reviews for: listing #42310 - Murphy, North Carolina Chalet rental

Mountain Serenity
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Chalet
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Brasstown/Crisp Mountain
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $450 - $450 /wk

sort by:

Great place to stay at

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

I would recommend this cabin to anyone. Everything was in great condition ,and clean. It had all the amenities you could've asked for. The area is peaceful, and the neighbors were friendly. The side of the cabin has a great view over looking other mountains. Even at this time of the year we were able to go tubing ,and skiing at nearby places.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Don't have to look anywhere else......

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

If your looking for a beautiful spacious cabin, great location, awesome views and nice neighbors, you'll find it here. Everything was perfect. Our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer. Looking forward to coming back next year!!!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Mountain Stay

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

Enjoyed this beautiful mountain chalet while attending the John Campbell and William Holland schools for a week. Campbell is just a 10 min drive away. Wonderful gated neighborhood. If I were going to buy, this would be the neighborhood. Loved the views. Loved the open loft and the rest of the layout of the house. Very well built. Appreciated the garage and paved roads. Didn't care for the way the fireplace worked. Since it tries to keep the temp constant, it kept going on and off when we would have liked for it to stay on until we turned it off but I'm sure this is also a safety feature. Would definitely stay again. Cabin was quite clean (need to check small lower cabinet next to fridge for attention).

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The fireplace does go off by thermostat, by turning it all the way up it usually stays on for quite a while (I usually have to turn it down because it gets quite warm). Turning on the stand up fan by the fireplace helps circulate the air so it is not so hot close to the thermostat again keeping the flames on longer. I will have housekeeping check out that cabinet. Didn't really think people used that tiny space!
Thank you for choosing Mountain Serenity and taking the time to write a review. Heidi

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Serenity is the best one word description for this cabin

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 40th Wedding Anniversary here and it was delightful! The peace and quiet was wonderful. The cabin was plenty roomy and immaculately clean. The decor is just beautiful, very cozy and comfortable. The furnishings are quite appropriate for the surroundings. We absolutely loved the time we spent there and look forward to visiting again soon. Thank you Heidi and Bill for sharing your piece of heaven with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Love this house . . .

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

This was our third stay at Mountain Serenity and, as always, we loved being there. The environment is so very peaceful and makes relaxing automatic. It is close to the Folk School so I was able to get back and forth to my class with no problem. The deck is wonderful. It is just the place to sit with my husband and enjoy the late afternoon and evening. We saw rabbits and deer and many squirrels. The house is always clean and everything we need is there. I would highly recommend this house to all.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great views, close to folk school, issues related to cleaning

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

The deck has great views. The house is good and comfortable. The upstairs bedroom/loft does not have privacy. It is 10-15 minutes from the folk school. We had a little nasty surprise. We were charged additional cleaning fee on top of the included cleaning fee for a spot in the fridge, dirty dished in the sink, and a empty plastic nuts jar next to the trash can. I did not read the rental agreement and having lived in other cabins in Brasstown, I was not expecting to clean the kitchen (clean all dishes, etc.) upon departure. What is the cleaning fee for? At the least, make it obvious the check out procedures. We just rented another place in Boone this past weekend. They had a very clear checkout procedures on an envelope with clear directions. So while its our fault that we didn't read the fine print, I also think its too much to be charged almost the same amount as the original cleaning fee for the few dirty dishes, trash left in the trash can, spot in the fridge. We are very conscientious people, and meticulous. We have our own residence and rental property as well. Its unfortunate that the so called cleaning fee is not for cleaning everything. If you are a family with kids and plan to cook, expect to clean the kitchen before you head out. Oh and I was told by the owner that this is a standard practice in NC! I wonder why the other cabin in B&B doesn't charge extra. Maybe they are just too nice.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfection!!

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We highly recommend Mountain Serenity to anyone wanting to escape to the mountains. Home is very spacious, comfortable and has everything you need. The mountan view is beautiful.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Shannon

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful mountain retreat while he attended the John C. Campbell Folk Art School. The school is conveniently located a short drive away.
The cabin was spotless. If I had not read the other reviews I might have assumed we were the first ones to stay there. It even smelled new. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed. The wrap-around deck, comfortable deck furniture and fabulous wooded views made for some nice lazy afternoons. I walk every day and loved exploring the secluded, mountain roads.
I spent one afternoon walking around the small, neighboring town of Murphy. There's a nice coffee shop there with live music in the evening. The locals recommended the downtown bakery for pizza and it was very good. I also found some gift shops with local crafts from the Campbell School. The Campbell School arts and crafts store, located on campus, is also filled with amazing treasures.
We did not have cell phone service in the house but the owners have a land line and we were able to call family members with our contact information so it wasn't a problem.
If we are ever in this area again, this cabin would be my first choice of places to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome place to stay

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

This was our 2nd time staying at Bill and Heidi's place. We love the area so much we bought the house up the road! Thanks Heidi for all your help!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

The place is wonderful. We stayed at the cabin in July while attending the John Campbell Folk Art School and it was perfect. The neighborhood was great and the neighbors very nice. We wanted to stay longer just to enjoy the views and the peaceful surrondings.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The best deal out there!

Review submitted: September 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

I have stayed at this house twice and have a reservation for a third trip in October. The owners are very nice and the house has absolutely everything that I could ask for in a rental. It really feels like home when you stay there. The garage is a fantastic plus for me (I have a roadster that has no roof). The neighborhood is easy to find and the roads are all paved. There is a nice view from the deck which I enjoy while I eat breakfast on the deck. I am not sure when the house was built, but it seems like it is basically brand new. Very clean, and in excellent, like new condition throughout. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

cant get better

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 12, 2010

great location-easy to find-close to town-great views- and motorcycle roads. Garage a big plus if you bring a motorcycle. Most of all, the owners go out of their way to make your stay a "good one' Cant wait to go back-which I hope is really soon

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review