reviews for: listing #4311 - Mission Beach, California Apartment rental

Above the Crowd:The Sun Catchers: Ocean Vu~ Fully Furnished
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Mission Beach
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $180 - $265 /nt
    $1,260 - $1,950 /wk
    $2,300 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

Cozy and secure

Review submitted: August 24, 2009   Date of arrival: July 16, 2005

The SunCatchers was the perfect place for me and my two daugthers. It had all the amenities you would need for however long you stay including beach toys, towels, chairs, boogie boards, etc. The ocean is steps away and easily accessed. With the owner righrt downstairs we felt safe, secure and well taken care of. They add a personal touch to your stay. The location is perfect - between bay and ocean, close to Sea World, short walk to Belmont Park, close freeway access. Having your own parking space is a big plus! The owners are honest and friendly. I would recommend small families or couples to stay there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

Sun Catchers

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

Sun Catchers was ready and very clean upon our arrival. The unit was well-stocked for our use. The ability to use the beach chairs, coolers and umbrella was very nice. We had a small problem which was handled immediately. I would suggest updating the appliances and adding a small dishwasher. We had a very nice vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Our thanks to this very nice couple from Peachtree, GA. While a timed automatic start/stop coffee maker as personally suggested earlier was not previously on our guest "wishlist" it certainly will be considered. The automatic coffee pot provided seemed to work well, as the week's coffee supply and corresponding complementary creamer, sweeteners, wine, snacks, etc. were all used. RE:the dishwasher, due to the nature and size of this beach apartment and an earlier poll of repeat renters, the in-apartment non-coin laundry (supplies provided) won hands down as the appliance of choice. It is not possible to have both, so the laundry is in and used even by these guests (please see photos of kitchen on this website). We do furnish pottery dinnerware as well as paper plates which seem to work very well at the beach. Thanks again for the guest input and the opportunity to respond. -Sandi

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Truly a Home Away From Home!

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

There are two things to consider when choosing a vacation rental: the property and the service. Hands down you cannot get any better than the SunCatchers for the money! The apartment is extremely homey and includes all the amenities you need! The location is absolutely perfect, nestled just off of the oceanwalk right next to the beach. And Sandi will go above and beyond to make you feel like you are at home during your stay. On our first visit (which happened to be our honeymoon) Sandi not only offered us free tickets to the Zoo, SHE DROVE US THERE HERSELF! She cares about every single one of her guests and knows them by name. We could not wait to return for our first anniversary and again, our stay was wonderful! We cannot wait to go back yet again!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Repeat Guests...Thanksgiving Dinner for 6

Review submitted: November 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

Hi Sandi,
I can’t believe it has taken me a couple of days to write this note. I guess I am moving more slowly with the cold weather. [Seattle, WA] Anyway, that was such a nice break for us and I know I keep saying it but we feel so comfortable and at home at Sun Catchers. [10 days] I also wanted to mention that we really were able to cook very nicely for our small T-day party. The apt. is so well equipped. .... We did a lot of cooking!
Wishing you a Happy Holiday! Saludos, carol and john

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

summer vacation

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We love this apartment! This was our second trip. Sandi has thought of everything... dishes, towels, beach toys, chairs... All you really need are your clothes. We love the balcony with the table and grill. We grilled a couple of times and enjoyed the deck and the ocean views. The apartment is in a great location and easily accessible. Sandi is great and really wants to make your trip enjoyable.

We highly recommend this apartment to couples and small families!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

No Fine Print...No Hassle...Sandi Just Wants You to Relax!

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

Upon arrival Sandi provided a nice gift basket and a clean and welcoming home. Chairs and towels are provided for the beach which is LITERALLY across the street! She also provides bikes to ride around which are very enjoyable. SANDI WANTS YOU TO ENJOY YOUR STAY!! Two days into our honeymoon Sandi called and apologized for the weather (it was overcast but still beautiful!) and offered two tickets to the Zoo and even DROVE US THERE HERSELF! Believe all of the other posts about how much she goes above and beyond so that you can enjoy your stay. That's why she has so many repeat guests! I know we will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Sun Catchers Caught the Sun

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

We had a great trip, and definitely want to stay at your place again—it was so comfortable and relaxing, and in the best of locations. I could walk everywhere!

Can you tell me when is the best time to reserve for a full week, in August? Thanks.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

south mission beach condo

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

Loved our condo! So comfortable and the location was perfect. Quiet but still just steps to the beach and action. Thoughtfully equipped such that we could begin enjoying our vacation from the moment we arrived. The owner was available to help us in any way we needed and made us feel at home from the start. We can't wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Sun Catchers

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Sun Catchers this August, and had a fabulous vacation. The space was very clean and inviting, and had everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay, including beach chairs and bicycles. The location was perfect, too, being just a short walk to the beach. Sandi was an excellent host, and offered us a lot of helpful advice and discounts on local attractions. We would most definitely stay here again. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Charming flat in an ideal location!

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I rented this adorable flat for a week this past January, and had an incredible experience. Aside from the Mission Beach area being exactly what the doctor ordered for a couple from Maine, the flat exceeded our expectations. Upon entering, we found all the essentials PLUS all kinds of extras we hadn't expected including: a welcome basket of snacks and wine, cabinets of food, pots and pans for cooking, free washer and dryer, beach toys galore, a small movie collection, stacks of magazines and travel guides, bathroom toiletries, pens & notepads by the telephone provided for local calls... The list goes on! The small details taken to ensure a cozy rental space were sincerely appreciated. What really made this rental extra welcoming, though, was it's owner. She was very kind, very fair, knowledgeable, helpful and made us feel right at home. The neighborhood, itself, was also very welcoming. We became very fond of a small Mexican food stand called Sara's (delicious!) If we travel to Southern California again, we will definitely choose to stay at Suncatchers! Thank you again for this experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Perfect Place

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2010

A perfect place. The furnish of the rooms is pretty good. In the kitchen, you will find everything you need. The beach right across the (small) street. It was a wonderfull vacation.

Greatings from germany

Olaf, Brigitta and Paula (5 years old)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

The Sun Catchers: An Economic Treasure

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

We have stayed at various vacation rentals on Mission Beach over the years and the Sun Catchers is one of the best. The unit, with a private entrance, was private and safe for our family which consist of two children under the age of four. The unit had a crib, a washer/dryer and an extra bed. We slept comfortably and enjoyed the deck with the colorful pillows. San Diego is a bit cool in the beginning of June and we would have spent more time at the beach had it been warmer; nonetheless, the beach was 1 minute away. We enjoyed the complimentary basket upon arrival. The only aspect that we were less thrilled about was the fact that we would hear the traffic as airplanes were taking off and landing as the Sun Catchers is as south on mission beach as you can get and thus closer to the airport. However, the price and all the extras made up for this. Our host, Sandi, was exceptional and let us borrow some grocery discount cards etc. We will consider coming back. Thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Kids Had The Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We had a wonderful time. The kids had the best vacation ever. Thanks you for all of the extras, you thought of everything. Thank you for your kindness when our little guy got sick. We apppreciate it. This was just like being at home, but better. Hoppefully we'll see you soon (checking on Spring Vacation).

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We had a wonderfun time. The kids has the best vacation ever.
Thank you for all of the extras. You thought of everything.
Thank you for your kindness when our little guy got sick. We appreciate it.
This was just like being at home, but better.
Hopefully we'll see you soon. (Checking on Spring Vacation.)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Summer vacation spot!

Review submitted: August 17, 2009   Date of arrival: August 25, 2008

I have stayed at The Suncatcher's vacation home for quite a few years. The location is excellent...steps away from a clean and enjoyable beach. It is also closely located to some eateries and bars as well as a few small markets. The apartment itself is comfortable, breezy and has a nice balcony to enjoy meals and a glass of wine while taking in the sunset. The Suncather's provide you with plenty of clean linens, bathroom towels, snacks, a full kitchen, beach chairs and beach toys. I definitely recommend this place for a nice, relaxing summer vacation...check it out & enjoy!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

:-( Beware!

Review submitted: August 16, 2009   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

The contract states that there is a “$25/hour charge for extra cleaning services due to unusual mess.” The owner is very strict with her rules. She wants the kitchen returned to pristine condition, so that the housekeeper has nothing left to do.
I had left a few clean dishes out drying, because there is no dishwasher. There may have been a few dirty spots on the stove and refrigerator. After a two week stay, I don’t think most people would consider these an “unusual mess.” It may have taken the housekeeper 10 to 15 minutes to take care of this - yet I was charged a full $25 for an hour of cleaning.
In addition, be aware that the owner lives immediately downstairs from the rental unit. She expects you to be very quiet, because the walls and floor are thin. We did not throw any loud parties, but we do have a 5-year-old child. Despite our best efforts, our daughter occasionally made a noise that the owner could hear, and she called to let us know.
If you don’t mind putting up with these hassles, then you might be satisfied. There are far better choices in the area…unless you don’t plan on using the kitchen, and don’t have any children.

Owners response: ; - ) Thanks for the opportunity to respond.

After 12 exciting and very pleasant years in the rental business, we have received this one negative review. When the request for a late check-out was denied (we had new renters arriving), Sue Y chose the option of going to the beach instead of following pre-posted check-out procedures. Sue Y decided not to wipe clean the stove top, leave used pots and pans on the burners, walk away from poorly washed dishes in the drainer on the sink, and, of course, leave perishable food in the refrigerator. She made the decision to spend what she calls "10-15 minutes of clean-up" on the beach, while the housekeepers had no choice but to work the extra time. It took an additional 20 – 25 minutes, a very real factor in weekly rental turn around cleaning schedules, to clean Sue’s breakfast remains. We did take photos. Included in the $25 fee was a charge for missing tableware taken from the apartment and left at the Zoo.
Sue Y was contacted only once about noise. It was to ask that her 5 yr old move off the deck and into the apartment with her mom, for supervision, while practicing vigorous "dance" runs and jumps.
Sue Y was not charged for late check-out although her car remained a couple of hours in the assigned parking space and beach towels from the rental were used well beyond posted check-out times.
We do provide a great vacation rental with many "extra" amenities that accommodate our guests and we have the best reputation of providing a joyous fun filled stay for our guests. We do value your business and appreciate our many many positive visitors and compliments that validate our credibility and hospitality through out the past 12 years.
Ya'll, do plan to come...relax...and enjoy your visit at The Sun Catchers, we hope to see you soon. Thanks! SW, owner.

Helpful votes: 10 / 12

 

Welcome Home!!

Review submitted: August 14, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

I loved my vacation experience with The Sun Catchers!! The cozy rental was steps away from the beach. Sandi thought of every detail...from a fabulous snack basket to a footbath at the bottom of the stairs!! Beach gear was also provided, as well as plenty of extra sheets & towels. In short, I felt like I was staying with a friend. I would highly recommend this rental. You won't be disappointed!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: With renters like beach4js we love being in the weekly rental business. Joan, her daughter and visiting friends always are a pleasure to have here because they fill the air with the sounds of laughter, love and fun. The apartment is always left in great condition and so are we. Thanks for your several return visits...we look forward to seeing you here again, soon.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

So much better than imagined

Review submitted: September 16, 2008   Date of arrival: September 5, 2008

This property is the best location, is the best home-away-from-home and we'll be back next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 14, 2003   Date of arrival: November 14, 2003

We came back and the upgrades were great...hospitality the best, and have already made reservations for the same time 2004.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 25, 2002   Date of arrival: July 25, 2002

What a wonderful hidden secret escape! Perfect for planning our wedding (just far away enough from folks in north county). Sorry we didn't have more time to relax during the 2 weeks prior to "the event." We'll be back on our anniversary. This time to play in OTL and just play. Thanks for your help, say "Hi" to beagle Bailey. Shawn & Alli

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 21, 2002   Date of arrival: June 21, 2002

This was all that you promised. Thanks for making things so easy and for all your help. L.P. and "the girls"

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 30, 2002   Date of arrival: May 30, 2002

Third year our Elite World Class runners have stayed with you. Everything they need and then some is always here. We must be doing something right. Another year of 1st place winners in the Rock n Roll. Winers in the Carlsbad 5000, Plus 2 Olympic Gold Marathon runners in the last 2 Olympics. Think we'll keep coming back, what do you say? M.L. Elite Racing


M.-- If it is not broken, let's not fix it. See you next year and for any other race your folks are here for. Sandi

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review