reviews for: listing #42625 - Malibu, California House rental

"Walls of Glass" Oceanfront Beach House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Big Rock Beach
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $940 /nt
    $1,750 - $3,360 /wk

sort by:

Amazing stay in Malibu

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

I had an amazing 6 night stay at "walls of glass". Don was very professional and easy to deal with, the house was beautiful, breath-taking views, great location close to Santa Monica and Malibu center. I slept like a baby to the sounds of the waves crashing against the rocks. I will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the positive guest comment Anju. I particularly appreciate that you mentioned the close proximity to Malibu City Center. Vacationers often don't realize Malibu is 17 linear miles of narrow coastline.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Second Stay better than the First!

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 6, 2014

We stayed at Walls of Glass for our daughters March Break. We were counting down the days for our second visit. We had absolutely fantastic weather all week and enjoyed the best that Malibu and LA had to offer. Everything was once again set up perfectly by Don for our visit. He has made a few upgrades to the unit which we noticed! Whether you are looking to relax on the balcony during the day or in the evening, or looking for a beautiful base to explore LA, Walls of Glass is a great choice - all amenities - 3 large screen TV's, Wifi, parking, kitchen laundry are included. Thank you Don.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Robert, thanks for being a "repeat offender" (revisiting vacationer). Returning once again to vacation at "Walls of Glass" is a substantial referral. On that note, I'm thrilled that after five years as a vacation rental, 25% of the vacationers at "Walls of Glass" are "repeat offenders."
Don

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

an soldiers dream come true ,an road to recovery

Review submitted: January 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

i spent my 40th birthday ay at don,s rental and it was my husband first trip somewhere out in public ,out of state away from home since injured in iraq he been scared to leave our home and suffers from tramatic brain injury ,my bday wish was to see an smile on my husband face after all saddess ,war he seen and with don,s rental we were so happy a dream come true don is the best ,his home have all your needs ,its so peacefull .it feels like true love an great love ,we were their and found our 20yrs love again thank you don ,you made a girl happy turning 40 and an soldier smile again . thank you for supporting injured troops and their families its what we needed the most ,i have not slept well in yrs since he was deployed and we gotten to don and i slept like an queen for the first time and he slept like a king and he cant sleep well . its trully ones dream come true don you so kind we didnt see you but you always avaible it fealt like were at our own home ,you treated us like special guess and family .i will be back again at 41 smile .your place is where we most happy ,don thank you for provideing people to dream of staying at beach front and it can come true .if you stay their i promise youll be back and make it an tredition we are ,thank you don you the best ,keep it up dreams do come true mine did ,just to stay at dons lovely serean home rental .

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

EXACTLY WHAT WE NEEDED!!

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

My husband and I were in desperate need of a vacation where we could relax, enjoy each others company and truly get away from it all. However, like most people, we wanted the comforts of home. This property is all that and more! Don provides wonderful video footage as well as breathtaking photos, but it can't begin to capture the beauty and relaxation you experience when you first walk through the door. We've stayed in many vacation rental homes and have experienced properties that don't match up to the photographs you're shown and equally as many where we've experienced problems with either a none responsive owner or one that's too friendly and encroaches on your privacy. Don is the perfect host. His attention to detail is amazing and is evident in the comfort and enjoyment it provides to his guests. The property is perfect and we wanted for nothing (except more time there). Everything from the property itself, to the sounds of the waves crashing, the dolphins and seals swimming by and the ever endearing resident seagull was pure perfection and we couldn't have asked for anything better. There's outstanding dining, wonderful shops and some of the most beautiful coastline you'll ever see right outside your door. My husband and I were looking at calendars and planning our next vacation there before we even left. Don has given everyone the best of all worlds with his beautiful property. I have mobility issues and it can be difficult to find properties of this nature that don't have some type of accessibility issues. This unit is street level (although you would never know it at high tide) and provided me access to everything it had to offer. I can't praise Don or his property enough. You owe it to yourself and your family to experience all this property has to offer, it is second to none. Thank you Don for all the consideration and care you put in to ensure this is the perfect vacation get away!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Deb. It's hard to imagine a vacationer taking the time to provide and rate a property as enjoyable as you have rated "Walls of Glass." Your guest comment speaks for itself. But, I would like to comment on a couple of things. First you said the property exceeded the video and photographs. My feeling when it comes to video and photographs is, "what you see should be what you get." So, I try not to embellish and/or disappoint. Second, you said "Don is available, but not encroaching." When I'm at a restaurant, I don't want the waiter hanging around. By the same token, I'm never present unless there is an emergency or by coincidence. By the same token, when I happen to meet vacationers by coincidence, it's always uplifting. My vacationers are local as well as from all over the world. They all have been interesting, enlightened and engaging. Thanks again for such a thoughtful and comprehensive guest comment, Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Intimate ocean experience

Review submitted: November 23, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

What a great experience! We felt like we had a premium cabin on a ocean liner without the seasickness. The sights and sounds of the ocean were overwhelming. The windows in the living room and master were truly huge. Also huge were the televisions, but we didn't really need them, considering the other amusements.
The only negative is the location on the PCH. Road noise was not a problem, but the traffic made exploring the area challenging. With plenty of food, we preferred to spend time in the unit anyway. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to provide a review Tim. Glad you enjoyed the "huge" windows and huge TV's. Yours is the first review that compares your experience to an ocean liner cruise. I certainly see the comparison though, right down to the deck railings that are reminiscent of ocean liner railings. Thanks again and come back soon, Don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Repeaters

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

Second time for us. Aside from it being everything stated by the owner and the guests, I think this house in Malibu is an enormous value. Not only do you have all the accommodations, the water, the sun, the view, you have Malibu; you have Santa Monica; you have Venice. Location is superb for anyone traveling any distance. For those of us living close by, a real treat. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Steven and Marlene. I appreciate positive guest comments from "repeat offenders" (returning vacationers) most of all. Just saying you're a "repeat offender" is enough. It says volumes. I'm also thrilled that you have already booked for a 3rd visit next year. Thank you so much, Don.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Third time is a charm!

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from our third stay at the Walls of Glass. As always when we arrived, the house was spotless and ready for us to move in. We stayed for 3 weeks this time so we could take things at a relaxed pace and spend time enjoying the beach and ocean. As in the past we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks David for your guest comment. No matter how you say it, nothing is as convincing to prospective vacationers as when you mention this is your third visit. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

As advertised!!!

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

We have used VRBO for our Malibu stay the past 4 years. "Walls of Glass" is by far the best condo we have ever stayed in. Please watch the video to see all the wonderful amenities this condo has to offer. The best quality of this property is the owner- Don. He is very professional and organized. He provides a great welcome package explaining everything from how the tv works, to Internet, to parking, to what Malibu has to offer. Even though we never met face to face, Don's presence is felt in the condo. He has thought of everything his guests may need.

My wife and I loved the view and the deck. We used the beach everyday and used the body board and surf board provided. This is the main draw- the ability to wake up and head downstairs to your own private beach. We felt so lucky- when we drove by the busy public beaches on the coast. The appliances are excellent and the washer/dryer comes in useful. The wireless was fast and efficient. The location is perfect- close to both Santa Monica and Malibu. We look forward to returning- thank you Don.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Rajiv. You're the first to mention that the video accurately depicts the premises. An unembellished video is an important feature and watching a video is valuable in selecting the right vacation rental. Providing all the items that make vacationing easy is a matter of listening to the suggestions of many previous vacationers. Getting that property in that location? That was just luck! Don

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

West Coast Dream Vacation

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

My stay at the Walls of Glass on the Sand was delightful. The house has everything anyone would need to enhance their stay. From the breathtaking view to the comfort of the bed, nothing was missed.
Thanks Don for making us feel welcome, can't wait to return to the west coast!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic beach getaway. Peaceful. Equipped w/everything you need. We'll be back!

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2013

The only hard part was we couldn't stay a few more days. This is a great spot if you want to feel more like a local than in a super touristy area. The home is very comfortable with everything you'll need - exactly like the photos and even better. The kitchen is tiny, yet very functional with everything you need to cook for your tired family after hours on the beach. Don was super easy to deal with and very responsive. We WILL be back!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cozy spot hanging over the ocean

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

Fantastic vacation spot! My fiancee' and I needed a relaxing getaway. Falling asleep and waking up to the sound of ocean waves was just what we needed. The house was clean, kitchen and laundry appliances functioned well. The location CANT BE BEAT. Located at the South end of Malibu, there are tons of outdoor activities nearby, and eat-out or grocery store locations are within ten minutes. Also, it's close enough to enjoy anything that LA has to offer. Approximately 45 min from LAX in decent traffic, longer if you're driving at the wrong time. Don, the owner, was highly organized and made detailed yet easy arrangements for the stay. WE WILL DEFINITELY RETURN!
Thanks to Don for an excellent and effortless vacation stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exquisite!

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a great time here. The property is immaculate and certainly lives up to its name. Don was fantastic and was readily available for any questions we had. We'd recommend this spot in a heartbeat, and definitely plan on returning!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very Relaxing

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

Thank you Don for a much needed get away. Your place was perfect for us...the view, the waves, the walks on the beach, the shelling, the dolphins, the sea lions, the fireplace I could go on! We will return. And thanks for fixing the internet for my workaholic husband!
Debbie & Jim

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Winter is just as great at Summer in Malibu!

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

I have been browsing various listing here and by far the listing that provided to most in-depth presentation and deal is Walls of Glass. The video tour provides a lot of valuable information that has actually helped in the decision making process and I am very grateful to have booked Walls of Glass! The Owner really goes out of his way to ensure that you time and money is well spent.

Once I arrived and entered Walls of Glass with my private code, I was immediately welcomed. There is a sense of instant hospitality that Don has prepared which you feel very welcomed once entering. This rental literally will be your home! Then, you’ll immediately feel at peace once the Pacific Ocean is your back yard. This is the Perfect getaway. Whether family, friends, romance, or just yourself. Walls of Glass will be your second home.

I book earlier this year in Feb 1 for my birthday for two nights. Turned out to be one of the best birthday’s I’ve ever had. Although in the Winter, I was so fortunate enough to have 2 warm nights in Malibu. The second night, I woke at 4am and spend the rest of the morning on the balcony kicking back on a clear warm night waiting to see the breath taking sunrise! The bedroom, is clean, white and large. With a lot of closet space. No Blu-ray but a DVD player is available for the bedroom TV. I slept with the sliding doors open. You can take a walk down your private beach and enjoy what Malibu can offer. Sunsets are also breath-taking an beautiful and during the Winter months, you’ll see the sun set behind the ocean directly in front of you!

Don’s (the Owner) hospitality has provided everything you need to enjoy your stay. From sandals, boogie boards to a blender, condiments, and a full kitchen with everything you need to make any meal or drink you like. There is a garage also for indoor parking. The television has a DVR so you can record any program and watch later. Don’t forget to bring a speaker system if you plan to listen to your music from your mobile phone yet, with the sound of the ocean, that is music to my ears!

A BBQ is also present with a great dining area on the balcony to share the day while having a bite to eat. I recommend you doing delivery, take-out or carry-out. Once you arrive at Walls of Glass, you’re not going to want to leave!


Robert

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceeded Expectations

Review submitted: March 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

Our family of four absolutely enjoyed our stay here. Parking right out front, close to restaurants, grocery stores and Starbucks. The view cannot be put into words - we ate in almost every night - takeout or delivery. The sound of the surf was soothing at night. Very safe and convenient - a good base to explore LA from and relax in the evening. Enjoyed walking the beach, watching the dolphins and sunsets, and hiking in the mountain trails nearby. We look forward to staying again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

VERY HAPPY REPEAT CUSTOMERS!

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

My kids (11, 17) and I always consider ourselves "home" when we return to vacation at WALLS OF GLASS. We saw dolphins, whales, pelicans, Henry (the resident seagull), starfish, seals, perfect sunrises and sunsets, surfers, etc. from the deck. Convenient to everything yet we felt in our own little paradise. Thank you Don for all of those small, thoughtful amenities that make our stay that much more comfortable and stress-free!! No need to ever go anywhere else!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Choice for you $$$

Review submitted: February 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

From the moment we heard the waves, we knew we had made he right choice. Everything was just as the videio describes. WATCH THE VIDEO B4 YOU GO! It was perfect!. We've rented many times, & this was the only place we were sorry to leave. From the crashing waves to the "Walls of Glass", it was incredible. We saw dolphins daily, a seal a few times & the spout of a whale a couple of times. Fred came by daily with a few friends. If there was one drawback, the highway was very busy. Tho you couldn't hear it from the house. Only the ocean. It was wonderful.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fourth time and coming back!

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

Just spent 10 glorious, relaxing days at WOG. There's something to be said for anticipation and arriving at our vacation destination knowing what to expect.... all the comforts of home --- plus the sound of the surf and unobstructed view of the ocean, walking on the beach, 3 big screen tv's, fresh linens, fully stocked kitchen, cozy fireplace, minutes from many great dining opportunities! Don has created a haven where one can totally relax and enjoy watching the sun rise or set in the California sky. Our deposit refund was processed immediately, also! We can't wait for our next visit and are already counting the days! Thank you, Don!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Amazing ocean front beachhouse !!

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

All I have to say is that when my family walked in the front door, we all hollered in delight ! Enough said! The view was more amazing than the pictures can depict, and I couldn't say better things about our experience here !! The house has a very comfortable leather couch and recliner in the living area, and the kitchen has all the basic amenties needed for simple cooking. There was a fresh can of coffee, basic spices and bottled water when we arrived. The beach house has nice heaters that warm the place nicely at night, although the big walls of glass provided wonderful solar heating throughout the day. The place is bright and full of sunshine!
I had the pleasure to meet the owner, Don, and he is obviously very vested and passionate about this rental. He is very driven to make sure we had everything we needed and was eager for feedback and suggestion for improvement. I have rented many vrbo's around the world, and this one I highly recommend as a BIG 5/5 ! Great for couples, small families with kids, and weekend getaways for anyone seeking tranquility and the special treat of a private beach experience. We can't thank you enough Don !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location, Great Beach House

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

We stayed for 5 weeks and had a fantastic time in a beautiful home with a beautiful view. We had everything we could possible need for our visit. Don was extremely responsive, very professional to deal with and pays attention to detail. We highly recommend the Walls of Glass. Whether your stay is for a few days or an extended period of time, you will not be disappointed. We will be back. The description and the photos were an accurate representation of the Walls of Glass.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Teddy for your positive guest comment. I appreciate that you pointed out that the photos and video were an accurate presentation of "Walls of Glass." I am in the process of remodeling and look forward to your return so you can see the new things that are being done. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Breathtaking

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

My sister and I brought my mother here for the vacation she always dreamed of. All our lives she talked about staying in one of the houses on stilts in Malibu so we finally made her dream come true. But little did we know it would be a dream come true for all of us. This home was absolutely breathtaking. We wanted to stay forever. We rarely left the property. Everyday a parade of wildlife came to visit. Dolphins, Minke Whales, Seals, Herons and Of course Fred the Seagul. The view was so fantastic there was no reason to eat out. We cooked every night and enjoyed the best view in Malibu. I highly recommend this property you will absolutely love it. Thanks so much Don we will be back!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Mari. As I recall, you stayed at both "Walls of Glass" and "Walls of Glass on the Sand" during your stay. Apparantly that worked out well for you. I have to admit, your guest comment was so compelling it made me want to stay there myself. Thanks for a wonderful guest comment. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just what I was looking for!

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

First of all - Don was very receptive and helpful throughout the whole process. I emailed him re: beach towels and we woke up the next morning and there they were at the front door. The location is perfect. The bed was very comfortable and the apt. was very clean. The kitchen didn't have all that you would need but enough. We went hiking in Topanga and Stand up paddling at Point Dume and it was fabulous. The weather was perfect! I would definitely book again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My wonderfully vacation

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

This was my second stay at "Walls of Glass." The booking process is simple and I appreciate the following: Color coded parking making parking a snap. Door keypads enabling entry with your personal code. Tide clocks so you know when the next low tide will occur. Binoculars so you can view ships, dolphins, pelicans or whatever. T.V.'s munted overhead in the bedrooms for relaxing, nighttime T.V. viewing. Spotlights to illuminate the surf at night. And a hot water shower at the bottom of the landing to the beach so you can get the sand of the bottom of your feet without shivering. This vacation rental is absolute in terms of attention to detail.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good place for a vacation

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2012

This is a good place for a vacation. The location is perfect. It's got an enormous, ocean-facing window in the living room. It's fully stocked and well furnished including wireless internet and large, flat screen T.V.'s. Parking is easy. Beach access is easy. Inside it's quiet and comfortable. The price was reasonable. Booking arrangements were simple. We were quite satisfied.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Walls of Glass

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

-Street noise (especially motorcycles), closeness to street for parking and helicopters continuously flying over were distractions.
-2nd night there at about midnight helicopter swooped down on house next door with spotlights for over 5 minutes then flew away. never heard why.
-high tide didnt provide much beach access except for first day.
-you cant get any closer to the ocean than this location.
-house was clean, open but not as elegant as we anticipated.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Walls of Glass-Aug

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

To say that it was all that was promised doesn't do it justice. We'll just tell you that we made next years reservations before we left. Outstanding!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

walls of glass june 2012

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

We where so excited to visit the beach house we went there 1 day too early haha! It was our first visit but absolutely not our last. Don was very helpfully with everything. We loved the view and used the BBQ on the deck almost every day. Thanks again Don! See you next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: All I can say Frank is thanks for coming all the way from the Netherlands and I'm glad you enjoyed your vacation. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Walls of Glass

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

Excellent stay.This was our 2nd stay.Lovely scenery being on the beach. House is always clean and well appointed. Nice to have a house as a home base for our stay. Owner, Don, very nice to deal with and very accommodating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks David for being a "repeat offender" and mentioning that "I am nice to deal with and very accomodating." One of the things I believe in is managing your own vacation rental. To each his own, but I like to make sure the vacactioners get what they expected. The only way to do that is by counting on luck or by handling all the bookings and question answering personally and by being onsite during the cleaning and preparation. I do the latter. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Walls of Glass May 2012

Review submitted: June 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

We enjoyed a great two week at Walls of Glass in May 2012! Our third visit and everything was just like we remembered and as advertised, thanks to Don. With the super moon that month, there wasn't much walking on the beach, but we love the roaring, pounding surf from the high tides! Enjoyed nightly sunsets and happy hours on the deck, playing my guitar while staring at the Pacific, home cooked meals with friends, and just relaxing. Don has thought of everything a visitor could want or imagine, and even left us some great coffee! We will always recommend "Walls of Glass" to anyone looking to experience the calming sights & sounds of the Pacific ocean. We have already booked our next visit for Christmas 2012.

Thanks again for making us feel at home, Don! Brian & Diane Lancaster CA

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Brian for being a "repeat offender" (a returning vacationer). It should also be noted that this is your 4th (or so visit) and I am pleased that you find "Walls of Glass" so suitable to the needs of you and your family. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise revisited

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 8, 2012

Just returned from our third glorious visit to Walls of Glass-- each time we walk through the door it feels like we're coming home -- everything's waiting and ready, and the now familiar adventure can't come along fast enough-- have already booked for 2013! Don, you've thought of everything, vacationers have to bring only themselves, suitcases, and the desire to relax, walk along the beach, watch the surf from the expanded deck, BBQ at sunset (or whenever) or visit the fine restaurants in the Malibu area. You've truly created a awesome "home away from home" for your lucky visitors -- thank you so much!!!
H&B

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Helen and Barry for your third visit followed with your third positive guest review. I try hard to provide a great vacation experience and "repeat offenders" (vacationers who return for another visit)is quite a meaningful compliment. Thanks again for the positive guest review and for being a "three peat" "repeat offender," Don Tollefson

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Another Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

My wife and I just got back from our second visit to "Walls of Glass" and had another wonderful time. It is a great setting with amazing views and I'd heartily recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic retreat. The place was clean, well-appointed and very comfortable. Our stay featured long walks on the beach, meals prepared in the well-equiped kitchen, a visit to the farmer's market in nearby Santa Monica, reading books by the fire and on the balcony, looking out over the ocean to see birds, seals, dolphins, and even humpbacked whales, as well as amazing sunsets. We're locals and find this a great way to "get away" without going too far. Don, you have a great place and we hope we'll have the chance to visit again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Michael. A couple of things. First, nothing recommends a vacation rental more highly than the return of a previous vacationer. So thank you very much. Second, you saw a humpback whale? Since 1987 I have never sighted a whale. I sometimes get inquiries about whale sightings and I always have to admit, a whale sighting is "highly unlikely." Having spotted a humpback whale, you hit the marine life jackpot. Good for you, Don

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

4th Time's A Charm!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

Our fourth stay and the first in winter. Just terrific! Weather was warm, the ocean beautiful and the apartment spotless as always. We met Don this time as he was installing a new TV and enlarging the deck. He is such a lovely person. We appreciate that he is consistently upgrading the place. The improved deck and new railing look great and we are looking at our calendar to see when we may be able to return. Don is amazingly considerate and conscientious and responsive. He always wants his guests to have the best time possible. We saw so many seals and dolphins (or are they porpoises?) swimming by as we sat and gazed at the ocean. A real treat and another great vacation. Thanks Don!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Keith and Carol for your fourth visit to "Walls of Glass." You're right. I'm willing do whatever it takes to make the vacation experience here the best possible. Sometimes my vacationers come from Europe, Australia or other faraway places. Vacationers who have saved for years for what they anticipate as a "once in a lifetime" vacation experience. But, I rely on the property to satisfy their expectations. It's well sited location on Big Rock Beach. It's 55' of oceanfront. The large expanses of ocean facing glass and the marine life that always seems to provide a show. In any event, I am honored that you are "fourth time repeat offenders."

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

November vacation at Walls of Glass

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 6, 2011

We enjoyed a great week at Walls of Glass in November! The new furniture was obvious as soon as we walked in. Our second visit and all was just like we remembered and as advertised. The local attractions we enjoyed were all at Walls of Glass: walking on the beach, sunsets on the deck, reading & playing guitar, home cooked dinner with friends. Just felt great to slow down and and relax. Don has thought of everything a visitor could want or imagine (okay, we're fussy & brought our own coffee maker), and other visitors have also left behind items we found useful. I would highly recommend Walls of Glass to anyone looking to experience the calming sights & sounds of the Pacific ocean. We have already booked our next visit for May 2012 - two weeks this time!

Thanks again for making us feel at home, Don!

Brian & Diane
Lancaster CA

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Brian for posting a great guest comment posting. You are one of a cadre of "repeat offenders" who are chosing to return to "Walls of Glass" for repeat vacations. I think as the saying goes, "this is the ultimate reference." I thank you and hope your next vacation works out as well as this one did. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Almost like a dream!

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2011

This beach house has the most beautiful view imaginable! We loved watching the dolphins & seals several times a day, loved cooking with an ocean view, & took advantage of the high speed wi-fi in this gorgeous spacious place with every amenity available for comfort. We had nightly fires in the fireplace (brought our own Duraflame logs), spent some time on the beach & parking space was always available. Even the seagulls are friendly & ate from our hands. Don - thank you for answering every question I had before we arrived! It was a pleasure!! 3 sisters & a dog had a blast!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

EXCELLENT VALUE + AMAZING LOCATION!!!

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2011

Well kept, every amenity, excellent location and very nice owner. I will have to return in the very near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Richard and Anne. I'm particularly honored by your positive guest comment since you are "repeat offenders" (vacationers returning for another vacation). I look forward to your next visit. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 25, 2011

Everything about this rental was easy and painless - from our initial inquiry for information, through the booking process, right to the security deposit refund. The property itself was amazing! Fantastic location, Walls of Glass is exactly as shown in the pictures, very clean (you would never know someone had just moved out earlier in the day) and very comfortable. Particularly appreciated was the can of coffee right beside the maker (we replaced it before we left), the binoculars, the tide clocks , the wifi access and the personalized welcome information. Walls of Glass served as our home base for a week in SoCal - what a pleasure and so convenient to return here every day after sightseeing trips to Santa Monica, Hollywood and Universal Studios. Loved watching the seals every morning while sipping coffee on the balcony. We only managed to catch low tide once during our stay but had the opportunity to explore the tidal pools with starfish and sea anemone. Hopefully we can return some day soon - thank you Don for such a memorable experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2010

We are a family of four and spent one week at "wall of glass". It was a really great vacation for us and our two sons. The oceanview is overwhelming, even being in bed you could watch dolphins.Staying there with two teenagers we enjoyed the private beach and the 3 TVs with more than 900 channels and highspeed internet. It's a perfect place to relax, but also for exploring Los Angeles!
The property is well maintained and the owner is very, very helpful in answering questions. At your arrival you find a personal letter with all information you need and a lot of recommendations for activities und restaurants!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This rental was fantastic!

Review submitted: September 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

It took me a bit of time to getting to writing this review, but I knew I must do it because the rental was fantastic. My wife and I plus our 1 year old stayed at the walls of glass in May of 2011. It was very easy to find being right on the PCH. The unit makes a great first impression when you walk in, because the "walls of glass" are right in front of you and all you see and hear is the ocean. The rental was furnished nicely and had plenty of room for our son to crawl around. The view of the ocean is incredible. We only had 1 issue with our stay and honestly for us it was not a big deal. When we got to the unit all of the bedding on all 3 beds was soaking wet. I think that in a rush to make the beds the bedding was put on perhaps just out of the washer or without adequate time to dry. This was easily solved by tossing them in the fantastic full size dryer that was in the garage. Other than that we had no issues. Don was very accommodating. He has really thought of everything. He even rushed over within hours of us being there to bring us a pack and play. We will definitely stay there again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Third Visit in Two Years!

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

We make an annual summer trip to Malibu and the beach house is always wonderful. Recent bath renovations were a surprising treat and the new furniture was superbly comfortable. We are going for a fourth stay in just a few months -- a wintertime first. Everything about this beach house suits us and we've threatened to barricade ourselves in and never leave. That, however, might get us barred for life and we just can't risk it. Don is a tremendously responsive owner and we've never lacked for anything. Thanks, Don!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Keith, It's always a pleasure to have you and with this Christmas visit you will become my number one "repeat offender" with four vacation visits. Thank you. Don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Breathtaking

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

I stood 10 days and had the most amazing time. Don was amazing and was prompt to respond when I had a question. I am a So. Cal local and would recommend this location to anyone. My kids enjoyed it (ages 12 & 14) since we are locals there was not a rush to hustle and bustle to sight see so we enjoyed the full beauty of the beach with minor sight seeing. I have to say the beach was just perfect for swimming and it was very easy for me to watch my kids and not worry about rough waters. The supplying of beach house boogie boards was very appreciated as my kids loved it. I have recommended this location to several co-workers already and will return for another vacation. Everything was stocked in the house from towels to coffee and spices. I could not have asked for a nicer person to rent from. I also invited my family for a BBQ for the day and Don was really nice about letting my family visit with no problems which was nice. ALSO, I received the most amazing courtesy email from Don, I left my contact lenses and glasses and Don sent me an email and offered to mail them to me. What more can you ask for???

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Yolanda most of all for noticing that I was available and responsive by phone and internet. "Walls of Glass" is "owner managed" so if you have questions, I have answers. If you have problems, I take care of them. Don

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wall of Glass Vacation

Review submitted: June 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

We just returned from our stay at "The Wall of Glass" in Malibu and miss it already! We had a wonderful time and could not have asked for better accomodations during our stay. Having a young child we were concerned about having our own kitchen and room for him to play. He loved not only the beach but also the enclosed outdoor hallway that was stocked with lots of beach toys..perfect for a little boy! Hearing the beach at night was so relaxing and we enjoyed meeting Fred and Pink, the resident seagulls that visited us each night for dinner. We also saw dolphins most mornings during our stay which was really cool. The house is close to Santa Monica, lots of shopping, great beaches and freeways. I would recommend this vacation property to everyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jen for a wonderful guest review and Fred and Pink thank you as well. Thanks also for mentioning the dolphins. They cruise by almost every day and they are the large dolphins (about 8' or 9'). For some reason, there are a lot of dolphins and pelicans this year. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Walls Of Glass stay, AMAZING!!

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Walls Of Glass property for 7 heavenly days. We chose this property as we were looking to get away and relax, spending some much needed quality time together. The property and location were beyond our expectations, we will definitely be back! The listing description was accurate, the property is definitely "oceanfront". The website pictures were on target, the place was clean and well maintained when we arrived. Don was available to us, when we needed him. I would recommend this property to any of my friends that need complete R&R. Even a great place for a girls get-a-way! To add some ambiance, I would suggest purchasing duraflame logs for the fireplace-it creates a nice cozy atmosphere. We went to several restaurants in the area and would recommend: Thai Cholada, Moonshadows, Paradise Cove (super casual but a must do). There is horseback riding in the Hollywood Hills, very fun! The Getty Villa (with a reservation) is a must. Also, if you are going to have some meals in, do yourself a favor and shop at the Ralph's that is North of the property. This store is the ONLY true full service store in the area, Von's is limited and SUPER overpriced. Ralph's is about 1.5 miles further away, but well worth the drive (we learned this a bit late in our stay) we are so looking forward to returning soon, thanks again for everything Don!!!!!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Terri and Scott for the detailed guest comment. I was a bit surprised that you felt Ralph's supermarket so far outstripped the other supermarket. Von's is great too and if you enjoy wine, their selection and prices are the best on the Westside. Thanks again and I'll include some of your tips in the readout. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ahhhhmaazzing to say the least!

Review submitted: May 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

My husband and I just returned from an amazing week at Walls of Glass. What you see is what you get...from the first time we walked through the door we were awestruck! The view, the accommodations, the location...I could go on and on. Everything was perfect...and the sounds of the waves crashing were so completely relaxing! Most afternoons were spent with all doors and skylights open and relaxing on the deck! We founds ourselves so relaxed the waves would knock us out. Plenty of dolphins and seals playing EVERYDAY. Early morning beach walks are a must, too! The city is not that far away either...we only wished we had another week to see some of the other places Malibu has to offer! Very sad we had to leave and are anticipating a return trip next year...hopefully for more then a week! Thanks Don...the place is great! You keep the place just perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Lindsey, but it's a far cry from perfect. Being at the beach, things are constantly corroding, rotting, rusting, deteriorating and just generally falling apart. The upkeep is constant, but so is my schedule for fixing, upgrading, replacing and renovating. Glad you enjoyed yourself. Don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

amazing location

Review submitted: May 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

we had an amazing time here...the house was stocked with everything! we were 2 minutes away from malibu lagoon and the lumberyard with shops and a fabulous bpark for the kiddo. and sleeping to the sounds of the ocean was pretty relaxing- would love to go back.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Shannan. I think you have a good idea, to come from Los Angeles and spend a week long vacation in Malibu. I see a pattern of this during the past year as well as people driving here from cities that are an 8 or less hour drive away. I'm happy to provide this resource and I look forward to your return. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing place to stay and for a wedding!

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

This was my second time staying at "Walls of Glass" in Malibu. What a beautiful place! This time, I got married there. We were married at 2pm (perfect for low tide) on the sand just in front of the house. It was beautiful for pictures. Also, Don has a great rock at the bottom of the steps to get some great pictures on also. It was so easy to get married there (including finding flowers and a minister). Not stressful at all. Don has made some very nice upgrades to the house this year including a great new bathtub and a new BBQ. Thanks for everything Don!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tanya, I'm honored. You're a "repeat offender" and you got married at "Walls of Glass" on the sand at the base of the steps. I think it is one of the very nicest places you could pick for your wedding.. Don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My stay at Walls of Glass

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

WOWZA!!! what an amazing property and location Walls of Glass is!

We stayed here at the end of March 2011 at the end of our Pacific Coast Highway road trip which was also our honeymoon and I would 100% recommend staying at this property to everyone! It is perfect in everyway and also very reasonably priced compared to other rental properties in Malibu, and it is so well equiped. Don has thought of everything!

I loved seeing the dolphins each day as well, and the two very friendly seagulls which were very funny when we left out some bread for them - I must e-mail Don a little video we took of them :o)

I loved waking up each day and hearing the sea crashing onto the shore, it was awesome! Next time I am in the states and visiting California I will definitely be staying here again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Lisa, you and your family came all the way to Malibu from the United Kingdom. You deserved to have a great vacation. Don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Owner & Location

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

We stayed here last week when the area was hit with a major weather event, and quite frankly there is no place we would have rather stayed. Don is very on the ball as a property owner, even being out of town when it hit - he was responsive right away to our inquiries. The location is wonderful, I thought I'd be intimidated by the traffic on PCH and I was not at all. The property was very clean and the photos are spot on. We loved Fred's daily visits as well! We have two children and this was perfect for us, they stayed in the 2nd bedroom with no problems. I would absolutely recommend to anyone there, honestly the property would be good for any type of visitor so long as they have a car. The neighbors were also very nice, especially during the storm. This made us feel even more confident with our choice of rental. We hope to get back out there soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Kim and for those who don't know it, Fred is one of two resident sea gulls who hands out at the house and performs tricks for food. He's (she's) cute and cuddly looking, but don't be fooled. Fred once stole a rubber jacketed cell phone off a table on the deck. Hopefully he's rehabilitated since then. Come back soon. Your odds of hitting better weather are almost 100%. Don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Claudia from Hamburg, Germany

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

Thank you so much for that lovely apartment and the wonderful service we have received from you.
The most impressiv was, that we had a chance to see the dolphins right in front of the window view!!!
The apartment was very tidy and very comfortably. I am looking forward to stay there again quite soon.
Thank you, Don, for everything you have done and the great organisation.
With warmest regards from Hamburg
Claudia

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Oh Claudia, you left behind some tasty food items that you brought all the way from Germany. I hate to admit it, but I made a pig of myself. Please come back soon and thanks for the wonderful guest comment. Don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

February Vacation

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

We had the best vacation in years and it was because this home was spectacular! It was immaculate and welcoming. The view is priceless! I could not wait to wake up in the morning to watch the sunrise and it was so great to open the door and just look out over the pacific. We counted no less than 8 dolphins a day playing and a seal would poke his head up in the waves as well. Don't hesitate to rent this vacation home, it is as good as it looks. Thanks again for a wonderful vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Kathleen for the wonderful positive guest comment. Sometimes it's like a mini marine sanctuary here. I guess the thing that vacationers enjoy the most are the dolphins. They show up often and for whatever reason, they love to swim close to shore. It always amazes me. Don.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

We have had a wonderful time here. We are getting ready to leave and several Dolphins and seals are playing, so very difficult to walk out the door!! The view is amazing. Don has thought of everything, well stocked kitchen, spices and all. No need to worry if you have left your sun tan lotion, shampoo, shaver at home-its all here. Sleeping at night with the sounds of the waves is a sweet lullaby!! We will definitely be back.
Linda,Scott,Krystal,Ron-2 couples from MN

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Linda, thanks for reminding me about the dophins. They're such a common sight I tend to forget what an attraction they are. I shouldn't. They are large, intelligent animals that provide a good, reliable show. They swim by about 100 yards from shore, surfacing about every 30 or 40 feet. To me, the most amazing thing about dolphins is the surfacing habit they perform as they swim by. If they didn't surface we wouldn't even know they existed. It amazes me that they surface and I don't know why they do it. I would really like to find out why. Don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2nd visit

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

Another great week with great weather. Enjoyed our stay and hope to schedule our next week soon. Everything was perfect. Thanks Don for taking such good care of us.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Connie and Lance for the positive "2nd visit" guest comment. I've compiled a list of "2nd visit" vacationers ("repeat offenders") and I'm pleased that a small, slow growing cadre of "repeat offenders" now exists. They all share certain things in common. They want nice, clean, quiet accomodations. They want to be able to relax and enjoy the serenity of Malibu and its' beaches. They want easy, reliable booking arrangements and they all schedule their vacations about a year in advance. Don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Didn't want to leave!!!

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 9, 2011

Barry and I enjoyed our second visit (January 9-16, 2011) to the amazing Walls of Glass even MORE than our first in 2010.... don't know how that is possible... we literally counted the days between times... and now are going to be "three-peaters" in 2012 --if we had our way, we'd move in permanently! Weather was perfect but rain wouldn't have been a detraction because WofG truly becomes a "home away from home", cozy, bright and cheery, immaculate, with that unrivaled ocean view with beach access, and everything at our fingertips, dishes, big screen TVs, wi-fi, linens, laundry facilities, BBQ, and resident seagulls! Don, you do an amazing job with WofG, not only managing, always looking for new ideas to please your lucky clientele. It was a pleasure to meet you this time -- and see the force behind the success of this property. Thanks again for the prompt return of the deposit --we are again marking the calendar and send you warmest regards!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great getaway at "Walls of Glass"

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

I had been looking forward to our first visit to "Walls of Glass" with great expectations. The property easily exceeded our expectations. All the amenities listed (and more), the description, the condition of the property and the AMAZING sunsets were all better than listed! We only went out to eat once during our visit (Baby Blues BBQ in Venice is great) because relaxing and enjoying meals at our "new home" was just the tonic for relaxation we needed. We are already planning our next visit! Thanks for everything, Brian

Owners response: Thanks Brian for the guest comment and for already booking another vacation date. No one says it better than a "repeat offender." Hope you enjoy the next one as much as this past one. Don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful Getaway

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

"Wow," was the first word out of my mouth when we walked in to "Walls of Glass." The place was immaculate and the view was amazing. It's not too often that vacation rentals exceed my expectations, but this one certainly did. It's fair to say that the photos and video didn't do it justice. We spent a wonderful week walking on the beach, sipping wine by the fire, reading books, and watching the beautiful sunsets (one of the highlights of our day). Don's recommendations for area restaurants were excellent, but most nights we just stayed in and cooked in the nicely appointed kitchen. We also appreciated the thoughtful touches throughout the house (like the binoculars for viewing seals, dolphins and birds) and enjoyed the big screen TVs, as well. I can whole heartedly recommend it, especially if you're looking for a romantic escape. For comfort, quiet, and a front row seat to a beautiful ocean view, you'd be hard pressed to beat "Walls of Glass." Don, thank you for a wonderful week. We hope we'll have a chance to pay a return visit soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mike, thanks for the superlative guest comment. I never feel like I can do, or provide enough for a vacation rental. So when I get a guest comment like yours, it makes me feel like I'm doing something right. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Walls of Glass"

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2009

We just got home from Malibu and the "Walls of Glass." Both were amazing. I would love to return to both soon. The property was just as described. I would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting the Malibu area. Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Allison, thanks for mentioning "the property was just as described." I try not to embellish with photos or a video that might not meet expectations. I feel that vacationers should arrive to exactly what they were expecting. Don

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

"Walls of Glass"

Review submitted: December 31, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

Walls of Glass was a superb destination for our annual family reunion in Southern California. Don was a great host who was unobtrusive and yet responsive as needed. The location and condition of the unit was excellent and it was a delight to stay there. We will return next year as well.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Depressed to be back home ...

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

We've only been home from "Walls of Glass" for a little over 24 hours and are already planning how soon we can return! We've been vacationing in Malibu for 5+ years and this is, by far, the absolute best rental we have found on VRBO or Craigslist. It's very private and very homey with lots of extras and details. To say the least ... we loved it!
Thanks Don for a wonderful week! We look forward to seeing you again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved our stay!

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

Don, we really enjoyed our stay at The Walls Of Glass. Appreciate the attention to detail and look forward spending two weeks there next time instead of only one.
Best Regards,
Rita
Dallas, Tx

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Rita, thank you and I'm delighted that you've sceduled a return vacation. Some upgrades have been performed since your last stay and I'm looking forward to hearing your reaction to them. Don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2010

Get to this place as fast as you can. We live only 15 miles away and it felt like we were on our own island. Don is great and his place is AMAZING. If there's an opening...we will be back!

Owners response: kara, you have become part of a small cadre of vacationers who book discounted "loose nights" (open days) at the last minute. congratulations for being smart and frugal.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

Don, great beach cottage, everything we needed was there, clean, private and a beautiful spot. Counted 9 sea lions on Big Rock and even more dolphins going by!

Owners response: thanks geoff for the concise, accurate description of "walls of glass." i think the "mini" marine sanctuary here is about as good as they get and i'm glad you appreciated it. don

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

Don - We are just leaving after 11 incredible days at 'walls of glass' and it was one of the best vacations that we ever had. We rent at least once a year on homeaway or private rentals and this experience was amazing. We really appreciated all of the details that were covered - from coffee and water to beach towels and chairs. The view, the property, the beach - all amazing. We hope to come back!!! Many thanks to you, Don, for being so attentive to your 'tenants' while on vacation.

Owners response: thanks for pointing out the attention to detail. i'm always adding little things and wondering if vacationers appreciate them. i guess they do. don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 5, 2010

Don,Thanks so much for a wonderful vacation! Every day we felt like we were "coming home". I miss it already. We will be back now that our daughter has graduated from Pepperdine and is staying in California to work!

Owners response: thanks mickey and ron for mentioning pepperdine. "walls of glass" is in close proximity and i get a lot of parents who like to vacation here.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 18, 2010   Date of arrival: April 18, 2010

Don, We had a great time at "Walls of Glass". The house is incredible. It was such a relaxing vacation. Waking up and watching the dolphins was amazing. The beach was amazing. We loved it. "Walls of Glass" was close to everything. We would definately stay again. Tanya...Toronto, Canada

Owners response: thanks tanya, my goal is that i advertise "walls of glass" exactly as it is and the video shows it exactly as it is. i'm pleased that it met your expectations. thanks, don

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

Don,We had an amazing glorious time. From watching dolphins while we sipped our morning coffee to discovering the out door hot water shower after a very cold session body surfing, we enjoyed every minute. There was so much ocean action that we never even turned on the TVs. I also loved the tide clock. It made it very easy to decide when to take a walk or swim. Thank for the hospitality. We hope to stay again next year.

Owners response: patricia, i just installed the tide clock so it's great you spotted it. knowing high and low tide times is really helpful. the moon (which primarily causes the tides) is on it's own 24 hr and 50 minute schedule while the earth is on a 24 hr schedule. so tide times are constantly changing and this handy tide clock shows when each high and low tide will occur again. thanks for noticing, don

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

Hi Don, we just left the house of glass. The house has been everything we hoped it would be. We have had no problems whatsoever and had a wonderful time. We especially liked the dolphins playing in the surf in front of our windows. When we visit Malibu again in the future we will certainly come back!Toni and Jaapvisiting from the Netherlands, Europe

Owners response: tony and jaap, thanks for coming all the way from the netherlands to vacation at "walls of glass." my only hope for each and every vacationer is that "walls of glass" meets or exceeds their expectations. i'm glad the house was everything you hoped it would be. don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2010

I stayed at Walls of Glass with my two kids (ages 14 & 8) for one week.The first thing that amazed me was that Walls of Glass looked EXACTLY as depicted in the photos and video (this doesn’t usually happen to us). The stunning view of the Pacific Ocean was incredible! Imagine our surprise when we saw dolphins dancing right outside, in our own “backyard”. The kids really enjoyed getting to know Pink and Fred – the resident seagulls.The kitchen (beautiful marble counters!) and bathrooms were wonderfully clean and well-stocked with all of the things you only wish you could fit into your suitcase. The washer & dryer were SO appreciated!At low tide, the kids and I walked the shoreline to discover starfish, hermit crabs, anemones, seals, pelicans, and even a Hollywood producer!Walls of Glass is situated perfectly in the middle of shopping, restaurants, museums, recreation, sightseeing and beaches. We loved our vacation at Walls of Glass. Call now to book your reservation - we had to wait a year to get in but it was more than we could have imagined. We will be back!

Owners response: thank you donna. i did the video as if someone just drove up to check out the place. it tarts with the outside and so on. i really tried to present it so that "what you see is what you get." i always encourage prospective vacationers to view the video. why look at pictures when you can watch a video? i so appreciate that you mentioned it. by the way, fred and pink send their regards. don

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 23, 2010

Our stay at the Walls of Glass was a dream come true. We had already spent 6 nights in beautiful Venice, where every day was a whirlwind of activity, so to relax for 5 nights in Malibu was absolutely perfect. Our 2 young children adored the home, especially the tv's (of course) and the deck - they still ask about "Findley" the seagull who visited us daily! The home is immaculate, the kitchen is perfectly set up with all the necessities for the chef in the family, the bed is so comfortable with warm soft blankets and the rolling waves are there to lull you to sleep each night. And the view?! We spent endless hours gazing out at the water, watching the dolphins put on shows at sunset and then after dark we'd curl up on the couch, the fire glowing in the corner and listen to the waves. We're already planning our next trip to Malibu. Special thanks to Don, who was so friendly and willing to help. Exactly the kind of owner you want to rent from, not in your back pocket but easily accessible - Don, next time we'd like you to come up for a drink, I loved hearing about the history of the houses and the precarious stilts that hold them up! Thanks for everything, Tara & Tom Dunphy

Owners response: well tara, that was a very generous guest comment. i have no owner response as i am absolutely stunned. thank you, don

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 22, 2010

Don:
We greatly enjoyed staying at your Malibu place and wish that it could have been longer, as there are many things that we didn't get around to doing. The unit is beautiful, and was immaculately clean. Parking was easy and I think that the location between Topanga and Malibu Beach was ideal, as access back to LA was easier than if we had been staying further north. We'll be back!

Owners response: thanks dan, concise and precise. exactly what i would expect from an architect like yourself. to your credit you mentioned a couple of things that i take great pride in, but that no one else, but you, has mentioned. the place was imaculately clean and the parking was easy. cleaning the place is a story in itself. the easy parking is a combination of good fortune and good garage door placement. thanks for the insightful observations. don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: February 15, 2010

We had such a great time at walls of glass, we were alittle concerned traveling with our dogs where they could run and play. But after one time down the stairs they came to love the wet sand beach and made friends with all the local doggies too. The well stocked kitchen with cooking utensils made it easy for me to invite friends from the LA area over for a wonderful beach front dinner. I used to live in So. Cal and met my husband on E Harmony after we married (in Malibu) I moved with him to Nebraska! So going home was never better, thanks to you Don and Walls of Glass.

Owners response: "E Harmony" is a new concept for me, but i think it must go something like this; meet someone on E Harmony, get married, spend your vacation at "walls of glass." works for me. don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

Don:

We had a perfect week celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary at Wall of Glass. It was spectacular and your well done video still could not capture everything. Lance kept saying "this is the perfect place". From the parking, all the amenities including the high def tvs in every room, and the wonderful ocean front view. Each day we saw dolphins, sea lions, lots of pelicans and of course the resident seagulls Fred and Pink right off the deck. By the way, we miss our seagull friends! One week was not enough for us and we wanted to stay another week! The worst part, I could not sleep well last night after returning home as I missed the ocean waves. Walking the beach in the afternoons was great. We definitely will be planning on coming back for another vacation. Thanks Don for a wonderful week and a perfect vacation rental to spend our 35th wedding anniversary. Connie

Owners response: malibu is one of the best places in the world to celebrate a wedding anniversary. i get quite a few vacationers celebrating their wedding anniversaries at "walls of glass," but, for the life of me, i don't understand why i don't get even more. it seems like such a perfect way and perfect place to celebrate a special occasion. thanks and i'm honored. don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 26, 2010

Don,

Thank you for an outstanding stay at your property walls of glass! We have stayed at several properties along the southern California coast and never seen one better than this. We got to witness California's most severe storm in decades. Although we stayed safe and dry in the home the ocean's surf was AWESOME to see crashing directly off of your huge back deck. I have not slept so well in years, listening to the roar of the sea. We saw dolphins everyday. The house was spotless and in excellent codition through out. Anyone looking for an exceptional oceanfront vacation would love this home. We will be back.

Owners response: hi randy, i love storms too. storms, storm systems, lightning, thunder, the bigger the better. this was california's fiercest storm system in years (storm system, not individual storm). it started january 19 and ended january 23. you checked in january 19 and departed january 24. so this i shall always remember as the "randy williams" storm system of 2010. i'm glad you got to witness this amazing storm system and i'm glad you got to enjoy that one last beautiful, clear, sunny day that followed it. don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 21, 2010

Hi Don....after we entered our personal code into the front door and walked in, we found the beach house perfect in every way ... you know that old saying, "you only get one chance to make a first impression" -- it was sparkling clean.... ambience was in play, sunlight, ocean, TV's ready to go, everything!

The unobstructed ocean view from the huge living room window with its southern exposure was to-die-for. Another real luxury was direct access to the beach below. Extremely impressive were the high tech electronics -- three large, flat screen TVs with hi-def cable, DVD, VCR players, and wi-fi internet that worked flawlessly. We had no trouble setting up our netbook and were online throughout our stay.

The attention to detail was amazing, luxurious towels, super comfortable bedding, remote control skylights, even gloves for washing dishes -- and resident seagulls, Fred and Pink were totally charming!

The "walls of glass" video turned out to be a very accurate depiction of the actual vacation rental ...it truly is "what you see is what you get". The guest comments were also very helpful. The business aspect from start to finish was a pleasure. Everything was handled efficiently and expeditiously and last, but not least, we were pleased by the prompt return of our security deposit shortly after our arrival back home.

Thank you for a truly memorable experience, Don!

Helen & Barry
Marana, Arizona

Owners response: thanks helen and barry for what was quite an astounding guest comment. guest comments can guage vacationer satisfaction. the downside is they always tend to be on the positive side. that said, the secret is to also look for frequency of guest comments as well as their content. a top vacation rental can expect to receive 15 to 20 positive guest comments each year. thanks again, don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: January 18, 2010

Wow, what an amazing place! We are still here and
leave tomorrow, so are soaking up every last
moment until then. While I write this, I am gazing
out of the wall of glass and watching pelicans and
dolphins go by, accompanied by the sound
crashing ocean waves. What could be better? My
husband is here on business and this place is
perfect for our needs. Everything you need is
here... it's close in for meetings, yet private and
beautiful, check in/booking was a breeze, it has
garage parking with 2 extra spaces in front for
friends, and even a room for the kids if needed.
We've been looking for a place like this and will
definitely be back! Thanks for sharing it with us.

Owners response: actually rozalynd, "walls of glass" may not be for everyone, but it seems made to order for you. it's a "love nest" inside and a "nature preserve" outside with a "grandstand" picture window in between. i'm glad things worked out so well. don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 24, 2009   Date of arrival: December 24, 2009

don, we had a great time at "walls of glass" and we especially appreciated the prompt return of our security deposit. david and cindy, san francisco, ca.

Owners response: thanks and i'm aware prompt security deposit return is greatly appreciated. i advertise their return within 24 hrs of departure and i have never been late.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: December 9, 2009

Thanks Don for the rental of your house. It was fantastic to sit with a beer and watch the dolphins and sealions swim past. Great location out of the city yet still not to far to commute to the shops and tourist attractions. Kids loved chilling out in there room with all the movie channels.

Owners response: scott, i'm thrilled that you and your family came all the way from the gold coast of australia to vacation in malibu and stay at "walls of glass."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 18, 2009   Date of arrival: November 18, 2009

Don, We had the best time at Walls of Glass for our 8 day vacation, Don! The house is absolutely perfect, comfortable, everything we needed was right there. The view is unforgettable from morning to night and the beach is terrific. Everything about Walls of Glass was perfect. Special thanks for arranging such great November weather for us! How you managed that, we don't know but sunny, bright, and warm in the middle of November--perfection.
We'll be back to visit again soon. Thanks for all, Don!

Owners response: thanks tim. i promised you great weather in november and i usually keep my promises. don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 14, 2009   Date of arrival: November 14, 2009

This home was a dream of ours come true. We had always wanted to stay right on the beach in Malibu. Walls of Glass" was just as perfect in person as it looked on the computer. The home had everything you could possible want, such as pots, pans,blow dryer,iron, towels, beach chairs,flat screen TV's (with all the channels )and of course two resident beautiful seagulls Fred and Pink. The view from the apartment was more than spectacular. The roar of the ocean below was very relaxing. Don made every effort to be sure we were enjoying ourselves and had all that we needed. This location in Malibu was perfect.
We had a wonderful time and highly recommend Walls of Glass . Dina ,Leonard

Owners response: thanks dina, it's an old beach house that was built in 1946. early in 2008 it underwent an extensive and near total remodel after which it became a vacation rental. glad it suited your needs. i am also pleased that i got to meet you and leonard and that we got to chat a bit. thanks, don.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 7, 2009   Date of arrival: November 7, 2009

If you like stunning ocean front views and hearing the ocean underneath your balcony, this is the place for you. If you like watching peilcans diving for fish and watching dolphins play, this is the place. If you like, watching picture perfect big screen television with a wide variety of stations from either of the two bedroom s or the living room, then this is the place for you. Owner has tried to make everything perfect and has succeeded. On a scale of one to ten, this was an eleven for us.

Owners response: greg, thanks for the "quite favorable" comment, but in fairness, you neglected to mention that we've been practically best friends since high school which dates back over 45 years now! don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 26, 2009   Date of arrival: October 26, 2009

Don

Just a quick note to let you know that my family and I had a brilliant time staying at the "Wall of Glass".

The apartment and its location far exceeded our expectations. Your video (on your web site)was good, but the atmosphere of the unit can only be understood by staying there.

We had been in California for a month -traveling up the coast from LA to San Francisco and across to Yosemite and back to LA. Your place was our last stop before returning home and it was a great way to finish our holiday.

Staying and relaxing at Malibu was the highlight of the trip... while we have great beaches in Queensland - there is nothing quite like your place or Malibu in Australia...

Thanks again - it was great meeting you on the last day.

Cheers


Rob and Manon Hughes
Queensland, Australia

Owners response: thanks and i was especially pleased that you had a great time because you came all the way from australia for this vacation. don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 6, 2009   Date of arrival: October 6, 2009

Don,

I had a great time at your amazing beach house. It exceeded all expectations and was absolutely perfect. It was two weeks well spent. I hope to be able to come back next year.

Best Regards,

Richard

Owners response: thanks richard, and it's amazing how many "walls of glass" vacationers come from canada and specifically from toronto. don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 21, 2009   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

Don
Our stay at Walls of glass was the highligh of our
honeymoon- and we went on to stay in 5 star
hotels!
The location and the apartment can not be
beaten. The vacation rental Is the only way to go!
Thanks
lauren

Owners response: lauren, i couldn't agree more that vacation rentals are the only way to go. you get much more space, better amenities, accomodations are more personal and you can dine out when you want, rather than every meal. don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 18, 2009   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

We had a wonderful time staying at "Walls of Glass". Everything the other guests comments said about attention to detail, accuracy of the internet video of "Walls of Glass", and graciousness of our host Don was absolutely correct. We too would love to come back again.
Tom and Karen Thomas Tempe(Phx.), Az.

Owners response: thank you karen and tom and also, i always make myself available by cell phone or e-mail, just in case there's a question or problem. don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 8, 2009   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

Don:

Our family loved the place. We had a great time.

The video you made was perfect in describing exactly what your property offers. The ocean view when you swing open the front door could be from a postcard. Not only is the location wonderful, but you thought of every detail -- from beach towels to the wireless internet access at the work station off the kitchen. The three large screen televisions were great too, as my children had many different options in which to be entertained. Having your own private beach right under the house made this a perfect getaway.

Owners response: thanks fitz for appreciating "walls of glass" as a unique vacation rental and noticing the detail. providing a vacation rental was always my dream so i had a lot of time to think about detail and get it right. don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 28, 2009   Date of arrival: August 28, 2009

Dear Don:

Everything was great - the premises are spectacular, Malibu is fantastic and your written introduction to the premises and to the area was very helpful. We are thinking of coming back and if we decide to do so we will be in touch (I know, I know - we need to book early).

Owners response: geoff, booking early really is the secret. don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 15, 2009   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

Don:
We had a great time at your place!! Our dog, Rocket
acclimated and soon became a "beach" dog. Our
teenage sons loved the location and the privacy.
The "wet sand" beach is a real plus since it keeps
most people away, but still allows you to hang out,
skim board, etc.
The location is perfect...10 min in either direction
and you're at world class restaurants, beaches
(should you ever want to!), etc. Malibu Country Mart
was a fun place to hang as was dining and shopping
in nearby santa monica.
We plan on coming back.....soon we hope. Thanks
for the hospitality...

Owners response: thanks seth, and it was your enthusiasm for "oceanfront dining" that caused me to realize that "oceanfront dining" is clearly distinct from "traditional dining" and that "oceanfront dining" is one of the most cost-effective and unique luxuries that malibu has to offer. don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: August 11, 2009

Don, just wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed our time in Malibu at your place. It was terrific -- better than advertised! Our cat loved the place too. Hoping to book two weeks next summer.

Owners response: thanks keith, for the kind words and for my first vacationing cat! don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 26, 2009   Date of arrival: May 26, 2009

Renting 'Walls of Glass' made my dream celebration a reality. The place was gorgeous and perfect for my needs. The owner, Don, took great care to help me make my 50th birthday party a memorable and outstanding one. My family and friends are still raving about the wonderful time they had there!

Owners response: thanks terri. i think "walls of glass" is a great location for a birthday party too. don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 26, 2009   Date of arrival: May 26, 2009

Don,
It was spectacular. I am going to try to get my family there. It was truly a relaxing vacation. The beach time was perfect as no one got burned. Thank you so much.
Brenda Wright

Owners response: brenda, i hope you become a "repeat offender" (a returning vacationer) and don't forget to request my hefty "repeat offender" discount. don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 17, 2009   Date of arrival: May 17, 2009

My stay at Walls of Glass was perfect. I truly felt I was in vacation. No hassle everything very clean. I found that the video was very useful because it truly showed the how how it really was.

Owners response: thanks for recommending the video. if i were deciding on a vacation rental i would defiinitely prefer to look at a video rather than photos or anything else. don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 7, 2009   Date of arrival: May 7, 2009

A spectacular view, free dolphin shows. The sounds of the Pacific. We loved our stay! You get the Malibu "experience" and it is very convenient to surfing, Pepperdine, Santa Monica, Zuma. We'll be back.

Owners response: thanks for mentioning pepperdine tom. i get lots of "pepperdine parents" and the location always seems to suit them well. don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Romantic Private hideaway!!!

Review submitted: March 10, 2009   Date of arrival: March 6, 2009

I have to say that I have been around the world and I have experienced numorous places to stay but "Walls of Glass" in Malibu CA, was absolutely incredible!!! The privacey, the veiws of the ocean and waves crashing are absolutely FABULOUS! We experienced total serenity and beauty of one of Malibu's "private beachs" and at a VERY good price! It was worth every penny and more. In fact, the entire experience brought my friend and I ALOT closer, it was EXTREMELY romantic! It was just like having our own little place, not having just another "hotel room."

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: kitty, thanks and i remember met you because fred (one of two resident seagulls) stole your cell phone from the deck. it had that nifty rubber backing and he managed to lift it with his beak and fly away thinking it was food! next time remember, you can't leave you cell phone on the deck. come again soon, don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review