reviews for: listing #42453 - Capistrano Beach, California House rental

*** "Family Beach Home On The Sand" ***
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Beach Road
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $4,200 - $7,600 /wk

sort by:

Cold Canadians

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

We have rented homes and cottages all over the world. Having three children (17, 14 & 5) and travelling with a nanny or grandparents over the years, makes booking Hotel rooms very challenging.

The Beach house was the best equipped home we have stayed in to date. The manager was very responsive to all enquiries and we had no difficulties. All appliances were functional and up to date.

My children were thrilled to be greeted with the equipment to make s'mores in the fire pit. The view from the master suite was breath-taking. There is so much to this rental property I do not have enough space to list all it's attributes. Some highlights for me where the fully stock Krueger, fully stocked bathrooms, complete assortment of beach toys, surf boards, wave boards, plenty of indoor and outdoor seating. Two tranquil fireplaces, very large bedrooms, a very well equipped kitchen. The home even supplied a cooler bag with cooler packs for the parks. We did not lack anything and other than food never needed to venture to a shop.

The home had a book with directions to anything you could ever want. In using this directory we came upon our favourite breakfast location with the best crepes outside of France called "Stacks".

The highlight of this vacation was watching dolphins playing just off the beach while eating breakfast and the pelicans feeding every morning.

My children slept in the back rooms by the train tracks and I never heard any comments about the trains that occasionally past by. The five year old is a very light sleeper usually awaking at the crack of dawn. Not sure if it was the fresh ocean air but my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed sleeping in for the time we were there.

We chose the beach house as it was in the perfect location in between LA and San Diego. We spent a great deal of time at Disney, Legoland/Sea-life, Universal Hollywood, San Diego Zoo, shopping and at the beach in the backyard.

Thank you for opening your home to us. We loved the property and the location. I/we highly recommend the beach house, it's absolutely stunning!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Home, everything you need is there!

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

This home is excellent!!! The house is set up to make you comfortable. The layout of the home is perfect, large bedrooms, beds are comfortable and the house is clean. You'll find almost everything you need there. Sand toys for the kids and some boards to take into the water if you choose. Plenty of chairs and a couple of umbrellas to use as well. A very nice gas grill on the patio and nice washer/dryer in the very clean garage.

There are a couple things that you'll want to know. The house does not have A/C. The temps on the beach are usually in the 70s during the day, so A/C is not needed, however when we arrived, there was a heat wave. The home had 2 fans and we needed 5, 1 per bedroom. When a heat wave hits, every store sells out of fans. The challenge is locating them because if you need them, everyone else does too. The only thing this house needs is 4 more fans for when the temps get a little warm (again this is rare in SoCal beaches). It was only warm the first 2 days and the remaining 5 of our trip were wonderful. Dont be alarmed about no A/C, you just need a fan in each room. My guess is that they'll add more.

As you walk out the back door, you are met with a great beach that literally comes into the house and it's private. The sand is soft and clean. You'll want know that just beyond the sand behind the house there are rocks on the beach (down by the water, not directly by the house). The beach changes daily with the tides. We purchased a rake so we could make a path down to the waterline without needing shoes/flip flops. Every day, the path would fill in with rocks. This is the only downside to Capistrano Beach. The waves from the ocean break almost right on the shore and the force of the waves move the rocks very easily. This is certain for 75% of the homes on Beach Rd. Our guess is that it may be totally different next year as much as it changes. Bring water shoes or flip flops to wear down by the water. The rocks are not sharp as the water has smoothed them over time. To boogey board/surf, you'll want to walk towards the gate house and use Doheny beach, no rocks - or try it at low tide behind the house.

Train tracks run along Beach Road and you'll hear trains, they are not long. It didn't bother us much and it wont deter us from renting again.

The owner and agent are very attentive to your needs and we will definitely return. We highly recommend this home and we're already planning next year.

Owners response: Please note that each bedroom now has a fan just in case we should ever have another crazy heat spell like the one that time.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing California vacation!!

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

We(3 families) spent our Easter vacation together in this great property. The beach right outside our door was such a big hit with kids and adults alike! We would have nightly fires on the beach and the best sleep listening to the waves crash on the beach. This house has everything you need,boogie boards,surf boards,sand toys and enough beach chairs for everyone. We did not want for anything, except more time there. It is a central location for all theme parks, close to the I-5 and the pacific coast hwy. We would all recommend this home and would love to come back. A special thank you to the property owners who added the hockey channel for us die hard Canadian hockey fans, you sure know how to cater to your guests!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Review submitted: May 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

We rented this house for a family vacation. Family came from Seattle, WA, Glendale, CA and Cologne Germany. This house was perfect for adults and kids. The house is well maintained with plenty of dishes, towels etc plus games and entertainment indoors and out. We enjoyed the firering for cooking hotdogs and roasting marshmallows, which was a new experience for the family members from Germany. We just checked out yesterday and are already thinking of plans to rent the house again next year. 5/2/2010

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 5, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

The home was remodeled with all new furnishings
and very clean. The home was well stocked with
both inside and outdoor games for the kids, and
the adults including sand toys. We loved roasting
marshmellows each night on our "own private
beach". Being right on the water was great. A nice
safe, comfortable area. Next time we will leave
most of our stuff including beach gear home, as
this home had everything but the surfboard.

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review