reviews for: listing #42294 - Seattle, Washington Condo rental

Downtown 2-story Penthouse with Amazing Sound View
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Belltown
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $320 - $350 /nt
    $2,100 - $2,300 /wk

sort by:

Excellent location and space

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

We really enjoyed the location and space the condo provided. Great views and walking distance to everything we needed. We were disappointed that the hot tub was out of service so be prepared for that. Also, there is no longer a pull-out ottoman bed provided in the condo so if there are more than 5 people, someone will need to sleep on the couch (which is great as a couch but not so great to sleep on).

Owners response: Hello Michelle,
So sorry for not letting you know that we've replaced the pull out ottoman just prior to your arrival with a roll away bed.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing views, outstanding location!

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about my recent stay at the Belltown Penthouse. The location is right in the heart of Seattle close to everything. The views from each room are breathtaking. The owners were easy to work with and the accommodations were excellent. I would highly recommend this location to anyone looking to stay in a high end place in Seattle.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Carolyn (IIdaho)

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

We're hoping to stay in the penthouse during our next vacation to Seattle. The property was wonderful in every way. The view was incredible and we loved the proximity to the Space Needle, Chihuly glass, the EMP museum, and Pike Place Market. Having a secure parking space was very convenient. The entire penthouse shows real pride of ownership and the place was immaculate. Having such a nice desk/office area was really helpful. It would be our absolute pleasure to stay there again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Convenient location with excellent views!

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our recent stay. It fit our needs very well. The views were outstanding, easy walking distance to all of the sights as well as a wide selection of very good restaurants, and the building was secure and clean. We would recommend this property. Thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location beautiful place

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

I can not say enough about this place. The view is amazing and the penthouse is warm and homey. The pictures are spot on but right when you walk in you feel at home. It has everything you need and more. The kitchen is well equipped and buying fresh fish and fruit from the market to cook was fun. The bakery downstairs is wonderful. All the pubs around are fun and very diverse and offer something for everyone. My husband loved the tv in the front room and the Internet access was a bonus. I only wish we had more time to stay. But we will be back.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Three sissys

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 6, 2012

Had a wonderful stay in this fantastic penthouse condo. Travelled with my two sisters for a weekend of exploring and Christmas shopping. Location was ideal. We had no reason to even have a car! Everything was within walking distance: Macrina bakery right next door, 3 grocery stores, Pikes Place Market, Museums, Space Needle, endless restaurants (the Black Bottle was tops!), and lots of shopping. We even walked by a Target! The views from all rooms were great. Everything was in working order and clean. We appreciated having the washer and dryer, too. Mary Jean was easy to reach and work with. I got my deposit back in a very timely fashion. I would definitely stay here again! Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Awesome Condo!

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2012

This condo was awesome! Definitely a penthouse with amazing views. You can walk to restaurants and bars in Belltown which was great and only 10 minute walk to Pike's market and downtown. Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A Great Retreat

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

We were in the unit last month and enjoyed so much about it. The views are stunning. I could spend a week just sitting and looking out the window. Sailboats, cruise ships, freighters, and ferries are always in the broad view of Elliott Bay from every room. We also enjoyed the sleeping space and the way it was laid out. With the master bedroom upstairs, we were able to host friends and everyone enjoy their privacy. With the west exposure, the July sun bears down on the unit and heats it up pretty good. The portable air conditioner helps. There are also some effective floor fans that can move a lot of cool air in from the outside once the sun goes down. The neighborhood is just wonderful with lots of shopping, eating, and recreation nearby, but that also brings with it some noise, a reasonable tradeoff. We'd suggest that the owner have one morning's worth of coffee for late arrivers who don't have a chance to go to the store before their first night. Other than that, we had everything we needed, including laundry detergent.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fantastic Place to Stay

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

Overall, we loved our stay here for the spaciousness, incredible view, convenient location, indoor parking, the beds (super comfortable with down pillows and comforters!) and last but not least, the secure & upscale building. The owner's thoughtful welcome basket of water and treats was a nice surprise! We would definitely stay here again as even in just 3 days, we felt at home and part of the neighborhood. Its an easy walk to Pike Place, Myrtle Edwards Park, Westlake area, Space Needle, and the waterfront. Bonuses include being right above the amazing Macrina Bakery and NY style pizzeria Belltown Pizza. As others have highlighted, be prepared for the noise and construction that can be part of city living and that there is no A/C. The photos shown are accurate except that the bedroom and living room lamps are either missing or fewer than shown. As we enjoy reading, these were missed. The only other fixture that was not working while we were there was the 2nd floor bedroom ceiling fan, which is on the owner's To Do list. I also would have appreciated knowing what household supplies are provided. Here's my suggested short list of things to bring or be prepared to buy: bathroom soap (only a small liquid, hotel sample bottle is provided), laundry detergent, and plastic wrap/foil. Overall, this place is fantastic and the owner was very accommodating and easy to communicate with! I have already recommended it to my friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Choice !!!

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

You can't go wrong with this condo. It is in a great location with a wonderful view of the mountains and Puget Sound. The condo is very spacious and has all the amenities for a comfortable stay. The location is within walking distance of most attractions in the area including shopping, Pike Place Market, and the Space Needle. Some of the other reviewers comment on the noise, but noise will be present any time you stay in the city (sound proof, stuffy hotels excluded). There is nothing like being able to open the windows and let the nice, cool Pacific Northwest breeze flow through as you sleep. We visited with our son (13) and daughter (8). When we return to Seattle, hopefully this unit will be available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fanastic Location and View

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

This was the great rental for our group of 3 generations. The location and view were as described. We were able to walk to several locations and restaurants nearby. Having a secure parking space was a bonus.

The sleeping arrangements worked great for our group along with the 2 1/2 baths. The exhaust fan wasn't working in 1/2 bath. Having a washer/dryer and a fully equiped kitchen with dishwasher was a big plus. We did wish there were additional bath towels/washcloths.

The additional den/desk area was equipped with a computer and printer. We noticed no problem with noise from downtown streets. Having convenient trash disposal was great. The views from each room was fanastic. Watching the boats, cruise ships, and harbor activity was a pleasant downtime.

The owner and assistant were very helpful in answering questions from the beginning of my contact with them. They were easy to contact, answered promptly, were patient with my questions, and worked with our arrival time. The clean-up crew were alittle behind but it worked out with our schedule.

We will be looking at condo arrangements again and were so glad for the space in comparsion to a hotel. It was an enjoyable trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Women's Weekend

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

This penthouse condo was the perfect accommodation for our yearly Women's Weekend. The place is huge and bright with lots of windows. The location was perfect as well. We walked to Pike Place Market and the downtown shopping district. There are some excellent restaurants right outside the front door as well. It was very clean, comfortable beds and the kitchen had everything we needed as well.
The only negative was that it was a bit noisy at night however of the 5 of us, only 2 were bothered by the noise. Earplugs for those light sleepers would solve the problem.
We would most definitely return to this condo in the future.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

Maria's penthouse is simply amazing! The location is perfect, the space is beautiful and has a great layout and Maria was super helpful. Did i mention how SUPER comfortable the beds were and the yummy breakfast we had every day at the bakery downstairs...i could go on...

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect View of the Sound & Mountains!!

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

The condo has the best views with such beautiful & tall windows! The finishes were nicely done. Wonderfully convenient to have parking included. Being from Hawaii, I was thrilled to find a rice cooker as an added bonus. The washer & dryer were better than my own! Love the memory foam beds; so comfortable. The pizza shop below and the Sicilian La Vita e Bella restaurant around the corner were really good. Starbucks is 1 block up. Tully's and Pike's Place are just a few more minutes away. Olympic Sculpture Park and Myrtle Edwards Park are close and excellent for walkers/joggers/bicycling. No problems with booking and paying with personal check (but still awaiting the return of my deposit). Wish the condo cleaner was ready on time for check-in (had to park on the street for an hour before getting in). Only suggestion, please fix the squeaky stairs since the noise echos in the high ceilings. Only disappointment, it's not a very safe neighborhood to walk after dark & alone and no supermarket stores nearby.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful view close to everything!

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

Visiting Seattle during 5 days of sunshine in mid April was amazing enough, but the condo held it's own special appeal! 7th floor windows (yes there's an elevator) facing Elliot Bay and north towards Queen Anne let in sunshine and views that were stupendous. Two bedrooms, each with their own private bathroom were perfect for our family, two from Yakima and two from Alaska, so everyone had privacy when needed. TV's in the living room and each bedroom, laundry facilities in the condo and a kitchen well stocked with dishes and cooking pots and pans made life comfortable and dining out not a necessity. Having said that, restaurants abound in the Belltown neighborhood, all within walking distance. We cooked some and ate out some, nice to have a choice! The Macrina Bakery, next door to the main condo entrance, was great. There is a full fledged grocery store, Kress IGA, near 3rd and Pike within walking distance with a pack full of groceries. Later I found out there is a Safeway about the same distance, but north toward the Space Needle.

Since two of our party drove to Seattle, we were able to head north to the Skagit Valley Tulip festival. It was amazing to see such huge fields of color! The secured parking for the condo has easy access and makes having a vehicle easy, which is not always the case in Seattle! Parking fees can be incredible.

We walked to Pike's Market almost daily, with strolls and stops beyond, by the Aquarium and the docks. Bought fresh scallops and shrimp at the market along with fresh veggies for a nice stir fry dinner at home.

I wasn't sure we could handle sleeping with city noises just seven stories below us, but there was a three speed, oscilating, tower fan with a timer and remote that served as a great cover for city sounds. Each bedroom had one.

The pool, hot tub and exercise room on the third floor were part of our decision to stay here and we enjoyed using them all. For an extended, non-city walk, we went to Discovery Bay, an easy bus ride away. Our list of "to-do's" was longer than our stay allowed but we will be back and will most definitely stay here again.

The owner was full of information, easy to contact and very accomodating. I would do business with her again in a heartbeat.

Two thumbs up! Loved it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular view!

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

We had a great time in Seattle. The view from this particular apartment is even better than the pictures. The place is nicely furnished, clean and comfortable. It was centrally located within easy walking distance of many area attractions. You will have a fabulous time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ups & downs

Review submitted: April 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2011

On the positive side, the condo is clean and well-equipped with essentials such as laundry detergent and dishwash soap. It is also in an excellent location - close to many great restaurants, bars, coffeeshops and tourist attractions. The building also has a nice parking garage and workout room/pool area.
There are quite a few negatives. One, it being full of windows and on a busy street, the noise level in this apartment is high. We could hear one couple's entire argument on the sidewalk from our 7th floor condo. Additionally, there were problems with the cable TV the entire time we stayed there (5 nights). We had 20 minutes of working TV the entire time and ended up moving out after 5 nights instead of 7. The owner did try to coordinate having the tv fixed, but since she was not in seattle, it was a losing battle. After many phone calls and a lot of frustration, the owner did allow us to leave the condo and pay for 5 nights instead of 7. She gave us a $100 credit for having trouble with the tv - I thought this credit should have been much higher considering we had NO tv for 5 nights.

Also, beware that although the owner lists Paypal as the first option in payment, you will be charged a fee and will not receive your entire security deposit back even if you leave the condo in good condition. I notified the owner that this is nowhere stated in the agreement and is unfair and suggested that she put this information in her initial communication regarding booking fees.

I gave the listing an "average" rating because the owner was nice and did try to rectify the TV situation. Otherwise, the pure inconvenience of having no TV plus the extreme street noise would deserve a "Fair" rating. I agree with the previous reviewer that this property is not worth the money - especially since I had 1 huge amenity not work the whole time and only received a measly $100 credit.

Owners response: -While I do understand the frustration of the TV not functioning properly, the problem was beyond my control. The cable TV outage was part of a larger problem, not only in the building, but also the surrounding neighborhood serviced by the same cable company. The gesture to provide a form of monetary compensation was to apologize for the inconvenience, although it was unavoidable and in no way in under my span of control. Once I was made aware of the problem, I arranged for a cable company technician to respond to the unit and make what repairs we thought were fixable at the time. We did not know at the time the problem was a much larger problem until the cable went out again. When we were made aware that the cable was still not functioning properly, we weren't notified until after hours, so the ability to get a technician out to troubleshoot did not exist until the next day.


Regarding the windows/noise:

-The units appeal as listed on the website does reveal in writing/photos that the unit is surrounded by windows, thus giving the fantastic views that are promised. Since it is located in the heart of downtown, it should be expected that noise is emitted from a vibrant city locale

Regarding the measly $100 credit:

- I feel I have been more than fair with the compensation. The lease agreement clearly states that cancellations of less than 2 weeks notice would forfeit the deposit. The deposit and 2 night refund plus the $100 compensation were all credited back.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Not worth the money

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

We've recently stayed in this condo for a 2 weeks vacation in Seattle. Our opinion:

Positives:
- Greate view!
- Very good location in City's Centre, close to everything: shopping, restaurants, bars, points of interest, etc...
- Well equipped kitchen
- Nice condo (not too big, not too small, good separation of the rooms)
- Very friendly owner! Very good explanations of how to get in, how to use the keys, whom to contact, etc.
- A computer was very helpful, though it had very slow internet connection.

Negatives:
- VERY loud (the huge windows have no isolation at all!)
- Not well cleaned (the cleaning was done only superficially. If you do not want to see the dirt, do not open the closets and do not risk to take a look behind the big couch or under the beds - it will scare you!)
- We recommend to wash the dishes and cutlery before you start to use them.
- The towels stunk and had long hair on them. We had to wash them 3 times (!) before the smell was acceptable.
- Bed linen looked used and not washed.
- there are no blends on the windows, so you have to wake up with the first rays of sun.

We've used HomeAway for many vacations already and we must say there are much more nicer places to stay for such high costs! But if you are looking just for fun and not for a relaxation and have enough money to pay the rent - this place is for you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Recent Stay

Review submitted: October 28, 2010   Date of arrival: October 12, 2010

We recently stayed in this condo for a 5 day mini reunion. As several previous guests stated, the condo did have a great location. The view was great and the condo was clean and well kept. Having the computer was a big plus and helped us plan our stay. The only issue we had was that the owner was not there the night of our arrival. We needed to ask other residents of the building to please let us in the front doors so we could make our way up to the apartment.By chance, the cleaners were there and had no idea that we were coming that night. This could have been a very difficult situation as we arrived around 8 in the evening and I am not sure what we would have done if we could not get into the building.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding view condo

Review submitted: October 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2010

The view from any room is terrific. The photos in listing are accurate-you're looking right at the water with ferry boats passing by and an occasional cruise ship docked just down the street. Olympic mountains in one direction and Mt. Rainier peaking around a building in the other direction. The condo was very clean and well equipped. The owner was excellent in answering questions and addressing concerns. This is in a very active neighborhood with lots of night life and noise. We walked to excellent restaurants on the street in front and also on the streets behind the building. Easy walk to Pike Place Market and downtown. Slightly farther to the Space Needle but you don't have to worry about parking. I would recommend the cruise through the locks or at least the Duck Boat tour. For the more active, rent a kayak in Lake Union and paddle around the boathouses and watch the float planes take off and land. Or, climb the 4-story rock wall at REI. A must-do is to catch the sun going down and the city lighting up from Kerry Park. You might need to ask how to get there and you will need a car for that. The condo doesn't have air-conditioning which requires open windows and fans on the hottest days. Fortunately, those are few in Seattle. Building has a great fitness room with plenty of equipment. Bakery downstairs is excellent.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Didn't want to leave!

Review submitted: August 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

We really loved this condo, and hated to leave! It was perfect for our group of 5 people...everyone had enough room to find a little time for themselves when they needed a break from one another. The view, especially from the master bedroom, is fabulous, and I enjoyed sitting in bed, drinking a steaming cup of coffee from the Starbucks right down the street, and watching the boats come in and out. Watching twilight and the approach of night was gorgeous as well. The location is perfect! The bakery downstairs is wonderful, as is the pizza place next door.

I would bring some extra towels and washcloths, as there were only 5 in the condo. Also some sheets for the master bed if you aren't crazy about satin sheets. Having only 1 keyfob to get into the building requires some advance planning if your group is splitting up for the day. Do not let these things sway your decision....they are minor and this condo is amazing! We will be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Seattle condo

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: September 25, 2009

We had a great time in this spacious and conveniently located condo right the heart of Seattle. Great choice for a stay in the Emerald city and everything within walking distance.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great time

Review submitted: August 7, 2009   Date of arrival: July 24, 2009

Perfect condo for a family with amazing views. Great location with everything you need in walking distance. Condo has all the appointments that you would need. Flat screen tv's, all kitchen appliances, pool, spa, sauna and BBQ!!

We couldnt have found a better place to stay!!!


Thanks

Bill and Mary

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 3, 2008   Date of arrival: September 3, 2008

Great location. Easy walk to Qwest Field, Seattle Center and the market on the waterfront. The bus ran right in front of the condo when we didn't feel like walking. The condo was a good configuration for our family of five. The views were spectacular from every window in the condo. We would stay here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 3, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

Great location. Easy walk to Qwest Field, Seattle Center and the market on the waterfront. The bus ran right in front of the condo when we didn't feel like walking. The condo was a good configuration for our family of five. The views were spectacular from every window in the condo. We would stay here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 9, 2008   Date of arrival: August 9, 2008

Great place! Very convenient for everything we wanted to do. Can walk everywhere. Great restaurants, all within walking distance. Our kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool after long days. Love that there is garage parking. Unit is perfect!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 9, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Great place! Very convenient for everything we wanted to do. Can walk everywhere. Great restaurants, all within walking distance. Our kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool after long days. Love that there is garage parking. Unit is perfect!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 4, 2008   Date of arrival: August 4, 2008

My family of five stayed 8 days in July and had a very enjoyable time. The location can’t be beat for experiencing the downtown life and you never get tired of the view. Maria was very friendly and easy to deal with. The parking garage is very secure. Having a computer in the room was a real plus and made planning activities that much easier. If your not used to a big city, it will take a day or two to get used to all the street noise. The window shades let in a lot of morning light. So if you like to sleep in, better bring some eye shades. Overall, highly recommend!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 4, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

My family of five stayed 8 days in July and had a very enjoyable time. The location can’t be beat for experiencing the downtown life and you never get tired of the view. Maria was very friendly and easy to deal with. The parking garage is very secure. Having a computer in the room was a real plus and made planning activities that much easier. If your not used to a big city, it will take a day or two to get used to all the street noise. The window shades let in a lot of morning light. So if you like to sleep in, better bring some eye shades. Overall, highly recommend!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 8, 2008   Date of arrival: July 8, 2008

A group of us came to Seattle for a 3-day wedding weekend and stayed at this condo. This condo is amazing - the views are fantastic and you feel so comfortable staying there. The downtown access is so easy - just a quick couple blocks to Pike Place Market or to downtown shopping! I would totally stay again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 8, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

A group of us came to Seattle for a 3-day wedding weekend and stayed at this condo. This condo is amazing - the views are fantastic and you feel so comfortable staying there. The downtown access is so easy - just a quick couple blocks to Pike Place Market or to downtown shopping! I would totally stay again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review