reviews for: listing #42873 - Bahamas, Caribbean Cottage rental

Charming new cottage, turquoise lagoon, pink sand beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Spanish Wells
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $215 /nt
    $1,390 - $1,500 /wk
    $4,170 - $5,780 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

What a charming, magical place!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

This was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable family vacations we have ever had! The house was perfect. I work for a real estate firm that manages 300+ vacation homes and I wish all of our owners were as good as you. The house was lovely and had everything we needed – thanks for the current movies – we watched several that we had not seen yet once we settled down for the night. The location is also perfect – we went around the entire island checking out some of the other homes we had seen on VRBO and HomeAway and quickly dismissed them as future options – none compared to your home. Our neighbors, who were renting the orange house across the street, came over one day to check it out - - they too, were charmed by your home.
The beach was absolutely gorgeous and the quick walk from your home is actually closer than some of the oceanfront homes in our town. You were right about having it all to ourselves. If we saw more than 6 people in a day that was a crowd. The girls snorkeled around the entire island and decided that the area in front of your home and just to the south were the best areas on the island for snorkeling. We used the bikes, kayaks and the golf cart every day – great to have these available!
The Island: I told my friends upon returning that if we disappear one day, this is where they will find us. The island is one of the most unique places I have ever visited. We live in a friendly place, but the people we met during our visit to Spanish Wells were some of the most gracious, friendly people we have ever encountered. We have visited many islands in the Caribbean and this is one of the few places we have been that I felt completely safe in letting my daughters out on her their own – they enjoyed exploring every inch of the island both day and night. The grocery store was a surprise - it had everything we needed. I had read several comments about the food being expensive, but honestly it was not much more than we pay here in the summer (during the high tourism season). We used the grill several nights and visited most of the restaurants on the island for either lunch or dinner. The week went by quickly and we were all sad to leave! We definitely will be back and hopefully will be able to stay longer than a week. Thank you again for your lovely home and a truly memorable vacation – we can’t wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pink Sands Cottage/Spanish Wells: outstanding!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

We had been to the Bahamas a dozen times before this trip to Spanish Wells. Little did we know that it would surpass our great experiences elsewhere over the years. Spanish Wells is a prosperous [spiny lobsters] fishing port of some 1700 great people whose ancestors arrived more than 400 years ago. A great harbor, industrious and friendly townspeople, an outstanding, yes, pink sand beach, and a very relaxed way of life. And there's no better location from which to experience it than Pink Sands Cottage, right at the midpoint of this 2 mile long island. Spic and span clean, the cottage is fully equipped, has reliable phone service and internet service, and is just about 75 paces from a beautiful 2 1/2 mile long beach. Brightly lit, well appointed furniture, decks and porches, what more could you ask for? Close to a supermarket and other amenities? Yes, nearby. Bikes, golf cart, and kayaks? Yes, waiting just outside the door on the immaculate lawn. Even nearby crowing roosters to help make sure we didn't waste the day in bed. And even the bone fish were cooperative. Spanish Wells and Pink Sands Cottage--a perfect match. We'll be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another great say at Pink Sands Cottage

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

We had a great vacation.....the time spent at Pink Sands Cottage/Spanish Wells went so fast. We did indeed enjoy ourselves each day, everything was as we remembered it inside Pink Sands Cottage. It was also very nice to see Toni and catch up with her. The Four Ways II had just docked a few hours previous to meeting Calvin at the dock at 06:00 am March 30 so, unfortunately, we missed Daryl this trip. Thank you for another great stay at your beautiful villa!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A perfect vacation

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

We (2 couples) spent 6 days in this cottage and this cottage contributed a lot to our perfect vacation. When we entered at the first time in the cottage, we moved very homely, because we found everything exactly according to the description. The house was perfectly clean and equipped beyond our expectation. The owner of the house provided everything what people coming for a vacation might like to use and enjoy. We had a few email exchanges before our trip and we got all the detailed responses immediately to our questions, including additional suggestions. We do hope, we will revisit this beautiful island again -in the same cottage. We will recommend this property to our friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice and quiet

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: December 28, 2009

We had a great time. Spanish Wells was just what we were looking for. Nice and quiet. Your cottage is beautiful. It was equipped with everything we needed. The thought you put into planing it and building it shows. It is a wonderful place to spend your time. The view to the beach and the blue, blue water is unforgettable. Back here in the frozen north I have gone back to that beach in my head, floating in the warm salt water, moving with the waves until I wash up on the beach. This memory will get me through the winter.....maybe. Everyone on the island smiles and waves. This was incredible. It was calming. There was no street stress. I felt welcome all the time. The food was great. We tried all of the restaurants. Normas' was a favourite but the Anchor was right up there too.
Tony was very nice. We always knew she was there if we had any questions.
It is a great place to walk. Walking on the beach, walking on the streets and walking over to Russell island. Even though it is a small place there are still places we did not see. We'll have to come back. I have only one complaint. I don't have enough of a suntan. I wasn't there long enough. We have to go back again if you'll have us?
Bahama Hoppers was excellent. A very nice man and an excellent pilot.
Spanish Wells was great. We will come back to Spanish Wells.
Thank you for a great memory.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will return!

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2009

We had a fantastic time. The cottage was more than we expected, very quaint and picturesque, just what one would expect in the outer islands. It is also very comfortable. We never used the stove, only the microwave oven, as we bought our meals from Norma's take away and from the roadside stalls. Norma's may not be fancy but the food is great and good value. Mrs. Pinder took very good care of us. We will definitely return. Next time we will bring our son and his family.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will return!

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2009

We had a fantastic time. The cottage was more than we expected, very quaint and picturesque, just what one would expect in the outer islands. It is also very comfortable. We never used the stove, only the microwave oven, as we bought our meals from Norma's take away and from the roadside stalls. Norma's may not be fancy but the food is great and good value. Mrs. Pinder took very good care of us. We will definitely return. Next time we will bring our son and his family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Delightful beach

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

The beach is a delight; perfect white sands kissed by an azure sea. Pink Sands Cottage is ideal for 4 adults or for a small family and its location near the beach is perfect.
We enjoyed our two day trips to Eleuthera and Harbour island. Harbour island is upmarket but well worth beating yourself to a visit. The water and land taxi connections work extremely well, even when returning at 11 PM, even later. $5 a head for the water taxi to Jean's bay and the same from North Eleuthera to Harbour island. Land taxi is approx $30 one way.
You have to visit the liquor store if you enjoy the occasional alcoholic beverage.
We recommend Norma's hut for a fish sandwich, coated in their own seasoning or fresh fish, they're great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Welcoming and clean

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

We absolutely want to tell you that we have very much appreciated our stay in your cottage and on your island!
Your cottage is welcoming, clean and very well situated. Its architecture and its decoration respect the environment.
Your caretakers have been welcoming and very courteous, everything has been perfect. People are smiling, welcoming and polite, and what to say about the views...
Perhaps, we will come back next year... if it is possible...
We have been honoured being your first guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review