reviews for: listing #42992 - Alligator Point, Florida House rental

"On the Rocks"..Gulf Front, 40 yds to Beach Access,WIFI,Pets
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $92 - $180 /nt
    $500 - $945 /wk
    $1,250 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

On the Rocks - Just a Little Rocky

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2014

Let me say first off that with the very few problems we had, we did NOT contact anyone to fix them as we considered them very minor.The house is described well, nothing special but IS comfortable. A few things can be fixed, some not. Overall, very stayable, 8/10 as rental houses go.
THE GOOD: Very clean (cleaner than most hotels) and cheerful decor. Stocked kitchen as far as pots/pans/utensils. We enjoyed the kitchen bar design.
Great view, but go to last public beach for the sunset. Public beach is a comfortable walk from the house. Beaches are white sand, water is a bit murky but we did have storms and heavy wave action. The people in Panacea were VERY friendly.
THE BAD: We were given the wrong Internet password and did not get on until late the last night by accidentally finding the updated password by the telephone. There are four bunk beds on the back porch. Problem is, during stroms the back porch gets windblown rain. In fact, the lower beds were soaked. Some type of pull down blinds would probably help. There was a slight ant problem. The master bathroom is not for elders, it has a knee high tub that even I (6'0 male) had problems with. Owners should really put in a walk-in shower. Also, no blinds on the back windows so no privacy from anyone on back porch. Stairs are okay, but do be careful. Drive way is a bit tight. Two cars okay, but pulling a boat trailer? No way without using next door neighbors drive. Couch had an odor issue. Main bed mattress is well used (everyone rolls to the middle). Dining room chair backs come apart, needs glue. Electric plugs in 2nd queen bed room do not work.Frig has a rust spot but it works. Family room is small and cramped. Get ready to fill up ice cube trays.For me, no electrical plug outside front of house. Would have been nice. WATCH your speed. The incoming 35mph sign (only one) is hidden by a tree branch.
WRAP UP: My main goal was to fish. This is not the place for that. Rock Landing Marina in Panacea(very friendly people, thanks Dick) is the place to keep your boat, use the the public $5 ramp next to it. Do not use the ramps on Alligator Point (shallow water and poor condition) or the marina (very expensive slips). If you want a beach house that is not necessarily on the beach, try On the Rocks. Yes, I WOULD stay again if only for that, but I personally would rather find somewhere else for better fishing. Happy to provide more info.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your informative and thorough review. The owners and I were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, despite the minor problems that you encountered. I am sorry that you were not able to log onto the WiFi. I was not told about the new password before your stay. My rental info has now been updated to reflect the correct password and the following guests were happy to update the info in the “House Book”. On the Rocks is under new ownership and the new owners are very responsive to complaints and are open to suggestions for improvement. They are addressing all of the maintenance issues on your list. All existing furnishings were purchased with the house. After reading your recommendations, the owners are replacing the sofa, adding a window covering to the French doors in the master bedroom, checking on the condition of the mattresses in the bedrooms, and are considering doing away with the bunk beds on the screened-in porch. (Note: These bunks are NOT mentioned in our ad as a sleeping option.) For protection from the weather, the bunk mattresses are covered with plastic mattress covers, and I am sure that they cannot be used during rainy weather. Several guests have commented that they, or their children, enjoyed using the bunks (dry weather, of course), so the owners are weighing the pros and cons. With heavy winds that come from storms off the Gulf, a blind may not be an option as protection from the rain.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Had a Blast! Will Be Back for Sure!

Review submitted: May 24, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

My family and our dog stayed at On the Rocks for a week in April and had a blast. Upon arriving, the front of the house was not very impressive, but the inside was true to the pictures, clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed. It was a perfect location with the beach close by, lots of rocks for the kids to go hunting around during low tide, and a wonderful beach to comb for shells within a short walk. The water was not that great for swimming (pretty murky), but even for my kids (ages 5-10), they were happy enough to splash in the waves and make sand castles. The bonus was seeing fisherman pull in a sting ray, watching the dolphins swimming off shore, saving some starfish after a stormy night, collecting tons of shells and hanging out on the screen in porch on the rainy days. We'll be back for sure! Jasmine from Farmington Hills, MI.(Review shared from Guest Reviews on “Deb’s Forgotten Coast Rentals” Facebook page)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Looking Forward to Next Year!

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

We stayed at "On The Rocks" and had a great time. This was our first time at Alligator Point and we loved it. Very recommended. The house was very clean. Thanks Deb. Looking for to our return next year. (Review shared from Guest Reviews on “Deb’s Forgotten Coast Rentals” Facebook page)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"On the Rocks"

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

Our stay here was great. The house has all the essentials with an unbelievable view. We hope to come back. Thanks again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Winters Family Review

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

We had a great time here and are thinking of going back, cable TV and telephone was available, you could fish right off the deck. The screened in back porch also had 4 extra beds so you could sleep right next to the ocean and hear the waves crash, the place is not secluded but not at all busy and the price was right.
Downside if your looking for prestige this is not it, the place is worn (but comfotable). It reminds you of going to your grandmothers house for the summer when you were a kid. No stores are close but the drive is not too bad to find one.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

On The Rocks!

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

We loved staying here. It has a terrific view! Seemed to be clean and tidy. Really enjoyed the decks (screened and open areas). Ate at two great restaurants in Panacea (Posie's and Anderson's) and plan on going back to them again next time we're in the area. We are planning on coming back here... maybe even next month! Hope we can make it work. Hope to see On The Rocks again, soon! The owner's are great to work with. Always a plus!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

"On the Rocks" Allligator Point Florida

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

Loved it - Loved it - Loved it!! Was the perfect beach cottage at the perfect beach. Great place for boating, sunbathing, relaxing and having fun with your family. Will come back again and again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Spring break get-away

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

We have vacationed on Alligator Point for many years, but this was our first time in this property. So we had high expectations because the previous properties had fully stocked kitchens including spices and condiments, as well as basic things such as matches and charcoal and paper products (which this property expected guests to supply). However, the location was great, and it had a lot of space and was very comfortable and quiet. It was a well-used property and did not seem to have been upgraded much recently. Having born the direct hit of at least 3 hurricanes in recent years it seemed and smelled a bit musty and damp. It was clean however. The rental agent was excellent to work with and the cleaning person (there is an extra required charge for this) was very helpful and friendly. It ws probably a bit overpriced for the condition and amenities but we might stay there again depending upon future pricing.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

On the Rocks Review

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

This home is in need of TLC. Basic kitchen equipment, chef knives, garlic press, paring knives, chopping board, coffee mugs would help make it much more comfortable. Bedside tables with reading lamps are missing in 2 of the 3 bedrooms. The double bedroom does not have a closet or a dresser. The twin bedroom has a closet with a dresser that is filled with towels - no place to unpack. Screened in porch appears as a dormitory due to two sets of bunk beds. We do appreciate that they had cleaned the rug, but it was still wet when we arrived and it took 3 days of fires at night to dry out the rug in the living room. We bought a load of firewood.
Real problems, The lights dim when you run the microwave, the house shakes on it's foundation - still do not know why and the washing machine is on it's last 'toe' - all the clothes end up in a ball and it makes loud thumping sound.
There is not direct beach access without cutting across the neighbors backyard or walking on the street due to the large rocks bordering the ocean. Can not be considered ocean front due to lack of accessibility. Neighboring house was undergoing improvements and for 36 hours a construction crew was on site without going home.
We still had fun, but we will not be back to this house. We rent a beach house 2 to 3 times a year.

Owners response: Thank you so much for your suggestions to improve the comfort level for future renters. These owners recently converted the house from a long term rental to a vacation rental, so any suggestions are helpful. Please note in our property title that the property is "Gulf Front with 40 yards to the beach access". The description and the photos clearly show that the house is directly on the Gulf of Mexico, with no other property in between, but that there are rocks at the back of the lot to protect the yard from the water and that there is no beach access from the yard.

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

We're Happy Campers!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

Our family of seven very much enjoyed our time at "On The Rocks!" This house was more than roomy enough for the seven of us. And waking up with waves off the back deck was just what the doctor ordered! There are huge rocks on the shoreline itself, so you have to go a couple of doors down when you want to get in the water, but is worth the slight inconvenience because those rocks also mean that you don't have much worry about your little ones ending up in the water without you noticing. Alligator Point is "real" Florida. We go every chance we get, but this was the first time we had a house directly on the beach. For the first time, we got to see dolphins every morning!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We're Happy Campers!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

Our family of seven very much enjoyed our time at "On The Rocks!" This house was more than roomy enough for the seven of us. And waking up with waves off the back deck was just what the doctor ordered! There are huge rocks on the shoreline itself, so you have to go a couple of doors down when you want to get in the water, but is worth the slight inconvenience because those rocks also mean that you don't have much worry about your little ones ending up in the water without you noticing. Alligator Point is "real" Florida. We go every chance we get, but this was the first time we had a house directly on the beach. For the first time, we got to see dolphins every morning!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We're Happy Campers!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

Our family of seven very much enjoyed our time at "On The Rocks!" This house was more than roomy enough for the seven of us. And waking up with waves off the back deck was just what the doctor ordered! There are huge rocks on the shoreline itself, so you have to go a couple of doors down when you want to get in the water, but is worth the slight inconvenience because those rocks also mean that you don't have much worry about your little ones ending up in the water without you noticing. Alligator Point is "real" Florida. We go every chance we get, but this was the first time we had a house directly on the beach. For the first time, we got to see dolphins every morning!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review