reviews for: listing #43052 - San Antonio, Texas House rental

The White House
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $180 - $200 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,250 /wk

sort by:

Family time at the white house

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

We were in town to celebrate our daughter's wedding. The White House was booked primarily due to the number of beds, and the enclosed backyard with play set. The description of the house, as well as conversations with the owner were completely on point. There was plenty of space for four generations of family to gather, spread out, enjoy the company of family, sleep very comfortably in well appointed bedrooms, spend time in the spacious living room, watch movies in the theater room, and play outdoors in the backyard. The photographs shown were accurate and very helpful. We found no issues with cleanliness or maintenance for an older house. If we were to be back in the area for a large gathering, we would certainly look to returning to the White House. Our thanks also to the owner for responding so quickly to looking for and trying to return a left pillow as well as the security deposit well before their stated policy time. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay, from all of our family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Rental Home During Spring Break!

Review submitted: March 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

Compared to other vacation rental homes that we have stayed in, this home was exactly as described and met our expectations. Exceeding our expectations was being greeted by a nice fruit basket upon arrival at the home (not a common practice in most rental homes). The kids really loved it! It is a very spacious home, plenty of bedrooms, baths, etc. The nice, enclosed playground area allowed the kids to play outdoors safely. The theatre room was also a BIG hit with the kids who got to watch their favorite movies in a comfortable setting during the evening hours. It was much more space than we actually needed, but it proved to be the right choice. We had a great time in San Antonio visiting Sea World, The Market Square, The Riverwalk, and Fiesta Texas! San Anotnio is always a great place to get away and this home was nice to come back to after a long, adventurous day! Not a biggie, but the only problem we encoutered was with the wifi; we could not get it to work with the password provided. We would stay here again if it was still available as a vacation rental during our next visit to San Antonio!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

White House

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

Property was pretty much what we expected from description. Fairly clean and maintained. House was ready for us when we arrived with a nice bowl of fruit. Walking distance grocery store we could find was a CVS with very basic groceries. City bus system was about 4 blocks from the house, easy walking distance. We were able to get day bus tickets....about 30 min to The River Walk.
What we liked about the house and our SA stay: key pad entry, no keys needed; there were lots of beds for a large group; close to public transportation; lots of towels; no one complained about beds, they were comfortable; restaurants we enjoyed...Mi Tierra, top the Tower of America and one on the River Walk. Things at house not as we expected: wifi either not powerful enough to be useful or we didn't understand how to use...several different passwords were provided at different places; there were frequent incoming ph calls to the house phone with no one at the other end...manager's spokesperson said to disconnect it.
House was a good place to have breakfast and crash after a day of sightseeing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

White House - Christmas, Dec 2012

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

I rented the White House over the Christmas Holidays and it was a good experience. I've never rented a house before so we were weary of what to expect, but it turned out to be a very good experience and perfect for our purposes. We had 8 people staying there, but had 30+ adults and kids for dinner on Christmas Eve. The listing and photos accurately described the house, and we found the property clean and well maintained. We rented the entire house including the Theater Room and 2 extra bedrooms. Two bedrooms upstairs, and 4 bedrooms down, with one having 5 bunkbeds so it will sleep lots of people. The Theatre Room was perfect for the guys watching football or kids playing XBox. The room's walls are padded and soundproof so we never heard them cheering, shouting, trashtalking, etc! The backyard was big enough for a touch football game, and the young kids enjoyed the swings, slide and playground. The house is chopped up so that not everyone can sit in the living room or dining room at one time, but that wasn't a big problem. Thanks to Elizabeth, we had a decorated Christmas tree so we didn't have to bring one. My only negative comments would be (1) the owner needs to purchase some new pots and pans; we were not able to fry eggs for breakfast because the pans were too scraped, rusted and worn out; and (2) the queen bed in one upstairs room, the single in one of the downstairs bedroom and the double in the back bedroom all need replacing as they are only thin, worn out mattresses on a plywood board, and were VERY UNCOMFORTABLE! Although we had second thoughts driving thru the neighborhood, it is good. There is a nice HEB a couple miles away, and the house is close to the airport and North Star Mall for shopping. Any concerns we had were immediately addressed by the property manager, Elizabeth. I would certainly recommend this house to friends and relatives.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

The better choice!!!

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

It was a beautiful house, clean, excellent customer service, they answer all my questions and help me all the time. I will totally recommend this place if you want to stay a couple of days, a week or a month in San Antonio. It's located near everything!
My family and I had an awesome vacations at this place.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The White House was perfect

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

I knew that this house would fit me and my family, but it has way more room than I thought. The White House is AWSOME! Anytime I travel back to San Antonio I am definitely going to try and rent it again. It's close to downtown SA and all its attractions. Wish I would of had more time there. I recommend anyone to stay at the White House. The price was right, and it was well worth it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice place for family gathering

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 3, 2012

We rented the "White House" for my son's graduation from BMT at Lackland AFB after deciding a home would be a much nicer place to stay than multiple hotel rooms, and most likely less expensive. We were pleased with the accommodations of this home and enjoyed having a place to regroup, relax, cook, and enjoy each other's company.
The home was very clean upon arrival, and I was greeted with a few lights left on, a very comfortable and cool temperature, and a beautiful basket of fruit....a superb welcome! The house is decorated very nicely, as well. It is an older home and shows its age in some ways (don't we all?!), but overall it is very well kept, attractive, and comfortable. We had some difficulty with the internet connection, but after a phone call the next day, a technician was sent out and the problem was remedied very quickly. Nice service!
We did not rent the extra wing or theatre room, but it would be great for a larger group. The backyard is quite large and there is a nice swing set, as well. Both front and back yards were well kept.
We were about 25 minutes or less from Lackland's Valley Hi entrance -- a bit further than I would've liked, but I'm the only one to blame for that. :) However, the traffic was not bad in the early morning hours that we drove to the base, and it's a straight shot on Loop 410. If one were looking for a place with easy access to the major sites in San Antonio, this is a good location.
The neighborhood is as described...very quiet and made up of old but mostly very well kept homes. It was a great place to walk in the evenings. These homes were built in the mid 1960's and reflect that, but again...most were very nicely maintained.
I left the owner a few suggestions that would make the home nicer for the next guests: replace coffeemakers and some kitchen items such as can openers & pots/pans, consider upgrading some of the mattresses (very noisy, worn down in places), and periodically check for light bulb replacements. In all fairness, though, we did not make a call for lightbulbs to be replaced while we were there; I'm sure someone would've been right over if we had based on how quickly our call for the internet was addressed.
Overall, our stay was very nice and offered a great place to be together with all the comforts of home. I would recommend this home to anyone looking for an affordable option.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved our stay!

Review submitted: October 5, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

Wow! The house seem to go on forever. There was so much room. With 8 kids this was wonderful. They enjoyed the playground in the back yard. The nearly sound proof media room was well worth the extra money. Two washers and two driers helped us get caught up on laundry very quickly. The book in the office helped us locate local restaurants and attractions. We will be recommending it to friends and groups. Very clean and tastefully decorated.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome House for Large Families!

Review submitted: September 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

I highly recommend this property for large families with children. We had the rare chance to arrange a vacation for our entire family and this house was perfect for all of us. We had 6 adults and 5 children under the age of 11. The kids loved the theater room and so did the adults (sound-proofing was great!) They could have their time and space together and the adults could relax and visit comfortably nearby. The kitchen was well-equipped. We stayed 5 nights and were able to save money by cooking most meals at home. The office area next to the kitchen came in handy and had plenty of hookups and space for everyone's electronics. The kids loved the hidden closet upstairs. They used it as their "secret lair." If they weren't in the theater room, they were in the closet! We visited Sea World, Fiesta Texas, the Children's Museum, and the River Walk. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your house and really appreciated the welcome fruit basket. That was a thoughtful touch. Breann was very helpful with making the arrangements and answering any questions I had before our trip. Thank you for making our family vacation a wonderful memory for all of us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

"The White House"

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

It was nice and the pictures were just as things were. We had a chance to spread out as families yet had room to be together. We appreciate the nice hospitality with the fruit bowl. We will definitely recommend to others and we would like to come back and visit again. We had a family reunion and went to place such as the Schlitterbaun in nearby New Braunfels and SeaWorld. The were close by.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful and spacious home.

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

We were there this last week and I have to say it was very nice.
Your home is beautiful very spacious and the back and front yards are great when you have children.
I was there with two of my daughters and their families. It was so spacious we did not even know each other were there until we saw each other. We will try to go to that area again and hope to rent your home again.
I would like to give a special thanks to your property manager Elizabeth she and her spouse were very accommodating and very attentive to our needs. She noticed that we had a special needs child and she made a recommendation on a amusement park that was for Special needs. We had thought of doing other stuff while we were there but some of the places we were going to go to were closed. We did end up taking my daughter there and we had a blast. I’m so glad she tipped us to that park because otherwise we would have not know about it. A BIG thank you to Elizabeth and her spouse. My husband speaks only Spanish and it was so nice to be able to communicate with your property managers.
Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to rent your home..

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Memory

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

First of all, I would like to tell you how pleased we were with the accommodations at your Satellite Drive Home! We had a total of 7 adults and 5 children with us and each of us felt as if we had more than enough, clean and inviting space during our time in San Antonio and felt as if we were in a "home away from home". We were pleased to be able to host some of our friends from around the world on the Fourth of July for a BBQ and they couldn't find enough positive things to say about our accommodations. We appreciate the thoroughness with the home, it was cleaned and ready to receive us upon our arrival! As I stated in my text to Elizabeth, I will definitely recommend your home to our friends.
Again we truly appreciate having an environment in which we could have a fantastic memory created.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house and great location

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

This house was perfect for us. The comfort of a well adorned home that had all the essentials for a home away from home. The location was ideal for our needs. It made the wedding weekend a real joy because we had a great place to host family, friends, and those needing a place to stay. The house was immaculate and we will certainly consider renting again if the opportunity arises.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind review and Congratulations!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fun in Alamo City

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

Great time in a wonderful home. We are a large family, reconvening for a graduation (go Roadrunners). The Satellite home was perfect in size, comfort, and amenities. The kids were very happy to have a home setting that allowed them to relax and catch up. The location is very convenient, with easy access to the Airport, the highway system, and shopping centers. The backyard was perfectly sized for the graduation BBQ, and the mature trees provided perfect shade from the warmish sun. All in all, a great time, which I'm sure we'll talk about for years to come Thanks!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so happy that you did enjoy your stay. Please come and see us sometime soon. Go Roadrunners!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

perfect fit!

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

The house was perfect for us! We had 12 girls and there was room for 20 people in that house. The movie room was amazing! Such a great idea for a vacation home. The kitchen has everything you need. The neighborhood in general was great.

The only issue I had was accessing the wifi, but that's what phones are for!

I recommend this house to all sorts of families and groups. It's close to an HEB so if you forgot something it's easy to get. It's a little drive from the River Walk and Fiesta Texas, but it's a great house and the drive is worth it! There's also a huge backyard with stuff for kids to play on so that's a plus! I honestly have no complaints. I got a lot of compliments from my group about finding this place so it's a great place if it can please 12 women!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Trip

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

We had a great time at this San Antonio rental house. We had 14 in our group and the cousins ranged in age from 2-20. It is in a great location to visit area attractions like Seaworld, Fiesta Texas, the Alamo and Riverwalk. It is close to the airport but we only heard occasional planes. The kitchen was well stocked and there was a huge fruit basket gift upon arival which was a nice treat! There was definitely enough space for our whole crew to hang out without feeling cramped.The back patio has 2 grills and the yard is huge with a fun little playhouse.Our only complaint would be the quality of the beds/mattresses . They were creaky and a few of the mattresses, especially the one in the master bedroom upstairs should be replaced since it sags in the middle causing both people to roll to the center.The sheets had a waxy texture and a slight overfragranced smell. I think that was from the detergent which is an easy fix. Overall we enjoyed our visit and would stay there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Kerry,
We are so glad you enjoyed your time in San Antonio! We also want to thank you for your suggestion, we will start replacing the mattresses to ensure that our guests are satisfied and well rested. We hope to see you next time you visit San Antonio!
VACSAT "The White House" staff.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the House

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

Hi, yes my family and I loved the house. We left back a Thank You card, hope ya'll received it. The house is amazing, traveled from Lafayette Louisiana. Decided to visit San Antonio with 14 other family members, and this house IS the house the stay in. Very roomy, everything that was need is equipped, it just felt like home. The house is very clean, air condition was wonderful to come home too after a hot day in the sun, backyard and entertainment room allowed us to spend time as a family. Management of this property was handled very professional, great communication, certainly will not be the last time we will visit. Thanks So Much-Krystle + family

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful!!

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

My family and i all had a blast in San Antonio and it was great to be able to come back to a home that was beautiful and cozy!! We enjoyed sitting outside under then patio and relaxing while the kids played on the swing set and in the yard!! Next time we go to SA we will for sure be renting this one again!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Amy,
We are so happy you had a great time at our Vacation Home and will look forward to be able to serve you next time you visit San Antonio!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation House in San Antonio

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

The house was perfect, great location, and affortible, and great customer service from organization making sure that my family checked in without problems and letting me know of any house concerns better then staying in a cramped hotel room. The house was in good shape, clean, and organized. Perfect for children, had a nice back yard to play in with a play house. Plenty of room and space for a big family to spread out in. Plenty of beds and bedding to go around. Better cable package with sports not cheap cable and explaination on how the tv/cable works, better internet speed, Nice beds , the house was perfect and accomplished its mission for a big family. I would recommend this house to big families . Thankyou Love it , God bless

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

We had a wonderful time at our stay and I thank you for everything. I appreciate your response and your interest in making sure your clients are happy and we are, very happy. All the little touches you have in that property are very pleasant and made our stay a wonderful time.
Thanks again for everything. I hope when we return to San Antonio, we can again lease this property.
Nora

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

VACSAT

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home! My family loved everything about the home especially the movie room. :) We will be sure to spread the word about your wonderful company.

v/r,
Markisha

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Awesome home

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

The house was awesome, it was like coming home everyday. We didn't have any complaints at all. Not only was it prepared with all the necessities but the beautiful decor just made it seem so homey. My personal favorite was the patio.
I would highly recommend your house to anyone staying in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

San Antonio vacation home

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

We stayed at the San Antonio vacation home in February 2010. It was several girlfriends on a long weekend getaway. The place is amazing. We hardly wanted to leave to even go enjoy the town. The accomodations are perfect for a big group. The theatre room was awesome as well. I would reccomend this house for anyone to enjoy. It was also easy to deal with the owners and rent it. I look forward to our next trip to San Antonio just to stay in the house again. Thank You soo much.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Vacation Home

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

We had our Family Reunion during Christmas time and the house was perfect for all twenty of us! Specially we all loved the Theater Room were we spend many evenings. We will for sure come back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great house, great location

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

This house is excellent for all types of families, we had a family reunion and 15 of us stayed at this property. The house have a great lay out, everyone had their own space and privacy, and the theatre room was the best entertainment for the entire family. It's also at a very convenient location for the entire city. I highly recommend this house for any occasion, it provides first class ammenities. If we decide to have our family reunion in San Antonio again, I will most definitely rent this beautifull and spacious home again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Perfect home for our perfect weekend!

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

This home was a perfect home away from home for us. We had a fabulous weekend and plenty of room so no one felt crowded and had plenty of room to hang out comfortably. My son loved that he was able to relax and feel as close as he could to being home, I have a feeling that the home cooked meals helped with that! The theater room was great for movies and gaming. We all had a wonderful time and had more than enough room for everyone and the comfort of home. Don't think I'd ever want to stay in a hotel room after this trip. Thank you so much for everything.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review