reviews for: listing #42365 - Lake Wallenpaupack, Pennsylvania House rental

Lakefront Chalet-BEST SUNSETS ON LAKE - Seasonal Dock
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sunset Point
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $350 /nt
    $1,000 - $2,175 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful sunset!

Review submitted: January 11, 2014   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

Convenient location. Very clean and we'll maintained. Owner very easy to work with.

Owners response: Given the circumstances regarding this renter’s experience at our chalet, I feel they are being generous to provide this review and the 3 stars! Based upon my listing, the renter expected there to be a dock in the water during the mid Nov booking. I should have explained that ALL docks on Lake Wallenpaupack are required to come out of the water by mid/late October. The renter emailed me that they were disappointed and I offered a partial refund. I’ve since made tried to make it clear on our rental agreements and on our web listings that the dock is seasonal. The dock goes in mid May and comes out mid October. On top of this, on the second day of their stay, there was a water main break in our community and the water company shut off water to all of the 90 houses in our association for several days. With no water, our guests decided to leave and I probably would have done the same! I immediately let them know that I would refund their entire payment and offered to discount the rate if they return.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place for a chill weekend or more

Review submitted: January 1, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

This place was very cute and right on the lake. The views were especially amazing. The owner helped us find our way and even met us. He was very nice. The place was clean and everything was just as we thought it would be, perfect.
Thank you for a great end of the year vacation. The kids thank you also.

Owners response: Thanks John,
It was a pleasure meeting you and your family and I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the kids were entertained as well. You certainly had a chance to experience our Winter Wonderland, watching the snow sweep across the lake with the fireplace crackling inside. Hope to see you folks again in the summer, which is a totally different experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

What a wonderful place. We were very excited for our trip from pics, past reviews and the video David sent me of the chalet. A week before we were headed out we noticed a bad review online. I wasn't so concerned as there were nothing but great reviews. And believe the great reviews. This place was beautiful and had no hint of mold previous review spoke of. The owner David was a pleasure to deal with and communicated great through the entire process. We will be back in the summertime. Thanks for a great time!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for coming up and for the nice review. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope you are able to return in the summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy place

Review submitted: October 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

My wife and I had a great time at the chalet. The owner David was quick to reply to all our questions and was easy to work with. The view of the lake from the deck and inside the house are amazing. Great sunsets. The house was nice and clean inside. We slept in the loft and to go to sleep and wake up to the view of the lake through the large windows was so nice. Excellent place to relax. There are a few good restaurants very close to the house. some within walking distance. I would recommend this property to a friend. We would definitely go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for coming up and thank you for your review! I hope we get the chance to see you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing view of lake.

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

The owner Dave was very accommodating. He made us feel like we were home. The views from the home and deck where breathless. We felt at home in the chalet. We would rent again. We couldn't of asked for a better time. The private dock was perfect for us and jet ski. You are able to walk right up to home.
Thank you Dave for all you did.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review and thanks again for coming up to the chalet! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay and scenery. Amazing view

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

The owners where very accommodating. The chalet was all and more. We couldn't of asked for a better view. The private dock allowed us to pull our jet ski up and enjoy the ease of going up to home when we wanted.
Dave was always available and helpful.
The home was clean and roomy.
Would rent again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another Great Girls' Weekend at the Chalet

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

My friends and I returned to the Comora chalet for a girl’s weekend. Last year we did a weekend stay at the chalet in January. The house provided a warm cozy setting, we took advantage of the fireplace and enjoyed the fact that there was no one around to interrupt our mini reunion. It was a great place to relax and get reacquainted and only about 1 ½ hours from where we live in Northern NJ, so we decided to return. This year, we chose to visit in September and we were able to enjoy the grounds, fire pit and even catch some rays on the dock. We also make a trip the Triple W stables a few miles away for a trail ride. Staying at the chalet in September is an entirely different experience than in the winter. We spent as much time outside as we did inside. We also took some spectacular sunset photos which we shared with our jealous family members.
We’ve found the chalet to be a lovely location to relax. The house is in a private setting, yet it’s within walking distance to 2 restaurants and only a short drive to other restaurants, grocery store and great antiquing. The owners, David and Mary, are gracious hosts and have gone above and beyond to make sure we enjoy our visits.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Moldy cabin, stay away

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

As we opened the door to cabin the smell of mold and mildew was overpowering. My wife had a severe asthma attack, and chose to sleep in the car. We left the next morning, it was unusable. Owner promised a refund, but has not refunded our $ and is ignoring several email attempts. The location was beautiful if it wasnt a health hazard. I would not recommend this site until major changes happen.

Owners response: I would suggest that any potential renters take a look at our other reviews before making a decision on our chalet, as this guest's review misrepresents the truth regarding the full and prompt refund I offered and provided. It’s unfortunate that this guest did not enjoy her stay. However, I believe she would have had a similar experience at most of the lakefront houses in the area, given her admitted hypersensitive to allergens.
This tenant checked in on Friday evening and called me on Saturday morning complaining about mold and mildew. In the 5 years we have rented our chalet, we have never had a similar complaint, but I do take any complaints seriously. We keep our houses pet free to try to provide an environment that has limited exposure to the most common allergic triggers, as 2 of my own children have asthma. That being said, all of the lakefront houses have a higher degree of humidity and moisture. We run a dehumidifier in the basement to help compensate this for this. However, there are allergy triggers, like a working fireplace, and we are in the woods, with Oak trees, which is a trigger for me in the spring.
Upon hearing that this tenant was unhappy, I immediately offered her the opportunity to move next door to our cabin, which was available. I felt that the cabin would be a better location as it does not have a basement, as it is set on piers, so there is a free flow of air below it. The cabin also has electric heat, so there is no duct work. To my surprise, the tenant said they thought it was even worse than the chalet. After some discussion, the tenant revealed that they were hyper sensitive to mold and mildew, which leads me to believe that they would be hard pressed to find an acceptable lakefront accommodation on Lake Wallenpauapack.
I felt terrible that they had an uncomfortable stay and offered to fully refund their rental and cleaning fee, which they gratefully accepted. A full refund was processed on the Wednesday after their stay. To my surprise, this review was posted the day after I received an email from the tenant thanking me for the refund. The tenant indicated that they'd update the review to acknowledge that they have received the refund. I’m hoping that transpires, but at this point the review misrepresents the truth.
For anyone considering a stay at the chalet, I’d be happy to provide a list of references, as the reviews posted on this site can be misleading in either direction.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great place!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

10 year high school re-union with a few guys. Great spot on the lake with amazing views from every part of the backyard. Fishing out on the dock, sitting around the bonfire, bbq'ing. Couldn't of had found a better spot to just relax. Walking distance to the Boat House which had great food and fun

Will be sure to rent this place again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed the chalet!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Early Spring Getaway!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Chalet. It was a perfect spot for the 2 of us to enjoy time together. It was chilly out, the lake still somewhat frozen, but the weather indoors was great. This is just what we wanted. One thing I would like to mention is it would be helpful to have better directions from Rt. 84 to the Chalet. Also important info such as Urgent care, dr's, ambulance service, and the such would be helpful. I would recommend this sehluded spot to others looking for a quiet getaway. Will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

cozy winter stay!

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

We enjoyed 4 days at this very nice chalet! Since it was snowing when we got there, things were a little confusing to find (snow covered the signs). The owner had a great plow guy who came and made sure we were able to get in and out. We went skiing locally and our kids learned to snowboard. The Boathouse Restaurant was a fun walk when we just didn't want to deal with driving in the snow. It was incredibly windy during our stay, but we were cozy inside.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

gorgeous views

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

The lake is beautiful and the view from the chalet dramatic. It was a little warm in the loft bedroom; found the AC up there difficult to use. The chalet is well equipped and nicely decorated. The biggest drawback was the access to the lakefront. There are very steep wooden stairs ending in loose rocks which I found very tricky to negotiate. Not the best set up for small children or the elderly. Otherwise a nice place to stay, and we loved the area. Gresham's Chop House was our favorite restaurant...people so nice, food excellent.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks again for your rental, glad you enjoyed the stay. Actually, I received a call the day after you checked out, from the next rental party, that the floor was wet around the AC unit. Apparently the condenser went bad and was leaking. I wound up installing a new unit the next day. Sorry for any inconvenience. Yes, renters should be aware that there are about two flights of stairs down to the lake, the plus side is that you get spectacular views and that feeling that you are hovering over the lake. The downside is you get a workout. For anyone looking for a more gentle slope, our cabin next door (#42366) provides a gentle slope and then a single flight or stairs to the lake level.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Lakefront Retreat!

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

What a great place to spend some lakefront R&R. The views are spectacular from anywhere within the chalet as well as the deck, sunroom and anywhere on the property. We spent little time in the kitchen, instead we cooked, ate and relaxed with the morning coffee and evening cocktails on the deck that offered the perfect place to start the day, or relax after our busy excursion on the lake. The lakefront fire ring was the perfect place to reflect, offering a warm cozy end to each day as well as some great star gazing. We enjoyed fishing, swimming and tubing from the property's dock, although would reccommend bringing along a bit of thin rope so you can tie your tube off on the dock so that you can drift lazily and not worry about the current carrying you away. The lower half of stairs to the dock seem to be recently renewed, but need to be cautious on the upperhalf on way to the fire ring where some of the steps have rotted out. Spent half a day renting a pontoon boat from Pocono Action Rentals - had a fantastic day touring the lake and towing the younger gens on a tube, their rentals were very nice, but the refueling at the dock afterward was a bit chaotic. It seems all the rental places in the area require that you refuel afterward, so it was convienent to rent and refuel at the same place - some places don't have gas at their dock, so need to stop and refuel somewhere else in order to return with a full tank. Boat House restaurant less than 1/4 mile away - friendly service, good food, reasonably priced. IGA foodmarket just a few miles north was convienent. Great sunset views from the deck, or can venture just a couple of miles north to the power company dike where many gather on the park benches to watch the sunset. Public beach at visitors center just north of dike, can swim and fish. We all had a great time and would love to return in the future to this easy to find oasis that is just a short drive off the beaten path......

Owners response: Julie,
Thanks for the review and for pointing out the issue with the steps. I've replaced 3 of the railroad tie steps since you posted this review and have one more to replace next week. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and it sounds like you really took advantage of the amenities on the property and nearby. I love your idea of the tying the tubes to the dock with a string. I can't believe I hadn't thought of that! Thanks again for your rental!
David

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice location

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

It was very nice. Great sunset views. It was windy by the lakeshore, wonder if it is always like that. Great firepit outside. Would definately rent it again. Upstairs loft got hotter than the rest of the house. Clean, no surprises. grocery nearby, wine, beer store near as well. Slept 6 comfortably. Owner even dropped off some extra TP for the weekend.

Owners response: Thanks for your rental. Yes, when a weather front moves in, it can get windy, as we are on one of the widest sections of the lake... its about a mile and a half across. Since its an "A Frame" style home with lots of glass that overlooks the lake, upstairs is usually warmer than downstairs. Hopefully you found the AC unit upstairs and the exhaust fan as well as the ceiling fan. They usually do a good job of keeping that space cool. The ceiling fan does a nice job of moving the heat down in the winter. Hope to see you again soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Stay, Returning for Third Summer

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We have stayed at the Comora chalet for two summers and we plan to come back as long as we can. From the moment you park your car in the private driveway and walk around the chalet to the deck, you leave the cares of the busy world behind you and suddenly find yourself in a resort area that rivals that of Lake Tahoe or Lake George. My husband and I felt completely relaxed for the week. The weather was mostly awesome, the sun glistening on the lake during the day, the moon reflecting on the water at night. From our loft bedroom, we took in the romantic views of the lake through the huge glass windows. Even the storm we witnessed one afternoon was dramatically beautiful, as we watched the clouds and rain sweep across the lake, in the safety and comfort of the chalet.
The house is decorated in a woodsy style in browns and green earth tone colors. There is cable tv and wireless internet, to keep us in touch with civilization. There is one bedroom that has two twin beds and one with a full size bed, both in the back of the house say they stayed cool during the summer days. Fortunately, the loft area has a big air conditioning unit and exhaust fan, to cool the house down on hot days. The kitchen is modern with a 4 plate stove and oven, refrigerator and dishwasher, so we were able to cook in. But we were also close enough to either walk or take our boat to the nearby restaurants.
We kept our 21 foot boat on the dock and also found ourselves relaxing on the dock to catch some rays as the kids swam and floated in tubes. I think next to fishing, my husbands favorite activity was floating in a tube with a beer by his side.
The house is very private, it is in a private association and at the end of a small private driveway. Next door on one side is an empty wooded lot, so you don’t feel boxed in. All in all we’ve thoroughly enjoyed our stays and as I said, we plan to return each summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Veronica,
Its been a pleasure having you and Bob up to the chalet. We've added a couple of improvements this year which I think you'll enjoy... We enclosed the old screened in porch and made it an extra sitting room, surrounded by windows. It really opens up the house and give some great new views of the lake. We also added a new grill on the deck and a larger AC unit upstairs. We're thrilled you're coming back again!

David and Mary

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Spot for a Lakefront Vacation

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

My Husband and I, along with our two boys and my parents spent a wonderful week here in the summer of 2011. I've been meaning to post a review, but life has gotten in the way. From the outset, the owner was very nice and provided great information on the area, and recommended things for us to do with the family. We brought up our 22 foot boat and had no problem launching it nearby and keeping it tied up to the dock. The owner recommended the mooring buoy if things got rough, but we were blessed with good weather all week.

The house is an A frame style building, and it looks out over the like from a good vantage point. From the kitchen, living room and loft, you get spectacular views...especially when the suns setting. My husband and I chose to use the loft bedroom and we woke up to magnificent peaceful views of the lake.

The bathroom is modern and the kitchen has a newer stove/oven and lots of cooking implements, pots, pans, utensils, etc. Although we brought a lot of stuff up, we reallly didn't need to. Our boys slept in one of the bedrooms which had two twin beds and cozy pine decoration. My parents slept in the other bedroom, which had a darker panelled wood which they thought was soothing.

We barbecued on the deck each night, taking in the views of the lake and most nights we lit a campfire on the bluff that over looks the lake. During the day, the boys spent hours jumping off the dock, fishing, floating on tubes and skimming rocks. Really doing everything your supposed to do on a lake vacation.

We plan to return in 2012 and hope to make it a family tradition. The owner told me that they also own the property next door, so we may try to do a family reunion renting both properties.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review