reviews for: listing #42380 - Austin, Texas Townhome rental

Wren House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,100 - $1,100 /wk
    $3,400 - $3,400 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful Home, Wonderful Location

Review submitted: March 25, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

This is a beautiful property, located in a peacful and idyllic part of Austin, and yet only a short ride from downtown. Perfect as a place to relax, or a base to explore all that Austin has to offer. The house is well maintained, with excellent facilities, and would suit couples, families or groups of friends. The nearby parks and greenbelt are great places to explore, as is the city itself. We found the owners to be very helpful and friendly, excellent hosts on all accounts.
I would thoroughly recommend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in the Austin area. The house is very comfortable, with beautiful surroundings and good access - perfect in every way.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: When we learned that an English musical group was coming to stay with us, we had trepidations and visions of Johnny Rotten and the Sex Pistols. This group was a delight, respectful of us and our property, and they would be welcome back anytime.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

The Wren House...a home away from home!

Review submitted: November 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

This home exceeded expectations! We felt as though we had just arrived home from day one. It was perfect for two couples. This house works well for handicapped guests as we could park within 5 feet of the front door and there were no stairs unless you wished to go up to the lovely loft and outdoor roof patio.

We loved the area and enjoyed the walks in the parkland and comfortable neighborhood. We also liked it's convenient location to all of our favorite spots in Austin.

The owners well very helpful and provided so much wonderful reading material for activities and dining. They have put their own personal style into the decorating which helped to make it so homey.

Thanks Dorothy and Howard

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Relaxing House in a Great Relaxing Neighborhood

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 14, 2011

Being our first full week stay in Austin, Texas, we were looking for a nice 2+ bedroom house/condo with 2 baths at a reasonable price and in a nice neighborhood. This "Wren House" condo filled the bill perfectly. It had all the amenities of home with 2 large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, large living and dining area, and fully equipped kitchen, all on the first floor. It was completely private, the only adjoining wall to the other condo being in the garage. The owners lived in this other condo and were quite helpful in providing insight into the area. The Barton Creek Greenbelt neighborhood was quite picturesque with rolling hills and greenery all over, and had easily accessible shopping nearby to stock the complete kitchen. There were also two nice patios for outside sitting, including one off the upstairs 3rd bedroom loft with a great view of the area. On our next weekly stay in the area, this house will be our number 1 choice.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Austin - Wren House

Review submitted: October 13, 2009   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

The Wren House (the owner loves birds and has feeders on the patio) is a lovely, fully furnished two bedroom house with a loft. Great location -- within walking distance of Zilker Park and a short drive to downtown and the South Congress strip. The owners were very hospitable and responsive. We couldn't have asked for a better place, and the price was incredibly reasonable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: May 15, 2008   Date of arrival: April 28, 2008

I can't praise this property and the owner enough. At first I was intimidated about spending money on something sight unseen, but upon arrival all fears were relieved! There is no comparison between this and a hotel, ANY hotel or suite. The home was more beautiful and cleaner than any photo can do justice to. The location turned out to be perfect. It seemed everything we wanted to do was either on the main drag it is set off from or one turn away. A snap to SoCo strip and 6th St. strip. We enjoyed the free tour of the capital, the "duck" tour (as seen on Travel Channel) and many fine cafe's and restaurants. My fave was the "Austin Java" on Barton Springs Rd. The live music scene is incredible. The people there really were amazingly noticeably friendlier than most. Even in traffic, four times someone paused to let me turn in front of them. Staying in this beautiful place was like being in a "2nd home". From the squirrels playing on the fabulous two levels of patio/deck, to the HD tv and movies, the modern kitchen and baths, the impeccable beds and linens and the excellent SW decorating, we were sad to leave! We didn't have time to go canoeing, kayaking, or hiking/biking on the nearby trails.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Very Very Enjoyable Stay

Review submitted: April 15, 2008   Date of arrival: March 18, 2008

We stayed for a week, we have no complaints, everything worked out great. It was quiet, convenient to the city, had all the amenities we desired, beautiful condition, great TV and Internet service. Nice to relax in comfort and sometimes do our own cooking after an exhausting day of activities. Hoping its available next time we visit Austin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wren House, Austin TX

Review submitted: February 18, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Great place to stay with family and/or friends while visiting Austin. Property description accurate. Well-eqiupped, comfortable, and well-maintained. Close to downtown and huge park with lots of activities. Beautiful view from balcony. Owners are friendly, helpful, and eager to please. Would definitely recommend this property to friends.
We enjoyed the walking trail, playground, and fountains at nearby park. LBJ Library and IMAX theater are great. Golf and shopping are a must. Don't miss The Salt Lick, Hula Hut and ZTejas restaurants. We didn't use the boat rental because the weather was a bit chilly, but will try next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: These were ideal guests. The communicated well, enjoyed their stay, and respected our home. They would be welcome back anytime.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review