reviews for: listing #42272 - Gualala, California Townhome rental

SeaWatch----Stunning Ocean/Beach View in art village
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Cypress Village
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $165 - $180 /nt
    $990 - $1,080 /wk

sort by:

Birthday Vacation in Gualala

Review submitted: November 3, 2009   Date of arrival: October 22, 2009

I saw the place online and my wife and I hadn't been to Gualala since our first weekend away 7 years ago. The place was fantastic, and we felt that we could relax immediately. We played golf at Sea Ranch the first day, and spent the next day walking on the Beach and the next day was just an inside day, opening presents, watching music videos, dancing, and more than all the comforts of home. A completely wonderful weekend!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the nice comments, Marvin. I'm glad you both liked SeaWatch as much asw we do.. Gary

Helpful votes: 7 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Perfect North Coast Get-A-Way

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

The Perfect North Coast Getaway March 13, 2013 The home is absolutely charming, comfortable, and peaceful in this tranquil coast side setting convenient to any past-time...be it beachcoming, kayaking, hiking, shopping, reading, eating, or just relaxing and retreating. The only downside is that we didn't stay longer. The home is well maintained and loved, and the owner was very attentive prior to our visit to make sure all of our expectations were met." -

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WONDERFUL time in Gualala

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

We had a WONDERFUL time in Gualala. What a comfort knowing that after a day of overwhelming beauty in the area, we have a warm, cozy and wonderfully furnished seaside cottage to return to. It's everything we expected and more. The first thing we did every morning was "hit the deck" for an invigorating view and sound of the sea. The last thing before retiring was to "hit the deck" again for amazing Northern California stargazing. The downtown location was PERFECT. You can walk everywhere! You don't need "no stinkin' car" to get around town. Good restaurants, but hey, everything tastes good by the sea! So much to see and do!

Thanks to you both for sharing your property with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're happy you also enjoyed bicycling, kayaking and having your dogs at SeaWatch.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stay at SeaWatch, Gualala

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We loved staying here. Enjoyed the views and the ambiance. The house was very clean and well-maintained. The owners were very helpful and friendly, and so were the locals. We had a lot of fun exploring the area: the quaint shops, restaurents with great views, the small coves, beaches, tidal pools, lighthouse, etc. From the house, we regularly saw dolphins playing in the ocean. Enjoyed watching other wildlife such as sea lions and deer. Sunsets were beautiful. Would love to visit again sometime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciated hosting this family of four with their two teenagers. SeaWatch is perfect for a family like this. Gary

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Grandmothers & grand daughters

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

"Short hike to the beach, easy to buy fresh fish and veggies right in town, lovely independent bookstore, and access to good hiking. Very well kept condo with well appointed kitchen; useful with grandkids." -

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful, Serene and absolutely Ideal

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

5 stars
My girlfriend and I stayed here on a lovely February weekend. The weather and view were fantastic. The house was in pristine condition and beautifully decorated, exactly like the pictures. After spending much of the day on the road it was nice to sit down in front of the fireplace and enjoy a movie with the complementary bottle of wine. My girlfriend spent much of the weekend just soaking in the jacuzzi tub. Overall, one of the nicest places I've ever stayed.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

June 2011 vacation

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

I was impressed by the view from the condo and the Sonoma/Mendocino coast is wild, rugged and not crowded. The perfect way to isolate yourself and get away from all the crowds The condo is attactively furnished, however, the mattress in the master bedroom is much softer than what we are used to. The owner also did not disclose to my husband and I that he brings his dogs and cats to the condo. This caused a severe allergic reaction in our daughter - wheezing, coughing, runny eyes and nose due to what must have been pet dander in the carpet. Therefore, travelers with allergies to cats and dogs may want to rent somewhere that does not allow pets. There is a computer for use but it's an old "E" machine and the connection is very slow. If travelers want to go online during a stay in Gualala - best to bring your own. Travelers should be sure to ask the owner of the condo for instructions on the micro and oven - they are not user friendly and we couldn't figure out how to use them. Be sure to bring PLENTY of DVD's to watch while at the condo, if your into watching TV, as the DISH TV connection loses it's signal every 30 minutes to 1 hour - must be because it's so terribly remote in Gualala. Travelers will want to bring groceries, unless eating out is what you prefer, as the groceries in Gualala are 2 to 3 times as high as they are in So. CA. Be sure to leave BEFORE 11am on the day you are to leave - the owner - the owner will prorate your deposit if you are even 5 minutes late pulling away from the condo. The property manager lives right next door (her condo connects to the rental). She keeps an eye on the condo and on the renters. She will be happy to assist you if there are any issues.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: This is the second attempt for a guest who first sent a vindictive/retaliatory review that was not accepted by HomeAway. I trust all of our potential future guests will read all of the many reviews listed on HomeAway. We want all of our guests to know that we are pet friendly, as stated plainly in our HomeAway listing as "Pets Considered"; we take our own beloved retriever there with us. Our rental agreement clearly states at the top: "No pets unless agreed to by owner".

We do have internet available for your use, though at satellite speeds. Our fully equipped GE kitchen has instructions in our "Guest Handbook" next to the phone & computer.

This guest, who brought her bird undeclared, was simply charged a reasonable pet fee of $40 plus a late departure fee of $3.65 for delaying our cleaning people in preparing for a same day arrival of our next guest. We also include our 2 phone numbers so guests can contact us with question &/or concerns; no such phone call was made by this guest. I called twice to check in early in the week with no answer.

We think you will like our SeaWatch for it's remote, village & sea coastal atmosphere as much as so many before you. We look forward to hosting many more satisfied guests.

Helpful votes: 5 / 10

 

Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: February 13, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

We have stayed in many places along the North Coast aka Banana Belt and this is THE BEST! It is very well appointed. Close to shopping and restaurants. Easy to find. Comes with instruction manuals - we have stayed some places and never could figure out the heating system. And, very easy to work with owners. The Sea Watch will now be our go to destination for our future visits to the coast.Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Clay & Sally,
We are so pleased you enjoyed SeaWatch as much as we do. We will welcome you back anytime.
Gary & Judy

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We felt we could relax immediately"

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

"I saw the place online and my wife and I hadn't been to Gualala since our first weekend away 7 years ago. The place was fantastic, and we felt that we could relax immediately. We played golf at Sea Ranch the first day, and spent the next day walking on the Beach and the next day was just an inside day, opening presents, watching music videos, dancing, and more than all the comforts of home. A completely wonderful weekend!!" - starvin, Clearlake, CA, 11/03/2009 (HomeAway review)

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"...wellappointed, cozy and well maintained"

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2009

"We really enjoyed our 2 night stay in this coastal rental. This townhome was extremely well appointed, comfortable, cozy, and well maintained. The use of the computer and the clear instructions and notes about everything made things easy. Thank you. We had a great time. Richard" - Richard J., Willits, CA,

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"I would recommend this location to friends"

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2009

"We enjoyed our visit to Gualala and found everyone we encountered to be friendly and helpful. The townhome was well appointed and very spacious. Even though the coast was rainy and cold, we thoroughly enjoyed curling up around the fireplace to read books, play board games, etc. The dining area has a great view of the ocean so that we could appreciate the coast without walking in the rain. I would recommend this location to friends." - Patricia S., Pleasant Hill, Ca, 12/22/2009

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

5/5 points -- Awesome!!

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 31, 2008

Thanks for helping make our vacation such a wonderful one! We had a ball at your townhome! The ping pong table was definitely a hit with my 5 year old. Thank you so much for having such a clean, homey place for us to stay!!
Recommended for: Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
guest name: Lea Ann
guest city-state/province: Carrollton, Texas

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 31, 2008   Date of arrival: August 31, 2008

5/5 points
Awesome!!
Lea Ann from Texas
Date Submitted: August 27, 2008 Date of Stay: August 2008
Thanks for helping make our vacation such a wonderful one! We had a ball at your townhome! The ping pong table was definately a hit with my 5 year old. Thank you so much for having such a clean, homey place for us to stay!!
Recommended for: Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Awesome!!

Review submitted: August 27, 2008   Date of arrival: August 18, 2008

Thanks for helping make our vacation such a wonderful one! We had a ball at your townhome! The ping pong table was definately a hit with my 5 year old. Thank you so much for having such a clean, homey place for us to stay!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 2, 2008   Date of arrival: July 2, 2008

Traveler review for this vacation rental
5/5 points
Just fantastic!
sbtraveler Santa Barbara, CA, USA.
Date Submitted: July 01, 2008 Date of Stay: June 2008
We loved our stay at SeaWatch and look forward to a return visit. The owners have spared nothing in making this a most comfortable, beautiful place to relax and from which to explore Gualala and surrounding area. It felt more like staying in a good friend's home than a rental. The photos and description were accurate, though it was even nicer than we'd anticipated. The location was perfect- just a short stroll to coffee shops, great little bookstore, grocery stores with all you could need. While there we enjoyed: the great views from SeaWatch, the beach at Gualala Pt, the lighthouse at Pt Arena... It was windy during our stay, so we didn't canoe on the river, but will next time. Most highly recommended! Thank you, SeaWatch!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Just fantastic!

Review submitted: July 1, 2008   Date of arrival: June 21, 2008

We loved our stay at SeaWatch and look forward to a return visit. The owners have spared nothing in making this a most comfortable, beautiful place to relax and from which to explore Gualala and surrounding area. It felt more like staying in a good friend's home than a rental. The photos and description were accurate, though it was even nicer than we'd anticipated. The location was perfect- just a short stroll to coffee shops, great little bookstore, grocery stores with all you could need. While there we enjoyed: the great views from SeaWatch, the beach at Gualala Pt, the lighthouse at Pt Arena... It was windy during our stay, so we didn't canoe on the river, but will next time. Most highly recommended! Thank you, SeaWatch!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Claudia, it was a pleasure hosting you and your family.
Gary & Judy

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 25, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

Our stay was lovely, from the cozy and warm surroundings to all the amenities.
And ocean views too!
Hope to return soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 29, 2008   Date of arrival: February 29, 2008

Gary,Received the check for the security deposit.We loved your place. It was exceptionally well-appointed and well-equipped as well as highly organized and very clean. Next time we go in that direction, we’ll be in touch.All Best,James

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 2, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending one glorious week at Seawatch. We knew it was going to be nice from the pictures and description on VRBO, but we were absolutely thrilled when we opened the door and saw it for the first time. It exceeded all our expectations! We have stayed at a few beach houses in the past, and this one absolutely surpasses all the rest. It is clear by the way this home is maintained and so tastefully decorated that it is cherished by its owners and likewise will be by anyone who has the pleasure of staying there. The extremely well-appointed kitchen was such a thoughtful addition and really makes one feel pampered. This lovely home is truly a thing of beauty!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Review submitted: January 26, 2008   Date of arrival: January 26, 2008

We enjoyed our mid-winter getaway to Gualala and our stay at the Sea Watch townhome. The storms took a little break and we were able to walk around and enjoy the charming village. The shopkeepers were quite friendly, helpful and even in the dead of winter, they kept good business hours. We toured the Point Arena Lighthouse, just a few minutes drive north and the folks there were very informative about the history of the area. Sea Watch is a pleasure. It is warm and inviting, having a great lived in feeling that is sometimes missing in vacation homes. It was very clean and well equipped with all of the essentials for cooking. In spite of the bad weather we did open the window a crack for a minute and sure enough – you can hear the surf. The ocean view from all across the great room was beautiful. “Take Time to Sit by the Sea” was the quote for the trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 26, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We enjoyed our mid-winter getaway to Gualala and our stay at the Sea Watch townhome. The storms took a little break and we were able to walk around and enjoy the charming village. The shopkeepers were quite friendly, helpful and even in the dead of winter, they kept good business hours. We toured the Point Arena Lighthouse, just a few minutes drive north and the folks there were very informative about the history of the area.

Sea Watch is a pleasure. It is warm and inviting, having a great lived in feeling that is sometimes missing in vacation homes. It was very clean and well equipped with all of the essentials for cooking. In spite of the bad weather we did open the window a crack for a minute and sure enough – you can hear the surf. The ocean view from all across the great room was beautiful. “Take Time to Sit by the Sea” was the quote for the trip.

Owners response: We are pleased you enjoyed SeaWatch and the things we do when we are there. We welcome you to return sometime.
Gary and Judy Amado

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 12, 2007   Date of arrival: December 12, 2007

"You have a gorgeous place & we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to be a visitor again. Thank you."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 2, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at Seawatch. It is very comfortable, decorated very tastefully, and has a nice view. It was nice to be able to walk to local cafes, restaurants, and stores.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 13, 2007   Date of arrival: September 13, 2007

“This home is very warn and welcoming. I love the ‘by the sea’ feel of it, it is very homey. The décor of the place is quite wonderful. The nautical amenities are a quaint but lovely touch. Thank you.”

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 4, 2007   Date of arrival: September 4, 2007

Hello-We’re back again for a second stay. Lovely weather, location, amenities, warmth, etc. We’ll be seeing you in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 20, 2007   Date of arrival: May 20, 2007

We loved the townhome. All the amenities of our home and then some. Loved the view and the location. Our dogs loved it too! Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 22, 2007   Date of arrival: April 22, 2007

“Loved the view! We really enjoyed our stay. A very well equipped vacation home.Had a wonderful time in Gualala. Thank you."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 13, 2006   Date of arrival: November 13, 2006

“Your place is wonderfully warm, inviting and quite lovely. Feels as if we are in an elegant tree house.”

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review