reviews for: listing #42329 - Big Bear Lake, California House rental

A Kids Paradise near the Snow and Big Bear Lake
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Moonridge
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Best Big Bear Cabin & Trip to Date!

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

We have been visiting Big Bear with 2 other families the past 6 years. Always searching for that "perfect cabin". Well, our search is over...we found our cabin!!! Paradise Pines Lodge is AMAZING!!!! Big bedrooms (each couple got their own room). The only 2 girls in the house ages 11 were so excited to get their own bedroom as well. The 5 boys were able to sleep in the double bunk beds room. The kitchen has everything you need. Large den to sit by the fire and watch tv or read. Separate laundry room, HUGE play room / game upstairs where the kids can be kids and have fun (barely saw the kids while inside...)! Nice relaxing hot tub. Big yard to play in the snow, run around and build snowmen! Walk across the street to the National Forest for sledding..super fun! Easy access to grocery stores, ski slopes, ski rental, town, etc... The icing on the cake was the 18" of snow we had. Would highly recommend this cabin for your stay in Big Bear!!!! Ron and Brad "SDSU Buds" are so organized, super friendly, accommodating and very professional home owners! PARADISE PINES LODGE is the place to stay!!!!! Thanks for such a memorable vacation...best trip to Big Bear yet!!! We will be back next February for sure!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect place for our Company retreat

Review submitted: March 16, 2014   Date of arrival: March 12, 2014

I needed a big space in a great location and i struck gold with this place. We had a 2 day retreat for my company and we needed plenty of beds, a comfortable place to meet, a place to wind down and have some fun at breaks and a place that was in a good location/close to the village. Well we struck gold on all accounts. Not only did everything come together, but it was a pleasure working with one of the owners, Ron. He was very responsive and took great care of us. THis may become an annual tradition for us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family memories

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

We have been staying at Paradise Pines for about 7 years and it is always a wonderfull family reunion. Every year the kids and grand kids look forward to our annual trip. Right across the street is the national forest where we go hiking and slide down the mountain.
We'll be there again next winter.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Three generations and tons of fun!

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

Our family had a wonderful winter vacation at the cozy Paradise Pines Lodge. The cabin was spacious and contained all of the amenities we needed to have an enjoyable time. The game room and Jacuzzi were a big hit with the kids and they really enjoyed feeding the blue jays on the front porch every morning. We would definitely choose to stay at your cabin the next time we visit Big Bear.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

New Years 2014

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

I chose this home based on the needs of the (3) families that stayed at the home. It was perfect logistically for our needs - the home met our expectations above and beyond. It was clean, had everything we needed, was so close to everything (within 3 min to the slopes, grocery store, etc). I have no doubt that should we make another trip to Big Bear with a group that this place will top the list. We had (5) kids total - the kids room was perfect for them as well as the game room upstairs. It was big for (3) families to get the privacy they need yet still be able to oversee the kids as needed. I think the title says it all "Kids Paradise" yet it was still nice enough for the parents/adults. Thank you for everything. We had a great trip.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Giving thanks for our Thanksgiving in Big Bear (family of 18)!!

Review submitted: December 14, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2013

Talk about making family memories! My husband and I splurged and took the entire family up to Big Bear for Thanksgiving weekend. Who knew turkey tastes even better in the mountains. We had a ball-no snow but lots of Pictionary, charades and cards. The cabin was wonderful. With a couple of portacribs, all 18 of us were very comfortable. We loved the hikes in the Nat'l Forest across the street (loved the Christmas Tree there) and warming up in the hot tub. The game room kept the grandchildren very happy.

The owners are proud of their lovely cabin and are so helpful. Brad called to check up on us while we were there. Our deposit was returned quickly. We would certainly rent from them again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Annual Labor Day fun

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

This was my 2nd year spending Labor Day weekend at Paradise Pines. I bring 3 of my young nieces and share the cabin with 10 other adults. The cabin is so awesome. The location across from the hiking trail is perfect. I love the layout and feel very much at home there. Working with Ron and Brad is the best. They are both so kind and attentive. Even calling and offering additional suggestions of things and places to try and experience while up in Big Bear. It's got whatever you could need. We all are already looking forward to our next trip up! Love to do a Winter wonderland visit to experience this Paradise with snow and maybe even use the fireplaces!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Family(18 of us) Loved our Stay

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

This cabin is one that is made for casualness and comfort. Over the years our family has stayed in many cabins in the Big Bear area and this one turned out to be one of the most comfortable for our family that we have had. The closeness to the North Shore boat landing was one of the things that made it nice for us as we had watercraft with us. There is plenty of parking available in the area and since the cabin borders the Nat'l Forest, there is practically no traffic on the street. All in all, a very enjoyable stay and the owners are great to deal with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This place is fantastic!!!

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

I brought a group of 15 to this cabin and it surpassed all of my expectations! I knew it would be beautiful, but I was amazed with how comfortable and spacious it was. There are two living spaces, both with fireplaces. The kitchen is huge and there was plenty of space for everyone to sleep. This is a relaxing and beautiful cabin for rent. Brad even checked in during our stay to make sure we had everything we needed.
Some of us on this trip are already planning our next trip to stay in this home. We highly recommend it!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Place

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

Best Cabin I ever been. Great location and lots of spaces. I do not think any other Cabin come close to this one.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Couldn't be better!!!!!

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

We just returned from a 4 nights ski trip and we were lucky enough to find this great place to stay. We all had an amazing time and were impressed once we walked into this cabin. Perfectly decorated, equiped and CLEAN. We loved the game room and jacuzzi. Close to the ski slopes and village. Gorgeous view. We stay in Big bear at least once a year and will definitely go back. We couldn't ask for more!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Cabin! Highly Recommended

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

The cabin was amazing! Big Rooms, Large family room and dining area, great game room! The owners were very friendly. I highly recommend this cabin for groups of friends or family. I will definitely consider this cabin for my future trips.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thank you for the memories

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

You're dealing with honest, family oriented, responsible people who take a GREAT
deal of Pride of Ownership in their Cabin.
Our group of eighteen had an amazing time at this cabin
The gaming area was a hit for our group and kept us busy most of time :) Great location, great neighbors...and we were able to focus on the fun.
Everything was perfect and we are thinking about doing it again next year.
Thank you again for making this trip wonderful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

We were a group of young people and this cabin made our vacation memorable and i would love to go back to this place and would definitely recommmend it to families with kids or group of young people.
The owners were very helpful and nice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

We were a group of young people and this cabin made our vacation memorable and i would love to go back to this place and would definitely recommmend it to families with kids or group of young people.
The owners were very helpful and nice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Cabin!

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

I would highly recommend this cabin. All ameneties that you could think of especially for young people. Very close to ski resorts, it was an awesome stay and would definetely go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanks!

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

We had a great time!! There were sooo many games to choose from: pool, air hockey, foosball, and board games. The cabin was nice, warm and cozy. The kitchen had everything we needed to make big dinners. Thank you!! Thanks for a great getaway!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place!

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

This Cabin was beautiful and comfortable. The rooms were clean and decorated very nicely. It was such a fun place and so close to both Snow Summit and Bear Mountain.

We are DEFINITELY going back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas 2012

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

We stayed at Paradise Pines Lodge for 4 nights and we had an amazing time! Brad and Ron were both extremely nice, helpful, and responsive for all of our needs. Their home was so comfortable and welcoming. We skied and snowboard during the day and enjoyed playing pool and, Foosball, and air hockey during our night time. I would def recommend their cabin to anyone. It has everything! Thanks again Ron and Brad for sharing your home with me and my friends. Your cabin made our Christmas 2012 memorable

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Columbus Day

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

We absolutely loved this place. My family, along with 3 others, traveled up on Saturday afternoon after we all finished up soccer games. This was my families first trip there. The cabin was perfect for us and the kids. We all were able to just hang out and want for nothing. We will definitely be back and spend more time up there. Thanks for some awesome memories!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beyond expectations!

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

Thanks so much Brad and Ron. You are right, Paradise Pines Lodge is a very special place. Upon arrival it was immaculate! My nieces were so excited to see the huge stuffed animals on the beds with each corner we turned and door we opened as we explored we were more and more impressed.
We had 11 adults and 3 kids and everyone couldn't believe what I find. I was certainly the hero of the Labor Day weekend! I owe it to you.
The lodge had EVERYTHING you could possibly want. I look forward to returning soon. Everyone enjoyed the deck, the front yard and the living room, but I think the awesome kitchen and dining area were probably the biggest hits.
Thanks so much for all of your correspondence and helpful hints too. We did enjoy the Sky Lift and the trail just outside the cabin.
Will be talking to you soon about a possible winter trip!

Many blessings
Karen

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We Want to Go Back!

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

We had a great time - this home is better than it looks in the pictures. Great location - quiet, next to the woods, towards the edge of community so there is essentially no through traffic, and corner lot so lots of space all around. Great pine motif throughout (I guess that's why it's called... Paradise Pines) to give it that country cottage feel and yet with all the attention to detail the owners took to furnish and decorate the house that is obvious, makes you feel right at home. It rained on us so we ended up spending a lot of time in the house - but no one complained! House was roomy and comfortable for our 5 family group, with lots of things to do. There was an issue with the hot tub needing service when we arrived but Brad had the spa guy at the house in no time - and it was good to go rest of the way. First time in Big Bear in the summer and Ron gave us great suggestions, we did Jet Skis and boating at the lake, Mountain biking at Snow Summit, and hiking right next to the house. Everyone wants to go back - so now I have action item to plan another trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Terrific!

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

Comfortable, well equipped, clean, spacious, lots of games (air hockey, etc) that the kids enjoyed, and all the other good things other people wrote.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

rxdonald

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

Everything described was as it was promised. The info provided was wonderful and we had a marvelous time! The place was immaculate and everything actually worked. Looking forward to a second stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

This beautiful cabin was the perfect size for our 18 people (families). Adults stayed down stairs sipping wine, champagne, and beer while the kids were upstairs playing pool, foos ball, and air hockey. If you like golf, hop in your car, drive 5 minutes and you're teeing off. I must say, the thought of hitting balls with that spectacular scenery was visually stunning. Walk a few hundred feet out of the front door and you were on a mountain trail for all to enjoy. In the evening, we lounged in the hot tub and bar b qued. It truly was a weekend getaway. We'll be booking again in the future...for sure. Thanks again Brad.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My 50th Birthday

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

Paradise Pines is a magical place. Starting with the warm openess of the cabin, moving to the game room, the jacuzzi and the national forest only steps away. My family had a wonderful time there. We were able to relax and heal after a few very stressful months and at the end of the week we hosted a big family reunion and 50th birthday party. The description and photos were accurate, everything was clean. There was a slight problem with the jacuzzi circuit breakers flipping off, but it was nothing we couldn't fix, once we found the panel. There were no trash cans to store the trash until we took it to the trash collection site and we would have appreciated more deck furniture, but otherwise the entire experience was absolutely amazing! The owners were great in answering all our questions and they were very friendly too. We ate at the Bear Belly Deli twice; it was MUCH better than Subway or Quizno's. We went horse back riding and zip lining while we were there, and Sunday family kareoke at Boo Bear's Den was a blast. I would definitely recommend Paradise Pines Lodge to anyone with a large group.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Favorite

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

I rent houses in Big Bear every summer and winter. We love both seasons up there. This is my favorite rental there. The house is designed perfectly for family's or small groups. It's like 2 seperate living spaces. Upstairs is a family room with game tables, nice balcony, large tv & a small bar along with a couple of bedrooms and bathroom. Downstairs is another living room, nice open kitchen, bedrooms, bathrooms, jacuzzi outside on the patio. Whenever we are lucky enough to get this cabin/house we plan on eating all our meals in it because we don't want to leave once we get there. Oh, and it's very clean and comfy beds and theres a great trail to hike right across the street.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Above the norm

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

We found the home to be very clean, the kitchen large enough for several people to work in. The large
dining table was great for games in the evenings. We found the owner Brad to be very helpful and kind.
The home had many nice touches, not the run of the mill rental. My personal favorite was the pine trees
along the ledge over the living room lit up at night very charming. We are definitely planning to make
this place to stay every year from now on.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Lodge for Family Reunion

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

Paradise Pine Lodge was the perfect place for our family get together to celebrate a patriarch birthday. It easily accommodated 2 toddlers under four, 3 teenagers, and 7 adults. We were never on top of each other and plenty of games to keep all busy. Teens loved the jacuzzi while adults enjoyed the BBQ on the deck. My one recommendation would be a new coffeepot - it took 30 minutes to brew a pot of coffee but that was so minor. We would recommend Paradise Pine Lodge for all to create priceless memories.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It's the number one choice for your family and friends to stay here!

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

We had a wonderful ski trip last Christmas (2011) at Paradise Lodge.
Our 5 families and kids really enjoy the facility, the location is wonderul just a few minutes away from Snow Summit, the living room and family room upstairs perfectly for younger kids and teenages two group to have their entertaining and plus the confortable bed rooms.
We had been spent several times in the past few years in big bear mountain at ski season.
This is the best cabin we can find. Wonderful for adults and kids to enjoy the stay!
It's the best experience ever. I will recommend to all my friends to come and stay here. 10 out of the 10.
I am sure to come back next time. Happy New Year!!
San San

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

CorkyL (San Diego)

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

Ron and Brad,
Your lovely Paradise Pines Lodge was just right for our four generations, gathered from across the country, to enjoy the Christmas Holidays together. We felt right at home in the comfortable setting and fit well in your nice interior arrangement. And our four cars fit well in the driveway, even with the surrounding snowbanks. Your phone call welcoming us after we settled in was much appreciated and we truly appreciate your concern for our comfort. Thanks again for making our stay a memorable one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A "Kids and Adult's paradise"

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

I'm not one for reviews and I've only Yelped once in my life, but this past weekend I just spent in Big Bear was one of the best. For my 40th birthday a bunch of my friends and our children decided to get away for a weekend of snowboarding and winter fun. There is so much to do at Big Bear and we did take full advantage. However there was a large faction that never decided to leave the house and this is where Ron and Brad's place really shined. It was such a great hang out, cook, and chat environment. We gathered a lot in and around the open kitchen while meals were being cooked. Of course I didn't have to partake being I was the birthday boy : ) So not having been involved in much of the food prepping, I spent most of my time in the true gem of the house. The rec room upstairs. We played pool all weekend long while the kids played fooseball and air hockey. I now cannot foresee having a house without one. If I can say one last thing, it would have to be out the owners of this place. Though we never met, I fully trusted that they had our best interests at heart. Always there for any questions or trouble shooting, really pleasant to talk to on the phone, and you can tell they really love their place. We hope to visit again for sure. Oh yeah there's a hot tub, but if you go, don't forget your swim gear like all of us did. Bon Voyage

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Vacation

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2011

Our week long vacation at this absolutely beautiful cabin in Big Bear was so much fun. There were 10 of us and we had a fabulous time. I fell in love with the pictures while looking for a place to stay and the cabin was much more beautiful in person. The area was so peaceful and we would sit and watch the blue birds, squirrels, and bunnies for hours. There was so much to do, the zoo, alpine slide, lake and so much more. The kids were kept occupied all the time. The cabin was very clean and felt like home. I would highly recommend this place to family and friends. If we ever have a cabin getaway, I would want it to look just like this. It was in an ideal spot.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We were impressed, what a vacation...

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

We just returned from a 3-night stay at Paradise Pines Lodge. I can't say enough about the location, and quality. It was so comfortable, beautiful and nothing about this place was a negative. The home had everything we needed. It is minutes from town yet so relaxing. We will definitely stay here again. The owner Brad was awesome, very helpful and just a phone call away, if we needed anything. Of course we did not need to call him since this home has everything one would need to enjoy a vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Home

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

This house is phenomenal. There is enough room to both fit a large group, and still feel you have some privacy. The kitchen is fully stocked, so cooking family style meals is easy, and the house is comfortable enough, that some of our group never even made it out to skiing. The hot tub, also spectacular. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 16, 2011

We just returned from our thrid stay at Paradise Pines and it was the best yet! This is the perfect place for our three families to get together for some quality family time in the lovely town of Big Bear. The Cabin is nestled high in the woods and we were so happy this year to get tons of fresh snow! The front yard is great for playing in the snow and when we were ready to do some serious sledding, we just walked across the street to the wilderness park. We were an easy drive to a day at Snow Summit ski resort. And coming home to a warm jacuzzi was the perfect end to that day!
Most of the time we just enjoyed relaxing in the spacious house by the fire and watching movies, playing games, eating home cooked meals in the great kitchen, etc. We never wanted to leave!
Thank you so much for sharing your awesome mountain home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas at Paradise Pines

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

Thanks again Ron & Brad for the phenomenal accommodations!

We've now had the pleasure of staying at Paradise Pines 3 times; each time, on Christmas with our family. My parents come all the way from Clearwater Florida to enjoy Christmas in Big Bear at Paradise Pines. It's an extraordinary experience! Having 2 sets of grandparents, an aunt, an uncle and the 3 in our family, the spacious cabin gives everyone the privacy they need, yet we're all together to enjoy Christmas. The ladies enjoy the spacious & well equipped kitchen while the men enjoy the big screen TV, pool table & bar upstairs! Our 10 year old daughter makes sure the bar is well stocked with snacks and drinks for everyone...she even has a tip jar! She also enjoys sledding across the street in the forest & we all enjoy taking hikes in the fresh powder snow!
This Christmas, it snowed on Christmas night which was the perfect end to our Christmas day! The next day, we enjoyed a hike across the street, in the woods, & then drove down to Big Bear Village to enjoy some shopping & family time together. Everything was absolutely gorgeous with the fresh blanket of snow!


Thanks again, Ron & Brad for all your hospitality & generosity! We hope to return again, soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Winter Paradise

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

We had such a fabulous time at Paradise Pines. We plan an annual trip with friends and this is the house for us. It has all the amenities for kids and grown-ups too! And everything is in great working condition too! The house is spacious with 5 bedrooms and the bonus room has so many wonderful treats as they list. The spa was perfect after a day of sleding... right across the street at the National Park! The scenery is amazing. We've stayed at many other locations and have fallen in love with this home. We loved it so much we plan on only staying here every time we come!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

We reserved Paradise Pines Lodge for the week between Christmas and New Years. Unfortunately we needed to cancel our reservation at the 11th hour due to family emergency. Ron and Brad immediately took charge of this issue, finding others to fill the vacancy we created. They then refunded my $$ in an amount which far exceeded my expectations. Bottom-line, they showed excellent customer orientation, and demonstrated outstanding ethical character. A pleasure to deal with.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 24, 2009   Date of arrival: February 24, 2009

What a pleasantly surprise place to stay for the weekend. Generous space, completely equiped and well kept. The squirrels and birds in the morning sure added to our children's memories. The park across the street is a great bonus. Our children are still talking about how much fun they had at the cabin and hoping to be able to return to the same cabin soon. Ron, you are 1st class - Thank you for sharing your home. Christine and family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 20, 2009   Date of arrival: January 20, 2009

We rented "A Kids Paradise" over New Years and it
worked out splendidly. We shared the house with
my extended family - we're four families with 7
kids under 10 for a total of 15 people - and it
worked out perfectly. The ample space and layout
was perfect for our kids, as they either played
upstairs out of sight, in the back bedrooms and
around us in the great room downstairs. My
newborn niece was even able to rest quietly in the
back master undisturbed. We made good use of
the upstairs game room and television as the kids
kept themselves entertained. The house was well
equipped, and the kitchen lent itself easily to
prepare all of our family meals. There's plenty of
parking as well; we were able to park our SUV,
minvan and two cars off street even with the snow.

The location is superb, right up against the woods
with sledding and hiking galore. This was our kids'
first snow experience, and we couldn't have picked
a better place for it. We sledded about 100 yards
into the woods and built snowmen in the front
yard. And we were conveniently located to town as
well, minutes from stores and downtown even with
the snow and ice.

The owners were accommodating, easy to get a
hold of and work with as well. Ron, Brad, thank you
for renting us your home! Our kids are still talking
about their Big Bear trip and we'd love to rent from
you again in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 2, 2008   Date of arrival: December 2, 2008

Ron, Brad & Families: Just a note to say thanks for a wonderful Thanksgiving at Paradise Pines. To start with, your mountain home is beautiful and if you could have seen the looks on our grandchildren's faces on Thursday when we woke up to a snow-covered morning, you would know why I am thanking you. Squirrels on the porch, rabbits nibling on a small area of grass not covered by snow under a pine tree-the kids were in heaven. We took a hike in the forest across the street and found a great hill for the kide to slide down with our sled. They made two snowmen in the front yard and every famly that walked by stopped to admire them. I'm sure you get the picture-the kids had the time of their lives and so did the adults. These are the times in our lives that really matter. Our family had the best Thanksgiving ever. Thanks, we'll be back. The Manzers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 10, 2008   Date of arrival: November 10, 2008

My wife, son and I decided a week in Big Bear was needed. We searched high and low for a great property and owner to utilize. From the very beginning of my dealings with Paradise Pines Lodge and the owner, I can say this is a 100% class act. Ron answered my initial request for information within an hour. Every other correspondence was answered as quickly. From the initial information to the contract, everything was as advertised and above board.We couldn’t have been happier with the home when we arrived. It was extremely clean, well appointed and obviously done right. All of the details were meticulously taken care of down to the teddy bears on the bedding. The biggest surprise was how well the kitchen was stocked with plates, pots/pans, utensils and the like. I have stayed in many rental homes and couldn’t believe how well the PPL owners took care of everything in the kitchen.We were sad that our week came to an end and cannot wait to spend more time up at this cabin. It was a great location, a wonderful cabin, and easy to work with owners. Thank you PPL owners, and we look forward to another wonderful vacation up there soon. Jon, Kelley and EliNovember 2008

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 8, 2008   Date of arrival: August 8, 2008

This cabin was great for our extended family to gather - 4 individual families - lots of space and games and fun! Worked so well for us to have one large home while still having privacy. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 8, 2008   Date of arrival: July 8, 2008

Paradise Pines Lodge is wonderful! It was much more than what we had expected. Our large group of 15 were accomodated very well and the kids had a blast in the jacuzzi and the game room. The owner, Ron, is very easy to work with and our deposit was returned very promptly. We will be returning for the winter ski season!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 3, 2007   Date of arrival: October 3, 2007

Wow....what a great place to stay in beautiful Big Bear. Paradise Pines had everything we could have asked for. The grandkids had a great "bunk room" and they enjoyed playing pool and air hockey. We especially enjoyed the hot tub and cooking in the well equipped kitchen, and lounging on the upstairs deck amongst the towering pines. The overall layout of the cabin gave us all of the space and privacy we needed. The location is great as well...just a short drive into town yet secluded up in the forest. We will be back again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 1, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

This is an awesome cabin that is very kid (and adult) friendly! It is very spacious and accomodated 6 adults and 6 kids (7 and under) very comfortably. The kids loved the bunkbeds in their own private rooms. The kitchen is well stocked with all the essentials needed to make dine-in meals. The living area has a very cozy and rustic fireplace that is nice to warm up to. There is no shortage of things to do in this cabin - the pool table, air hockey table, darts, basketball hoop, jacuzzi, and big screen TV entertained the kids for hours. The cabin's decor is rustic and cozy - just what you would expect from a mountain retreat. I would definitly recommend renting this cabin - you'll be happy you did!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 29, 2007   Date of arrival: August 29, 2007

Just wanted to let you know that we had a wonderful time at Paradise Pines this past weekend. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to share your beautiful cabin. The cabin is spacious and fully stocked with all the amenities. Weather was unpredictable...rained and thundered off and on. But, we didn't let that interfere with our trip. Fishing was decent at Big Bear Lake. Not wide open like the Spring or Fall months, but steady enough to keep the kids happy. We loved the hiking trail across the street. We took an enjoyable long hike through the forest. The kids loved the animals that inhabit the surrounding wilderness. They saw squirrels, Blue Jays, Woodpeckers, chipmunks, rabbits, and even a small coyote. And yes, we brought lots of peanuts for the animals. We hope to share your cabin again in the future.

Dean, California

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 24, 2007   Date of arrival: April 24, 2007

We had an awesome weekend! The kids roamed the
huge cabin, played air hockey, pool and chased
squirrels. Dad & I lounged on the many decks and
soaked in the hot tub. The cabin has a welcome home
feeling, great art and decor. See ya in the summer
time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 23, 2007   Date of arrival: April 23, 2007

This cabin rocks! My kids had fun roaming around
this spacious and comfortable cabin, equipped with a
pool table, air hockey and board games. Dad & I had
fun lounging on the many decks and relaxing in the
hot tub. There is lots of room for everyone, even
Grandpa! We will be back in the summer... love the
Art and woodsy decor. Five star cabin*****

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review