reviews for: listing #42501 - Captiva Island, Florida House rental

Charming Captiva Cottage - 300 steps from the beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,900 - $3,400 /wk

sort by:

A wonderful month spent at Captiva Cottage!

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: December 5, 2009

Bob and I have enjoyed our month here in Captiva Cottage. It is hard to leave to go back to the icy cold of Wisconsin! The new pool has been wonderful! Our grandkids especially enjoyed the fountain and the shallow end. We love having a fenced yard and all the privacy that the cottage gives us. The beach has been incredible...most days we have had it to ourselves. Every day it is different and it is always fun to see what it will be like. Most days we have seen dolphins. Piper, our Golden Retriever, has been Queen of the beach! She just wants to swim and retrieve any kind of ball and is quite good at riding the waves. I think she has developed a following! The Cottage has an outdoor shower where we were able to bathe her daily after her time at the beach.
We have enjoyed the Ding Darling immensely and have made a daily trip there. We've seen endangered Wood Storks, the legendary lady crocodile,an alligator and so many gorgeous birds. Some of them such as the Blue Herons, Snowy Egret and Great Egrets we have at home in the summer. We kayaked in Tarpon Bay which was so neat.
We also went fishing with a guide for Redfish. We came home and prepared them for dinner. It was wonderful!
Your perfect location enabled us easy access to many fantastic restaurants both on Captiva and in Sanibel. Our favorites include Over Easy Cafe for breakfasts, picking up take home lunches at Sweet Treats Gourmet and dinners at The Timbers, Doc Fords and Sunshine Seafood.
Bob and I so enjoyed our time in Captiva Cottage. It was the 2nd year we stayed and hopefully we will again next year!
Your photos give an accurate look into the house which really has all that one needs for their vacation. It is very clean and well maintained.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for a splendid review, Caren! I truly appreciate that you took the time for the review and I like to compliment your talents as a writer. It is my benefit to have someone as caring, thoughtful, and appreciative as you as my renters. Looking forward to your next stay,
Margarethe

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Wonderful place to stay in ideal location!

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

I just wanted to thank you for making our stay on Captiva so enjoyable. We really enjoyed staying at Captiva Cottage. Captiva Cottage was the perfect size, and had everything we needed during our stay. The location has a private feeling, but is close to the beach, and other amenities. We really enjoyed the screened in porch and nice pool area. It was also wonderful to have all the beach gear we needed, already there! My mom and dad celebrated their 35th wedding anniversary, by renewing their vows at sunset one evening, during our stay. There was no one else on the beach, we had it all to ourselves, and the ceremony was beautiful!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Private Paradise!

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

We had the most wonderful stay at this little piece of Paradise! How wonderful it was to be able to have our own, warm private pool, and then to be able to take a short walk to enjoy the beautiful, private beach and ocean! And our little dog was able to enjoy our vacation with us. The property is like having your own little tropical bungalow. We enjoyed the screened in porch for morning coffee, and evening cocktails. Since the cottage is upstairs, it felt like we were living in a tree house. Not a person or another house in view. We rented bikes and rode into town which was such a beautiful ride. The restaurants are fabulous; The Mad Hatter, Green Flash, and Mucky Duck and everything is so casual. Very relaxing. Margarethe was a pleasure to rent from, and we hope to return someday.. So many memories were made! Thank you for sharing your beautiful property.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A fantastic home for family vacation!!

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

We just returned from a week at the wonderful home and everything was fantastic!! The house is just as pictured/described on the listing. The house was very clean. The bedrooms were spacious and the linens were clean. I love that each bedroom had their own bathroom. The room downstairs was perfect and allowed for some privacy if traveling with extended family. The pool was wonderful. We loved the added touch of the shallow spa and the tiki umbrella if anyone needed some shade. The cabana was so nice. The wagon and beach chairs were perfect and made the short walk to the beach easy. The beach is fantastic! Tons of great shells and beautiful sand. We enjoyed the fantastic sunset on the beach every night. We can't wait for a return trip to this house next March! I

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent cottage and property!

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Captiva Cottage over Christmas 2013, and enjoyed the privacy of the property very much. There was nowhere in the house or pool/ yard area where another house could be seen! And the road was even barely visible from the pool! The beach was a very short walk, and there were complimentary beach umbrellas and and chairs with a wagon to pull them to the beach. The kitchen was well stocked (pots, utensils, tupperware), we did lots of cooking and never wished for anything. One of the highlights of our stay was the bald eagle couple that lives out near the pool! We saw them out and about every day, chirping and swooping around with their fish, they were delightful neighbors! We had a repair (dishwasher) while we were there, and felt Margerethe handled it very well, with plenty of notice, and came to check on it after. The drive to Captiva is a little long, but we thought it was well worth it for the laid-back feel of the island compared to Sanibel. Thank you for a such a relaxing environment Margerethe, we are definitely considering coming back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful time in Captiva!

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

My family of five stayed at the Captiva Cottage the week after Christmas. It was our first visit to the Sanibel/Captiva area and we were very excited. The cottage was a great place to stay. The beach is right across the street and had hardly anyone on it the entire time! Was able to bring our dogs on the beach to play without feeling like we were bothering anyone. The village is a short drive away with great restaurants..parking was difficult at times, but think maybe that was because it was the holidays. There were two grocery stores on Sanibel within a short drive, Jerry's and Baileys. They were great and not too over priced at all as i had anticipated. We rented a stand up paddle board one afternoon, and went on a two hour fishing trip another evening…had a blast both days.
The cottage itself is super cute, and clean. The screened porch was great for morning coffee and the evening glass of wine! The pool was beautiful too…the weather turned a little cooler for us by mid week so we did not use it as much as we would have liked, but when the kids did go in they loved it.
Definitely would recommend this property to anyone especially if you enjoy a nice quiet beach. Staying closer to town would eliminate the need to drive as much, but the beach there was more crowded.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Complete Experience

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful week at the Captiva Cottage in late-March of 2013. This facility was perfect for the two of us. The cottage is replete with both practical and indulgent amenities: a warm, comfortable interior, clean facilities, good electronics and a well-designed and -equipped kitchen for those of us who still relish cooking for ourselves. The recreational opportunities, both Gulf beach and private pool, are handy and romantic. Shopping and good dining are convenient; in some cases, just a short walk away."Wheels" are 'de rigeur' and you will quickly learn the choreography of driving in Sanibel traffic, but there is no inconvenience that can taint a vacation at Captiva Cottage.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Stay on Captiva

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Captiva Cottage and I can't say enough good things about this property.The listing description was accurate and the photo's of the property gave a true picture of the home. The home was clean and inviting upon arrival and the the home was very well maintained. I would certainly recommend this property to friends and family and it would be my first choice on our next visit to Captiva. Our 13 year old Cocker Spaniel loved the fenced in property. The beach was paradise, it truly was like having a private beach, the shelling was terrific. The pool was also perfect. We also loved the screened in porch as a spot to enjoy in the late afternoon. We had great dinners at the Green Flash and some very good lunches at The Lazy Flamingo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Captiva Cottage

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

I have always wanted to take a beach vacation with my three girls, and this year, even though they are now adults, my wish came true. We traveled to Captiva with our daughters, one son-in-law, and our 2 year old grand son. We stayed at the Captiva Cottage the first week of February 2012. It couldn't have been more perfect - from the location, to the pool, to the house itself, we loved everything about our stay. There is an eagle's nest above the pool that you can watch from there or the screened in porch of the house. We enjoyed watching the eagles bringing home their meals, or chasing off unwanted seagulls. The screened in porch was perfect for morning breakfast. The pool area was wonderful to enjoy the sun - either in the water, or just sitting at the edge. The beach and Captiva's world-renowned shells are literally just across the street. We enjoyed hours of walking the beaches looking for the perfect shell. It was very convenient having a full kitchen to enjoy home-cooked meals instead of having to eat out every day (though we enjoyed trying a few of the restaurants on the island - the Key Lime Bistro is a must!). My grandson was very appreciative of the kids' room and all the toys that were available to keep him entertained.

If you are considering a trip to Captiva, you should definitely consider a stay at Captiva Cottage!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Captiva Cottage

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

I have always wanted to take a beach vacation with my three girls, and this year, even though they are now adults, my wish came true. We traveled to Captiva with our daughters, one son-in-law, and our 2 year old grand son. We stayed at the Captiva Cottage the first week of February 2012. It couldn't have been more perfect - from the location, to the pool, to the house itself, we loved everything about our stay. There is an eagle's nest above the pool that you can watch from there or the screened in porch of the house. We enjoyed watching the eagles bringing home their meals, or chasing off unwanted seagulls. The screened in porch was perfect for morning breakfast. The pool area was wonderful to enjoy the sun - either in the water, or just sitting at the edge. The beach and Captiva's world-renowned shells are literally just across the street. We enjoyed hours of walking the beaches looking for the perfect shell. It was very convenient having a full kitchen to enjoy home-cooked meals instead of having to eat out every day (though we enjoy trying a few of the restaurants on the island - the Key Lime Bistro is a must!). My grandson was very appreciative of the kids' room and all the toys that were available to keep him entertained.

If you are considering a trip to Captiva, you should definitely consider a stay at Captiva Cottage!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Wonderful "First" Captiva Vacation

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This was our first visit to Captiva Island, and since we began planning this trip back in October 2010, we were very excited and anxious about this vacation when July rolled around. In short, we had an excellent week long vacation stay at this wonderful cottage! Everything that is advertised regarding the Captiva Cottage is exceptionally accurate to a fault. The cottage is located just off of Captiva Drive in a beautiful tropical setting that gives you a wonderful sense of privacy. The private pool is wonderful, and is stocked with an abundance of towels, chairs, lounge chairs, and all of the pool toys and rafts that you could want for adults, teenagers, or small children. The short 200-yard straight shot to the beach across the street was also a big plus. Most of the time we had the beach all to ourselves, and the cottage offered a more than adequate number of beach chairs, along with a convenient wagon to take them down to the beach in. Inside the cottage, the kitchen was well stocked for those that might want to prepare a big meal for a big family. There was plenty of cookware, serving bowls and platters, utensils, plates, bowls, etc. and we easily preapred several meals for a family of 6 during our stay. The very large screened porch just off of the living area and master bedroom (complete with 2 ceiling fans), provided a very nice place to spend evenings and early mornings. The location of the Captiva Cottage was excellent, as we were only 5 - 10 minutes from Sanibel activities and the Captiva village. This cottage is an excellent place to stay if you want privacy with proximity to everything on the island, and we highly recommend it to anyone planning a short or extended stay on Captiva Island! We're already planning our next visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your review! I like to chime in: the highpoint of the day is often a walk to the beach and even after almost 20 years of living here it still strikes me how beautiful and deserted the beach is.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Bliss!

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

I cannot say enough good things about Captiva Cottage! I have been back 10 days from my holiday there and I just want to go back! I stayed at the cottage with my husband and 10 years old daughter. We were very impressed with the 'extras' that we found e.g Beach towels, a trolley to take everything to the beach, washing up liquid etc etc...... The pool was a good size with plenty of space to swim lengths in. Great location, with a 5 minute walk to a beautiful quiet beach. Captiva is a tropical paradise, it is a wonderful place to recharge your batteries and everyone is so nice!!
I would definately recommend Captiva Cottage and I can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Location!!!!!

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

We stayed at Captiva Cottage on May 7th - May 14 2011 and loved the house and location. Very private yet had very easy access to the beach/ocean. Even though this property is not directly on the beach we never felt like we missed anything. The pool was great especially after being in the sun all day in 90+ degrees. The house had everything we needed and loved the wagon that was provided to take chairs, umbrellas etc. to the beach. We normally like to go to different places on vacation each year but we may make an exception and return to Captiva Cottage very soon. Friends who came to visit have already asked us to pass on the informaiton on the house. Thanks for a wonderful week of fun and relaxation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Found! (Lake Villa, Il)

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

We had the best vacation in South Florida. Captiva Cottage was everything we wanted and more. Turning in the driveway (which you have to slow down for our you will miss it) you enter a beautiful, tropical, and very private oasis. The pool is warm and inviting with awesome Patio Furniture and Tiki torches. We spent every morning having coffee by the pool. Having the fenced in yard was great for Jaeger. The beach was beautiful and practically empty so we had a lot of room to play ball with our dog and take him for long walks without being leashed. Our Hostess was great. She answered all of our questions and if we had a problem (only one small one) she was right there to take care of it. I can't say enought and we were so happy with our stay that we left our deposit to confirm our vacation for next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Captiva Vacation

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

The listing accurately described the cottage and location. The cottage, pool and property was well maintained. We spent so much time in the water - at the beach and the pool. My husband, son and grandson were approached by manatees. The manatees actually laid at their feet. We saw dolphins playing one afternoon. What a pleasant surprise! And yet another surprise was the lack of crowds on the beaches. We gathered shells and saw many gorgeous sunsets. We ate at the Hungry Herron and would recommend it highly for families. You can't go wrong with a menu that has 200+ items when you have party that includes 2 teenagers. The girls in our family shopped to our hearts content in Sanibel and Captiva. We will definitely book this property again. It worked really well for our family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

fantastic getaway

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: January 20, 2010

This is a truly fantastic getaway, I almost hasten to write this review as I fear the property will always be rented when I want to stay again! You WILL NOT find a better 3-bedroom home in all of Captiva or Sanibel. The pristine, empty private beach is just across the street and the owner has lots of beach umbrellas, chairs, etc. free of charge. The pool is new and immaculate. The owner is charming and helpful. The cottage is cutely decorated and very clean, and the master suite has a private bathroom. Three couples can stay here and all be very private! We have a toddler, and had our parents here - as well as a brief stay with relatives from the East Coast and a great time was had by all (and all had different expectations - from fine dining, to peace and quiet). We had no problem finding something for each of us in this wonderful cottage, and on Captiva. Highly Recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for a wonderful response! We are fortunate to live on paradisiacal Captiva Island,
Margarethe

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Review submitted: March 15, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2010

The Captiva Cottage is located in a perfect place so that you can explore both Captiva and Sanibel Island. The cottage is very comfortable and clean. We found everthing we needed for 6 adults to spend a comfortable week. The pool and cabana are beautiful.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2010

Bob and I have enjoyed our month here in Captiva Cottage. It is hard to leave to go back to the icy cold of Wisconsin! The new pool has been wonderful! Our grandkids especially enjoyed the fountain and the shallow end. We love having a fenced yard and all the privacy that the cottage gives us. The beach has been incredible...most days we have had it to ourselves. Every day it is different and it is always fun to see what it will be like. Most days we have seen dolphins. Piper, our Golden Retriever, has been Queen of the beach! She just wants to swim and retrieve any kind of ball and is quite good at riding the waves. I think she has developed a following!
We have enjoyed the Ding Darling immensely and have made a daily trip there. We've seen endangered Wood Storks, the legendary lady crocodile,an alligator and so many gorgeous birds. Some of them such as the Blue Herons, Snowy Egret and Great Egrets we have at home in the summer. We kayaked in Tarpon Bay which was so neat. We also went fishing with a guide for Redfish. We came home and prepared them for dinner. It was wonderful!
Your perfect location enabled us easy access to many fantastic restaurants both on Captiva and in Sanibel. Our favorites include Over Easy Cafe for breakfasts, picking up take home lunches at Sweet Treats Gourmet and dinners at The Timbers, Doc Fords and Sunshine Seafood.
Captiva Cottage is very clean and well maintained. It was our perfect Island home for a month!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Thank you!

Review submitted: May 11, 2009   Date of arrival: April 30, 2009

Many thanks to you for allowing me and my friends the opportunity to stay in your home in Captiva! We had a wonderful time! The house is in a great location, and we loved having our own 'private beach', as we saw hardly anyone on the beach while we were there. We enjoyed everything about the house and the island during our stay, and we are already considering a return trip to Captiva.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review