiting other beaches was wonderful to have. Of course, this vacation is priceless for many other reasons! Kihei is great for night life, too. (LuLus is the cheapest place for drinks-Saturday night has great deals) No matter what you are in the mood for...live music, dancing, etc. is is really within walking distance. We hope to come back for our anniversary! The drive to Lahaina is so close it's worth going for all the activities going on there. We could go on and on about all the great things!! Mahalo, Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 20, 2008   Date of arrival: April 20, 2008

Aloha from the Kelley family! This is our second trip as a family to Maui and your condo is the best. All the little extras were wonderful. My kids enjoyed all the movies and the tennis courts. We had a great time at the beach. My husband and son recommend Air Maui Helicopter Tours and I recommend a day at the spa at the Grand Wailea Resort. My girls enjoy walking to the stores close by and swimming in the pool. We hope to be back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2008   Date of arrival: March 20, 2008

We enjoyed our stay in Maui and your centrally located condo. The weather was great and we enjoyed the beach and beautiful sunsets. The Hana trip is awesome, but count on a full day to see all the great sites. If taking the drive to Lahaina, try lunch at Aloha Mixed Plate. At Kihei boat launch (nearby), Blue Water Rafting offers a great whale watching excursion. After many annual holidays to Waikiki, the slower pace and friendly people in Maui will definitely influence our decision to return to Maui next year! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 5, 2008   Date of arrival: March 5, 2008

Thank you for the use of your condo for our month in Maui. Good location and had everything we needed. Awesome holiday - we'll be back. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review