reviews for: listing #42992 - Alligator Point, Florida House rental

"On the Rocks"..Gulf Front, 40 yds to Beach Access,WIFI,Pets
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $92 - $180 /nt
    $500 - $945 /wk
    $1,250 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

We Had a Blast! Will Be Back for Sure!

Review submitted: May 24, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

My family and our dog stayed at On the Rocks for a week in April and had a blast. Upon arriving, the front of the house was not very impressive, but the inside was true to the pictures, clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed. It was a perfect location with the beach close by, lots of rocks for the kids to go hunting around during low tide, and a wonderful beach to comb for shells within a short walk. The water was not that great for swimming (pretty murky), but even for my kids (ages 5-10), they were happy enough to splash in the waves and make sand castles. The bonus was seeing fisherman pull in a sting ray, watching the dolphins swimming off shore, saving some starfish after a stormy night, collecting tons of shells and hanging out on the screen in porch on the rainy days. We'll be back for sure! Jasmine from Farmington Hills, MI.(Review shared from Guest Reviews on “Deb’s Forgotten Coast Rentals” Facebook page)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Looking Forward to Next Year!

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

We stayed at "On The Rocks" and had a great time. This was our first time at Alligator Point and we loved it. Very recommended. The house was very clean. Thanks Deb. Looking for to our return next year. (Review shared from Guest Reviews on “Deb’s Forgotten Coast Rentals” Facebook page)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"On the Rocks"

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

Our stay here was great. The house has all the essentials with an unbelievable view. We hope to come back. Thanks again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winters Family Review

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

We had a great time here and are thinking of going back, cable TV and telephone was available, you could fish right off the deck. The screened in back porch also had 4 extra beds so you could sleep right next to the ocean and hear the waves crash, the place is not secluded but not at all busy and the price was right.
Downside if your looking for prestige this is not it, the place is worn (but comfotable). It reminds you of going to your grandmothers house for the summer when you were a kid. No stores are close but the drive is not too bad to find one.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

On The Rocks!

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

We loved staying here. It has a terrific view! Seemed to be clean and tidy. Really enjoyed the decks (screened and open areas). Ate at two great restaurants in Panacea (Posie's and Anderson's) and plan on going back to them again next time we're in the area. We are planning on coming back here... maybe even next month! Hope we can make it work. Hope to see On The Rocks again, soon! The owner's are great to work with. Always a plus!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

"On the Rocks" Allligator Point Florida

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

Loved it - Loved it - Loved it!! Was the perfect beach cottage at the perfect beach. Great place for boating, sunbathing, relaxing and having fun with your family. Will come back again and again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Spring break get-away

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

We have vacationed on Alligator Point for many years, but this was our first time in this property. So we had high expectations because the previous properties had fully stocked kitchens including spices and condiments, as well as basic things such as matches and charcoal and paper products (which this property expected guests to supply). However, the location was great, and it had a lot of space and was very comfortable and quiet. It was a well-used property and did not seem to have been upgraded much recently. Having born the direct hit of at least 3 hurricanes in recent years it seemed and smelled a bit musty and damp. It was clean however. The rental agent was excellent to work with and the cleaning person (there is an extra required charge for this) was very helpful and friendly. It ws probably a bit overpriced for the condition and amenities but we might stay there again depending upon future pricing.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

On the Rocks Review

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

This home is in need of TLC. Basic kitchen equipment, chef knives, garlic press, paring knives, chopping board, coffee mugs would help make it much more comfortable. Bedside tables with reading lamps are missing in 2 of the 3 bedrooms. The double bedroom does not have a closet or a dresser. The twin bedroom has a closet with a dresser that is filled with towels - no place to unpack. Screened in porch appears as a dormitory due to two sets of bunk beds. We do appreciate that they had cleaned the rug, but it was still wet when we arrived and it took 3 days of fires at night to dry out the rug in the living room. We bought a load of firewood.
Real problems, The lights dim when you run the microwave, the house shakes on it's foundation - still do not know why and the washing machine is on it's last 'toe' - all the clothes end up in a ball and it makes loud thumping sound.
There is not direct beach access without cutting across the neighbors backyard or walking on the street due to the large rocks bordering the ocean. Can not be considered ocean front due to lack of accessibility. Neighboring house was undergoing improvements and for 36 hours a construction crew was on site without going home.
We still had fun, but we will not be back to this house. We rent a beach house 2 to 3 times a year.

Owners response: Thank you so much for your suggestions to improve the comfort level for future renters. These owners recently converted the house from a long term rental to a vacation rental, so any suggestions are helpful. Please note in our property title that the property is "Gulf Front with 40 yards to the beach access". The description and the photos clearly show that the house is directly on the Gulf of Mexico, with no other property in between, but that there are rocks at the back of the lot to protect the yard from the water and that there is no beach access from the yard.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

We're Happy Campers!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

Our family of seven very much enjoyed our time at "On The Rocks!" This house was more than roomy enough for the seven of us. And waking up with waves off the back deck was just what the doctor ordered! There are huge rocks on the shoreline itself, so you have to go a couple of doors down when you want to get in the water, but is worth the slight inconvenience because those rocks also mean that you don't have much worry about your little ones ending up in the water without you noticing. Alligator Point is "real" Florida. We go every chance we get, but this was the first time we had a house directly on the beach. For the first time, we got to see dolphins every morning!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We're Happy Campers!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

Our family of seven very much enjoyed our time at "On The Rocks!" This house was more than roomy enough for the seven of us. And waking up with waves off the back deck was just what the doctor ordered! There are huge rocks on the shoreline itself, so you have to go a couple of doors down when you want to get in the water, but is worth the slight inconvenience because those rocks also mean that you don't have much worry about your little ones ending up in the water without you noticing. Alligator Point is "real" Florida. We go every chance we get, but this was the first time we had a house directly on the beach. For the first time, we got to see dolphins every morning!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We're Happy Campers!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

Our family of seven very much enjoyed our time at "On The Rocks!" This house was more than roomy enough for the seven of us. And waking up with waves off the back deck was just what the doctor ordered! There are huge rocks on the shoreline itself, so you have to go a couple of doors down when you want to get in the water, but is worth the slight inconvenience because those rocks also mean that you don't have much worry about your little ones ending up in the water without you noticing. Alligator Point is "real" Florida. We go every chance we get, but this was the first time we had a house directly on the beach. For the first time, we got to see dolphins every morning!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review