reviews for: listing #42299 - Durango, Colorado Condo rental

Slope Side Waterfall Romance! Patio, Balcony, Jacuzzi & Pool
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Durango Mountain Resort
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $109 - $399 /nt
    $724 - $2,394 /wk

sort by:

My Spring Getaway

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

I fell in love as soon as I arrived at this slope side condo. I decided to take a last minute trip to celebrate my birthday with a friend and Sunshine was more than helpful although I made my reservation at the last minute. The condo was beautifully decorated and provided a relaxing atmosphere. Since I was visiting outside of the ski season, the resort was so quite and peaceful. We even got some snow, which really set the scene for a wonderful weekend. I will definitely be returning with more friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Kayla, thank you for sharing that your Birthday on the mountain was a special one! Hopefully you enjoyed a soak in the jacuzzi tub on your B-day. Cody and I are grateful that you chose our home to celebrate your special occasion. Thank you for appreciating the decor and also for taking great care of the condo. We hope "Slope Side Romance" will become your Durango mountain "home away from home".

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Spring Break Getaway!

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

Our family of 6 had a wonderful week-long vacation in this condo! I would highly recommend it. It was just the getaway we were looking for. We spent hours playing games on the long kitchen table. We read books and watched movies on the couches. There was plenty of room for all of us to sprawl out. We enjoyed fires in the fireplace on the colder, snowy days. And we got to sit on the porch swing out back on the warmer days. We ate every single meal in the condo. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed for cooking. Each room is so beautiful decorated. I admired it all week long. We used the hot tub/pool/fitness area across the street most every day. It was a great facility as well. We even got to swim outside in the snow! Sunshine was very prompt in all her correspondence...even with questions we had while in Durango. This is a little gem to find! Our family created many lasting memories together. Thank you, Sunshine and Cody!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful property....wonderful vacation!!!!!

Review submitted: January 1, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

The condo was perfect for our family of four (two parents and two college aged children). Great access to slopes, lodge and all activities. We especially enjoyed the grill for cooking meals and the comfy couches for relaxing after long days of skiing. We will definitely be back to stay in the winter and possibly the summer!!!

Owners response: Cody and I are so happy to hear that our home was "just right" for your family's ski vacation. It is uplifting to read what guest families and couples enjoyed; and be able to visualize our guests experience. Thank you for taking the time to share! We wish your family a prosperous New Year, and hope our home will be your perfect retreat for a future stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Gorgeous property, all the comforts of home!

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

We've used home away extensively, and while it's alwaysbetter than staying in a hotel it's usually about the same as staying in an extended stay.

I have never felt as comfortable and like there was nothing more we needed. Sunshine, the owner, is so prompt in emailing I almost wonder if she even sleeps! She goes above and beyond to help your stay be as fun as possible.

I highly recommend!!

Owners response: We are fortunate to work with so many wonderful families and guests. Thank you Memory and family for appreciating the condo, and for valuing our efforts to respond promptly. Every now and then (usually when we're traveling too) we run into a communication snafu, and try to learn from any mistakes and have back up solutions. We understand that everyone's home is a little different, and know it is important respond to home stay questions before and during guests vacation. Thank you so much for being fantastic to work with! We look forward to the opportunity to host your family again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfectly Beautiful, Cozy, & Tastefully Decorated!

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

The condo was the perfect gathering place for our family and friends to celebrate Thanksgiving 2013. The condo was comfortable, cozy, and very accommodating. Well-stocked kitchen for cooking. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to stay at DMR.

Owners response: It is a pleasure to know that this devoted 28 year art teacher and her family enjoyed a wonderful time in our home for their Thanksgiving gathering. Getting to connect over a shared passion for art was a special part of this rental experience. It will be so exciting to see what the future holds for your creativity. Thank you so much for sharing!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fun for the whole family!

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at this unit! Sunshine and Cody were very accommodating to our needs and were very helpful on things to do, places to eat, etc. This unit is very well furnished. Very clean and almost like new. The sound of the waterfall from the patio was amazing and nice to listen to in the evenings. The beds were amazing! I didn't even miss my bed at home! The kids had a wonderful time and did not want to go home. We will definitely stay here again!

Owners response: We got to meet this beautiful family, and are thrilled that our homes were a great back drop for their family gathering. Much of the time we spend in our homes is to work on them in some capacity; so the joy of renting is in hearing that guests vacation time was fulfilling. The mountain itself offers so much in the way of uplifting beauty and outdoor activities; but it feels good that our home comforts and decorating can be a special part of others happy family times! THANK YOU for the caring you showed us as well.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a wonderful home away from home!

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

This condo was a perfect home for us for two weeks. So comfortable with everything we needed for a perfect vacation. The owners attention to details made it a great place for an extended stay. Very clean with all modern updates and the home is actually decorated throughout. Thank you Sunshine for going that extra step to make our vacation special!

Owners response: Thank you; both for adding a smile to our day and for sharing your experience. Knowing that guests have genuinely enjoyed their vacation time in our home is the most important and fulfilling aspect of renting by owner. We value the times we get to be in Durango to cross paths and meet our guests in person; and also when getting acquainted by phone and email chats. Durango and it's special mountain vistas are so uplifting to share with others. Warmest wishes, Sunshine and Cody

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We all loved the place and the location.

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We all had a great time and enjoyed our vacation in this location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Location, Great Stay!

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Thank you Sunshine for sharing your lovely home with us; it was perfect for our family. We were able to enjoy all the fishing, hiking and sighseeing that Durango and area have to offer and then to come home to all the amenities of the resort was great! After a day out we would unwind at the pool and the hot tub and most nights we were the only guests there, it really felt like our own private resort. The kids enjoyed being able to dart over to the mountain and the fun shops and as we were early in the season, it was just a matter of how fast we could get off the alpine slide to run right over and get on again! We so enjoyed all your home has to offer, the patio reviews were so lovely and refreshing and your dining room table was perfect for our fresh off the grill meals and for our family games after. We look forward to staying again!

Owners response: Thank you so much! Cody and I get genuinely excited when we receive a new guest review. We love hearing the parts of our home that guests have most enjoyed, as well as their favorite mountain activities. Reading your review makes us want to be there there too, ha ha! We are so glad that our home was a great fit for your family. Thank you for taking the time to share. I enjoyed corresponding with you throughout the booking process, and look forward to talking with you again in the future. Many warm wishes, Sunshine and Cody.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to stay and relax.

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

This was a great place to stay for our family. The furnishings were just as advertised, all the comforts of home, and being able to sit on the deck or porch and listen to the waterfall everyday was so relaxing. The kitchen had all the aminities you could ask for and all the items were high quality which made cooking very easy. The Qualls provide extensive detailed information to make your stay in the resort and Durango more enjoyable. I have rented several condos over the past few years and have never had an owner provide as much information as they did. It was a huge help.

Owners response: Dear James, thank you so much. It brings Cody and I a great deal of joy to hear that the work we have done in our home, and the location; helps guests to have a great vacation. We realize what it takes to save up for a family trip and that vacation time is a treasure. Hearing our guests' experiences motivates us even more to always strive to maintain our condo be as special as it can. We appreciate your sharing; and hope we'll have the opportunity to host your family on your next Durango visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great spring getaway

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

Loved the condo! It was up to date and modern. Very clean and well kept. The balcony had a great view of the mountain. I really liked that there was an unlimited supply of wood for the fireplace which was great at night since it got a little cold.

One note is that the pool is not in the same complex as the condo - but this didn't matter to me since the pool complex was only about 200 yards away.

Would definitely stay here again when I come back to Durango.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks Sunshine! The guys loved it.

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 20, 2013

The rooms were very accommodating and the condo was better than advertised. We had a beautiful view of the mountains from our balcony. DMR was less than 50 yards from our front door. We could not of asked for better ski conditions, 45 inches of snow fall in 3 days makes for great skiing/boarding. I enjoyed working with the owners. They were honest, we had no problems with the deposit refund, everything was as promised and Sunshine is a very sweet , personable, and caring person. I will definitely be lodging with Sunshine again. I can't wait to visit with my family. Of all the places I have been skiing DMR has the best variety of slopes and is very family friendly. Thanks for the beautiful condo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Romantic Fall Getaway

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 12, 2012

My wife and I just spent over a week in Durango and visiting the surrounding locations (Ouray, Silverton, Ridgeway, Pagosa Springs, Telluride, Aztec, NM, Mesa Verde National Park, Wolf Creek, and Four Corners area. This was our first time to vacation on the western side of Colorado and our first time to be in the Rockies in the Fall. We enjoyed all of these locations and especially enjoyed being able to come home to this Condo every evening to relax and spend time together. This was a great time to be there because of the fall colors (golden aspen) and it was not too crowded. The owners of this condo take great pride in providing a cozy home and making sure you enjoy your stay. We have done vacation rentals several times in the past few years ... This was by far the best property and most caring owners that we have rented from in our travels and a great location for all seasons. It was good to get back home, but we definitely were not ready to leave. We are already planning another trip to the area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Summer Retreat!

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Our family of four had a wonderful time during our recent stay at DMR. The condo was lovely and had all of the ammenities we needed. It was directly next to the lodge where the fitness center and pool were located and where all of the DMR summer activities take place. The owners were very helpful - espcially their list of things to do and suggestions of where to eat. We took their recommendation for the short hike and picnic to Spud Lake which was beautiful. We also highly recommend - for both quality and price - Steamworks Brewery in downtown Durango for lunch or dinner.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Spot in Durango

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

We have stayed in many VRBO locations and know a quality rental property when we see them. I can truly say that this location is absolutely perfect. It is literally across the street from Purgatory lodge. It is perfect location for skiing and also great for summer (ride hermosa creek on backside). The ticket window and small square is right outside purg lodge so you basically can't get any closer w/o staying in Purg lodge. As the description states, 2 great bedrooms...very comfortable and then a bunk which our 2yr old slept in a few times (the rest with mom/dad) and will be perfect on return trips for our 2 girls. Reserved parking right out the front door so no competing with day trippers... Ski locker outside the condo was perfectly secure for overnight...and used the Purg lodge to store ski boots during walk back to condo for lunch... Full size washer dryer was nice...the grill on the back deck was a favorite and as I told sunshine the DVR for kids programs was fantastic as well. It was hard for me to even find any recommendations for improvement...it simply had everything we needed. We will be making an annual trip and will be staying with Sunshine every time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

My family and I (2 adults, 3 children) had a wonderful time at, and around, Durango Mountain Resort thanks to this great condo. It was perfect: the condo location within DMR couldn't have been better - right across the way from the resort "clubhouse" (which was also spectacular); DMR is also located perfectly - close to lakes for fishing, horseback riding, and mid-way between the city of Durango and other cool towns like Silverton and Ouray. Sunshine was so nice to deal with - they were very accommodating, very easy to deal with, and returned our security deposit much faster than expected. If we return to Durango, it will be a no-brainer to return to this exact property. Thank you, Sunshine, for allowing us to enjoy your beautiful condo!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Vacation & Reunion

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! This trip was undeniably our family's favorite trip of all time. We travel two to three times a year and stay in hotels. This was the first time we used VRBO. The website was easy to navigate and find information. Even better was the home we rented for the week. The owners of this property were courteous, responsive and most importantly honest. The pictures on the website as well as the information regarding the amenities were exact. The property was clean and well-maintained. At any time when we had a concern or question, the owners were responsive to our e-mails.

The home itself felt like our own. We didn't feel like we were renting. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook and feed 8 persons. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bedding was high end. The kids had a super time playing board games and on occassion watching some of the provided dvd's. We had immediate access to the resort pool and the location was easy for everyone to get to. The parking was great and made loading and unloading a breeze.

I truly believe the experience was a success due to the dedication of the owners, Sunshine and Cody Qualls. They understand the concept of family and this was apparent in the quality of their rental and dedication to providing the best possible experience for my family. I would recommend this property to everyone interested in visiting the Durango/Silverton area. The location provides you access in each direction and becomes the middle point. There is plenty of activities and abilities to sightsee as was listed in their information.

I would personally recommend the drive and hike to Spud Lake. The drive takes a bit due to the road conditions, but the hike is about 1 1/2 miles and is well worth it. Places to eat that were off the chart included Grumpy's in Silverton, Zia Taqueria in Durango, Serious Texas BBQ in Durango and a good old fashion hot dog from Purgy's at the resort. We cooked dinner four of the nights at the rental and that was the highlight of the trip. Having the complete family in one location, fellowshipping and enjoying each others company was a highlight. Sunshine and Cody's place provided an atmosphere of family, fun and peace of mind.

Our family is planning on vacationing here every other year. Once you find a gem in the rough, you will keep it forever. Thank you again to Sunshine and Cody for their efforts and desire to provide a wonderful place for others to visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacay

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Durango and this condo was perfect for us. Plenty of room, very clean, all the amenities one could need, easy access to the lodge across the street and slopes, pool/hot tub is very nice, and we loved the views! There is very nice furniture and plenty of places to sit when wanting to hangout around the fire or TV with a great movie selection and games for the family. Overall, I would definitely go back and recommend this condo to others. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great time skiing

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

It was a beautifully decorated condo and was perfect for our needs.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

a

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

Unit was incredible and owners were great to deal with,we will be coming back to stay in this unit in the future had a great time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is so great to hear from our guests! We love to hear when everything is wonderful, and also if we need to take care of something. Our goal is for each guest to feel one-hundred percent satisfied and want to return again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Purgatory

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

We stayed a week in this wonderful condo just before Christmas. I did a considerable amount of research on places to stay both in town and at the resort, and I had high expectations from the number of positive reviews from prior guests. We arrived tired from traveling and were wonderfully surprised at our new home for the week.

The condo is quite large with two bedrooms and a third area with two bunks for the kids. The upstairs was very well laid out and really made the most of the space available. Our three kids found plenty to do while we were inside and the close location to the lifts was really great to get them outside and burn off some energy.

We planned on cooking most of our meals and the number of available appliances and kitchen gear made cooking as easy as home. There were a wide variety of pots, pans, and small appliances to help with the preparation. Plenty of spices were also in the cabinets so we didn't need to pick up a huge list at the store.

I travel for work and have become unnecessarily picky about the properties I stay in and this really was at the upper end of quality for what I would spend on a corporate account, and the value was just exceptional. The personalized shampoo, conditioner, soap, lotion, and lip balm was a very nice touch. It was just another example of how Sunshine goes the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable.

Overall, I would very enthusiastically recommend this property to anyone considering staying at Purgatory. I'm trying to figure out how to make another trip, so please don't book my dates.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Birthday getaway

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

We stayed a total of 4 nights 5 days for my 27th birthday. It was so wonderful and homey. The home was so close to the resort and lifts it was ideal for everyone. We made wonderful dinners every night and played board games after we were done. I honestly couldn't have planned a better weekend and the home was the cherry on top. Made this vacation perfect. Thank you so much for offering this opportunity Sunny and Cody!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas Vacation

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

This was perfect for our family. The views from upstairs and down are awesome. A very cozy little place. Perfectly decorated and very inviting. I felt at home. Plenty of room for our group. All the bedrooms are downstairs which for us was great. Those that were tired before others could get ahead start on sleep without being interrupted by those of us that played games. The kitchen was the perfect size and had everything we needed and more. The location was great, easy to get in and out of when we felt the need to roam around and take pictures. We had a wonderful vacation. Loved it and will definitely go back.

Owners response: As owners with a passion for remodeling and decorating, the very best news is to hear that guests have truly enjoyed our condo and their mountain experience. With Diana and Keith's help, throughout the year we listen to guest experiences and work to improve both our home and client service. This fall's home improvements included a new KitchenAid stainless tub dishwasher, new Whirlpool Duet front load washer and dryer, new master curtains, a slate & glass back-splash in the kitchen, & Gilchrist & Soames bathroom goody boxes. We are also now accepting secure HomeAway online payments. The system helps our guests by sending automatic payment reminders and receipts, and accepts credit cards and e check. The greatest compliment is when guests love our home and location enough to want to return. We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful vacation. Thank you for sharing, & Warm Wishes for a Happy New Year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful and peaceful home in the mountains!

Review submitted: June 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

We had an AMAZING summer vacation in this beautiful home! It is so warm and cozy, with stunning views of the mountains, especially from the living room and the master bedroom. We would open the windows and listen to the soothing sound of the waterfall everyday. We loved to sit on the deck and drink coffee in the mornings with the sound of the waterfall and the majestic views of the mountains and trees. We have 4 little kids, and the layout of the home was great, all the bedrooms are on the lower floor, and the living space is upstairs. Our kids loved the bunkbeds, and the huge stack of Disney movies Sunny provided! The jetted tub was a huge plus, and everything was so beautifully upgraded that we felt like we we in a 5 star resort! This unit is directly across the street from Purgatory Lodge, where the pool and fitness facility are. The pool was amazing for the kids, they loved the slide and wanted to go every day! It is heated too, which is a big plus in Colorado. Even on days in the 60's we would go and swim. Another plus is that Sunny is great to work with. Our family has rented 4 homeaway properties for vacation, and she was the quickest to respond and the most helpful out of all of them. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway in the mountains, this is the place for you! Thank you Sunny for one of the best vacations we have had!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great family vacation home!

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

My family and I plus Grandma spent Easter weekend at the condo and it was everything I had hoped for! Beautifully decorated, fully stocked kitchen and lots of entertainment to keep my kids happy. My boys (6 1/2 and 2 1/2) loved their bunk bed. It is about a 25 minute drive to Durango but a beautiful drive! While we didn't use the pool (it ended up snowing like crazy during our stay) it is a great pool and facility. Purgatory does have limited dining options, especially after the ski season closes, but we were able to find a great local pizza place and two grocery stores when we didn't want to drive into Durango. I would definitely stay at this condo again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

V.

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

This condo was lovely! Clean upon arrival with wonderfully comfortable beds and high quality linens. It really felt like home. The layout was perfect for our family (2 boys and a girl). We loved the fireplace and all the games provided. The kitchen was very well stocked including spices and condiments. We cooked some amazing meals! The jacuzzi tub was a dream and we loved the clay soap from Costa Rica. Our family enjoyed the use of the hot tub and pool across the street in the lodge. My husband and I even enjoyed drinks inside while watching our kids in the pool. It was a very easy walk to the lifts. Guests should ask for the snow report at the lodge when they check in: that is how we found out about "Family Sunday" which offered a huge discount on lift tickets for our family. The owners obviously care very much about their home and want to share that with their guests. The owner was very good about communicating with us and we would definitely recommend this property. Much much better than a hotel! I wonder if they have any rental properties in Costa Rica! :)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: One of our greatest joys is to hear that guests truly enjoyed our home. We have invested lots of elbow grease, income and love into making our East Rim have a special ambiance; but all would be for naught if guests did not have a special time there! Thank you so much for sharing your positive experiences in our home and on the mountain, it really puts a grin on our faces. We strive every year to do upkeep so our home will sparkle, and make small improvements. This spring, in addition to basic care mantainence, we have purchased new Pottery Barn Simone bedding for the 2nd guest room, romantic custom silk bouquets for the 2 queen bedrooms and beautiful new dinnerware. Thank you so much for choosing our home, and we hope that you will stay again. We offer savings to all of our returning guests:) Durango is an amazingly gorgeous part of Colorado (actually, we think it is one of the most beautiful places in the world!), and we are grateful that our home can be a memorable part of guest's year-round mountain vacation experience! Thank you, and warm wishes~ Sunshine and Cody

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Would Love to Return Again Soon

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

Just wanted to let you know that we really enjoyed our stay at your condo. The weather was great as well as the skiing. I would definitely recomend your condo to others and would love to return again soon. Thanks for the great experience. S.W.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

We are so grateful, we enjoyed our stay so much. We loved having access to the lodge, the people were wonderful there.
Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Decor, Comfort & Location

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 9, 2011

Well, our stay in Durango is now over
and we're home and back to our non-holiday routines.Just wanted to let you know what a great time we had and how wonderful your condo was for us. Aside from the great decor and comfort the location was perfect.We were able to ski down for lunch each day. Saved us
the hassle of eating mountain food during our stay.

BTW the people at the mountain and in Durango were so incredibly helpful and friendly. My husband got to try ski-biking and the skiing was great. We may be putting Durango back on our list for next
year. Thanks so much.
best
Barb B.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 13, 2010

This condo was a great place to stay during our family vacation/ski trip. The kids liked the bunk beds, the pool and the assortment of kids DVD's to watch in the evenings. My wife and mother in-law were very impressed with the decor, spaciousness and the view. I was very happy with the location (the ski lifts, lodge and village are a very short walk away) and that the others family members were pleased. I would recommend staying here to anyone who wanted a very nice place to stay while skiing Purgatory or visiting the Durango area.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect place to stay.

Review submitted: December 6, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

We loved everything about this condo. Very comfortable with everything you would possible need. We stayed for a week but would have loved to have stayed longer. Very clean and up to date. The owner Sunny was always more than helpful when I had any question. Can't wait to stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A fabulous stay!

Review submitted: October 31, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

Writing this review has been on my "to do" list since we got back from our trip to Durango in February of 2010. I am happy to check it off and let you all know what a fantastic property this is. The owners were so wonderful and pleasant to deal with, and the accommodations were great! The home is warm and inviting and we all slept like kings. My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our trip and will try to get this Sunny retreat on our next trip to Durango Mountain Resort!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

East Rim Condo is perfect for Durango stay

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

The East Rim Condo was a perfect headquarters for our week long trip to Durango during the first week of August 2010. The condo was well appointed and comfortable. At the end of a busy day it had the feeling of coming home. There were spectacular views and a rushing waterfall outside the window to lull us to sleep. It was a 4 minute walk to the pool and health club. (Hint, cut through the health club to reach the pool.) We think that we were closer to the pool than people staying in the lodge. At the resort we were close to all the activities and restaurants, there really is no better location to stay at DMR. We were a little worried at first about the distance from Durango, but it turned out that the drive was easy and relatively quick. When we walked around the hustle and bustle of Durango in high tourist season we were grateful to be away from all of that at the end of the day. If you are coming to Durango for a a week, this condo should be at the top of your list.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We had a blast and loved all the "little extras!"

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

We really had a blast this past week! I have already shared with all my friends and extended family members that this was truly the greatest family vacation we have ever had! We have three teens--ages 13, 16, and 19--and they loved it as well. The condo was absolutely perfect for them and for my husband and I. We felt like "royalty" with all of the extra special attention to detail in the home--like the thick, thirsty towels and warm rugs througout as well as the beautiful and elegant decor. You can tell this home is well-loved! We enjoyed the jacuzzi tub in the home as well as the hot tub and pool located at the resort. The gym/workout room is huge with lots of tvs and lots of great equipment. My husband worked out each and every day we were here! My favorite spot was the balcony overlooking the waterfall--right next to us--and the gorgeous Rocky Mountains. I awoke each and every morning early to read my Bible and enjoy the glorious sunrise! We went white-water rafting which I have to say was the highlight of the trip! I would suggest 4 Corners Whitewater Rafting Company. They were fantastic! The river was running high and fast with new snow melting in the mountains, so it was especially exciting. (I suggest going early in the summer for those who enjoy a little more adventure. They say it gets much calmer toward the end of the summer.) We also rode the Durango Silverton Railroad up to Silverton. I would suggest taking the train from Rockwood Station (about 10 to 15 minutes from Durango Mountain Resort) instead of taking it from town. You can pick up the train right there, and it takes off about an hour and a half of travel time. You do need to pick up your tickets the day before however. Talk to them and ask them about what time you need to be there, etc. We will definitely be using this condo again for our next vacation! We would like to go again next year and enjoy the resort amenities. If you want to enjoy all the summer amenitites, I suggest going later in the summer. But if you wnat to simply enjoy the beauty of the home and the glorious mountain, then May is the time to go. It's very quiet and serene. Thanks again, Sunshine, for all of your help and for providing a place that we will remember forever! Lots of fantastic memories!! <aru Laue

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

This was a lovely place to stay for a few nights while enjoying the great snow of Durango. Cozy and well equipped it was easy and like a home away from home. It has a perfect location and beautiful views - great for summer or winter get away.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect get away in Durango

Review submitted: March 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

The accomodation was lovely, cozy, comfortable, warm and perfectly located for skiing and relaxing in the spa. The home had everything that you could wish for and more. It was like a home away from home. We will definitely be back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 26, 2010   Date of arrival: February 26, 2010

Loved the condo...cozy, convenient, family friendly. Our test of a good stay is would we rent again? Definitely!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

Beautiful condo, right next to the slopes! Sometimes pictures can be deceiving, but that was NOT the case here. This condo was beautifully decorated, well cared for, clean, and was everything it was promised to be. Even though it is pet-friendly, there was absolutely no sign of previous pet guests. I enjoyed everything about it, especially the fireplace. Owners communicated well and the transaction was very smooth. I can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: February 11, 2010

Beautiful condo, right next to the slopes! Sometimes pictures can be deceiving, but that was NOT the case here. This condo was beautifully decorated, well cared for, clean, and was everything it was promised to be. Even though it is pet-friendly, there was absolutely no sign of previous pet guests. I enjoyed everything about it, especially the fireplace. Owners communicated well and the transaction was very smooth. I can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 4, 2010

We booked the condo early in the summer for our Christmas vacation. Between the time we rented the condo and our arrival the owners had done several improvements to the property. We were extremely happy when we walked in. The condo is very comfortable and very well decorated. The kitchen was stocked with plenty of cookware and a large variety of spices. The living room was cozy and the furniture is very high quality and comfortable. The bedrooms were well decorated and again the beds were high quality - along with the linens. My favorite was the bathroom with the large jacuzzi tub and shower. Again, the bathroom linens were above standard. The condo has all the special touches that you would see in your home - comfortable throws, dimmer lighting and candles. The owners were very easy to work with and were flexible with changes to dates and had a nice gift for us when we arrived. My family stayed elsewhere on the mountain and were truly impressed with our accomodations. My mother owns a vacation rental business and she commented that she wished her owners put in the time and quality into their properties as these owners have.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We truly felt like we got our money's worth!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

You'll love this home away from home! There is absolutely NO better location. The owners were quick to answer questions & the resort personnel couldn't have been more accomodating. It is honestly across the parking lot from everything. The furnishings and 'extras' were wonderful, comfortable & up to date. We truly felt like we got our money's worth! We'll never stay anywhere else.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Close to Skiing

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2009

Had a very nice stay. Condo was just as it was described, great condition, comfortable, and most of all, very close to the skiing. Our family (and dog) enjoyed the accomodations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Durango-Silverton Train Ride

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 4, 2009

We vacationed with our 4 children (ages 8 thru 14). Each of us thoroughly enjoyed this beautifully appointed unit (especially the i-pod docking station for the teenager). It is a great spot to launch short trips to Durango, Silverton,Ouray, Mesa Verde, Four Corners. Fall is gorgeous here. We especially enjoyed the Durango-Silverton train ride (rated 3rd best in the world)!We highly recommend this unit and hope to return again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time Skiing with Kids

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 21, 2010

We stayed at this condo January 21-26 for our first ski vacation as a family. We had 4 adults and 3 children and were very comfortable at this home. There was plenty of storage in the bedrooms for all our gear and we all slept comfortably in the queen size beds. The bunk room for the kids is a huge plus. The kitchen was well stocked with staples (coffee, sugar, tea, jelly, mayo, etc.), and it had plenty of pots and baking dishes for cooking. We also used the grill on the deck for steaks. The condo is warm, clean, tastefully furnished, and roomy. Firewood was available for the fireplace.
We were a short walk to the village and lifts and really enjoyed the skiing at purgatory. The runs were well groomed and family friendly. This was our kids' first time skiing and they went to ski school the first day. By the second day, they were ready to go down the mountain with us. However, I do recommend taking the kids to the bunny slope by lifts 9 and 10 for a little practice.
We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and plan to come back to purgatory again and to this condo. It is very convenient and a great value.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed Every Minute of It!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

This condo was by far the most cozy vacation rental we have stayed in. We were there for a week and enjoyed every minute of it. The location is literally at the base of the ski hill, but is on the outer edge of the hill so you can see views of the mountains facing the opposite of the resort. There are 2 beautiful lakes (birds eye view) of the condo deck and creek of water that flows outside of the cabin near the master bedroom. There were 360 degrees of amazing views surrounding us. It was great! We had family visiting for a few days at a time during our stay. Our family members had enough room and felt very comfortable during their stay. (Which was important) We stayed over the Thanksgiving holiday and made our feast there. They had everything we needed. We also enjoyed the artistic interior design of the cabin and the rooms. Not only is the interior design modern and rustic but The condo also has two patios (upstairs and downstairs). That was great. Each morning we would get up and outside of the master bedroom we would sit outside and have coffee. The upstairs patio has a table and chairs outside, one day when it was warm enough we had breakfast outside as well. I almost forgot to mention the jacuzzi on the bottom level! Ahhh. The condo is 20 minutes to downtown Durango so we would go intown each night for dinner and hit the grocery store (for breakfast and lunch groceries for the next day). There is actaully a gourmet supermarket 12 minutes from the resort called PJ's. We were impressed with the quality of meats and fine wines and cheeses they had there too! So if you are heading into town only for groceries, I'd stop there isntead of heading all the way into downtown Durango. Some activites we took part in were snow hikes on the mountain, intertubing, soaking in the Tremble Hot Springs, the Resort ammenities (workout room and hot tub) and just enjoying the condo. Great place to stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

ski vacation

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 21, 2010

We stayed at this condo January 21-26 for our first ski vacation as a family. We had 4 adults and 3 children and were very comfortable at this home. There was plenty of storage in the bedrooms for all our gear and we all slept comfortably in the queen size beds. The bunk room for the kids is a huge plus. The kitchen was well stocked with staples (coffee, sugar, tea, jelly, mayo, etc.), and it had plenty of pots and baking dishes for cooking. We also used the grill on the deck for steaks. The condo is warm, clean, tastefully furnished, and roomy. Firewood was available for the fireplace.
We were a short walk to the village and lifts and really enjoyed the skiing at purgatory. The runs were well groomed and family friendly. This was our kids' first time skiing and they went to ski school the first day. By the second day, they were ready to go down the mountain with us. However, I do recommend taking the kids to the bunny slope by lifts 9 and 10 for a little practice.
We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and plan to come back to purgatory again and to this condo. It is very convenient and a great value.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2010

We stayed at this condo January 21-26 for our first ski vacation as a family. We had 4 adults and 3 children and were very comfortable at this home. There was plenty of storage in the bedrooms for all our gear and we all slept comfortably in the queen size beds. The bunk room for the kids is a huge plus. The kitchen was well stocked with staples (coffee, sugar, tea, jelly, mayo, etc.), and it had plenty of pots and baking dishes for cooking. We also used the grill on the deck for steaks. The condo is warm, clean, tastefully furnished, and roomy. Firewood was available for the fireplace.
We were a short walk to the village and lifts and really enjoyed the skiing at purgatory. The runs were well groomed and family friendly. This was our kids' first time skiing and they went to ski school the first day. By the second day, they were ready to go down the mountain with us. However, I do recommend taking the kids to the bunny slope by lifts 9 and 10 for a little practice.
We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and plan to come back to purgatory again and to this condo. It is very convenient and a great value.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: January 9, 2010

Awesome Condo. We loved coming back from a day skiing and only having to cross the road. All the luxury and modcons were included. Beautiful furnishings with extremely comfortable beds and lounges. Will definately be coming back next year. Thanks Sunshine.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: January 28, 2010

Awesome Condo. We loved coming back from a day skiing and only having to cross the road. All the luxury and modcons were included. Beautiful furnishings with extremely comfortable beds and lounges. Will definately be coming back next year. Thanks Sunshine.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 28, 2009   Date of arrival: December 28, 2009

Condo was exactly as described - beautifully decorated and in an ideal location. Each room has an incredible view and the deli/marketplace in Purgatory Village (walking distance) makes an incredible latte! The owners always answered our inquiries quickly and we especially loved the comfy bedding.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best vacation Rental!

Review submitted: December 3, 2009   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

This condo was by far the most cozy vacation rental we have stayed in. We were there for a week and enjoyed every minute of it. The location is literally at the base of the ski hill, but is on the outer edge of the hill so you can see views of the mountains facing the opposite of the resort. There are 2 beautiful lakes (birds eye view) of the condo deck and creek of water that flows outside of the cabin near the master bedroom. There were 360 degrees of amazing views surrounding us. It was great! We had family visiting for a few days at a time during our stay. Our family members had enough room and felt very comfortable during their stay. (Which was important) We stayed over the Thanksgiving holiday and made our feast there. They had everything we needed. We also enjoyed the artistic interior design of the cabin and the rooms. Not only is the interior design modern and rustic but The condo also has two patios (upstairs and downstairs). That was great. Each morning we would get up and outside of the master bedroom we would sit outside and have coffee. The upstairs patio has a table and chairs outside, one day when it was warm enough we had breakfast outside as well. I almost forgot to mention the jacuzzi on the bottom level! Ahhh. The condo is 20 minutes to downtown Durango so we would go intown each night for dinner and hit the grocery store (for breakfast and lunch groceries for the next day). There is actaully a gourmet supermarket 12 minutes from the resort called PJ's. We were impressed with the quality of meats and fine wines and cheeses they had there too! So if you are heading into town only for groceries, I'd stop there isntead of heading all the way into downtown Durango. Some activites we took part in were snow hikes on the mountain, intertubing, soaking in the Tremble Hot Springs, the Resort ammenities (workout room and hot tub) and just enjoying the condo. Great place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 3, 2009   Date of arrival: December 3, 2009

This condo was by far the most cozy vacation rental we have stayed in. We were there for a week and enjoyed every minute of it. The location is literally at the base of the ski hill, but is on the outer edge of the hill so you can see views of the mountains facing the opposite of the resort. There are 2 beautiful lakes (birds eye view) of the condo deck and creek of water that flows outside of the cabin near the master bedroom. There were 360 degrees of amazing views surrounding us. It was great! We had family visiting for a few days at a time during our stay. Our family members had enough room and felt very comfortable during their stay. (Which was important) We stayed over the Thanksgiving holiday and made our feast there. They had everything we needed. We also enjoyed the artistic interior design of the cabin and the rooms. Not only is the interior design modern and rustic but The condo also has two patios (upstairs and downstairs). That was great. Each morning we would get up and outside of the master bedroom we would sit outside and have coffee. The upstairs patio has a table and chairs outside, one day when it was warm enough we had breakfast outside as well. I almost forgot to mention the jacuzzi on the bottom level! Ahhh. The condo is 20 minutes to downtown Durango so we would go intown each night for dinner and hit the grocery store (for breakfast and lunch groceries for the next day). There is actaully a gourmet supermarket 12 minutes from the resort called PJ's. We were impressed with the quality of meats and fine wines and cheeses they had there too! So if you are heading into town only for groceries, I'd stop there isntead of heading all the way into downtown Durango. Some activites we took part in were snow hikes on the mountain, intertubing, soaking in the Tremble Hot Springs, the Resort ammenities (workout room and hot tub) and just enjoying the condo. Great place to stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fall Vacation

Review submitted: November 1, 2009   Date of arrival: October 4, 2009

We vacationed with our 4 children (ages 8 thru 14). Each of us thoroughly enjoyed this beautifully appointed unit (especially the i-pod docking station for the teenager). It is a great spot to launch short trips to Durango, Silverton,Ouray, Mesa Verde, Four Corners. Fall is gorgeous here. We especially enjoyed the Durango-Silverton train ride (rated 3rd best in the world)!We highly recommend this unit and hope to return again .

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

What a lovely escape ! We visited in late August and found the Condo a wonderful, relaxing retreat which we will absolutely return.

Thanks so much to Sunny for making this
home away from home so comfortable and well appointed. Hiking, rafting, golfing and sight seeing make it an even more delightful get away whether you are there to relax or see the great outdoors it is perfect !!

Jessica

Owners response: Thank you for being such considerate guests and for taking exceptional care of our home! We value our guests and it makes us feel so good to know that the artistic touches and extra comforts in our condo have helped our guests have a special vacation experience!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 2, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Had a very nice stay. Condo was just as it was described, great condition, comfortable, and most of all, very close to the skiing. Our family (and dog) enjoyed the accomodations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything we wished for...

Review submitted: March 26, 2009   Date of arrival: March 13, 2009

You'll love this home away from home! There is absolutely NO better location. The owners were quick to answer questions & the resort personnel couldn't have been more accomodating. It is honestly across the parking lot from everything. The furnishings and 'extras' were wonderful, comfortable & up to date. We truly felt like we got our money's worth! We'll never stay anywhere else.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Better than Home!

Review submitted: January 6, 2009   Date of arrival: December 23, 2008

We spent the our Christmas here and it was wonderful, everything was as it was described and even better. The property was clean, warm, and artistically appointed. The views of the mountains from any vantage point were breath-taking. The condo was stocked with more than we anticipated which was a pleasant surprise. We were there for the skiing and hanging out with family....was a great Christmas present to ourselves and look forward to returning...possibly the summer this time. Two thumbs up (especially to our host Sunshine)!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

condo

Review submitted: September 9, 2008   Date of arrival: August 29, 2008

The place is beautiful and peaceful. You are right next to lifts and great views.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Durango Condo Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: July 23, 2008   Date of arrival: July 11, 2008

We rented this very clean Durango condo for a quick vacation retreat and it turned out to be perfect. Although it is 30 minutes from downtown Durango, the drive in is beautiful. The condo is located literally steps from the ski lodge. They had a small restaurant that served homemade scones, hot Starbucks coffee and seating outside. There was a chair lift to the top and also a slide for the kids down the mountain. The condo was recently remodeled with beautiful new furniture and bedding. Washer/dryer is a plus. Nice deck outside with a grill and table to listen to waterfall nearby and beautiful views of the mountains. Owner was really nice to work with. Train, jeep ride and water rafting were wonderful! Highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 30, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We had a great time staying at this beautiful condo! The location was fantastic - in the heart of it all while also feeling very private and peaceful. The condo is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We hope to stay there again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review