reviews for: listing #42376 - Birch Bay, Washington House rental

Crab Shack Beach Rental
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $80 - $175 /nt
    $560 - $1,050 /wk

sort by:

Great Birch Bay Rental @ the Crab Shack

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

We rented all 3 units for a big family trip. The rentals were all great. The beds were comfortable and the space was clean and tidy. The views were nice. The upstairs deck was back porch were great for enjoying some cocktails and staring into the sky.

We went crabbing and this year is was bountiful. We were able to pull our boat into the slough and tie off in the back yard if we coordinated it properly with the tide. This was great for peace of mind because we didn't have to worry about theft or hauling it out every night.

The owners were awesome and helped us find cheap wood (the street behind the house had kids selling bundles for $2, way better than $10 at most stores) and answer any questions we might have.

We would recommend rental and stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good Value for Money!

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

A good value for the money.
Thank you for the economical accomodations for 6 shopping ladies who wanted more money to spend. We also really appreciated the late Check Out! Thanks Again!
*From Langely, BC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good Value for Money!

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

A good value for the money.
Thank you for the economical accomodations for 6 shopping ladies who wanted more money to spend. We also really appreciated the late Check Out! Thanks Again!
*From Langely, BC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Clean, Cozy...Close to Beach & Ice Cream!

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

The Crab Shack was clean & cozy & suited our needs. Close to the beach / Ice Cream and thats cool!
*From California

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Beach & Ice Cream @ The C Shop!

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2011

We ha a great time at the Crabby Shack! Our son loved the beach and bubble gum ice cream from the C SHop. We look forward to coming back!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place to Spend with Family!

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We came with our two children and we all had a very nice time. Great place to spend time with family! Walked along the beach each day, eat outside each day and campfire every night. Good Family Fun!
*From Maple Ridge, BC.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved it ...Beach Toys Provided & SUNSET!

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

The place was good. We had fun playing with the toys outside and loved it when we saw the sunset. Thank you for a wonderful time at the Crab Shack.
* From Richmond, BC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Birch Bay is Awesome!

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

Just arrived in Birch Bay and I think its Awesome.
I think Birch Bay is going to be awesome and I think I'm going to have lots of fun!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Such A Nice Time...The Weather, House, Everything!

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

We had such a nice time, the weather was amazing, the house, everything. Your fireplace was so coll and I really liked how many nice people is in this place. I loved waking up and just looked at the sunshine. P.S. It was Nice...Awesome House!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fall 2011

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 14, 2011

This property was not what we expected. The pictures are accurate, however there is no cable, and also no vcr in the master bedroom. There is no tv in the guest bedroom. The mattress was extreamly uncomfortable. The living area was very nice and comfortable and the backyard was very peaceful and nice. However, we were lead to believe that this was a private property, but that is not the case. The light house is a suit directly above the crab shack and every foot step and word the people statying in the light house utter is heard downstairs. Not alot of privacy. I was content with the stay, however I would probably want something more private next time and a little less run down so I would not stay here again.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

I'll be back

Review submitted: March 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

Came for my first visit to Birch Bay and loved it. I picked your place via the internet and was pleasantly surprised to see it just as the photos online portrayed things. It was an excellent value for the money. The back patio and canal make it extra special and it's such an easy walk to the beach.

Off season is an undiscovered pleasure for sure.

Thanks again for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fall 2010

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

A great place for a weekend get a way! Would like to have more light for reading in the livingroom, otherwise very clean, comfortable, & Quiet.

As the wind howled & the rain spattered against the window we were grateful to have a clean, warm dry place to call home while way from home. It was lovely to sit & watch the creek flow by. The birds in formation & the quiet and peaceful atmosphere. All in all - Excellent Value!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fall 2010

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

Had a great time, well worth the price. Loved the patio and bright, clean kitchen!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Labor Day 2010

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2010

Thank you so much for a wonderful time. We had a beautiful and relaxing stay-cation. We spent alot of time down at the beach and in the morning when the tide was out everyone was amazed. My son is two and he was so amazed he just kept saying "The Boats Stuck"! It has been so much fun and thank you again. It was so nice to be able to just walk to the beach and sit outside by the fire.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Labor Day Weekend 2010

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

we came here to visit our kids & grand kids who live in Bellingham. We had a wonderful vacation. First morning we found black sanddollars in the ocean from the beach accessjust to the north of the Crab Shack. The following day we went to the park & found clams & crabs. Have never seen so many. We did eat the crab but was afraid of the clams and red tide. Rented Surreys one day. Certainally alot more work than it looks but was very enjoyable. Had a bonfire every night & of course made s'mores. Spent plenty of time on porch telling stories & many laughs. It was so nice to find a place we could all stay together and catch up. Hope to come back at a time when the weather might be a little warmer. Loved the sunshine & sunsets but 50's were a little to chilly for us midwesterns! Thank you so much for letting us enjoy your Crab Shack.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2010

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

We enjoyed our time in Birch Bay(our first trip here). Appreciated the amenities the Crab Shack offered - the beach toys for the children, the videos, the little touches like shampoo & conditioner, & the firepit where we roasted marshmallows. We found the "Crab Shack" exactly as described on the internet. Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2010

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

Had a great time at the Crab Shack! Loved the location- great proximity to the beach & ice cream. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring 2010

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2010

Very Clean and Cheerful home! Comfortable bed, we slept very well, not always the case.
Loved the sunny Kitchen!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring 2010

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

We had a fantastic time at the Crab Shack! It was a girls weekend filled with geo-caching, walks along the beach, discovering Bellingham and WWU's campus, sips of wine, good food, even better laughs and memories we'll have fun looking back on for several years. We had great weather, too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

"shack" is correct

Review submitted: October 31, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

We were looking forward to staying here with our daughter and my brother and sister-in-law for a weekend of relaxing, shopping, and exploring the beach. This place was so run-down that we would never use it again. Unfinished repairs, a wet rusty hole in the wall next to the shower, knobs falling off the mismatched and wrong-sized kitchen cupboards, cold and drafty windows, faulty heating, etc were what we found. The "extra room" is a closet. The only redeeming feature is the back patio which was beautiful to sit out on when the weather permitted. We had stayed at a different place in Birch Bay a while ago and we will definitely go back there again. This place was more expensive and significantly more run-down.

Owners response: Thank you, we welcome comments to be able to improve and provide outstanding accomodations to future guest.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring 2010

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

We enjoyed our 3 generation family get away. We live in and love the Pacific Northwest; it's always fun to explore new aspects of its beauty. Having the beach toys for our daughter to use on the beach was much appreciated. It's funny how often we would end up buying her new if it weren't for the kindness of others. We loved spending time on the beach. I loved the rocky shores. We were fortunate to experience a bit of a wind storm with lots of window rattling gusts. The beautiful power of nature. With a nice fire to make the night cozy we listened to the wing blow. It was a wonderful way to spend a few days with family. Thank you for making it possible for us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Winter 2010

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

Our stay here was pleasant. We came up here for the Birch Bay area. It was nice to be so close. We also celebrated our third son's 2nd birthday.
Loved that there was beach toys for the kids to play with.
Had a wonderful time!

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Winter 2010

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: February 3, 2010

I loved taking walks on the beach. I also roasted marshmallows in the fireplace. Best place to sleep? The closet w/ the hide- a- way bed.....Sooo comfortable!
Hearing the seagulls all day long is priceless. Thank you

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2009

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2009

Birch Bay is a lovely area. Very friendly people and dogs!
Enjoyed the patio very much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2009

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2009

Thank you so much for being so awesome and allowing all of us join you here at your Crab Shack. I loved every moment here and I am so glad to be a part of your visiting friends and family here @ Birch Bay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2009

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

We had a great time. Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2009

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2009

Golfing was great today! We enjoyed the golf cart. Fresh baked cookies were tasty. Biking to the state park was pleasant.
Refreshing to have no cable TV - Lots of family time!
Cozy beds, fluffy towels and lovely view of the creek. Nice to be in walking distance of the beach. Lovely back deck!
Friendly people and Happy to make new friends.
A fun family holiday, hope to visit again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2009

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 11, 2009

The Crab Shack is a very nice, quaint accomodation place. We enjoyed the peaceful area and closeness to the beach. Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2009

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2009

We are enjoying our visit and will always remember this sharing alot of laughter between the four of us. Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2009

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

Thanks so much for the wonderful accomodations. We had a great time & appreciated your hospitality. You have such a cute little place here and we had everything we needed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2009

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

This was a wonderfully quiet and peaceful place. We loved the patio and water out back- no mosquito's either.

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2009

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

The slough was an added plus. Loved watching the tide go in & out. We made a quick trip to Canada just to say we have been to Vancouver. Love the quiet area. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring 2009

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

We were visiting from Iowa and really enjoyed our stay here. We bought a fishing pole for our granddaughter and she loved fishing off the patio in the canal. We will be back and hope we can stay at the Crab Shack again. Thank so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring 2009

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

We were visiting from Iowa and really enjoyed our stay here. We bought a fishing pole for our granddaughter and she loved fishing off the patio in the canal. We will be back and hope we can stay at the Crab Shack again. Thank so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring 2009

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 11, 2009

Love the area. Quaint cottage- Warm sunshine would have put the icing on the cake.

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring 2009

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

Beautiful area, Very Peaceful Communtiy. Appreciated the Newer Ammenties, Very Cute!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review